Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday April 21, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
Neosonic Productions Wishes You A "Panacean" New Year!


From K-Murdock:


Amidst recuperating from a hell of a NYE party last night, i wanted to take a quick minute and thank all the fans and supporters worldwide for making 2009 another great one for Panacea!  On behalf of my partner-in-rhyme Raw Poetic, who laid low for the bulk of the 2k9 while finishing our next album as well as a new RPM project for release this year, we wanna salute those who showed patronage to our music!  Whether you copped "The Re-Route" and/or downloaded our free EP, "Corkscrew Gaps", you all stayed loyal though we weren't as visible as we would have liked to be, and as such, we will be repaying the favor in 2k10 with what we hope to be our most productive year collectively both a group & as individual artists...

Thanx & Happy New Year!
K


--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS at 1/01/2010
iTunes Names Swollen Members as a Best Rap Album of 2009


From Kerosene Media:

iTunes Names Swollen Members ‘Armed To The Teeth’ As One Of Hip-Hop’s Best Albums of 2009
***
 
Swollen Members' new album “Armed To The Teeth” has been named one of the best hip-hop records of 2009 by iTunes. The digital retailer released their choices for this year’s best records of the genre and selected the Canadian hip-hop group’s new album, “Armed To The Teeth”, alongside albums from Ghostface Killah, Slaughterhouse, KRS-One, Ol' Dirty Bastard and Twista.
 
“It's an honor for Swollen Members to be chosen by iTunes as one of the best hip hop albums of 2009 and see our album named alongside these other talented and legendary artists,” commented Mad Child.  “iTunes provides an amazing opportunity for music groups to still make a living in a business that is going through constant changes and economic tough times. We couldn’t be more thrilled to have them recognize all the hard work we put into ‘Armed To The Teeth’”.
 
"This news caps an amazing year for Swollen Members, and a great year for music in general," added Prevail. "Swollen Members want to thank everyone who copped our new release on iTunes and supported us in 2009. Let's continue the creativity in 2010!"
 
Swollen Members' new studio album, "Armed To The Teeth", debuted at #146 on the Billboard Top 200 and #5 on the Heatseekers charts. The album is a snapshot of the trials and tribulations Swollen Members endured during the past two years, including Mad Child’s battle with drug addiction, the collapse of their former record label, and the legal troubles that plagued the group throughout the recording process. "Armed To The Teeth" features collaborations with some of the best artists in the game including Tech N9ne, Everlast and Slaine from La Coka Nostra, Glasses Malone, and Talib Kweli.
 
Swollen Members video for the track "Bollywood Chick" featuring Tech N9ne can be seen online at http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=100455459 .
 
###
* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *

House of Pain to Celebrate St. Patrick's Day w/ Special Shows


From Kerosene Media:

Hip-Hop Icons House Of Pain To Celebrate
St. Patrick’s Day With A Series of Special Performances

 
***
 
Hip-hop icons House of Pain have announced a series of dates in March 2010 to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day. The group will celebrate their Irish-American heritage by performing tracks from their classic hit filled catalogue with dates scheduled in Buffalo, Atlantic City, New York, Hartford, and Worcester for March 2010.
 
House of Pain is one of the most influential hip-hop groups to emerge out of the 90’s Hip Hop scene. The group was signed to Tommy Boy Records and released three albums before disbanding in 1996. The group is best known for their multi-platinum self-titled debut, which spawned the smash single "Jump Around". During their career, House of Pain shattered hip-hop stereotypes, brought down barriers, and helped bring hip-hop to a whole new audience while simultaneously selling millions of records.
 
HOUSE OF PAIN TOUR DATES:
 
March 16 – Buffalo, NY @ Town Ballroom
March 17 - Atlantic City, NJ @ House of Blues
March 18 - New York, NY  @ Nokia Theater
March 19 - Hartford, CT @ Webster Theater
March 20 - Worcester, PA @ The Palladium

RapReviews Album Deadline Extended to 28th February 2010


From Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania - jesal@rapreviews.com - Twitter: @JesalTV:

So... The "RapReviews Album" deadline came and went BUT... We have decided
to EXTEND the deadline to 28th February 2010, so you now have a whole two
months extra! This is due to both a late flurry of activity and also various
pleas for an extension. What am I, your tutor or something? But yeah, you
now have two months extra to cook up something special!

The tracks received so far have been sent in from every corner of the world,
and it looks like this really could be an interesting opportunity for the
artists that make it through. We've had major labels through to unsigned,
and the quality level is NICE. So let's keep sending in tracks to
jesal@rapreviews.com and stack up those classics. Spread the word!

The (W)rap Up - Week of December 29, 2009


Adam Bernard

10) La Coka Nostra - A Brand You Can Trust

"I had never been a very big fan of La Coka Nostra. Actually, before this album I'd never liked anything they'd done as a group, but because I loved Everlast's 2008 solo album I gave this a spin. Boy am I glad I did because A Brand You Can Trust is a great album. With song titles like "Bloody Sunday," "Bang Bang," and "Gun In Your Mouth," it should be obvious they have plenty of material for their hardcore fans, but they also show influences of Everlast's other career as a blues singer and guitarist throughout the record, which makes for a great listening experience. Even if you didn't like La Coka Nostra before, give them another shot with A Brand You Can Trust, you might be surprised."

John-Michael Bond

3. Cage: Depart From Me

"I'll always hold my Nighthawks vinyl close to my chest but I can't say I don't like this version of Cage better. Teaming up with a former guitar player for the hardcore punk band Hatebreed gave "Depart From Me" a decidedly strong Suicidal Tendencies vibe for the punks to skate too but lyrically Cage's pitch black sense of humor was still the star of the show. "Fat Kids Need an Anthem" somehow makes you laugh while the guy pretty much cuts open a vein to pour his pain out on wax. How many of your favorite rappers talked about a shoot out in a club this year? Now how many of them did it wishing the violence would give them a good reason to get out of an awkward social situation? No longer content to just talk about how awesome he is Cage truly put his heart out for all to see, sickness and depression be damned."

Steve 'Flash' Juon

"For the record this is the same "Best Of" list I compiled for the annual Pazz and Jop feature of New York's critically acclaimed Village Voice magazine. Do me a solid and pick up the 2009 edition on newstands when it drops. The only thing I've removed is the actual scores - you have to assign a total of 100 points to your 10 choices with none getting less than 5. You'll just have to guess how much weight I gave to what as you scan the list, and then read the magazine to see which albums from my top ten were also chosen by music critics as a whole." 

Jesal Padania

6) Dizzee Rascal – "Tongue N' Cheek"

"I would love for every American hip hop fan to listen to this album for a week, and see what they thought. First of all, you won't get all the UK references. Dizzee's voice may annoy you. He isn't a traditionally great lyricist/rapper. But TRUST that this is his well-deserved party album, with eleven songs that kick the ass of most US commercial hip hop from the last three years. Songs like "Dance Wiv Me" and "Bonkers" and "Holiday" and "Dirtee Cash" and "Can't Tek No More" and… Well, pretty much every song is brilliant and whilst he isn't a great rapper, he is a brilliant MC. There is a difference, and you would spin this continuously, believe me."

Patrick Taylor

"Del and Tame One, "Parallel Uni-Verses" This is an underachieving record that's basically Del and Tame One trading old man raps. It works because they both have unique and complimentary flows, and they are backed by solid beats by Parallel Thoughts. It has a loose, stoned charm, and I haven't been able to stop listening to it.

DOOM, "Born Like This" After falling off of the face of the planet for the past few years, DOOM comes back, minus the MF, for some of his darkest, most curmudgeonly rhymes yet. Any hip hop album that features Charles Bukowski reciting poetry is worth your time. DOOM is nobody's fool, and there is a lot going on behind the metal face."

Emanuel Wallace

7. Method Man & Redman: Blackout! 2

"After ten years and probably thousands of blunts since their last release as a duo, hip-hop's own version of Cheech & Chong picked up right where they left off. The natural charisma of the two emcees remains intact. Joints (pun intended) like the Bun B (and Pimp C via sample) featuring "City Lights" and "Diz Iz 4 All My Smokers" are guaranteed to keep long time fans satisfied and convert newbies with virgin lungs, or uh...ears."

Video: Fly Gypsy Live In Concert


Check out Fly Gypsy opening for Wale this past Friday at the 9:30 Club in Washington D.C.

Fly Gypsy's "Change For A Dollar" available now

Happy New Year From RapReviews!


"The Year in Review" - a tradition for the last decade at RapReviews.com! We've tried many different ways to satisfy the public's appetite for a thorough analysis of who "the best of the best" during that time. In 2000 and in 2001 Steve 'Flash' Juon compiled the lists. In 2002 the list was created by polling the entire staff. By 2004 we found the most successful formula - individual editorials by contributors to the site wherein they chose their own "best of the best." We've done it this way every year since then and we're doing it again in 2009! Without further adieu, here are the editorials:

 

Rapper Resolutions for 2010


There are a few constants when a year comes to a close. People who don't normally go out and party will drink more than they can handle and do something painfully stupid, champagne will suddenly become everyone's drink of choice, and the next day, while groggily waking up to the sounds of Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit discussing the day's bowl games, people will hastily sketch out a few New Year's resolutions.

Although rappers may pop champagne a little more often than the rest of us, I'd like to think our favorite crowd controllers are just like everybody else when it comes to New Years resolutions. With that in mind, I think it's the perfect time to help a few of hip-hop's most prominent people, as well as our local artists, with their New Year's resolutions.

Read the full story at FairfieldWeekly.com.

Reflection Eternal Drops "The RE:Union"


As previously mentioned, Reflection Eternal composed of Talib Kweli and Hi-Tek, have teamed up with producer Statik Selektah for an official Reflection Eternal mixtape. The project includes new songs from the album as well as unreleased material and classic tracks.

Reunion

Download Link------> HERE it is...   <-------Download Link

  1. Intro
  2. Revolutions Per Minute
  3. In This World ##
  4. Hip-Hop (Unreleased)
  5. Back Again ##
  6. Wishing On A Black Star
  7. Just Begun ft. Jay Electronica, J. Cole, & Mos Def ##
  8. Come Around ft. Termanology & Royce da 5'9 (produced by Statik Selektah)
  9. Internet Connection
  10. Let It Go ft. Dion
  11. Testify ft. Styles P
  12. Time
  13. The Thrill Is Gone ft. Styles P (produced by Statik Selektah)
  14. Can We Go Back The Reflection Eternal Classics:
  15. Fortified Live ft. Mos Def & Mr Man
  16. Chaos ft Bahamadia
  17. The Express
  18. Respiration ft. Common & Mos Def
  19. Definition ft. Mos Def
  20. RE:Defininition ft. Mos Def
  21. Move Something
  22. Ghetto Afterlife ft Kool G Rap
  23. The Blast RMX ft. Erykah Badu
  24. Good To You (produced by Kanye West)
  25. Get By REMIX ft. Jay-Z, Mos Def, Kanye West, & Busta Rhymes (produced by Kanye west)
  26. Back Up Offa Me
  27. Piano (Hi Tek ft. Ghostface)
  28. Music is Life (Hi Tek ft. Nas)
  29. Hang Ups (NEW Reflection Eternal not on album)
  30. Outro

All Joints produced by Hi Tek, unless noted.

Source: ShowOffHipHop.com

Dan-e-o Has THREE Free Mixtapes to Close 2009


Dan-e-o Has THREE Free Mixtapes to Close 2009:

Celebrate the new year with MORE FREE MUSIC!! Be sure to send this to
everyone you know!!

Dan-e-o.com proudly introduces THREE FREE MIXTAPES all featuring new music
from your bro, Dan-e-o!!

Remove Doubt presents "Hip-Hop Lives Vol. 2" featuring Dan-e-o's "Break It
Down". FREE download HERE:
http://www.zshare.net/download/703012916bd982d8/

Brockway Entertainment presents "2010 Canadian Rap Future Superstars"
featuring Dan-e-o's "Yesterday". FREE download HERE:
http://www.brockwayent.com/brockwayent2010.html

AND IF YOU DON'T HAVE IT YET!!!...

Planet Rock Records and Whole Wheat Brothers Music present Dan-e-o's 2 in
1 album/mixtape "Dilla Pickles". FREE download HERE:
http://www.dan-e-o.com/DillaPickles.zip

Check out its first video, "Break It Down":
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlQWyTxt_90

AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECK DAN-E-O OUT HERE...
WEBSITE: http://www.dan-e-o.com
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/daneo10
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-e-o/177676081413
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/daneo10
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: http://www.youtube.com/donfaraldo
IMEEM: http://www.imeem.com/dan-e-o
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/daneo
THA O SHOW: http://www.thaoshow.com
ONLINE STORE: http://www.maplemusic.com/dept.asp?dept_id=2316

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive