Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday April 17, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nausea] The new Death Grips.

Moodie Black Review

Latest News Headlines
Sam Adams - Respect For Sale


Boston’s Boy, the first EP of rapper and current Trinity College senior Sam Adams, debuted at number one on the iTunes chart with first-week sales of nearly 8,000. How did Adams pull that off?

Many people, including fellow Boston native Slaine of the group La Coka Nostra, suspect the bulk of the sales came from none other than Adams himself — that the rapper bought his own songs, repeatedly, to inflate his sales to generate a buzz.

Making matters worse, in a recent interview with Billboard.com, while steadfastly denying he bought his way to the top of the iTunes chart, Adams added that, even if he did, “who cares?”

Plenty of hip-hop artists and fans do...

Read the full story at: FairfieldWeekly.com

Free Music from Coolzey


"Enjoy Your Holiday" is the first song off of Coolzey's Coolzey and the Search for the Hip Hop Hearts - Volume I: He's the DJ, I'm the Rapper, which he's releasing one song at a time, over the next twelve weeks.

You can download the song for free at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/05/coolzey-does-it-1.html

The (W)rap Up - Week of April 27, 2010



Click here to find   out more!

"Back in January of this year, I wrote an informal "Reasons for Rap Renaissance in 2010" feature that declared my optimism for the coming year. Something went wrong, however, and although I thought I had included B.o.B it seems that he just completely slipped my mind. Costly error. He has since become a hip pop star achieving stunning commercial success, and his album has been pushed FORWARD to capitalise on the singles (remember when they used to do that?). Even worse, I can't claim to be the smart-ass that predicated his fame (damn!). But the album in question is a fascinating one that encapsulates the struggle between what Bobby Ray wants to achieve, what his record company think, and what he is actually good at. Part of the problem is that yes, the album is occasionally impressive, but the MC doesn't make that much of an impression, he is still finding his distinctive voice."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04F_bobbyray.html


BLESTeNATION :: mBugout City :: Suburban Noize Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"There's at least a small chance you've heard of BLESTeNATION before reading this review; that's pretty remarkable given they've only had one album at retail in the last ten years (two if you're willing to count an out of print mixtape). Exposure counts for a lot though and this self-described crew of "three crazy ass bugged out white boys" have gotten it in big ways. Their revision of the Bananarama pop hit "Cruel Summer" appeared on the "Blue Crush" movie soundtrack, they did work for Maynard James Keenan (of Tool and A Perfect Circle fame) on his side project Puscifier and were even featured on a remix of the popular Ladytron song "Ghosts" - the latter track also being included on their new album "mBugout City.""

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_mbugoutcity.html

BURNTmd :: Let's Get Ill :: GTD Entertainment
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"RR's history with BURNTmd goes back to January 2009, when he sent us the track "Microphone Doctor" hoping to get a spin on the Hip-Hop Shop podcast. The implied EPMD reference and bugged out beat punctuated by gunshots got my attention, so the new era hip-hop MD got his degree on our show. Since concluding BURNT had a lot of potential we've featured his tracks regularly, including most recently the title track of this album "Let's Get Ill" featuring Copywrite, Phil Da Agony and Reks. Although we respect the "Brooklyn made, Vermont raised" rapper for his ability to pull big name guests from the underground (more on that in a minute) it's really on his solo songs like "Rap City" that the gruff voiced MC shines the brightest"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_letsgetill.html

Circle Research :: Gardiner Express :: URBNET Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Beat tapes are nothing new to hip-hop. Although the late great J Dilla may be the best recognized purveyor of this product, it was never hard to come up on unsold and non-commercial entries in this field. After all for every Polow Da Don or Alchemist who made it big for their beats, there's literally thousands of aspiring producers out there trying to get out there and get heard. Thanks to technology this analog form has gone digital, saving thousands of producers the thousands of dollars they would spend duplicating tapes and sending them to labels, artists and studios. It's all about the dot com - or at least the dot com that forwards you to a MySpace page. That's technology - improving lives and saving money - but it also takes a little muscle out of the hustle at the same time. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_gardinerexpress.html

Cypress Hill :: Rise Up :: EMI/Priority Records
as reviewed by Eric Sirota

"In "Half Baked," Bob Saget famously pointed out that weed is not much of a drug because, as he put it, "You ever suck dick for some marijuana?" You haven't. Similarly, political thrillers are seldom about the weed trade (I can see it now: "Traffic II: Cruise Control" starring Method Man and Redman). I just finished watching the first season of "The Wire." It would have been pretty pointless if it centered around Baltimore's finest trying to bust up an inner city grass racket. The point is, unless you're a stoner, weed just isn't that interesting. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_cypresshillriseup.html

Kokane :: Gimme All Mine :: Bonzi Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"That's the voice of experience speaking - a wisened music industry O.G. - so all young players out there take note and heed the word of Jerry Long Jr. Doesn't ring a bell? Perhaps you'd know him better as Kokane, the self-professed expert on making "Addictive Hip Hop Muzick." A bold title to be sure but one he earned as a rap star during the original heyday of Ruthless Record. As cousin to Above the Law founder Cold 187um he could have easily just slid in by nepotism and held down a spot, but Mr. Kane was not interested in taking it easy. He dropped his own albums, he contributed lyrically to Above the Law and to other projects, and made a name for himself as one of the auteurs of the rise of West coast gangster rap. Early success was squandered though as Kokane was on hard times by the end of the 1990's, working in the porn industry to make ends meet, until the aforementioned Snoop Dogg gave him a second career where he became as well known for crooning hooks as he had for his gangster lyrics. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_gimmeallmine.html

Opio & Unjust :: Mark It Zero: The Big Lebowski Tribute Album :: Hiero Imperium
as reviewed by Pete T.

"One of my favorite albums of 2010's first quarter was Donwill's "Don Cusack in High Fidelity," a clever record which adapted one of my favorite films, "High Fidelity" starring John Cusack, for the hip hop full length. It appears that veteran Souls of Mischief and Hieroglyphics rapper Opio and his friend Unjust, producer of the new Hiero-affiliated group Chosen Few, were similarly inspired by a turn-of-the-century blockbuster comedy and recorded "Mark It Zero: The Big Lebowski Tribute Album" in celebration of the Coen brothers' 1998 cult classic starring Jeff Bridges and John Goodman. Available 4/20 as a free download, "Mark It Zero" aims not only to provide a suitable soundtrack for the herbalists' favorite holiday but also serves as a prelude to upcoming projects from both parties—Opio's "Vulture's Wisdom Vol. 2" and Chosen Few's "New World Symphony"—both slated for May 25. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_markitzero.html

Sheek Louch :: Life on D-Block :: Real Talk Records
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"Here at RapReviews, we find ourselves covering a lot of albums. Every now and then, a few will fall through the cracks until most have seemingly forgotten about them. Such is the case with this album. Chances are, if you're on this website, then you've at least heard of The Lox. The group is comprised of Jadakiss, Styles P and Sheek Louch. At one point in time they were on Bad Boy Records, but ended up jumping ship to the Ruff Ryders imprint after an ugly "Let The Lox Go" campaign. They went on to release one more official album as a group before branching out and releasing their respective solo efforts. Jadakiss is without question the most popular member of the trio. Styles also has a cult following of his own, but where does Sheek fit into the equation?"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_lifeondblock.html

Styles P & DJ Green Lantern :: The Green Ghost Project :: Invasion Music Group
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"The "Project" kicks off with "Nothing To Lose" and "Double Trouble". Both tracks are backed with frantic beats from Green Lantern. The latter features scratched in samples of Chuck D and also a verse from Sheek Louch. "Callin Me" contains a hook from Tre Williams and Styles raps about how the streets seem to be calling for him to make a triumphant return to them for one reason or another. Showcasing his willingness to take it on the chin, Styles tells his people that if he happens to get locked up, he won't be constantly calling or asking people for money. Instead, he simply asks them to "Send A Kite" and send a little love."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_04_greenghostproject.html
Hip-Hop Shop #72 Goes FOREVER FAMICOM




You've heard both artists interviewed on our site before - progressive hip-hop champion K-Murdock and video game stylist Random a/k/a Mega Ran - and now for the first time ever you'll hear BOTH OF THEM TOGETHER! Join us for Hip-Hop Shop as they debut the brand new 8-bit NES inspired album Forever Famicom. You'll hear songs inspired by games like Chrono Trigger and Little Nemo the Dream Master, and you'll hear from the artists behind them on why and how they put this project together. Don't forget to check out MegaRan.com and K-Murdock's blog as the June 1st release date approaches for more Forever Famicom news and exclusives, and follow both artists on Twitter. Enjoy the show!

Forever Famicom 

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Forever Famicom - Dream Master
* Forever Famicom - Epoch
* Random a/k/a Mega Ran - Sick
NEOSONIC Blog - Forever Famicom Debuts FREE Double-Single!


You can hear BOTH singles tonight on a new episode of Hip-Hop Shop. From K-Murdock:

After 2 years of back & forth recording via the internet, myself & Random aka Mega Ran are DONE and ready to debut our Forever Famicom project to the world starting with the release of the FREE double-single "Dream Master/Epoch".

"Dream Master" is an eponymous nod to one of my favorite Capcom Classics- Little Nemo The Dream Master.  The game's story was very imaginative and till this day, i'm holding out hope that Capcom decides to "revisit" it as i think it could be just as dope today as it was in 1990!  Ran's story-telling of his own biopic fit the track's mellow vibe so well, that is was almost too perfect.

"Epoch" is the more raw of the two songs in this single and samples source material from one of my top 3 RPGs of all time- Chrono Trigger.  I always wanted to do something with the soundtrack, and the energy Ran brought with his verses was again, like a perfect match!  Till this day, i still find myself revisiting CT just because the story is undeniably timeless.



You can download the double-single for free at the newly created Mega Ran & K-Murdock bandcamp page.  The full album drops JUNE 1st and will be available exclusively on Bandcamp as well as at show's me & Ran will be doing in support of the project.  We also got animated 8-bit styled videos in the works to accompany the songs, courtesy of the homie Griff Morivan, so stay tuned & spread the word to fellow Hip-Hop heads & gamers alike!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC Blog
Dame Dash Resurrects Roc-A-Fella Records


From The Urban Daily:

dame-dash-resurrects-roc-a-fella

Remember when Roc-A-Fella Records was the hottest label in hip-hop back in the late 90s and early 2000s?

Dame Dash does too, and hopes to restore the label that he was bought out of back to its former glory.

The Roc roster really only has one active artist on it at present time, Kanye West.  Most of its other signees, including the label’s co-founder  Jay-Z, have moved on to other recording plantations.

Dame plans to release the debut album from Curren$y as the relaunched label’s first release on June 15th.

“Def Jam or Universal bought the brand,” Dash told MTV. “I think the ‘beef’ [with us and Jay-Z] was that Jay made it clear he didn’t want me or [Roc-A-Fella's third co-founder Karriem "Biggs" Burke] to be a part of it. That’s really where it was at. Now that he doesn’t work for Def Jam anymore, he doesn’t have the right to use the name. So there’s no reason for us not to use it. It’s there, and it’s a brand that’s not being used. So I was like, ‘I’ll take it.’ It always meant something to me.”

Dash secured the deal through Island Def Jam chairman L.A. Reid, who previously worked with Dash through his shortlived Damon Dash Music Group.

After the release of Curren$y’s album, Roc-A-Fella will release Ski Beatz’s long awaited 24 Hour Ski School mixtape.

SOURCE

Invisible Bullies Invite You to Their Westworld


I first met Idris Tate of Invisible Bullies back in 2007 when he was drumming for Rue Melo and they, along with the rest of the band, were on tour with Lyrics Born. We hung out a couple times after shows and stayed in touch. A few months ago he told me he had just finished up his own project, under the name Invisible Bullies, with bass player Doug Gild. The album, Westworld Volume 1, is a decidedly hip-hop effort, and this week I caught up with the southern California native to find out more about the project, how long it had been in the works, and his reaction when he found out Rue was moving back to France.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/05/artist-of-week-invisible-bullies.html

Kottonmouth Kings Score Highest Billboard Debut of Career


From Sububan Noize Records:

Kottonmouth Kings Unite Fans To Debut At #26 On Billboard Top 200 For Highest Chart Position In Group’s Career



 
For Immediate Release:  
 
No Radio, No MTV, No Problem!!! Kottonmouth Kings Unite Fans To Debut At #26 On Billboard Top 200 For Highest Chart Position In Group’s Career
 
Without the aid of mainstream press, radio, or MTV, the Kottonmouth Kings have infiltrated the music industry on their own terms and made themselves a force to be reckoned with. The group's new album, "Long Live The Kings", debuted at #26 on the Billboard Top 200 this week to give the band their highest charting record in the group's career. The chart position confirms how powerful the band's underground movement has become, and silences critics who refuse to acknowledge the group's lasting staying power.
 
"Our new album, 'Long Live The Kings', charting so high on the Billboard Top 200 is a testament to perseverance, hard work and self belief. If we would have paid attention to the critics and naysayers we would have been done 15 years ago," commented Daddy X of Kottonmouth Kings. "Against all odds, we are a true independent underground success story, and we are 100 percent self made, self produced, self manufactured, and self sold!"
 
"I am happy to see our fans embracing this record, as well as a rejuvenation of the Kingdom and its followers," added Dirtball. "Both the group and the label put a gang of work into this record release, and I am super stoked to see our hard work pay off. Long Live the Kings!"
 
"Long Live The Kings" is a brand new chapter in the Kottonmouth Kings storied career. After more than a decade and millions of albums sold, the group has reinvented themselves with the addition of motor-mouth rapper the Dirtball, who joins the group as a full-time member. With a new member and new creative firepower, the Kottonmouth Kings have taken their sound into uncharted territories. "Long Live The Kings" features two explosive guest appearances by underground legends Tech N9ne and the Insane Clown Posse.
 
###
Georgia & Declaime Announce European Tour


From Audible Treats:

Georgia & Declaime Announce European Tour

SomeOthaShip Connect Label Founders Present International Tour This Month

(May 1, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) In celebration of Georgia and Declaime's latest endeavor, the new SomeOthaShip Connect label, the duo is proud to announce a short European tour set for this month. The FONK Tour, in addition to promoting their label, will support a slew of releases on SomeOthaShip Connect including Declaime's FONK and Darryl Moore's Where I'm At albums, both out May 4, 2010, Georgia Anne Muldrow's Orotea, out June 15, 2010, and Georgia & Declaime's next project, scheduled for release this summer as well. Sponsored in part by Carhartt, Georgia & Declaime will make four stops at some of Europe's finest party cities.

The FONK Tour '10 Dates:
Friday, 4/30 Paris, France at Bellevilloise
Saturday, 5/1 Madrid, Spain at Vina Rock Festival
Wednesday, 5/5 Cologne, Germany at Stecken
Thursday, 5/6 Rotterdam, The Neterlands at Rotown

Check out Declaime's first two singles off his forthcoming album, FONK:
"Fame": http://media.audibletreats.com/Declaime-Fame.mp3 .
"Gangsta": http://media.audibletreats.com/Declaime-Gangsta.mp3 .

The Background:

In a world obsessed with immature desires a man in his rarest form must rise and stir against the tide of conformity. Heeding the call is Declaime, an incredible artist talent hailing from Oxnard, California. The visionary poet first amazed his family with his musical aptitude at age two, and with no father figure in sight, started a lifelong fascination with superheroes at an early age. Experiences with gang life left Declaime disillusioned, and he emerged a transformed man ready to begin a mission of enlightenment through the power of sound. The producer/emcee/visual artist began his journey on a track with Tha Alkaholiks, and he went on to work on with Lootpack, Oh No and KanKick to name a few. Declaime has been prolific in bringing metaphysical hip-hop into being for the masses, previously releasing Illmindmusik, Andsoitissaid, Mad Men On Arrival, A Lil' Light, Conversations With Dudley, The Dank And Jammy Show, Expressions 2012 A. U., Beautiful Minds, The Message Uni Versa, Holy Smokes, and SomeOthaShip. His latest album FONK is slated to drop on May 4th via Declaime's own label imprint SomeOthaShip Connect.

Streams:

"Gangsta": http://media.audibletreats.com/Declaime-Gangsta.mp3 .
"Fame": http://media.audibletreats.com/Declaime-Fame.mp3 .

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/declaime .

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DECLAIME .
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/dudleyperkins .
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/declaime .

Label Site: http://www.youtube.com/user/someothashipCONNECT and http://www.Twitter.com/SomeOthaShip .

Video: Torch - "The Truth"


SPECIALYST/ MAYBACH MUSIC Torch new mixtape KRASH KOURSE dropping memorial weekend..Go to www.TORCHisNY.com and listen to his smash single ft. busta ryhmes "Bang Yo City"


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 8th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for you: Actress' "Ghettoville," Chance The Rapper's "10 Day," Gio's "Real," Steve 'Flash' Juon's PremRock Interview and The Hip-Hop Shop #266, Kev Sez' "First Attempt at a Second Chance," Mega Ran's "River City Random," Moodie Black's "Nausea" (our featured review), Sister Crayon's "Still||Cynic" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 1, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the Post-WrestleMania 30 Podcast from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive