Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday August 21, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Preparanoia] ALL CAPS when you spell the man's name.

LMNO Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: 5 O'Clock Shadowboxers - "No Resolution 2"


Video: 5 O'Clock Shadowboxers - "No Resolution 2"

Video: Quanstar - "American Dreams"


Video: Quanstar - "American Dreams"

Mega Ran - Raze the Bar with Forever Famicom, The Movie


From Random a/k/a Mega Ran:

Raze the Bar with Forever Famicom, The Movie

"Raze the Bar (remix)"

 > PLAY IT NOW 

first of all, grab that FREE track up there, "Raze the Bar" the remix. I made this back in 2006 before I made THE MOVE, and it still remains one of my favorites. big ups to Samik of the Symphony, still puttin' in work. 

Meanwhile... The FOREVER FAMICOM news just won't stop, cause it CAN'T stop..lol

quick one this time, please do us a favor and check out the sprite-filled fun of what will soon become a classic series: 

FOREVER FAMICOM: THE MOVIE.

directed by Griff Morivan (please subscribe!) 


Click here to view FOREVER FAMICOM the movie EPISODE 1




Click here to view Forever Famicom the movie EPISODE 2


(there's a slight loss of sound at the end, so I'll get you a new link when that gets fixed)

 

tell a friend.Thank you!

and speaking of thanks, I got some books in the mail this week and I wanted to thank you so much for telling someone, or sending me a book, no matter how old, new or above or below level. Thank you again.

oh and KEEP EM COMING!

here's my amazon wish list.

 

but im not picky. thanks!

 

"some of the most original music to come out of the Valley in years, hip-hop or otherwise." — Mike R. Meyer, Phoenix New Times

"Random is dreaming of is a world in which "keeping it real" comes to mean rapping about real life, and not just bragging about how much time you've spent in prison, or how many people you've shot." — Patrick Taylor, Rapreviews.com
Video: Blueprint - "The Clouds"


Filmed Friday August 6th, 2010 in Columbus Ohio at Carabar. Blueprint performs unreleased song "The Clouds" from his upcoming Rhymesayers album "Adventures in Counter-Culture". For more information on Blueprint, please visit http://printmatic.net.

Footage shot by Davey Highben.


MP3: City Haze - "Keep On Winnin'"


From Clout Media:

MP3: City Haze - "Keep On Winnin'"

Underground Music Award-nominated "#1 Contender" City Haze drops some funk on this track entitled "Keep On Winnin'." The track features live beat boxing and instrumentation by Hippopotamus Funk and is produced by Philly Blunts.

Stream/Download: City Haze "Keep On Winnin'"
Alternative Link @ LimeLinx

Myspace.com/CityHaze718
Twitter.com/CityHaze

 

Tanya Morgan's Von Pea To Release Solo LP "Gotta Have It" 10/12


From Audible Treats:

Tanya Morgan's Von Pea To Release Debut Solo Album Pea's Gotta Have It October 12th

Von Pea Channels His High School Days As Inspiration For His Solo Debut And Releases New Track From Album "The Yorker"

The Album:

(August 18, 2010 - Brooklyn New York) Von Pea, a producer, rapper, and member of the highly lauded group Tanya Morgan, is excited to announce the release his own solo album, Pea's Gotta Have It. The album, a concept project themed around Von Pea's high school days, will be released October 12th via Interdependent Media.

For Pea's Gotta Have It, Von Pea reminisces of his days spent in the classrooms and at the lunch tables at Boys & Girls High School in Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn. "My solo album is basically the album I always wanted to make in high school," explains Von, who was inspired to make the album after discovering a long-forgotten journal. "It's a concept album based around high school, around what I thought my album would sound like when I was 17," explains Von. "In a way, it's a goal I'm achieving late. It’s music inspired by my coming of age in Brooklyn.”.

In Pea’s Got To Have It, Von exhibits his classic sense of humor and wit by combining not only comical subject matter with more serious aspects but also with the genius subtleties and inside jokes that Tanya Morgan fans have come to expect. Von’s engaging rite-of-passage narrations include topics such as hollering at girls, suffering through detention, upholding music and fashion above real-life concerns, scheming on how to avoid bullies, or taking your ill-advised friends’ advice, to name a few. Von took full advantage of the liberties of creating his own album that were afforded to him by cleverly weaving parts of his past with his present day so it’s not accurate to call his album a period piece. “A lot of my material switches back between my 16 year-old self and who I am today as a 28 year old and although I’m talking about my own experiences as a male teenager coming of age in Brooklyn, New York, this album really speaks to anyone who’s ever gone to high school,” explains Von.

Despite being the primary producer for his group Tanya Morgan, Von Pea produced only three of the tracks for his solo album. "I think it's kind of cool; it happened naturally," Von says about not handling most of his own production. Similarly, Von's surplus of guests on the album mesh together seamlessly despite their varying styles, largely due to the natural chemistry Von has with everyone on the album. "The best music comes from artists that have chemistry," says Von. "So the vocal features are all frequent collaborators."

Although the rapper has previously released solo side projects, Pea's Gotta Have It marks his first full-fledged effort at a solo album, which took three years to finalize while also working on other music. "In the past I've put out projects just for fun and for free, not even trying to get buzz," says Von, affirming, "This is my first solo album with original music." As Tanya Morgan's primary producer, and main contributor to the group's musical sound, fans can expect a similar direction on his solo album. "My album probably sounds like Tanya Morgan, just with one person," Von jokingly states. "But people like Tanya Morgan, so that’s fine with me."

To download Von Pea's new single, "The Yorker" visit: http://media.audibletreats.com/Von_Pea-The_Yorker.mp3 .

The Background:

Born and raised in Brooklyn, New York, Von Pea has been emceeing since 1991 and producing since 2000. Initially attracted to hip-hop by the likes of Another Bad Creation and many other young rappers that were near his own age, Von would eventually shift his interest to those who would become his strongest influences – A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul, Big Daddy Kane, DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince, and Biggie. In 2002 Von Pea began an alliance with the original members of North Carolina rap group Little Brother (Phonte, Rapper Big Pooh, and 9th Wonder) which lead him to being featured on such projects as Phonte and Nicolay’s Foreign Exchange Connected album (“Von Sees”), and Little Brother’s The Minstrel Show (“Cheatin” interlude). In addition to his group’s music, Von has released acclaimed projects such as 2003’s“Custom Fitted, 2007’s Grand Vonye, and his late 2007 remix project American Angster which has been considered one of the best of the Jay Z remix albums. Von Pea is also a member of the rap group Tanya Morgan. Von Pea's latest solo album, Pea's Gotta Have it, will be released September 7th.

Streams:

"The Yorker" http://media.audibletreats.com/Von_Pea-The_Yorker.mp3 .

So Motivational: The Most Skullduggery Of Mixtapes: http://vonpea.bandcamp.com/ .

MP3: Cali Swag District - Wanna Be Where You Are


From Big Dev:

MP3: Cali Swag District - Wanna Be Where You Are

8/18/10 CALI SWAG DISTRICT - WANNA BE WHERE YOU ARE (clean) DOWNLOAD HERE

8/9/10 RED CAFE ft DIDDY & FABOLOUS - MONEY MONEY MONEY (clean/dirty) prod by Jahlil Beats

DOWNLOAD HERE

8/9/10 DJ Ill Will ft Red Cafe Ya Boy Gorilla Zoe & The Jackie Boyz - Wish U Would Download Here

 

Yukmouth & C-Bo Reform Thug Lordz; New Album Sept. 28th


From RBC Records:

Yukmouth & C-Bo Reform Thug Lordz; New Album Sept. 28th

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
 
After nearly a 5 year hiatus, Yukmouth and C-Bo, both regarded as West Coast legends, have reformed the super group Thug Lordz to released “Thug Money” on September 28th.
 
Featuring The Jacka on the first single “Wake Up”, Yuk & Bo plead for their respect in the industry and in the streets expressing that sometimes it just might be better to not wake up. With additional features from Eastwood, Ampichino, Bo-Roc and Tha Realest….the Thug Lordz enlisted a virtual who’s who
from the streets to appear on “Thug Money”.
 
A true testament to their street gospel, their first collaborative album “In Thug We Trust” has scanned close to 30K with no radio or video. Additionally, Yuk and Bo have released over 30 albums and sold over 10 million records worldwide, between the two of them.
 
Being a product of the streets, a person can often count the number of people they trust on one hand. Whether it being personal or simply business, those type of connections are few and far in between for, however, when it clicks, it clicks…and such has been the case with the street legends C‑Bo and Yukmouth.
 
Consistency has been king for the Thug Lordz individually but with “Thug Money” this fall, they plan to solidify their reign.
 
In Stores and on iTunes Sept. 28th!
 
Wake Up Feat. The Jacka - http://www.rbc-records.com/Wake_Up_Feat._The_Jacka.mp3 .

MP3: Beyond Belief f/ Kwame, Skillz - "All Over"


From Make Noise Records:

MP3: Beyond Belief f/ Kwame, Skillz - "All Over"

Beyond Belief and Skillz rock over a heavily Stevie Wonder-influenced beat on "All Over", the 2nd (Kwame-produced) leak off of Beyond Belief's upcoming project "Beyond Your Reach", slated to drop August 26th (on DJBooth.net).  For those of you who haven't heard Kwame spit since "The Rhythm" or "Ownlee Eue", this is a must listen, as he steps out from behind the boards to contribute a verse.


Read more & stream the track here: http://www.djbooth.net/index/tracks/review/beyond-belief-all-over/

Download the track here: http://usershare.net/bpuco08xuti2

 

PR: Roots Manuva Preps 'Duppy Writer' LP for Big Dada


From Terrorbird Media:

Roots Manuva Preps 'Duppy Writer' LP for Big Dada

Roots Manuva vs. Wrongtom = Duppy Writer

The UK Hip Hop Legend preps new LP of dub meets Roots with artwork from the influential Tony McDermott; Album due out on Big Dada 9/21

MP3: Butterfly Crab Walk (feat. Riddla) http://rcrdlbl.com/artists/Roots_Manuva/track/Butterfly_Crab_Walk_feat_Riddla taken from 'Duppy Writer' (via RCRD LBL)

Roots Manuva vs. Wrongtom:

Fire up the barbecue, crack a Dragon Stout, mix up yer Guinness punch, carry out whatever cliched act of Caribbeanism you can think of, because it's summer at last and a new Roots Manuva album is here! And with artwork from the legendary Tony McDermott (who was responsible for the illustrations on Greensleeves classics by the likes of Scientist, Mad Professor and the famous "Carnival of Reggae" 12" sleeve) it's a thing of beauty.

Okay, let's clarify that 'new' a little. What you hold in your hands is in fact largely a series of re-works by a talented producer who, for reasons best known to himself, goes by the moniker Wrong Tom. Big Dada first came across Wrong Tom a few months before the releaase of Roots Manuva's album, "Slime & Reason". The DJ and producer (whose previous credits includes work for Lynval Golding's Pama International, Trojan Records and his Staines homeboys Hard Fi) got in touch asking if he could bash out a dub version of the lead single for that campaign, "Buff Nuff". As it wasn't costing and we're cheap like that we said he could have a go on spec. When we heard the result we immediately commissioned a series of mixes which, turned round in about a fortnight, became the bonus disc for the limited edition version of "Slime & Reason". The responses we received were pretty ecstatic so we asked Tom if he would be up for expanding the work into a full album.

Two years on and Tom, with moral support from Mr Manuva, has turned in an album which covers all four of Roots Manuva's main albums, plus tracks from "Dub Come Save Me" and "Alternately Deep" and a brand new collaboration with Mr Manuva and Ricky Ranking on lead single "Jah Warriors". Tom decided to re-imagine each track as if his re-work was in fact the orignal version of the tune from a previous decade. Hence "Motion 5000" becomes classic roots groove "Motion '82," whereas something like "Rebuff" sees "Buff Nuff" return as vintage digi-dub. The project is approached with such conviction and skill that many of the tunes become hard to place in their orignal context, so it really does feel as if these funky, skanking, shuffling little numbers are in fact the ground zero of the Manuva experience.

And while this album is, in effect, a bit of summer fun to keep us all satisfied until Roots comes through with a whole new batch of material, the re-works are so well done, and lock so tight with Rodney's vox that they actually achieve more than anyone could hope for. Often when people are dealing with Mr Rodney Smith they're so concerned with his ground-breaking productions, his convoluted back story and his Genuine UK Maverick status that it's easy to forget just what a good MC he is, how clever with words, how funny and insightful, how relaxed and easy and plain beautiful he sounds on the beat. It's all here, one of the best UK lyricists and voices of the last decade as you've never quite heard him before, but probably secretly always wanted to. Sit back and enjoy while the sun still shines...

* www.bigdada.com *
* www.myspace.com/rootsmanuva *

and for those who just don't know...
* http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/BTTL_runcomesaveme.html *
* http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2008_09F_slimeandreason.html *

Roots Manuva vs. Wrongtom
'Duppy Writer'
Due Out 9/21
(Big Dada)
roots manuva cover

Tracklist:
1. Butterfly Crab Walk
2. Chin Up
3. Duppy Writer (Skit)
4. Worl' A Mine
5. Big Tings Redone
6. Jah Warriors
7. Proper Tings Juggled
8. Dutty Rut
9. Dub Decay
10. Lick Up Ya Foot
11. Rebuff
12. Son of Bodda
13. Motion 82


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 19th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Apathy's "Connecticut Casual," Adam Bernard's Billy Danze interview, DJ Halo's Subways & Sidewalks #23 featuring Nackt, an editorial on the Ferguson cops, FlamesYall's "RaglandTape," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #284, Le1f's "Hey," LMNO's "Preparanoia" (our featured review), Trey Songz' "Trigga" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 12, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Hilltop Hoods - "Walking Under Stars". RapReviews.com also recommends AMP SummerSlam Recap from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive