Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday August 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Win Tickets To See N.E.R.D. & Pac Div Live In Concert


From Ashlee Nicole Spills:

Ashlee Nicole Spills is giving you a chance to WIN tickets to see N.E.R.D and Pac Div LIVE in concert, July 2, Essence Weekend. We are giving away tickets all week long, so you have a very good chance of winning! All you have to do is answer the following question correctly. Five winners will be seleceted.
 

Q:
How many albums does N.E.R.D. have?
Name each title and year they dropped.


Send answers to ashleenicolespills@gmail.com to win!

 


Courtesy of Coors Light and Privilege NOLA. Tickets are not on sale. We are your official ticket into this exclusive concert. Must be 21 to enter. Visit
ashleenicolespills.com for more ways to win N.E.R.D. tickets.
MP3: N.B.S. feat. Torae - "With The Pen"


From That's Major:
 

Cambridge, MA based duo N.B.S. teams up with hip-hop phenom Torae and producer Soundsmith for this cut from their upcoming album "The Smokefest". This track is yet another reason to "get acquainted" with N.B.S. and Big Bang Records!

"The Smokefest" is slated to drop July 11th, 2011 with worldwide distribution on independent powerhouse Big Bang Records. "The Smokefest" album will also feature former Dr. Dre protege Bishop Lamont, Torae, Tum Tum (of Caprice Music fame), Blacastan, label mate Virtuoso, Pidi T, Mickey Blakheart, as well as new england hip-hop pioneer Checkmark (of Skitzofreniks). With production duties handled by J.Cardim (Lil Wayne, Wale, Juelz Santana), Sicknature of Snowgoons (Ill Bill, Vinnie Paz, Canibus), J.Scrilla (Cassidy, Reef The Lost Cauze), The Beat Bullies (Nelly, Outkast, Carlos Santana), Stu Bangas (Ras Kass, Devin Tha Dude, Kool G Rap), Soundsmith (50 Cent, Lloyd Banks), Vanderslice (Termanology, Ca$his), MajorMusic (Edo G), and KeenoTherapy

Download Links:
Dirty
http://www.mediafire.com/?ol5aoo7bbkipffo
http://hulkshare.com/ocqe5p73jkt2
http://www.mirrorcreator.com/files/SCJKR46B/

Radio Edit
http://www.mediafire.com/?j65ca8480bwukpf
http://hulkshare.com/jr9nstw23wl3
http://www.mirrorcreator.com/files/0H0K36GS/

Video: Moka Only - "3 Things"


From Dunn Deal PR:

Video: Moka Only - "3 Things"

Video: Nic Paper f/ Big Juve - "Upset"


From J Melo:

Video: Nic Paper f/ Big Juve - "Upset"

Random a/k/a Mega Ran: An Open Letter to... You


Random a/k/a Mega Ran: An Open Letter to... You

Not sure if you guys know, but here's some background. I was born in Philadelphia, and started writing rap songs on my stoop one summer night. I made music for fun, to keep me occupied and out of trouble… never expecting anyone to like it, let alone want to support it. I even contemplated quitting music 4 years ago. Now seeing this level of support has truly touched me. It's something I never imagined. So if you've ever told anyone about anything I've ever done musically or otherwise, thank you.

One day, I was invited to do a show in London...my first time ever. The guys there unfortunately told us that the full airfare wouldn't be covered for me to bring my whole crew to the UK, and with me being an only child, I don't mind traveling alone, ever… But across the country? I just couldn't do it without the squad.

My bro K-Murdock and I decided we would start a kickstarter campaign, less than a month ago, and try to raise the funds to bring the whole team out. We didn't expect to meet our goal, with so many other factors going on.. But amazingly, we did! Then we checked the prices for flights and found out that we had undershot our goal. the conversion rate out there is pretty sucky for the US dollar.

So to make the trip happen, we needed to not only meet our goal, but to SMASH it, by at least double. K and I both figured we wouldn't make $5000 on this kickstarter, there was just no way. The goal was a trip to the UK… Who would want to pay money to watch us fly off and have fun in a faraway place? Seemed silly.

BUT, here we are, 8 hours until the close, and less than $250 away from doubling our expectation and hitting the vaunted $5000 mark. I'm totally stunned. And I have to say, if we don't make another cent, I'm so so proud of the effort and generosity that I've seen during this campaign. Thank you all for not only giving, but telling a friend. I still believe that word of mouth is the best and truest form of advertising there is.

Pardon the emo moment, but I'm really really thankful for the support.

Now, we stand 8 hours away from possibly doubling our intended goal, ready to blast off to the UK… so this is the absolute last time you'll see this link: http://kck.st/kVCVQi .

Give if you can, tell a friend, click that like button, retweet, write a blog or something if you can't.

Thank you, from the bottom of my heart, with the utmost appreciation and gratitude.

oh and best believe if we hit 5k, there will be a new song for y'all.

Thanks,

Raheem "Random" Jarbo

* www.megaran.com *

MP3: Pleasure P - "Stay With the Real Thing"


From DJ Smallz:

MP3: Pleasure P - "Stay With the Real Thing"

WRITTEN BY NE-YO

TAKEN FROM

SOUTHERN SMOKE RADIO R&B VOL. 3 (HOSTED BY K. MICHELLE)

DROPPING JULY 4TH

DOWNLOAD LINK: http://hulkshare.com/82se9qgwkwio .

Video: J. Rawls f/ Casual - "Find a New"


From Nature Sounds:

Video: J. Rawls f/ Casual - "Find a New"

MP3: J NaturaL & Medusa - "They Want Sex"


From Ballin' PR:

MP3: J NaturaL & Medusa - "They Want Sex"

* http://www.sendspace.com/pro/dl/ot9am9 *

The lack of female presence in hip-hop today is nothing less than astonishing. Enter emcee and vocalist Janelle Corpuz aka JNatural. Executively produced by southland icon Aceyalone, her debut LP Love Is On Hiatus is a rousing, jazzed inflected album. Following in the tradition of uncompromising and strong emcees like Jean Grae and Medusa, Love Is On Hiatus features Aceyalone and Abstract Rude. Production is by San Diego beat maker Jeff Wonder.

Love Is On Hiatus contains universal themes of love, desire, and heartbreak. The track “I Am Where the Music Is” is a celebration of true love and the work any good relationship takes. JNatural who founded her own LA based design consulting firm, Halseyan International LLC explains, “I used to work a 9-5 and then grind till the wee hours of the morning to complete my music projects or do gigs. All the money I made from my job goes right back into my musical projects.”

On “Limber Slinky” JNat employs a sultry inflective hook alongside sharp choppy verses to releases her emotional wounds at a past love. It took time for me to understand what it really meant to love yourself and know that I was worth more than that.”

Raised in Los Angeles, JNatural’s immigrant parents were strict but also so busy with careers in the medical field that they left her in the care of her grandmother and aunt. “They were very musical and wonderful story tellers,” JNatural recalls. Negating the cliché that all-girls Catholic high schools are breeding grounds for wild girls, JNat says that there were major benefits to not having boys around to distract her, not the least of which was that she learned to speak her mind.

It was around high school when JNat tried her hand at turntables and discovered SLAM poetry. By college, JNatural and her friends were staying up late night dissecting the lyrics of Freestyle Fellowship, Living Legends and Hiero and scratching out rhymes of her own.

Eventually she formed an eight piece hip-hop band called Sonic Tongue. After years of shows in San Diego and opening up for people like Brother Ali, Jeru the Damaja, Elroneous, CMA and Slug, she moved back to LA and ventured out on her own. In 2002 she released her first solo EP For Clarity, and in 2004, continuing to find her own voice, JNat wrote and produced a 5 track acoustic guitar EP called LA Virgen.

In 2005 during a chance meeting with one of her icons Aceyalone at a Medusa show, she slipped him her latest CD. “He called the next day and asked me to come in to the studio to record and be part of the (SIS)tem, an all female group he was putting together.”

In 2006, JNatural teamed up with producer/photographer Jeff Wonder to produce her first globally distributed project Escape From Babylon. In 2008 she released Sex Lies and Sextape mixtape, mixed by DJ Ray Ray Raw and featuring The A-Team (Aceyalone & Abstract Rude.)

All the while, JNat continues to develop her career in fashion. She was designer for Roxy/Quiksilver and the Director of Design for Fox Womens. She recently founded her own design consulting firm called. Currently, she is VP of Design and US Sales for U&K Fashion Ltd, a china-based fashion group.

Love Is On Hiatus drops June 28, 2011 on Project Blowed.

Video: Lil Chuckee Drops Teen Advice


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Lil Chuckee Drops Teen Advice

Lil Wayne's youngest protege, Lil Chuckee, drops some knowledge and gives the biggest advice he can for teens like him.

Lil Chuckee Drops Teen Advice from DJ Smallz.

MP3: DJ JS-1 - "Side Streets" Ft. Illa Ghee, Nutso, Guilty Simpson


From Audible Treats:

MP3: DJ JS-1 - "Side Streets" Ft. Illa Ghee, Nutso, Guilty Simpson

The Song:

Prolific DJ/producer DJ JS-1 is celebrating the release of his latest full-length LP, No One Cares, today by dropping his latest single, "Side Streets." Not only is the highly anticipated album, complete with 40 guests, including artists like KRS-One, Kool G Rap, Sadat X, and Joell Ortiz, and many more, now available for purchase, but fans can stream the full album for free all week as part of AOL Music's Listening Party.

Helping celebrate the release are Illa Ghee, Nutso, and Guilty Simpson, three notable MCs who champion the underground scene alongside JS-1 with the new single "Side Streets." "This song represents how we do the underground shit but get respect," explains JS-1, "while others take Easy Street on the Main Boulevard, but everyone knows they suck." JS continues, "We still enjoy making hardcore hip-hop while others are making very commercial, radio-friendly, pop-dance stuff." The song has an uncharacteristically basic production, made up of two blended samples and a dash of hard drums and bass, because JS-1 wanted people to focus on the hard-hitting verses and the very rare scratch hook. "I used a line from Guru that is from an unreleased acapella DJ Premier gave me," says JS-1. "It's the main vocal that ties it all in: 'I can go to any city/ Get respect in the street.'"

Fans of JS-1 can also watch him live on USTREAM today, from 1:45pm EST to 4:00pm EST, alongside Crazy Legs and Rahzel for their Lunch Breaks show. Says JS-1, "I'll be cooking lunch – chicken cutlet heroes – and then spinning some breaks, saying silly things with Rahzel, and harassing people about my new album. Should be fun!" Fans can watch live by going to http://www.crazylegsworkshop.com or by searching for the term "Lunch Breaks" on USTREAM.

DJ JS-1's new album, No One Cares, is now available via a joint venture between Fat Beats Distribution and JS-1's own Ground Original.

Download "Side Streets" for free here: http://media.audibletreats.com/DJ_JS-1-Side_Streets_Ft_Illa_Ghee_Nutso_Guilty_Simpson.mp3 .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive