Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday September 02, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
MP3: Kenny Kingpin aka Poppa LQ - "Let the Streetz Tell It (Remix)"


From Never So Deep Records:

MP3: Kenny Kingpin aka Poppa LQ - "Let the Streetz Tell It (Remix)"

* http://www.neversodeeprecords.com/blog/2011/03/let-the-streetz-tell-it-remix-feat-benny-franks-gmalonestone-staryukmouthtopicroccett/ *

PR: Swollen Members Release Video for "Going In 4 the Kill"


From Kerosene Media:

Swollen Members Release Video for "Going In 4 the Kill"

Swollen Members have premiered their new video for “"Going In 4 The Kill"” from their upcoming new album "Dagger Mouth" online at http://www.myspace.com/video/swollenmembers/going-in-4-the-kill/107500048. Swollen Members “Dagger Mouth” is scheduled for an April 12th, 2011 release through Suburban Noize/Battle Axe Records, and is currently available for pre-order online at http://www.subnoizestore.com/Swollen-Members-PreOrder-s/840.htm.

With Mad Child now free from his addiction to pain killers and settled back into Vancouver, he has returned with a vengeance to record Swollen Members' new studio album "Dagger Mouth". With a desire to return to the classic Swollen Members sound, Mad Child, Prevail and Rob The Viking have created an album that stands toe-to-toe with the group's back catalog, while pushing the their sound to new heights. “Dagger Mouth” will also feature a guest appearance by Saigon on the track “Bring Me Down”.
 
###
 
www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers

 

Video: Open Mic w/ Bangladesh, DJ Nasty, DJ Smallz in Tampa


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Open Mic w/ Bangladesh, DJ Nasty, DJ Smallz in Tampa

Video: Rocky Business - "Rocky's Theme"


From Babygrande Records:

Video: Rocky Business - "Rocky's Theme"

MP3: CunninLynguists f/ Freddie Gibbs - "Hard As They Come (Act I)"


From RBC Records:

MP3: CunninLynguists f/ Freddie Gibbs - "Hard As They Come (Act I)"

After Strange Journey Volume Two’s “Imperial” and Str8 Killa’s “The
Coldest”, CL and Gangsta Gibbs connect again for a third Kno-produced
banger. Listen to the second official leak from Oneirology as Natti,
Freddie Gibbs and Kno ask “Who am I?”.  Photo Credit: Landon
Antonetti, Fidel HasFlow & Fontaine.
 
Oneirology is set to be released March 22nd via RBC Records and Bad
Taste Records.  It features Big K.R.I.T., Tonedeff, Anna Wise of
Sonnymoon and more.  CunninLynguists' Oneirology World Tour begins
March 25th in St. Petersburg, Russian Federation.
 
[DIRTY] http://www.divshare.com/download/14193620-fd1 .
[INSTRUMENTAL] http://www.divshare.com/download/14193653-667 .

MP3: The Swap Meet Ensemble - "Let You Go" (prod. Black Milk)


From Jesse Mincin:

MP3: The Swap Meet Ensemble - "Let You Go" (prod. Black Milk)

"Let You Go" featuring Tony Vic and Raulie Barron
Produced by Black Milk

Go to our bandcamp page to listen/download for free here,

And remember we've just launched the FratHouse maxi-single digitally across the internet.

iTunes

We appreciate all the love and support you been giving, so call it showing up to the game, call it a donation, call it pity or (let's be real) call it 99 cents towards booze money for us to continue to find inspiration through various shades of light and dark...

Keep tuned in, we'll be leaking a new track every week leading up to the
release of our LP "One Man's Trash..."

(Note: this is a beat Poach got from Black Milk/Mellow Music Group, and his dumb ass sat on it too long. So long in fact, that by the time we finished the track and realized where it came from, it was sold. No animals were hurt during the completion of Let You Go, but Poach surely was.)

--
Jesse (Poach Stevens) Mincin

www.effingraphx.com
www.poachstevens.com
PR: Zion I & The Grouch f/ Silk-E - "Rockit Man"


From Ballin' PR:

Zion I & The Grouch f/ Silk-E - "Rockit Man"

* http://zioniandthegrouch.com/download/ *

Oakland, CA--March 2011--West Coast hip-hop greats Zion I & The Grouch drop their latest single “Rockit Man" featuring Bay Area singer-rapper Silk- E. The track, off their forthcoming March album, Heroes in the Healing of the Nation is loosely based on maturation and ascension as a person explains The Grouch.

“She nailed the chorus," The Grouch adds of the Bay Area new-comer and one of a handful of females on the scene. "Since "Rockit Man" was one of the first song recorded for the album--and I knew it was going to be one of my favorites--I felt like we had to make all the other songs fit and stand next to that one.”

"This song is about struggling to shake old fears and misgivings," explains Zumbi. "Once we let them go, we make way for the next level of transcendence. This is what a Rockit Man does...daily."

“Rockit Man” is available as a free download at ZionIandTheGrouch.com. And, fans who pre-order the album on the website will also get an instant download of the album track “Drop It On The 1”, and a bonus song “Heroes”.

Finally, the trio have announced additional tour dates for their Healing of the Nation Tour, which kicks off at the Fillmore in San Francisco on March 19, with Blu, One Be Lo, and The Jazz Mafia's Shotgun Wedding Quintet. The group has partnered up with a different community organization in every city and will be donating 100% of all ticketing fees sold through ZioniandTheGrouch

Click here for hi-res art link

ZION I & THE GROUCH HEALING OF THE NATION TOUR DATES
*w/ Blu
% w/ The Jacka
$ w/ One Be Lo

w/ The Shotgun Wedding Quintet (Jazz Mafia)

3/16/11 Austin, TX @ Mohawk (SXSW)
3/18/11 Austin, TX @ Beauty Bar (SXSW)
3/19/11 San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore * % #
3/20/11 Fresno, CA @ Fulton 55 * #
3/21/11 Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades * #
3/22/11 Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater * #
3/23/11 Arcata, CA @ Humbrew * #
3/24/11 Eugene OR @ McDonald Theatre * #
3/25/11 Portland, OR @ BRANX * #
3/26/11 Seattle, WA @ Nectars * #
3/27/11 Missoula, MT @ Palace Lounge * #
3/29/11 Park City @ Star Bar * #
3/30/11 Aspen, CO @ The Belly Up * #
3/31/11 Ft Collins, CO @ Aggie Theater * #
4/01/11 Boulder @ Fox Theater * #
4/02/11 Denver, CO @ City Hall * #
4/15/11 Madison, WI @ Majestic $ #
4/17/11 Chicago, IL @ Abbey Theater $ #
4/18/11 Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop $ #
4/19/11 Syracuse, NY @ Westcott Theater $ #
4/20/11 Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground #
4/21/11 Boston, MA @ Middle East Club $ #
4/22/11 Brooklyn, NY @ Knitting Factory $ #
4/23/11 Baltimore, MD @ The Quarter $ #
4/24/11 Philadelphia, PA @ The Blockley Pourhouse $ #
4/25/11 Tempe, AZ @ The Club House #
4/26/11 Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre #
4/27/11 San Diego, CA @ House of Blues #
4/28/11 San Luis Obispo, CA @ SLO Brewing Co. #
4/29/11 Santa Clara, CA @ The Avalon #
4/30/11 Reno, NV @ Grand Theatre #
5/1/11 Velvet Jones Santa Barbara, CA

MP3: Donwill - "Love Junkie (So Shifty Remix)"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Donwill - "Love Junkie (So Shifty Remix)"

DJ Eleven's 11 Inch Records Celebrates Release Of Donwill's Love Junkie EP With Lead Single

Critical Praise for Tanya Morgan:

"This Brooklyn-Cincinnati hip-hop trio summoned old-school cheer, goofy skits and indelible hooks for a left-field masterpiece." - Rated #1 Album across all genres for 2009 by Steve Smith, Time Out New York's Music Editor

The Song:

Don't get it twisted; Donwill is still very much a part of Tanya Morgan, but since last year's release of his album Don Cusack In High Fidelity, the Cincinnati-born, Brooklyn-based rapper has been taking out time to carve out his solo niche. One of the standout tracks from Don Cusack was “Love Junkie,” the ode to one-night stands, which featured Peter Hadar and Harlems Cash. After hearing the remix, which features Wallpaper and San Francisco's premier rhythm section, The Park, founding member of the renowned DJ crew The Rub DJ Eleven recruited Donwill to officially release a full Love Junkie EP on his own 11 Inch Records.

"I've been a Tanya Morgan fan for a minute, so when I heard the remix Donwill did with Wallpaper, I was sold" says DJ Eleven. In addition to the Wallpaper remix of “Love Junkie,” the EP also includes “Look At Me,” an all new b-side produced by 1-O.A.K of The Honor Roll, and a So Shifty remix of “Love Junkie.”

The "Love Junkie (So Shifty Remix)" is easily the most adventurous remix on the EP, with the Hamburg, Germany-based DJ and production duo providing a House-infused thumping, syncopated drum beat, along with a mix of fluttering and stabbing synth lines to accompany the chopped and often pitched and effects-laden vocals placed throughout the track.

Donwill and DJ Eleven's Love Junkie EP is the sixth release from 11 Inch Records and is available now via all digital retailers.

Download the "Love Junkie (So Shifty Remix)" here: media.audibletreats.com/Donwill-Love_Junkie_So_Shifty_Remix.mp3.

Love Junkie EP tracklist:
1. Love Junkie (Wallpaper remix)
2. Love Junkie (Wallpaper remix) (clean)
3. Love Junkie (Wallpaper remix) (inst)
4. Look At Me (dirty)
5. Look At Me (clean)
6. Look At Me (inst)
7. Love Junkie (So Shifty remix)
8. Love Junkie (So Shifty dub)

Buy link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004P7YLA4?ie=UTF8&tag=theorihiphopl-20&linkCode=xm2&camp=1789&creativeASIN=B004P7YLA4 .

The Background:

Donwill is one-half of hip-hop group Tanya Morgan, formed in 2003, who released their third full-length album Brooklynati in 2009. With the high praise from Rolling Stone and Time Out New York that Brooklynati garnered,Donwill released his own album, Don Cusack in High Fidelity. The maxi-single of "Laura's Song," complete with the album version, radio edit, instrumental and a couple of remixes is now available for purchase on iTunes. "Love Junkie (So Shifty Remix)" is now available everywhere via 11 Inch Records.

Mixtape: J Rawls Presents the #OHIOTAKEOVER


From John Robinson:

Mixtape: J Rawls Presents the #OHIOTAKEOVER

* http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0556Z7TZ *

Emcees listed in order of appearance

Featuring:  Count Bass D (Canton), Trav Dave (Columbus), Rashad (Columbus), Co-City (Columbus), J Osceola (Columbus), Lefortheuncool (Columbus), Stalley (Massilon), Tage (MHz, Columbus), Copywrite (MHz, Columbus), Donwill (Tanya Morgan, Cincinnati), 6S (Akron), Donte (Mood, Cincinnati), Piakhan (Cincinnati), Ilyas (Tanya Morgan, Cincinnati), Main Flo (Mood, Cincinnati), Dominique Larue (Columbus), Hood Apostle (Columbus), ILL Poetic (Dayton), ILLOGIC (Columbus), Iyeball (Fly.Union, Columbus), JaySwifa (Fly.Union, Columbus), Jerreau (Fly.Union, Columbus), P Blackk (Columbus) & J Rawls

Title: #OhioTakeOver the Mixtape
By: J Rawls
1. J Rawls Intro
2. Slapp – Stalley f. Rashad
3. Good to Go – Fly Union
4. Aint I – Dominique LaRue
5. What’s My Name – Illogic
6. J Rawls – I’m Me Intro
7. Trav Dave – I’m Me
8. 6S – Have you Ever
9. Hood Apostle – Grooveback
10. Speak Williams – The City
11. J Rawls – The City Outro
12. J Rawls – Capricorn Intro
13. Shoddy T – Capricorn
14. J Rawls – Ol’ School OHIO intro
15. Camu Tao – Hold the Floor
16. Spitball – Ya Times Up f. Copywrite
17. Neccassary (of SPIRIT) – I Swear
18. Basic Element – C’mon
19. The 3rd – Brazil
20. P. Blackk – Concorde Rollin’
21. P. Blackk – Izuaintorizuwitit
22. J Rawls & LE – Send Me (Special Bonus Song)
23. Copywrite – Mega Mega f. Camu Tao, Tage, Jakki and RJD2
24. Ilyas – I-EL Live from OHIO
25. J. Osceola – You Can’t Stop Me
26. Ill Poetic – Gone
27. J. Rawls – OhioTakeOver Outro
28. J Rawls – We’re On Top (#OhioTakeOver)

Follow @J_Rawls on twitter!

 

Video: Mav f/ G-Moe - "Me Against the World"


From J. Melo:

Video: Mav f/ G-Moe - "Me Against the World"


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive