Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday September 17, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dark Horse] Never coming in last.

Twista Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: The Team Presents - 3 NGZ in the Kitchen, Ep. 1


From Johnny Nobody:

Video: The Team Presents - 3 NGZ in the Kitchen, Ep. 1

MP3: L.A. Webber - "I Can't Say No" (prod. Cee Boi)


From Javi S:

MP3: L.A. Webber - "I Can't Say No" (prod. Cee Boi)

Here is the first single off of L.A. Webber's upcoming street LP, Calm Before the Storm, entitled "I Can't Say No" produced by Cee Boi.

Stream/Download: L.A. Webber "I Can't Say No" (Prod. by Cee Boi)
Alternative link @ HulkShare.com

PR: Chris Young the Rapper's New Video & Single


From Okay X2:

Chris Young the Rapper's New Video & Single

PREPARING TO RELEASE VALUE PACK 2: CREAM & SUGAR

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
February 2011

Malibu, CA – With the release of the Value Pack 2: Cream & Sugar project nearing, Chris Young The Rapper has released the video “Mood Swing Intro,” complementing his latest single, “Fancy Things.”
 
In his latest video, shot by TalkboyTV, Chris Young looks back to his roots as a rapper by highlighting his Mood Swing EP.  Following its release, the EP caught the attention of Bananabeat Records founder, Cisco Adler, who went on to sign Young to his label.
          
Young released the single “Fancy Things” off of Value Pack 2 alongside the video “Mood Swing Intro.” The pairing of the Mood Swing video with Value Pack 2 material offers fans a glimpse of where Chris Young’s journey as an artist began as well as how he has developed.          
 
“I’ve put so much work into Value Pack 2 and I’m really excited to get it out there.  At the same time, I thought that this would be a great opportunity to take a look back at where it all started.”
  
The official release date for Value Pack 2: Cream & Sugar will be announced on air March 1st at 3pm on DJ Skee’s "SkeeTV."
 
Staying true to his prolific reputation, Chris Young The Rapper has also contributed material to his collaboration with artist Rossy, Vibe.  The two have put together the viral freestyle, “Wish I Never Met You.”
 
Check out the video “Mood Swing Intro” at http://vimeo.com/20213792 . To hear Chris Young The Rapper’s latest Value Pack 2 single visit http://chrisyoungtherapper.bandcamp.com/track/fancy-things .  For more information on Chris Young The Rapper visit http://chrisyoungtheartist.com/ . To stay updated on Chris Young The Rapper’s Value Pack 2 release date, keep up with DJ Skee at http://www.djskee.com/ . To see the “Wish I Never Met You” viral video visit http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j4_I5Gnf_C8 . For more information about TalkBoyTV see http://www.talkboytv.com/ .

Devo Spice Update - 2/25/2011: New Song


From Devo Spice:

Devo Spice Update - 2/25/2011: New Song

--== NEW SONG ON THE FUMP ==--
--== COMMENTARY ON THE INSIDER ==--
--== INTERVIEW ON THE HIP HOP SHOP ==--

--== NEW SONG ON THE FUMP ==--
I posted a new song on The FuMP today called Enhanced.  I have never been a fan of plastic surgery, especially excessive plastic surgery, so when I was looking to parody the song Fancy by Drake I came up with Enhanced and a parody was born.

I have to give a big shout out to Chris Mezzolesta from Power Salad who came through big time in helping me re-create that annoying sample in the background of the song.

You can download Enhanced for free here:
http://www.thefump.com/fump.php?id=1392

--== COMMENTARY ON THE INSIDER ==--
To accompany the song, today's episode of The Insider Album Podcast, where I play one song from my upcoming album Gnome Sane, features Enhanced as well, along with full commentary on the song. I go into some detail about the construction of the song as well as my feelings on plastic surgery in general.

To subscribe to The Insider click here:
http://feeds.feedburner.com/dsinsider

Or you can just download the standalone episode here:
http://www.devospice.com/insider_public/insider_a05_demo.mp3

--== INTERVIEW ON THE HIP HOP SHOP ==--
A couple weeks ago I was interviewed on The Hip Hop Shop and I forgot to mention it in my previous email.  (Sorry, Flash!)  Flash and I discuss my new album, plus some general geeky topics like Twitter and Doctor Who.

The Hip Hop Shop is a hip hop podcast hosted at RapReviews.com.  Download and listen to the episode here:
http://www.rapreviews.com/news/View.php?ArticleID=5365

--==x==--

That's all for now, folks.  Please help me spread the word about my new album, the iTunes rush on April 1st, and my album podcast on The Insider.  I'm going to be making a promo shortly for people to run and spread around.  As soon as I get a moment to breathe.

See you at MarsCon!

->Later.....Spice

PR: The Music of "Step Off" Available at Bandcamp


From Martin Kelley:

The Music of "Step Off" Available at Bandcamp

Well, at least some of it...A large percentage actually. Both score and beats.
 
Any filmmakers, I suggest you consider Sam Abrahamsen for score...he does really good work. Let me know if you want to get in touch with him for a project.
 
 
Of course, you can Pre-Order Step Off here
Remember Step Off is available March 15th!
 
Martin

Producer "Step Off" formerly "Battle"
Available on DVD March 15th from Lion's Gate!
http://battlethemovie.blogspot.com/
http://www.battle-movie.com
MP3: Tuge - "Mr. Money Machine" (prod. J. Cardim)


From Zack Einhorn:

MP3: Tuge - "Mr. Money Machine" (prod. J. Cardim)

* http://hulkshare.com/fk1dt4nntste *

FIRST LEAK OFF DICE MUSIC'S OWN TUGE'S UPCOMING MIXTAPE STAR SPANGLED GRAMMAR. FOR THOSE WHO ARE NOT FAMILIAR, THE BMF-GROOMED ARTIST RELEASED A MIXTAPE WITH GREEN LANTERN IN 2009 THAT FEATURED BUSTA RHYMES, CASSIDY, UNCLE MURDA, HI-TEK, NEO DA MATRIX AND J. CARDIM. HE WAS ALSO FEATURED ALONG SIDE STYLES P, FRENCH MONTANA AND MASSPIKE MILES ON J. CARDIM'S SUMMER STREET-BANGER "WHAT YOU SAYING." TUGE IS GETTING READY TO RELEASE HIS SOPHMORE PROJECT STAR SPANGLED GRAMMAR FEATURING PRODUCTION BY J. CARDIM AS WELL AS SOME BIG SURPRISE FEATURES!!

PR: The Dirtball "I Came to Party" Video Online


From Kerosene Media:

The Dirtball "I Came to Party" Video Online

The king of rapid fire rhyme, Dirtball has premiered his new video for the track “I Came To Party” online through WorldStar Hip-Hop at http://www.worldstarhiphop.com/videos/video.php?v=wshheniQKMVW6L73EzvZ . The track is the lead single from Dirtball’s new solo album, “Nervous System”, which hits stores on March 1st, 2011 through Suburban Noize Records.
 
“Welcome to my world.  A party world!  Every time I open my eyes or go outside, there is some form of a party waiting for me.  I am destined to be a party monster for life and this track represents just that,” commented Dirtball.  “Why fight the party?  Just go with it and blast off into another dimension, every single day, every single minute!  Sex, drugs and rock 'n' roll is what this whole game is about, and so is this song.  Long Live the Party Monsters!!!”
 
The Kottonmouth Kings’ own Dirtball is asking fans to join him on a journey through the complex, twisted psyche of his mind on his new solo album “Nervous System”. The album plays out like a twisted audio sequel to "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas", as Dirtball uses his machinegun delivery to attack a collection of banging West Coast beats with monstrous results. Dirtball is joined on the album by Psychopathic Records’ Blaze Ya Dead Homie, Big B, and Kottonmouth Kings’ alumni Johnny Richter and Daddy X. “Nervous System” is currently available for pre-order online at http://www.subnoizestore.com/The-Dirtball-PreOrder-s/839.htm .

###

* www.MySpace.com/TheDirtball *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

MP3: A-WOLL - "The Big Bang Theory" (prod. Nottz)


From Audible Treats:

MP3: A-WOLL - "The Big Bang Theory" (prod. Nottz)

A-WOLL And Nottz Continue Work, Release New Track From To Whom It May Concern

The Song:

Compton, CA based MC A-WOLL has been keeping busy putting the finishing touches on his debut album, To Whom It May Concern, an album produced entirely by Grammy Award-wining producer Nottz that's scheduled for release later this year. Following the recent release of "Active," the first leak from the album on which Nottz was also featured, the pair are excited to release the latest teaser from the album, "The Big Bang Theory."

Nottz, who knows a thing or two about producing for up-and-coming Compton rappers, having worked extensively with The Game in the past, sings nothing but high praises for the latest talent from the neighborhood Dr. Dre once called home. "A-WOLL is an artist that's helping to bring a new heart beat to the West Coast," explains Nottz on his excitement to be working together with the A-WOLL. And this new track, "The Big Bang Theory," proves Nottz' strong words to be warranted. Layered with head banging drums, mesmerizing keys, and street loyal lyrics, it‘s easy to see why the West Coast rapper is becoming a home town favorite, as A-WOLL raps, “Respect for the G’s, love for the turf/ Married to the block, for better or worst."

Check out the song here: http://media.audibletreats.com/A-WOLL-The_Big_Bang_Theory_Prod_Nottz.mp3 .

The Background:

Since 1998, some of Virginia-born Nottz' biggest records to date include, Snoop Dogg Ft R.Kelly "That's That," Kanye West Ft Lil Wayne "Barry Bonds," and Scarface Ft Trey Songz "Girl You Know." Adding to those credits, he has collaborated with artists such as Notorious B.I.G, Swizz Beats, The Game, 50 Cent, Dwele, and Murs just to name a few. These past few years he has built fan base and earned his stripes as a respected and talented artist and, on October 19th 2010, he is set to release his self-produced debut, You Need This Music. All of Nottz' hard work has been, in his words, "to take over the world one day with my sound."

PR: Saigon Has the "NEW" #1 Rap Album in the USA


From Mitchell Dudley:

Saigon Has the "NEW" #1 Rap Album in the USA

IT MAY BE # 7 ON BILLBOARD’ RAP CHART THIS WEEK,
BUT IF YOU TAKE OUT THE 6 HEAVY WEIGHT RAP ARTIST AHEAD OF HIM
 
# 1 Eminem
# 2 Nikki Minaj
# 3 Lil Wayne
# 4 Kanye West
# 5 T.I.
# 6 Drake
# 7 Saigon
 
SAIGON HAS THE # 1 “NEW” RAP ALBUM IN THE COUNTRY!
 
OTHER CHART POSITIONS INCLUDE:
 
# 9 INDEPENDENT
# 17 R&B
# 34 Digital
# 61 TOP 200
 
THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT – THE MOVEMENT HAS JUST BEGUN!
 
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UP-NbY66SIs *

MP3: Nyle f/ Fresh Daily & Mic-L - "Dundiddit"


From Diamond Music Group:

MP3: Nyle f/ Fresh Daily & Mic-L - "Dundiddit"

Nyle (of Nyle vs The Naysayers) delivers his first leak, "Dundiddit" (feat. Fresh Daily & Mic-L) off his forthcoming mixtape TRAILER* which drops next Thurs (3/4)!! For those in the NY area, be sure to come out Next Friday, March 4th, for the mixtape release party at Tribeca Cinemas from 8pm-3am! We'll have screenings of the videos, live performances, DJ's spinning all night and drink specials! Stay tuned for the video for "Dundiddit" which also drops next week!!

NYLE feat. FRESH DAILY & MIC-L - "DUNDIDDIT" (prod. by SIDE EFFEKT)

 


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have ELEVEN new items for you: Amp Live's "Headphone Concerto," an editorial on Adrian Peterson, Ensemble Mik Nawooj's "Hip-Hop Orchestra," Has-Lo and Castle's "Live Like You're Dead," the "Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Volume 3" compilation, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #291, Mirandom's "The Otherworld EP," Sonnyjim & Leaf Dog's "How to Tame Lions," Twista's "Dark Horse" (our featured review), Ugly Heroes' "Ugly Heroes EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 9, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Jay Burna - "Snakes". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive