Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Saturday April 19, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
DJ Khaled's "Road to Victory" Webisodes 1 & 11


Koch Records sent us DJ Khaled's "Road to Victory" Webisodes 1-11, but since that's an awful lot to embed in just one news post we're including the first chapter and last chapter in this post. You can find all the rest by scrolling through the related videos at the end of each one.

Episode 1

Episode 11

Oddisee - "San Francisco", "Chicago", "Khartoum" + Album Release


From Audible Treats:

Oddisee - "San Francisco", "Chicago", "Khartoum" + Album Release      01.26.2010
Oddisee Takes Listeners On A Three City, World Tour With First Offering From New Album Traveling Man


The MP3's:

As a musician, life is often lived on the road. Each city leaves its imprint on the artist as they develop their craft. For Oddisee, the producer and MC brainchild behind 2009's critically acclaimed Diamond District, the life and travels of the artist is no mystery. Touring, recording, and keeping up with friends and family took Oddisee beyond his hometown of Washington DC to Australia, Europe, Asia, Africa, and South America. Rather than keep these experiences to himself, Oddisee is instead releasing a new 24-track instrumental album, sharing his worldly experiences – through music, directly with his fans; a 24 city sonic tour of the world. With this new release, Oddisee is the Traveling Man.

Being released digitally today and as a limited edition vinyl pressing on February 23rd, Traveling Man is an instrumental album truly influenced by the producer's surroundings. Each track was produced while Oddisee stayed in the city it was titled after. With these first three, take a visit to the festive "San Fran" as you travel with the woman who so smoothly sings, "Do everything you wanted to do, you're on your own, that's how it goes". Or take a ride to "Chicago" where you can let your swagger loose on the windy streets as a soft voice is conjured up to serenade you over the beat's guitar plucks, horns, and dense instrumentation. Not confined to U.S. borders, Oddisee next takes you overseas, as the hypnotic "Khartoum" in Sudan beckons you to visit its streets. No need for a passport because Oddisee sees the world, so that you can hear it. Listen up.

Oddisee's Traveling Man is available digitally today via Mello Music Group.

"San Fran": http://media.audibletreats.com/Oddisee-San_Fran.mp3 .
"Chicago": http://media.audibletreats.com/Oddisee-Chicago.mp3 .
"Khartoum": http://media.audibletreats.com/Oddisee-Khartoum.mp3 .

Background:

Since producing and performing the hit track "Musik Lounge" for DJ Jazzy Jeff's Magnificent LP, Amir "Oddisee" Mohamed has pushed his involvement in the music industry into fifth gear. Taking advantage of working at A Touch of Jazz studios, Oddisee has incorporated the neo soul vibe of Philly into his eclectic and well-decorated resume. Coming from a diverse background, the half Sudanese, half African-American was blessed with musical talent from both sides of his family. Oddisee was influenced by the accomplished singers, guitarists, and poets on his Sudanese side, and on his American side, by the gospel singers, blue grass guitar players, and older cousins who gave him his first taste of hip-hop. Ironically, though, it was his Sudanese father that gave Oddisee the vinyl that fueled his passion for producing hip-hop music.

Since turning his focus towards hip-hop, Oddisee has worked with the likes of Gary Shider of Parliament and Funkadelic, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Talib Kweli, J-Live, Little Brother, Freeway, Flying Lotus, and many other respected recording artists. Now signed with Mello Music Group, Oddisee continues to be one of the hardest working producer/emcees in hip-hop, preparing to release an instrumental project, a solo project, a second Diamond District album, full album production for Finale, Trek LIfe, and Stik Figa, and is executive producing a handful of other projects. With his incredibly distinctive and mesmerizing style, Oddisee covers just about every sect of hip-hop music, creating a sound that is appealing to all music lovers. Born in Washington D.C. and raised in Maryland, Oddisee and his "Low Budget" crew, including such hip hop artists and producers as Kev Brown, Kenn Starr, and his group Diamond District (XO and yU) have already managed to leave their mark on the hip-hop community and the D.C. metropolitan area.

About Mello Music Group:

Like Lao Tzu in hip-hop, Mello Music Group provides music for the soul, from the heart of American culture, opening the realm of the intelligent hip-hop experience through melodic evocations, beats that corroborate the truth, and voices that roar above the rising void and impose order on the terrible & triumphant moments of everyday life. This is the compelling sound of Mello Music Group. Industry newcomer Michael Tolle founded MMG in 2007 and is acting Director of Operations. MMG will be releasing projects from Oddisee, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Kenn Starr, Finale, Trek Life, Dudley Perkins, Sareem Poems, and YU in 2010. http://www.myspace.com/mellomusicgroup .

Odd Winter Mixtape download: http://oddisee.bandcamp.com/ .

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/diamond_district/ .

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/oddisee and http://www.twitter.com/MelloMusicGroup .

CD Baby & Mr. Green Partner for Haiti Relief Effort


From Mr. Green:

Buy any Mr. Green CD or download an album and CD Baby will donate $1 per album to Haitian Relief

For the next two weeks, if you order any of my albums from cdbaby.com, they will donate $1.00 per album to the American Red Cross Haiti Relief and Development Fund.  

CD Baby: "After collecting donations in the office and volunteering our time to help sort and ship supplies, we wanted to do more to help the victims of the horrible earthquake tragedy in Port Au Prince, Haiti. By selling your music on CD Baby, you can help raise funds towards those affected by the disaster.  Starting on Monday, January 25th and continuing for two weeks, we will donate $1 from every CD sale through our website, and $1 from every download sale over $8.99 on our site, to the American Red Cross and to Mercy Corps, a Portland-based relief organization with a large presence in Haiti. With your help, we hope to raise tens of thousands of dollars."

I also donated a small amount to the Red Cross but I wanted to take this opportunity to invite my supporters to do the same.

I have four full albums available, through CD Baby:

1. "The Only Color That Matters is Green"
BUY: www.cdbaby.com/cd/pacewonmrgreen .
LISTEN: www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DQWvOM5sUQ .

2. "Green Future"
BUY: www.cdbaby.com/cd/greenhiphop .
LISTEN: www.youtube.com/watch?v=VlALytopVxE .

3. "Classic Beats Volume 1"
BUY: www.cdbaby.com/cd/greenhiphop2 .
LISTEN: www.youtube.com/watch?v=8WKK2P38tMY&feature=related .

4. "Classic Beats Volume 2"
BUY: www.cdbaby.com/cd/greenhiphop3 .
LISTEN: www.youtube.com/watch?v=CZhrYj5umSI .
 
As always, thank you for your support,
-Aaron (Mr.) Green

Fuse "Gets it Started" in February with Black Eyed Peas


From Special Ops Media:

FUSE “GETS IT STARTED” IN FEBRUARY WITH THE BLACK EYED PEAS

New York, NY (January 26, 2010) –  Fuse, Madison Square Garden’s national music television network, continues its Artist Takeover Mondays on February 1st with an entire day dedicated to The Black Eyed Peas.  Starting at 11am ET, viewers can catch exclusive interviews, music videos and concert performances from the Grammy-winning group in a block of artist dedicated shows like “The Black Eyed Peas: Then & Now” and “Loaded: The Black Eyed Peas.”

The globally recognized hip hop group broke through the music scene with their 2003 Elephunk album.  Since then, The Black Eyed Peas have won over fans of all genres through their energizing songs, lyrics and music videos.  Watch their seven-year career develop from classics like “Let’s Get it Started” and “Shut Up,” to today’s hits – “Boom Boom Pow” and “Meet Me Halfway.” 

The Black Eyed Peas: Then & Now – Monday at 7pm ET

This hour-long exclusive interview with the band touches on what their fifth studio album, “The E.N.D.” meant for them, the craziness of touring the world and their wild ride rising to success.

Loaded: The Black Eyed Peas – Monday at 8:30pm ET

Take a tour through some of the group’s biggest hits in this half-hour music video franchise solely dedicated to The Black Eyed Peas.

F1 Rocks Singapore Live – Monday at 12am

Catch highlights of a three-night musical extravaganza surrounding the 2009 F1 race in Singapore, featuring performances by Black Eyed Peas in this hour-long music special.

WHAT: ARTIST TAKEOVER: BLACK EYED PEAS

PREMIERE: February 1, 2010 at 11am ET

CHANNEL #: DirecTV 339 / EchoStar 158; cable subscribers, check local listing

WEBSITE: http://www.fuse.tv .

K-Murdock - Piano-rama Is HERE!!!


From K-Murdock:


This brainchild of mine took over 7 years to complete, but i am more than proud to FINALLY share it with you all!  Thanx to all the artist who contributed, Tasteful Licks for assisting in its' release, and last but not least, the legendary pianist/producer Ryuichi Sakamoto, who inspired me to make this album in the first place!  Aside from the obvious digital download sites, i encourage everyone to cop the USB Card version, which is exclusively available through Tasteful Licks website!  My last post details all that the card includes via this fresh, new approach to physical music distribution, which subsequently reflects the way i categorize my own music as... progressive!

Enjoy,
K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Little Brother Announces April 20th Release for LeftBack


From Audible Treats:

Little Brother Announces Release Date Of April 20th For New LP LeftBack      01.26.2010
Bonus DVD With Never Seen Before Footage To Accompany Limited First Run


(January 26, 2010 – Brooklyn, NY) Favorites of fans and critics alike, Little Brother, the North Carolina duo of Phonte and Rapper Big Pooh, is proud to finally confirm the release of an album people have been waiting on for years. LeftBack, which will be the fourth album of Little Brother’s illustrious career, will be available April 20th via Hall Of Justus.

Little Brother members Phonte and Rapper Big Pooh worked through several versions of the album before locking in the final version of LeftBack. Close followers of Little Brother may already be familiar with the LeftBack title, however, any previously held notions of this album being an EP should be dismissed. Little Brother opted to scrap the EP concept and instead, crafted an album's worth of material for those who have been waiting patiently for new content. "I didn't want our last record to be a bunch of second-rate material," says Phonte. "I wanted to walk away from Little Brother knowing that I gave our fans all that I had to give, and said everything I wanted to say. With LeftBack, I've done that."

Continuing the tradition they set with the critically acclaimed GetBack, Big Pooh and Phonte have enlisted multiple producers for LeftBack, both from within and outside of the Justus League camp. Producers for this album include frequent collaborator Khrysis and GetBack producers Denaun Porter and Zo!, as well as efforts from Symbolyc One and first time Little Brother contributors, J. Bizness, and King Karnov.

In addition to production, Khyrsis will also be contributing guest vocals on the album. Joining the North Carolina producer/MC are Torae, Truck North, Jozeemo and fellow Justus League MC's Chaundon and Median. Resident crooner Darien Brockington and songstress Yahzarah also supply vocals on the album.

Despite Little Brother's dominating presence in the hip-hop world since the 2003 release of The Listening, LeftBack will mark the duo's first album with a true multi-media experience. Accompanying LeftBack will be four official music videos, all shot and directed by Matt Koza, known for his previous work with Foreign Exchange, Rapper Big Pooh, Kam Moye, RJD2, and more. While not customary for a Little Brother release – the group has had only one previous official video, for The Minstrel Show's "Lovin' It" – with LeftBack, Little Brother is excited to offer loyal supporters a long-desired visual take on the group's music. Says Big Pooh, "Three albums, three mixtapes, one video. It doesn't make a whole lot of sense in this day and age. We have always lacked in the visual department, and I think it will be refreshing to finally offer the people those visuals."

Building on the album's multi-media offerings, the initial pressing of LeftBack will also feature a limited edition DVD full of exclusive bonus material. Compiled in a documentary format, the bonus DVD will include recent tour footage, as well as exclusive Little Brother footage shot and archived throughout their career. For fans that miss the initial run, a subsequent DVD-only release will also include all official music videos from LeftBack.

Fans can expect further announcements from Little Brother, including tour info and other interesting developments on LeftBack's road to the release.

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/little_brother .

Twitter: http://twitter.com/phontigallo and http://twitter.com/RapperBigPooh .

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/littlebrother .

Dirtball Joins the Kottonmouth Kings


From Kerosene Media:

Dirtball Joins The Kottonmouth Kings & Gets Initiated Into The Group By Tattooing A KMK Crown On His Chest
 
The Kottonmouth Kings have revealed the next era in their ongoing legacy by announcing the addition of the group’s newest member, the Dirtball. This notorious party monster has been a label mate of Kings for years, releasing a series of cult classic albums under the Suburban Noize banner and doing countless tours alongside the group. The group initiated the Oregon based rapper by having him get a KMK crown tattooed on his chest. The logo is a symbol of pride worn by not only the group, but it’s thousands of die-hard fans who have it tattooed all over their bodies. Fans can watch Dirtball’s initiation into the group below.


 
“This is most definitely a huge step for me in the rap path,” commented Dirtball about joining the group. “I am honored to be joining such a strong force as the Kottonmouth Kings, and I’m proud to have found a band of brothers who not only have an endless array of talent, but they smoke just as much weed as I do.”
 
"Dirtball is really one of the sickest rappers in the game right now," added Daddy X. "To have him join us on this musical journey is going to be amazing. The guy parties harder than Motley Crüe in their heyday and he manages to bring a mind-blowing velocity to everything he does. Please don’t give this guy’s number to Dr. Drew or we’re fucked!”
 
The planets have aligned perfectly for the release of the Kottonmouth Kings’ new studio album, “Long Live The Kings”, which coincides with the counterculture pot-smoking holiday observed each April 20th.

RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) in Studio with Statik Selektah


RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) in Studio with Statik Selektah

The (W)rap Up - Week of January 19th, 2010


Wu-Tang :: Return of the Wu & Friends
Gold Dust Media/!K7 Label Group
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

""Return of the Wu & Friends" can thus be considered a curious release because TECHNICALLY speaking it's nothing new. After carefully breaking down the album and scrutinizing the press release that came with this CD, it's clear that Wu family member Mathematics has COMPILED a new Wu album as opposed to the Clan recording all new material. A few tracks are correctly defined as "exclusive" for this release, but a 90%+ majority of what's here is material the Clan recorded between 2000 and 2008. What does this mean for the listener/consumer? It means some of the tracks here were intended for "The W," "Iron Flag" or "8 Diagrams" but ultimately got left on the cutting room floor."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01F_returnofthewu.html

B.G. :: Too Hood 2 Be Hollywood :: E1 Entertainment/Atlantic Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Chris Dorsey better known as B.G. can lay claim to the title "respected veteran" at only 29 in an industry where most people get that after 40. He's been able to earn that rank due to being an original member of Cash Money Records and one of the most popular artists on that label as it rose to prominence in the 1990's. The story of how dictionaries everywhere had to add a definition for "bling bling" solely because of him is often told but completely true, putting B.G. in a rarified air of pop culture relevance right next to Homer Simpson. He has over a dozen albums as a solo artist or group member, millions of records sold worldwide, and his N'Awlins drawl is one of the most easily identifiable voices in hip-hop today. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_toohood2be.html

Blockhead :: The Music Scene :: Ninja Tune
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

""It's Raining Clouds," the opening track on NY beatmaker Blockhead's new album, starts off with booming drums, a melancholy mood, and scratched-in samples.  It sounds like the kind of beat DJ Shadow was making before he changed trajectory after "Endtroducing..." So does the majority of "The Music Scene, Blockhead's fourth album of instrumental hip hop. Although best known as Aesop Rock's go-to beatsmith, Blockhead has been releasing solo work since 2004, almost all on London's Ninja Tune label.  "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_blockmusicscene.html

Chipmunk ::I Am Chipmunk :: Columbia Records
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

"In that time, at lot has changed in the young life of Chipmunk, the annoyingly young and talented UK rapper. There are vague echoes of a Nas 2.0 in the build-up - he was only 18 when the album was released on Sony/Columbia, having already won a couple of trophies at the MOBO awards, besting the biggest American rappers two years in a row. It is safe to say that he had, up until that point, created a buzz that was probably unheard in the UK, especially for a kid finishing his A-Levels. Plus, he had MONEY behind him, being signed to a savvy major label that was willing to back him with production, marketing, promotion and all those other sickeningly inartistic ideals. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_iamchipmunk.html

Esinchill :: theFury EP :: RCeason
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Esinchill first crossed our radar in 2008 with an album staff writer Nervous summed up like this: "It is an enjoyable, safe listen for someone out on a first date with a lady who likes a little bit of champagne with her beer... but you will not be playing this one when you're getting ready to hit the bench press at the gym." In other words Esinchill's debut was a musically and lyrically interesting album, but generally a little too experimental to get over with the most hardcore of hip-hop heads. Having checked out his follow-up EP "theFury," it seems that E has made a little progress over his initial Bay Area debut.  "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_thefuryep.html

Baron Von Alias + Arhat :: GMT+1-Timezones & Loopholes :: BurnBlock Records
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"This time around, Alias aligns himself with his long-time partner in crime, Arhat. The last collaborative effort between these two, "The 13th Hour", was released in 2007. Keeping with the time element, this release is called "GMT+1-Timezones & Loopholes". For awhile, GMT was more like WTF to me. I'd see it when registering for a forum or something, but rarely gave a thought to what it actually stood for. As time went on, I just applied my now memorized setting of GMT-5 and kept it moving. Officially, GMT stands for Greenwich Mean Time and is the basis of world time. Baron and many of the guest emcees on the album hail from Newcastle which is in GMT+0. So why name the project "GMT+1"? Well, Arhat is from the Netherlands which is in the GMT+1 zone, but I think the bigger idea was to live in the future."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_gmtplusone.html

Lorenzo :: Rez Poetry :: myspace.com/lorenzosteel
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"Lorenzo is, by his own account, an Anishinabe MC from the Little Saskatchewan First Nation located in the Interlake Region of Manitoba. "Rez Poetry" seems to be his first release. The download package contains 6 tracks and front and back cover. If you're wondering (like I was) about the title, rez is short for reservation, apparently a common colloquialism regularly appearing in album titles, artist names and lyrics of Native rap acts. As for most of us, this is foreign territory to me. I feel like I enter a minefield of stereotypes when trying to approach something I don't even know how to address properly. "

Shabazz Palaces :: Shabazz Palaces :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"Shabazz Palaces is the new group of Seattle-based rapper Ishmael Butler, better known in the hip hop world as Butterfly from Digable Planets. The whole project is shrouded in mystery, and until recently Butler was trying to stay anonymous. Shabazz Palaces has been germinating for a few years, but they really made a splash last year with two untitled EPS, both of which featured removable patches with Islamic art.  They played their first live show at Neumos in Seattle on January 8, 2010, which is how I found out about them. I got an email from a friend who was at the show and it said simply, "I think the Seattle hip hop is about to blow up. I went to see Shabazz Palaces on Friday night and had my mind blown."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_shabazzpalaces.html

Shiest :: They Call Me Shiest :: ODC Productions
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Shiest has been kicking it on the independent hip-hop scene for more than a minute now. In fact once you find his bio online you learn Shiest has been around longer than that - he's been rapping since the late 1990's and has opened for fellow Canadian all-stars like Rascalz and Kardinal Offishall. In some respects it would seem our coverage of Shiest is long overdue, so props to his publicist Noel for getting "They Call Me Shiest" to RapReviews for coverage. The lead single "Nuttin' New" has already gotten over 5,000 plays on YouTube, so that's as good a place as any to start. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_01_theycallmeshiest.html

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #30


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "I pulled out all the stops for the first Adam B Experience podcast of 2010. It’s a whole new decade and in honor of that I have a whole lotta new music. If you’re in need of some motivation you’ll definitely want to crank this up because it starts with some really high energy joints that will work to get you moving faster than ten cups of coffee mixed with Red Bull (which sounds like an absolutely awful drink now that I think about it). Enjoy! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE so tell your friends to download ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive