Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday July 23, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[In Transit] Constantly moving forward!

Muneshine Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Mohammed Yahya & More - "O Caminho"


From MY:

Video: Mohammed Yahya & More - "O Caminho"

Mozambican born Hip Hop Activist Mohammed Yahya teams up with Portuguese Rapper Fachadaz and Beat-Boxing extraordinaire Faith SFX to bring you this Hip Hop traveler’s tale. Entitled ‘O Caminho’ (The Journey) delivered in both English and Portuguese these MCs illustrate their personal struggles for a brighter future on foreign soil.

PR: Upcoming Del the Funky Homosapien Shows


From Funnyman Entertainment:

PR: Upcoming Del the Funky Homosapien Shows

April 19th - Release of The Album and Appearance at Rasputins 

April 22nd - Free Del Show in Berkeley @ Shattuck Down Low  

April 25th - Free Del Show in LA @ Key Club  

April 27th - Del Show in Santa Barbara @ Velvet Jones 

April 28th - Free Arnette Party in Fullerton @ Cantina Lounge 

April 29th - Clusterfest in Georgetown @ SouthEastern University 

May 1st - Del Show W/Special Guests: Artifacts & Bukue One @ B.B. Kings 

May 2nd - Del Show in Baltimore @ Sonar 

May 4th - Del Show in Rhode Island @ The Met 

May 5th - Del Show in Charlotte @ Tremont Music Hall 

BIG DEL CONTEST! Enter-to-win autographed CDs, tickets to shows, posters, stickers and sets of Skull Candy Headphones!!! Go to www.councilpartners.com and enter your email to register!

PURCHASE the One Out Of A Million MP3 on Amazon.

BUY Golden Era on Amazon today for only $7.99!

MP3: Boss Hogg Outlawz - "What's Up"


From Who Got Next:

MP3: Boss Hogg Outlawz - "What's Up"

* http://tinyurl.com/BossHoggOutlawzWhatsUp *

Video: Donwill - "Shake It Easy"


For Immediate Release:

5846 Films Presents: Official Music Video For Donwill’s “Shake It Easy”

New York, NY - April 14, 2011 - 5846 Films is proud to present Tanya Morgan member Donwill’s official music video: “Shake It Easy” on Friday, April 15, 2011. “Shake It Easy” is a single off Donwill’s February 2010 release, “Don Cusack In High Fidelity.” 

The song focuses on Donwill’s failed relationship and his inability to let go. He stands in his tiny apartment, disconnected from the world. In true John Cusack fashion, Donwill obsesses over his lost love.  He questions his former lover, Laura, and remains shocked by her abrupt disappearance. 


The video has a warm look and feel, which adds a low-fi, retro vibe. The minimalist approach taken by 5846 Films creates a stunning visual, which perfectly compliments Donwill’s track. This blend is just another example of 5846 Films ability to create a superior production, which captures the essence of the artist. 


In the past, 5846 Films has produced several music video mash-ups, which match popular songs with rare and old movie footage. Previous mash-up from 5846 include: Kanye West's "All Of The Lights" and Drake's "Lust For Life x Houstonatlantavegas", which was featured on Drake's OVO blog. The production company also produced a music video for, underground production duo Night Creatures single, “Pound For Pound", which features Mandeep Sethi.


5846 Films is a production house that specializes in short films, music videos, live music performance footage, artist EPK's and behind the scenes montage. The production house also focuses on viral mash-up videos with a cinematic twist and a modern edge. All footage is shot exclusively in HD.  Full editing and DVD authoring services are also available.

###


PR: Soulcrate Music Announces Release Of The "Kick Rocks Collection EP" + Tour Dates


From Wes Eisenhauer:


SOULCRATE MUSIC ANNOUNCE RELEASE OF THE KICK ROCKS COLLECTION EP; FREE DOWNLOAD OF FIRST SINGLE;

CO-HEADLINING TOUR WITH PROF


TOUR DATES FOLLOW PERFORMANCE AT SOUNDSET FESTIVAL


South Dakota’s own Soulcrate Music are currently in the studio finishing up their new EP, The Kick Rocks Collection. The seven-track release will feature new material and is set for release on May 23. The first single, titled “Believe It”, features Minneapolis’ own Prof, and is available for free download here: http://soundcloud.com/soulcrate/believe-it.


Building their following from scratch in their hometown of Sioux Falls, DJ Absolute and siblings Attention Def and Dirt Dee focus on creating new styles of energetic music with a high regard for soul and classic hip-hop. The trio quickly exploded, selling out 800-capacity venues as a must-see headliner. Soon focus turned to regional touring and caught the attention of Black Clover Records, who took their road show national. The past few years have been spent relentlessly touring and recording, and have given the group a boost to national success and recognition.

This hardwork has paid off, as Soulcrate was offered a spot on Rhymesayers’ Soundset Festival, also featuring acts such as Big Boi, De La Soul, and Atmosphere. The performance will be followed by a co-headlining tour with Midwest up-and-comer Prof.

Prof recently finished two tours as well as several SXSW appearances. First was a five-date run throughout Minnesota with underground hip-hop legends, Atmosphere, on the Welcome to Minnesota Tour. Following was The Lookout Tour, which brought Prof down to Austin, TX, where he performed three sets (including an official showcase with Asher Roth) at the world-renowned SXSW music festival. Prof’s highly awaited new album titled Gampo is set for release this summer.

Soulcrate at Soundset
5/28 Shakopee, MN

Prof and Soulcrate co-headlining tour dates
6/2 Fargo ND @ The Aquarium
6/3 Bemidji MN  @ Blue Ox
6/4 Duluth, MN @ Clyde Iron Works
6/5 La Crosse WI @ The Root Note
6/6 Oshkosh, WI @ The Reptile Palace
6/7 Chicago IL @ Reggies
6/8 Mankato MN @ The What’s Up Lounge 
6/9 Omaha NE @ The Waiting Room
6/10 Des Moines IA @ The Vaudeville Mews
6/11 Kansas City MO @ Czar
6/13 Denver CO @ The Summit
6/14 Fort Collins @ Hodies Half Note
6/15 Salt Lake City UT @ Kilby Court
6/16 Boise ID @ The Reef
6/17 Portland OR @ Whisky Bar
6/18 Seattle WA @ Black Lodge

For more information, contact Wes Eisenhauer at soulcrate605@gmail.com

www.soulcratemusic.comwww.facebook.com/soulcratewww.twitter.com/soulcrate
www.stophousegroup.comwww.facebook.com/profgampowww.twitter.com/profstophouse

PR: Tylibah Offers Therapy with M-1 and Sam Scarfo


From Dove at Tygereye:

PR: Tylibah Offers Therapy with M-1 and Sam Scarfo

New Street Album Coming April 26!
Production from Sam Sneed, Rick Steele and More!
 
New York, NY -- With the world changing so fast these days, there is no doubt that many people may be in need of help to reposition their lives. Answering the call, Brooklyn artist, author, entertainer and entrepreneur Tylibah is offering her own brand of independent thought and inspiration for positive change to music fans through her new street album Therapy on April 26, 2011.
 
Therapy features 14 new tracks from Tylibah, with guest appearances by M-1 of famed Hip Hop duo dead prez and Jersey lyricist Sam Scarfo. Tylibah feels confident that these two features add just the right accent to her project.
 
"I chose to not go with a lot of features, because I really wanted people to have the opportunity to experience me as an artist for their first listen," says Tylibah. "I do think the appearances I have really speak for themselves, and make sense. M-1 is on 'Taking It to the Streets,' and the record simply talks about bringing the masses together - I love his verse! 'Taking Chances' features Sam Scarfo, and it's talking about how you're taking risks by pursuing a career in music, many of them publicly. I knew Sam could relate."
 
The Therapy street album includes two mixtape freestyles amidst the nine originally crafted songs from a variety of producers, including multi-platinum hit maker Rick Steele (Missy Elliott, Robin Thicke, Miley Cyrus) and famed Death Row Records vet Sam Sneed (Jay-Z, 50 Cent). Tylibah also tapped emerging talent for beats, as The Narcotics, Keyz and J.Serbe all lay down ear-catching tracks.
 
Tylibah has taken her time to develop Therapy, and although she loves each aspect of the project, she does have one that stands out to her. She will first unveil her personal favorite, the melodic single “Thinking of You: Letter to My Hood,” an ode to her Brooklyn home, which has influenced Tylibah’s life and creative spirit on many levels.
 
An adventurous entrepreneur, Tylibah stays active with her non-profit mentoring programs Leebah Baby Treasures Charity and Tylibah's Creative Connection (TCC), all by way of her parent company Leebah Baby Productions. Tylibah is also the self-published author of Streets in Poem Form: A Compilation of My Thoughts. The book sold over 15,000 copies in less than a year, and received widespread critical acclaim from the likes of Dr. Cornel West, BET, WBLS and many more.
 
Tylibah’s endeavors in the world of music, publishing, and more are all part of her big dream to inspire others through her creativity. It is a constant struggle in the world of entertainment to balance art and business, but the youthful performer sees only new opportunities to grow at every turn.
 
“Facing adversity has only made me stronger,” Tylibah asserts. “I’m thankful for everything I’ve been through, and I’m so excited about moving forward. I want people to know that I’ve dedicated my life to expressing who I am as an artist and entertainer, all in order to help others. I believe in the power of music, and its ability to transform peoples’ lives. Music can make people feel better, and more reflective about life. It does that for me daily.”
 
Download "Thinking of You: Letter to My Hood" produced by Rick Steele
http://www.sendspace.com/file/n5walt .

For more information on Tylibah, go to http://Tygereye.net/Tylibah and http://Tylibah.com .

Follow Tylibah on Twitter http://Twitter.com/Tylibah .

MP3: Prince Aries & Bambu - "And We Mobb In That..."


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Prince Aries & Bambu - "And We Mobb In That..."

New Single Gives Modern Day Take On West Coast Cruising Music

The Song:

Prince Aries is a sought after DJ, party promoter, graphic designer, and also the host and co-founder of the Bay Area's first and only hip-hop TV program Distortion 2 Static – we're also told he sleeps from time to time, although we're not so sure we believe that one – and on May 3rd Aries will be releasing a brand new mixtape, Clean Ass Whip. And now, Aries has enlisted Los Angeles emcee Bambu for "And We Mobb In That..." Produced by REL of Drums and Ammo, The track is one of two originals, along with DaVinci's "Clean Ass Whip," fans can expect from the project. "I wanted to have a few original tracks for this mixtape," explains Aries, "so I asked REL for some beats. When I heard this one, I knew it would be a perfect fit."

Indeed. The track flows effortlessly, with REL's laid-back drums, nostalgic samples, and celestial keys giving listeners a front seat perspective into exactly what West Coast cruising music, and Clean Ass Whip, is all about. And for Aries, featuring Bambu, an emcee from the city that once birthed the single "Let Me Ride" and is clearly no stranger to car culture or the role that music plays within that culture, was a natural fit. "Bambu captures the feel of the mixtape perfectly," says Aries. "He paints a picture of a sunny day in LA. It's a perfect addition to the mixtape.".

Prince Aries' Clean Ass Whip mixtape will be released for free download via SWTBRDS on May 3rd.

Download "And We Mobb In That..." for free here: http://soundcloud.com/swtbrds/prince-aries-presents-bambu .

Video: DJ Swamp - "Little Landmine"


From Kerosene Media:

Video: DJ Swamp - "Little Landmine"

Video: El Gant f/ J57, Tek - "Problems"


From Diamond Music group:

Video: El Gant f/ J57, Tek - "Problems"

The (W)rap Up - Week of April 12, 2011





"Snoop Dogg is more than a rapper at this point. He's a pop culture icon. He's a guest star on sitcoms and late night talk shows. He's a brand, a trademark, an identifiable product even to those who have never listened to his songs. He's the Big Snoop, not to be confused with that little one called Joe Cool who likes to steal blankets from fools. If it were legal to sell marijuana without a prescription in all 50 states, best believe that he'd have his own brand of chronic in every drug store and neighborhood grocery. He's more bud than Budweiser and damn proud of it too. The best part of all for Mr. Calvin Broadus is that his hits are more than just sticky icky icky. Every album he drops these days makes a splash and has a chart smash, and "Doggumentary" has already had TWO. Snoop displays the kind of experimental attitude on "Wet" that comes with years of success. It's not the first time Snoop has fucked with the expectations of his fans, but he's not just singing this time, he's letting his voice be vocally AutoTuned by The Cataracs. As the wetness of song goes "drip, drip, drip" in the chorus, the off-key notes seem to hit and reverberate like water falling on glass jars and copper pipes. The jars and pipes themselves seem to be sitting in the middle of an echo chamber. A track this bold could collapse under the weight of its own creativity, but Snoop is the stabilizing factor in the middle of the monsoon. "

Brotha Lynch Hung :: Coathanga Strangla :: Strange Music Inc.
as reviewed by Pete T.
[Coathanga Strangla] 
"Long everyone's favorite baby-killing, flesh-eating slasher rapper, Sacramento vet Brotha Lynch Hung executed a brilliant comeback last year with his hip-hopera "Dinner and a Movie." Although his newfound friends at Tech N9ne's Strange Music certainly deserve a lion's share of the credit, Lynch himself deserves equal praise for his own resurgence, flawlessly executing an ambitious opus that played like an audio horror film. Those who cower at the mention of guts and gore should know from the get-go that Lynch will cause queasiness within seconds, but for the strong-stomached "Dinner and a Movie" was magnificent, entering the conflicted mind of a complex serial killer and offering as much tongue-in-cheek humor and ironic laughs as legitimately eerie moments. The chilling production from Lynch and his Strange buddies created more goosebumps than an R.L. Stine book, bursting with fragile pianos, thundering strings, and more screams than Elm Street, yet Lynch maintained the spotlight with a performance so over-the-top that much of the time the listener didn't know whether to laugh or cower in terror—and in the case of "Dinner and a Movie," that was definitely a good thing. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_coathanga.html

Crafty :: Crafty Presents Overtime :: Frisko*Skies/Kunaki Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Overtime] 
"A message to all rappers out there past, present and future - I do NOT want to listen to your answering machine on an album. I don't care how clever you think it is that you can set a drunk, belligerent freestyle over the phone to a beat - don't do it. Furthermore I don't need to hear a concert promoter trying to sell you on appearing at some venue he had to put a thousand dollar deposit on while simultaneously trying to talk you into selling (at least) ten tickets to your friends if you DO appear on the show. If you buy Crafty's album I've just saved you four minutes and fifty-one seconds of your life. You're welcome. Crafty falls into the 2011 trend of doing everything yourself - he's the executive producer, he mixed and engineered the album, and it goes without saying that he raps on "Overtime" too. This is actually his second album though (the first from October 2009 slipped under our radar) and it would seem Crafty is already tired of having to hold ALL the weight, so he's brought in a whole slew of his friends and colleagues to do the rapping."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_craftyovertime.html

The CUF :: CUF Caviar Vol. 1 :: CFO Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[CUF Caviar Vol. 1] 
"N8 the Gr8, Pete B, Crush, Brotha RJ and Taktics (Lil N8) comprise the Sacramento rap group known as The CUF (California Underground Funk). Supporting non-members in 2011 include singer D Moe (cousin of Dudley Perkins) and crooner Maryann. The group's bio claims a history of chill from ninety-three 'til, having made their claim to fame performing on The World Famous Wake Up Show and using that as a springboard to drop three albums on the masses. At this point things get a bit sketchy. Even though it's explicitly stated that "Bustin writtens don't earn a pension/There ain't no retirement in this y'knahmsayin?/No retirement fund, no 401K plan" on their song "Don't Ask No ?'s" the group spent the last ten years doing anything BUT recording together. Despite their long friendship, this is only their 4th CD. What happened to The CUF? Did they get frustrated by a lack of major label exposure? Were they not feeling the love in their native California? Did the regional nature of their music not translate to a national audience? Was the group struck by those famous "creative differences" that split asunder so many promising or popular rap groups? "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_CUFcaviarv1.html

Del tha Funkee Homosapien :: I Wish My Brother George Was Here :: Elektra
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **

as reviewed by Pete T.

[I Wish My Brother George Was Here] 
"The West Coast was a pretty uniform place when Teren Delvon Jones arrived in '91. Although N.W.A. had already called it quits, West Coast rap was synonymous with their unabashed hardcore gangsta shit, carried on by the group's individual members and disciples of the lean street reporting such as MC Eiht and Compton's Most Wanted. Their East Coast counterparts had already seen their share of alternative movements, most notably the friendly social consciousness of the Native Tongues posse which fought the tides of hip hop's early machismo and sought to inject humor, artistry, musicality, and intellect into the late-80s' rigid street-oriented sound. Still, despite years as a viable hip hop hotbed, the Westside had yet to find an answer to the De La Souls and A Tribe Called Quests, clearly awaiting a game-changer to push their coast into the new decade. Del tha Funkee Homosapien surely seemed an unlikely man for the job at the time, but twenty years later it's clear that his self-deprecation and honest humor were exactly the catalyst California needed to push their music to the next level. Being eighteen and from Oakland would on their own make him a dubious candidate to kick-start a West Coast renaissance, but Del had a foot in the door via his first cousin, a certain Ice Cube."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_iwishmybrothergeorge.html

Charles Mingus :: Black Saint and the Sinner Lady :: Impulse Records
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

[Black Saint and the Sinner Lady] 
"I came of age when music was still purchased in physical form at brick and mortar stores, and my relationship with music is different because of it. I used to go to record stores and sift through the bins looking for an album I wanted or one I didn't know I wanted. There was a thrill in finding a rare CD in the bargain bin, or finding a new record used, or coming across something I didn't even know existed. I used to buy maybe four albums a month - I couldn't afford more. I'd go home, reading the liner notes on the bus, and listen to the albums back to front multiple times. I'd listen to an album for a week straight, catching every nuance and change. Some of my favorite albums were those that required multiple listens to truly appreciate and discover: "Fear of a Black Planet" by Public Enemy, "Sandanista!" by the Clash, "Paul's Boutique" by the Beastie Boys. I knew every inch of every album. To this day I'm still discovering songs that were sampled and referenced on early Ice Cube and Public Enemy records. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_blacksaintand.html

Moke & Tone :: Shot Heard Round the World :: Coalmine Records
as reviewed by Pete T.

[Shot Heard Round the World] 
"Last month, Minnesota congresswoman and presidential hopeful Michele Bachmann embarrassed herself during an appearance in Concord, New Hampshire, telling a crowd how proud she was to address a congregation in the state where "the shot heard 'round the world" was fired in Lexington and Concord. As any graduate of third grade knows, the Concord she was referring to in fact lies in Massachusetts and not New Hampshire, a fact unlikely to be forgotten by Moke & Tone. I'm not sure if their stage name is an unfortunate coincidence or an ill-advised reference to the Trackmasters' alias Poke & Tone, but Tone, a member of the Problemaddicts, calls the Commonwealth home, while partner-in-rhyme Machete Mokeout is listed as Cali-born and Bronx-bred. Whip out the liner notes of "Shot Heard Round the World" and you'll see a pair of scowling, hoodie-clad white fellas toting Louisville Sluggers, which provides a pretty good indication of what lies within. Theirs is of the gritty East Coast school of rap, and a number of the songs on their debut recall Ill Bill and his ilk with references to government conspiracy and futuristic scenes befitting of a sci-fi film. "Shit Is a Trip" proclaims the apocalypse Non Phixion-style, and "Shining" and "False Flag" follow in suit. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_shotheardround.html

Swollen Members :: Dagger Mouth :: Suburban Noize Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Dagger Mouth] 
"Dating back to 1999 with their commercial full-length debut "Balance," Vancouver's own Swollen Members have been among hip-hop's most influential and most disturbed groups. Battle Axe Record could in fairness be called "The house that Mad Child, Prevail and Rob the Viking built." The label either would not exist without them, or its relevance would be greatly diminished. Swollen Members won two Juno awards while under its auspices - the Canadian equivalent of a Grammy - but there's some evident frustration with not reaching larger sales or mainstream recognition worldwide. The jump to Suburban Noize Records for the 2011 release of "Dagger Mouth" is all the proof you need that they're looking for a bigger commercial outlet. This new partnership should put their album in stores everywhere. As for the disturbed part of the equation, album titles like "Bad Dreams" are just the icing on the cake. Mad Child's issues with substance abuse are well documented and would take too long to recount here anyway, but he's vowed to have a newfound sobriety going into the new decade and a renewed commitment to making music."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_daggermouth.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Adam Bernard's Princess Superstar interview, Dan-e-o's "Inevitable," a new editorial on mixtapes, Frankenstein's "The Science of Sound," Gangsta Boo & La Chat's "Witch," Husalah x Blanco's "Tortoise and the Hare," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #280 and UFC Founder Art Davie interview, Muneshine's "In Transit" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Kool Keith & Rah Digga - "Non Stop". RapReviews.com also recommends Raw Reaction from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive