Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
VP Records: Gyptian & Etana U.S. Tour Canceled


VP Records: Gyptian & Etana U.S. Tour Canceled

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

(VP RECORDS, NEW YORK)  - VP Records recording artists Gyptian and Etana are deeply disappointed at the cancellation of their tour across the Midwest and East Coast (see dates below). It was cancelled due to unforseen circumstances beyond the artists' and label's control.  Both Gyptian and Etana express disappointment in missing their fans for this tour and look forward to seeing them in the near future.

Stay updated on tour dates for Gyptian at www.vprecords.com/gyptian and Etana at www.vprecords.com/etana or www.etanastrongone.com .

CANCELLED U.S. Tour Dates for Gyptian and Etana

03/03/11  Indianapolis, Indiana - Caribbean Village
03/04/11  Charlotte, North Carolina - Twilight Bar & Grill
03/05/11  Syracuse University, New York - The Underground
03/06/11  Washington, D.C. - DC Star Nightclub
03/07/11  Bridgeport, Connecticut - Toad's Place
03/08/11  Louisville, Kentucky - Tailgators Bar & Grill
03/09/11  St. Louis, Missouri -  Club 2720
03/10/11  Kansas City, Kansas - G'Jamaican
03/11/11  Columbus, Ohio - Al Rosa Villa

MP3: 50 Cent - "6 of 6"


From G-Unit/BF Blasts:

MP3: 50 Cent - "6 of 6"

* http://www.mediafire.com/?o35ljoid4aabsab *

MP3: King f/ Shawty Lo - "Going Off"


From Rap Star Promo:

MP3: King f/ Shawty Lo - "Going Off"

* http://limelinx.com/files/1057ea30d1215b32755e7d517f52a2d5 *

MP3: Yonas - "Fall Back"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Yonas - "Fall Back"

Lead Single From The Proven Theory Deals With Themes Of Survival, Feeling Misunderstood

The Song:

Just now prepping the release of his debut album, Yonas has already garnered much acclaim and early success in his career. In 2008, the Bronx, New York native released his first project, 2008's The Goldern Era, earning a Billboard Songwriting Award for Best Hip Hop/Rap Song and a nomination from the Independent Music Awards for Best Rap/Hip Hop Album Of The Year. His next release, the I Am Us EP received over 50,000 downloads, and since then Yonas has been putting the finishing touches on his forthcoming album and official debut, The Proven Theory, which will be released on April 25th. Now, as the album release date approaches, Yonas is treating fans to the forthcoming album's first single, "Fall Back."

On "Fall Back," producer Sean Divine provides a dark, bass heavy beat complete with keys and distorted guitars for Yonas' passion-filled lyrics. "'Fall Back,' to me, expresses exactly what it is that I feel, and what it is a lot of us feel daily, and that's the feeling that we're misunderstood," explains Yonas. "I wanted to draw attention to the fact that we all fight through our emotions to survive for not only ourselves, but for the people that depend on us." From start to finish, Yonas' power with words is evident, as raps, "I feel like my tank is on E/ This damn ship is sinkin' on me/ But I got people bankin' on me/ So I fight through what they cannot see."

Download "Fall Back" here: http://media.audibletreats.com/Yonas-Fall_Back.mp3 .

The Proven Theory will be available April 25th, 2011.

Background:

The son of a Ugandan mother and Ethiopian father, Yonas was in tune with music at a very young age. He learned how to play violin at 5 and attended a program at Julliard while in middle school. Taking a full-time approach to music after receiving his GED, Yonas's very first project, The New Golden Era, released in 2008, earned him a Billboard Songwriting Award for Best Hip Hop/Rap Song. His next release, the I Am Us EP, received over 50,000 downloads. Backed by his material, the MC began sharing stages with acts such as Pharoahe Monch, Curren$y, and Big K.R.I.T. to name a few. Now, for 2011 and beyond, Yonas’ goal with his live shows and official debut, The Proven Theory, which will be released April 25, 2011 is simple, to be a "universal artist."

Video: T.I.'s Brother Bryyce Speaks on Grand Hustle, Yung L.A.


From DJ Smallz:

Video: T.I.'s Brother Bryyce Speaks on Grand Hustle, Yung L.A.

T.I.'s 19 year old brother and hypeman, Bryyce, is holding down Grand Hustle until he comes out from his latest prison stint. Bryyce calls DJ Smallz on SouthernSmokeRadio.com and speaks on the current Yung L.A. situation, growing up in New York, getting drunk & high at 8 years old, studio sessions with Pharrell & Swizz Beatz, his own rap career and more.

T.I.'s Brother, Bryyce, Speaks on Grand Hustle, Yung L.A. & More from DJ Smallz.

MP3: Kap Kallous - "Dollar and a Dream" (prod. Optiks)


From Chris at E1 Music:

MP3: Kap Kallous - "Dollar and a Dream" (prod. Optiks)

* http://www.megaupload.com/?d=T4D0A60B *

* http://twitter.com/KAPKALLOUS *

Back with another exclusive from his forth coming debut album "I should have kept my mouth shut" (Dropping March 29th on Machina Muerte/Ever Ready Records)

Kap Kallous delivers once again with "Dollar and a Dream" a supercharged banger produced by Optiks that lets the listener in on some of the Orlando Florida artists personal struggles.

Video: Killer Mike f/ T.I. - "Ready Set Go"


From Charlee Brown:

Video: Killer Mike f/ T.I. - "Ready Set Go"

PR: Iowa Rapper Coolzey Drops 12-12-12 on April 5th, 2011


From Ballin' PR:

Iowa Rapper Coolzey Drops 12-12-12--Available April 5, 2011

* http://psrecords.net/artists/coolzey/ *

March 1, 2011--Los Angeles, CA--Iowa bred rapper Coolzey is readying Coolzey and the Search for the Hip Hop Hearts, a new project of 12-12-12: Twelve tracks. Twelve producers (Will Tell (Brooklyn Academy, Worda Mouth), Alex Newman (Giant Panda), JRawls (Lone Catalysts), Headnodic (Crown City Rockers), DJ PRZM (Spitball, 3MS), Copywrite (MhZ, Weathermen), Woodstock (Crown City Rockers), and twelve dope videos for each song. Coolzey and the Search...drops April 5th, 2011.

Coolzey (Zachary Eli Lint) was borne out of the cornfields of central Iowa in 1976. A boy who for some unexplained reason grew up only being able to listen to roughneck east coast hip hop and Weird Al Yankovic began looping tapes and rhyming into boomboxes in the 80s. After that there was Pavement, the Wu Tang Clan, mushrooms, sex, and America.

An obsessive artistic activist, Zach has spent his adult life playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboards with bands belonging to a multitude of genres, including punk, classic rock, country, psychedelic, rockabilly, surf, folk, and even a waltz band. He has also thrived in the studio, producing albums for a number of friends, hip-hop and rock ventures.

In 2002, fresh out of college, Zach toured with the midwest hip-hop troupe The Sucka MCs in support of “Da Album” released on Ace Fu Records (Man-Man, Pinback), and found himself immersed in a world of debauchery as the group deteriorated into madness, getting kicked out of shows for stealing beer (on tour with Vanilla Ice) and putting the headliners in headlocks (Paul Barman). Ace Fu dropped the Suckas and Coolzey went off on his own.

The next few years were spent recording and self-releasing a few demos (including Akstoopid and RoyGBiv) and three EPs (The He Did EP, Soixante-Neuf, and Coolzey vs PRZM) while touring extensively, initially with comrade and fellow Iowa native Schaffer the Darklord, and then with legends and hip-hop peers such as Sadat X, Raashan Ahmad, Vast Aire, Pigeon John, Prince Po, Brother Ali, and Copywrite.

In January 2010, Coolzey released his first official album, The Honey, which Okayplayer called “a delightfully odd EP” and commented that “it’s Coolzey’s humor and kaleidoscopic vision that’s the main attraction.” URB magazine asserted, “At a glance (The Honey) seems like another good’ole fashioned ten song hip-hop album. Upon further inspection, it becomes quite clear that there is a little bit more going on. (The Honey) offers some pleasant surprises to the listener. Coolzey finds himself singing on a few of the tracks and it actually works fantastically.”

Currently, Zach is living in Los Angeles and working on a 4-Track indie rock project called Live from the Cave @ Dougman, writing screenplays, acting, hitting the open mics to try out some stand-up comedy, and preparing a pair of studio albums for the fall / winter of 2011 entitled “Hit Factory - Volumes I and II”.

Free Music Friday: Lucky Green Edition


This is a shoutout to all my Irish (and non-Irish) hip-hop heads who's taking this time out to celebrate St. Patrick's Day much early. And they say that there's no such thing as celebrating too early. On to the free music!

Chip Tha Rapper :: Gift Raps

Chip Tha Rapper :: Gift Raps

It's been nearly four months past Christmas, yet Chip Tha Ripper decides to give y'all a gift of free music entited "Gift Raps." This is an unique free project that's beyond including Chip's leftovers and whatnot. This project is Chip going hard over beats produced by none other than Cool Kids' Chuck Inglish. So, merry belated Christmas to all y'all!

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?cno77dndlgzna2i

Dee-1 :: I Hope They Hear Me Vol. 2

Dee-1 :: I Hope They Hear Me Vol. 2

On the left of Dee-1 is legendary activist Malcolm X and on the right is New Orleans celebrated rapper Soulja Slim. What they both have in common is that they're both slain by a bullet with their name on it. Dee-1 stands in the middle, perhaps giving the statement that he has the personality of both intertwined into one. That's my impression before I even downloaded this mixtape, but when you download this project, take heed to the title "I Hope They Hear Me."

Link:
http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/dee1-hope-hear-2/

J. Rawls :: #OhioTakeover

J. Rawls :: #OhioTakeoverJ. Rawls has always been one of my favorite hip-hop producers of all time, yet underrated to this day. But the underrated title doesn't faze the one-half of Lone Catalysts one bit as he's been putting in work for this year. Many who knows about Rawls is that he reps the Ohio state, so he decided to reach out and give a hand to up-and-coming Ohio rappers to spit over his beats to take over hip-hop Ohio style. #OhioTakeover shows you how these Ohio players get down.

Link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=0556Z7TZ
 
King Mez & Khrysis :: The King's Khrysis EP
King Mez & Khrysis :: The King's Khrysis EP

King Mez is a North Carolina emcee who has earned his status as a battle rhyming emcee, which sounds like a deja vu of another Carolina emcee (now 'ternt sanga') who was on the come-up, if you catch my drift. Mez links up with Away Team's own beatsmith Khrysis to drop this free-P on all y'all. If you don't get my drift on which Carolina emcee I'm refering to, you'll get it by the sixth track. King him!

Link:
http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/king-mez-kings-khrysis/


YC the Cynic :: Fall FWD Mixtape
YC the Cynic :: Fall FWD Mixtape

I digs a cat like YC the Cynic, f'real. He's the living proof that just because he's a young emcee on the rise of this era, he's not going to bombard your eardrums with a silly dance or brag about how much swag and (record label loaned) dough he have. Instead, he gives you quality. And that's what I admire of any emcee of any age who gives just that. If that doesn't convice you enough to download this, then maybe the guest appearances will (C-Rayz Walz, Sene, Soul Khan, Von Pea, Homeboy Sandman, etc.) Fall FWD or fall back.

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?58iid5o5l66uw22

If you really like it and want to support, you can also buy it right here:
http://ycthecynic.bandcamp.com/album/fall-fwd-2

That's it for the "Lucky Green Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

MP3: Montage One - "When You Find It" (one week only)


From Dunn Deal PR:

MP3: Montage One - "When You Find It" (one week only)

Montage One, "When You Find It"

produced by DJ Babu

 
 
10.6.3.OGX drops July 5, featuring production from E-Swift, Alchemist, Evidence,OhNo, Jake One, and more.
 

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive