Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday December 20, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[The Pinkprint] Did we dog her buns?

Wu-Tang Clan review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Wordsmith - "The Limit" (prod. Strada)


MP3: Wordsmith - "The Limit" (prod. Strada)

Courtesy Wordsmith Music.

@wordsmithmusic

"THE LIMIT"
 (Produced by Strada)

from the Upcoming
"Prelude to the King"
Mixtape
Coming MARCH 2012

DOWNLOAD

MP3: SmCity - "Mr. IDGAF" feat. Oddisee & Phil Ade


MP3: SmCity - "Mr. IDGAF" feat. Oddisee & Phil Ade (prod. Oddisee)

Courtesy Langston S.

Check out  SmCity's newest single from "Mr. IDGAF" featuring Oddisee and Phil Ade.   SmCity joins forces with his DMV Hip Hop comrades to let everyone know that they don't give a f*#k!  "Mr. IDGAF" produced by Oddisee can be found on SmCity's upcoming DJBooth.net sponsored project The Indie Life: Hate, Love & Money available online January 12, 2012.

MP3: SmCity - Mr. IDGAF feat. Oddisee & Phil Ade (prod. Oddisee): http://hulkshare.com/pa9kst20sz84

 

MP3: A$ap Rocky - "Pretty Flaco"


MP3: A$ap Rocky - "Pretty Flaco"

Courtesy BF Blasts.

DOWNLOAD HERE

from the A$AP Mob album coming February 2012 feat A$AP Twelvy, A$AP Nast, A$AP Ferg, A$AP Ty Beats & that pretty muthafucka A$AP Rocky
Look for that TRILLA video coming soon feat A$AP Rocky, A$AP Twelvy & A$AP Nast!!!!!

Devo Spice Update - 1/3/2012


Devo Spice Update - 1/3/2012

Hey everyone,

I hope everyone had an awesome holiday season.  I for one am really looking forward to 2012.  There are some cool things coming.  Anyway...

--== KICKSTARTER UPDATE: $1370, 6 DAYS TO GO ==--
--== ELEVATOR MAKES THE FUNNY 25 ==--
--== NEW FREE SONGS AT DEVOSPICE.COM ==--
--== MANIC MONDAYS YEAR END COUNTDOWN ==--

--== KICKSTARTER UPDATE: $1370, 6 DAYS TO GO ==--
I need to give you a big thank you to everyone who has pledged so far to my new iPhone game “Rollers” and and a special thank you to those who have blogged about it or in some other way helped me spread the word.

If you missed it, I’m planning to develop an iPhone game (and later port it to Android) that plays like a combination of Pac-Man and Super Mario Bros.  In this game you will guide an alien creature who can roll himself up into a ball through a series of underground caverns to destroy all the crystals that are growing there poisoning the atmosphere.  Destroy the crystals, collect bonus items, and rescue creatures before the air in your environment suit runs out.

I will be hiring a team of talented developers to program the game while I act as art director and game designer.  And in order to pay them I need to raise money.  I have raised $1370 so far, which is great, but I need to raise $5000 in order to make it happen, and I only have 6 days left.  It’s all or nothing, so if I don’t make my goal your credit card won’t get charged and I don’t get any money.

If you pledge besides helping make the game exist you can get special rewards like game levels, a CD, a T-shirt, or replicas of in game objects such as coins, or even a plushie of the lead game character.  There’s no minimum pledge.  There’s also no maximum pledge, so feel free to send me large chunks of all that Christmas money you’re sitting on.

For all the details and to make a pledge please visit http://kck.st/sFIlTp


--== ELEVATOR MAKES THE FUNNY 25 ==--
I am thrilled to report that the Cirque du So What track "Elevator" from our recently released album Stupid Cowboy Thing Volume 1: GRANDMOTHER (available here: http://www.thefump.com/store_release.php?id=88) made Dr. Demento's year end Funny 25 countdown of the most requested songs of the year. It snuck onto the countdown at #22.

This was another good year for The FuMP on Dr. Demento, as according to Luke Ski's Annual Overanalysis of The Funny 25 (http://lukeski.livejournal.com/707419.html) there were 10 FuMP tracks on the countdown, including the #1 and #2 songs.

I should also mention that before the countdown began on the countdown show Dr. Demento played my new song "I Am The Doctor." Thanks, Doc! Here's looking forward to more success in 2012!


--== NEW FREE SONGS AT DEVOSPICE.COM ==--
And speaking of “I Am The Doctor” that song is now one of the free songs you can download over at http://www.devospice.com.  That along with “My Atari” will be available as a free download for the month of January.

Check back each month for two new free songs to download.

--== MANIC MONDAYS YEAR END COUNTDOWN ==--
The first episode of Manic Mondays for 2012 is now available and in this episode we count down the dumbest people featured on News Of The Stupid.  This countdown takes into account shows from 2009 as well since the 2009 shows and the 2011 shows together make up just about a full year of shows.

You can download the episode from this page: http://www.devospice.com/manicmondays.php

The show is also available on iTunes, but note that the old one is still in the Podcasts directory as well.  I have contacted Apple about removing it but they haven’t replied.  If the last episode you see is from 2009 that’s the wrong one.  Or to subscribe directly you can use this RSS feed: http://feeds.feedburner.com/manicmondays

That’s it for now.  Please help me spread the word about the Kickstarter campaign and help get me funded.

Thanks all!

->Later.....Spice

The (W)rap Up - Week of December 27, 2011


It was a pretty light week here at RapReviews due to the holidays and all, but if you missed either of the new reviews last week or any of the Year In Review pieces from your favorite writers, do yourself a favor and check out this week's edition of the (W)rap Up!

The Year 2011 in Review
Authors: The RapReviews.com Staff


"The Year in Review" - a tradition for the last decade at RapReviews.com! We've tried many different ways to satisfy the public's appetite for a thorough analysis of who "the best of the best" during that time. In 2000 and in 2001 Steve 'Flash' Juon compiled the lists. In 2002 the list was created by polling the entire staff. By 2004 we found the most successful formula - individual editorials by contributors to the site wherein they chose their own "best of the best." We've done it this way every year since then and we're doing it again in 2011! Without further adieu, here are the editorials:





Oddisee :: Odd Seasons :: Mello Music Group/Fat Beats
as reviewed by Matt Jost
[Odd Seasons] 
"With so much music available at our fingertips, Oddisee's free seasonal releases between May '09 and '10 were liable to fall through the cracks of cyberspace. Past albums are available digitally at his Bandcamp site for $5 each, but to please those who like to hold a physical product in their hands, Mello Music Group has teamed up with Fat Beats to repackage "Odd Summer," "Odd Autumn," "Odd Winter" and "Odd Spring" into a nice digipak disc and double vinyl platter entitled "Odd Seasons." (It's also available via MP3 from Amazon.) The largely instrumental collection kicks off with a vocal feature from across the pond as UK MC Tranqill helms the casual "The Supplier" to report from his pursuit of happiness. The change to "Almost a Year Since" with its busy drums, filtered basslines and rapidly plucked strings is rather abrupt but also remains the most blunt transition. That not all tracks blend seemlessly here only goes to show that we're dealing with a versatile producer. Covering terrain ranging from symphonic funk ("Everything Changed Nothing"), to soulful boom bap ("Saw Myself Today"), to cinematic/dramatic scores ("Theatre"), to anthemic/majestic East Coast hip-hop ("Warmer in the Day"), and even indie pop ("Frostbit"), Oddisee nevertheless never spreads himself too thin. Oddisee's instrumentals are produced with a steady hand, clearly chiseled even when they take on more experimental forms. With a fondness for Latin American and African percussion, his tracks usually have a strong rhythmic backbone, yet the rhythm section never overpowers the other instruments but is part of the musical dialogue."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_12_oddseasons.html

Mac Miller :: Blue Slide Park :: Rostrum Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Blue Slide Park]


"The tough talking Mac Miller is the latest rapper to roll straight out the mean streets of Pittsburgh, following the success of fellow Rostrum Records hip-hop sensation Wiz Khalifa. Wait - tough talking? Mac Miller's most successful songs to date have been about having a "Party on Fifth Ave." and getting big like "Donald Trump." He might curse here and there, but this Jewish rapper is far from a gangster thugging it up. Mac is serious about his rap career though, or as serious as someone can be who says it's "like a full time job," when the word "like" doesn't belong in the description. Nevertheless sharing time with Wiz Khalifa in the same led to a friendship, then to being signed to the same label, then to being the next biggest thing in hip-hop coming out of the Steel City. So is Malcolm McCormick worth the hype that's been accorded his way? That depends on whether you take the following statement as a diss or as props directed his way - he reminds me a lot of Asher Roth and NOT because they both have Jewish ancestry. There's an innocence bordering on naivete to their braggadocious rapping and party lifestyle, which both bolstering their perceived flimsy credentials by entering (and winning) battle rap contests. Asher Roth is a little better on the mic when it comes to punchlines, but in terms of topic matter you don't get the feeling either one has ever had a real taste of hard times."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_12_blueslidepark.html



The Hip-Hop Shop #154 - The First New Show of 2012!!!




It's time for another new edition of The Hip-Hop Shop. Episode #154 is called The First New Show of 2012!!! Your host Steve 'Flash' Juon has some fresh new songs to kick off the year from Moe Green, Fly Moon Royalty, Rozewood, Qewl Miles and more! Thanks for listening and remember to share the show with a friend and tell them to check it out every Tuesday on RapReviews.com! Don't forget to subscribe to our RSS newsfeed so you never miss a new episode.

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Drapetomania - The Funk
* Rozewood - Asian Nights
* Fly Moon Royalty - Do What You Say
* Asheru - Judo Flip
* Qewl Miles f/ Lou E. Motto - Pardon
* Moe Green - Glory

Video: Tyga on Lil Wayne After He Got Out of Jail


Video: Tyga on Lil Wayne After He Got Out of Jail

Courtesy DJ Vlad.

"Tyga explains how he linked up with Lil Wayne and his journey with Young Money."

Mixtape: Raxstar - "Late On Time" Free Download


Mixtape: Raxstar - "Late On Time" Free Download

Courtesy Khalid Khan.

Raxstar starts the new year by dropping a 27 track mixtape. Check out 'Late On Time'!

Download Link:
* http://www.Raxstar.co.uk/Raxstar-LateOnTime.zip *

Social Links:
* http://www.Raxstar.co.uk *
* http://www.Facebook.com/RaxstarUK *
* http://www.Twitter.com/Raxstar *

Mixtape: Straight-N-Narrow Records (Premise) - Open Eyed Dream


Mixtape: Straight-N-Narrow Records (Premise) - Open Eyed Dream

Courtesy BF Blasts.

coast2coastmixtapes.com/mixtapes/mixtapedetail.aspx/straight-n-narrow-records-premise-open-eyed-dream

TRACK LIST:

1.- AWAKE - KRITIKAL & NICO THE BEAST
2.- CANT SLEEP - JON QUEST (VARSITY SQUAD)
3.- SLUGGAS ON DECK - REAL DEAL
4.- DELOREANS AND BRILLIANCE - FRANCHISE (THE COME-UP BOYS)
5.- INSOMNIA
6.- LOOKOUT FOR THA BAWL - TEKNEEK FT MS GERM FREE
7.- GROWIN LIKE MILDEW - FRANCHISE & JON QUEST
8.- BEAUTY LIFE - PALERMO STONE FT AMBER LEE
9.- OUTTA LINE - MARIO DONES FT NINA JAMES
10.- LET IT KNOWN - LIVING PROOFE
11.- SO IT GOES AGAIN - APEX FT MARLY
12.- COMING OF AGE - HUBBS, GHOSTY, PRIMAVERA VILLS
13.- SWITCH BLADE - ROCK PHILTH OF FIRM TAQTICS
14.- NEVER BE THE SAME - APEX
15.- HIGHWAY - B-BRIXX
16.- TIME N' MONEY - HUMAN HUSTLE ENT, B-BRIXX, YOUNG MIDAS
17.- CENTURY FLOW - VERBS
18.- 3THIRTY - JAY MEL (MAC MEDIA ENT)
19.- YOU RIGHT (F@#K IT) - NICK PRATT
20.- CEREMONIOUS S#@T - DIVINE SEVEN
21.- LANDED - APEX (ENTENDED VERSION)
22.- FOR MY DIRT - CASSANDRA'S KIDD

* http://twitter.com/#!/PremiseSNN *
* http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=14210084 *

Mixtape: FATBOY RHYMER - "Now That I Got Your Attention Vol 2"


Mixtape: FATBOY RHYMER - "Now That I Got Your Attention Vol 2"

Courtesy BF Blasts.

* http://coast2coastmixtapes.com/mixtapes/mixtapedetail.aspx/fatboy-rhymer-now-that-i-got-your-attention-vol-2 *

TRACK LIST:

1.Intro
2.Curves
3.Don't Kill Me With It
4.Full Of Myself feat Desloc
5.Cut Up the Floor
6.Mirror Pic
7.Monkey See Monkey Do feat YD
8.Jumping Out the Door feat LIL KEE
9.Big Boys
10.Circles
11.Rhymer Talks
12.Stop Actin' feat YOUNG BREED
13.Talkn
14.Easy feat VIDO NO SHAKE
15.Beat Come On
16.Booty Everywhere
17.Need My Space feat YUNG TRAP
18.Step N Bounce feat DJ LIL BOY
19.Round For feat JW
20.Who Dat!
21.(Bonus Track) Yamaha

* http://twitter.com/FatBoyRhymer *
* http://www.Facebook.com/DJRhymer *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of December 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have SIXTEEN new items for you for WOMEN's WEEK! Check out Jhene Aiko's "Sail Out EP," Azealia Banks' "Broke With Expensive Taste," two editorials on The Top 20 Female Rap Artist Videos from part one to part two, the "Fly Girls! B-Boys Beware!" compilation, Ghostface Killah's "36 Seasons," Iggy Azalea's "Reclassified," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #304, Steve 'Flash' Juon's Welcome to Women's Week on RapReviews, Nefertiti's "L.I.F.E. (Living In Fear of Extinction)," Nicki Minaj's "The Pinkprint" (our featured review), Nitty Scott, MC's "Boombox Diaries Vol. 1," PRhyme's "PRhyme," Queen Pen's "My Melody," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for December 9, 2014 and Clara Wang's "Verses and a Beat" editorial!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: KINETIC - "Whole Life". RapReviews.com also recommends the Jordan Garber's World from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive