Tuesday July 28, 2015
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Summertime '06] Summer, summer, summertime.

Vince Staples Review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Oddisee f/ Diamond District - "For Certain"


MP3: Oddisee f/ Diamond District - "For Certain"

Courtesy Mello Music Group.

Oddisee has enlisted the rhyme services of his Diamond District brothers yU & Uptown X.O. to craft a new track entitled "For Certain" over Rock Creek Park production. The new song is now available for free download.  The album Rock Creek Park is now available on Vinyl, CD, and Digitally.
 
The Lyrical Content:
 "Nothing is fo certain / nothing is fo sho / so until they close the curtain, we gon have to do the show /  Sho up, sho out, sho off, sho down / wit anybody around / it go off." - Oddisee
 
"Progress is why I don't rest / used to be the most fresh / now I care less / we gotta re-invent" -  yU
 
"Had a dream / an angel told me remember / it can all be over in the snap of a finger / I say what I say because this movie could end today." - Uptown XO
 
Oddisee - For Certain (feat. Diamond District) http://mellomusicgroup.bandcamp.com/track/for-certain-feat-diamond-district .

MP3: Destruments f/ CF, Nems & More - "Free Form"


MP3: Destruments f/ CF, Nems & More - "Free Form"

Courtesy Creative Juices.

* http://tinyurl.com/Destruments-FreeForm *

Check out the first leaked single from the upcomiing release "Surpassing All Others."

Mega Ran: "Life On the Road" Update


Mega Ran: "Life On the Road" Update

Courtesy of Random a/k/a Mega Ran.

Well the Race Wars Tour has hit the west coast, and we've had some crazy shows already. Last night we played the legendary Troubadour, and it was an amazing experience.

We have one more Cali show, in my favorite city, San Diego tomorrow and then we hit my new home-state of AZ. See you guys there!

Speaking of, The Phoenix New Times showed a lotta love with this article:

http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/2011-09-29/music/phoenix-rapper-megaran-creats-8-bit-hip-hop/

Drop a comment and share!

Also: don't forget about Mega Ran 10, still on schedule for 11-11-11!

Preorder your copy of the cd or the BLUE Vinyl!

http://random.bandcamp.com/album/mega-ran-10

Also I'm gonna drop a new track when I reach 5000 twitter followers, so get on that!

http://www.twitter.com/megaran

Keep up with the tour and make sure you get your tickets when we're in your town!

Peace out:

Ran

Mixtape: G.A.P. - "Crown Me" (hosts DJ Kurupt & DJ Noize)


Mixtape: G.A.P. - "Crown Me" (hosts DJ Kurupt & DJ Noize)

Courtesy DJ Noize.

* http://www.djnoize.com/mixtape-gap-crown-me-hosted-by-dj-kurupt-dj-n *

Track Listing:

    Intro - The Great King
    Crown Me (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Undadawg
    Hard As Mine (Prod. by B. Sterling)
    Go Getta (ft Treb Duvell)
    Georgia
    You Don't Want It
    Stupid
    Smokie Talks
    Loud (Prod. by B. Sterling)
    Get Down (ft K.Dent)
    Baby Boy Prayer
    Life On Paper
    9 Millie (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Rocky Talks
    Now Or Neva
    Take You Away (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Ghetto Gospel
    I Tried
    Doing Wrong (Prod. by CC Boy Music)
    Getting Money (Prod. by Dj Kurupt)
    Dj Kurupt Outro
    My Life

Video: Styles P f/ Mysonne - "Live From the Juice Bar Ep. 5"


Video: Styles P f/ Mysonne - "Live From the Juice Bar Ep. 5"

Courtesy Chris @ E1.

R.I.P. Sylvia Robinson (Sugar Hill Records Co-Founder)


R.I.P. Sylvia Robinson (Sugar Hill Records Co-Founder)

According to TheUrbanDaily.com Sylvia Robinson has died at the age of 75 from congestive heart failure. She was a multi-faceted talent critical to the early years of hip-hop going mainstream, working as a singer, songwriter AND producer for the fledgling label as it went on to release hip-hop's first ever gold and platinum singles and launch dozens of careers. Her influence was still being felt even today in hip-hop as songs she wrote and produced like "Love On a Two Way Street" were being sampled in smash hits like Jay-Z's Empire State of Mind. Our condolences to her family and friends and to her fans worldwide.

MP3: A3C Volume 1: Willie Evans, Jr. - "Never Be Free"


MP3: A3C Volume 1: Willie Evans, Jr. - "Never Be Free"

Courtesy Audible Treats.

Countdown To A3C Volume 1 Compilation Continues With Latest Single

The Song:

As the days are drawing closer and closer to the 2011 A3C Hip-Hop Festival, iHipHop Distribution is excited to release the latest single from the A3C Volume 1 compilation album, which will be released on October 4th and is now available for pre-order on iTunes. Following the announcement of Big Daddy Kane and M.O.P. being added to the festival line-up, along with a single from Chase N Cashe, today's new single, "Never Be Free," comes from Florida bred MC, producer, and visual artist Willie Evans, Jr., who, along with all of the artists featured on the compilation, will perform at the seventh annual A3C Hip-Hop Festival, taking place from October 6th - 8th at The Masquerade in Atlanta, Georgia.

Download "Never Be Free" here: http://soundcloud.com/ihiphop-distribution/willie-evans-jr-never-be-free .

The seventh annual A3C Hip-Hop Festival will take place October 6th through 8th at The Masquerade in Atlanta, Georgia. For more information on the Festival and the A3C Volume 1 compilation, please visit: www.A3Cfestival.com .

Watch the A3C promotional video here: http://vimeo.com/29101982 .

A3C Volume 1 Track List:

Disc 1:
1. Murs x Ski Beatz – Let's Go!
2. P Dukes - Work
3. Chase N. Cashe - My House
4. Killa Kyleon featuring Miss Mykie - Carpul Tunnel
5. Johnny Spanish - Anything Goes
6. Rockie Fresh - Spotlight
7. G-Eazy -Rebel
8. SL Jones - All Honesty
9. XV –Higher
10. Smoke DZA featuring Bun B & Big K.R.I.T. - On The Corner
11. GLC - Show You What This Ism Do
12. Freddie Gibbs featuring El Prez - Executive Decision
13. Main Attrakionz featuring Shady Blaze - World Tour
14. J NICS - S.N.A.S.
15. Action Bronson - Muslim Wedding
16. Cory Gunz featuring Hash - Str8 Drop
17. Trademark Da Skydiver & Young Roddy featuring Curren$y - Jet Life To The Next Life
18. Phil Ade - Let It Shine
19. Marz Lovejoy featuring Like (of Pac Div) & Jason Madison - I Can't Call It
20. Jon Connor featuring Ducky - High
21. Aleon Craft - Cruise Control
22. J-Live - Look Right

Disc Two:
1. Willie Evans Jr. - Never Be Free
2. Soul Khan - When The Plague Starts
3. Torae - Make A Movie
4. 9th Wonder featuring Thee Tom Hardy, Rapsody & Skyzoo - Jamla's Coming At You
5. Nitty Scott - Truth
6. The Kid Daytona - Night School
7. Young Scolla - Another Day
8. THURZ - Nosy People
9. Boog Brown featuring Invincible & StaHHr - Dope Girl Magic, pt 2
10. Termanology - Step It Up
11. Rapper Big Pooh - No Choice
12. 9th Wonder featuring Actual Proof, The Away Team & Big Remo - The Score
13. El Da Sensei - The Best We Gonna Be
14. Saigon - I Know Now
15. Jarren Benton - Skitzo
16. M.O.P. x Snowgoons - Anybody Can Get it
17. Freeway - For The Paper
18. REKS - Rap Disciple
19. Statik Selektah featuring Slaine - The Time Is Now
20. Bronze Nazareth featuring RZA - Fresh From The Morgue
21. Reef The Lost Cauze x Snowgoons -Kill Somebody
22. League Of Extraordinary Gz - Pressure
23. Dead Prez - Globalization (Scene Of The Crime)

Beastie Boys' LICENSED TO ILL TOUR Exhibition Premieres 10/8


Beastie Boys' LICENSED TO ILL TOUR Exhibition Premieres on October 8 at Hold Up Art

Courtesy Versa @ Gorgeous PR.

HOLD UP ART PRESENTS THE PHOTOGRAPHY OF SUNNY BAK
IN A RETROSPECTIVE EXHIBITION ENTITLED
Boys and Dogs
Premieres on October 8, 2011 at 7:00 PM

OPENING NIGHT RECEPTION
Saturday, October 8, 2011
Exhibit runs through November 1, 2011

at

Hold Up Art
358 E. 2nd Street, Los Angeles, CA 90012

Hold Up Art presents Boys and Dogs, a collection of works by world renowned photographer Sunny Bak. Her photos of the Beastie Boys and the "Licensed to Ill" tour solidified Sunny's place as a serious rock and celebrity photographer. Simultaneously, her love of animals, especially dogs, led to the creation of the best selling People Magazine parody, Pupple. These two diverse collections of images represent the work that have defined Sunny's career.

"It's been 25 years since I looked at the images I shot of the Beastie Boys in NYC with Garrett Simmons when we were working on a book called Pupple," says Sunny Bak of this new exhibition. "This show is part retrospective and part looking toward the future as Garrett and I are working on a follow up to the original Pupple. It's an homage to the beasty in all of us."

Photographing celebrities since high school, Sunny has shot celebrities like Madonna, 10,000 Maniacs, Gregory Peck, Keanu Reeves, Seth Green, and Carol Alt.  She spent time on the road with the up-and-coming The Beastie Boys on their 1986 "Licensed to Ill" tour. Sunny shot the iconic images that were featured in the multi-platinum album's artwork.

"Within the context of our culture, from Kanye, to Banksy to Obama, hip hop is an undeniable pillar of our culture," says Hold Up Art curator Brian Lee. "Though many people overlook the 80s hip hop scene as being dated and over-played, too much of our contemporary notions of the 'artist,' and issues of 'anti-authority' that color the way we perceive the Shepard Fairey's of the day, are informed directly by the attitude and movement of the genre. Sunny Bak's photos follow the Beastie's during their late 80s 'Licensed to Ill' tour, offering a very intimate perspective on such a ground-breaking time.  Whether it is our distance in time or the closeness Sunny shared with The Beastie Boys, Bak's photos bring you closer to understanding who these three guys really were, aside from their music videos.  The photos reveal the personal side of them, and a universal story of youth, potential, and the American Dream."

Sunny's best-selling book, Pupple, co-created with Garrett Simmons, took a different look at celebrity photography. She photographed dogs, dressed as celebrities in a parody of People Magazine. With new celebrities to feature, Sunny and Garrett are currently working on the follow up to Pupple.

Most recently, Sunny's work has appeared in Jay-Z's online promotion with BING for his book, Decoded, and in the Rizolli book, Def Jam Recordings: The First 25 Years of the Last Great Record Label.

For more information about this and other exhibitions, please visit www.holdupart.com .

Follow Hold Up Art on Twitter and like them on Facebook.

MP3: L.I. f/ Aaron Taylor - "I'm the One"


MP3: L.I. f/ Aaron Taylor - "I'm the One"

Courtesy Shocksound Entertainment.

right click to save mp3

I'm The One(Main Mix)

I'm The One (Radio Edit)

MP3: Yung Berg f/ Mia Rey & Driicky - "Shawty U Can Get It"


MP3: Yung Berg f/ Mia Rey & Driicky - "Shawty U Can Get It"

Courtesy Nancy B.

YUNG BERG & YFM PRESENTS

"SHAWTY U CAN GET IT FT. DRIICKY GRAHAM & MIA REY"

CLEAN: http://www.sendspace.com/file/9u44tc

DIRTY: http://www.sendspace.com/file/zasb3h

 Follow us on Twitter via @TheRealYungBerg @TiffanyJManager & @RapPublicist


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 28th, 2015!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. Owing to scheduling conflicts this week the last two weeks of updates are being combined and updated with additional material: Adam Bernard's Call For a More Nuanced View of Hip-Hop, Richard Blackwood's "You'll Love to Hate This," BRBRCK's "6Songs," editorials on Bill Cosby and Fifteen Important Rap Videos From 1997, Honey Cocaine's "The Gift Rap," Je Suis Crabbi's "crabbi.net/ep1," The Hip-Hop Shop #335 and The Hip-Hop Shop #336, Large Professor's "Re:Living," Lil Wayne's "Free Weezy Album," Locksmith's "Lofty Goals," Madchild's "Silver Tongue Devil," The MC Type and thewoods' "... (ellipsis)," Snowgoons' "Independent Warriors," Vince Staples' "Summertime '06," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 21, 2015, Yelawolf's "Love Story" and Young Thug's "Barter 6." More reviews will be added throughout the day.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. RapReviews.com also recommends the AMP w/ Adam Knight from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive