Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday October 19, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[STN MTN/Kauai] He's not a Child any more.

Childish Gambino Review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Shane Eli f/ Playboy Tre, Rittz - "Let's Ride"


From Nathan S:

MP3: Shane Eli f/ Playboy Tre, Rittz - "Let's Ride"

While Shane Eli's new album, I Can Do Better, has been pushed back from its original date, the L.A. rapper/producer has released new single, Let's Ride, to tide fans over. 

Let’s Ride deploys a loop from Marlena Shaw’s Where Can I Go as the background for the headliner's opening verse, while ATL-based collaborators Playboy Tre details some auto-erotic activity on the middle, and White Jesus emcee Rittz finishes with a characteristically blistering staccato flow.

Shane Eli's sophomore album, I Can Do Better, hosted by DJ Skee and presented by Flud Watches, drops soon via DJBooth.net. Features include Rittz, Aleon Craft, Playboy Tre, Jason Caesar, Ahmad and more. 

Download Link: http://www.mediafire.com/?7vyq8s15s0cq9bo

MP3: B-Brixx f/ Joe Young, Wiz Khalifa - "Fastlane"


From BF Blasts:

MP3: B-Brixx f/ Joe Young, Wiz Khalifa - "Fastlane"

* http://www.mediafire.com/?khdc6uuqcwcsfw3 *

MP3: Young Sha - "I'm Cold (Anti-Freeze)"


From Dialect Project:

MP3: Young Sha - "I'm Cold (Anti-Freeze)"

Young Sha takes on PAC DIV's original track, 'Anti-Freeze', and gives it new swag. Sha's flip 'I'm Cold (Anti-Freze)' is the first leak off his free mixtape "Sincerely Yours" dropping in weeks to come. Rapper Jin (106&Park) is one of the few features on the upcoming mixtape. "Sincerely Yours" is sure to turn heads and leave the blogs buzzin'. Young Sha represents Terre Haute, Indiana to the fullest - and has shared the stage with Gorilla Zoe, Freddie Gibbs and Young Dro just to name a few.

Click on the following link to share the track via email, blogs etc. The track is also attached to this email.

YOUNG SHA | "I'M COLD" (ANTI-FREEZE) 
PR: Hype Radio Fest 2 on April 18th in Atlanta, GA


From Lifeline Worldwide:

PR: Hype Radio Fest 2 on April 18th in Atlanta, GA

Hype Radio Fest 2 will be happening again this year on Monday April 18th at the Spring4th Center in Atlanta, GA.  It will be a night of celebration to bring together in unity some of the biggest names in Christian Hip Hoplike Flame, Canton Jones, Tedashii, and many more!  The entire event will be streamed live on the internet byDa South.com.  Be ready to mingle with industry professionals, artists, and media who will be on hand to witness what will truly be an unforgettable event.

SPRING4TH CENTER ADDRESS:

728 Spring Street NW Atlanta, GA 30308
(404) 870-0040

www.spring4th.com

Hype Radio Fest 2 will be hosted by Chris Chicago & J-Hollis. For more information go to: Jam The Hype.com, Facebook, Twitter,  I-Tunes Podcast Hype Radio w/Chris Chicago, iPhone/Android Apps, or listen each week to hear more details on Hype Radio w/Chris Chicago on your favorite radio station.

Hype Radio w/Chris Chicago is the #1 syndicated Christian Hip Hop show on the globe!  With over 10 million listeners weekly and thousands of podcast downloads on iTunes this program has become one of the premiere programs on the air!  The Hype Radio Fest purpose is to introduce others to the Hype Radio w/Chris Chicago program as well as unite and expose Christian Hip Hop artists that get airplay with: music industry professionals, media/press, as well as the general public, and ultimately to reach a lost generation that does not know Christ. Please come out and support the music and enjoy a night that you do not want to miss! 

The hotel in Atlanta for Hype Radio Fest 2 guests is the Regency Suites.  Rooms need to be reserved underHype Radio Fest 2 any rooms not reserved will be released.  The rate is $109/night, this includes, breakfast and dinner each day.

Call 1-800-642-3629 for reservations, the rooms are blocked under “Hype Radio Fest”

Regency Suites
975 West Peachtree St.
Atlanta, GA 30309

Hype Radio Fest 2 schedule:

7:00PM Oracle(Opening Prayer)

7:10PM K-Praize

7:15PM Montana

7:20PM Shaddie Swag

7:30PM T-Ran

7:40PM J.Fraze

7:50PM Boy Wonda, KAS, Lil Prophet (RWR)

8:10PM George Lott

8:15PM Goldielox

8:20PM Prodigal Son

8:30PM CJ Emulous

8:40PM D-Maub

8:50PM Mr. Del

9:00PM Canton Jones

9:20PM Ambassador

9:30PM Beckah Shae

9:40PM Sean Slaughter

9:50PM KB

10:00PM Pro

10:10PM Tedashii

10:20PM J’Son

10:30PM FLAME

10:40PM Rawsrvnt

10:50PM Relikis

11:00PM T-Dogg/Da Prince

11:10PM Geeda

11:20PM Cheno Lyfe

11:30PM Rhema Soul

11:40PM K-Drama

11:50PM Ryan Horton/G-86 of La Familia Muzik

12:00PM Fedel

12:10PM S.O.G. Crew

12:20PM Gospel Gangstaz

THE END

BROOKLYN <3 JAPAN: A Brooklyn Benefit for Japan Disaster Relief On 4/15


From Audible Treats:

BROOKLYN <3 JAPAN: A Brooklyn Benefit for Japan Disaster Relief On 4/15

Night Two Of Japan Benefit To Feature Wyatt Cenac, Kristen Schaal, Dj Aaron Lacrate, And More

The Event:

(April 8, 2011 – Brooklyn, NY) Japan has been hit with one of the greatest natural catastrophes of our generation. The perception of Japan as a wealthy, self-sufficient nation has negatively affected the amount of charitable giving, compared to other recent natural disasters. But the fact is, Japan still needs our help. CNN estimated that the devastating earthquake and tsunami could cost up to $309 billion, making it the most costly disaster in the country since the end of WWII. Nearly 30,000 people are estimated to be dead or missing and over a quarter million people have been left homeless.

Our hearts have been hurting thinking about this tragedy, and we've teamed up The Bell House to help publicize a two-part benefit to raise funds to help the disaster relief effort in Japan. 100% of the ticket sales and silent auction sales will benefit GlobalGiving.org, a charity that is currently disbursing funds to organizations providing relief and emergency services to victims of the earthquake and tsunami. The funds will directly help survivors and victims with recovery efforts: http://www.globalgiving.org/projects/japan-earthquake-tsunami-relief .

Thanks to everyone who helped make Night One on April 5th a huge success -- raising over $9,000. Let's double that number for Night Two on April 15th! We've joined forces with other local Brooklyn businesses to help raise more money at both events through a silent auction, including hundreds of dollars worth of gift certificates from Union Hall, Bell House, Floyd, Maxwell's, Prime Meats, Fonda, Insound, Pongo Power and Three Kings Tattoo. Also contributing items to the silent auction are Bravo's Watch What Happens Live! with Andy Cohen (a pair of tickets to see the show), Sub Pop Records packages, autographed Nada Surf and Chromeo posters, autographed SNL script, Comedy Central Records gift bag, Tell Your Friends! The Concert Film poster autographed by entire cast, Unemployed Philosophers' Guild gift package, autographed Lewis Black merchandise, autographed Mumford & Sons posters, autographed Two Door Cinema Club CDs and much more! (Did we mention an autographed Jonas Bros card?) Please join us for a second night of wonderful music and comedy at the Bell House in Brooklyn!

The Details:

What: Brooklyn <3 Japan
Who: Hosted by Liam McEneaney. With guests Wyatt Cenac, Kristen Schaal, Mike Doughty, Kurt Braunohler, Tim Harrington, Arden Myrin, Hard Nips, The Suzan, and Dj Aaron Lacrate
When: Friday, April 15, 2011 Where: The Bell House -- 149 7th St, Brooklyn, NY What time: 7pm doors / 8pm show
Ticket info: http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?dispatch=loadSelectionData&eventId=3607175 .

Video/MP3: Cymarshall Law - "Zion Land Official"


From Freedom Entertainment:

Video/MP3: Cymarshall Law - "Zion Land Official"

Cymarshall Law & The Beatnikz continue their strong push for their recently released album "Freedom Express Line."  Fat Beat Distribution picked up the vinyl so you can look out for that as well…

Today enjoy the official music video for the stand-out track "Zion Land," beautifully shot somewhere in France.  Also, enjoy the free mp3 download as well.

Directed by Basile Pierrat / Sophian Verri / Raph Anoush

Enjoy and feel free to post and share.

Cymarshall Law & The Beatnikz "Freedom Express Line" In Stores Now via XOXO Records!!

Cymarshall Law & The Beatnikz "Zion Land" Official Music Video Link:

Cymarshall Law & The Beatnikz "Zion Land" Mp3 Download Link:
MP3: Chris Brown f/ Kevin McCall, Se7en - "Spend It All"


From M3W:

MP3: Chris Brown f/ Kevin McCall, Se7en - "Spend It All"

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/chrisbrownspendit/blast-page.html *

MP3: Cam'Ron & Vado - "Girls Cry"


From Chris at E1 Music:

MP3: Cam'Ron & Vado - "Girls Cry"

* http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6U4HH0B8 *

The (W)rap Up - Week of April 5, 2011


[Capo]Jim Jones :: Capo
E1 Music

Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"I routinely find myself at odds with not only the RR staff in general but the hip-hop populace as a whole when it comes to Jim Jones. Make no mistake, if he has a hit that crosses over to the mainstream, I enjoy it as much as the next man, because he does have (if nothing else) a charismatic delivery. In general though I find his flow to be overrated and his lyrical content to be nothing special whatsoever. Now far from being upset about this contradiction, it's the very sort of thing I encourage at RapReviews.com. I'd rather have a difference of opinion where one writer thinks he's hitting all the right notes, while I think he's struck all the wrong ones, because that just goes to show we are not clones who all have the same view of hip-hop. Furthermore these kind of contradictions cause us all to critically re-examine our opinions and remain open-minded about different genres and styles of the entire hip-hop diaspora. So far be it from me to dismiss Jim Jones entirely in 2011. He's got a lot going for him, not the least of which is that he's one of the most prolific artists to ever come out of Cam'Ron founded DipSet. This is the NINTH album by Jones we've covered since 2004, and there's probably at least a mixtape or two we missed along the way. If you count albums with Byrd Gang or the Diplomats the totals of his discography and releases reviewed both increase that much more. When you're #WINNING more than Charlie Sheen, there's no reason to slow your roll for the haters, and as long as each album continues to sell you keep on dropping more and more of what your audience wants."

Big K.R.I.T. :: Return of 4Eva :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace
[Return of 4Eva] 
"In 1988, Public Enemy released a song called "Don't Believe The Hype" and it was the second single from PE's second album, "It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back." Fast forward to 2011 and we have a hip-hop industry that seems to be predicated, built on and fascinated with hype. Everyone is out to be the next big thing and if there's not a lot of staying power within a new act, even the hottest of Tuesday's artists (new and old) are forgotten about by 9pm Wednesday night. One outlet that seems to generate a great deal of hype and speculation year in and year out is XXL Magazine's Top 10 Freshmen list, and since 2008 we've seen some artists live up to the hype in some way or another like 2008's Lupe Fiasco or 2009's B.o.B. and Kid Cudi, while others like 2010's OJ Da Juiceman have faded away into obscurity. The 2011 list consists of Meek Mill, Lil B, YG, Mac Miller, Lil Twist, Diggy Simmons, Cyhi Da Prynce, Kendrick Lamar, Fred Da Godson, Yelawolf and Big K.R.I.T.. To be honest, I'm not overly familiar with all of the 2011 selections, but I'm secure enough to say that I'm sure Big K.R.I.T. fits in somewhere near the top of the list. After all, he did come in at #1 when I wrote my 2010 Year in Review back in December on the strength of his "K.R.I.T. Wuz Here" album, which I still have in heavy rotation (along with the chopped and screwed version). After a handful of guest appearances and an increase in notoriety, the not-quite-newly minted Def Jam signee promised the fans that he would release at least one more project before going forth with the major label debut. The album reportedly took over a year to make and after being delayed for a week, Krizzle finally unleashed the album, calling it "Return of 4Eva." The album features appearances from K.R.I.T.'s partner in rhyme, Big Sant, as well as Joi, Bun B, Chamillionaire, Raheem DeVaughn, Ludacris and fellow Mississippian, David Banner. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_returnof4eva.html

Chaz Kangas :: A Personal Reference :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Mike Baber

[A Personal Reference] 
"Rappers often claim to be something they are not. There are countless emcees who spit about bringing back the old school and keeping "real hip-hop" alive, when in fact the actual quality of their lyrics is subpar at best. On the other hand, there are rappers who boast about popping bottles, screwing models, and everything in between, and while these assertions may be true to some extent, listeners must take them with a grain of salt. All in all, there are too many rappers talking about keeping it real who in reality are more fake than a bootleg Rolex watch from a street vendor. Enter Chaz Kangas, an up-and-coming battle rapper who reps his birth place of Minnesota and his current hometown of New York. Chaz doesn't claim to be the best rapper, or even the best white rapper, but "A Personal Reference" is, in my mind, the very definition of keeping it real. He simply tells it like he sees it, spinning straightforward but often humorous stories of his daily life and encounters, and his fresh perspective on hip-hop makes his latest release an enjoyable listen. The album cover art says it all – a picture of Chaz, looking like he just rolled out of bed, leaning back with a tray of devoured Arby's food in front of him – and the opening track, "Young Gifted, and Chaz," reinforces the casual, carefree vibe of the album. Chaz receives a phone call, most likely from the album's sole producer Good Goose, who asks "Hey Chaz, you wanna make an album?" Chaz responds with "Yea, let's do it right now," and transitions right into his opening verse, a quick autobiography where he raps "A townie mindset with an urban perception/ Here to take the game in a certain direction." "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_personalreference.html

Kyle Rapps :: Re-Edutainment EP :: Mayhem Entertainment
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

[Re-Edutainment EP] 
"Kyle "Rapps" Sutton has been involved in hip-hop for a number of years under a number of guises. He recorded under the name Black Skeptik, then as Skeptik as part of the Thought Breakers. He formed a street poetry collective called the Mayhem Poets. He got a B.A. in Spanish at Rutgers University. Now the Jersey native has changed his moniker to the more positive Kyle Rapps and has released an EP that hearkens back to the Boogie Down Production classic, "Edutainment." The goal is to educate while entertain, and Kyle aims to serve up helpings of both education and entertainment. Kyle even offers a collaboration with the Teacher himself, KRS-One, on a remix of "Rent."  Kyle's style lacks the harder edge of KRS-One - the younger rapper is much positive and upbeat than his cantankerous elder. Kyle is more in the vein of Homeboy Sandman, another East Coast rapper who offers literate, positive rhymes. Kyle has spent a lot of time performing for schools, and many of his rhymes are aimed at teenagers. He documents the changes that come with "Puberty," he raps about going to the "Prom," and calls out a "Bully." U-N-I joins him on the mic to school kids on "Rapps 101," and Joel Ortiz shares his thoughts on "Hardknock Children." Not that older listeners should sit this one out. While the subject matter may be PG, Kyle's insightful lyrics and wordplay make this EP worth listening to even if you are well past voting age. Kyle's background as a poet shows throughout. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_re-edutainment.html

Mac Montese :: On a Mission :: Black Rain Entertainment
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[On a Mission] 
"Mac Montese is the latest artist hailing from the Black Rain Entertainment family, the label best known as the musical home of their co-CEO Lord Infamous. He in turn is best known for being one of the founding members of Three 6 Mafia, but relations between the founders have been strained for more than a minute now. As such it's never surprising if DJ Paul and Juicy J aren't seen on a Black Rain released album, but not at all surprising when former Hypnotize Minds artists like Gangsta Boo and Koopsta Knicca do. Personally I wouldn't mind seeing all the past and present Memphis family members peace it out and get together in the studio again, but in 2011, it is what it is. The impression one gets of Montese from "On a Mission" is that he's being groomed as a successor to Lord Infamous. That's far from a bad idea given Infamous has had some serious health issues of late and could probably use someone to carry the torch for his label in the event of his untimely demise. Of course Montese can't simply be "Scarecrow Part Deux" and expect to earn the respect of devoted Southern hip-hop fans, let alone a national or worldwide following for his music. That's why throughout this 18 track album almost every other song finds him going for dolo. There's a good news/bad news type situation going on here I'll have to break down for you the reader in detail. Here's the good news - Montese is competent at delivering a verse, his accent and diction are mostly clear, his vocal tone is not unpleasant and he doesn't embarrass himself lyrically. The bad news is that puts him somewhere in the middle of the pack for rappers from any region of the United States. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2011_04_maconamission.html

Sweatshop Union :: Water Street :: Sweatshop Union Music
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **

as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Water Street] 
"Many of the Back to the Lab albums we cover at RapReviews.com are the result of direct requests from our readers, and Sweatshop Union's "Water Street" is no exception. Although I heard enough that I liked on "United We Fall" back in 2006 to give them a 7 overall and a 7.5 for lyrics, I hadn't been keeping up on their endeavors in the days since. If one wants to be fair they didn't exactly keep me appraised of theirs, and in the last six years they've only released this album and one other EP. That's not exactly what one would call "prolific." The individual contributors to this large collective stayed busy, but getting them all in the studio for one session seemed almost Wu-Tang-esque in difficulty. On top of all that, S.U. founding member Kyprios opted out of future group projects to further his solo career, so "Water Street" is his last album with S.U. (for now). For those unfamiliar with Sweatshop Union's philosophy or work ethic, they are a politically conscious crew who is not afraid to stand up for causes, or even to stand opposed to the mainstream of the very genre they are a part of. It's probably helpful in that regard that the membership is Canadian, because the Union can be part of the North American roots of hip-hop at large while maintaining their own worldview separate from that of the United States. Let's not draw too large of a distinction from this difference though, as though all rappers South of the border are materialistic and vapid, while all rappers North of it are open-minded and egalitarian."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_waterstreet.html

The Hip-Hop Shop #118 - New April 2011 Flavor




It's time for another dope edition of The Hip-Hop Shop! I call this show Some April 2011 Flavor and it's literally just that - music we were sent this month just so we could promote the artists on this show. It's a diverse mix, from known names like Rapper Big Pooh and Swollen Members, to up-and-comers like Shane Eli and DaMansion. If you like the show or have some feedback follow me on Twitter @angrymarks; or send your podsafe (RIAA free) music and advertising requests to dj.flash@rapreviews.com. Thanks for listening and remember to share the show with a friend and tell them to check it out every Tuesday on RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Lunice f/ DaVinci - Get Her High
* Swollen Members - Mr. Impossible
* Rapper Big Pooh - Pooh-A-Lude
* Shane Eli - Let's Ride
* DaMansion - Easy 2 Find
* Neek & Large Professor - Still on the Hustle
* Side Effekt - Like It Is


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 14th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Childish Gambino's "STN MTN/Kauai" (our featured review), Diamond D's "The Diam Piece," a new editorial on Ferguson, Flying Lotus' "You're Dead," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #295, L'Orange's "After the Flowers EP," Mac Mall's "MACnifacence & MALLiciousness," SkyBlew's "SkyBlew's UNModern Life," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 7, 2014 and Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #25 w/ Nightclubber Lang!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Scarf-ACE - "Don't Play (Remix)". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive