Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday November 29, 2014
Feature of the Week

[Dettwork SouthEast] Speakin' with a SouthEast twang.

Blak Twang review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Trends - "The Truth About Relationships Ep. 2"

From Mr. Locario:

Video: Trends - "The Truth About Relationships Ep. 2"

Video: Trends - "The Truth About Relationships Ep. 1"

From Mr. Locario:

Video: Trends - "The Truth About Relationships Ep. 1"

Video: D.Focis - "Ugly Inside"

From ISLH:

Video: D.Focis - "Ugly Inside"

The Song:

This is the second release from the forthcoming project by D.Focis titled The Herman Gardens Project (All tracks by J.Dilla). 

In this song, D.Focis examines the need for people to self reflect before seeking perfection in others.

The Herman Gardens Project will be released via Facemusic Recordings mid summer. 

Video: Drums & Ammo - "Ammbush - Speak Up"

From Audible Treats:

Video: Drums & Ammo - "Ammbush - Speak Up"

SWTBRDS production collective Drums & Ammo, comprised of Al Jieh, Ammbush, 6Fingers, and REL, are excited to announce the release of their upcoming instrumental album. Titled Vol. 1, the new project will be released for free download on on April 14, 2011.

It's about time Drums & Ammo came together to officially release a collection of their instrumentals. If you've been listening to West Coast hip-hop in recent years there's a very good chance you've heard your fair share of Drums & Ammo production. Various members have produced and worked as recording engineers for Raphael Saadiq, Exile, The Grouch, Keak Da Sneak, Messy Marv, PSD The Drivah, DaVinci, Moe Green, Bambu, Del the Funky Homosapien, and many more.

PR: Jay-Z's Roc Nation Buys Block Starz Music

From Yo! PR:

Jay-Z's Roc Nation Buys Block Starz Music

For Immediate Release -- Rapper/entrepreneur Shawn "Jay-Z" Carter continues to expand his $450 million empire with the announcement his Roc Nation,, will acquire German-American netlabel Block Starz Music LLC,, in a move that has taken industry insiders by surprise.

Mr. Carter, who sold his Rocawear clothing label for $204 million in 2007, signed 10-year $150 million Live Nation deal in 2008 and holds stakes in the New Jersey Nets, 40/40 Club chain, ad firm Translation and various other businesses, reportedly won a bidding war between Universal and Jive Records for the fledgling Block Starz imprint.

While terms of the deal had not been disclosed at press time, the purchase of Block Starz, a full service online music company founded in 2008 to scout, develop, and market new independent talent, culminates a busy month for Jay-Z.

Earlier it was announced that Roc Nation had signed deejay/producer Mick Boogie, singer and songwriter/producer Santi "Santigold" White to its management division. It is unclear in what capacity Block Starz Music will operate under the new business arrangement, but experts speculate it will involve A&R and talent scouting.

Representatives for Jay-Z, who Forbes recently revealed as the second "Wealthiest Artist" in Hip-Hop, were not immediately available for comment.

Download "Was It" featuring Wiz Khalifa
iTunes: .
Amazon: .

Official: .
Twitter: .
Facebook: .
YouTube: .



Founded in 2008, Yo! Promotions is one of the leading boutique media relations, promotions and marketing firms in the U.S. specializing in the entertainment and urban culture. Since the company's launch, Yo! Promotions has developed a trustworthy reputation for representing up-n-coming, underground and major music acts during the halcyon days of the dot com boom.

MP3: Game - "Violin"

MP3: Phil the Thrill - "Wanna Be a Star"

From RMG:

MP3: Phil the Thrill - "Wanna Be a Star"

Virginia artist, Phil The Thrill is getting ready to release the first EP in the Fly Thoughts series, which is Carpe Diem.  The Fly Thoughts series will be different EPs that will be showcasing Phil as a true artist to be reckoned with.  So the first track from the Carpe Diem EP is this latest track, Wanna Be A Star.

Phil The Thrill - Wanna Be A Star



PR: Brisco Re-Mixtape Contest


Coast 2 Coast Mixtapes launches its REMIXtape Contest with Cash Money/Poe Boy Entertainment artist Brisco, which will take place throughout the month of April. The REMIXtape Contest gives independent artists the opportunity to win a free feature from Brisco for promotional use, and have the REMIX song appear on Brisco’s “21 Jump Street Mixtape” to be released in May.

The REMIXtape Contest also affords the winner a $1,000 cash prize; a trip to Miami to perform with Brisco at May’s edition of the Coast 2 Coast Industry Mixer; full video coverage of the Miami trip with viral videos; an artist imaging and branding package (including clothing, styling, etc.); prizes from Coast 2 Coast sponsors; a meeting with label executives of Poe Boy Entertainment; and other prizes. Additionally, the top ten runners up in the competition will receive a spot on a Coast 2 Coast Mixtape hosted by a major artist, listing in all official post contest press outlets, and a mention in the blog post and Coast 2 Coast Magazine article recapping the REMIXtape Contest. For more information on the REMIXtape Contest, visit

Opa-locka, Florida artist Brisco has been on the grind since 2001 and has racked countless mixtapes under his belt, some prominent ghostwriting on his resume, and standout cameos on projects by Lil Wayne, Birdman, Rick Ross, DJ Khaled, and Flo Rida. He has also created Down-South smash hits like “On the Wall,” “Bitch I’m Me,” and “I’m in the Hood” all featuring Lil Wayne. A well-rounded lyricist who covers all life’s aspects, “Dade County’s Young Don” spits on many of society’s ills as well as overcoming adversity and struggle. For more info on Brisco's new mixtape and the REMIXtape Contest, visit

Free EP: Alert - "Red Opus .45 EP"

From Humble Beast:


4.5.2011 - Brand new 5 song EP from Alert, available as a free download at Humble Beast or you can purchase at Itunes if you prefer . This is a teaser to hold everyone over while Alert begins working on their full length record. Download it, burn it, bump it, pump it, spread it, tweet it - help us "freely give" this music to as many people as possible.

Red Opus .45 

Direct link to download Alert "Red Opus .45"  right HERE


Video: Asher Roth x Nottz - "Gotta Get Up"

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to for the week of November 25th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TWELVE new items for you! Check out Blak Twang's "Dettwork SouthEast" (our featured review), a Bill Cosby editorial, Jack Jetson's "The Adventures of Johnny Strange," Jister & The Lion Ranger's "Absurdism," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #301, Jesal Padania's UK Hip Hop Month 2014 outro, Professor Green's "Growing Up In Public," Rashenal's "Life Learner," Rick Ross' "Hood Billionaire," Tinie Tempah's "Demonstration," Too Many T's "Running Wild EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 18, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cool C's incarceration update. also recommends AMP w/ Paul O'Brien from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting!!

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive