Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday July 29, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Duane Stephenson Opens for The Wailers Tonight at B.B. Kings in NYC


From VP Records:

Duane Stephenson Opens for The Wailers Tonight at B.B. Kings in NYC

Duane Stephenson tonight at B.B. Kings (237 West 42 Street, New York, NY 10036). Showtime is at 8pm.

MP3: IMG - "Always Getting Becky/Mali, Bud And Henny"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: IMG - "Always Getting Becky/Mali, Bud And Henny"

Rising Shadyville MC Prepares DJ Whoo Kid Presented Mixtape, Remixes Lloyd Banks Track For Single

The Song:

Shadyville protégé and Syracuse University sophomore IMG has teamed up with G-Unit's DJ Whoo Kid to release his sophomore mixtape, Ain't Nothing To It.  His newest single, "Always Getting Becky," features Chris Webby and offers an original take on a track that has been recycled throughout the community of today's hip-hop greats. IMG & Webby rhyme over the Prime-produced "Beamer, Benz or Bentley" beat that has featured the likes of Lloyd Banks, Juelz Santana, Ludacris, The Dream, Jadakiss, Joe Budden, Royce Da 5'9, Fabolous, Joell Ortiz and Jim Jones to name a few.

Joining the likes of 50-Cent, Mobb Deep, The Game, & Chamillionaire, Shadyville's newest emcee is ready to take the game by storm, displaying a rhyming ability beyond his years and flipping the song's chorus with a clever twist while maintaining elements of the original track.  "Put a ring around you, got a ni**a in the circus / My boy give me the beat and be like, 'IMG, merk this' / After this verse, still don't think I got bars? / Roll up out my crib and see what I got for cars."  Webby also offers his own take on the minimalist, ambient beat, with his chorus, "Mali, Bud & Henne."  "Got my mali, MDMA dip my finger in the baggie / Then I put it on my tongue and start rolling like a cabby / Then spit some game to bitches like I'm playing Milton Bradley / So you need a Beamer, Benz or Bentley if you want to catch me."

Unlike your average rapper, IMG's feet are as graceful and precise as his flow.  Turning down an offer to play professional soccer in Germany, the New Jersey native decided to pursue his musical passion and, as his new mixtape will prove, he made the right decision.

IMG's mixtape, Ain't Nothing To It hosted by by DJ Whoo Kid hits the shelves on September 27, 2010 via Shadyville Entertainment.

Listen to "Always Getting Becky": http://media.audibletreats.com/IMG-Always_Gettin_Becky-Mali_Bud_And_Henny.mp3 .

The Movement Mixtape: http://www.datpiff.com/DJ_Pate_IMG_The_Movement.m109861.html .

PR: Hell Razah Announces New Album "Heaven Razah"


From Audible Treats:

Hell Razah Announces New Album "Heaven Razah"

Nature Sounds Prepares Latest From Wu-Affiliate, Donates Profits To Razah's Family

The Album:

(September 20, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Brooklyn-bred MC Hell Razah finished his new album Heaven Razah in late March, and now, after delays due to unforeseen circumstances, Nature Sounds is proud to announce that Heaven Razah will be available in stores everywhere on September 28, 2010.

The Wu-Tang Clan affiliate and former Sunz of Man main member released his acclaimed debut Renaissance Child in 2007, and fans have been eagerly awaiting his follow-up ever since. What fans were not anticipating was the health emergency that landed Razah in the hospital in April, just after recording for the album had completed. To help Hell Razah and his loved ones through these trying times, Nature Sounds will be donating profits from the album to the rapper's family.

Heaven Razah marks a rebirth for Razah, who has re-fashioned himself as a modern day hip-hop prophet, spitting spiritual wisdom about the apocalypse, the presence of demons, mortality, and the afterlife. In light of recent events, his words sound even more prophetic. "It was like a premonition. I was thinking about these themes, and my destiny was already in my brain, but I didn't even know it," explains Razah in his first comments since his being hospitalized. "This is my testimonial. It's like I'm seeing the future through music."

In recent years, Hell Razah has become one of the most prolific artists in hip-hop's underground, releasing albums with 4th Disciple, T.H.U.G. Anglez, Blue Sky Black Death, and his supergroup, Black Market Militia (Razah, Tragedy Khadafi, Killah Priest, and Timbo King). While Razah enjoys collaborating with his peers, he held off on guest spots for Heaven Razah, with only R.A. The Rugged Man, Timbo, and Shabazz The Disciple making appearances. "I wanted to show that I can hold my own," he explains. "To me, features look like mixtapes. If you go back and look at classic albums like Illimatic, there weren't a lot of features." Backing up Razah's prophecy is an impressive collection of knocking instrumentals from the likes of Havoc, Ayatollah, Bronze Nazareth, 4th Disciple, and Mathematics.

In one more twist of fate, the album will hit stores just a few days before Razah's birthday, which falls on October 1st. "There is no better birthday present I could get than sharing this album with my fans," says Razah. "There's a lot of soul in this album." In a final message to supporters, Razah gave an update on his status. "Right now, I'm in rehabilitation, doing physical therapy everyday to get back to 100%. I'm writing rhymes too, and the ideas are flowing. That's my spiritual therapy."

Hell Razah's Heaven Razah will be available September 28, 2010 via Nature Sounds.

Download the single "Return Of The Renaissance" feat. R.A. The Rugged Man here: http://media.audibletreats.com/Hell_Razah-Return_Of_The_Renaissance_Ft_R.A._The_Rugged_Man.mp3 .

Video: Eternia Returns to Toronto


From DJ Sav One:

Video: Eternia Returns to Toronto

Eternia Returns to Toronto from themanifesto.ca.

Video: Doeshun Freestyle From Swagg Team Studios


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Doeshun Freestyle From Swagg Team Studios

Doeshun Freestyle From Swagg Team Studios from DJ Smallz.

Swollen Members Announce US Tour in November


From Kerosene Media:

Swollen Members Announce US Tour in November

Swollen Members’ have announced they will be embarking on a headlining US tour throughout November. Swollen Members are currently putting the finishing touches on their new studio album “Dagger Mouth”, which is scheduled for early 2011 release through Suburban Noize.
 
“We can't wait to get out and be with our fans again! We are counting
down the days to play some of the new tracks from 'Dagger Mouth' as well as perform the classics for our people,” commented Prevail. “After being home for a while, we really started to miss the feeling of being out and performing in front of our people! There are no parties that compare to a club full of our Swollen Army and Battleaxe Warriors!"
 
Mad Child recently announced he will be releasing his solo debut “Dope
Sick” in early 2011 through Suburban Noize. The album was inspired by
Mad Child’s ongoing battle with drug addiction and his descent into
severe Oxycontin dependence.
 
Mad Child debuted the track “Hanging On By A Thread” featuring a beat by Madlib from his upcoming mixtape last week online at http://bit.ly/aBaDkI .
 
SWOLLEN MEMBERS TOUR DATES:
Sept 16- Kelowna, BC - Gotcha’s Nightclub
Sept 17- Chilliwack, BC - Echo Room
Sept 18- Victoria, BC - Sugar
Sept 19- Nanaimo, BC - Queens Hotel
Sept 23- Calgary, AB - Back Alley
Sept 24- Lethbridge, AB - Exhibition Park – Main Pavillion
Sept 25- Red Deer, AB - Urban Rodeo
Sept 27- Yorkton, SK - Ultra
Sept 28- Winnipeg, MB - Pyramid
Sept 29- Winkler, MB - Morden Complex
Sept 30- Saskatoon, SK - Tequilla Night Club
Oct 02 - Nelson, BC - Royal Hotel
Nov 04 - Bellingham, WA @ Wild Buffalo House of Music
Nov 05 - Seattle, WA @ Studio Seven
Nov 06 - Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Nov 10 - Hollywood, CA @ Key Club
Nov 11 - Fresno, CA @ Babylon Club
Nov 12 - San Francisco, CA @ The Rockit Room
Nov 13 - Stateline, NV @ Mont Bleu Casino Showroom
Nov 14 - Spark, NV @ The Alley
Nov 16 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Nov 17 - Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
Nov 18 - Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Nov 19 - Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall
Nov 20 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Nov 21 - Steamboat Springs, CO @ Ghostranch Saloon
Nov 22 - Crested Butte, CO @ Lobar
Nov 23 - Aspen, CO @ Belly Up Aspen
Nov 24 - Park City, UT @ The Star Bar
Dec 13 - Big Sky, MT @ Big Sky Ski Resort

MP3: Double D - "Got Mail" and "Loud" feat. Swazy Baby


From DJ TD:

MP3: Double D - "Got Mail"

Trapaganza 2 Coming Soon!!!
Trapaganza: The Documentary Coming Soon!!!
Any interview requests, drops, or anything else u need get @ me!!!
Thanks for all your support!!

'Got Mail'
http://www.4shared.com/audio/wajREPEs/Got_Mail.html

"My Life Real"
http://www.zshare.net/audio/796826221fd16a2d/

Another hot track off Double D's upcoming mixtape Trapaganza 2: Da Re
Up!!! This features Slip-N-Slide recording artist Swazy Baby!! Thanks
for all your support!!!
'Loud' feat Swazy Baby
http://www.4shared.com/audio/VtAr2nyy/Dat_Loud.html

*Bonus*
'Thats Me'
http://www.4shared.com/audio/KVGMwa4_/Double_D_-_Thats_Me.html

Iamdoubled.com
twitter.com/doubled850
twitter.com/uandient
www.myspace.com/doubled850

PR: Yung LA - 4 Million+ Views on Youtube


From En Derin:

Yung LA - 4 Million+ Views on Youtube

You may already know Yung LA from the songs he has featured on with T.I. or Rick Ross

Yung LA ft. Young Dro, T.I. - Ain't I (Official Video)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LgqakMaiw0s
 
BUT TODAY HE IS BACK WITH 3 BRAND NEW SONGS
 
MP3: Group Home feat. Lord Jamar - "Up Against the Wall"


From Babygrande Records:

Group Home feat. Lord Jamar - "Up Against the Wall"

Check out Group Home's second single off of their upcoming "Gifted Unlimted Rhymes Universal," entitled "Up Against The Wall."  With production by L.A. OG DJ Lord Ron, and featuring Lord Jamar & MC Ace, this track conjures a truly golden age sound.  Dap and Jamar lace the head-nodding beat with incisive introspection about who they are, when and where they come from.

Listen to "Up Against The Wall" Feat. Lord Jamar & MC Ace NOW!

Click HERE to view the video and download the song HERE.

Group Home has unquestionably proven that they are one of the most important groups to come out of hip-hop’s revered “golden age.”  Set for release on September 28th by Babygrande Records, Group Home’s “Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal” is a tribute to the movement that birthed hip-hop’s most celebrated emcees and a must-have for any true fan of hip-hop.

Group Home
"Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal"
In Stores September 28th, 2010
Babygrande Records

*A portion of all proceeds from this project will be donated to Guru's son's trust fund.  Make a donation at gurutributes.com.

Otis Clapp Welcomes You to Nowhere


I first met Otis Clapp at the start of the summer at a BBQ in The Bronx. Although he told me a little bit about his music, a few artists we were mutual friends with told me a lot more. For me, this is a telltale sign that I need to keep an ear out for someone. When Otis Clapp’s album, Welcome II Nowhere, dropped I put it in my CD player and was extremely impressed by what I heard. When I sat down with him the other day for an interview, my jaw dropped at some of his very real life stories. A true survivor, Otis Clapp opened up about his extremely rough past, and how it affects him in the present. He also laid out the road map for how we can all get a first class trip to our own personal Nowhere. Before making that journey, however, I received a tour of his Nowhere.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/09/artist-of-week-otis-clapp.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive