Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday October 02, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Neverlove] Juno what I'm sayin'?

Buck 65 Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Mikey Mo the MC - "Freedom Ain't Free"


Video: Mikey Mo the MC - "Freedom Ain't Free"

Courtesy Ballin' PR.

Video: Soul Khan - "Lost Ones Freestyle"


Video: Soul Khan - "Lost Ones Freestyle"

Courtesy of Soul Khan Biz.

MP3: Metermaids f/ B. Dolan, Sage Francis - "Bad Things (Redux)"


MP3: Metermaids f/ B. Dolan, Sage Francis - "Bad Things (Redux)"

Courtesy Audible Treats.

Latest Track Gives Fans One Last Peek Before September 6 Release Of Rooftop Shake

The Song:

Before Metermaids' sophomore LP, Rooftop Shake, is released this coming Tuesday, September 6th, the Brooklyn-based duo of rappers Sentence and Swell are excited to release a brand new track as a way to show their appreciation for fans that have been patiently awaiting the new album. The track is an extended redux version of "Bad Things." While the original version of "Bad Things" shows up on Rooftop Shake, including the flawless Sage Francis guest verse, this redux version also includes a special, end-of-track verse from B. Dolan

Sage Francis opens the track with his signature gravely voice and rough neck rhymes. "How do I love Thee?" spits Francis. "Subtract the possibilities, countdown to Armageddon, god forbid if you ain't feeling me." Sentence and Swell attack the track with equal vigor ("This bird's on its last wings/ Wanna back out but I can't, 'cause I've seen bad things."), while producer and frequent collaborator M.Stine, who splits production duties on the album with 9th Wonder, lays a beating, guitar- and soul chop-driven track for the four emcees. As with the entirety of Rooftop Shake, DJ Rob Swift of The X-Ecutioners lends his cuts throughout.

You Can Download Bad Things Redux Here: http://soundcloud.com/strangefamousrecords/bad-things-redux .

MP3: Q Da Kid - "Stretch Money"


MP3: Q Da Kid - "Stretch Money"

Courtesy of BF Blasts.

(Clean/Dirty) http://www.mediafire.com/?lmmv9fer7jz4gn3 .
 
This the lead Street Single from the anticipated "TAKERS" mixtape. Hosted by: DJ ENVY. Q samples a few lines from RICK ROSS for the hook "Im thinking Money, Every moment thinking Money" which everyone & anyone can relate to, backed by a fierce bass driven production this is surely a joint to make u nod your head. Q chants "Stretch Money, I gotta get it" explaining his experiences to get to the point he is at now and still he aint fully at the level he wants to be so he is gonna keep pushing till he is ON TOP and GOT MONEY to share with his Team..check this joint out!!!

Video: Planet Asia "Live at Garfinkels in Whistler, Canada"


Video: Planet Asia "Live at Garfinkels in Whistler, Canada"

Courtesy of Dunn Deal PR.

Wandering Worx Entertainment proudly presents exclusive live footage from Planet Asia's recent performance at Garfinkel's, in the resort town of Whistler, Canada. Over the summer Asia released Each Step Becomes Elevated, a collaboration album with fellow Gold Chain Military member TriState, for free download under the Wandering Worx imprint. Asia has been nominated for a Grammy and won several awards since he started rapping in Fresno, CA in 1992, and has won The Source Magazine's Independent Album of the Year twice. Wandering Worx is a Canadian label also responsible for releases from Moka Only, Jasiri X, Rel!g!on and more.

Press Release: Blu Presents... "Open"


Press Release: Blu Presents... "Open"

Courtesy Matt @ Nature Sounds.

While the buzz around Blu has continued to grow, one aspect of the L.A. rapper's artistry has been overlooked: he's also becoming one of hip-hop's best up-and-coming producers.  Since his early work with producers Exile, Ta'Raach, and Mainframe, Blu has turned to creating his own soundscapes, crafting the entire Her Favorite Colo(u)r project, as well as a handful of standout's on the recently released Jesus.  Now, he's putting his beats on full display, with the production album Open, to be released on September 27th, 2011 through New World Color / Nature Sounds.  Originally posted online as a Blu-produced instrumental set, Open has been transformed into a full-fledged production album.  Johnson Barnes and his gang of like-minded MCs laid vocals to every track, making this Open a brand new collection.

Featuring a slew of promising up-and-comers on the mic, Open is a perfect showcase for Blu's hazy, lo-fi production.  Along with two show-stopping appearances from Blu himself, the album features buzzed-about MCs like Fresh Daily, ScienZe, and Sene, as well as newer names like Just Lee and Tribe of Levi.   All guests were hand-picked by Blu, so Open also showcases his ear for talent, turning hip-hop fans on to the next generation of rhyme-spitters.  But in the tradition of classic production albums like In Control Vol. 1 and Soul Survivor, the main focus here is on the beats, which showcase the distinct sound a talented young beat-maker has been creating.

FREE TRACK: PART TIME SUCKAS (FT. CHOP & FRESH DAILY)
* http://nature-sounds.net/audio/PartTimeSuckas.mp3 *

CD/MP3 PRE-ORDER NOW AVAILABLE
FROM THE NEW REDESIGNED NATURE SOUNDS STORE
pre-order open and get an instant download of the instrumentals!!
* http://store.nature-sounds.net/store/products-page/cds/bluopen/ *

MP3: Blaq Poet f/ Meyhem Lauren - "Hood Talk Remix"


MP3: Blaq Poet f/ Meyhem Lauren - "Hood Talk Remix"

Courtesy Matt B.

The "Hood Talk" (Remix) is taken from Blaq Poet's forthcoming "QB Slasher" Remix EP which will be available digitally only on 9-6-2011.  "QB Slasher" is following up the demand for more material off of Poet's critically acclaimed "Blaq Poet Society" LP. Included on the new EP are four all new remixes enlisting the hottest underground mc's in the game right now: Roc Marciano, Wais P, Meyhem Lauren & Blacastan plus the non album cut "Freezers" featuring Big Noyd and Bloodsport. The EP is rounded out with the full instrumental versions of the original album cuts.

DL link to Blaq Poet f/ Meyhem Lauren "Hood Talk Remix": http://hulkshare.com/qw5rg517vrns .

Devo Spice Update - 9/2/2011: TMBG Cover, Elevator, and More!


Devo Spice Update - 9/2/2011: TMBG Cover, Elevator, and more!

Courtesy of Devo Spice.

Hey folks,

Well, it's September already.  We've closed on our house, and things should be getting back to "normal" in a couple weeks.  Yaay!  Of course normal is a relative term... and my relatives are anything but normal... you know what, let's just get on with this.

--== NEW THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS COVER ==--
--== ELEVATOR ON THE FUMP ==--
--== EVERYTHING ELSE ==--

--== NEW THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS COVER ==--
This month marks the 10th anniversary of the release of Mink Car by They Might Be Giants.  It's also the 10th anniversary of 9/11 just in case you haven't had that crammed down your throat by the media.  Recently several TMBG fans got together and put out the Mink Car Cover album, which is a track for track cover of Mink Car, and all the money from the sale of this album goes to the FDNY foundation.

The album is now available and features a new song by me!  I took track 4, Mr Xcitement and got lots of help from TV's Kyle because I was so busy trying not to screw up my mortgage application.  It’s a very chip-tunes heavy rockin' tune with nonsensical lyrics that would make Shoebox proud.

Other artists on the album include Nuclear Bubble Wrap, MC Frontalot, Shael Riley, Molly Lewis, and Hello The Future.  The album is doing very well and it's for a good cause, so definitely check it out.  You can order it from either Bandcamp or iTunes at the links below.

Bandcamp: http://minkcarcover.bandcamp.com/
iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/mink-car-cover/id459749298?ign-mpt=uo%3D4
Beat the Moose: http://i.imgur.com/dMLlE.jpg


--== ELEVATOR ON THE FUMP ==--
Elevator, one of the many new sketches from the new Cirque du So What sketch comedy album has been posted to The FuMP.  Personally I think this is one of the funniest tracks on the album, but the track has proven to be a bit controversial.  And I can completely understand why.  Give it a listen for yourself and see what you think.

Elevator by Cirque du So What: http://www.thefump.com/fump.php?id=1455

Our new album Stupid Cowboy Thing, Volume 1: GRANDMOTHER is now shipping and has been very well received so far.  And at least one person has spotted the little audio easter egg we put in it.  If you don’t have it yet you can order it here: http://www.thefump.com/store_release.php?id=88


--== EVERYTHING ELSE ==--
In other stuff, the songs of the month for September over at http://www.devospice.com are Enhanced and Earworm featuring MC Lars.  You can download those for free from my web site, so if you don’t have my new album Gnome Sane definitely stop by and check out these songs.  If you do have my new album Gnome Sane then give yourself a cookie because dammit you deserve it.

Also, I will be at Intervention in Rockville, MD later this month, sadly without cookies.  That's an "internet culture con" in the Washington DC area September 17-19.  I'll be performing along with Rob Balder and Insane Ian.  For more information on that visit http://interventioncon.com.

And finally the August episode of The Insider was posted just in time before the end of August.  And you thought I was going to fail just because I was buying a house.  Fool!  You can listen to that episode here: http://www.devospice.com/insider.php

That’s all folks!

->Later.....Spice

MP3: Lil Wayne f/ Birdman - "I Got Some Money On Me"


MP3: Lil Wayne f/ Birdman - "I Got Some Money On Me"

Courtesy of M3W.

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/lilwaynebirdmanmoney/blast-page.html *

PR: Twelve Jewelz Proudly Presents Resurrection


PR: Twelve Jewelz Proudly Presents Resurrection

Courtesy of Big Smoke.

Twelve Jewelz in Association with Big Smoke Magazine proudly presents Resurrection

Hosted by Aslan & Horns Of Jericho presents with Live Showcases/ Open Mic, Turntablism

Hiphop/Old Skool/Mid Skool/New Skool/Breaks/Funk & Soul
DJs on rotation

Aslan (Twelve Jewelz) / Dirty Harry (Big Smoke) / L Slinga (Culture Drop) / DJ Pager (Bedroom Head Music) / Terrorwrist (Big Smoke) /
DJ Keety (Life Movement) Stitch (Twelve Jewelz) / Beats Rhymes Life (Life Movement) Charlee Brown

Charlie Wright's International 45 Pitfield Street, Hoxton, London N1 6DA

For more info Contact 07775 430691 or 07879 776577

DATE; 30/9/2011
VENUE; Charlie Wright's International
PRICE; £6 B4 10PM / £8 AFTER
OPEN; 9PM-4PM

30 September at 21:00 - 01 October at 00:00


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 30th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out All the King's Men's "All the King's Men," Adam Bernard' Adam B Experience #78, Buck 65's "Neverlove" (our featured review), an editorial for The War on Nostalgia, Zach Gase's Aahh Fest 2014 Recap, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #293, Madchild's "Switched On," Royal Flush's "Grand Capo," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 23, 2014 and Wara from the NBHD's "Kidnapped."

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like R.I.P. Praverb. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive