Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday December 20, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[The Pinkprint] Did we dog her buns?

Wu-Tang Clan review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Ballgreezy Discusses Myths About Miamiiage & Career


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Ballgreezy Discusses Myths About Miamiiage & Career

Flo Rida's new hip hop artist, Ballgreezy, discusses the myths about Miami, especially from his point of view from Lil Haiti.

Flo Rida's New Artist, Ballgreezy, Discusses The Myths About Miami from DJ Smallz.

Video: Young Buck - "I'm Done Wit Y'all"


From Rap Star Promo:

Video: Young Buck - "I'm Done Wit Y'all"

Video: Ox - "Held Hostage"


From Big Dev:

Video: Ox - "Held Hostage"

Free Mixtape: Roach Gigz - Bitch, I'm A Player


From Audible Treats:

Free Mixtape: Roach Gigz - Bitch, I'm A Player

New Mixtape To Receive Special Limited Edition Physical Release This August

Critical Praise for Roach Gigz:

"Here’s to the new age of rap. And Roach Gigz. Who is awesome." - The FADER

The Mixtape:

To begin 2011, Roach Gigz released Roachy Balboa 2, and in the short time between then and now, the Bay representer has been back to work, whipping up a brand new release, Bitch, I'm A Player. The fourth mixtape from Roach, and the first since moving on from his popular Roachy Balboa series, Bitch, I'm A Player is available now for free download.

Bitch, I'm A Player continues to show off Roach's growth as an artist, something he attributes, in part, to recording the entire tape with only one producer, C-Loz. "It's only been six months since the release of Roachy Balboa 2, not a real long time, but this one is different, because it's just me and C-Loz – me and one producer," explains Roach. "And you can tell that by listening; it flows like that."

Similarly, Roach kept the guest list short, carefully hand-picking the rappers he collaborated with, a list that includes DB Tha General, 1.O.A.K., Husalah, and Lil B, the latter two of whom show up on the recently released single "Stupid (Remix)." The fifth and final guest, Lil 4Tay, shows up another recent single, and personal favorite for Roach, "Wild Child." "'Wild Child' is like a reunion track for me and Lil 4Tay," explains Roach. "And I was just feeling the fuck outta my verse, remembering all those things I did as a kid – it was funny to play it for friends and reminisce."

Despite the forwardness of the title, the mixtape actually came, in part, from Roach's fans. "The title, Bitch, I'm A Player – it's not to be taken super literal," says Roach, explaining that the title was actually came to be through various Twitter conversations with fans. "I said something like, 'I'm gonna answering interview questions the same every time: Bitch, I'm a player.' It was just a confidence thing, but people just started running with it, saying things like 'I got an A on my test, 'cause bitch, I'm a player,' or whatever. It's just about being yourself and doing what you want to do."

On August 23rd, fans can also look forward to a limited edition physical release of Bitch, I'm A Player, joined in special packaging by Roachy Balboa, Roachy Balboa 2, and Buckets & Booty Calls.

Download Roach Gigz's Bitch, I'm A Player here: http://t.opsp.in/13Dma .

Alternative link: http://www.roachgigz.com/ .

Kottonmouth Kings Stream New Album Sunrise Sessions Online


From James @ Kerosene Media:

Kottonmouth Kings Stream New Album Sunrise Sessions Online

Kottonmouth Kings are currently streaming their new album "Sunrise Sessions" online at http://music.aol.com/new-releases-full-cds/#/6 . "Sunrise Sessions" lands in stores this week courtesy of Suburban Noize Records and is available digitally at Amazon.com.
 
Kottonmouth Kings will embark on the Welcome To Stonetown Tour throughout July and August. The tour is set to bring a special evening with the Kottonmouth Kings to each town as the group performs all the classic tracks fans have grown to love, as well as new tracks from their upcoming album. Each tour date will also feature special solo performances by Dirtball, Johnny Richter, Kingspade, DJ Bobby B and D-Loc.
 
The Kottonmouth Kings new video for "Love Lost" can be viewed online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwpTNTaZTz8 .
 
KOTTONMOUTH KINGS TOUR DATES:
Jul 19 - Austin, TX @ Emos
Jul 20 - Dallas, TX @ Trees
Jul 22 - Tulsa, OK @ Marquee
Jul 23 - St Louis, MO @ Pops
Jul 24 - Atlanta, GA @ Masquerade
Jul 25 - Orlando, FL @ The Social
Jul 27 - Raleigh, NC @ Lincoln Theater
Jul 28 - Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head Live
Jul 29 - Foxboro, MA @ Showcase Live
Jul 30 - West Chester, PA @ The Note
Aug 01 - New York, NY @ Highline Ballroom
Aug 02 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr Smalls
Aug 03 - Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos      
Aug 05 - Thornville, OH @ Legend Valley (Woodshock Festival)
Aug 06 - Cleveland, OH @ Peabodys
Aug 07 - Chicago, IL @ HOB
Aug 08 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Aug 09 - Duluth, MN @ Clyde Iron Works
Aug 10 - Sioux Falls, SD @ The Vault
Aug 12 - Cave-in-Rock, IL @ Gathering of the Juggalos
Aug 13 - Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont
Aug 15 - Denver, CO @ Summit
Aug 16 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex
Aug 17 - Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Aug 18 - Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theatre
Aug 19 - Seattle, WA @ Hempfest
Aug 20 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne 
Aug 22 - Bend, OR @ Domino Room
Aug 23 - Reno, NV @ Knitting Factory
Aug 24 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
Aug 25 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
Aug 26 - Chico, CA @ Senator Theater
Aug 27 - Los Angeles, CA @ Key Club

Video: Savant & Big Meridox - "The Beast & The Best" Promo


From Savant a/k/a Stanstro:

Video: Savant & Big Meridox - "The Beast & The Best" Promo Trailer


Liquid Sound Productions & Passamore Powerplays Present the forthcoming "The Beast & the Best" music video. An Aglofellaz reprise of Savant's January #CrashCourse record reunites the emcee with Tucson, Arizona staple, Viet.Kong.General stalwart and renown microphone bully, Big Meridox and together the two emcees provide cinematic illustration of the rousing jawn while spotlighting several spots integral to the city's simmering yet burgeoning hip hop scene.

Song Title: The Beast & the Best (prod. by Aglofellaz)
Artist(s)
-  1st verse: Big Meridox
-  2nd verse & Hook:  Savant
 
Fdot1 Joins N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder for LIVE FEST @ O2, London


From Park Street PR:

Fdot1 joins N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder, Roll Deep & Tempa T for LIVE FEST @ O2, London - Saturday 23rd July 2011

Catch Fdot1 live on stage at Live Fest, London's biggest indoor festival this Saturday 23rd July 2011. Fdot1 will be performing alongside N-Dubz, Tinchy Stryder, Roll Deep, Tempa T and many, many more...

Live Fest is a mud-free zone!

2 for 1 tickets are still available from http://www.LiveFest.co.uk .

Fdot1 will be performing tracks from his new album "Money MusicK" with special guests 2Amplified, Dray Delta, David Mensah and Kyra Simone, including the new single "She's So" due for release Monday 25th July 2011.

Money MusicK album is available on iTunes
* http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/money-musick/id433230139 *

Hip Hop Hold 'Em - Biz Markie, Ed Lover, Zab Judah, The Game


Hip Hop Holdem - Biz Markie, Ed Lover, Zab Judah, The Game

I'm not sure how during the online casino boom I missed out on the phenomenon of hip-hop stars playing poker, but for a short period of time from 2006-2007 you could catch Hip Hop Hold 'Em late at night on the ESPN family of channels. Sadly there's little information out there about this show - a very incomplete IMDB entry and a few random articles that either suggest the show was badly done or possibly even racist, but very little written about it from a hip-hop head's point of view. You can watch hip-hop legend Biz Markie play a hand of Texas hold' em in the clip below. Do the cards have what Biz needs?

The show featured Ed Lover of Yo! MTV Raps fame as a host and Deric 'D-Dot' Angelettie as a commentator, who started out his career in the seminal group Two Kings in a Cipher but quickly gained more fame as a producer for Bad Boy Records. He subsequently used that tenure to portray a character called The Madd Rapper in a series of skits on Bad Boy releases, which ultimately led to a full length album and a mixtape about a decade later. I bring this up because it appears the mixtape came out after Hip Hop Hold 'Em had already gone off the air, which would have given D-Dot more to be MAD about. You can hear D-Dot sounding like Madd Rapper in this clip, commentating on a showdown between boxer Zab Judah and singer Ruben Studdard. I've seen a few poker shows and I feel like he does fine in the role. Shecky Greene (unheard here) also doles out tips.

Now if you've never played Texas hold 'em or video poker before, I realize the card action may be a little much to keep up with. Not surprisingly most of the articles online about this show are quick to jump on the players for that, criticizing them for not knowing whether they are winning or losing a hand. Quite honestly those people are missing the point of this show, and of most celebrity poker shows in general - it's about THE CELEBRITIES. I mean when or where else are you going to watch The Game, Lord Finesse and Rahzel the Human Beatbox sit down and play a hand of cards together?

If you're looking for a show with some true poker wizards, watch 'The Magician' Antonio Esfandiara or Phil 'The Unabomber' Laak on any late night poker show. If you're a hip-hop head who wants to see rap stars and celebrities from R&B and boxing play a few hands while Ed Lover cracks jokes, this show is just fine. Unfortunately this show was very clearly an attempt to cash in during the poker boom of the 2000's by marketing the game as "cool" to a demographic where it wasn't a good match, and the traditional poker players who caught this show are more likely to listen to Frank Sinatra than Big Poppa, so it's not surprising they took a big crap on it and the show quickly vanished from the airwaves. Thanks to the magic of YouTube though, Hip Hop Hold 'Em lives on.

PR: Apathy's New Album "Honkey Kong"


From Matt Conaway:

PR: Apathy's New Album "Honkey Kong"

Apathy is preparing to take his career to another level with the release of his third-solo LP, Honkey Kong, which will be released on 8-23-2011.  The Connecticut emcee and The Get Busy Committee (Apathy, Scoop Deville and Ryu released Uzi Does It in October 2010) and AOTP member has undeniably crafted his best project to date and it includes production from Apathy, DJ Premier, DJ Muggs, Statik Selektah, Evidence, Da Beatminerz and Teddy Roxpin (Mac Miller) among others.  Guest appearances on Honkey Kong include Xzibit, Slaine, Vinnie Paz, Esoteric, Ill Bill, Celph Titled, Action Bronson, General Steele (Smif N Wessun) and Mad Lion.

Tracklisting & Credits for Apathy’s Honkey Kong LP:

1. Honkey Kong featuring Vinnie Paz (produced by Vanderslice)
2. Holy Ghost featuring Slaine (produced by Apathy)
3. The Villain featuring Ill Bill (produced by Apathy)
4. Check to Check (produced by Evidence)
5. Stop What Ya Doin featuring Celph Titled (produced by DJ Premier)
6. The Recipe featuring Xzibit (produced by Stu Bangas)
7. Fear Itself (produced by DJ Muggs)
8. Who Got Da Juice starring Blacastan (skit)
9. It's Only Hip-Hop featuring Brevi (produced by Statik Selektah)
10. I Dedicate This To You featuring Tosha Makia (produced by Smoke The World)
11. All I Think About featuring Action Bronson (produced by Vanderslice)
12. Never Say Never featuring General Steele & Mad Lion (produced by Teddy Roxpin)
13. Albino Gorillas featuring Esoteric (produced by DJ Wayne Ski)
14. Peace Connecticut cuts by Evil Dee (produced by Da Beatminerz)
15. Army Of The Godz featuring Esoteric, Blacastan, Reef The Lost Cauze, Planetary, Crypt The Warchild, Motive, Celph Titled & Vinnie Paz (produced by Teddy Roxpin)
16. 1:52 AM (produced by Apathy)

* http://twitter.com/#!/apathydgz *

Video: Six Reasons - "Fat Lady"


From Samuel Charves:

Video: Six Reasons - "Fat Lady"

Attention all "rappers" - THE FAT LADY HAS SUNG HER LAST NOTE... it's OVER. Here's an exclusive FREE "deleted" track for all my fans and a warning shot to everybody else. EAGLES DON'T FLY WITH SEAGULLS! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbLzLfZ9MXw .

Check out this online exclusive track Six Reasons just released – download it for FREE at http://www.6reasons.com .

Also, check out the single, Hello Goodbye now getting radio airplay:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XNjCeQrxmCs .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of December 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have SIXTEEN new items for you for WOMEN's WEEK! Check out Jhene Aiko's "Sail Out EP," Azealia Banks' "Broke With Expensive Taste," two editorials on The Top 20 Female Rap Artist Videos from part one to part two, the "Fly Girls! B-Boys Beware!" compilation, Ghostface Killah's "36 Seasons," Iggy Azalea's "Reclassified," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #304, Steve 'Flash' Juon's Welcome to Women's Week on RapReviews, Nefertiti's "L.I.F.E. (Living In Fear of Extinction)," Nicki Minaj's "The Pinkprint" (our featured review), Nitty Scott, MC's "Boombox Diaries Vol. 1," PRhyme's "PRhyme," Queen Pen's "My Melody," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for December 9, 2014 and Clara Wang's "Verses and a Beat" editorial!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: KINETIC - "Whole Life". RapReviews.com also recommends the Jordan Garber's World from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive