Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday August 02, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
4th Annual Trae Day Celebration to Be Streamed This Friday


From Nancy B:

4th Annual Trae Day Celebration to Be Streamed This Friday

The Fourth Annual Trae Day will be going down this Friday, July 22, in Houston, and for the first time ever, it will be live broadcast on XXL's UStream channel.

Houston native Trae Tha Truth first created the celebratory community event four years ago, and in the time since, it has become a yearly ritual that community members as well as artists and fans from near and far look forward to. In the past, upwards of 10,000 people have attended the event, which includes live performances and rides.

As in years past, free school supplies, including backpacks and uniforms, as well as immunizations, will be made available to those in attendance.

In addition to Trae, who dropped his latest album, Street King, last Tuesday, Lupe Fiasco, Rich Boy, YC Worldwide, Tity Boi (2 Chainz), Twista and more will be hitting the stage.

XXL will be in attendance, capturing the event, performances, and interviews with the artists so that those at home can tune in.

* http://www.xxlmag.com/news/2011/07/trae-day-to-stream-live-on-xxlmag-com/ *

Brooklyn Vegan Premieres New Sole & the Skyrider Band Track


From Geo @ Terrorbird:

Brooklyn Vegan Premieres New Sole & the Skyrider Band Track

Turntable Kitchen Premieres "We Stay Eating" feat. Busdriver; Vibe Magazine Streaming "Bad Captain Swag" feat. Lil B & Pictureplane

Full West Coast August Tour Dates Finalized

DOWNLOAD: "Napoleon (feat. Xiu Xiu)" (mp3 via Brooklyn Vegan)
STREAM: Hello Cruel World LP (via My Old Kentucky Blog)
STREAM: "Bad Captain Swag (feat. Lil B & Pictureplane)" (via Vibe Magazine)
DOWNLOAD: "We Stay Eating (feat. Busdriver)" (mp3 via Turntable Kitchen)

At last, the day is finally here.  The anticipated new album from Sole & the Skyrider Band, Hello Cruel World, is out today on Fake Four Inc, with a double LP release to follow on August 2nd.  To celebrate the occasion, Brooklyn Vegan premiered "Napoleon," the album kick-off track and collaboration with Xiu Xiu. My Old Kentucky Blog is streaming the album in its entirety, and Vibe Magazine is streaming "Bad Captain Swag," the much talked about collaboration with Lil B THEBASEDGOD and Pictureplane. Additionally, Turntable Kitchen is not only running Sole's envelope-pushing recipe for Vegan Tuna Fish, but they premiered the track "We Stay Eating" as well, a collaboration with Busdriver over a Mount Kimbie remix of James Blake (taken from the Nuclear Winter Volume 2 mixtape). Last but certainly not least, Sole and the Skyrider Band have finalized their west coast summer tour dates as well, with the full tour routing below.

Sole & the Skyrider Band Tour Dates:

Wed | 08-10-2011    Scottsdale    AZ    Chasers Bar and Night Club
Thu | 08-11-2011            Flagstaff    AZ    Green Room
Fri | 08-12-2011            Los Angeles    CA    The Roxy Theatre
Sat | 08-13-2011            San Diego    CA    Soda Bar
Sun | 08-14-2011            San Francisco    CA    Bottom Of The Hill
Mon | 08-15-2011        Reno    NV    Tonic Lounge
Tue | 08-16-2011            Sacramento    CA    Sol Collective
Wed | 08-17-2011    Portland    OR    Doug Fir Lounge
Thu | 08-18-2011            Seattle    WA    Nectar Lounge
Sat | 08-20-2011            Boise    ID    Knitting Factory
Tue | 08-23-2011            Missoula    MT    The Badlander
Wed | 08-24-2011    Bozeman    MT    Zebra Cocktail Lounge
Thu | 08-25-2011         Salt Lake City    UT    Kilby Court
Sat | 08-27-2011            Colorado Springs    CO    Black Sheep
----

Sole and the Skyrider Band - Hello Cruel World
Out Today on CD & Digital. August 2nd on 2xLP. Via Fake Four Inc.

Tracklist:
Napoleon (feat. Xiu Xiu) (download here)
D.I.Y.
Hello Cruel World (stream here)
Fire
Bad Captain Swag (feat. Lil B & Pictureplane) (stream here)
We Will Not Be Moved (feat. Ceschi & Noah23)
Possimism
Home Ain't Shit (written by Pedestrian)
Formal Designation 134340
Immortality
Progress Trap (feat. Sage Francis)
Vaya Con Diablo (feat. Isaiah Toothtaker, Mestizo & Ceschi)
Villon

Sole and the Skyrider Band Press Page
Official Sole Site
Sole and the Skyrider Band Facebook
Sole Twitter
Sole Tumblr
Fake Four Inc. Official Site
Terrorbird Official Site

MP3: Ced Hughes (feat. Dell) - "The $hit"


From Lucas @ Coalmine:

MP3: Ced Hughes (feat. Dell) - "The $hit"

VA's Ced Hughes delivers "The Shit", featuring Dell, which is the final leak to his long awaited mixtape One Day We'll Wake Up, which becomes available for download this Wednesday, courtesy of the good people over at DJBooth.net.  ODWWU boasts production from Xaphoon Jones (of Chiddy Bang), Chad Hugo (of The Neptunes), Royksopp, Gabe Niles, himself among others and includes features from Donwill (of Tonya Morgan), Dell, Che Grand and more!

HulkShare: http://hulkshare.com/ufpyza0gxw89 .
MediaFire: http://www.mediafire.com/?ws7m5w4rc0keni3 .
SoundCloud: http://tinyurl.com/3llcblx .

Video: Slim Thug f/ Dallas Blocker - "Beat It Up"


From Chris @ E1 Music:

Video: Slim Thug f/ Dallas Blocker - "Beat It Up"

Mixtape: "Classic Cadence Vol. 3" (Untagged Edition)


From DubMD84:

Mixtape: "Classic Cadence Vol. 3" (Untagged Edition)

The untagged version of the successful mixtape series "Classic Cadence" with the 3rd and final instalment. For fans/supporters in Michigan, Nametag is performing as headliner, Saturday July 23rd @ The Berkley Front along with special guests. $5, ages 21+. Doors at 9PM. The Berkley Front is located at 3087 W.12 Mile Rd., Berkley, MI 48072.
 
01.) The Hundreds (Produced By Nameless)
02.) Break Even (Produced By Peace Of Mind)
03.) Tunnel Vision (Produced By Black Bethoven)
04.) Raw-Dirty-Filth (feat. Guilty Simpson) (Produced By Nameless)
05.) Award Winner (feat. ONPoint & Gratiot Jones) (Produced By Flawless Tracks)
06.) S.I.N. (feat. Quest MCODY & Buff 1) (Produced By Black Milk)
07.) Hard Rock Cafe (feat. ONPoint) (Produced By Flawless Tracks)
08.) AutoPilot (Produced By Black Bethoven)
09.) A Toast (feat. Gratiot Jones & TGL) (Produced By Black Bethoven)
10.) Back With Heat (feat. Praverb) (Produced By Teddy Roxpin)
11.) Raw-Dirty-Filth (Remix) (Produced By Black Bethoven)
12.) Blaaaow! (Produced By Nameless)
 
* http://www.mediafire.com/?3v7kl19lzfq37nh *

PR: Hip-Hop/Rock Artist Notar Drops "Devil's Playground" 9/13


From Amanda @ Musebox:

Hip-Hop/Rock'n'Roll Artist Notar Drops "Devil's Playground" 9/13

Tyrannosaurus Records’ artist, NOTAR, a rapper, musician and producer whose talent defies description, has announced the release date of his eagerly awaited debut full-length CD, Devil’s Playground, as September 13, 2011.  Devil’s Playground follows NOTAR’s self-titled 2010 EP, which garnered much attention from press and fans alike. Counting Crows’ Adam Duritz who discovered and signed NOTAR to his label, Tyrannosaurus Records, found NOTAR’s “words so clear, so lucid, and so brilliant” that he knew he had no choice but to work with the gritty genre defying performer. 
 
Last year’s self-titled EP received rave reviews from the press. Revolt Media Magazine claimed, “Variety can be a strong suit of any artist, and NOTAR shows precise mastery of this on his EP,” while The Cutting Edge Culture stated, “NOTAR pushes boundaries with a refreshing, honest sound.”  Says Duritz,  “My favorite thing about the EP is that we left some of his best tracks off.  NOTAR has enough good songs in him that we left some of my favorites off the EP and it was still great.  Think of it as a ‘virtual Side 1.’ With Devil’s Playground, you’ll hear Side 2.”
 
On Devil’s Playground, NOTAR pushes the boundaries of hip-hop music, unafraid to blend rock, funk, and pop, with his roots in jazz and formal training as a trumpet player. NOTAR adds, “ When your father, who has sat in with legends like Maynard Ferguson and Chicago, is listening to Earth Wind & Fire in one room and your older sister to Slick Rick in another room, I realized that music comes in all different form and sounds, so I was inspired to combine as many as I could into my interpretation of music.” His music inhabits a spot where the gutter meets the church choir, where harsh, raw beats settle nicely behind gritty hook-driven rock melodies.  And above all, his instinct for emotionally honest lyricism and diverse flows radiates throughout the album.  “I like cutting up a beat eight different ways so it doesn’t become boring,” says NOTAR.
 
During the summer of 2010, NOTAR joined Counting Crows and Augustana, among other artists, on the “The Traveling Circus and Medicine Show,” performing for hundreds of thousands of fans during the 25-city tour. Rather than a traditional show format, the Traveling Circus took a communal approach with all of the musicians onstage together at the very beginning of the show, performing covers such as Van Morrison’s “Caravan,” Bob Dylan’s “Just Like A Woman,” or The Rolling Stones’ “Sweet Virginia.” With a revolving potpourri of musicians taking turns playing original songs and joined by the other featured artists, Duritz served as the ‘ringmaster’ of the evening.  NOTAR dominated the stage with his unmatched energy, and as Duritz told an interviewer, “I can’t keep guys off the stage when he’s playing. Everybody wants to play with him.”
 
Devil’s Playground was produced by NOTAR, Grammy winner, Ken Lewis (Kayne West, Beastie Boys, Usher), hip-hop producer MGeezy (Wyclef Jean, T-Pain), and Kevin Augsburg, an up and comer out of Brooklyn, New York.  The album consists of 13 songs, written and performed by NOTAR and features such talent as Young Cash, Chris Carrabba of Dashboard Confessional and Adam Duritz. Tour plans will be announced at a later date. http://www.NOTARnyc.com/ .

Video: Ballgreezy Discusses Myths About Miamiiage & Career


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Ballgreezy Discusses Myths About Miamiiage & Career

Flo Rida's new hip hop artist, Ballgreezy, discusses the myths about Miami, especially from his point of view from Lil Haiti.

Flo Rida's New Artist, Ballgreezy, Discusses The Myths About Miami from DJ Smallz.

Video: Young Buck - "I'm Done Wit Y'all"


From Rap Star Promo:

Video: Young Buck - "I'm Done Wit Y'all"

Video: Ox - "Held Hostage"


From Big Dev:

Video: Ox - "Held Hostage"

Free Mixtape: Roach Gigz - Bitch, I'm A Player


From Audible Treats:

Free Mixtape: Roach Gigz - Bitch, I'm A Player

New Mixtape To Receive Special Limited Edition Physical Release This August

Critical Praise for Roach Gigz:

"Here’s to the new age of rap. And Roach Gigz. Who is awesome." - The FADER

The Mixtape:

To begin 2011, Roach Gigz released Roachy Balboa 2, and in the short time between then and now, the Bay representer has been back to work, whipping up a brand new release, Bitch, I'm A Player. The fourth mixtape from Roach, and the first since moving on from his popular Roachy Balboa series, Bitch, I'm A Player is available now for free download.

Bitch, I'm A Player continues to show off Roach's growth as an artist, something he attributes, in part, to recording the entire tape with only one producer, C-Loz. "It's only been six months since the release of Roachy Balboa 2, not a real long time, but this one is different, because it's just me and C-Loz – me and one producer," explains Roach. "And you can tell that by listening; it flows like that."

Similarly, Roach kept the guest list short, carefully hand-picking the rappers he collaborated with, a list that includes DB Tha General, 1.O.A.K., Husalah, and Lil B, the latter two of whom show up on the recently released single "Stupid (Remix)." The fifth and final guest, Lil 4Tay, shows up another recent single, and personal favorite for Roach, "Wild Child." "'Wild Child' is like a reunion track for me and Lil 4Tay," explains Roach. "And I was just feeling the fuck outta my verse, remembering all those things I did as a kid – it was funny to play it for friends and reminisce."

Despite the forwardness of the title, the mixtape actually came, in part, from Roach's fans. "The title, Bitch, I'm A Player – it's not to be taken super literal," says Roach, explaining that the title was actually came to be through various Twitter conversations with fans. "I said something like, 'I'm gonna answering interview questions the same every time: Bitch, I'm a player.' It was just a confidence thing, but people just started running with it, saying things like 'I got an A on my test, 'cause bitch, I'm a player,' or whatever. It's just about being yourself and doing what you want to do."

On August 23rd, fans can also look forward to a limited edition physical release of Bitch, I'm A Player, joined in special packaging by Roachy Balboa, Roachy Balboa 2, and Buckets & Booty Calls.

Download Roach Gigz's Bitch, I'm A Player here: http://t.opsp.in/13Dma .

Alternative link: http://www.roachgigz.com/ .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive