Monday October 23, 2017
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Perestroika]

Apathy & O.C. review!

Latest News Headlines
Audio: @SweetzP @FreddieGibbs - "Impressive" (@DrankAndDank)


Audio: Sweetz P f/ Freddie Gibbs - "Impressive"

Courtesy Drank and Dank.

Now available on iTunes.



http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/impressive-feat.-freddie-gibbs/id680181128
Video: @LaRonBishop - Video Vixen Management


Video: LaRon Bishop - Video Vixen Management

Courtesy TRS.

LaRon Bishop has started his My Life Vlog Series and in the first episode he is at the supposed shoot for his latest video "Jezebel" and LaRon and M3 are punked when they are given the wrong video vixen for the shoot. At the end they also have a random discussion about Muslims and pork which is quite hilarious. Powered by The Rebel Society.

Free Download: @EddieLogix Plays Lykke Li


Free Download: Eddie Logix Plays Lykke Li

Courtesy USOM.

D. Allie here once again and this time I'm contacting you on behalf of my brother in the music thing, Eddie Logix. If this is not your first email rodeo, so to speak, you would be aware that the homie Eddie stays very active musically. On this go round Eddie reconfigures Lykke Li tracks to rhyme over with the help of a few friends.

Audio: Kool Keith f/ Agallah Don Bishop, NYM (@Junkadelic)


Audio: Kool Keith f/ Agallah Don Bishop, NYM - "New York (Cartel RMX)"

Courtesy Junkadelic.

Kool Keith: New York (Cartel Rmx f/ Agallah Don Bishop & NYM)
(Stream/ Audio) (Production : Ariel Caban & Dj Junkaz Lou)

Audio: Lungz - "Underground Kangs" (@Lungz_Chi)


Audio: Lungz - "Underground Kangs"

Courtesy Langston S.

Lungz is back with a new track, "Underground Kangs" from his upcoming project IN E BRI ATION dropping in September.

Video: @FiveSteez - "Slaving on the Plantation"


Video: Five Steez - "Slaving on the Plantation"

Courtesy FS.

Up-and-coming independent Hip Hop artist, Five Steez, has released the much-anticipated music video for his song, ‘Slaving on the Plantation’ – a fan favorite from his 2012 debut album, ‘War for Peace’.

Hiero Day 2013, New Merch & Music Video, & Still Infinity Tour (@HieroImperium)


Hiero Day 2013, New Merch & Music Video, & Still Infinity Tour

Courtesy Hiero Imperium.

Souls of Mischief are at the halfway point of their Still Infinity tour. Live and Let Live, Thats When Your Lost, 93 Till … the classics we all know are playing live across the country for Hiero enthusiasts in every state!

The tour is currently maneuvering through the South, Mid-West, and on throughout the dog days of Summer. Also just announced A-1 and The Black Opera have been added to select dates, see below.

WWW.STILLINFINITY.COM

MONDAY SEPTEMBER 2ND, 2013
Hiero Day 2013

'Hieroglyphics Imperium are teaming up with Oakland-based Linden Street Brewery to present the Second Annual Hiero Day block party on Monday, September 2, 2013 (Labor Day) from 11:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. at the Linden Street Brewery, located at the Port of Oakland.'

'Hiero Day is a free all day music festival that features live performances by the legendary Hieroglyphics and other special guests, local merchandise vendors, food trucks, and interactive activities for all ages. Hiero Day celebrates and showcases the Bay Area’s diverse, innovative, multicultural, and multigenerational music movement in the heart of Oakland.' - Audible Treats (Read)

WWW.HIERODAY.COM

Just Released: Hiero Day - September 2nd, 2013 promo video. Includes past dialogue from Kanye, Sway Calloway, Davey D, and Radio Rahim on Hieroglyphics' legacy on music, culture, and fashion.



NEW VIDEO

First Light's "Greetings" Music Video

First Light released a new video for "Greetings" featuring Phesto Dee from their album Fallacy Fantasy.



Listen to the entire album & purchase on Bandcamp or iTunes! Or pick up a physical CD online.

New Merchandise: First Light Tank Tops are now available on the Hieroglyphics Store.

Featuring the yellow First Light Oakland Rooster logo on the front of a Dark Gray tank top.

Get your plate, knife, fork and spoon ready for The Kitchen LP.

DOWNLOAD THE KITCHEN LP ON ITUNES NOW!

IN STORES AND AVAILABLE FOR DIGITAL DOWNLOAD

20 years ago, four young emcees from Oakland came together as Souls of Mischief and released one of hip-hop’s seminal masterworks, beginning the storied development of trailblazing hip-hop collective Hieroglyphics. As Souls of Mischief celebrates ’93 Til Infinity‘s anniversary, the collective as a whole returns with their first joint project in ten years. The Kitchen, which is available today via iTunes, combines brand new tracks with some selections from the collective members’ respective past works.

Stream the SPIN premiere here: Spin.com/articles/hieroglyphics-the-kitchen-album-stream-sleeprockers.

Fans can purchase a limited edition packages with tee-shirts, stickers, and more here at the Hieroglyphics website: shophiero.com.

You can download The Kitchen LP and other Hieroglyphics albums digitally through Bandcamp. Hieroglyphicsimperium.bandcamp.com.
The (W)rap Up - Week of July 23, 2013 (@MannyWallace)


If you missed any of the new reviews this past week, including Joey Bada$$' "Summer Knights" then do yourself a favor and check out this week's edition of the (W)rap Up!

Courtesy @MannyWallace

[Summer Knights]Joey Bada$$ :: Summer Knights
TheProEra.com

Author: Patrick Taylor

"Like Tyler the Creator and the Odd Future crew, Joey Bada$$ and his Pro Era cohorts seemed to arrive on the scene fully formed, with a complete sonic and aesthetic identity. Where Odd future was all about being as transgressive and offensive as possible and mashing skate punk with rap, Pro Era was set on reviving New York's golden age of hip-hop.  Joey's "1999" mixtape last year said it all: he and the Pro Era wanted to see New York return to the period when the city was still the center of the hip-hop universe, before Houston, Atlanta, Memphis, L.A., Chicago, and Detroit (and London, and Adelaide, and Berlin) proved that they could make hip-hop that was more interesting than what NYC was putting out. People were quick to praise the Brooklyn teenager as the second coming of Nas, a rap Messiah set to lead the Five Boroughs back to the promised land of musical relevance. I imagine that Joey had the same sensation a lot of us old timers have when he revisited "Illmatic" or "The Low End Theory" after hearing the millionth club rap album or street rap mixtape full of synthesizers and rappers with limited lyrical ability. It's like having a home-cooked meal when you've been eating nothing but frozen pizzas for weeks on end. I imagine him thinking, "so THIS is what hip-hop is supposed to sound like!" and then going out and doing his best to channel that mid-nineties vibe. The good news is that he still manages to capture that Native Tongues feel on his latest mixtape, "Summer Knights." The bad news is that he sometimes falls into the same traps that ultimately led to the demise of the sound he's so fond of. The mixtape is aptly named. A lot of it has the feel of a lazy summer day or a hot summer night. The beats are head-nodding without being overly aggressive or flashy, and Joey has a languid, easy flow. It's the kind of music for cruising around on a hot, lazy night, or talking shit and drinking beers with friends. There is also a cloud hanging over much of the album. Joey's friend and partner Capital Steez took his own life in December, and his ghost haunts this album."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2013_07F_summerknights.html

Gucci Mane :: Trap House 3 :: 1017 Brick Squad/Atlantic Records 
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Trap House 3]"Here we are again. Radric Davis is back in the "Trap House." You expected lyricism? Then you don't know Gucci. You expected intelligence? Then you don't know Gucci. Occasionally he makes a catchy hit song thanks to knowing a few good producers, and I suppose by this point you'd have to call his mush-mouthed lazy vocal delivery a "unique style." If you really want to stretch the truth you could even call it "charismatic," though that implies he has energy. Most of the time his rap style is devoid of it. He raps like he's drunk off cough syrup, smoked a whole bag, got frozen in a block of ice while all high and fucked up, was thawed out, and took a hit of laughing gas while still half frozen - and immediately went in the studio to record his vocals that way. He's the epitome of the rap punchline "even your tongue'll fuck around and leave your mouth." The bad news is there's a whole hour of this. The good news is he has guest stars. A cameo by Wiz Khalifa results in the album's best lyrical performance for "Nuthin On Ya." Unfortunately other than Rick Ross the other guests don't hold up - I guess it wasn't good news after all. It's a steep fall off from those two to 2 Chainz, and when you go from there to Chief Keef it's a wrap. It's not worth discussing cameos beyond that. As mentioned though Gucci Mane does have some nice beats here and there. Drumma Boy's "Fuck With Me" is okay - it won't go down as his best work but on this album it's a highlight. Lex Luger's heavily synthesized "Can't Trust Her" is a good one, but the damn singing on it makes me wish it was an instrumental only. And credit where it's due, both the Wiz Khalifa song and the single "Thirsty" are produced by C4 & DJ Spinz."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2013_07_traphouse3.html

Joe Blow & Ral Duke :: Leviticus EP :: Bandcamp 
as reviewed by Jaroslav 'Czechone' Lavick

[Leviticus EP]"We all have this certain artist we like; the artist that you feel you are the only person in the world that knows about; the one you believe would be close to enough to a legend in the underground hip hop scene if only the right opportunities arose. Qred from Wales is that artist for me. He's been releasing music since the mid 90's, both as an MC and producer, initially as part of a group called Ruff Intalect, and later working in a solo capacity and also collaborating with other artists (he also concurrently works in the Drum & Bass realms). He has many redeeming qualities as an overall hip hop artist, but most outstanding (and relevant to this review) is that he is from the school of hardcore beats; beats that hit direct with force, and he wants you to feel those drums pound through to your inner core. Most things he touches have a sinister darkness to them, not quite horrorcore but more a gothic Mobb Deep "Hell on Earth" ambience with touches of the rawest side of golden era UK hip hop, add an industrial bleakness to the mix, and you have Qred. If you happen to take the time to listen to the "Leviticus" EP (emceed by fellow Welsh residents Joe Blow and Ral Duke) and enjoy the production, then I urge you to also seek out Qred's albums such as "Dungeon Siege", "Backstreet Lobotomies" and "Courtyard of Lunatics". For all my familiarity with Qred, the MC's are relatively unknown to me as I've only heard them as brief guests on Qred's albums. A background check tells me they are part of a Welsh collective known as Squid Ninjaz (started up by Joe Blow), and after hearing this EP I'm going to be looking deeper into what else they have to offer."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2013_07_leviticus.html

Kid Tsunami :: The Chase :: HeadBop Music 
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[The Chase]"Kid Tsunami is not the latest luchador to splash through your television on CMLL, nor is he a new video game protagonist inhabiting a realm of dangerous bearsharks and monkeygators. He's not starring in Kick-Ass 2, and he's not the latest marketing gimmick for Sun Drop to tell you how unexpectedly good their drinks are. Here's what the comic book-esque named Kid Tsu IS though - a producer from Perth, Australia with a decidedly throwback production style and sound. The fact he cites Diamond D, Pete Rock, Large Professor and the Beatminerz as his influences should tell you all you need to know. His alter ego could be Captain 90's. Lord knows guest star Sean Price has enough alter egos to go around for both of them - and he's the partner-n-rhyme of "Bang Exclusive." It's a rude awakening - nobody safe! Judging by the list of talent on "The Chase" it's fair to say Kid Tsunami's reputation proceeds him. You could hardly come up with a better who's who of emcees you would want over hot beats, and in keeping with his Captain 90's soundscape, these are many of the hottest rappers from my college days. J-Live blesses the bars on "a brand new shout to the past" called "What It Was." Andre the Giant is still a giant in the mental if not stature on the mellow jazz and refreshingly boom bap track "The First Letter." Masta Ace jumps from the 1990's to "Twothousand40" as scratched in samples set up his laconic flow lovely. El Da Sensei, Bahamadia, Prince Po, KRS-One and O.C. are just a few of the names making up this beefy selection of talent - high in protein and low in filler. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2013_07_kidtsuchase.html

R-Swift :: Apply Pressure :: Rhyme Council Music Group 
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Apply Pressure]"The biographical info for R-Swift is a little more scant than I like when doing a review. I know he's from the Rhyme Council, but I don't know who else is in the Council with him. I know he's lived in both New York and Philadelphia but now resides in Atlanta, but I don't know why he moved around so much. I can tell you the name of his manager and his booking agent, but I can't tell you who he's opened for or who he's toured with. Details are important Swift - so please beef up your Facebook a bit. I tried going to your label's website, but it's a domain parked with Register.com, so the only thing I had was FB and I got that from your publicist. Now that I'm through criticizing the minutiae, let's get down to criticizing the music. For somebody who is seemingly as newborn to hip-hop as Kate and William's baby, R-Swift has a polished yet gruff flow with a political message of empowerment and self-support. The press sheet doesn't mention any of the producers on "Apply Pressure," but they do a good job of playing the background to let the strength of Swift's words come through. "Don't Go" talks about being the child of an unwanted pregnancy with a whole lot of potential. I don't know if it's a personal story or just one he tells from the unborn baby's perspective (again a little bio info would help) but it strikes a chord either way. The word that comes to mind while listening to "Apply Pressure" is "thoughtful." There's a very deliberate and constructed approach to everything R-Swift says, meaning he put careful consideration not just into his breath control and his rhymes, but into the message those words would convey. I never heard "Part 1" but "Dear Mr. President, Part 2" makes me want to. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2013_07_applypressure.html
Video: @IAmTristate @ProdigyMobbDeep @Alchemist (@NatureSounds)


Video: Durag Dynasty + Prodigy + Alchemist

Courtesy Nature Sounds.

Durag Dynasty debut "Fish Meat" music video featuring Prodigy // 360 Waves in stores now.

Video: @DizzyWright - "Can't Stop Won't Stop"


Video: Dizzy Wright - "Can't Stop Won't Stop"

Courtesy Audible Treats.

Fresh off his tour through Australia, Funk Volume rapper Dizzy Wright has released the latest single and video from his upcoming mixtape The Golden Age, entitled "Can't Stop Won't Stop," which was produced by Will Power aka SupaHotBeats.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for Oct. 17th, 2017!! Please support us at our Patreon page and we can go 100% ad free when we hit the target goal. You can also shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook. This week we have TEN new items for you: Apathy & O.C.'s "Perestroika" (our featured review), a new editorial on the Super Nintendo Classic, Fat Joe x Remy Ma's "Plata O Plomo," Lil Debbie's "OG in My System," Lucha Lonely's "The Bobby Lonely Story," MMA Mania interviews with Neiman Gracie and Gegard Mousasi, the top 15 Jay-Z videos, Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for Oct. 10, 2017 and WSIB #13's "Baby I'm-a Want You" results!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Arya's WWE NXT Report from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive