Friday July 31, 2015
Feature of the Week

[Summertime '06] Summer, summer, summertime.

Vince Staples Review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Country C - "So Amazin'"

MP3: Country C - "So Amazin'"

Courtesy Who Got Next.

Tell 'em The Wonder TwinZ sent ya...


MP3: Fokis f/ Sadat X - "#Justsayin"

MP3: Fokis f/ Sadat X - "#Justsayin"

Courtesy Matt B.

#Justsayin' Ft. Sadat X (of the Legendary Brand Nubian Crew) is the second single off Fokis' upcoming "A Vintage State Of Mind" Mix Tape (Hosted By Sadat X & Mixed By DJ Chonz) which will be available 2/21/12. Scratches performed by DJ Chonz.

DL link to Fokis f/Sadat X “#Justsayin”: .

Video: The I.M.O - "What Is It"

Video: The I.M.O - "What Is It"

Courtesy Junkadelic Music.

Artist: The I.M.O
Produced by: Dj Junkaz Lou
Label: Junkadelic Music
Year: 2012

The I.M.O "Five Pillars E.P" available on iTunes now.

Video: Mr. Miranda - "Tight Eyes (Freestyle)"

Video: Mr. Miranda - "Tight Eyes (Freestyle)"

Courtesy Mr. Miranda.

Mr. Miranda gives you the visuals to Nicolay's "Tight Eyes"
instrumental in which he rhymed over! Directed by Cedric Owens for
D.A.M.N Productions.

MGK Joins Record-Setting Tech N9ne 2012 Hostile Takeover Tour

MGK Joins Record-Setting Tech N9ne '2012 Hostile Takeover Tour' - Lace Up Debut Album Coming Soon!

Courtesy Greg Miller.


Los Angeles, CA--January 23, 2012-- EST 19XX/Bad Boy/Interscope Records signee MGK (aka Machine Gun Kelly) will be joining Tech N9ne on the record-setting hip-hop tour for consecutive show dates in a 99 day span. The 2012 Hostile Takeover Tour will consist of an astonishing 90 tour dates in 99 days that kicks off March 22 with stops in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Atlanta, Dallas, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Baltimore, Denver and Seattle. With his highly energetic persona and entertaining live performances, MGK promises to put on an unforgettable show for music fans during this record-breaking run.

"Touring with Tech N9ne is going to be wild. I'm going to Lace Up and bring the energy to so many cities across the country. I'm thankful to be able to play to in a bunch of new cities and give them a crazy memorable show," exclaims MGK.


MGK is having a hot winter with the mega success of his single "Wild Boy" featuring Waka Flocka and the 2011 title of MTV's Hottest Breakthrough MC competition along with the announcement of joining the 2012 Van's Warped tour this summer. As the leader of the Lace Up Movement, MGK passionately sets out to inspire fans from all walks of life with his music and story.

Born Richard Colson Baker in Texas, MGK and his missionary parents took up residence in multiple countries around the world including Egypt and Germany before settling in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio. In 2009, MGK won audiences nationwide after being the only rapper ever to win New York's famed Apollo Theatre Amateur talent show and MGK won twice. He earth-quaked the standstill mid-west Hip-Hop landscape in early 2010 with a series of loud and fierce mixtapes 100 Words And Running and the Lace Up mixtape.

Already attaining commercial success, MGK's "Invincible" song is featured in television and radio advertisements for the new HTC Rezound smartphone from Verizon Wireless with Beats Audio. MGK was recently honored again when "Invincible" was selected as the WWE Wrestlemania 28 Official Theme Song. Wrestlemania 28 is taking place April 1, 2012 at Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida.

MGK will release his Lace Up debut on EST 19XX/Bad Boy/Interscope Records.

A complete list of all 90 shows of the Hostile Takeover tour will be announced later this week.

For more information on MGK, please visit: .

Rise Up Radio's Hip-Hop Journalism Roundtable

Rise Up RadioOn Friday, January 20th, RapReviews' own Adam Bernard was part of Rise Up Radio’s roundtable discussion on hip-hop journalism with Manny Faces of, and Thembisa S. Mshaka, author of Put Your Dreams First. The discussion aired live from 7pm - 8pm est on WBAI 99.5FM-NY and, and covered a wide range of topics under the hip-hop journalism umbrella.

Because the conversation was so fantastic, and covered so many aspects of hip-hop journalism, I’ve posted the entire roundtable in two sections for listening pleasure.

Check it out at:

MP3: Mansion T.U.T.T. f/ Red Cafe - "G-Love"

MP3: Mansion T.U.T.T. f/ Red Cafe - "G-Love"

Courtesy BF Blasts.


MP3: Wordsmith - "A Hero's Welcome" (prod. Rafpak)

MP3: Wordsmith - "A Hero's Welcome" (prod. Rafpak)

Courtesy Wordsmith Music.

"A Hero's Welcome," Produced by Polish beat makers Rafpak, will be featured on Wordsmith's March 2012 Mixtape "Prelude to the King." The release of his next LP, "King Noah," will follow in April/May 2012!


Video: J-Love - "On the Verge" Official Mixtape Trailer

Video: J-Love - "On the Verge" Official Mixtape Trailer

Courtesy Mal Moe.

Uploaded by MrTokyoCigar7 on Jan 16, 2012.

"No description available."

MP3: muGz - "French"

MP3: muGz - "French"

Courtesy Melanie J Cornish.

A fun track from the Montreal MC muGz. With a video to accompany the track in the works for French, expect something just as inventive, if not better, than his recent smash Lonely Girl which was Heater of the Day on last month.

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to for the week of July 28th, 2015!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. Owing to scheduling conflicts this week the last two weeks of updates are being combined and updated with additional material: Adam Bernard's Call For a More Nuanced View of Hip-Hop, Richard Blackwood's "You'll Love to Hate This," BRBRCK's "6Songs," an editorial on Bill Cosby, Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 1997 and Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 1998, Honey Cocaine's "The Gift Rap," Je Suis Crabbi's "," The Hip-Hop Shop #335 and The Hip-Hop Shop #336, Large Professor's "Re:Living," Lil Wayne's "Free Weezy Album," Locksmith's "Lofty Goals," Madchild's "Silver Tongue Devil," The MC Type and thewoods' "... (ellipsis)," Snowgoons' "Independent Warriors," Vince Staples' "Summertime '06," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 21, 2015, Yelawolf's "Love Story" and Young Thug's "Barter 6." More reviews will be added throughout the day.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. also recommends the AMP w/ Adam Knight from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting!!

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive