Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Johnny Spanish - "Up in the Clouds"


From Chris at E1 Music:

Video: Johnny Spanish - "Up in the Clouds"

PR: Dee-1 Set to Drop "I Hope They Hear Me: Vol. 2"


From Nancy B:

Dee-1 Set to Drop "I Hope They Hear Me: Vol. 2"

New Orleans, LA - Has the recession ended the 'bling rap' era? Does it signal a return to songs with more substance? Up-and-comer Dee-1  is counting on it. Not to say that he wishes to be placed in the commercially overlooked 'backpacker' rap pack; he'd rather carve his own lane, but Dee-1 didn't take his decision to leave his full-time position as a middle school teacher, to become a full-time music artist, lightly.

David Augustine aka Dee-1 always had a passion for music. After graduating from Louisiana State with a Bachelors in marketing, he began teaching middle school as a way of funding that passion. The strong bond he built with his students, even as his notoriety as a local artist began to grow, made him realize that being Dee-1 gave him a much larger platform to enlighten than being Mr. Augustine and so, his career choice was made.

Since then there has been his highly successful mixtapes, Still We Rise, I Am Who I Am and I Hope They Hear Me, an independent album, David & Goliath (nominated for for Hip Hop Album of the Year by Offbeat magazine) and live performances alongside the likes of Lil Wayne, Drake, Lupe Fiasco, Trey Songz, Akon, Talib Kweli and more, where his star power was evident. Dee-1 was also the first rap act to win the annual Louisiana State University "Battle of the Bands."

Next up for this unapologetic musical educator is his new mixtape, I Hope They Hear Me: Vol. #2, set to drop as a free download later this year. The first single/video for the tape is "Jay, 50 and Weezy", a lyrical challenge from Dee-1 to those he looks up to in the game.

VIDEO: - "Jay, 50 & Weezy" http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P1IGfv8zSgw .

DOWNLOAD LINK: http://tinyurl.com/Dee1Jay50Weezy .

Here also are a couple of recent features on Dee-1: -

    * http://www.urbanorleans.com/site/2010/06/24/dee-1-dont-clap-just-listen/ .
    * http://www.wordofsouth.com/2010/09/20/dee-1-crescent-city-soldier-interview/ .

The educator in Dee-1 is undeniable. He still frequently mentors youth and is a regular on the lecture circuit. Whether on the stage or in a classroom he has captured not only the ears, but the hearts of young people with his authenticity.

The movement is rolling. Feel free to jump on board.

PR: Brokencyde Debut New Song 'Teach Me How To Scream' Online


From Kerosene Media:

Brokencyde Debut New Song 'Teach Me How To Scream' Online

Crunkcore innovators Brokencyde have debuted the song “Teach Me How To Scream” online at MySpace.com/Brokencyde. The track is taken from the group’s sophomore album, "Brokencyde - Will Never Die”, which hits stores on November 9th, 2010 through BreakSilence Recordings.
 
"We are super stoked for everyone to hear 'Teach Me How To Scream', as its classic Brokencyde with a bit of new flava," commented Mikl from Brokencyde. "The song has a jerk style beat and then we put our own twist on it! We figured this would be the perfect track to release, as it kind of bridges the gap between the last record and our new album.”
 
Brokencyde will kick off their Ka$h 4 Ku$h Tour alongside The Millionaires, Kill Paradise, and The Hit beginning November 2nd in Lancaster, CA.
 
BROKENCYDE TOUR DATES:
Nov 02 - Lancaster, CA - Cedar Centre
Nov 03 - Orangevale, CA - The Boardwalk
Nov 04 - Modesto, CA - Modesto Virtual
Nov 06 - Salt Lake City, UT - Avalon Theater
Nov 07 - Denver, CO - Marquis Theatre
Nov 09 - Burnsville, MN - The Garage
Nov 10 - Milwaukee, WI - The Rave
Nov 11 - West Dundee, IL - Clearwater Theater
Nov 12 - Pontiac, MI - Eagle Theater
Nov 13 - Indianapolis, IN - Emerson Theatre
Nov 15 - Cleveland, OH - Peabody's
Nov 16 - Pittsburgh, PA - Diesel
Nov 17 - Buffalo, NY - Xtreme Wheelz
Nov 18 - Lancaster, PA - The Chameleon
Nov 19 - Worcester, MA - The Palladium
Nov 20 - Poughkeepsie, NY - The Loft
Nov 21 - Hackensack, NJ - School of Rock
Nov 22 - Farmingdale, NY - Crazy Donkey
Nov 23 - Allentown, PA - Crocodile Rock
Nov 27 - Metairie, LA - The High Ground
Nov 28 - San Antonio, TX - The White Rabbit
Nov 30 - Dallas, TX - The Loft
Dec 01 - Mesa, AZ - The Nile
Dec 02 - San Diego, CA - Soma Sidestage
Dec 03 - Mesa, AZ - The Nile
Dec 05 - Anaheim, CA - The Chain Reaction

PR & Video: Billy Drease - "Marathon Man"


From DTR45:

Billy Drease - "Marathon Man"

Good morning, good afternoon or good evening, depending on when you’re reading this. It's been a while since we last hit you up and I hope, like me, your still chasin' AMY.

Nearly one year ago to date, I was on a magical, vibrant and expansive equestrian farm shooting the video for "Shut the Gate," the leading single off Good Morning Amy. In May, Director Dominic Luongo and I collaborated on the simple, sleek and special-effects driven "Just Doin' It" video, which is climbing to 500k views on YouTube. Over the last few weeks we've been workin' hard to bring you what we've dubbed a Long Form Video for the album's third single, "Run."

The visual treatment for "Run" is unlike any we've done thus far. Characters, sub-plots and time sequences develop organically in this video, which features many new talents, faces and locations both in and outside of Buffalo. It explores the deeper, darker side of Billy Drease as he goes through a physical transformation, experiencing love, pain, loss, recovery and renewal.

"Run," produced by long-time friend and collaborator Trevor "TrevThorne" Drayton, is available on iTunes today. Check out a sneak peak of the video now and look for the extended feature to drop soon. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v-cuxOVmSPk .

Billy Drease Williams' Good Morning Amy, featuring the YouTube smash hit "Just Doin' It", is now available. Pick up the CD from Amazon or download the MP3s from iTunes today!

Keep Runnin',
Billy Drease Williams, DTR45

* http://www.goodmorningamy.com *
* http://www.billydrease.com *
* http://www.dtr45.com *

MP3: Virtuoso - "Propaganda" (prod. by Blue Sky Black Death)


From Big Bang Records:

MP3: Virtuoso - "Propaganda" (prod. by Blue Sky Black Death)

Produced by acclaimed indie hip-hop phenomenons Blue Sky Black Death, Propaganda is an exemplary example of Virtuosos fierce lyrical abilities and extensive political knowledge. Propaganda will appear on Virtuoso's forthcoming LP "The Final Conflict" on Big Bang Records.

PR: Immortal Technique & BURNTmd on 2DB


From BURNTmd:

Immortal Technique & BURNTmd on 2DB

Whats good! 

Not sure if you got my last email about the video I posted on YouTube - Live from Vermont: Immortal Technique, Mohamad Dangerfield, Nastee & A-dog, and myself

Since than, one of hip hop's most well known blogs/websites 2DopeBoyz.com has posted the video!

Make sure you check it out, along with many of the other pieces of history on my YouTube.com/BURNTmd channel

Enjoy yourselves!

B

http://www.2dopeboyz.com/2010/10/04/immortal-technique-x-hasan-salaam-live-in-vermont-video/

Random/Mr. Miranda "Fabshawn & Mirandom" f/ Mistah FAB & Fashawn


From Random:

Random/Mr. Miranda "Fabshawn & Mirandom" f/ Mistah FAB & Fashawn 

Last summer, Philly rep Random (aka Mega Ran) and Phoenix spitter Mr. Miranda got together and planned an EP release, called Mirandom.  While you wait for the EP, enjoy the first leak, a soulful banger featuring Mistah FAB and Fashawn, entitled "Fabshawn and Mirandom."

Random and Mr. Miranda, feat. Mistah FAB and Fashawn
"Fabshawn and Mirandom."
Produced by DN3


link: http://usershare.net/fku81ful1asi

BONUS: Random and Mr. Miranda: "Just Another Case 2010"
link: http://usershare.net/h3njj65zkc1a


Random and Miranda have new projects that just hit the net in the past week, Peep:

Random's Heroes:
http://random.bandcamp.com/album/heroes-volume-one


Mr. Miranda and Jimmy Nelson's The J&D Experience:
http://jimmyandmrmiranda.bandcamp.com/

hit them all on Twitter!

@megaran
@mistermiranda83
@fashawn
@mistahFAB
@DN30001

The (W)rap Up - Week of September 28, 2010


[Wake Up!]The Roots :: Wake Up!
Sony Music/Columbia Records

Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon


"The most surprising about the collaboration between John Legend and The Roots is that they haven't done it more often! There's an unforced musical synchronicity when they team up, as though they all grew up on the same block in Philadelphia and kept it all the way live from the 2-1-5 since day one. Of course that's not true given Legend was actually born and raised in Springfield, Ohio and didn't come to Philly until he attended the University of Pennsylvania, but you'd never know it by listening to them record together. The naturally invigorating sound of their union on "The Fire" fron "How I Got Over" inspired Black Thought to quip to that they "shine bright as the example of a champion." Absolutely true. Legend's soulful croon is deeply rooted in rap tunes, as evidenced by the multiple times he's worked with hip-hop's best from Common to Kanye West. Pair him with the live instrumentation of ?uestlove and crew though and BOOM! Pure dynamite. "

Dorrough :: Get Big :: E1 Music
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon
 
[Get Big]"Dorwin Demarcus Dorrough took the hip-hop world by surprise with his first album "Dorrough Music." Coming straight out of Dallas, Texas the baller turned rapper turned even more ears with the runaway commercial success of "Ice Cream Paint Job." Even those who couldn't afford to floss candy paint like D could appreciate how catchy the song was and how natural his flow and sense of humor were. Whether it was his homemade mixtapes that built up his confidence or raw talent that just needed a major label and good producers to shine, either way Dorrough made an immediate impact and already had consumers and hip-hop followers anticipating how he could follow his unexpectedly strong debut. With the self-titled first single off "Get Big," friends and foes both got their answer: "

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_dorroughgetbig.html

Ian Wellz :: Jim Beam: No Chaser :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace
 

[Jim Beam: No Chaser] "I'm not as much of a drinker as I used to be in my younger and wilder days. Maybe it's the recession or maturity or perhaps some combination of the two that has calmed me down. For a long period of time, I was a Bacardi Gold man and no one could tell me any different. I've since moved around a bit, experimenting with drinks like Crown Royal, Jack Daniels, Stolichnaya or whatever else I was in my presence. Lately, I've started drinking the same whiskey that my old man used to drink, Chivas Regal. It's not bad...a Scottish blended whiskey that has a slight edge over the Canadian blend, Crown Royal. Jim Beam is a bourbon whiskey, in fact, it is the number one bourbon whiskey in the world. Meet Ian Wellz, a producer, songwriter and performer from Newark, NJ who draws musical influence from Mos Def, Common, Ryan Leslie and Ne-Yo, among others." 

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_jimbeamnochaser.html
 
Madlib :: Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz :: Stones Throw Records
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

[Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz] 
"There's an ice cream shop in San Francisco called Humphrey Slocombe that specializes in "unique" flavors. So unique that they got written up in the New York Times about a month ago. Their most famous flavor is Secret Breakfast, which is vanilla with bourbon and cornflakes. Some of their flavors, like Secret Breakfast, offer a unique take on old standards, and end up being really good. However, a lot of them are just weird. I've tried their Peanut Butter Curry, which was edible but wacky, their Salt and Pepper, which was kinda gross, and their Balsamic Caramel, which was fucking nasty. My problem with Humphrey Slocombe is that their ice cream is interesting, but not particularly enjoyable. Which brings me to Madlib's latest installment of his monthly Medicine Show, "High Jazz." This disc contains thirteen songs of Madlib's various avant-jazz incarnations."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_madlib7highjazz.html

MC Eiht featuring CMW :: We Come Strapped :: Sony/Epic Street
** RapReviews "Back to the Lab" series **

as reviewed by Pete T.

[We Come Strapped] 
"While virtually incomparable as musicians, many parallels can be drawn between the careers of hip hop pioneers MC Eiht and KRS-One, each a forerunner in his respective coast's rap history. Each came to prominence as a member of an acclaimed yet controversial collective, Compton's Most Wanted in Eiht's case and Boogie Down Productions in KRS-One's, and after initial success both watched their crews crumble around them as their larger-than-life characters commanded a greater portion of the spotlight. BDP's Scott La Rock died after their groundbreaking 1987 debut "Criminal Minded," CMW's MC Chill was sentenced to three years behind bars following their 1990 debut "It's a Compton Thang," and the rotating rosters of what were essentially supporting players led many listeners to consider Eiht and KRS as synonymous with their crews. "
 
http://rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_wecomestrapped.html

Moe Green :: Rocky Maivia: Non-Title Match :: Interdependent Media
as reviewed by Matt Jost
 

[Non-Title Match] "Everybody will attest Moe Green to be a contemporary rap artist. His style and sound are that of credible mixtape grinders like Wale, Curren$y, etc. Yet although he gives it away for free, Moe is intent on calling "Rocky Maivia" an album, not a mixtape. This album then meets one major requirement - it's listenable. 17 tracks of new school production make for an unsually memorable free-download experience. Opener "Going for the Kill" makes good use of La Roux' "In for the Kill," the sampled vocals emerging slowly in a track stripped down to a dark, hovering bassline and a lone, airy keyboard. More traditional territory is covered with the jazzy, strumming "Non-Title Match." The Nick Maples-produced "Emerald City" lives up to its name with delicate, melodic instrumentation inhabiting a roomy track. Rumbling drums rattle in the background of DJ Ammbush's "Daydreamer" as chanteuse Ragen Fykes lends her jazzy flair to the breezy West Coast track."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_nontitlematch.html

Mr. D.O.G. :: Streets of Tha Tac :: Bow Wow Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Streets of Tha Tac] 
"Asking yourself what "Tha Tac" is right now? Well we're not doing our job at RapReviews.com if we don't answer questions like that so for our readers dying to know it's TACOMA, WASHINGTON. If you didn't know they got it in as hard and as gangster as Mr. D.O.G. seems to on "Streets of Tha Tac," it's worth noting that his fledgling Bow Wow Records label (no relation to Shad Gregory Moss) nearly got derailed when D.O.G. did a three year bid in federal detainment. In all likelihood Tacoma is long overdue for this kind of exposure, having to play second fiddle to its more famous sister Seattle, known to some for grunge music but to RR readers as home to everyone from Common Market to Sir Mix-A-Lot. Now is the time for Tacoma's hip-hop scene to step out of Seattle's shadow and Mr. D.O.G. is fin' to be the man to do it with songs like "She's 100." "


http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_streetsoftac.html

Nasty Nyne :: Digital Dope :: Smokebox Music Group
as reviewed by Pedro 'DJ Complejo' Hernandez

[Digital Dope] 
"Michigan is usually known for horrorcore or gangsta rap, but Nasty Nyne is looking to add a new dimension to Michigan hip-hop. "Digital Dope" is 14 tracks of rough and rugged raps with east coast flair. While the style isn't new, it is a style you don't often associate with Michigan. Further differentiating Nasty Nyne from the pack is the fact he represents Lansing, Michigan, a town that to my knowledge hasn't produced a major rap star. With "Digital Dope," Nasty Nyne is out to prove a small city boy with a big city swag is enough "dopeness" to attract the fiends. The first thing one notices on "Digital Dope" is the complete lack of originality in the beats. I give credit to Nyne for not copping out by dropping a "mixtape" full of original beats, but he does use other beats enough for it to be an issue. The original beats on the album either use classic samples or are very generic."

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_digitaldope.html


Random (Mega Ran) :: Heroes, Volume One :: RAHM Nation
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon
 

[Heroes, Volume One] "Raheem Jarbo is a hip-hop artist who maintains two different personas with one impressive voice. On the one hand there's Random, underground hip-hop rapper and producer. On the other hand there's Mega Ran, unapologetic video game enthusiast making cool concept albums and rhyming about robots. The good news for rap listeners is that he's never been forced to choose one over the other, and both have received critical acclaim for their releases over the last ten years. With his latest free album "Heroes, Volume One" Jarbo chooses to acknowledge both personalities in listing the credit artist, although it is telling that Mega Ran is put into parentheses. Random is not disavowing the dopeness of side scrolling, triple shot shooting, blue clad warriors from the year 20XX and beyond - rather he's putting that aside just for now to speak on something personal to him."


http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_heroesvolumeone.html

Duane Stephenson :: Black Gold :: VP Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

[Black Gold] 

"It's not every day you hear a reggae performer who could double for an soul singer from Detroit sans the Jamaican accent, but Duane Stephenson is not your every day recording artist. The 34 year old dread was originally the lead singer and songwriter for a successful vocal group called To-Isis, until in 2007 he decided to branch out on his own and try his luck as a soloist on "From August Town." The title track and the album both won praise from critics who appreciated both the range of his voice and the fearless way he documented the good and bad of his poverty stricken and war-torn Kingston community. Regrettably I missed that solo debut but having listened to "Black Gold" I think I'm going to have to go back and check it out. Stephenson is quite a wonder for the ear to behold. His accent and pronunciations are still wrapped in the island nation he hails from, but so powerful is his vocal tone and the diaphragm which pushes it out over the microphone that almost every word will make perfect sense to even the most jaded listener who thinks they can't understand Carribean music. "


[Thus Far]

"Tree City is a five man crew consisting of Cheeks on vocals, Clavius Crates on vocals and production, DJ Cataclysmic on the mic and (obviously) the wheels of steel, G.P. on vocals and M.I.C. on vocals and production. If the group's name is not familiar to you, you can check out our previous coverage of their collabo' with Black Milk entitled "Black Trees" or their shorter but equally enjoyable "TreE.P.." There's just something in the water out there in Ace Deuce (Ann Arbor) because these Trees have grown strong in hip-hop. It's a town that at times seems ready to tear itself apart at the seems, balancing a huge Wolverines college community with life-long residents who do not necessarily share their mindset on anything other than Michigan football - and not always that. Still having lived there and been to the "The Big House" myself I can tell you the game of pigskin is given more respect than the rap game, even though the influx of youth every year means the town always has a thriving underground hip-hop sound. "

http://rapreviews.com/archive/2010_09_treecitythusfar.html

Hip-Hop Shop #93 - A Strange Day to Hit Rock Bottom




Every weekend we air a new edition of Hip-Hop Shop on BlogTalkRadio like the one you're about to hear - Episode #93 - A Strange Day to Hit Rock Bottom. Once again I've yelled my voice out at a college football game, so even though I'm low vocally you can still get high musically with Senor Kaos, Mad Child, Nottz and Boog Brown among others! Send your feedback, podsafe (RIAA free) music, and advertising requests to dj.flash@rapreviews.com. Thanks for listening and remember to share the show with a friend and tell them to check out the replay every Tuesday on RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Senor Kaos - Strange Day
* Scifi Stu f/ Ill Poetix - What Y'all Waitin For
* Mad Child - Rock Bottom
* Nottz f/ Asher Roth, Colin Munroe - Don'tcha Wanna Be My Neighbor
* Shaun Scales - City of Men
* Boog Brown f/ Poodie the Byz - My Love
* Rozewood - Nightmare Author
* Taku - Yes (Tribute to Jun)

Video: Cassidy "Drumma Bass" Behind the Scenes


From Chris at E1 Music:

Video: Cassidy "Drumma Bass" Behind the Scenes


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive