Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday April 20, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
Random: Mama Said Knock You Out 20th Anniversary Remix


Random: Mama Said Knock You Out 20th Anniversary Remix

wow.. has it really been 20 years since Mama Said Knock You Out?

dang I'm old...

Anyone close to me knows that I don't have any problem saying that my favorite MC and biggest inspiration is probably LL Cool J, and this was one of my favorite albums of his.

well anyway enjoy this mix.. I'm on track 3 with my brothas from down under, The Movement Fam.

Click to hear "Eat Em Up" feat. megaRan and The Movement Fam

 

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD THE MSKYO 20th ANNIVERSARY ALBUM for FREE! 

 

alright, that's all for now, but if you haven't watched Forever Famicom the Movie yet, check it out:

 

EPISODE 1

 

EPISODE 2 

MP3: LOOT f/ Mistah F.A.B. - "Mad World"


From BF Blasts:

MP3: LOOT f/ Mistah F.A.B. - "Mad World"

* http://lootmusic.bandcamp.com/track/mad-world-feat-mistah-f-a-b *

Video: J. Cardim f/ Sha Stimuli, Termanology - "G Like Me"


From Dice Music:

Video: J. Cardim f/ Sha Stimuli, Termanology - "G Like Me"

J. Cardim ft. G-EYEZ, Sha Stimuli, Termanology and Danny "Sky High" McClain - G LIKE ME (Directed by Raf Moses) from rafmoses.

MP3: David Banner f/ Akon & Tyrese - "Run Away"


From MW:

MP3: David Banner f/ Akon & Tyrese - "Run Away"

* http://tinyurl.com/bannerrunaway *

MP3: Quazedelic - "Reach Out"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Quazedelic - "Reach Out"

Funky New Single Offers Glimpse Into Quazedelic's World

The Song:

"I want you to free your mind right now." This is one of Quazedelic's first lines on "Reach Out," the second track to be released off his forthcoming solo debut, Stan Sly: AnuthaWorld, and appears to be Quaze's credo both in music and in life. The song effortlessly combines his talents, highlighting his ability to blend singing and rapping along with his signature, funky production style.

The song may be, for many, the first glimpse into an all-Quazedelic track. Where his last single, featuring Snoop Dogg (Quaze was briefly signed to Snoop's Doggystyle Records in 2001 and has been collaborating with the West Coast legend ever since) wasa funk-infused hip-hop song, "Reach Out" is more straightforward in its approach. Clearly taking cues from some of Quaze's funkier idols, including George Clinton and Bootsy Collins (both of whom he has worked with, along with rappers ranging from Redman to Daz Dillinger), the cut features a propulsive bass line and shimmering keys, complimented by ethereal background vocals. "Reach Out" lives up to its name by acting as an extended hand, bringing the listener into Quazedelic's world.

Quazedelic's Stan Sly: Anuthaworld will be available October 5th via Georgia Anne Muldrow's and Declaime's SomeOthasShip Connect.

Song: http://media.audibletreats.com/Quazedelic-Reach_Out.mp3 .

Please post buy links: http://itunes.apple.com/us/artist/quazedelic/id209800450 .

MP3: Trek Life - "Ready to Live"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Trek Life - "Ready to Live"

Trek Life Pays Homage To The Past, Looks To The Future With Latest Single

The Song:

Following the official release of his sophomore LP, Everything Changed Nothing, Trek Life serves up an inspiring aftertaste with new single, "Ready to Live." A cathartic expression through rhyme, Trek uses the track, which serves as the album's first song, to pay homage to loved ones lost and the infinite future to be found. "Life is hard man/ No life is easy/ No life is exactly what you make it/ Believe me," professes the young emcee. Providing an unassuming quality to the LP, "Ready to Live" is a standout track that highlights Trek's most genuine emotions and adept word painting abilities.

The beat, produced by D.C. native Oddisee evokes a level of imagery in it's own right. Adorned with a layering of deep synthetic undertones, an acoustic piano, and penetrating drum loops the track creates an introspective soundscape for the emcee's inspired lyrical content. On the motivation behind the song Trek says, "it was inspired by the first day we took my daughter to the beach in L.A. It was one of those moments that I felt like everything was all good and seeing her experience new things made me realize that there's nothing in life that I can ever complain about. I try to focus on the good things and realize that life is what you make it."

Download "Ready to Live" here: http://media.audibletreats.com/Trek_Life-Ready_to_Live.mp3 .

PR: IMG Makes Major Moves With Sophomore Mixtape + MP3


From Audible Treats:

IMG Makes Major Moves With Sophomore Mixtape + MP3

DJ Whoo Kid Backed Mixtape, Ain't Nothing To It Draws On Support of a Generation

(August 26, 2010-Brooklyn, NY) IMG, a 19-year old prolific emcee with a top tier education and athletic aptitude to match, is excited to announce the release of his sophomore mixtape, Ain't Nothing To It. The mixtape, hosted by DJ Whoo Kid is being released under the management of Shadyville Entertainment, known for their collaborations with A-list artists like 50-Cent, Mobb Deep, The Game, Chamillionaire, and more. IMG's Ain't Nothing To It hits retailers and on September 27, 2010.

Drawing on the support of his 20,000 plus Facebook fans and his newly acquired network of respected industry veterans, IMG's Ain't Nothing To It places him on a path of vertical mobility. Having worked with Young Money's Short Dawg and Lil' Chuckee on his first mixtape and sharing stages with the likes of T.I. and Wiz Khalifa since, IMG aims to deliver a more progressive and mature sound on his forthcoming release. "When writing this mixtape, I had to keep in mind the criticisms that I received from my first one," admits the young rapper. "With Ain't Nothing To It I wanted to stick with things I've seen and learned from my short time in the industry, including the parties -- this is a more mature, relaxed me this time around."

IMG's birth as an emcee coincided with a shift away from his first professional endeavor: soccer. After turning down a trial offer to play professionally in Germany, IMG enrolled in Syracuse University where he studies Music Business. Using his newly acquired professional savvy and capitalizing on a rapidly expanding network IMG has found himself at the gates of hip-hop's menacing proving grounds. "This is really my first introduction to the music world and chance to be taken seriously as an artist," notes IMG. "I have to prove that I can rap." With DJ Whoo Kid's support, Shadyville's backing, and the rising tide of social media to advance his efforts IMG should have little problem navigating the trials ahead.

Like its predecessor, Ain't Nothing To It is a twelve-song mixtape that delivers a multifaceted layering of lyrical content. With braggadocio and punch line-filled tracks like "Boy So Nice" and the autobiographical "I'm A Warrior" the sophomore release is a notable evolution in sound and style from that heard on his previous work. "The rapping is definitely better; that's the first thing," says IMG. "I've also grown as a person, as an artist, and I feel more accustomed to the process this time around--all which factor into my music."

IMG's mixtape, Ain't Nothing To It hosted by by DJ Whoo Kid hits the shelves on September 27, 2010 via Shadyville Entertainment.

Listen to "Boy So Nice": http://media.audibletreats.com/IMG-Boy_So_Nice_Prod_By_Royal_Audio_Tunes.mp3 .

The Movement Mixtape: http://www.datpiff.com/DJ_Pate_IMG_The_Movement.m109861.html .

Kim 'Coniyac' Proby of Doggy's Angels Press Release


From Todd Davis:

Kim 'Coniyac' Proby of Doggy's Angels Press Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
August 27th 2010

Bo$$ Up Or Bo$$ Down!

August 27th 2010 -- Kim "Coniyac" Proby, formerly of Doggy's Angels, a West Coast female rap trio formed by none other than Tha Doggfather himself, Snoop Dogg, literally burst onto the Hip-Hop scene with the release of their popular Doggystyle/TVT Records' debut, the phonetically challenged, Pleezbaleevit!. The more than impressive set spawned a pair of hit chart-topping singles; "Baby If You're Ready" and the title track, "Pleezbaleevit!."

Unfortunately, and following a copyright infringement lawsuit filed by Columbia Pictures, against TVT and Doggystyle, for using the Charlie's Angels' brand likeness on the album/single(s) cover(s) and other promotional materials, the group sadly disbanded in 2002. The court case was eventually settled.

Coniyac is currently wrapping up work on her forthcoming first solo set, BlaQ JuNe. The highly anticipated collection contains stellar appearances from Crooked I ["Authentic"], her brother, Mykestro ["Everyday"], Horse Shoe Gang, Tha Boogie and her C.O.B. family, with production courtesy of hot newcomers; Atlanta, GA, based The Ultra Beat Boyz [Grand Hustle] and Trakk Sound Productions.

In addition, Coniyac also recently launched an entertainment company, Luxury City Entertainment Music Group, that currently manages Pop/Alternative group, Tha Boogie, who Raphael Saadiq has taken under his wing, as well as Pop/R&B group, Musically Challenged.

"BlaQ JuNe" is tentatively scheduled for late September 2010, and also in works is a Team C.O.B. promo tour, to coincide with the release of her forthcoming solo opus -- Stay tuned...

Kim Coniyac 

Video: I-20 Returns After 5 Year Absence


From DJ Smallz:

Video: I-20 Returns After 5 Year Absence

I-20 Returns After A Five Year Absence from DJ Smallz.

Savage Readies "The Tribal Council" for October 5th Release


From Nancy B:

Savage Readies "The Tribal Council" for October 5th Release

San Francisco, CA - By now, the signing of the South Pacific's #1 Urban entertainment company, Dawn Raid Music Ltd., to an exclusive 3-year distribution deal with SMC Recordings/Fontana is old news. The new news is that Dawn Raid's flagship Platinum artist, Savage, is readying his second US release, Savage Presents The Tribal Council, for an October 5th street date. The 2-disc set is a compilation of 32 songs showcasing the world's best R&B, Hip Hop & Reggae artists from the South Pacific region, alongside an A-list of Platinum US stars; Akon, Pitbull, Baby Bash, E40, Talib Kweli and Bobby Valentino.

For those of you for whom Savage's name doesn't ring an immediate bell, take your minds back to the club scene in a little movie called, Knocked Up.....no? Not coming to you? Well, here is the video to Swing, which garnered well over 2 millions views on YouTube alone http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgZOQVV-tmI The song was a #1 smash for Savage and catapulted him to overnight success in the US.

As wonderful as overnight success stateside was for Savage, fame was nothing new to him at all. In fact, if you ask a native of the South Pacific about Savage, you will be regaled in much the same way as if you had asked a native of Brooklyn about Biggie Smalls. Savage first stormed the New Zealand charts back in 2002 with the group he founded, The Deceptikonz, and their #2 debut album, Elimination. First released back home in New Zealand in 2004, his solo single, Swing, went instantly to #1 there, followed by Moonshine ft. Akon, which not only spent 7 weeks at #1 but introduced the world to the now super star (Akon). Moonshine was certified Platinum in June 2005 and was Akon's first #1 hit anywhere in the world.

Back in the US, and with the help of Universal Republic and the placement of the song in Knocked Up, Swing was certified Platinum, with over 1.8 million units sold, by August, 2008. It became the highest selling New Zealand single in US history.

Now, after a brief sojourn in New Zealand for the release of his solo album, Savage Island, which had debuted on the US' Billboard Heatseekers chart at #12, Savage is back with his brand new single, Twerk. Produced by Twice As Nice, who have several tracks on The Tribal Council, Twerk has an ass-shaking vibe that is very reminiscent of Swing.

Regardless of its origins in the world, Hip Hop's mission to keep 'ya ass on tha floor' stays true. Twerk is no exception so you can definitely expect to hear it soon, in a club near you.

DOWNLOAD LINK:

"Twerk" Full DJ Service Pack (all formats) - http://tinyurl.com/276ze4j .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive