Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday April 19, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
R.H. Bless Nominated for Two Underground Music Awards


From Clout Media:

R.H. Bless Nominated for Two Underground Music Awards

Block Exchange Ent.'s bossman, R.H. Bless, has been nominated in two categories at the 8th Annual Underground Music Awards: "Most Promising Male Rapper" and "Best Street Album/Mixtape" (Unsignable).

Vote for R.H.Bless now at UndergroundMusicAwards.com.

Facebook.com/RHBless
Twitter.com/RHBless

Download: R.H. Bless "Unsignable" Hosted by DJ Ophax

UMA Nominated "Best Street Album/Mixtape"

Hear why the Underground Music Awards nominated Unsignable Hosted by DJ Ophax in their "Best Street Album/Mixtape" of the year.

Download: R.H. Bless "Unsignable" Hosted by DJ Ophax

Play list:

  1. “I Can’t Stop” freestyle
  2. “I’m Just Chillin” (prod. Hypnotist Beats)
  3. Block Exchange – “Bouncing Them Heads” ft. Duss Smitty & Preech (prod Trakdealaz)
  4. “Checking My Fresh” ft W.A.R. & D. Chamberz (prod. Trakdealaz)
  5. “Hey Mr. Tough Guy” (prod. Hypnotist Beats)
  6. “Bless’ Pain” freestyle
  7. “Never Forget About You” freestyle
  8. Block Exchange – “There’s Only One Block Exchange” ft. Cess Wonder, Duss Smitty (prod. Trakdealaz)
  9. “Ghetto Metal (Rock Out)” (prod. DJ Ophax)
  10. “Let’s Ride” ft. M. Reck
  11. “Posting the Block” (prod. Demo Beats)
  12. “Brooklyn (Killers in the House)” ft. Devious & Push Montana
  13. “Get Away” freestyle
  14. “Get Dough or Die” freestyle
  15. “Keep Passing Me By” (prod. I.Y.E.)
  16. “Live Forever” (prod. Pac Dinero)
  17. “Still Number One” freestyle
  18. “The Passion” (prod. GQ Beatz)
  19. “Undefeated” freestyle (prod. Stealf)
  20. “Warriors” ft. St. Laz (prod. Brooklyn Beat Works)
  21. “Worst Nightmare” freestyle (prod. Scram Jones)
  22. “Young and Gifted” freestyle
  23. “No Need for Words” freestyle
  24. “Ma Money” ft. Talib Kweli, Dap C, Lil Wayne & Royce the 5’9
  25. “Hustle and Pray” ft. Blockwork
  26. “Successful” freestyle

New Video: Block Exchange "I Don't See Em" feat. Push! Montana

Block Exchange dropped this gem off their street LP The Heirarchy some time back. Now R.H. Bless and Duss Smittoooo drop the video to "I Don't See Em" featuring Push! Montana.

Video: Block Exchange "I Don't See Em" feat. Push! Montana

Video: DaVinci - "Concrete Jungle Juice"


From Audible Treats:

Video: DaVinci - "Concrete Jungle Juice"

DaVinci - "Concrete Jungle Juice" (Music Video) from Sweetbreads Creative Collective.

Video: Kero One - "On Bended Knee"


From Plug Label:

Video: Kero One - "On Bended Knee"

C-Rayz Walz Attempts to "Beat The System" July 25th


New York, New York, July 25th, 2010 -- BEAT THE SYSTEM - THE NIGHT FREEDOM FLOWS - is an all-star benefit show for C-Rayz Walz to raise money and awareness regarding his legal battles and his unfaltering determination to “Beat the System.”  C-Rayz Walz (aka the SunCycle Emcee) was recently jailed in Indiana State prison.  He is now free - but his struggle isn’t over yet - there are still trials pending and much bureaucratic red tape to untangle.  The lawyer retained by C-Rayz’ family is working diligently to get all charges dropped.  The goal of the benefit show is to help C-Rayz and his family with funding the attorney’s fees and legal costs incurred and to to ensure that C-Rayz remains Free! 

C-Rayz Walz is a Hip Hop Emcee hailing from The Bronx, New York City.  He is a founding member of the Legendary Stronghold Syndicate and has a strong and loyal fanbase.  He has performed and recorded all over the world and has appeared on well over 43 singles that charted on Billboard & College Radio. He had a video in rotation on BET.  He started his own label, SunCycle Ent.  He has released 22 LPs.  C-Rayz has appeared on a variety of artist’s records including Aesop Rock and immortal Technique, and has done work with such artists as Percee P and Messiah J & The Expert.  Immortal Technique is reputed to be the only MC who can hold his ground against Walz in freestyle battle.  Walz is the All-Time Champion of the long-running EOW FreeStyle Rap Battles. In June 2005, Walz starred on MTVs “Made”, in which he teaches an awkward upper-class kid from the suburbs how to be an emcee.

C-Rayz has musically collaborated with so many amazing artists, who have now rallied around him in support and are donating their energy, talent and resources to honor and recognize C-Rayz Walz as a true Freedom Fighter and leader in the Hip Hop community.

Keeping the momentum flowing - THE SUNCYCLE MOVEMENT has organized an amazing show and recorded a powerful CD that will be available exclusively at the show. 

The Night will be hosted by Circa 95 w/ performances by: Camp Lo, Nutso with special guests Mic Geronimo and Royal Flush, The Legendary Stronghold, DJ Jedi, Deep of 2 Hungry Brothers, Tah Phrum Da Bush, YC the Cynic, Area 51, Aurora, Swave Sevah, Killah Kal, Adina Flute Player, LoDeck, Kosha Dillz, Black, Septik, and other surprise guests.

Where: Sunday, July 25th, 2010 - Santos Party House - 96 Lafayette St., NYC
When:  Doors Open at 9pm - Show Starts at 10pm
Why:  A Night of Pure Love and Hip Hop & Support C-Rayz Walz
Tickets:  $15 & Benefit CD will be available for $10 at the Show!

The Benefit CD includes:  Gen-Steele, L.I.F.E. Long, Respect tha God, Danja, Likker Cats, Bukue One, Borgoe Beats, Adina Flute Player, Radamez, Kentron, SwaveSevah, Godsendant, YC the Cynic, Lo Deck & DJ Jedi, Elohem Star, Nutso, The Lost Generation, Charlie G., Rascue, Perl and Porto and other Freedom Fighting Artists.

FB Link to EVENT 

Donations to C-Rayz Walz Legal Relief Fund can be made in three ways:

PAY PAL -- payable to Suncycle7@gmail .com
PHONE PAYMENT -- 1-888-714-6226 and press the #2 when you are prompt to state your name say "Free Rayz Walz". You will be connected to a live person. You may use debit or credit cards.

* SNAIL MAIL - FREE RAYZ WALZ 2010 - c/o Waleed Shabazz, PO Box 6214, NY, NY 10050

Zion-I Hit the Road for West Coast Tour


From Ballin' PR:

Zion-I Hit the Road for West Coast Tour

Zion-I Kicks off Tour with Black Star Show in Oakland on July 31st

July 19, 2010 OAKLAND, CA —From The Grouch and the Mighty Underdogs to Rebelution and Soja, hip-hop duo Zion-I have toured around the country with some of the most talented musical acts in the country. Now, as they put finishing touches on they're 7th album, they are getting ready to hit the road again, bringing one of the best live hip-hop shows to cities across America. The forty city tour starts in their home town of Oakland with a rare reunion show with Black Star (Mos Def and Talib Qweli) and ends in September. The guys will be performing songs from their forthcoming album.

Ten years after the release of their debut single,  Zion I released their 6th album, The Takeover, this past year. A filler-free new mix of jabs, roundhouses and uppercuts that continue their streak as one of hip-hop’s most diverse groups in hip-hop. The Takeover, which features guest spots by Houston legend Devin the Dude, UK emcee Ty and Rhymesayers’ Brother Ali, producer AmpLive and emcee Zumbi incorporate the best parts of their live show—perfected through nonstop touring—and bring that vibe to the studio.

Over the course of five LPs and numerous EPs and mixtapes, the group has proven to be a welcome enigma in hip-hop. Lyrically, Zumbi runs the gamut on a range of issues both serious and frivolous, discussing problems and pleasures both spiritual and worldly. Throughout, his fanbase keeps coming back for his smooth delivery and ability to raise issues without sounding didactic. Musically, Amp draws from both the usual (funk, soul) and esoteric (house, drum n bass) to create soundscapes that work as well on an electronic music mixtape as it does hip-hop. An accomplished remixer as well, Amp has remixed everyone from Linkin Park to MGMT, and most recently released Rainydayz Remixes based on Radiohead’s In Rainbows. Every production and remix, though, always brings it back to his main job in Zion I. “I started using way more effects on this album,” says Amp. “So I was able to bring in more elements that I’ve been using for some of the dance and indie rock stuff.”

From the electro-rap homage “DJ DJ” to the spacey futuristic synths of “Antenna,” The Takeover encapsulates the diversity and versatility that have made Zion I Bay Area stalwarts for over a decade. As with any Zion I album, there’ll never be any compromise away from deep thought, but as anyone who’s seen the pair live knows, that means nothing if the crowd ain’t entertained.
One listen to the album, and you’ll know The Takeover may be the most appropriate title of the year.

Headlining the entire tour will be reggae rock favorites, Rebelution.  Hailing from Santa Barbara, California, Rebelution has developed into the front runner for grassroots, independent and touring driven music groups representing the Cali-Reggae scene. Originally formed in 2004, members Eric Rachmany (vocals / guitar,) Rory Carey (keyboards,) Wesley Finley (drums,) and Marley D. Williams (bass) met in college, while residing in Isla Vista, a popular beachside community in Santa Barbara. It was there that the seeds to Rebelution’s future would be planted-- and would instill their kick back, “worry free” vibes, catchy refrain, and optimistic, inspiring, and engaging music that would leave their listeners with the sense that they have the power to make this world a better place.

ZION I TOUR

July 31, 2010 Oakland, CA, Fox Theater **Opening for BLACK STAR
August 6, 2010 Santa Fe, NM - Santa Fe Brewing Company   
August 7, 2010 Morrison, CO - Red Rocks Amphitheater  w/ Pretty Lights  
August 13, 2010 Plainfield, VT - Rhinofest Music Festival     
August 14, 2010 Portland, ME - Asylum
August 19, 2010 Reno, NV - The Beach Club at the Grand Sierra Resort 
August 20, 2010 Bend, OR - Domino Room 
August 21, 2010 Bellingham, WA - Wild Buffalo
August 22, 2010 Portland, OR - 2410 Mississippi
August 27, 2010 Sacramento, CA - The Venue
August 28, 2010 Fairfax, CA - 19 Broadway 
August 29, 2010 Arcata, CA - Humbrew 
September 4, 2010 Seattle, WA - Chop Suey
September 5, 2010 Eugene, OR - WOW Hall
September 15, 2010 Aspen, CO - Belly Up
September 16, 2010 Boulder, CO - Fox Theater  
September 17, 2010 Fort Collins, CO - Aggie Theater  
September 18, 2010 Denver CO - Cervantes  
September 23, 2010 San Francisco, CA - Amp Live @ The Mighty
September 24, 2010 Santa Barbara, CA - West Beach Festival

web : http://www.ballinpr.com .
blog : http://backpackcat.blogspot.com .

Potluck Debut New Song Featuring D12 & King Gordy


From Kerosene Media:

Potluck Debut New Song Featuring D12 & King Gordy Online

New Album “Greatest Hits With My Buds” Featuring Tech N9ne, D12, E-40, Chali 2na, and The Luniz In Stores Now
 
Humboldt County hip-hop duo Potluck have premiered the song “I Ain't Crazy” featuring D12 and King Gordy online through AOL Boombox at http://www.theboombox.com/2010/07/19/potluck-feat-d12-i-aint-crazy-song-premiere . The track appears on the group's new album, "Greatest Hits With My Buds", which also features guest appearances by Tech N9ne, D12, E-40, Chali 2na, and The Luniz.
 
"When we recorded this song we were on tour with D12 and King Gordy.  We got together on an off day at our studio in Humboldt County and hot boxed the whole spot.  We cooked a little BBQ got some liquor and made it one big party." 1 Ton from Potluck told AOL Boombox about the song. "This song is special because it has a bunch of different MC’s on there with real diverse styles.  You got the slow flow like myself and Bizarre then you got fast rappers like UnderRated, mix in King Gordy singing the hook and we had a pretty unique song.  A song that all hip-hop lovers can really appreciate."
 
Potluck has the first episode of a video blog series chronicling the creation of "Greatest Hits With My Buds" online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=607LnFqFbSo .

###
* www.potluckmusic.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

Video: Bun B "Trill O.G." PSA


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Bun B "Trill O.G." PSA

Bun B "Trill O.G." PSA from DJ Smallz.

Video: Zane One - "Zane One (L.A. Woman)"


From Audible Treats:

Video: Zane One - "Zane One (L.A. Woman)"

Video: H2-O Unveils "Who's That"


From Yo! PR:

Video - H2-O Unveils "Who's That"

NEOSONIC News - My "Top 10 Video Game Soundtracks"


From K-Murdock:

NEOSONIC News - My "Top 10 Video Game Soundtracks"

I was recently asked to compile my favorite "Top 10 Video Game Soundtracks" for PopTen.net, which is the place to go if you too are "obsessed with quantifying pop culture". I won't spoil any of my picks, but i will tell you to keep in mind the fact that i've been an avid RPG fan since the late '80s! I'd love to hear your feedback, whether you comment directly on the post or over on the Neosonic Productions Forum. Shouts to Victor @ PopTen for letting me contribute and stay tuned for the "Top 10 WORST Video Game Soundtracks" according to me...

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC News


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive