Friday July 01, 2016
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Backstage] BRBRCK is B(A)CK.

BRBRCK review

Latest News Headlines
MTV2 Greenlights New "Nick Cannon Presents Wild 'N Out" for 2013 (@MTVPress)


MTV2 Greenlights Re-Imagination of "Nick Cannon Presents Wild 'N Out" to Premiere in 2013

Courtesy MTV Press.

MTV2, MTV’s sibling network, today announced a deal with comedian, actor and host Nick Cannon and his NCredible Entertainment to reimagine the successful sketch comedy and improv series “Nick Cannon Present’s Wild ‘N Out” specifically for the MTV2 audience. Due to popular demand, the improv comedy show is set to debut in 2013 and embark on a search for the next generation of comedic stars, while bringing back some familiar faces from past seasons. Aspiring comedians can head to http://NCredible.com for casting and open audition information.

“Nick Cannon Presents Wild N Out” originally aired on MTV from 2005-2007, featuring two teams of hot, up-and-coming comics and celebrity guests who go head-to-head in a series of “improv battles.” The Cannon created, produced and hosted show became one of MTV’s highest rated shows in the network’s history, airing new episodes for four consecutive seasons with a-list guests that included Tyra Banks, Kanye West, Snoop Dogg, Lil’ Wayne, Serena Williams and more.

“I get asked every day when ‘Wild ‘N Out’ will be back,” says Nick Cannon, CEO of NCredible Entertainment. “I’m thrilled to announce that the show will be making its long awaited return very soon - bigger and better. With our show’s original cast, everyone from Kevin Hart to Katt Williams, Affion Crocckett and Taran Killam becoming household names, I am looking forward to working with MTV2 as we work to introduce the biggest comedic stars of tomorrow with the return of Wild ‘N Out.”

“Building on our long-standing relationship with Nick Cannon, we are ecstatic to welcome his creative genius back to the MTV family,” said Paul Ricci, Senior Vice President of Programming and Production for MTV2. “The re-mixed Wild ‘N Out will deliver a high-energy, clever and hilarious addition to MTV2’s original programming line-up.”

Named by People Magazine as one of the Top Ten Most Successful People in Young Hollywood and featured on the cover of Black Enterprises’ 40 Under 40, Nick Cannon’s rapid rise to success in film and television has had its monumental peaks, which include Nickelodeon’s award-winning The Nick Cannon Show, along with a breakout role in the 2002 movie Drumline. In 2006, Cannon was featured in the Emilio Estevez written and directed film “Bobby,” earning him a 2007 SAG nomination for “Outstanding Performance” in addition to becoming the first African American Actor in history to be honored at the world renowned Cannes Film Festival with the “Breakthrough Actor of the Year” award. Cannon’s other film credits include Sundance Film Festival featured films “Weapons,” “American Son,” and the psychological thriller, “The Killing Room.” He produced his own stand-up comedy special “Mr. Showbiz” which debuted on Showtime, and appeared as a series regular on the Lorne Michaels produced NBC scripted comedy show, “Up All Night” opposite Maya Rudolph, Christina Applegate and Will Arnett, earning himself a 2012 NAACP Image Award for “Outstanding Supporting Actor.” Most recently, Cannon appeared on MTV2’s original comedic-game show series “Hip Hop Squares,” starring in the all-important center square in addition to his hosting duties on NBC’s “America’s Got Talent.”

Candida Boyette Clemons and Paul Ricci will serve as MTV2’s Executive Producers for the series. Nick Cannon is the creator and Executive Producer and Michael Goldman will serve as the Executive Producer of “Wild ‘N Out” for NCredible Entertainment.

MTV2 targets young men with smart, funny and relevant content, including music, comedic and action-oriented original programming such as Guy Code, Nitro Circus Live, The DUB Magazine Project, Hip Hop Squares and The Week in Jams.

About MTV2:
Available in approximately 80 million homes MTV2 is man's best friend. Since its launch in 1996, the network has reflected the subversive interests and behaviors of young men with a compelling and diverse programming line-up inspired by ordinary guys who do extraordinary things. MTV2 is a unit of Viacom Inc. (NASDAQ: VIA, VIAB), one of the world’s leading creators of programming and content across all media platforms. For more information, go to www.mtvpress.com .

ABOUT NCREDIBLE ENTERTAINMENT
Founded by Nick Cannon in 2009, NCredible Entertainment has quickly become a powerhouse brand in the entertainment industry producing TV and film projects, including TeenNick’s Annual “Halo Awards,” MTV docu-series “Son of A Gun,” two “School Gyrls” movies for Nickelodeon and most recently “Ragz” starring KeKe Palmer. NCE has just completed production on 13 episodes of "Incredible Crew", an original live action sketch show for Cartoon Network, which will premiere January 2013 in addition to the company’s first feature film ‘School Dance’ with Lions Gate which Cannon wrote and directed. Always keeping busy with multiple film/TV projects in development NCE also boasts a music division representing artists such as the New Boyz, Cory Gunz, The Rangers, School Gyrls, rising boy band 4Count as well as a product division which introduced a top selling line of NCredible branded headphones at retail nationwide this year in conjunction with Monster Cable Products, Inc. For more information, logon to www.ncredibleinc.com .
Video: Ryan Collins "Now or Never" w/ DMV's My Tech (@Official301)


Video: Ryan Collins "Now or Never" w/ DMV's My Tech

Courtesy Dove @ Tygereye.

Maryland songwriter/lyricist Ryan Collins proud to announce the November 11 release of his Now or Never EP, currently on iTunes! Here is a visual for the title track "Now or Never", which includes footage from Collins' release event at My Tech Communications in Hagerstown, Maryland!

Video: @SavKillz - "More Rice" (prod. @Madlib)


Video: Sav Killz - "More Rice" (prod. Madlib)

Courtesy J-Ronin.

Directed by Judlin "Burn Bitty" Civil and Phil "IV" Tudeme
Shot and Edited by Andrew Greenblatt

Video: Mad Dukez Interview Pt. 1 at The Hideout in Omaha (@DTR45)


Video: Mad Dukez Interview Pt. 1 at The Hideout in Omaha

Rising rap star Mad Dukez (check out http://MadDukez.Bandcamp.com/ to hear his music and learn more about him) does an exclusive interview with Steve 'Flash' Juon of RapReviews.com! Dukez talks about how the hip-hop scene in Buffalo, how he linked up with Deep Thinka (DTR) and Fresh Kils, and much more. Stay tuned for part two of our exclusive interview with Dukez!

The (W)rap Up - Week of November 6, 2012


If you missed any of the new reviews this past week including Sean Price's "Mic Tyson" then do yourself a favor and check out this week's edition of the (W)rap Up!




[Mic Tyson] Sean Price :: Mic Tyson
Duck Down Music

Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Sean Price introduced the rap world to Mic Tyson in 2009 and ever since that mixtape we've all been eagerly anticipating the full length. It took almost three full years, but lo and behold, the official "Mic Tyson" album is finally available everywhere - from regular retail outlets like Best Buy to digital download purveyors like Amazon. That's not to say Sean PEEEEE hasn't stayed busy in the interim - in fact he was part of last year's hip-hop supergroup Random Axeand always seems to pop up with a freestyle or a semi-hostile takeover over the airwaves like his appearance on Shade 45's "Toca Tuesdays." Only the indefatigable and flamboyant Sean Price could decide that the first single from his first commercial solo LP in several years would be "Shut the Fuck Up, Part 2." Judging by the cover art, he's not kidding about that. It looks like his cartoon counterpart has been bashing people in the head with a microphone until the head wound up blood red. Then again it's no surprise Price would feel that ruggish when said same single is backed by a bugged out boom bap beat from everybody's favorite California lead-to-gold producer Alchemist. There are few people better at expressing inner hostility toward other emcees while simultaneously bragging about their own abilities than Sean Price. One of the other Alchemist produced tracks may explain this combination best, and in the process coins yet another new nickname for Sean Price: "Bar-Barian." In only two minutes time he manages to "bust heaters at your whole damn clique" while proclaiming "rap niggaz - I doubt if there's/another nigga doin it like me - fuck outta here!!" If you're a Price fan (which I freely admit I am) it only gets better on the song immediately following, as he goes straight for the jugular on the Amp produced "Pyrex," featuring some of the heaviest piano keys heard in hip-hop in some time. "

OST :: The Man With the Iron Fists :: Soul Temple/Universal Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[The Man With the Iron Fists]

"Unfortunately this Travis Barker song is not part of "The Man With the Iron Fists" soundtrack, despite being featured prominently in the advertising for the movie. It's not even a bonus track. That's frustrating given that RZA is heavily involved in all aspects this movie, including writing and directing it, and releasing the OST on his own Soul Temple imprint. From a corporate standpoint this shouldn't have been hard to work out - Barker's group (Blink-182) is signed to DGC, which is an imprint of Interscope, which is owned by Universal Records. Coincidentally this soundtrack for the Soul Temple imprint is distributed under the Universal Records umbrella. We've got a classic "left hand doesn't know what the right is doing" situation here. Regardless things get out to a hot start with The Black Keys and RZA on "The Baddest Man Alive," a track also co-produced by said same. Wu-Tang Clan familia play a strong part in this soundtrack, which is exactly what you'd expect when one of the Wu's founders is in charge. Even when there's not obviously a Wu member on the song, such as with Kanye West's "White Dress," a quick look behind the scenes reveals that RZA splits the production credit with Mr. West. One can hardly complain given the song is one of West's better efforts of late, putting aside his absurdly annoying champagne flossing for a well narrated tale. The soundtrack's songs work in dialogue from the movie, such as Talib Kweli's smoking "Get Your Way (Sex Is a Weapon)" featuring Res. And if you're looking for a revival of the traditional Wu-Tang Clan sound in group form, "Rivers of Blood" featuring Kool G. Rap and "Six Directions of Boxing" are as close to it as we'll get in this decade - unless RZA can lock everybody in the studio long enough to finish an album together. For better or worse when you do an album that includes the WHOLE Wu familia though and not just the original Clan, you get branches of the tree like Killa Sin on "The Archer." It's not that Frank Dukes made a bad track or that Sin is a bad emcee, but his "these niggaz like March of Dimes rappers" punchlines don't take an average track and elevate it or vice versa. And if you're the hip-hop head who's not into R&B, songs like Corinne Bailey Rae's "Chains" and The Revelations "I Forgot to Be Your Lover" aren't going to do anything for you. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_11_ironfistsost.html

DJ Paul :: A Person of Interest :: Scale-A-Ton/Select-O-Hits, Inc.
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[A Person of Interest]"Anybody who thought Scale-A-Ton was a weighty album in 2009 with 20 tracks, the co-founding member of Three 6 Mafia has upped the ante in a BIG way. 2012's "A Person of Interest" is nearly 20 minutes longer than his last solo album, and if you buy the physical version you ALSO get a bonus DVD with what the sticker on the cover describes as a "comedy/horror movie" and "never before seen cooking videos." Cooking videos?! If that comes as a surprise you haven't been checking out his YouTube videos, like the one below where he shows you how to make a barbecue style SMOKED pizza. He's quite the gourmand when it comes to cooking, which is why he and Juicy J ultimately appeared on the limited run VH1 series "Famous Food." That experience left me wondering why the Cooking Channel never tried to get him for another short series, or even a one-off special about Memphis barbecue. Regardless DJ Paul is nothing if not chronically busy - he's recording, he's filming videos for YouTube, he's putting out massive 80 minute albums like "A Person of Interest" and filming his own movies - all on a D.I.Y. level with Select-O-Hits doing the distribution. All of this might make you wonder what the future is for Triple Six, and the best I can tell you right now is "on hiatus." J doesn't make a single cameo on this album, and in fact he's busy with his own solo career, having recently hit the charts with his crossover single "Bandz a Make Her Dance." No matter what the future holds for Three 6 Mafia, you have to respect Paul Beauregard's hustle (and that of J) and the fact he's willing to give so much material to a still down and loyal fanbase. He's also the producer of record for every song on his new album, which only adds to the amount of work on his plate, although co-production credits can be found on every song other than intro, outro and song "Unstoppable." His top four collaborators are Shawty Trap, Premo Danger, Gtown Vega and Dream Drumz - the latter of which will already be familiar to many of this review's readers for the single "W.I.L.L. (What I Look Like)" featuring Gucci Mane."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_11_personofinterest.html

Double A.B. & Dub Sonata :: Media Shower :: Man Bites Dog Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Media Shower]

"Denying the progress of technology is absurd unless you choose to completely isolate yourself in an Amish community or a log cabin up in the mountains. Whether or not you like how interconnected to the internet we all are now, it's a 21st century reality we all have to accept. The manifesto on this disc suggests this is somehow inherently evil using buzzwords like "techno-craze" and "hypnotic" to suggest we've been brainwashed by our cell phones and iPads, leaving us vulnerable to the influence of an omnipresent New World Order. I refuse to view technology in such a reactionary way - it made my childhood better, my teenage years tolerable, my college life more exciting and my current adult career possible. On the other hand, I'm just as frustrated as Double A.B. and Dub Sonata by the manufactured and forced obsolence of every new cell phone or game console, a system that requires you to either constantly shell out money or be left behind in a technology ghetto where you can't do live video chat but all of your friends can. As for the artists themselves, Double A.B. and Dub Sonata have been featured on this website since 2007, individually rather than collectively, and both have earned praise for their work. The former is a Blaze battle competitor who despite the accolades of his peers and numerous websites is far from a household name, and the latter is a producing wunderkind who made one of 2010's most intriguing albums - "Nights In Cuba." Sonata lived up to the album's title, LITERALLY spending his nights in the still Communist (and hard to visit) country so he could capture the authentic Cuban sound in his sampling and recreations. Though it lacked lyrics, the album was unquestionably rap, in that it had the bold vision to mix Cuba's forbidden flavors with Sonata's hip-hop sensibility. "Media Shower" is well served by having Dub Sonata as the producer, as it gives the album a unified sound and Double A.B. a maestro up to his emcee capabilities to craft his sonic landscape. One can't deny that "Doub' and Dub" has a good ring to it rolling off the tongue either, which makes it a natural from a marketing standpoint. A.B.'s delivery is as deliberate as it is constructed, not in a jarring or stilted way, but in the sense that he's an emcee who chooses his words carefully and wants to make sure you understand his point. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_11_mediashower.html

Revolution of the Mind :: Honor in Sin :: Splntr/DJBooth.net
as reviewed by Matt Jost

[Honor in Sin] "Revolution of the Mind caught my attention on this year's Snowgoons double barrel "Snowgoons Dynasty." The beat for "Missing Pages" was probably the weakest of all 32, but the MC's politically charged rhymes made me listen up regardless. I pursued Revolution of the Mind and found out they released a free album via DJBooth.net earlier this year. Comprised of rapper I.Sheik and DJ Dfi, the duo has been together since the early '00s and has the co-sign of former Non Phixion MC Sabac Red, who executive-produces "Honor in Sin." Name and title suggest a rather serious affair, which is the case to a large degree. "New Mourning" sets the tone, I.Sheik maintaining a finely balanced vocal intensity, deploying lines like "Revolution of the Mind, a call to the conscience / like Rage in '99 cause 'all hell can't stop us'" and "No justice, no peace; dude, I'm not your slave / Got me on a short leash like this was Abu Ghraib" not at the top of his lungs but still with clear conviction. The most obvious point of reference are Dilated Peoples, only that Rakaa and Ev emcee more smoothly than Sheik, who like many political minded rappers may be just a little too eager to get his message across. Nevertheless he is clearly a dedicated West Coast representative, putting in work for the Bay Area over Keelay & Zaire's blaxploitation background for "Block's Conscience," the album's most relaxed offering (also featuring a strong, soulful but unfortunately uncredited hook). Keelay & Zaire produce two more cuts and the Snowgoons connection results in more quality production. Dfi's own contributions (two beats, plus the DJ track "Gun Talk II") are so solid his talents have to be considered underused on ROTM's sophomore effort. Either way the focus is necessarily on the lyrical content. Born into the turmoil of the Iranian revolution of 1979, I.Sheik still cares about his native country. "Day That I Die" portrays him as a man who hardly abandons his mission, whether as rapper or as political activist. On "Die For My People" he explicates his feelings towards Iran's political history of the last 30 years. Relating how a father dies at the hands of the Shah's henchmen and his son is sacrificed by the regime of the Ayatollahs as a human shield and minesweeper, the song is a powerful reminder that revolutions often simply replace one evil with another. In the final verse I.Sheik arrives in the present time, voicing his support for today's dissidents."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_11_honorinsin.html

Shyne :: Gangland :: DatPiff.com
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Gangland] "A RapReviews.com reader encouraged us to cover Shyne's free "Gangland" album from DatPiff.com, noting even as he did so that Shyne should be back in the spotlight but "not for the wrong reasons" like his public feud with Kendrick Lamar. That got me thinking for a minute about whether or not Shyne had ever been in the news for any of the RIGHT reasons? The first time his name even came up in 1998 was controversial as Sean 'Puffy' Combs was accused of trying to find a new rapper to replace the late great Notorious B.I.G., and one has to admit that from the very first Total remix he did the vocal resemblance was eerie. As if Shyne didn't already have that black cloud hanging over his head, he got into a shooting altercation at a New York nightclub late in December 1999 while there with his girlfriend, Puffy and Jennifer Lopez. Some allege that Shyne may have taken the fall for Combs in the aftermath of the incident, but whatever the circumstances, Shyne was sentenced to ten years prison in 2001. Despite that he was still able to put out a new album in 2004, but to make a long story short his criminal record continued generated more hits than his commercial one. THAT record wound up getting him deported to Belize, because it turns out that Jamal Michael Barrow (or if you prefer his new name, Moses Michael Levi) was never naturalized as a U.S. citizen when he came to the States at the age of 13. As if that weren't bad enough the United Kingdom barred him entrance in 2010, deporting him the second he arrived. Shyne doesn't need his feud with Kendrick Lamar to be in the news - he seemingly never hasn't been."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_11_gangland.html
Power 105.1's DJ Self Hosts No Rap Money Release Tonight (@BigDev101)


Power 105.1's DJ Self Hosts No Rap Money Release Tonight

Courtesy Big Dev.

Join us on Tuesday November 13, 2012 from 6-9pm, as we invite bloggers & industry tastemakers to the Hilife Ballroom to preview the new mixtape release from Queens artists OX & LEXX 9 ELEVEN. Hosted by DJ LOVE DINERO & THE TRAPAHOLICS, NO RAP MONEY is a THRILLING 14 track offering accompanied by numerous videos & blogs.

* http://indy.livemixtapes.com/mixtapes/19592/ox-lexx-9-eleven-no-rap-money.html *

This event is a celebration of the projects' release & to premiere the video for one of the mixtapes stand out tracks Mobbing. Open bar & food on deck along with Ciroc bottle giveaways & sponsored gift bags.

Hilife Ballroom is located at 404 6th avenue (Corner of 8th street & 6th avenue)

Please RSVP: NORAPMONEY@GMAIL.COM to be part of this celebration.
Mixtape - @IamSu! - $uzy 6 Speed (@AudibleTreats)


Mixtape - IamSu! - $uzy 6 Speed

Courtesy Audible Treats.

Today, IamSu! is excited to release his new mixtape, $uzy 6 $peed. The tape, which is presented by Pink Dolphin, and includes features from Wiz Khalifa, Juvenile, and members of Su!'s HBK Gang, is currently available for free download exclusively via LiveMixtapes.

* http://www.livemixtapes.com/mixtapes/19377/iamsu-uzy-6-peed.html *
MP3: Spac3man "The Flyest" (@SportnLife206)


MP3: Spac3man "The Flyest"

Courtesy Sportn' Life Records.

Seattle MC Spac3man offers up a new single for his fans in celebration of the Sportn’ Life Records 10 year anniversary. “The Flyest” is an upbeat-synth driven track, produced by Tacoma’s DJ Phinisey. Spac3man credits the song’s creation to his new circle of inspiration, his crew, the Airplane Mode Gang. The song exemplifies the APM Gang’s objective to further their careers by leaving their comfort zone, via taking flight to get closer to their dreams, explains Spac3man in lines like "AirPlane Mode gang, yup I rep that/ I put on like phones and vow never to set back".

RadioHeads: Walk The Moon Remix


RadioHeads: Walk The Moon Remix

Courtesy The Higher Concept.

Well... the "house is falling apart" in our second single from RadioHeads. The Higher Concept has remixed the pop hit Anna Sun by Walk The Moon for your listening/viewing pleasures. Walk the Moon knows that when things fall apart, you gotta rebuild. The Higher Concept follows this mantra at our place of residence, the H.O.D. (House of Dreams) Take a trip with IB over to Home Depot and get your remodeling projects going.



K-Murdock's Tour Updates & Merch Sale! (@Neosonix)


K-Murdock's Tour Updates & Merch Sale!

Courtesy Neosonic Productions.

Still on the road party people! Actually coming live & direct from Phoenix, AZ readying for the 2nd leg of The Campaign Tour: Southwest with Mega Ran. Been posting some pics up of the sights on my instagram if you wanna see what i see ;)

* http://instagram.com/neosonix *

So a couple weeks back, Ran & I made a BIG announcement in regards to our next album that SEGA is offically endorsing, and in honor of the news we decided for the duration of this tour to offer a 20% discount on all music & merch at our bandcamp site! Just input...

dreammaster

...when you check out to reap the benefits; The code is active till Sunday 11/18, so click HERE to get your shop on! http://megarankmurdock.bandcamp.com/ .

See ya on the road...

K

Upcoming Shows/Events:

Date: Location: Venue:
Nov 14, 2012 Albuquerque Burt's Tiki Lounge
Nov 15, 2012 Austin, TX Parish Room
Nov 16, 2012 Dallas, TX The Doublewide

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of June 28th, 2016!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. This week we've got EIGHT ITEMS for you so let's get down to business: BRBRCK's "Backstage" (our featured review), Chazmere's "Chazmere," an editorial on Brexit, The Hip-Hop Shop #381, an interview with Satoshi Ishii, Promise's "TellAVision," Vic Mensa's "There's Alot Going On" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for June 21, 2016!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Rohan & Mike's ROH PPV Recap from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive