Tuesday September 01, 2015
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[The Meth Lab] Back to the lab.

Method Man Review

Latest News Headlines
Moka Only & Ayatollah Debut New Track, Announce Album


Moka Only & Ayatollah Debut New Track, Announce Album

Courtesy Nature Sounds.

Moka Only is one of Canada's most celebrated hip-hop exports, a former member of Canadian rap royalty Swollen Members who has released dozens of solo projects since he broke through in the mid-90s.  Ayatollah is one of the most respected producers in the American underground hip-hop scene, having crafted classics like Mos Def's "Ms. Fat Booty" and Talib Kweli's "The Proud," plus tracks for Styles P, Pharoahe Monch, Masta Ace, Cormega, Inspectah Deck, and many more.  Now, these two talents are coming together for a full-length collaboration straight out of hip-hop dreamland.  Appropriately entitled Bridges, the project hits stores everywhere on April 10th, 2012 through Greenstreets Entertainment.  Check out the first single from Bridges, "Ekhart Tolle" now.

* http://naturesounds.bandcamp.com/track/eckhart-tolle *

MP3: Amir Driver - "End of the Night"


MP3: Amir Driver - "End of the Night"

Courtesy RMG.

"Let's have some fun & get done lol... Heavy baseline & hard drums courtesy of my big brother Veano. Nothing too deep about this one though lol. F**k it (Shrug) lol... Enjoy" -Amir'

Download: Hulkshare: http://www.hulkshare.com/lzg1z30v5qo6 .

PR: NYCE Gets Nod To Open On FREEWAY Canadian Tour


PR: NYCE Gets Nod To Open On FREEWAY Canadian Tour

Courtesy Jon Asher.

Montreal hip hop artist NYCE whom is set to release his upcoming debut album "Certified" later this year on local hip hop label Hustle Cartel Ent has been given the nod to open for American rapper FREEWAY's Canadian tour dates just after recently performing this past weekend with American rapping icon Raekwon (Wu Tang Clan) on March 3rd in Montreal.

"After performing with Raekwon this past weekend, and getting the nod to join this tour, I'm looking forward to spread some NYCE to the rest of Canada." commented NYCE.

NYCE recently released his latest single "Best Price" that has already sold 2,200 downloads on iTunes along with a music video to support the single.

To view NYCE's new music video please visit the follow link - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgPeZnSMZpo .

Upcoming Tour Dates:

March 7, 2012 - Underworld - Montreal, QC
March 8, 2012 - Greenroom - Winnipeg, MB
March 9, 2012 - The Distillery - KOTD Event - Calgary, AB
March 10, 2012 - Chrome Lounge - Edmonton, AB
March 11, 2012 - TBA - Vancouver, BC
March 13, 2012 - Garfinkel's - Whistler, BC

About: Taking his street knowledge and turning it into music to help elevate his life and that of others for years. The charismatic and well-tatted young emcee is out to start a dialogue, to sometimes shock and to always make you laugh with his quick wit and sharp tongue. NYCE dropped his first mix tape, D’Boy Music, in July 2011 and with his upcoming debut "Certified" produced by one of Canada’s hottest up and coming producers, Fullklip Beats, NYCE is set to define his D’Boy street hustle.

Twiztid & Kottonmouth Kings Announce Kaos & Kronik Tour


Twiztid & Kottonmouth Kings Announce Kaos & Kronik Tour With Blaze & Big B

Courtesy Kerosene Media.

This spring, two of the biggest acts in the underground will come together to wreak havoc on the road for one of this year's hottest tours. This year the stars have come into alignment as Psychopathic Records' Twiztid and Suburban Noize weed smokers the Kottonmouth Kings will unite for the Kaos & Kronik Tour with special guests Blaze and Big B. “Kaos & Kronik” brings together two of the biggest forces in underground music for one of the most heavily anticipated tour packages in years.

"The ‘Kaos & Kronik’ tour will be an underground classic and everyone is already bubbling with excitement. Psychopathic Records and Suburban Noize have been allies in the underground for a decade, but this is the first time Kottonmouth Kings & Twiztid have come together on a national tour," says Brad X. "We asked Big B and Blaze to join us on this tour to help bring the thunder and ensure every show is pure insanity. Together we will be bringing ‘Kaos & Kronik’ to a city near you!”
 
“This tour has been 10 years in the making. Come out and witness history as two of America’s biggest indie acts bring the Kaos and Kronik,” said Monoxide of Twiztid.
 
California’s reigning rip-hop originators, Kottonmouth Kings have long been a cornerstone of one of today’s most radical music movements. Combining mind-bending sonics, and fusing hip-hop, punk rock, and classic soul, The Kings have innovated and pioneered a unique signature sound that has set them apart from the pack and has fueled the band’s longevity and enduring popularity with a diverse international fan base. Kottonmouth Kings have proved their lasting staying power, building on a powerful DIY ethos and redefining the meaning of a self-empowered group by running their own company, touring and releasing albums on their own terms. Kottonmouth Kings will unleash their thirteenth studio album, "Mile High Club", later this summer via the group’s own Suburban Noize Records.
 
Where most rappers celebrate the urban lifestyle with the same old themes and images, Twiztid peels away the gloss and exposes the innards. The demented duo, Monoxide and Jamie Madrox, take the hard edge of theatrical rock-and-roll and temper it with gritty hip-hop to create a musical monstrosity so dangerously real it must be hidden with face paint! These two aren’t casual gangsters, but rather, they have painted personas that allow them to explore the darkest corners of the human psyche, from superhero fantasies to horror film legacies. With their ruthless raps, most recently heard on “Heartbroken & Homicidal”, the duo may explore every recess of their audience’s experiences, every sentimental reflection, and every sinister urge. By becoming something unreal, Monoxide and Jamie Madrox are free to be real. Whether it’s on-stage devastation, or home stereo infiltration, Twiztid’s music will take you somewhere you’ve never been before. The scariest part is when you don’t want to come back…

TWIZTID & KOTTONMOUTH KINGS “Kaos & Kronik” TOUR DATES:
Apr 13 - Kansas City @ Midland Theatre
Apr 14 - Sauget, IL @ Pop’s
Apr 15 - Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Apr 16 - St. Paul, MN @ Myth
Apr 18 - Joliet, IL @ Mojoe’s
Apr 19 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Intersection
Apr 20 - Mount Clemens, MI @ Emerald Theatre
Apr 21 - Columbus, OH @ LC Pavilion
Apr 22 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE
Apr 24 - Clifton Park, NY @ Northern Lights
Apr 25 – Baltimore, MD @ Sonar
Apr 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Apr 28 - Worcester, MA @ Palladium
Apr 29 - New York, NY @ Irving Plaza
Apr 30 - Norfolk, VA @ Norva Theatre
May 03 - Winston Salem, NC @ Ziggy's
May 04 - Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
May 15 - Salt Lake City, UT @ In The Venue

PR: M.anifest Nominated for Two Ghana Music Awards


PR: M.anifest Nominated for Two Ghana Music Awards

Courtesy Fui.

Ghana’s sensational Hip-Hop artist M.anifest has been nominated twice in the 2012 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards. He received nods in the “Best Rapper” and "Songwriter of the year” categories. This comes after a very impressive local and international showing by the MC in the past year.

In September 2011, M.anifest released his punchy, progressive follow-up album, Immigrant Chronicles: Coming to America, with a lead single "Suffer" as well as his next single “Asa” featuring Efya – both already featured on BBC World Service. The VGMA’s are slated for April 14th, 2012.

The VGMA nominations arrive in a year M.anifest is making giant strides with international collaborations on the horizon that have the potential of making him a household name. More immediately Channel-O Africa will be featuring two programs M.anifest related. First is a Volt (a documentary style program) filmed during M.anifest’s recent trip to South Africa to be aired at 7pm GMT on Tuesday March 6th - Ghana's Independence day. Sticking with the independence theme, M.anifest shows off his songwriting skills by co-writing/curating a mini Hop-Hopera on the history of Ghana told in rhyme and song featuring Ebo Taylor, Wanlov, Efya, E.l, X.O.

M.anifest’s latest video, Makaa Maka, has also been enjoying immense play on Channel-O, MTVBase, Trace Urban and local channels.

Follow M.anifest on twitter (@manifestive) to catch up with the outspoken MC.

MP3: Pitbull f/ Lil Jon - "Shake Them Dice & Roll"


MP3: Pitbull f/ Lil Jon - "Shake Them Dice & Roll"

Courtesy M3W.

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/pitbulldice/blast-page.html *

Video: Judah - "She Don't Cum (P.U.S.S.Y. Instrumentals)"


Video: Judah - "She Don't Cum (P.U.S.S.Y. Instrumentals)"

Courtesy DubMD84.

JUDAH’s newest video “She Don’t Cum” from his newest album, P.U.S.S.Y., takes a vintage approach to displaying the sensuality of woman alongside his other love, the MPC. The soulful sounds of the track, as paired with the images, portray what is thought to be the greatest downfall of a man, 'the woman.'...but before you believe that, 'Please Understand She Saved You.'

PR: 9th Wonder & 'The Wonder Year' UK Premier


PR: 9th Wonder & 'The Wonder Year' UK Premier

Courtesy The Doctor's Orders.

9th Wonder
plus ‘The Wonder Year’ UK Premier & Q&A

7pm – 2am Thursday 26th April 2012
@ Plan B, 418 Brixton Road, London SW9

Premier & Party - £12 in advance (only 100 tickets)
Party Only - £8 in advance. More pon door.

Info & Tickets - http://thedoctorsorders.com/v2/index.php/9th-wonder/ .

with…

9th Wonder
feat Rapsody live PA
Spin Doctor
& Chris P Cuts

RUNNING ORDER
7pm - Doors
730pm - ‘The Wonder Year’ Premier
9pm - Q&A with 9th Wonder & Director Kenneth Price
930pm – 2am DJs

Flyer Link: http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/4807/9thwondera5.jpg .

Having first broken through as the producer for the group Little Brother,
formed alongside school friends Phonte & Big Pooh, this North Carolina native has cut his own path through the world of Hip-Hop. In the tradition of producers like DJ Premier, Just Blaze and Kanye West 9th Wonder has managed to build a bridge spanning both the commercial and underground scenes. Those that have come in search of his soul drenched sounds include Jay-Z, De La Soul, Destiny's Chid, Erykah Badu, Mary J Blige, MOP & Murs. A list that exemplifies the huge cross appeal of this hugely talented producer.

The music bug bit 9th Wonder at an early age becoming proficient in several instruments playing in his school band then heading home each evening to listen to the likes of Soul Sonic Force, Slick Rick and Biz Markie. He started producing while at North Carolina Central University where he now teaches a course in Hip-Hop alongside Christopher “Play Martin of Kid-N-Play fame. His distinctive sample based style makes him one of the few “super producers” still creating classic Hip-Hop that still manages to push the music in a new and interesting direction giving even greater kudos to his name.

If all this were not enough to get you excited we are also screening the UK premier of the ‘The Wonder Year’ a documentary following a year in the life of super producer 9th Wonder: CEO, NAACP ambassador, Duke University professor, husband, father, son and Grammy Award winning producer. The film follows one of Hip-Hop’s most dynamic figures from his childhood home to late nights in the studio and everywhere in between and features a who’s who of Hip-Hop including: Drake, DJ Premier, DJ Green Lantern, J. Cole, Murs, Phonte, Sha Money XL, Young Guru, The Alchemist & more.

The screening will be followed by a Q&A with 9th Wonder himself and the film’s director, Kenneth Price, and then the fun really starts with a 2 hour DJ set from the man of the hour himself featuring a live PA by Rhapsody.

RUNNING ORDER
7pm - Doors
730pm - ‘The Wonder Year’ Premier
9pm - Q&A with 9th Wonder & Director Kenneth Price
930pm – 2am DJs

Video: Mr. Green "Live from the Streets" with Motown Benny


Video: Mr. Green "Live from the Streets" with Motown Benny, the Morris Dancers and Blacastan

Courtesy Mr. Green.

Here is the Live from the Streets we shot in Northampton.
It features Motown Benny aka Bucket Man and the Morris
Dancers.  Blacastan is also a special guest, enjoy:

Thank you for your support,
-Mr. Green

P.S. If you are in or around NYC check out the
Live from the Streets show at the Apple store
on West 14th St., March 21st at 8 p.m.
Apple.com/west14thst

The (W)rap Up - Week of February 28, 2012


If you missed any of the new reviews this past week, including Tyga's Careless World: Rise of the Last King, then do yourself a favor and check out this week's installment of the (W)rap Up!

[Careless World: Rise of the Last King] Tyga :: Careless World: Rise of the Last King
Young Money/Cash Money Records

Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon


"The young Michael Ray Nguyen-Stevenson b/k/a Tyga got his jump-off in the rap game thanks to his cousin Travie McCoy of Gym Class Heroes fame. In turn GCH had their career launched into the stratosphere thanks to Pete Wentz of emo/punk/pop rock band Fall Out Boy, who signed the fledgling rap group and put out their "As Cruel as School Children" CD. Even if you don't know that album you know the smash hit "Cupid's Chokehold" that came from it - you know, the "Take a look at my girlfriend - she's the only one I got" song. Now this is by no means an indictment of the insular and often nepotistic world of the music industry, but I want you to ponder for a moment that without Pete Wentz one of the biggest rap hits of 2012 wouldn't exist - Tyga's "Rack City." After reading these lyrics, you can decide whether or not to thank him for it. The success of "Rack City" is for better or worse not based on its lyrical content though - it's entirely about the hypnotic baseline and finger snapping track of DJ Mustard. Tyga could have simply repeated the song's tagline or chorus for three minutes and still made a hit - in fact for large parts of the song that's exactly what he does. Perhaps that's an unfair track to judge Tyga on. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02F_carelessworld.html

various artists :: Enemy Soil - Free Sampler :: Enemy Soil Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon
[Enemy Soil - Free Sampler] 
"This is one of those "you'd be a fool to not take advantage of it" moments in hip-hop. If you've read our reviews of other Enemy Soil releases like "Heavy Metal Kings" and "Violence Begets Violence" and been interested but not felt like risking $5-$15 for a digital or physical CD, you have no excuse for not downloading the "Enemy Soil - Free Sampler" album from Amazon.com. It quite literally does what it says on the tin - this is a free sample of the different flavors that Enemy Soil has to offer, starting right away with the JMT song "Target Practice" produced by Hypnotist Beats. Although I'm already familiar with many of the songs and artists on this release - Ill Bill, Outerspace and Reef the Lost Cauze among them, the simply named Dutch is something of a revelation to me. She's on some Jules Verne shit with a song title like "2,000 Leagues Under My Keyboard," the crooning is more suited to what you'd hear from Adele or Beth Gibbons. I might have thought it was a one-time experiment from the label, but her track "Just Before the Rain" is more of the same. It's not an unwelcome sound - I like their mixture of her vocals with hip-hop style beats - it's just not what I expected from a label known for post-apocalyptic songs from conspiracy theorist emcees. If there was only one reason to download this entire EP though it would be the dope DJ Kwestion produced "Drag You to Hell," originally from "Season of the Assassin" "

[St. Fallible] 
"In the past couple of weeks I've reviewed a couple of hip-hop albums with Christian overtones - namely Ohene and Soulbrotha. In both cases, and in particular with Ohene, I found their spirituality was not an impediment to their mission to make quality rap music even non-Christians could enjoy. On a personal level I've always felt this was a model for positive relationships with others - connecting with our essential humanity first and foremost and not allowing our differences in faith, race or gender to dictate how we regard each other. The sad things it that even having tolerance is often not tolerated these days, as I've often had friends take umbrage to my own philosophy that all major religions are more or less equal. For me it's personally liberating, but I know a few Christians who think their sect is superior to all other forms of Christianity let alone other religious beliefs or ways of life. To get along I try to avoid the topic with them whenever possible. With BLACK MC it's going to be tough to avoid the topics of religion or Christianity though. He puts it first and foremost in every song of his twelve deep "St. Fallible" album, to the point we can't even discuss a few select bars of any track without it coming up. As stated I have no objection to the thematic basis for the album - if he wants to rap about Christian morals and values or his love for Jesus Chris he's entirely entitled to do so."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02_stfallible.html

Fred Knuxx :: RapMania :: Starcore Entertainment
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[RapMania] 
"Here's a little background on Mr. Fredrick Shepeard, Jr. from his own website to kickstart our review: "Fred Knuxx started rapping at the age of six and has been training all the skills needed to be the next hottest rapper. For one to have a chance at becoming an elite rapper, they must be able to write and arrange their own music. Not only does Fred Knuxx possess these skills, he also provides messages that people of all ages can relate to." I'd like to focus on the last sentence of that quotation for just a moment, because Fred Knuxx has decided to drop a free album called "RapMania" in advance of a similarly titled annual sports entertainment spectacle called WrestleMania. There have been 27 editions of WWE and fans alike call "The Showcase of the Immortals" so far, with the 28th coming up on April 1st in Miami, Florida. The hook this year is that Hollywood movie star Dwayne Johnson, known to millions by his WWE nickname The Rock, is returning from the world of film to have a one-on-one match with the current poster boy of pro wrestling - John Cena. It's being billed as a once in a lifetime match, even though plans are already underway to do it NEXT year. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02_fredrapmania.html

Identical :: Still Hostile Assassins EP :: Neighborhood Music
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Still Hostile Assassins EP] 
"It's not just a name for Identical - it's who they are. Real life twins Santoine (SJ) and Antoine (AJ) Jackson are out to represent their hip-hop heritage dating back to 2001 and their hard knock life from the streets of Inkster, Michigan - a majority African-American neighborhood of Metro Detroit. They'd certainly have no shortage of material for the latter, because in the ten years since I left Eastern Michigan, things have not necessarily changed for the better, and the auto crisis and subsequent bailout of the late 2000's almost completely derailed the automotive heavy economy of the area. Things have improved in the last year, but one does not necessarily think of prosperity first when thinking of Detroit. Still with an average median income of $35,950 according to Wikipedia, Inkster is probably better off than some of the more blighted neighborhoods. One thing's true about Identical on the "Still Hostile Assassins EP" that was true on their last album and the one before that - these (literal) brothers are unrepentantly hard. Even if their neighborhood was or is doing good, things just aren't good enough for these twins, and opening this album with a song called "Gun On My Lap" might just say it all. The Lenn Swan produced "Don't Impress Me" is even more explicit. If you're flossing around Identical, you might just wind up gaffled."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02_stillhostileassassins.html

Jon Lajoie :: You Want Some of This? :: Normal Guy Productions
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **

as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[You Want Some of This?] 
"2008 was the first time I heard the name Jon Lajoie, although he had been working as an actor and comedian in Canada prior to that. He would go on to achieve mainstream fame as the hapless stoner/musician Taco MacArthur in the FX fantasy football sitcom "The League," but in between obscurity and TV success he became a viral YouTube sensation with songs like "Show Me Your Genitals." I had NO idea what to make of him the first time I saw this video. To call Lajoie's rap style awkward might just qualify as understatement of the millennium. He comes across in the song like someone who admires everything commercially popular rappers have in their videos: nice cars, women with big asses and titties, and lots of money. After spending so much time being envious of their sex money and drugs lifestyle, he came to the conclusion most people who know nothing about hip-hop do: "Hey that rapping stuff can't be hard! I could make up a rap song right now." And so he did, but lacking a filter for crassness even Too $hort has, the song was hilariously offensive. The rapper in this song is like a retarded pervert who sneaks into dressing rooms to see women get nude. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_youwantsomeofthis.html

Random :: TOUR: Date With a Dream :: Mega Ran Music
as reviewed by Matt Jost

[TOUR: Date With a Dream] 
"To start this out on a rather unexpected note, I'm always a little disappointed when I hear about someone who quit teaching. I realize that teaching is one of the most demanding jobs, but I like to believe that it can also be one of the most rewarding jobs. Apart from it being a most noble task. Humanity needs as many educated, dedicated, level-headed, adequately paid teachers as it can get. What the world doesn't need is more rappers. At least I don't see an immediate need for more. With so many of them asking me to lend them an ear nowadays, I've become increasingly selective in my listening habits. So far I've had, pun intended, merely random encounters with rapper Random's music, not being attracted to his video game adventures as Mega Ran all that much, for instance. And, I have to admit, I just might hold somewhat of a grudge against Random for abandoning his educational duties in favor of some lofty dream to be a professional rapper. One release by Random I could unreservedly relate to was his audio gallery of inspiring figures, "Heroes, Volume 1." As I listened to him pay tribute to the likes of Marvin Gaye and Martin Luther King, it dawned on me that maybe Random was still an educator, just one flowing over hip-hop beats, as were many illustrious MC's who came before him. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02_tourdatewithadream.html

Yury :: Curriculum Vitae :: IamYURY.com
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Curriculum Vitae] 
"As best as I can tell, Yury is a Pittsburgh hip-hop artist who enjoys a good A$AP Rocky song now and again, has opened for the slightly more famous rapper Chris Webby at least once, and has an unnatural (possibly unhealthy) obsession with weed and peanut butter (not in that order). That's as much as I can tell you from looking at his Facebook and his Tumblr in lieu of an official bio, which it doesn't appear he's ever gotten around to writing. Maybe he should given his album is in the top 150 of free downloads on Amazon.com, and when you segregate by rap he ranks even higher - #5 overall. That puts him in the same company as Public Enemy, Scarface and Jedi Mind Tricks. In fact I'd say an in-depth bio should be priority #1. To be fair I wouldn't even have been looking for more information about Yuri if I hadn't stumbled across "Curriculum Vitae" while researching what IS top ranked on Amazon.com right now. It's not a bad idea to know what's charting, although it occurred to me recently that I paid far more attention to the paid albums than their free releases. Perhaps that's because I'm so used to getting free albums from Bandcamp.com and DatPiff.com it doesn't occur to me to look at other places. In fact "Curriculum Vitae" is also available from the latter, so if you're interested it really doesn't matter how or where you get it from. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2012_02_curriculumvitae.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 1st, 2015!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. We're back in effect this week with TEN MORE ITEMS for your perusal: Adam Bernard's "The Book of Luke" review, Blanco's "Molly & Amber," ChillxWill's "Almighty," a new Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 2001 editorial, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #341 plus MMA interviews with Teddy Holder & Lorenzo Hood, Method Man's "The Meth Lab" (our featured review), Joell Ortiz & !llmind's "human" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 25, 2015!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. RapReviews.com also recommends Emerson Witner's NXT Report from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive