Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday August 02, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Kottonmouth Kings Stream New Album Sunrise Sessions Online


From James @ Kerosene Media:

Kottonmouth Kings Stream New Album Sunrise Sessions Online

Kottonmouth Kings are currently streaming their new album "Sunrise Sessions" online at http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/#/6 . "Sunrise Sessions" lands in stores this week courtesy of Suburban Noize Records and is available digitally at Amazon.com.
 
Kottonmouth Kings will embark on the Welcome To Stonetown Tour throughout July and August. The tour is set to bring a special evening with the Kottonmouth Kings to each town as the group performs all the classic tracks fans have grown to love, as well as new tracks from their upcoming album. Each tour date will also feature special solo performances by Dirtball, Johnny Richter, Kingspade, DJ Bobby B and D-Loc.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings new video for "Love Lost" can be viewed online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwpTNTaZTz8 .
 
KOTTONMOUTH KINGS TOUR DATES:
Jul 19 - Austin, TX @ Emos
Jul 20 - Dallas, TX @ Trees
Jul 22 - Tulsa, OK @ Marquee
Jul 23 - St Louis, MO @ Pops
Jul 24 - Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Jul 25 - Orlando, FL @ The Social
Jul 27 - Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theater
Jul 28 - Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live
Jul 29 - Foxboro, MA @ Showcase Live
Jul 30 - West Chester, PA @ The Note
Aug 01 - New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom
Aug 02 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr Smalls
Aug 03 - Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos      
Aug 05 - Thornville, OH @ Legend Valley (Woodshock Festival)
Aug 06 - Cleveland, OH @ Peabodys
Aug 07 - Chicago, IL @ HOB
Aug 08 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Aug 09 - Duluth, MN @ Clyde Iron Works
Aug 10 - Sioux Falls, SD @ The Vault
Aug 12 - Cave-in-Rock, IL @ Gathering of the Juggalos
Aug 13 - Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont
Aug 15 - Denver, CO @ Summit
Aug 16 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
Aug 17 - Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Aug 18 - Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theatre
Aug 19 - Seattle, WA @ Hempfest
Aug 20 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne 
Aug 22 - Bend, OR @ Domino Room
Aug 23 - Reno, NV @ Knitting Factory
Aug 24 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
Aug 25 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Aug 26 - Chico, CA @ Senator Theater
Aug 27 - Los Angeles, CA @ Key Club

Video: Savant & Big Meridox - "The Beast & The Best" Promo


From Savant a/k/a Stanstro:

Video: Savant & Big Meridox - "The Beast & The Best" Promo Trailer


Liquid Sound Productions & Passamore Powerplays Present the forthcoming "The Beast & the Best" music video. An Aglofellaz reprise of Savant's January #CrashCourse record reunites the emcee with Tucson, Arizona staple, Viet.Kong.General stalwart and renown microphone bully, Big Meridox and together the two emcees provide cinematic illustration of the rousing jawn while spotlighting several spots integral to the city's simmering yet burgeoning hip hop scene.

Song Title: The Beast & the Best (prod. by Aglofellaz)
Artist(s)
-  1st verse: Big Meridox
-  2nd verse & Hook:  Savant
 
Fdot1 Joins N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder for LIVE FEST @ O2, London


From Park Street PR:

Fdot1 joins N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder, Roll Deep & Tempa T for LIVE FEST @ O2, London - Saturday 23rd July 2011

Catch Fdot1 live on stage at Live Fest, London's biggest indoor festival this Saturday 23rd July 2011. Fdot1 will be performing alongside N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder, Roll Deep, Tempa T and many, many more...

Live Fest is a mud-free zone!

2 for 1 tickets are still available from http://www.LiveFest.co.uk .

Fdot1 will be performing tracks from his new album "Money MusicK" with special guests 2Amplified, Dray Delta, David Mensah and Kyra Simone, including the new single "She's So" due for release Monday 25th July 2011.

Money MusicK album is available on iTunes
* http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/money-musick/id433230139 *

Hip Hop Hold 'Em - Biz Markie, Ed Lover, Zab Judah, The Game


Hip Hop Holdem - Biz Markie, Ed Lover, Zab Judah, The Game

I'm not sure how during the online casino boom I missed out on the phenomenon of hip-hop stars playing poker, but for a short period of time from 2006-2007 you could catch Hip Hop Hold 'Em late at night on the ESPN family of channels. Sadly there's little information out there about this show - a very incomplete IMDB entry and a few random articles that either suggest the show was badly done or possibly even racist, but very little written about it from a hip-hop head's point of view. You can watch hip-hop legend Biz Markie play a hand of Texas hold' em in the clip below. Do the cards have what Biz needs?

The show featured Ed Lover of Yo! MTV Raps fame as a host and Deric 'D-Dot' Angelettie as a commentator, who started out his career in the seminal group Two Kings in a Cipher but quickly gained more fame as a producer for Bad Boy Records. He subsequently used that tenure to portray a character called The Madd Rapper in a series of skits on Bad Boy releases, which ultimately led to a full length album and a mixtape about a decade later. I bring this up because it appears the mixtape came out after Hip Hop Hold 'Em had already gone off the air, which would have given D-Dot more to be MAD about. You can hear D-Dot sounding like Madd Rapper in this clip, commentating on a showdown between boxer Zab Judah and singer Ruben Studdard. I've seen a few poker shows and I feel like he does fine in the role. Shecky Greene (unheard here) also doles out tips.

Now if you've never played Texas hold 'em or video poker before, I realize the card action may be a little much to keep up with. Not surprisingly most of the articles online about this show are quick to jump on the players for that, criticizing them for not knowing whether they are winning or losing a hand. Quite honestly those people are missing the point of this show, and of most celebrity poker shows in general - it's about THE CELEBRITIES. I mean when or where else are you going to watch The Game, Lord Finesse and Rahzel the Human Beatbox sit down and play a hand of cards together?

If you're looking for a show with some true poker wizards, watch 'The Magician' Antonio Esfandiara or Phil 'The Unabomber' Laak on any late night poker show. If you're a hip-hop head who wants to see rap stars and celebrities from R&B and boxing play a few hands while Ed Lover cracks jokes, this show is just fine. Unfortunately this show was very clearly an attempt to cash in during the poker boom of the 2000's by marketing the game as "cool" to a demographic where it wasn't a good match, and the traditional poker players who caught this show are more likely to listen to Frank Sinatra than Big Poppa, so it's not surprising they took a big crap on it and the show quickly vanished from the airwaves. Thanks to the magic of YouTube though, Hip Hop Hold 'Em lives on.

PR: Apathy's New Album "Honkey Kong"


From Matt Conaway:

PR: Apathy's New Album "Honkey Kong"

Apathy is preparing to take his career to another level with the release of his third-solo LP, Honkey Kong, which will be released on 8-23-2011.  The Connecticut emcee and The Get Busy Committee (Apathy, Scoop Deville and Ryu released Uzi Does It in October 2010) and AOTP member has undeniably crafted his best project to date and it includes production from Apathy, DJ Premier, DJ Muggs, Statik Selektah, Evidence, Da Beatminerz and Teddy Roxpin (Mac Miller) among others.  Guest appearances on Honkey Kong include Xzibit, Slaine, Vinnie Paz, Esoteric, Ill Bill, Celph Titled, Action Bronson, General Steele (Smif N Wessun) and Mad Lion.

Tracklisting & Credits for Apathy’s Honkey Kong LP:

1. Honkey Kong featuring Vinnie Paz (produced by Vanderslice)
2. Holy Ghost featuring Slaine (produced by Apathy)
3. The Villain featuring Ill Bill (produced by Apathy)
4. Check to Check (produced by Evidence)
5. Stop What Ya Doin featuring Celph Titled (produced by DJ Premier)
6. The Recipe featuring Xzibit (produced by Stu Bangas)
7. Fear Itself (produced by DJ Muggs)
8. Who Got Da Juice starring Blacastan (skit)
9. It's Only Hip-Hop featuring Brevi (produced by Statik Selektah)
10. I Dedicate This To You featuring Tosha Makia (produced by Smoke The World)
11. All I Think About featuring Action Bronson (produced by Vanderslice)
12. Never Say Never featuring General Steele & Mad Lion (produced by Teddy Roxpin)
13. Albino Gorillas featuring Esoteric (produced by DJ Wayne Ski)
14. Peace Connecticut cuts by Evil Dee (produced by Da Beatminerz)
15. Army Of The Godz featuring Esoteric, Blacastan, Reef The Lost Cauze, Planetary, Crypt The Warchild, Motive, Celph Titled & Vinnie Paz (produced by Teddy Roxpin)
16. 1:52 AM (produced by Apathy)

* http://twitter.com/#!/apathydgz *

Video: Six Reasons - "Fat Lady"


From Samuel Charves:

Video: Six Reasons - "Fat Lady"

Attention all "rappers" - THE FAT LADY HAS SUNG HER LAST NOTE... it's OVER. Here's an exclusive FREE "deleted" track for all my fans and a warning shot to everybody else. EAGLES DON'T FLY WITH SEAGULLS! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbLzLfZ9MXw .

Check out this online exclusive track Six Reasons just released – download it for FREE at http://www.6reasons.com .

Also, check out the single, Hello Goodbye now getting radio airplay:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNjCeQrxmCs .

PR: Project Pat and Hypnotize Minds Team for Loud Pack


From Dove @ Tygereye:

Project Pat and Hypnotize Minds Team for Loud Pack ft. Rick Ross, Brisco & Three 6 Mafia on Select-O-Hits

Memphis, TN -- July 2011 -- Few names channel the essence of Memphis street rap like Project Pat. A true veteran in the "Dirty South" movement, Pat has delivered a slew of hits in the past decade, backed by the intoxicating production of Hypnotize Minds.

On July 19, 2011, Project Pat will deliver his eighth studio album Loud Pack in association with Select-O-Hits.

Guest appearances from Rick Ross, Brisco and Oscar-winners Three 6 Mafia accent the album's 15 booming basslines, fully produced by DJ Paul and Juicy J. Fans purchasing Loud Pack via iTunes will be treated to an exclusive bonus track.

There is no denying the chemistry between Project Pat, his brother Juicy J and DJ Paul. From their collaborations on Three 6 Mafia's "Sippin on Some Syrup" and "Poppin' My Collar" to Pat's own "Chickenhead" and "Don't Call Me No Mo," the trio has created timeless rap classics.

"The thing about Hypnotize Minds is that they know the style you're going to come with," explains Project Pat. "Working with them over the years, we just know how we're going to do it. They already know the beats. Say DJ Paul makes 10 beats, I may mess around and use all 10 of them. He already knew what I was looking for."

With Loud Pack, the lead single "Flashin'" stands out to Pat as a song that fans will gravitate to when they listen to the album.

"Flashin'" has something scary that DJ Paul put into it," explains Pat. "It's like an awareness song to let you know that you shouldn't be so flashy out here. It's ok to be flashy at a party or something, but no need to on a regular day, in a poverty stricken neighborhood. That's not good."

With nearly 15 years of music under his belt, seven albums thus far, and dozens of mixtapes, Pat has more than established himself in the memory of Hip Hop fans. But does he see where a passing of the torch will happen with new artists? Although he can find some fault with the growth of hardcore rap he loves, Pat often finds new talent in his travels to appreciate.

"When I first got in this game, I did it like this old guy told me: 'You got to get it quick and get it fast because it may not last!'" expresses Pat. "I stay blessed. Right now the industry is messed up as far as 'street music.' Me personally, I do reality street music and I have a fan base, so I'm good. The newer music is different, but it's whatever that comes. I listen to people like Curren$y and Wiz Khalifa. I like their music, it's bumping to me."

Also an active real estate investor, Project Pat attests that the recession has been good to him in every way.

"Music has been really good, but the real estate has been really good too though," Pat beams. "Houses have been really cheap to buy. So they kind of go together - I've been getting good shows, and I've been getting good money to buy real estate. I've been really blessed; I'm super good."

For more information on Project Pat, go to http://Tygereye.net/ProjectPat, http://TripleSix.com and http://SelectOHits.com . Follow Project Pat on Twitter http://Twitter.com/ProjectPatHCP .

Loud Pack track list

01. Duffle Bag
02. I Play Dope Boy
03. I Ain't Got Beef
04. Guess Who
05. Flashin'
06. Bloodhound
07. I Got a Question
08. Everythangs High
09. Gang Signs
10. Ni**as So Cut Throat ft. Juicy J & Brisco
11. 7 Days a Week
12. Kelly Green ft. Juicy J
13. Money on My Mind
14. Penitentiary Chances
15. Dollar Signs (Remix) ft. Rick Ross & Three 6 Mafia
*16. Roll Over - iTunes exclusive bonus track

About Tygereye Entertainment

Founded in 2003, Tygereye Entertainment is a publicity and multi-media company representing some of the freshest talent in the world. We work with media online, with print magazines, news outlets, television and radio, both in the United States and abroad.

The Tygereye family includes entertainers, producers, personalities and industry tastemakers. Check client pages at http://Tygereye.net for updates on special events, new online interviews and new music!

Video: Shaun Boothe f/ STS - "1 2 3"


From Ten Four Publicity:

Video: Shaun Boothe f/ STS - "1 2 3"

PR: Illus - "For Adam" Tracklisting & First Leak "Free"


From Matt Conaway:

PR: Illus - "For Adam" Tracklisting & First Leak "Free"

Illus is one of Hip-hop's best kept secrets- an underground emcee and artist hailing from Connecticut, Illus has toured the globe and worked with some of the greatest emcees of all time including Chuck D, Dilated Peoples, Blackalicious, R.A. the Rugged Man, DMC and more. A professional art teacher and world-famous illustrator, Illus is responsible for the official Public Enemy comic book series and has designed and illustrated album art and merchandise for KRS and BDP, Bumpy Knuckles and Statik Selektah (Lyrical Workout), J-Live, Ill Bill, Apathy, Public Enemy and more. In 2010 Illus released his album, Feel Good Music, which was hailed by Chuck D from Public Enemy as "one of the best albums of 2010".

In 2011, Illus brings us For Adam, a ten-track collection of songs that epitomize the very best of what HipHop has to offer as an art form and culture- positive, hardcore, passionate, meaningful lyrics and beats that penetrate the mind and soul and leave the audience feeling inspired. For Adam also features an incredible collection of talented artists ranging from legends like Freddie Foxxx and Craig G to game-changers like Homeboy Sandman and Eternia and musical sensations Paul Dateh and Erin Barra and is exclusively produced by JJ Brown.

For Adam is an extremely personal project for Illus, one which pays homage to the late Adam Walsh who was murdered in 1981 and whose father John Walsh went on to help create the long-running television program, America's Most Wanted. The album reflects on the darkness of murder, kidnapping, child abuse, addiction, and slavery, while celebrating the strength to overcome the struggles and obstacles of life and live it to the fullest despite the odds. It is a testament to what Hip-hop stands for, the ability to rise up out of the shadows of despair and turn "nothing" into "something"; uniting people from all walks of life and inspiring peace, love, unity and having fun.

Illus "For Adam" Tracklisting:

    Requiem For Adam featuring scratches by Public Enemy's DJ Johnny Juice
    Unstoppable featuring Freddie Foxxx aka Bumpy Knuckles and Paul Dateh with scratches by Public Enemy's DJ Johnny Juice
    Red Dawn
    Born Criminal
    Brighter Day featuring Craig G, Reef the Lost Cauze and Block McCloud
    Free featuring Homeboy Sandman and J.J. Brown
    Better featuring Gift of Gab from Blackalicious and Paul Dateh
    Sons and Daughters featuring Eternia, Wordsworth from EMC and Erin Barra
    R.I.F. featuring Paul Dateh
     Make Some Noize

Illus' "For Adam" will be released on July 26th

The first leaks for the project are included here.

Illus f/Homeboy Sandman & JJ Brown "Free" (produced by JJ Brown) - http://hulkshare.com/uvtzjwm5m695 .

Illus f/Gift Of Gab & Paul Dateh "Better": http://www.mediafire.com/?ag3f6pg3eg2i7ya .

Follow on Twitter: @AdamWallenta

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Illus/142044455839980 .
iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/illus/id349574652 .
Music: www.illusmedia.com .
Website: www.AdamWallenta.com .
Comic Books: www.Americanmule.com .
Band Camp: http://illus.bandcamp.com .

PR: New Hip Hop Artist Scotty Woot


From ArtistPR:

New Hip Hop Artist Scotty Woot

Chicago native hip-hop artist and lyricist "ScootyWoot" is the true definition of a go getter. ScootyWoot has been in the rap game for a while now under the radar, but continues to gain new fans with his raw wordplay, his impeccable metaphors and his realistic perspective on life.

Although born in the Midwest, ScootyWoot also resided in the south while attending Grambling State University. This stimulating experience gave him a taste of both worlds which expanded his understanding of both cultures. During this critical phase in his life, he spent his time listening to artists such as Twista, Bone, 8 Ball & MJG, Ice Cube, UGK and many more.

ScootyWoot began his career with the "Zombie Tribe/ Elements of Murder" and later went on to release several solo projects. His "Monopoly" mixtape went on to do respectable indie numbers. He later released his first full length album "Stimulus Package" which has been widely distributed around the country. It is available for download on ITunes. His latest mixtape "Bleeding My Block" can now be downloaded on datpiff.com. His hot, new single "Money Gone" featuring Atlanta native, Tity Boy aka 2 Chainz is tearing up the club scene and gaining momentum on the radio as well.

Don't forget to call in to your local radio station and request the song "Money Gone". ScootyWoot is sure to make an impact on the music scene as well as your iPod playlists. http://www.scootywoot.com .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive