Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday October 25, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Has-Lo - "Untitled #1 (Hold On)"


From Mello Music Group:

MP3: Has-Lo - "Untitled #1 (Hold On)"

Has-Lo's album In Case I Don't Make It is in stores now via Mello Music Group!  The Philly MC/Producer has garnered a lot of well deserved critical acclaim while word continues to spread amongst both fans and critics.
 
"They say knowledge is power and love is wealth
And to get right for what you love you go through hell"
 
Today, enjoy the free mp3 download of the song Untitled #1 (Hold On), one of the more personal songs from the album In Case I Don't Make It.  Untitled #1 (Hold On) tackles a variety of heartfelt, universal issues: illness, judgement, loss, school, making money, and  juggling family obligations.  Untitled #1 (Hold On) plays like a contented and confessional introspective afternoon walk. On display is Has-Lo's ability to not only craft a narrative tale that is reflective and keenly observant, but also to produce an atmosphere rich enough to evoke a visceral repsonse from listeners on many levels.

Enjoy the free download: feel free to post and share.
 
MP3 Download: Has-Lo "Fiber Optics" http://mellomusicgroup.bandcamp.com/track/untitled-1-hold-on .
 
Now Available on CD @ FatBeats! http://fatbeats.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=9851 .

Also Available @ iTunes! http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/in-case-i-dont-make-it/id415915133 .

Video: This'l - "I Hate You (Crack)"


From Chad H:

Video: This'l - "I Hate You (Crack)"

NEW MUSIC VIDEO TAKES AN HONEST LOOK AT CRACK
Hip Hop artist Thi’sl debuts latest music video “I Hate You”

Saint Louis, MO— Hatred, that’s what hip hop artist Thi’sl (pronounced Thih-zull) feels about crack. His new music video featuring the song “I Hate You,” tells the story of how crack cocaine rips lives and families apart.

Filmed in Jacksonville, FL and directed by Eshon Burgundy of Space Cherry Films, the video’s story is not fictional or third-party. It reflects an honest and gritty visual of Thi’sl’s own story. Growing up on the streets of St. Louis, he lived a life consumed by drugs and thugs. Just like his own life, this video shows how his family was torn apart by addictions to cocaine. His cousin was taken away from his mother; another cousin was shot and killed by a Thi’sl’s own friend. Strong and passionate, “I Hate You” can be found on his album Chronicles of an X-Hustler.

Thi’sl brings a dose of reality, where mainstream hip hop glamorizes a gangster lifestyle. “Nobody is telling the whole story. Nobody talks about the feeling you get from selling your mom dope. They don’t talk about the feeling of sitting in a jail cell, feeling like they’re going to get life,” declares Thi’sl. “I felt like it was my duty to the culture of hip hop to show them the other side of the coin.”

Life selling crack gives misleading money and power. When Thi’sl’s own friend killed his cousin, he was faced with a stark wake-up call. For the first time, he realized how crazy his lifestyle was and the impact it had on other people. He cleaned up and turned his life around. Now, he brings his message of hatred toward crack back to his neighborhood and the people still in the same kind of situations. “I feel like I’m a voice for people who don’t have a voice in those situations or those too ashamed to admit this is how they really feel,” explains Thi’sl.

For more information on Thi’sl, visit: http://www.iamthisl.com .

MP3: G. Montana - "She Like It"


From 12 Inch Digital:

MP3: G. Montana - "She Like It"

SHE LIKE IT (DIRTY) - http://www.mediafire.com/?au4tuho5zqahkvf

SHE LIKE IT (CLEAN) - http://www.mediafire.com/?7bb88n076bbm684

SHE LIKE IT (INSTRUMENTAL) - http://www.mediafire.com/?q3aq6qs741eyuw1

G.MONTANA - SHE LIKE IT (OFFICIAL VIDEO)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zbq68nOiMDw&feature=related

PR: "Fathers of the Sport" Street Ball Documentary Soundtrack


From RBC Records:

"Fathers of the Sport" Street Ball Documentary Soundtrack on April 26th

Produced by Providence Films and directed by Xavier “X” Mitchell, Fathers Of The Sport chronicles the colorful and compelling history of some of the most legendary streetballers of all time. In addition to detailing the legends of the courts, Fathers Of The Sport recounts many of the unsung heroes who dominated the playground courts in New York, Philly, DC and Chicago and consequently turned it into the multi-billion dollar spectator sport it is today.
 
With the official soundtrack featuring industry heavy hitters such as Kanye West, Notcho, Common, Brandy, Bizzy Bone, Amber O, Focus, Sly Boogie, Midnite Star, the producer Fingers and more, director Xavier Mitchell hand picked each artist and track to serve as the backdrop for this story of an American social culture embedded with racism, war, drugs, oppression and poverty.
 
The lead single “Legacy” by Notcho shouts out some of the games greats. With Bill Russel, Wilt Chamberlain, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Earl The Pearl, Dr. J and more serving as the inspiration, Notcho details out the steps for those that step onto the court and have the desire to fill their shoes.
 
With images, music and footage from the 60’s and 70’s, Fathers Of The Sport tells the story of these asphalt warriors escaped the world set before them and rose above it all with a mutual love and respect for the game that many feel has been lost on todays players.
 
Official Soundtrack available April 26th on Franchise X/RBC Records in conjunction with Heads High.
 
Notcho – Legacy: http://hulkshare.com/ixh8c99tcta8 .

MP3: NOE - "We City Boyz"


From M3W:

MP3: NOE - "We City Boyz"

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/noe/blast-page.html *

Video: Young Dro - "Polo Down"


From Mr. E:

Video: Young Dro - "Polo Down"

PR: Chris Clay Says FML with Crooked I and Kid Vishis


From Tygereye Entertainment:

Chris Clay Says FML with Crooked I and Kid Vishis

San Diego, CA -- On the heels of his successful run with The Christening mixtape in December 2010, Midwest lyricist Chris Clay is now preparing to release a new EP on iTunes. The project is aptly titled For My Listeners (FML), a dedication to the legion of Hip Hop fans who have been appreciating the young rapper's innate gifts. FML is slated for release on April 26, 2011 via California-based label M.I.M Entertainment.
 
Chris Clay, a native of St. Paul, Minnesota, is proud to bring such a well-rounded sound to his music on FML. Guest appearances from Slaughterhouse's California rap vet Crooked I and acclaimed Detroit spitter Kid Vishis add intense lyrical posture to Clay's trademark fiery verses. R&B singer Emanny, known for his work with Joe Budden and Jadakiss, also brings his silky vocals to "Sex Appeal."
 
Producers on the project include J.Cardim (Talib Kweli, Royce da 5'9, Maino), J-Skillz da Bandman (50 Tyson, J-Kwon) and Emazin of Minnesota's Trakhouse International (Freeway, Twista, Lil Flip).
 
"Each producer is very special to me for a number of reasons," Chris explains. "J-Skillz was one of the main producer I started building my sound with, he made the track for my 2010 anthem "M.I.M. (Money is Motive)." In my opinion, Emazin's team is the best production squad out of Minnesota. Working with J.Cardim has been special for me because I feel like it's another good step toward the mainstream. I feel like the chemistry with each of these producers is great, and as an artist I know it's only making me better."
 
Since moving to San Diego to work with M.I.M. Entertainment CEO Pat DiBello, Chris Clay has been opening doors for himself across the country. He teamed with G-Unit/Shadyville personality DJ Whoo Kid for the globally appealing mixtape The Christening, and followed with a unique hometown sound on Sotafied: Looped, Locked & Loaded with Minnesota's DJ Reeg.
 
Additionally, Chris has been releasing freestyles for his "100 Bars" series, and has received accolades from some of Hip Hop's most discerning music critics for his lyrical abilities. 
 
"The responses from the work I've done in the past six months has been incredible," says Chris. "It means so much to me to actually see that I'm gaining some recognition from respected tastemakers, and it motivates me to step my game up everytime I create and perform. This is what I'm most passionate about, and to see my dreams coming true is what drives me to become the artist I want to be." 
 
The six tracks on FML are all important to Clay for different reasons, although "The Oath" stands out to him as a more introspective touch on the EP. "This song is a much more intimate look into my life and whats going on with me, and at the same time it is a promise to my listeners to always give you 'me' and tell the truth, and nothing but the truth. I love it!

"I want the fans to know this EP is exactly what it is: 'For My Listeners', Chris continues. "I used the FTW (For The Wholeworld) EP in December 2010 as an introduction, and this one is a lot more personal. It's geared toward specifically telling people who I am, where I stand on certain things, my feelings and some of my qualities all mashed together in that special 'Chris Clay way' for my audience. So if I got your attention on the last one, and you are now a listener, this one is for you!"

For more information on Chris Clay, go to http://Tygereye.net/ChrisClay and http://MIMEntertainmentInc.com .

Follow Chris Clay on Twitter http://Twitter.com/ItsChrisClay .
 
Bonus Download: "First Impressions (100 Bars Pt. 3)" http://hulkshare.com/e4r4ropy0cne .
 
FML Tracklist
 
01. The Oath - prod by J.Cardim
02. Dreamin - prod by Emazin
03. Party Song - prod by J.Cardim
04. Sex Appeal ft. Emanny - prod by Emazin
05. Rewind That ft Crooked I - prod by J-Skillz
06. Ugly ft Kid Vishis – prod by J-Skillz

MP3: Bizz the Prince f/ DJ Kay Slay - "Best In My Age Group"


From M3W:

MP3: Bizz the Prince f/ DJ Kay Slay - "Best In My Age Group"

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/bizzagegroup/video-blast-page.html *

Dev Out To Prove She's More Than Just "Fly Like A G6."


When your first appearance on a song makes it an anthem you set the bar pretty high for yourself. This is exactly what Dev did when she first came on the scene singing the hook on Far East Movement’s “Like A G6.” She followed it up with the club songs “Bass Down Low” and “Booty Bounce,” but when I caught up with her she let me know that she’s not a fan of “party girl” label. During our interview Dev also revealed she’s in no hurry to complete an album just to have product to push. She does, however, have some future plans with her sisters, and she also discussed her Twitter interaction with DJ Pauly D of Jersey Shore fame, and the strangest thing anyone has ever handed to her at a club.

Read the full interview at: AdamsWorldBlog.com

PR: Gorilla Zoe's "King Kong" Releases June 14th, 2010


From Gio at E1 Music:

Gorilla Zoe's "King Kong" Releases June 14th, 2010

FIRST SINGLE “TWISTED” DEBUTS AT #9 ON ITUNES HIP HOP SINGLES CHART

(New York, NY) --- Hip Hop star Gorilla Zoe announces the new release date for his long-awaited and aptly-titled third solo album, King Kong.  The album will be released on June 14, 2011 and teams Zoe up again with Russell “Block” Spencer, the mastermind behind hip hop powerhouse Block Entertainment.

“Twisted,” the anthemic first single on King Kong features Lil Jon and has already skyrocketed to #9 on the iTunes Rap Singles Chart, selling over 33,000 units. The single is also #5 most added at urban radio this week.

What’s more, Zoe will be a major force involved with the newly-formed Urban Wrestling Federation, which will hold its first major TV event in late spring.  Both eOne and Russell “Block” Spencer will be involved with marketing and promoting the UWF by providing A-level talent to be a key part of the UWF. Gorilla Zoe’s music can already be heard in the national advertising campaign, and he will be one of  the first featured performers.

By combining his true-life stories about growing up in Atlanta with an avant-garde sensibility for beats and lyrics, Gorilla Zoe has quickly become a defining force in southern hip hop.  One of the most prolific rappers today, Gorilla Zoe released a mixtape every day for the month of February 2010.

After Zoe hooked up with hip hop impresario Block, it led to his collaboration with Yung Joc on the hit single “Coffee Shop.” Zoe then replaced Young Jeezy in supergroup Boyz N Da Hood before releasing two wildly successful solo albums, Welcome to the Zoo, and Don’t Feed The Animals.  The albums peaked at # 20 and #8, respectively, on the Billboard Top 200.

To listen to “Twisted,” click here:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HzQv7v3qc1I .

For more information, go to www.twitter.com/gorillazoe or www.blockentworldwide.com/wordpress/ .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive