Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday April 16, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nausea] The new Death Grips.

Moodie Black Review

Latest News Headlines
"Drop The World" Remix & More From Fly Gypsy





The idea of touching the epic "Drop the World" by Lil' Wayne and Eminem would probably be considered ill-advised by most. Rhyming alongside two of the game's greatest emcees on what might well be the highlight of their careers so far could make even established artists appear better suited for the Apollo Amateur Night.

Nevertheless, Fly Gypsy's Kom and Alexei decided to give it a go. Kom added an aggressive 28-bar verse, Alexei contributed some rock-infused distortion guitar. "I was fully aware of the criticism that could come from this one, so I went hard, and I think my verse would quiet even the worst critic," says the group's emcee Kom. "I re-wrote it three times before I felt I could hold my own next to Em and Lil' Wayne, both of whom I have much respect for."

While the focus of the song is most certainly on the three emcees, the group's producer Alexei gave the synth-heavy track an added rock flavor, channeling Nirvana with aggressive guitar riffs. "To me, the song is the 'Smells Like Teen Spirit' of the current generation, so I wanted to give it that extra drive that you can only get with live guitars," says Alexei. "This is not a remix. We saw the vision of Lil' Wayne and Eminem, as well as the song's producers, and we built on it. We think that both Wayne and Em would like what we had done." 

Audio stream:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/5md1ymmu2mm/Drop_the_World_Fly_Gypsy_Rock_Remix.mp3

**********
Background:

Washington, D.C.-based hip-hop duo Fly Gypsy are quickly becoming the hottest new name in hip-hop. Since its launch in July 2009, the duo have released a successful and critically acclaimed mixtape, shot a video in Jamaica with famed director Ras Kassa (acclaimed for his work with Sean Paul, Beenie Man, and Damian Marley), and was featured on over 200 websites and blogs, including the influential HipHopDX, Okayplayer, 2dopeboyz, and DJBooth. Their single "2 Step" reached No. 1 position on college radio hip-hop charts and their freestyle on DJBooth is currently No. 1 of 135 others. Music critics have praised the Washington, D.C.-based duo for their ability to attract commercial appeal without compromising their musicianship or message, comparing the duo to the Fugees, Jay-Z, and Kanye West. Okayplayer called the duo's latest release "a timeless example of the beauty in music" and Rap Reviews called the duo "a group that could change what music is and what it should be." Fly Gypsy is currently opening for Wale in several markets and preparing for a United Kingdom tour and a SXSW showcase in spring 2010. The group's latest release, Change for a Dollar, is available now in all digital outlets and on Amazon, and the Vodka & Rum Mixtape is available now for free download on the group’s website, flygypsy.com. The group's remix project FG*XL:remixtape will be released in March 2010.


STREAMS/DOWNLOADS:

"2 Step"


VIDEOS:

"You" (official video)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEWpSdmnaZs

"I Wanna Rock" Brooklyn East Mix Official Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7mYiKDGzqZQ

Live at the 9:30 Club, Washington, D.C., 1/1/2010
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sEWpSdmnaZs
Video: Devin the Dude - "What I Be On"


Devin the Dude “What I Be On” Video

http://videos.onsmash.com/v/K7aYcvnGrB3HDPKE

“Do Not DistHerb (Suite # 420)” EP AVAILABLE TOMORROW!

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/do-not-distherb-suite-420-ep/id359556889

ALBUM COMING: 4.20

http://www.twitter.com/therealdevin420

Did Men Catering to the "Average Woman" Ruin Hip-Hop?


Real hip-hop has an ace in the hole and his name is Ace Ha. I was introduced to the producer extraordinaire (pictured above w/ girlfriend Brooke Allison) over half a decade ago through a mutual friend, Black Jesus, who many of you might remember from the BET Uncut classic “What That Thang Smell Like,” and ever since we’ve exchanged our views on hip-hop and working out (he's actually the reason I have my abs. Thanks again, man!). Ace Ha is always busy, which is why this Artist Of The Week feature has been so long in the making, but the good news is it was totally worth the wait. An incredibly engaging and intelligent individual, Ace Ha pulled no punches regarding his controversial view on what ruined mainstream hip-hop, which artists he feels could eat some of the old school greats, and why he feels ditching the bulk of his production equipment has actually made him a better producer. He's living proof that the people behind the boards can have just as much to say as those on the mic.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/03/artist-of-week-ace-ha.html

Mega Ran - The SXSW Report, New Interview & More


From Mega Ran:

The SXSW Report, New Interview & More

if you're not going to Austin for SXSW, don't worry, I got you covered... stay tuned to my twitter, i'm sure I'll have all kinds of stuff to share.

Let's get on with it..

 

First up is a really dope interview done by the folks at Spinner, check that out! in it i reveal my secret celeb crush, and my musical guilty pleasure, among other things..

 

Next, I found myself in this week's issue of the Phoenix New Times, both online and print, so AZ peeps, grab one of those!

 

Also, not sure if you saw the Mega Ran "Here We Go Again" video, but it's on Kotaku this week, arguably the biggest gaming blog...in the universe.

 

check that out and LOL at the comments, accusing the video of being...racist of all things... wow.

 

 

OKAY...If you're not even sure what the heck a SXSW is.. its okay, i'm a teacher, so I teach...

 

SXSW is one of the largest music festivals in the United States, with more than 1,400 performers playing in more than 80 venues around Austin over four days, in March. Though it is an industry-based event, SXSW Music links locally with events such as the annual Austin Music Awards show. SXSW is the highest revenue-producing special event for the Austin economy, with an estimated economic impact of at least $110 million in 2008. [1][2][3]

 

In 1994, SXSW added film and interactive conferences. SXSW Film has become one of the world's premiere film festivals, focusing on new directing talent. Similarly, SXSW Interactive has attracted a strong following among web creators and entrepreneurs. SXSW Interactive's focus on emerging technology has earned the festival a reputation as a breeding ground for new ideas and creative technologies. Twitter launched at SXSW Interactive in 2007.

The music event has grown from 700 registrants in 1987 to nearly 12,000 registrants. SXSW Film and SXSW Interactive events attract approximately 11,000 registrants to Austin every March.[4]

Anyway, I'll be quite busy this week in Texas, as I'm doing half of interactive week, and half of music, so if you're anywhere near Austin, you need to be there! This is what my schedule looks like right now....

March 15, 2010 (Live Performance) @ Flamingo Cantina, Austin, TX, 12AM (no SXSW wristbands needed!)

March 16, 2010 – South By Southwest Festival Comedy Show (Random is the Featured Guest) @ The New Movement Theater, Austin, TX, 730 PM (no wristbands!)

March 17, 2010 – South By Southwest Festival (Panel Discussion) 12:30 PM – 1:30 PM, Room 11B, Austin Convention Center- Austin, TX (you'll need credentials)

March 17, 2010 –

South By Southwest Festival

(Official SXSW Showcase – Live set with K-Murdock) @ Karma Lounge, Austin, TX (you better have a wristband) - also on the bill, ytcracker, MC Frontalot, Jesse Dangerously and more!

as you can see by my schedule, It's gonna be a loooooooooooong week!

 I'm packing now, so I'll catch you guys on the flip side.. hope to see you in Texas or at a venue near you!

and speaking of venues, I'm looking to fill out some dates for a Spring and Summer tour, so let me know if your local college or club would be willing to have a little Random out there when the weather gets warm!

hit me here or at contact@megaran.com

Peace!

 

Video - Truth Universal - The "GRASSROOTS!" Campaign


From Joe Left Hand:

Video - Truth Universal - The "GRASSROOTS!" Campaign

K-Murdock: Panacea Gets Love on Mashable.com


From K-Murdock:

Panacea gets love on Mashable.com

Seems our recent Kickstarter campaign has garnered us some major attention on the world's largest social media news blog- Mashable.com.  BIG shouts to the homie Jeremy Caverly, aka "JC", who helped us initiate the movement to press up wax for "12 Step Program" in the first place.  We can't wait to bring this album out and again, the fan support has been beyond humbling... CHECK THE ARTICLE!
K

Posted via email from Neosonix's posterous

New Lushlife Leak / SXSW Showcase


From Stephen Bolles:
 
Philadelphia's Lushlife has always thrived on pushing listeners' buttons when it comes to their perceptions of what hip-hop can be.  Whether it's building a boom-bap rap track out of hyper chopped samples of lo-fi indie songwriter Ariel Pink, incorporating instruments like mandolin and live horns into his stage show, or soliciting remixes from psychedelic pop artists, it's clear that Lushlife has an all-encompassing view of hip-hop that he wants to impress on the world.  With his latest leak, the emcee/producer repurposes a track from Georgia glo-fi outfit Washed Out, transporting the track's beach side vibe to the street corner, & improbably conjuring images of Nas rapping over the 80's synth heavy "Wild Style" soundtrack. 
 
Don't miss Lushlife's performance at this year's SXSW, performing as a part of Favorite Gentlemen's eclectic showcase.  Details & RVSP info below. The Cassette City album and Leisure Class / Stick Up Kids remix project are out now on Rapster.
 

Lushlife- "Feel It All Around" (Remix of Washed Out) [mediafire] [zshare]

Thursday 3/18 @ The Belmont (305 West 6th St., Austin)
Favorite Gentlemen Showcase w/ Lushlife, Vonnegutt, Joy In Tomorrow & more
8:00 • Free W/ RSVP • 21+
More info
 
 Favorite Gentlemen/Ticket Alternative Present:

 

Video: Brisco - "Stunt"


From Chris Herche at E1 Entertainment:


Jedi Mind Tricks Present AOTP: The Unholy Terror


From Tonia Samman:

AOTP_album.jpg

Jedi Mind Tricks MC Vinne Paz has pulled together yet another Army of the Pharaohs album after a nearly three year hiatus. The collective now features Vinnie Paz & Jus Allah (Jedi Mind Tricks), Planetary & Crypt The Warchild (Outerspace), Apathy, Reef The Lost Cauze, Esoteric, Doap Nixon, King Magnetic, Des Devious, Block McCloud, Celph Titled, Demoz, King Syze, and more on an album titled Jedi Mind Tricks Presents… Army of the Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror. 

Jedi Mind Tricks will hit the road later this month for a 21-date tour across North America.

Army of the Pharaohs Unholy Terror http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnXjnjGxp54 .

Army of the Pharaohs - Contra Mantra http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/JediMindTricks_ContraMantra.mp3 .

Army of the Pharaohs - Godzilla http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/JediMindTricks_Godzilla.mp3 .

Jedi Mind Tricks Tour Dates:

03/24/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in New Haven, CT Toad’s Place United States
03/25/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Providence, RI Jerky’s United States
03/26/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Northampton, MA Pearl St. United States
03/27/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Buffalo, NY Mohawk Place United States
03/28/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Cleveland, OH Grog Shop United States
03/30/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Newport, KY Southgate House United States
03/31/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Ann Arbor Blind Pig United States
04/01/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Madison, WI The Annex United States
04/02/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Chicago, IL Subterranean United States
04/03/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in St. Louis, MO Firebird United States
04/06/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Omaha, NE The Waiting Room Lounge United States
04/07/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Columbia, MO Mojo’s United States
04/08/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Louisville, KY Uncle Pleasantss United States
04/09/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Pittsburgh, PA Diesel United States
04/10/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in West Chester, PA The Note United States
04/11/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Virginia Beach, VA The Jewish Mother United States
04/13/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Richmond, VA Canal Club United States
04/14/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Greensboro, NC Greene Street Club United States
04/15/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Atlanta, GA Masquerade – Hell Room United States
04/16/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle United States
04/17/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Washington, D.C. 9:30 Club United States

Pre-order Army of the Pharaohs’ Unholy Terror: http://itunes.apple.com/us/preorder/army-pharaohs-the-unholy-terror/id359177886 .

For More Information: http://www.armyofthepharaohs.com .
K-Murdock - "Forever Famicom" Debuting @ SxSW


From K-Murdock:

"Forever Famicom" Debuting @ SxSW

The homie Random & myself will be rockin' Austin, Texas next week during South by Southwest 2010.  Our project, "Forever Famciom", is practically done and we are gearing up for its' (tentative) Spring release. SxSW is known for attracting a great mix of hip-hop heads as well as gamers, so we may even perform a couple tracks off the project for those lucky enough to be in attendance!  Either way, catch me holding Mega Ran down on the LIVE music tip next week at the following venues...

3/15 @ The Flamingo Cantina (Showtime = Midnight)
3/17 @ Karma Lounge (Showtime = 11pm)

If you read this and will be in Austin too, then come check us out & make sure u say, "Hey!"

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to Neosonic News

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 8th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for you: Actress' "Ghettoville," Chance The Rapper's "10 Day," Gio's "Real," Steve 'Flash' Juon's PremRock Interview and The Hip-Hop Shop #266, Kev Sez' "First Attempt at a Second Chance," Mega Ran's "River City Random," Moodie Black's "Nausea" (our featured review), Sister Crayon's "Still||Cynic" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 1, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the Post-WrestleMania 30 Podcast from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive