Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday April 23, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Keepers of the Lost Art] Sahdeeq injure your fleet.

Shabaam Sahdeeq Review

Latest News Headlines
Mega Ran: "Life On the Road" Update


Mega Ran: "Life On the Road" Update

Courtesy of Random a/k/a Mega Ran.

Well the Race Wars Tour has hit the west coast, and we've had some crazy shows already. Last night we played the legendary Troubadour, and it was an amazing experience.

We have one more Cali show, in my favorite city, San Diego tomorrow and then we hit my new home-state of AZ. See you guys there!

Speaking of, The Phoenix New Times showed a lotta love with this article:

http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/2011-09-29/music/phoenix-rapper-megaran-creats-8-bit-hip-hop/

Drop a comment and share!

Also: don't forget about Mega Ran 10, still on schedule for 11-11-11!

Preorder your copy of the cd or the BLUE Vinyl!

http://random.bandcamp.com/album/mega-ran-10

Also I'm gonna drop a new track when I reach 5000 twitter followers, so get on that!

http://www.twitter.com/megaran

Keep up with the tour and make sure you get your tickets when we're in your town!

Peace out:

Ran

Mixtape: G.A.P. - "Crown Me" (hosts DJ Kurupt & DJ Noize)


Mixtape: G.A.P. - "Crown Me" (hosts DJ Kurupt & DJ Noize)

Courtesy DJ Noize.

* http://www.djnoize.com/mixtape-gap-crown-me-hosted-by-dj-kurupt-dj-n *

Track Listing:

    Intro - The Great King
    Crown Me (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Undadawg
    Hard As Mine (Prod. by B. Sterling)
    Go Getta (ft Treb Duvell)
    Georgia
    You Don't Want It
    Stupid
    Smokie Talks
    Loud (Prod. by B. Sterling)
    Get Down (ft K.Dent)
    Baby Boy Prayer
    Life On Paper
    9 Millie (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Rocky Talks
    Now Or Neva
    Take You Away (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Ghetto Gospel
    I Tried
    Doing Wrong (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Getting Money (Prod. by Dj Kurupt)
    Dj Kurupt Outro
    My Life

Video: Styles P f/ Mysonne - "Live From the Juice Bar Ep. 5"


Video: Styles P f/ Mysonne - "Live From the Juice Bar Ep. 5"

Courtesy Chris @ E1.

R.I.P. Sylvia Robinson (Sugar Hill Records Co-Founder)


R.I.P. Sylvia Robinson (Sugar Hill Records Co-Founder)

According to TheUrbanDaily.com Sylvia Robinson has died at the age of 75 from congestive heart failure. She was a multi-faceted talent critical to the early years of hip-hop going mainstream, working as a singer, songwriter AND producer for the fledgling label as it went on to release hip-hop's first ever gold and platinum singles and launch dozens of careers. Her influence was still being felt even today in hip-hop as songs she wrote and produced like "Love On a Two Way Street" were being sampled in smash hits like Jay-Z's Empire State of Mind. Our condolences to her family and friends and to her fans worldwide.

MP3: A3C Volume 1: Willie Evans, Jr. - "Never Be Free"


MP3: A3C Volume 1: Willie Evans, Jr. - "Never Be Free"

Courtesy Audible Treats.

Countdown To A3C Volume 1 Compilation Continues With Latest Single

The Song:

As the days are drawing closer and closer to the 2011 A3C Hip-Hop Festival, iHipHop Distribution is excited to release the latest single from the A3C Volume 1 compilation album, which will be released on October 4th and is now available for pre-order on iTunes. Following the announcement of Big Daddy Kane and M.O.P. being added to the festival line-up, along with a single from Chase N Cashe, today's new single, "Never Be Free," comes from Florida bred MC, producer, and visual artist Willie Evans, Jr., who, along with all of the artists featured on the compilation, will perform at the seventh annual A3C Hip-Hop Festival, taking place from October 6th - 8th at The Masquerade in Atlanta, Georgia.

Download "Never Be Free" here: http://soundcloud.com/ihiphop-distribution/willie-evans-jr-never-be-free .

The seventh annual A3C Hip-Hop Festival will take place October 6th through 8th at The Masquerade in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information on the Festival and the A3C Volume 1 compilation, please visit: www.A3Cfestival.com .

Watch the A3C promotional video here: http://vimeo.com/29101982 .

A3C Volume 1 Track List:

Disc 1:
1. Murs x Ski Beatz – Let's Go!
2. P Dukes - Work
3. Chase N. Cashe - My House
4. Killa Kyleon featuring Miss Mykie - Carpul Tunnel
5. Johnny Spanish - Anything Goes
6. Rockie Fresh - Spotlight
7. G-Eazy -Rebel
8. SL Jones - All Honesty
9. XV –Higher
10. Smoke DZA featuring Bun B & Big K.R.I.T. - On The Corner
11. GLC - Show You What This Ism Do
12. Freddie Gibbs featuring El Prez - Executive Decision
13. Main Attrakionz featuring Shady Blaze - World Tour
14. J NICS - S.N.A.S.
15. Action Bronson - Muslim Wedding
16. Cory Gunz featuring Hash - Str8 Drop
17. Trademark Da Skydiver & Young Roddy featuring Curren$y - Jet Life To The Next Life
18. Phil Ade - Let It Shine
19. Marz Lovejoy featuring Like (of Pac Div) & Jason Madison - I Can't Call It
20. Jon Connor featuring Ducky - High
21. Aleon Craft - Cruise Control
22. J-Live - Look Right

Disc Two:
1. Willie Evans Jr. - Never Be Free
2. Soul Khan - When The Plague Starts
3. Torae - Make A Movie
4. 9th Wonder featuring Thee Tom Hardy, Rapsody & Skyzoo - Jamla's Coming At You
5. Nitty Scott - Truth
6. The Kid Daytona - Night School
7. Young Scolla - Another Day
8. THURZ - Nosy People
9. Boog Brown featuring Invincible & StaHHr - Dope Girl Magic, pt 2
10. Termanology - Step It Up
11. Rapper Big Pooh - No Choice
12. 9th Wonder featuring Actual Proof, The Away Team & Big Remo - The Score
13. El Da Sensei - The Best We Gonna Be
14. Saigon - I Know Now
15. Jarren Benton - Skitzo
16. M.O.P. x Snowgoons - Anybody Can Get it
17. Freeway - For The Paper
18. REKS - Rap Disciple
19. Statik Selektah featuring Slaine - The Time Is Now
20. Bronze Nazareth featuring RZA - Fresh From The Morgue
21. Reef The Lost Cauze x Snowgoons -Kill Somebody
22. League Of Extraordinary Gz - Pressure
23. Dead Prez - Globalization (Scene Of The Crime)

Beastie Boys' LICENSED TO ILL TOUR Exhibition Premieres 10/8


Beastie Boys' LICENSED TO ILL TOUR Exhibition Premieres on October 8 at Hold Up Art

Courtesy Versa @ Gorgeous PR.

HOLD UP ART PRESENTS THE PHOTOGRAPHY OF SUNNY BAK
IN A RETROSPECTIVE EXHIBITION ENTITLED
Boys and Dogs
Premieres on October 8, 2011 at 7:00 PM

OPENING NIGHT RECEPTION
Saturday, October 8, 2011
Exhibit runs through November 1, 2011

at

Hold Up Art
358 E. 2nd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hold Up Art presents Boys and Dogs, a collection of works by world renowned photographer Sunny Bak. Her photos of the Beastie Boys and the "Licensed to Ill" tour solidified Sunny's place as a serious rock and celebrity photographer. Simultaneously, her love of animals, especially dogs, led to the creation of the best selling People Magazine parody, Pupple. These two diverse collections of images represent the work that have defined Sunny's career.

"It's been 25 years since I looked at the images I shot of the Beastie Boys in NYC with Garrett Simmons when we were working on a book called Pupple," says Sunny Bak of this new exhibition. "This show is part retrospective and part looking toward the future as Garrett and I are working on a follow up to the original Pupple. It's an homage to the beasty in all of us."

Photographing celebrities since high school, Sunny has shot celebrities like Madonna, 10,000 Maniacs, Gregory Peck, Keanu Reeves, Seth Green, and Carol Alt.  She spent time on the road with the up-and-coming The Beastie Boys on their 1986 "Licensed to Ill" tour. Sunny shot the iconic images that were featured in the multi-platinum album's artwork.

"Within the context of our culture, from Kanye, to Banksy to Obama, hip hop is an undeniable pillar of our culture," says Hold Up Art curator Brian Lee. "Though many people overlook the 80s hip hop scene as being dated and over-played, too much of our contemporary notions of the 'artist,' and issues of 'anti-authority' that color the way we perceive the Shepard Fairey's of the day, are informed directly by the attitude and movement of the genre. Sunny Bak's photos follow the Beastie's during their late 80s 'Licensed to Ill' tour, offering a very intimate perspective on such a ground-breaking time.  Whether it is our distance in time or the closeness Sunny shared with The Beastie Boys, Bak's photos bring you closer to understanding who these three guys really were, aside from their music videos.  The photos reveal the personal side of them, and a universal story of youth, potential, and the American Dream."

Sunny's best-selling book, Pupple, co-created with Garrett Simmons, took a different look at celebrity photography. She photographed dogs, dressed as celebrities in a parody of People Magazine. With new celebrities to feature, Sunny and Garrett are currently working on the follow up to Pupple.

Most recently, Sunny's work has appeared in Jay-Z's online promotion with BING for his book, Decoded, and in the Rizolli book, Def Jam Recordings: The First 25 Years of the Last Great Record Label.

For more information about this and other exhibitions, please visit www.holdupart.com .

Follow Hold Up Art on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

MP3: L.I. f/ Aaron Taylor - "I'm the One"


MP3: L.I. f/ Aaron Taylor - "I'm the One"

Courtesy Shocksound Entertainment.

right click to save mp3

I'm The One(Main Mix)

I'm The One (Radio Edit)

MP3: Yung Berg f/ Mia Rey & Driicky - "Shawty U Can Get It"


MP3: Yung Berg f/ Mia Rey & Driicky - "Shawty U Can Get It"

Courtesy Nancy B.

YUNG BERG & YFM PRESENTS

"SHAWTY U CAN GET IT FT. DRIICKY GRAHAM & MIA REY"

CLEAN: http://www.sendspace.com/file/9u44tc

DIRTY: http://www.sendspace.com/file/zasb3h

 Follow us on Twitter via @TheRealYungBerg @TiffanyJManager & @RapPublicist

Video: Koncept & Tranzformer - "High"


Video: Koncept & Tranzformer - "High"

Courtesy Brown Bag AllStars.

Koncept & Tranzformer just dropped a new video for their track "High" off their "More Than Meets The Eye" EP. Check out the video and download the EP below.

Watch Koncept & Tranzformer's "High" HERE

If you haven't yet, download "More Than Meets The Eye" for FREE HERE

Also make sure you pick up a Koncept (Brown Bag AllStars Edition) T-Shirt HERE.

PR: Cormega "Raw Forever" 2-CD (courtesy All Elements)


PR: Cormega "Raw Forever" 2-CD (courtesy All Elements)

From J-Ronin.

Cormega's upcoming double LP "Raw Forever" drops on Cormega's Aura Records imprint on Traffic Entertainment this Tuesday. The first CD contains 11 classic Cormega tracks and the second CD consists of 11 new songs all over a live band and vocalists called the Revelations. The Revelations backed "Raw Forever" album boasts features from Lil' Fame (M.O.P.), AZ, Nature, Blaq Poet, Tragedy Khadafi, Havoc, Grand Puba (Brand Nubian), KRS One, Big Daddy Kane, Parrish Smith (EPMD), and Kool DJ Red Alert.

You can order Cormega's "Raw Forever" from Amazon, iTunes, HHV, Access Hip Hop or UGHH. Raw Forever is only $9.99 on Amazon.com!

Download Cormega VI ft. AZ and Nature here >>>>> http://hulkshare.com/ccvuvhsqtgli .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Since last week's update ran late consider this a compendium of two weeks worth of material in one shot: Adam Bernard's The Adam B Experience #75, Blanco, The Jacka & Messy Marv's "One Hunnid," Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," the "Hi Grade Ganja Anthems Volume 4" compilation, Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's HHS #266 and Steve 'Flash' Juon: The Hip-Hop Shop #267 plus a Boondocks Season 4 editorial, MF Grimm's "Good Morning Vietnam EP," Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD," Shabaam Sahdeeq's "Keepers of the Lost Art" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive