Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday April 25, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Keepers of the Lost Art] Sahdeeq injure your fleet.

Shabaam Sahdeeq Review

Latest News Headlines
5 Videos & 5 Original Beaterator Tracks From Wax Poetics


From Wax Poetics:

We partnered with Rockstar Games and got 5 artists; Psycho Les (of the Beatnuts), Spree Wilson, Chico Mann, K-Def, & Chin Chin, to make original tracks on the Beaterator app on a Sony PSP.

Psycho Les
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfNCj4OrEes

Spree Wilson
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PCH-9qTQSxE

K-Def
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FBl_eST96UM

Chin Chin
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kgUYH8C31fk

Chico Mann
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=71bV10pKFjA

Paul Wall Joins OGPR & Readies Summer Release


From Nancy B:

PAUL WALL JOINS OGPR ROSTER, TOURS WITH CHAMILLIONAIRE AND READIES SUMMER RELEASE

It is always an honor to work with an artist whose name is synonymous with his genre. Paul Wall is such an artist and OGPR is proud to announce his recent inclusion to our roster.

With two #1 album debuts, a Platinum plaque and a Grammy nomination under his belt, not to mention having some of the hottest celebs in the nation rocking his signature diamond-encrusted grills at one point or another, Paul Wall is the embodiment of the Hip Hop success story. His journey began as a promoter for hometown indie label, Swisha House, along with childhood friend-turned-partner-in-rhyme, Chamillionaire, and culminated with him being largely instrumental in the growth of the Houston rap movement and it's rise into the national arena. There have been a total of 7 albums since then.

2010 finds Paul working on album #8, entitled Heart of a Champion, which is slated for a Summer release on Swisha House/Asylum/WMG. The first single, I'm On Patron, is a lyrical documentary of a feeling that most of us have experienced - and greatly regretted the next day - that of simply having too much fun of the liquid variety. Produced by Houston duo, Beanz n Kornbread, I'm On Patron is the perfect accompaniment to that 'blame it on the alchohol' kind of night.

Production credits will also go to long-time friend, Travis Barker, who, along with Paul and Skinhead Rob, form the group Expensive Taste, who will also have several songs on the album. Features are expected to include Jim Jones, Big Gipp and fellow Houstonites Chamillionaire, Slim Thug and Devin the Dude.

2010 also finds Paul's career coming full circle as he sets out on tour with Chamillionaire; a development that long-time fans of the two's early work have dreamt of, but were sure would never happen. The two kick off with a headlining appearance at Austin's SXSW festival for a Best of Texas show at La Zona Rosa on March 17th. The SXSW show also features performances by Dorrough, Trae Tha Truth, Fat Pimp, Chalie Boy and many more. Other stops along the tour include Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Phoenix, Dallas, Houston, Denver and Albuquerque with more cities to be announced soon.

Other places to watch out for Paul Wall are -

    * MTV Jams this Saturday, February 6th as the network airs it's Dr Teeth-produced Texas All Star Day special. The all day event sees the network airing videos and in-depth interviews with a host of both stars and up-and-comers from the great state of Texas - http://www.hiphoppress.com/2010/02/mtv-jams-turns-to-dr-teeth-to-create-texas-allstar-day.html .

    * NBA All Star Weekend in Dallas - you never know where he might pop up

Here is the download link for the single, I'm On Patron. It includes the radio, explicit and instrumental versions.

DOWNLOAD LINK: I'm On Patron - http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EIBO5U3C .

K-Murdock - New Year... New Projects!


From K-Murdock:

I figure the best way to counter-balance a negative (see post below), is with a positive!  Which leads me to announce that i got more good music on deck for 2k10!  Aside from the forthcoming Panacea album, which u can preview a track from on youtube, i also got 2 BIG side projects i been working on the last 2+ years!  For those who follow my blog you have heard me talkin' about these projects off and on but the time is NOW as they are both nearing completion...



1st off is the Nintendo-inspired album "Forever Famicom", which is a collaboration with my other favorite emcee from Philly, Random aka "Mega Ran".  Featuring sampled material from some of NES & SNES's classic game libraries, this album is for the hardcore gamers & progressive hip-hop heads alike!  Still deciding how to release it, but it'll be out Springtime for sure! Promo video coming soon...


Next up is a collaborative effort with my longtime friend Alona called The Ebony Bed.  This album has been a labor of love for the last 2 & half years, but its practically done and will be presented with a heavy visual aid to it as well!  Shouts to Aaron Hill, Chris Vanderhoof & my Panacean partner Raw Poetic for assisting in this album's creation.  Make sure to become a fan of EB on facebook so u can stay updated...
I also have various EPS & compilations in the works BUT these aforementioned projects, along with Panacea, will be my focal points for 2k10.  Should be a good year for Neosonic Productions; Thus far, I'm already humbled by some of the feedback "Piano-rama" is getting, so please keep it coming & definitely STAY TUNED!

K


--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

 

New LP's from Kidz In The Hall, DJ Babu & Basic Vocab


From Matt at Movement Marketing:

New LP's from Kidz In The Hall, DJ Babu & Basic Vocab

DJ Babu- Beat Tape Vol 2

“There was no holding back with this album, I wanted to get the beats out no matter what.  I wanted to give my fans a fresh body of music” Explains DJ Babu.  “My mission with these instrumentals are to put some doubters to rest.”  For having 10+ years of production experience under his belt, most people know Babu as the World Renown / Champion DJ.  “I want people to know my sound, all my beats come from a DJ mentality, so The Beat Tape Vol. 2 is a great outlet for me to showcase my production.”
 
DJ Babu's Beat Tape Vol. 2 will be released on 2-23-10 on Nature Sounds Records

Basic Vocab- A Better Way

Ready to reclaim the buzz that was generated from their debut, Basic Vocab returns On April 13th, 2010 with their sophomore LP, A Better Way, and returns in a very good space and very confident in the music they are creating, as Mental Growth confirms “I was in a very good place while recording A Better Way and I’m very proud of this project. Though we will still raise the decibels and violate some noise ordnances with the LP, we also ventured out more artistically and filled some topical voids as well.”  Similarly, JL Sorrell offers more insight into the group’s direction “From the music to the lyrics, it was a concerted effort, and we had fun making it- that’s the most important thing. I feel this album is something that is missing from hip-hop right now, its modern music with an old school feel.”

Kidz In The Hall- Land Of Make Believe

Just last year Kidz In The Hall released their critically acclaimed album, The In Crowd, (May 2008) which propelled them into the limelight with key tracks like "DRIVING DOWN THE BLOCK," and "LOVE HANGOVER" featuring Estelle. With tremendous support from national video networks the videos for these songs were placed in heavy rotation and even highlighted on shows such as MTV's TRL and BET's 106 & Park.

Kidz In The Hall went on to land exciting licensing deals with their music featured in EA Sports Madden 09, Rockstar Game's Midnight Club LA, Activision's Pimp My Ride 2 and EA Sports upcoming game NBA LIVE 2010.

The group remained active touring both North America and Europe, performing with the likes of Method Man & Redman, Gym Class Heroes, Atmosphere, The Clipse, MURS, and as a part of Rock The Bells and Paid Dues Tours.

Kidz In The Hall are excited for the world to hear their next project. Double-O proclaims, “Since we were backpackers on the first album and Hipsters on the second...I am interested to see what they'll call us on this album...how about just Dope artists!”

Kidz In The Hall's "Land Of Make Believe" will be released on March 9th, 2010.

New Video: Mos Def Speaks On Haiti & "Exhibit B"


From BMUSE:

New Video: Mos Def Speaks On Haiti & "Exhibit B"

Mos Def & Jay Electronica Speak On Exhibit B Live @ The Independent - 2/3/2010 from AlwaysHustle.com on Vimeo.

Nas, Goodie Mob & Mayday February 5th in Miami, Florida


From ContagiousMusiq.com:

Nas, Goodie Mob & Mayday February 5th in Miami, Florida

***FOR ONE NIGHT ONLY, NAS @ THE ARSHT CENTER, FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 5TH***

For over 15 years, Nas has been arguably one of hip hop's greatest MC's. His influence has touched artists from Jay Z to the Notorious B.I.G. to Wu-Tang Clan. Writers and music critics have recognized Nas' contributions to the hip hop industry as iconic! Nas has contributed to the scene's artistic renaissance in New York, while marking an influential, stylistic change in hip hop music at the time.

The night kicks off with the one and only Goodie Mob, featuring Cee-Lo, Big Gipp, T-Mo and Khujo.

Also with Mayday, DJ Tom Laroc and SPECIAL SUPRISE GUESTS!

New start time of 10:30pm following the SOS: Help For Haiti Benefit Concert at The American Airlines Arena.

***THIS SHOW WILL SELL OUT!!! GET YOUR TICKETS NOW!!!***

GET YOUR TICKETS HERE: http://www.arshtcenter.org/tickets/calendar/view.aspx?id=7510 OR CALL 305-949-6722.

Bisco Smith - "Transmission Live Remix" Feat. Loer Velocity


From Audible Treats:

Bisco Smith - "Transmission Live Remix" Feat. Loer Velocity + Show News

Bisco Trades Inspired Verses With Loer Velocity, Announces Record Release Show This

The Song:

Bisco Smith's newest album, The Broadcast, recently arrived on digital shelves and has already been taking the airwaves by storm. Despite his achievements, the multitalented NYC emcee is not taking any time off to rest on his lyrical laurels as he continues to release new material, including a series of remixes from the album, the latest of which is a remix of "Transmission Live" featuring Loer Velocity. Former Embedded Music label mates and having worked together in the past on a remix from Loer's Ready For A Renaissance LP, Bisco and Loer are no strangers to each other's work and have since forged a friendship rooted in respect and creativity. "I sent Loer the record to get his opinion on it and share the new material," says Bisco on the origins of the remix. "Loer came up with the idea and picked the tune - the rest is in the airwaves." The remix begins with Loer gently urging Bisco to "paint the picture on the Transmission revision," and from there the lyricists trade verses over the ominous electro-tones of this slow burner. Asked why they work so well in tandem, Bisco replied, "Loer is a deep thinker, as I am. He's got the voice and I always enjoy the dynamic between our two vocals." Call it what you will - remix, revision, re-imagining - it's hard to find an artist keeping pace with Bisco's artistic creativity.

The broadcast continues this weekend with an album release show by Bisco at New York's famed Santos Party House. Located at 96 Lafayette St. (between Walker St. and White), the venue will be playing host to the gifted emcee on Saturday, February 6, 2010 for a show that promises fans sonic treats, transmissions and transitions. The show will kick off at 11:00pm and, if you've never seen a Bisco show before, you can be sure that Bisco will be incorporating a number of exciting musical and audio/visual elements into his set. Tickets cost only $10 and include a copy of Bisco's brand new album, The Broadcast.

"Transmission Live Remix" Feat. Loer Velocity: http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Transmission_Live_Remix_Feat_Loer_Veloctiy.mp3 .

Bisco Smith's second full-length album The Broadcast is available now: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/the-broadcast/id345566067 .

The Broadcast teaser #2: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6b_pedRrHA .

The Background:

Bisco Smith moved to NYC 10 plus years ago from Connecticut and quickly made a name for himself DJ'ing at clubs, distributing mixtapes, performing at open mics, and in graffiti circles. His debut release, The Basics EP (2006), gained the favorable attention of music critics and his subsequent release, The Stay Up Project mixtape (2007) was downloaded over 5,000 times. Bisco's penchant for capturing our chaotic reality with his narratives, images, and collaborations has earned him a reputation as one of the most honest and creative artists of today. Going beyond music, Bisco Smith is also an accomplished graphic artist. He's done cover art, designed promotional materials and spearheaded art direction for artists such as Aesop Rock, The Perceptionists, C-Rayz-Walz, Murs, El-P, and others. His art has been featured in several magazines and art house coffee table books and in galleries, such as Danny Simmon's Rush Arts Gallery. 2008 was a big year for Bisco. He released the critically acclaimed album When Electric Night Falls (Embedded Music), toured the US, and performed at CMJ, SXSW, Scribble Jam, and NXNE. Since the start of 2009, Bisco has already released a multimedia project entitled The Strange Love Project, and is now preparing for the release of The Broadcast. It is clear that he shows no sign of slowing down. He spends his time designing everything from record covers to websites, painting walls, participating in art gallery shows, and mentoring the city’s youth with art and music, all the while transmitting top quality music to the world. Prepare to tune into Bisco Smith's LP, The Broadcast, available online now.
Streams:

"Transmission Live Remix" Feat. Loer Velocity http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Transmission_Live_Remix_Feat_Loer_Veloctiy.mp3 .

"Vibrations" (Scott Thorough Remix) http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Vibrations_Scott_Thorough_Remix.mp3 .

"Vibrations" http://media.audibletreats.com/Bisco_Smith-Vibrations.mp3 .

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/bisco.smith .

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/busybisc .

Twitter: http://twitter.com/biscoSmith .

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/Bisc1 .

The 5th Annual Paid Dues Festival Announced


From Frank151.com:

The 5th Annual Paid Dues Festival Announced

MURS 3:16 in association with GUERILLA UNION are proud to announce the 2010 Paid Dues Festival line up! It is the biggest showcase of independent hip hop talent in the festival's rich history.

Over 25 acts on TWO stages will be performing on

Saturday, April 3rd at the NOS Events Center in San Bernardino, CA.

As Frank151 subscribers, you get first dibs to purchase your tickets to Paid Dues! Don't miss your chance to see the best independent artists perform live, all in one place!

PRE-SALE INFO
FRIDAY, 2/5 @ 10AM - 10PM
PASSWORD: LOOKINFLY

GENERAL ON-SALE
SATURDAY, 2/6 @ 12pm PST

GET TICKETS

PAID DUES 2010 LINE-UP
---
ICE CUBE
MURS & 9TH WONDER
TECH N9NE
RAEKWON
JAY ELECTRONICA
THA DOGG POUND (Daz Dillinger & Kurupt)
DILATED PEOPLES
PSYCHO REALM
NECRO
PEOPLE UNDER THE STAIRS
DEL THA FUNKY HOMOSAPIEN
FREEWAY & JAKE ONE
RANDOM AXE (Sean Price, Guilty Simpson, & Black Milk)
R.A. THE RUGGED MAN
STRONG ARM STEADY
SHAPE SHIFTERS
CURREN$Y
DOOMTREE
MAC LETHAL
POTLUCK
AFRO CLASSICS (Scarub & Very)
DOM KENNEDY
HOPIE SPITSHARD
DJ ROWDY A
MC PROTOTYPE

Plus Very Special Guests
FREESTYLE FELLOWSHIP
(Featuring All Original Members ACEYALONE, MYKA NYNE, P.E.A.C.E, SELF JUPITER, & DJ KILLU)

Hosted By
ANGELA YEE & DJ WONDER, DJ VAL THE VANDLE & DUMBFOUNDEAD

VIP Area Hosted By
LA LEAKERS

FREE MP3: "Let's Get It On" by 40th Dimension


From KRU Records:

FREE MP3: "Let's Get It On" by 40th Dimension

For the first in the slew of free MP3s we're sending out this year, it's only fitting that we start at the very beginning of Karma Response Unit Records. "Let's Get It On" is the first song off the first album we ever released, 40th Dimension's "The Crop Report". The demo version for this song was originally recorded on July 4th, 2000, also the same day that 'Karma Response Unit' was officially coined as the name of the record label.


"Let's Get It On" - 40th Dimension
produced by Happ G. Scandal on vocals.
http://www.zshare.net/audio/72147432b2d70fcf/


The song also kicks off "The Crop Report" month from our online store. Thru the end of February, receive any free single from our catalog when you buy "The Crop Report" album on CD or double vinyl! Simply write in the title of the free single you would like in the comments section of your order.
http://krurecords.com/catalog/  <<< direct store link


Also a reminder that Jake Lefco has a show in NYC a week from tonight. Flyer link;
http://i72.photobucket.com/albums/i170/HappGeez/22359_1254412915784_1093407828_3076.jpg

and as always Jake will have copies of his albums "And You Are?" and "Missing Trooth" for sale at the show or you can find them online at
http://krurecords.com/catalog/   -or-   http://iTunes.com/JakeLefco .

Diamond Music Group x Flüd Watches "Movie Star" Remix Contest


From Coalmine Records:

Diamond Music Group x Flüd Watches "Movie Star" Remix Contest



Diamond Music Group & Flüd Watches are pleased to announce the "Movie Star"
Remix Contest.  "Movie Star" is Protoman's debut single from his forthcoming EP,
86'd that drops on April 6th.  There's a nice prize package lined up for this contest
includes a placement on Protoman's EP as well as a digital distribution imprint
courtesy of Diamond Music Group & a watch courtesy of the good people at Flüd
Watches.  The deadline for this contest is Friday, February 12th.  Click on either of
the links below to download the files & instructions....GOOD LUCK!!!

Download | Zshare:   http://www.zshare.net/download/72103012700cb18f/ .
Download | MediaFire:   http://www.mediafire.com/?1nctqmj5jnt .

**********************

Contest Rules, Itinerary & Prizes

Rules:
 
Attention producers, please email all submissions to coalminerecords@gmail.com no later then Friday, February 12th. Only one submission per producer will be accepted. The files for the remix contest include an MP3 file of the original version of “Movie Star” in addition to a WAV file of the acapella. The acapella is zero pointed and should synchronize properly with any digital audio workstation.  Music should be in an mp3 format and should default to any iTunes media player. Sample-free remixes are allowed, but not required. The original version of the track is 110 Beats Per Minute, but may be altered. Files should be labeled accordingly with song title first, followed by the producer’s name and Remix in parenthesis, ie: I Am (Joe Smith Remix).mp3. *Due to the high volume of submissions, it becomes very difficult to cross reference submissions with their corresponding email addresses and therefore it is critical to include your email address in the comment field of the iTunes info panel.  In your email, please provide us with your social network URLs (twitter/facebook) along with your discography bio/epk if applicable. Please include a few sentences about yourself and your production background. Good luck!
 
Itinerary:
 
1)    2.03.10 (Wednesday): Contest begins. Diamond Music Group & Pyramid Builders will premier the contest that will be virally promoted throughout the internet via popular hip-hop related lifestyle websites and blogs. The contest will also be reinforced through an e-blast campaign and will also be featured on Fludwatches.com.

2)    2.12.10 (Friday): Submission Due Date
 
3)    2.15.10 (Monday):  The winning remix will be announced via email to all contestants.  It will be required for the winning producer to provide the track session as WAV files compatible with any digital audio workstation.  
 
4)    4.06.10 (Tuesday): The winning remix will be featured on the official digital release of Protoman’s fortchcoming EP, 86’d which drops on April 6th, 2010. The winning remix will also be promoted through all major hip-hop related blogs & lifestyles during the course of the EP’s viral campaign, courtesy of  Diamond Music Group & Pyramid Builders.
 
Prizes:

The winning producer will be entitled to a digital distribution imprint through Diamond Music Group as well as a watch of your choice, courtesy of Flüd Watches.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Since last week's update ran late consider this a compendium of two weeks worth of material in one shot: Adam Bernard's The Adam B Experience #75, Blanco, The Jacka & Messy Marv's "One Hunnid," Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," the "Hi Grade Ganja Anthems Volume 4" compilation, Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's HHS #266 and Steve 'Flash' Juon: The Hip-Hop Shop #267 plus a Boondocks Season 4 editorial, MF Grimm's "Good Morning Vietnam EP," Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD," Shabaam Sahdeeq's "Keepers of the Lost Art" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive