Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday September 17, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dark Horse] Never coming in last.

Twista Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Hit - "Runnin" (director Zach Pace)


Video: Hit - "Runnin" (director Zach Pace)

Courtesy Major Music.

Follow @Hits02119 On Twitter and Be On The Lookout For The Debut Album "Orphan Life" Coming Soon!!!

Download: D.M.P. - "To Be Loved" (prod. Nottz)


Download: D.M.P. - "To Be Loved" (prod. Nottz)

Courtesy Dunn Deal PR.

While Durte Musik Prahduckshun‘s last feature found them grappling with the squawks and pecks of Angry Birds, the proverbial fury of women scorned isn’t enough to keep the crew from seeking out their company (and, occasionally, scorning them). D.M.P.‘s latest single, making its world premiere as entry #13 in DJBooth and Event Electronics’ 20/20 Music Series, finds the Nottz-fronted ensemble detailing what fellas will go through To Be Loved.

listen/download "To Be Loved" at djbooth.net
learn more about Event/DJBooth.net's 20/20BAS Studio Monitor Giveaway Competition
more information at EventElectronics.com

Over the heavyweight producer's eccentrically catchy beat, sampled from an unknown rendition of Jackie Wilson's classic song of the same title, emcees Bigshot Manceeni, Cutlass Reid, Khizman, Starboy, Ivory Keyes and Boogie deliver a series of colorful vignettes involving two-timing men, two-timing women, devious foreign exchange students, massive cucumbers and everything in between. While this joint isn't attached to any larger release, those digging it should stay tuned for further news and tunes from D.M.P. Fans can look forward to further entries in the Event 20/20 Music Series over the course of November.

Earlier this year, Event Electronics debuted their 20/20BAS monitors, the latest version of a product whose music industry legacy stretches back to 1995. Now, DJBooth.net has come together with the audio equipment manufacturer to offer one lucky reader the chance to upgrade his/her studio with their very own set of the speakers, hailed by our staff reviewer as "[delivering] impeccable sound without any bells, whistles or glitz," along with a Rode/Event Prize Pack that includes a Rode M1 Mic. Twenty runners-up will also receive prize packs. To enter, simply log into Facebook or Twitter using the links above.

Random a/k/a Mega Ran Press Release: Japan Bound


Random a/k/a Mega Ran Press Release: Japan Bound

What up guys... I wish I had more time to explain this amazing opportunity, but wit me touring the last two months and now working on a new release, I just haven't had time... but let me make this quick.

Myself, K-Murdock, DJ Asu Rock and Bop Alloy (Substantial and Marcus D) are going to Japan on a revolutionary tour called "More BARK, Less Bitin'." This tour is different from any other in that:

- The focus is to help rebuild Japan's economy and tourism market.
- We want FANS to COME WITH US!
- Its part tour, part vacation.

details:

A VACATION CONCERT TOUR PACKAGE TO TOKYO, OSAKA, & KYOTO, JAPAN FEATURING BOP ALLOY (SUBSTANTIAL & MARCUS D) K-MURDOCK & RANDOM with DJ ASU ROCK

*DEC 7 - DEC 13, 2011 *(Departing Dec 7) 7 DAYS 5 NIGHTS - 3 SHOWS, 3 CITIES, ONE COUNTRY!!

Prepare to embark on one of the most unique live concert tours of the year as you spend face-time with some of Jazz-Hop's greatest entertainers in the incredible land of JAPAN!!

Fans will be doing their part to help rebuild Japan by spending 7 days and 5 nights alongside Bop Alloy (Substantial and Marcus D), Random and K-Murdock with DJ Asu Rock as they visit and perform one of a kind concerts in three of Japan's most popular and historic destinations - Tokyo, Osaka, and Kyoto!

Sparked by Bop Alloy's Substantial to give back to his fans in Japan and so his fans from all over the world could come along and personally experience the wonders, sights and sounds of his second home

- Pop Show Japan/ Toramaru Entertainment, and JTB, USA, Inc of Washington DC - a division of Japan's largest Travel agency, has developed a perk filled, 3 city concert tour package to help reboot Japan's tourism scene and create the best musical tour experience for everyone.

I just got my ticket today, and honestly, the price floored me... not because of how expensive it was, just the opposite. it was super cheap!

don't worry about the cost of the rooms, just grab the flight if you can, as those rates fluctuate. Would be awesome to see you guys there!

Call the travel agent and get a quote, it really couldn't hurt to try!

hit em up at dc@jtbusa.com or call toll free @ 1-800-926-7274

Also, we're 4 days away from the release of Mega Ran 10, and I'm excited!

Get your Preorder on and digital releases will come out Thursday 11.10.11 :)

I actually just wrote a new song that I'll send you FOR FREE if you preorder the album as a bonus.

ONLY 5 CDS LEFT YO!!!

I'm serious, these CDs will not be available ever again... I have to move on from Mega Man rap eventually, right? Well, yeah. Good news (?) is that the vinyl distributor told us that their new minimum is 300 pcs, not 200, so there will be more vinyl available than CDs, ha. We have other business to handle before Japan... like..

The Memorandum.

click to preorder, and if you're in AZ, you won't wanna miss the release party Dec 16!!

So to recap..

LETS GO TO JAPAN!

PREORDER MEGA RAN 10 and get it EARLY!

Listen to MIRANDOM.

Peace!
Ran

Video: Phil Ade f/ Killa Kyleon - "You're the One"


Video: Phil Ade f/ Killa Kyleon - "You're the One"

Courtesy Langston S.

Check out the new Phil Ade music video for "You're the One" featuring Killa Kyleon.  "You're the One" produced by Sunny Norway can be found on Phil Ade's latest project A Different World.

MP3: Lil Cali f/ Smoke DZA, Trey Songz - "If My Heart Was to Stop"


MP3: Lil Cali f/ Smoke DZA, Trey Songz - "If My Heart Was to Stop"

Courtesy J. Melo.

Here goes a new treat from Baton Rouge artist Lil Cali featuring Trey Songz & Smoke DZA! Cali's new album will be released next year.

Artist: Lil Cali
Song: If My Heart Was to Stop
Featuring: Trey Songz & Smoke DZA
Song Link: http://hulkshare.com/oeh5ew8uyips .

PR: Moka Only "Crickets" Remix Contest & Video Trailer


PR: Moka Only "Crickets" Remix Contest & Video Trailer

As Moka Only and Chief prepare to drop their joint effort "Crickets," Feelin' Music holds a remix contest for the song "Mess Around." The winning submission will be on an official digital remix EP and the chosen remixer receives the "Crickets" CD plus a Feelin' Music shirt!

Find the acapella, the original song and contact info at: www.feelinmusic.ch/remixcontest.html

DEADLINE: November 20th 2011 midnight GMT

Start messing around!

Video: SmCity feat. Skyzoo - "Twilight"


Video: SmCity feat. Skyzoo - "Twilight"

From Langston S.

Watch the new video for "Twilight" featuring Skyzoo from SmCity's upcoming DJBooth sponsored project The Indie Life: Hate, Love & Money.

The (W)rap Up - Week of November 1, 2011


If you missed any of the new reviews last week, including Rapper Big Pooh's "Dirty Pretty Things" then do yourself a favor and check out this week's edition of the (W)rap Up!

[Dirty Pretty Things]

Rapper Big Pooh :: Dirty Pretty Things
For Members Only

Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon



"There are readers checking out "Dirty Pretty Things" right now who probably own all four versions of "Delightful Bars," Rapper Big Pooh's mysterious solo album, even the rare "Japanese Daifuku Version" that I've never personally seen. I'm on the flipside of that equation though - I own NONE of the four. I've enjoyed various songs from the album that came out on mixtapes, as singles, or had videos made for them, but I never went out and picked up a copy or even looked for a retail digital download. Looking back now the only thing I can do in fairness to make up for that is to review "Dirty Pretty Things" and balance the scales. They've been unbalanced for a while now. Phonte was always my favorite member of Little Brother, to the degree that I've probably overrated him to some degree as a lyricist, and may have unfairly underrated his cohort. There's nothing about "Dirty Pretty Things" that presents the notion the self-described "fat boy fresh" rapper is not delivering on Phonte's level. In fact I'd go so far as to say the Family Biz produced "Medicine Man" shows just to what degree we've all been sleeping on Pooh like Christopher Robin. You can tell Pooh likes the rock influenced music, because he bobs his head to the beat in the music video he released back on September 11th. It brings out the inner braggart, and he does his best to profess that he's out to get money while shining brightly rap-wise in a world of emcee darkness."

3:33 :: Live From the Grove :: Parallel Thought
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor
[Live From the Grove] 
"The Bohemian Grove, located near San Francisco, is home to the Bohemian Club. The club, whose members include prominent businessmen and politicians, including most U.S. presidents, is a secret society with arcane rituals based on paganism, including a Cremation of Care in front of a giant owl shrine. 3:33's latest album is meant to invoke the mystic paganism that permeates the Bohemian Grove, capturing the dark arts that are associated with the spot. In their press materials, they claim the album was recorded there, although I can't confirm that. 3:33 write, "those who listen will swear they can hear the very voice of Moloch whispering, foretelling coming realities in dead languages. Some can hear the crackle of burning effigies, filling the night sky with acrid unholy smoke amidst the shrewd cackles of mad men foolish enough to offer their souls to the Babylonian blood gods. The album sounds like tamed chaos- a focused channeling of the cryptic energies that permeate from within this house of leaves." I don't know much about 3:33. From their bio I know it is a "they" and not a he or she. I know that their influences are more along the lines of experimental composers like John Cage rather than hip-hop producers, although they are on a hip-hop label. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_333livefromthegrove.html

Cold Heat :: Raising the Bar :: Soulspazm Digital
as reviewed by Daniel Oh

[Raising the Bar] 
"Quiet quality is the bane of most underground rappers. The rap game is saturated with MCs and producers that are so technically gifted, but somehow lack that "it" factor that A&Rs and record labels harp about. Still, figuring out who gets to blow up and who doesn't is an almost arbitrary process. Some artists will never get the capital or marketability needed to get out from under all that obscurity, some will get lost in the YouTube shuffle after blowing their first 15 minutes of fame, and some just aren't ready for the bright lights of recognition and acclaim. It's not an affront to the talent or deserving of any of these artists, it's just the way the game is. With that said, I can feel for Cold Heat. Their Hip-hop skills are on point from a technical standpoint. Jak D has a fluent understanding of flow and delivery, of how to fit words and rhymes in to highlight the best parts of his verse. He not only knows how to switch up the flow, but he knows when to switch it up. His lyrical skills are on point, he crams enough punches to keep the headphones rocking back and forth at a constant clip. Jay W isn't bad behind the boards, he doesn't push boundaries or get overly creative, but he does know how to make a solid beat to spit behind. Cold Heat is very technically gifted, a Hip-hop duo that will make the purists (like me) swoon. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_raisingthebar.html

Infinite P :: Moonlight :: IP Music
as reviewed by Aaron Boyce

[Moonlight] 
"This could have the most fitting album cover that I have ever come across in over fifteen years of listening to hip-hop. Ignoring the fact that this album is actually called "Moonlight", the serene setting of the cover's artwork would make the perfect location for soaking up this album. A few friends, something to drink, smoke and eat coupled with this playing in the background and you would have all the ingredients for a chilled evening by the ocean. The combination of Infinite P's rich vocal tones and his effortless, almost lazy, flow work well together again as you can't help but nod your head to the next offering, "Doing It Right". This track sounds like it could have been plucked out of fellow Canadian Moka Only's extensive back catalogue and it's no surprise to see Moka himself pop up on "Fuck You", which follows. Moka Only actually makes three appearances on this album and it is clear that the ex-Swollen Member has had a huge influence on I-Peezy, both in beat selection and lyrical style.As the beat is plodding along and Main Flow is, as expected, tearing up his guest spot, the track is abruptly cut short at just over the two minute mark. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_infinitepmoonlight.html

Killa Kyleon & Rapid Ric :: Candy Paint N Texas Plates 2 :: Authintik Music Group
as reviewed by Matt Jost

[Candy Paint N Texas Plates 2] 
"While I was never short of reasons to be skeptical about the Boss Hogg Outlawz ("Boyz-N-Blue"? Seriously?), one rapper stood out next to the designated alpha dog. That rapper was Killa Kyleon, displaying above average penmanship on many of the tracks he was featured on. Having since parted ways with Slim Thug and BHO, Kyleon is determined to establish himself amongst Houston's heavy spitters. With his latest project, "Candy Paint N Texas Plates 2," he takes another step on the long ladder of success. Not too long ago, offerings by rappers of Killa Kyleon's ilk would have been streamlined from front to back with synth tracks and hustle raps. In today's open-minded climate, a mixtape like "CPTP2" is much more diverse. It can place "Watch the Reaction" next to "Come on Baby" and thus go from old-style southern rap with Pimp C and Lil Keke to a Mac Miller feature on a beat by Spanish production team Cookin' Soul. And since it sports a soulful southern sound, it does well to consider talented H-Town singers like Jack Freeman ("Make Me") and Ced B. ("Gangsta Life"). The references are also broader, be they lyrical or musical. On "Bodies Hit the Floor" Killa namechecks the nu-metal band from Dallas that inspired the song's title ("Let the bodies hit the flo', I kill this shit like Drowning Pool"), while Big K.R.I.T. samples Bon Jovi and Biggie Smalls for the epic "Hustler's Prayer" as Kyle rises to the occasion with a lyrically dense performance."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_candypaintntexas2.html

Professor Green :: At Your Inconvenience :: Virgin Records
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

[At Your Inconvenience] 
"The problem with UK music critics is that they are unsure of how to deal with hip hop - whilst MC's, DJ's and heads are deeply schooled in the roots of the genre, frequently music journalists on this island aren't "rap critics" that understand the intricacies, nuances, ambiguity and (yes) sheer hypocrisy of the game. That's why, superficially, Professor Green's sophomore album, "At Your Inconvenience," already seems to be flying over a lot of heads. Of course, all music contains seeds of universal truths, but our beloved genre plays by its own rules. So yes, whilst it might be strange to hear an emo-rap song for four minutes followed by a track where the sole ambition is rhyming about getting your dick sucked, that's just how it goes. When analysing a rap album, you have to know precisely what to analyse, and what the MC is trying to achieve. On AYI, Professor Green is trying to advance his career in various ways: musically, it's an incredible diverse and personal listen that shuns the pop-dance sound of his debut; conceptually, he's attempting to forge a much more personal connection with listeners; commercially, there are fewer throwaway chart moments - instead, he is trying to make singles that have more of an artistic merit than ripping an INXS sample. He has set the bar high for himself, as this is an album with ambitions that barely relate to his debut (it's worth remembering that "Alive Till I'm Dead" only came out 15 months ago). "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_atyourinconvenience.html

Random and Lost Perception :: Black Materia: Final Fantasy VII :: Mega Ran Music
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Black Materia: Final Fantasy VII] 
"I admit that we made a mistake - well more specifically I made a mistake. If that seems like an unconventional way to begin a review, it helps to start with the fact that RR covered "Black Materia" back in February. Through no fault of his own, the writer covering the project received an incomplete copy of the album, one which was supplied to the website for preview rather than REview. For an amount of time that I find embarrassing to me, this mistake flew completely under my radar, until the artist HIMSELF pointed it out to me after I met him in person for the first time a couple of months ago. Now to Random a/k/a Mega Ran's credit he was not the least bit hostile about this mistake, which is a rather unconventional reaction among artists to say the least. For doing someone a disservice of that magnitude the responses can be anything ranging from rude e-mails to physical threats. The latter is usually more a response to feeling "dissed" because the writer in question found an album to be of subpar quality, but it remains in the realm of possible outcomes. I'm happy to say that's not Ran's forte. It's not even that I expected it to be - after all the dude's not exactly portraying a gun-toting gangster on his albums, unless you mean a Nintendo light gun with a cord attached to a console. Still a mistake like that could have soured the lines of communication and damaged our ability to work with him on future reviews. He had only one request to repair the damage - do another review but this time use the FULL length LP. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_blackmateriaredux.html


Rolling Stoned :: Space Cake :: 95 Labs
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Space Cake] 
"I first discovered Rolling Stoned while compiling music for a new episode of The Hip-Hop Shop. That goes to show these episodes can be just as useful for me as for the visitors each Tuesday, even though free downloadable podsafe music every Tuesday is hard to argue with. Of course the shows wouldn't be very good if I wasn't being selective about what's worthy of inclusion, and the song "Boom Boom" certainly fit the criteria. I really dug the choice of John Lee Hooker's hard rockin' blues song as inspiration for their track. True to the spirit of the original, the rappers talk about a woman that's killer hot, but true to the spirit of their smoke there's a lot of double entendre and pharmaceutical allusions. Most of the album's songs are far more blatant and far more blunted. Even their "Intro" is a woman preparing a recipe with ground up marijuana leaf as one of the ingredients, although she's sure to stress that her preparation is for medicinal purposes only and NOT recreational. I doubt that Rolling Stoned cares. They claim a variety of afflictions on the following song "Medicated," including a case of glaucoma for which they've "gotta see a doc-torrrr," making sure to have their papers to prove it when pulled over. The members of Rolling Stoned - Marii Jane, Salazar, Shottie & Joey Duz - have an interesting chemistry beyond the chemicals they're ingesting. Verses are bilingual, switching back and forth between English and Spanish like early Cypress Hill songs. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_rollingstonedspacecake.html

Sugar Minott :: Hard Time Pressure :: VP Records
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

[Hard Time Pressure] 
"Despite P. Diddy's claims to the contrary, it was reggae musicians who truly invented the remix. Jamaican producers were repurposing instrumental backing tracks, or riddims, before Sean Combs was out of diapers. Dub producers took riddims in strange and exotic directions, and deejays chatted over riddims, often answering the original song. Sugar Minott pioneered the art of singing over riddims, creating new songs out of existing templates. This box set collects 36 of his songs and DVD of him playing live in Japan in 1986. Sugar Minott got his start singing in the vocal group African Brothers. In the late seventies, he began writing and singing new songs over old Studio One and Treasure Island instrumentals. The producers and record companies loved him because he could create brand new tracks without having to hire musicians to record new music. He was so successful at it, he started his own Black Roots label. Disc one starts off with his early hit "My Love Is True," followed by "Hard Time Pressure," a reworking of Hopeton Lewis's "Sound and Pressure." The two songs show two distinct sides of Minott's personality. the romantic crooner and the protest singer. It's a testament to his versatility that he was able to sing both types of songs convincingly. Disc one leans heavier on roots reggae concerns of praising Jah and the herb, and singing about injustice. " 

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_11_hardtimepressure.html

The Hip-Hop Shop #147 - Dopeness On Display (Commercial Free)




It's time for another new edition of The Hip-Hop Shop. Episode #147 is Dopeness On Display (Commercial Free). Every so often we'll do one of these shows with no commercial breaks just to squeeze in as much podsafe free hip-hop music as possible to show our appreciation for checking out artists like Focus..., Rel!g!on, El Da Sensei and Celph Titled among others. Thanks for listening and remember to share the show with a friend and tell them to check it out every Tuesday on RapReviews.com! Don't forget to subscribe to our RSS newsfeed so you never miss a new episode.

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Focus... - The Co-Sign
* Rel!g!on f/ Jasiri X, Ras Kass, Planet Asia, Torae - Classical Music (The Dangerous Alliance)
* El Da Sensei f/ Nutso, Soul Khan - Nu World (Part II)
* Zakee - Dope Girl
* SL Jones f/ Killer Mike, Pill - Hustlin
* Celph Titled & Buckwild f/ Laws - While You Slept
* DTMD - The Flame (Def Dee Remix)

MP3: Drake f/ Andre 3000, Lil Wayne - "The Real Her"


MP3: Drake f/ Andre 3000, Lil Wayne - "The Real Her"

Courtesy M3W.

* http://tinyurl.com/RapReviews-Drake-TheRealHer *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have ELEVEN new items for you: Amp Live's "Headphone Concerto," an editorial on Adrian Peterson, Ensemble Mik Nawooj's "Hip-Hop Orchestra," Has-Lo and Castle's "Live Like You're Dead," the "Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Volume 3" compilation, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #291, Mirandom's "The Otherworld EP," Sonnyjim & Leaf Dog's "How to Tame Lions," Twista's "Dark Horse" (our featured review), Ugly Heroes' "Ugly Heroes EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 9, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Jay Burna - "Snakes". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive