Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday October 26, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
PR: Iowa Rapper Coolzey Drops 12-12-12 on April 5th, 2011


From Ballin' PR:

Iowa Rapper Coolzey Drops 12-12-12--Available April 5, 2011

* http://psrecords.net/artists/coolzey/ *

March 1, 2011--Los Angeles, CA--Iowa bred rapper Coolzey is readying Coolzey and the Search for the Hip Hop Hearts, a new project of 12-12-12: Twelve tracks. Twelve producers (Will Tell (Brooklyn Academy, Worda Mouth), Alex Newman (Giant Panda), JRawls (Lone Catalysts), Headnodic (Crown City Rockers), DJ PRZM (Spitball, 3MS), Copywrite (MhZ, Weathermen), Woodstock (Crown City Rockers), and twelve dope videos for each song. Coolzey and the Search...drops April 5th, 2011.

Coolzey (Zachary Eli Lint) was borne out of the cornfields of central Iowa in 1976. A boy who for some unexplained reason grew up only being able to listen to roughneck east coast hip hop and Weird Al Yankovic began looping tapes and rhyming into boomboxes in the 80s. After that there was Pavement, the Wu Tang Clan, mushrooms, sex, and America.

An obsessive artistic activist, Zach has spent his adult life playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboards with bands belonging to a multitude of genres, including punk, classic rock, country, psychedelic, rockabilly, surf, folk, and even a waltz band. He has also thrived in the studio, producing albums for a number of friends, hip-hop and rock ventures.

In 2002, fresh out of college, Zach toured with the midwest hip-hop troupe The Sucka MCs in support of “Da Album” released on Ace Fu Records (Man-Man, Pinback), and found himself immersed in a world of debauchery as the group deteriorated into madness, getting kicked out of shows for stealing beer (on tour with Vanilla Ice) and putting the headliners in headlocks (Paul Barman). Ace Fu dropped the Suckas and Coolzey went off on his own.

The next few years were spent recording and self-releasing a few demos (including Akstoopid and RoyGBiv) and three EPs (The He Did EP, Soixante-Neuf, and Coolzey vs PRZM) while touring extensively, initially with comrade and fellow Iowa native Schaffer the Darklord, and then with legends and hip-hop peers such as Sadat X, Raashan Ahmad, Vast Aire, Pigeon John, Prince Po, Brother Ali, and Copywrite.

In January 2010, Coolzey released his first official album, The Honey, which Okayplayer called “a delightfully odd EP” and commented that “it’s Coolzey’s humor and kaleidoscopic vision that’s the main attraction.” URB magazine asserted, “At a glance (The Honey) seems like another good’ole fashioned ten song hip-hop album. Upon further inspection, it becomes quite clear that there is a little bit more going on. (The Honey) offers some pleasant surprises to the listener. Coolzey finds himself singing on a few of the tracks and it actually works fantastically.”

Currently, Zach is living in Los Angeles and working on a 4-Track indie rock project called Live from the Cave @ Dougman, writing screenplays, acting, hitting the open mics to try out some stand-up comedy, and preparing a pair of studio albums for the fall / winter of 2011 entitled “Hit Factory - Volumes I and II”.

Free Music Friday: Lucky Green Edition


This is a shoutout to all my Irish (and non-Irish) hip-hop heads who's taking this time out to celebrate St. Patrick's Day much early. And they say that there's no such thing as celebrating too early. On to the free music!

Chip Tha Rapper :: Gift Raps

Chip Tha Rapper :: Gift Raps

It's been nearly four months past Christmas, yet Chip Tha Ripper decides to give y'all a gift of free music entited "Gift Raps." This is an unique free project that's beyond including Chip's leftovers and whatnot. This project is Chip going hard over beats produced by none other than Cool Kids' Chuck Inglish. So, merry belated Christmas to all y'all!

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?cno77dndlgzna2i

Dee-1 :: I Hope They Hear Me Vol. 2

Dee-1 :: I Hope They Hear Me Vol. 2

On the left of Dee-1 is legendary activist Malcolm X and on the right is New Orleans celebrated rapper Soulja Slim. What they both have in common is that they're both slain by a bullet with their name on it. Dee-1 stands in the middle, perhaps giving the statement that he has the personality of both intertwined into one. That's my impression before I even downloaded this mixtape, but when you download this project, take heed to the title "I Hope They Hear Me."

Link:
http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/dee1-hope-hear-2/

J. Rawls :: #OhioTakeover

J. Rawls :: #OhioTakeoverJ. Rawls has always been one of my favorite hip-hop producers of all time, yet underrated to this day. But the underrated title doesn't faze the one-half of Lone Catalysts one bit as he's been putting in work for this year. Many who knows about Rawls is that he reps the Ohio state, so he decided to reach out and give a hand to up-and-coming Ohio rappers to spit over his beats to take over hip-hop Ohio style. #OhioTakeover shows you how these Ohio players get down.

Link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0556Z7TZ
 
King Mez & Khrysis :: The King's Khrysis EP
King Mez & Khrysis :: The King's Khrysis EP

King Mez is a North Carolina emcee who has earned his status as a battle rhyming emcee, which sounds like a deja vu of another Carolina emcee (now 'ternt sanga') who was on the come-up, if you catch my drift. Mez links up with Away Team's own beatsmith Khrysis to drop this free-P on all y'all. If you don't get my drift on which Carolina emcee I'm refering to, you'll get it by the sixth track. King him!

Link:
http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/king-mez-kings-khrysis/


YC the Cynic :: Fall FWD Mixtape
YC the Cynic :: Fall FWD Mixtape

I digs a cat like YC the Cynic, f'real. He's the living proof that just because he's a young emcee on the rise of this era, he's not going to bombard your eardrums with a silly dance or brag about how much swag and (record label loaned) dough he have. Instead, he gives you quality. And that's what I admire of any emcee of any age who gives just that. If that doesn't convice you enough to download this, then maybe the guest appearances will (C-Rayz Walz, Sene, Soul Khan, Von Pea, Homeboy Sandman, etc.) Fall FWD or fall back.

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?58iid5o5l66uw22

If you really like it and want to support, you can also buy it right here:
http://ycthecynic.bandcamp.com/album/fall-fwd-2

That's it for the "Lucky Green Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

MP3: Montage One - "When You Find It" (one week only)


From Dunn Deal PR:

MP3: Montage One - "When You Find It" (one week only)

Montage One, "When You Find It"

produced by DJ Babu

 
 
10.6.3.OGX drops July 5, featuring production from E-Swift, Alchemist, Evidence,OhNo, Jake One, and more.
 
MP3: Filthy f/ Lil Wayne - "The Streets"


From DJ Blast:

MP3: Filthy f/ Lil Wayne - "The Streets"

* http://limelinx.com/files/e50cba3ed851fdfa44d10e54a05b01b9 *

PR: Audible Treats Announce Two SXSW Showcases


From Audible Treats:

Audible Treats Announce Two SXSW Showcases

Talib Kweli, Acrylics, Hiero, J*Davey, Black Milk, Poirier, Nottz, & More To Perform On Thursday & Friday, Sponsored By Blacksmith Music, FLüD Watches, Prefix.com, And More

(March 2, 2011 - New York, NY) Premier lifestyle and entertainment marketing firm Audible Treats is pleased to announce that they will be producing two official SXSW showcases this year. Their 2nd Annual Official SXSW Hip-Hop Showcase will take place on Thursday, March 17th at The Scoot Inn and will feature a solid line-up of legendary and rising hip-hop artists including Talib Kweli, Casual, Pep Love, and Opio of The Hieroglyphics, Nottz, Black Milk, Strong Arm Steady, Derek 32Zero, DJ Toure, Moe Green, TRUTHLiVE, Kokayi, The Niceguys, DaVinci, Erk Tha Jerk, Roach Gigz, League510, and Kyle Rapps, with producer IMAKEMADBEATS serving as the official DJ for the night. The second showcase, co-curated by PrefixMag.com, will take place the following night, Friday, March 18th, at Nuvola and will feature a mixture of the some of the best electronic and hip-hop acts with J*Davey, Acrylics, Moe Green, Poirier, Roach Gigz, DaVinci, and Headless Horseman with DJ Eleven serving as the official DJ for the night.

Audible Treats co-founders Michelle McDevitt and Gavin Rhodes are excited to share their company's recent expansion into electronic and indie rock music by producing a wholly separate showcase for Friday night. Says McDevitt, "Partnering with PrefixMag to curate an event that exhibits some of the best talent in electronic and hip-hop music for Friday night is a welcome development. We're also very excited to work with Blacksmith Music this year to help bring out Talib Kweli and Strong Arm Steady for our hip-hop showcase on Thursday night. Both alliances will allow us to create more amazing shows that will be long remembered."

Continuing a tradition that began with Audible Treats' inaugural CMJ Showcase in 2009, a number of exclusive, limited edition gift bags will be distributed throughout both evenings, courtesy of the showcase lifestyle sponsors. Throughout the events, Audible Treats will also distribute a limited number of premium items such as video games, watches, designer clothes, stickers, and music courtesy of premium lifestyle partners FLüD Watches, IMKING Clothing, Orisue Clothing, and Rocksmith Tokyo Clothing. "Our premium gift bags have become increasingly coveted each year. This year they'll include hundreds of dollars worth of merchandise, including exclusive watches from FLüD," says Marketing Manager Dan Friedman.

Audible Treats is a Brooklyn-based entertainment marketing and publicity firm specializing in print and online publicity and social media marketing. Working closely with the best record labels and lifestyle companies since 2004, Audible Treats creates customized, effective marketing and publicity campaigns for countless clients, ranging the spectrum from legacy artists to Grammy-winners to rising stars including T-Pain, Too $hort, Anthony Hamilton, Black Milk, The Pharcyde, Slightly Stoopid, J*DaVeY and many more. By combining out-of-the-box creative strategies with industry know-how, Audible Treats plays a vital role in assisting clients to meet their goals.

To keep up with all things Audible Treats leading up to and throughout SXSW, please visit http://www.audibletreats.com/download/sxsw2011 .

The Details:

Thursday, March 17, 2011, 7:30PM - 2:00AM
What: Audible Treats Official SXSW 2011 Hip-Hop Showcase featuring Talib Kweli, Strong Arm Steady, Hieroglyphics, Nottz & Derek 32Zero, Black Milk, Kokayi, DJ Toure w/ Truthlive & Moe Green, Erk Tha Jerk, Roach Gigz, DaVinci, Niceguys, League510, & Kyle Rapps
Showcase DJ: IMAKEMADBEATS
Where: The Scoot Inn @ 1308 East 4th Street, Austin, Texas
Facebook Event Link: http://tinyurl.com/ATSXSW2011 .

When: Thursday, March 18, 2011, 8:00PM - 2:00AM
What: Prefix & Audible Treats Official SXSW 2011 Showcase featuring J*Davey, Acrylics, Moe Green, Poirier, Roach Gigz, DaVinci, and Headless Horseman.
Showcase DJ: DJ Eleven.
Where: Nuvola @ 105 E. 5th Street, Austin, Texas
Facebook Event LInk: http://tinyurl.com/ATPREFIXSXSW2011 .

Video: Shadowman Boogie - "Capital G Remix" (BTS)


From Semp Rok:

Video: Shadowman Boogie - "Capital G Remix" (BTS)

MP3: Nefew f/ Liya - "Fade" (prod. 7Inch)


From Melanie J:

MP3: Nefew f/ Liya - "Fade" (prod. 7Inch)

* http://www.sendspace.com/file/r1hupe *

The success of their recent project, MAN VS MANY hosted by DJ Green Lantern has encouraged Nefew to release the track FADE from the project. Produced by German producer 7inch and featuring Canadian songstress, Liya, the track boasts a storyline that many of us can relate to at some point or another in our lives.

The second free download from Nefew was featured on an abundance of major sites and blogs including Thisis50.com, where their track, THE FAN with Virginia producer extraordinaire, Nottz, featured on the sites mixtape, IN THE STUDIO BOOTH Vol 2.

Nefew are once again featured on the Puma.com homepage with the internet smash, GAME featuring Detroit's very own Dwele, another from the MAN VS MANY project which you can check out by CLICKING HERE

The work ethic of this Hip-Hop duo is relentless as they gear up for performances at the New Skool Rules international conference in early April and a European tour, dates TBA. Nothing will stand in the way of Polemikk and PA Double from making the music they are notorious for, while engaging fans with video and performances in the up and coming months.

Make sure you keep your eyes open as these guys are ready for 2011 domination.

"When you pursue a career in music as a self-employed artist and you see your dreams slowly becoming reality, you tend to neglect the people in your vicinity. Being obsessed with an idea is never good, and i think i had to learn the hard way. Sometimes you just have to let go in order to hold on to something new, and in some cases, better." - Polemikk

"Fade means a lot to me. When i heard the Antihero Begins mixtape for the first time i just knew i had to work with the guys. In my opinion, this song is a classic, a timeless piece of music that will not lose it’s coolness in the years to come.” - 7inch

MP3: Avery Storm f/ Nelly - "Supermodel"


From DJ Blast:

MP3: Avery Storm f/ Nelly - "Supermodel"

* http://idjtrade.box.net/shared/static/salhtfd5sy.mp3 *

MP3: Swizz Beatz f/ Snoop Dogg, JR Reid - "Co-Pilot"


From M3W:

MP3: Swizz Beatz f/ Snoop Dogg, JR Reid - "Co-Pilot"

* http://www.mp3waxx.com/jobfolders/swizzsnoopjr/blast-page.html *

Video: 50 Cent - "Funny How Time Flies"


Video: 50 Cent - "Funny How Time Flies"


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive