Wednesday December 07, 2016
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[We Got It From Here] Phife named the album.

ATCQ review

Latest News Headlines
@KeroOne & Tuomo - Love and Happiness (Live) Al Green Cover


Kero One & Tuomo - Love and Happiness (Live) Al Green Cover

Courtesy K1.

About the video: When Tuomo, the renowned modern soul singer from Helsinki, Finland, came to California last week, Kero One knew they had to take advantage of the rare opportunity to get together and jam out in the studio. Thus was born this improptu jam session, reworking "Love and Happiness" originally by the great Al Green. Check out the video below and be sure to leave your comments!

Video: @BabyJaymes f/ @TheJacka - "Streets"


Video: Baby Jaymes f/ The Jacka - "Streets"

Courtesy Clear Music.

Following the release of the soulful single "Bump My Head," Oakland native Baby Jaymes is excited to release his new EP, What Ever Happened To Baby Jaymes. The five-track project carries a sound that jumps from vintage to boundary pushing, showing off a range and diversity that the rising singer-songwriter is fast becoming known for.

@MTVPress and @LilTunechi Partner for Global Premiere of Lil Wayne’s New Music Video “No Worries” on Wed., November 21st


MTV and Lil Wayne Partner for Global Premiere of Lil Wayne’s New Music Video “No Worries” on Wednesday, November 21

Courtesy MTV Press.

Lil Wayne to Introduce Music Video on MTV US at 7:53 p.m. ET and Stay On for 30-Minute
Interview on MTV.com during MTV First: Lil Wayne
Wednesday, November 21 at 7:53 p.m. ET

NEW YORK, NY (November 20, 2012) – MTV and hip hop superstar Lil Wayne have partnered for the global premiere of his new music video “No Worries” featuring Detail, the first single from his upcoming album I Am Not A Human Being, Part 2, across its various TV and digital screens. The global partnership positions “No Worries” to reach more than 600 million households around the world via MTV’s global network of more than 60 channels and over 300 digital media properties in 150+ territories. In the US, the video will debut on Wednesday, November 21, 2012 at 7:53 p.m. ET on MTV during the MTV News special “MTV First: Lil Wayne.” Fans around the world will be able to watch the video and interview at http://lilwayne.mtv.tv .

When asked about his first global video premiere, Lil Wayne remarked, "I am happy once again to partner with MTV to bring a slice of my music to their worldwide audience. I look forward to sitting down with Sway on Wednesday evening and hearing what the fans think of my latest video, ‘No Worries’."

“MTV First: Lil Wayne” will kick-off with the Grammy® award winning artist introducing the music video on-air before sitting for an exclusive 30-minute interview with MTV News’ Sway Calloway. Fans worldwide can begin submitting questions immediately via Twitter using the @MTVNews handle and hash-tags #AskWayne and #MTVFirst.

The video will premiere across MTV’s digital screens at 8:00 p.m. ET premiere, including MTV Hits, MTV Jams and mtvU, and go into regular rotation on MTV2 and AMTV overnight. Lil Wayne first previewed “No Worries” during his performance at the “2012 MTV Video Music Awards” with 2 Chainz.

Lil Wayne is President of Cash Money Records and CEO of Young Money Entertainment, home to a bevy of artists including platinum acts Nicki Minaj and Drake. In September 2012, he eclipsed Elvis’ record for the number of chart appearances on the Billboard Top 100 chart with his 109th entry. Beyond music, Weezy launched his Trukfit clothing line in 2012, appeared on ESPN as a guest analyst for “First Take” and “The X Games,” and served as a special guest interviewer for “ESPN Sunday NFL Countdown.” In addition, he has partnered with Mountain Dew for the “DeWeezy Project,” which recently opened a skate park for kids in his hometown of New Orleans, Louisiana.

About MTV
MTV is the world’s premier youth entertainment brand. With a global reach of more than a half-billion households, MTV is the cultural home of the millennial generation, music fans and artists, and a pioneer in creating innovative programming for young people. MTV reflects and creates pop culture with its Emmy®, Grammy® and Peabody® award-winning content built around compelling storytelling, music discovery and activism across TV, online and mobile. MTV’s sibling networks MTV2 and mtvU each deliver unparalleled customized content for young males, music fans and college students, and its online hub MTV.com is a leading destination for music, news and pop culture. MTV, a unit of Viacom Inc. (NASDAQ: VIA, VIAB), one of the world’s leading creators of programming and content across all media platforms. For more information, go to www.mtvpress.com .
Mr. Hardtime "Money Walk" f/ Breezy Ali (@TheArtisticMove)


Video: Mr. Hardtime "Money Walk" f/ Breezy Ali

Courtesy MoJo Dupri.

**Mr Hardtime is an HipHop artist from Texas with Texas swagger and lyrical content with catchy punchlines.

Video: SIC ILL - "Pink Elephants"


Video: SIC ILL - "Pink Elephants"

Courtesy TheRealSicIll.

Bio: Sic ill (pronounced sick-ill) formerly of Tacoma Rap Crew Darxiide.

*Organizes Puget Sound Mixtape (Compilations & Showcase)

*Side job, works at Dash Center of the Arts in downtown Tacoma instructing graphic design to youth 6-19

*Recently released 22 Music Videos over the summer 2012

Video: @Madchild57 "Cyphin" & Tour (@entonegroup)


Video: Madchild "Cyphin" & Tour

Courtesy Chris @ E1.

Madchild's Dope Sick Tour Dates: http://www.madchild57.com/tour/ .

Wu-Tang Clan Affiliate M-Eighty Releases Two New Videos (@MacMediaPromo)


Wu-Tang Clan Affiliate & Guinness Record Freestylist Releases Two New Videos

Courtesy Matt B.

On November 20th, Wu-Tang Clan affiliate/Guinness World Record Freestylist M-Eighty will release “Home Grown Internationally Known”. The LP pays tribute to the rappers hometown of Toledo, OH by featuring all Toledo-based Emcees and Producers alongside the pairing of M-Eighty & newcomer and fellow Toledo native Nino Graye. The duo known as “Glass City”, will be embarking on a 15-date Midwest tour in November alongside the likes of Kid Ink, Cappadonna, & Bronze Nazareth in support of their debut. Fans can expect several videos spawning from the LP’s release including featured tracks “Hip-Hop Glory”, “911”, “Burn it Up”, “Lose My Sheeeit!” & the collegiate-anthem “FAH-Q”.

When asked how the duo came up with the name for their group and the title for their debut, M-Eighty remarked by stating, “I am a home grown product of Toledo, OH who never stopped loving my roots and 30-years later I am that internationally recognized Artist/A&R/Executive that people notice and I still keep it 1000% with my peers. “Glass City” is a nickname for Toledo, OH aka The Renaissance City and though the group is just Nino and I, we definitely showed a lot of love to the artists grinding in Toledo and gave the community a sense of hope that big things can happen if we all learn to motivate and persevere together.” Glass City “Home Grown Internationally Known” drops 11-20-12 on Holy Toledo Productions/Flow-4-Ever Entertainment.

Video link to Glass City’s “911”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8rit-zChzc&feature=youtu.be .



Video link to Glass City’s “Lose My Sheeeeit”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iDEDmTHS3AE .

Video: @ReligionBeats - "Spread Some Love" (@WWorx)


Video: Religion - "Spread Some Love"

Courtesy Wandering Worx.

Here is a little taste of REL!G!ON's upcoming instrumental project titled "REL!GULOUS"" which drops Tuesday December 4th. The first track is "Spread Some Love" accompanied by some visuals we grabbed on a recent trip to Los Angeles. The promo video was shot in Santa Monica by Jus de Pommes and the official video will be released December 11th.

PR: @DSisive 'Run With The Creeps' (The D-Luxe Edition)


PR: D-Sisive 'Run With The Creeps' (The D-Luxe Edition)

Courtesy Matt B.



(***Publicists Note---A Self Penned Letter From D-Sisive In Lieu Of A “Proper” Press Release***)

Dearest America,

I know you very well, but you don’t know me at all.

My name is Derek Christoff. I’m 32 years old and still working on my demo tape. A demo tape I’ve been working on since 2008. Still trying to live the dream; embarrassingly.

I rap. I’m a rapper. I rap through the pseudonym ‘D-Sisive’; a tragically spelled rap name I came up with when I was 15 years old, flipping through the D section of the Webster’s dictionary. Its weird being middle aged and having a rap name, and I say middle aged because I don’t know many 65 year olds.

I’m overweight. Not cool, Action-Bronson-overweight. More awkward. Philip Seymour Hoffman overweight. Jonah Hill. Needless to say, I won’t be having many One Direction enthusiasts with my Tiger Beat pin up in their lockers. If you’re an editor at Tiger Beat, I clean up nicely and look slim in black. If you’re not interested, I’m fine with that. It’s not the language I want my music to speak.

The language my music speaks is English. Through the English language, it speaks heartbreak. Since my mother died in 1998, my life has been riddled with heartbreak. I don’t put it out there for hugs and sympathy. I put it out there to tell my story. Definitely a lame working-on-my-novel-in-Starbucks sentence, but sometimes we’re that lame. I wasn’t confident when I first started penning autobiographical songs. I was convinced nobody was going to give a shit. But, fortunately, and unfortunately, I was wrong. Discovering I wasn’t the only one going through what I was and helping others discover this through my words, was pretty amazing---and assuring.

I’ve done OK in Canada, which is where I’m from. Toronto, to be exact. Three of my seven albums have been nominated for Juno Awards. We refer to them as Canadian Grammys, but they hold nowhere near the same weight as your version. All seven albums have gone number one on Canadian College Radio. Two have long listed for the Polaris Music Prize, which we refer to in the press as the Canadian Mercury Prize. Its funny how Canadian things need to be referred to as a Canadian ‘something-from-another-country-with-more-relevance’ to sound important. That’s where I’m from. Canada. Canadian Tuxedo. That’s why I’m trying to make it in your country. Mine isn’t enough. Fuck. Everywhere else that’s not you isn’t enough. That’s why we all dream of making it in America. The American dream and with all of the above to my rap name, I type this with $63 in the bank---and with all of the above to my rap name, you still don’t know who I am.

I chose to write you personally, instead of trying to get your attention through a fabricated Bio with exaggerated adjectives painting me as the next big thing. It felt more real to me. We can bullshit through bios all we want, but it doesn’t really get us anywhere if you hate the music. Hopefully this makes you want to listen to the music. That’s what this is all about, right? It’s not about this resume cover letter, promising you I’m reliable and will make it to work on time every day. You’ve read it all before.

Hopefully the help of a publicist can get my music listened to, and my resume read. Cold-emailing a blog doesn’t work. The press releases remain unopened in trash bins with the other four hundred pitches you receive daily from Rupert Pumpkins like me with a bandcamp page---and I don’t blame you.

Who knows? Maybe there is room in your corner of the world for a middle-aged, overweight, sad song rapping Philip Seymour Hoffman. Modeling myself after James Murphy helps me sleep better, but then I wake up and remember there’s only one James Murphy; and he’s not that fat. I don’t know? It’s up to you, I guess.

Please listen to my music. I promise I’ll never be late for work.

Hope you invite me over for some meatloaf.

Best Wishes,

Derek
Controversial "Bath Salts" Rapper @MrCodgers Free FUK OFF EP


Controversial "Bath Salts" Rapper, Dickward Codgers, To Release FUK OFF EP Free Online

Courtesy Bayer Mack.

Dallas-Fort Worth, TX native and comedy rapper Dickward Codgers, who made national headlines in August with the release of his controversial song, “Bath Salts”, has released “Smoke It”, the first single and music video from FUK OFF, a 6-track EP available for free online download at www.blockstarzmusic.com this Black Friday.

"FUK OFF is a collection of songs I recorded as my other alter-ego, J-Real," says Jared Kapavik, who created and gives voice to the Dickward Codgers character. "J-Real is like the cockiest, most arrogant rapper imaginable – a complete douchebag. He came out of my frustration with the Hip-Hop industry."

FUK OFF is the first and last release for J-Real, who Kapavik intends to “kill off” so he can focus on Dickward Codgers' major indie debut, MR. CODGERS NEIGHBORHOOD, slated for release in 2013.

Dickward Codgers' music video for "Bath Salts" (the first official single from MR. CODGERS NEIGHBORHOOD) was independent digital label Block Starz Music's first to carry an official disclaimer for what executives deemed as excessive drug references and graphic depictions of violence.

“Dickward is way more over the top than J-Real, which is a pretty unsettling thought,” says Kapavik, who will be headlining a Hip Hop Holiday Showcase as Dickward Codgers on December 15 in Dallas.

“He's a character that's more in your face. Dickward is a chainsaw compared to J-Real's butcher knife.”

FUK OFF by J-Real (aka Dickward Codgers) will be available for free online download at www.blockstarzmusic.com on November 23, 2012.

Hip Hop Holiday Showcase
ft. Dickward Codgers
with special guests
2wice as Kool, Irrelevent, and Moses Uvere.
The Boiler Room
2723 Elm St
Dallas, TX 75226

Buy Tickets: http://www.stubwire.com/event/hiphopholidayshowcase/theboilerroom/dallas/4269/ .

“Bath Salts” by Dickward Codgers featuring Blak Jap, Big Vain, Ron Chardell and Robot is now available from Block Starz Music on iTunes and all major retailers.

iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/bath-salts-feat.-blak-jap/id554788577 .

CONNECT WITH DICKWARD CODGERS
Facebook: www.facebook.com/mrcodgers .
Twitter: www.twitter.com/MrCodgers .
Youtube: www.youtube.com/IMWjackass .

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of November 29th, 2016!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. This week we've got ten new items: Dabbla's "Year of the Monkey," an editorial on Nintendo shortages, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #403 and L.C. Davis interview, Kano's "Made in the Manor," NxWorries' "Yes Lawd!," Jesal Padania's Slick Rick concert review, A Tribe Called Quest's "We Got It From Here... Thank You 4 Your Service" (our featured review), plus Ten A Tribe Called Quest Rap Videos, and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 22, 2016!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment.

RapReviews.com also recommends Over the Top Radio from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive