Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday April 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Keepers of the Lost Art] Sahdeeq injure your fleet.

Shabaam Sahdeeq Review

Latest News Headlines
Braille on New Songs, Transitions and Updates


From Braille:

what's up ya'll?

This is Braille to the Brizzy.  I'm typing up this newsletter in Levelland, TX (check yo maps - you probably won't find it, haha).  I've been on the three amigos tour with my Queen and Princess.  We started out in Baltimore and are headed for San Marcos, CA to lock down our new place.  We spent most of this month packing up our townhome and moving all our stuff into storage.  After the tour we are flying home, picking up our belongings and driving a moving truck back to San Marcos.

With that in mind - I've been really busy handling personal business.  My "garage sale" of random CDs, T-shirts and posters went really well - however, I did drop the ball on a few orders.  Anyone who ordered posters, I didn't have the proper packaging and I realized very quickly that I was going to ruin the posters if I shipped them in the envelopes I had.  It was poor planning on my part and the whirldwind of the move didn't allow me time to get the necessary supplies.  If your order hasn't arrived yet please email me with a reminder of what you ordered and I will handle it right away.

The story behind our sudden move is a bit to long winded.  We were renting a townhome, the owner wasn't making payments and we got a two week notice to evacuate because the property was auctioned off to a bank.  So yeah, things just moved a bit faster then expected.

I did stay busy recording new songs this summer.  I just leaked a new song titled "Give Myself" from my new album "Weapon Aid".  You can listen to it at www.myspace.com/braillehiphop

PRESS RELEASE: "Weapon Aid" is an unexpected collection of songs that Braille wrote and recorded during the summer of 2009.  Production is primarily handled by BigJess of Unknown Prophets (MN) and also has tracks from Xperiment, DJ Cassidy and Kid Hum (all CO residents).  The only guest vocals are from Nikki "Tonya Bobanya" - Braille's wife of 7 years.  "Weapon Aid" will drop sometime in late November, self released by Braille on his Hiphop IS Music imprint.  This record is not to be confused with the "Audibly Enhanced Dreams" album that Braille has been preparing for Syntax Records (2010!!!)

I will create a download link with the mp3 of the new song and the cover so that ya'll can snag it for your blogs, websites, podcasts, mixtapes and personal use.  If you'd like this link just shoot me an email and I'll handle it as soon as I have proper internet connection for my laptop.  I tried to upload it to my FTP from this PC in Texas but I wasn't having much luck.  I'm a cyberduck dude on my macbook.

Final thoughts - Check out the Sojourn album on Itunes and support if your feeling it.  I will be moved into a new spot with my family in San Marcos, CA by the first week of November!!!  Weapon Aid is going to drop by the end of November - it's kind of unexpected and random but sometimes that's just how it happens in my career.  The promo push for "Audibly Enhanced Dreams" will be much more organized with Syntax Records - but "Weapon Aid" is just a collection of songs that literally leaked out of me and I felt it was necessary to share them with friends, fans and family while the material was fresh.  It's some very personal stuff and I think a lot of people will be able to relate with it.

much love.  peace and GOD bless
Thank you, from Braille and the Hiphop Is Music team.
www.braillehiphop.com | www.hiphopismusic.com

Everlast Takes Over Sunset Strip w/ Cypress Hill


From Amy Meyer:

For Immediate Release

Everlast Takes Over Sunset Strip With Kid Rock, Mickey Avalon, and Cypress Hill For Historical Career Retrospective Performance


***

Hollywood Celebrities Sean Penn, Owen Wilson, David Spade, Woody Harrelson & Chuck Liddell, All Came Out To Celebrate Everlast’s Musical Career

***

Grammy award winning rapper and singer-songwriter, Everlast took over Hollywood’s infamous Sunset Strip this past weekend for a unforgettable performance at the Key Club. The performance celebrated Everlast's musical career spanning the past two decades with songs from his “Whitey Ford Sings The Blues” solo album, House of Pain and La Coka Nostra releases, as well as guest performances from Kid Rock, Cypress Hill, Danny Boy (House of Pain), and Mickey Avalon. Hollywood’s A-List of actors, musicians and athletes, all came out to catch the historical show, including appearances by Sean Penn, Owen Wilson, David Spade, Emile Hirsch, Woody Harrelson and Chuck Liddell.. The monumental event was filmed for a one-hour HD NET special slated to air in early 2010.

The diversity of musicians, actors and artists who showed up to support Everlast this past weekend is a testament to his boundary crossing career over the past 2 decades. He has been a fixture within the rap and rock communities from his beginnings in the early ‘90s. Everlast has created a collection of timeless songs that are still played just as much today, as they were when they were originally released. His recorded works with House of Pain, his blues-based solo albums and new hip-hop group La Coka Nostra, have given fans a wealth of music to enjoy for years to come.

With millions of records sold, a Grammy win for his songwriting work for Carlos Santana and most recently an Emmy nomination for writing and performing the theme song to Saving Grace, Everlast has big plans coming together for 2010. As much as the Key Club performance was a retrospective, it was a hint at even larger things to come.

To view photos from performance: http://tinyurl.com/everlastmusic .

Trae Tha Truth Announces New Mixtape & Album Release Date


From Nancy B:

TRAE THA TRUTH TO DROP NEW MIXTAPE - ANNOUNCES UPCOMING ALBUM DATE

Houston, TX - On the day after the birth of his son, Houston, Trae Tha Truth announces news of another long-awaited birth; that of his next solo album, Tha Truth, due to drop on Feb 16th, 2010 on A.B.N Entertainment/Fontana/Universal Records.

It has been over two years since the release of Trae's last solo project, Life Goes On, but that is not to say he hasn't been busy, or in the public eye. In that time Trae has left Rap-A-Lot to become a free agent, dropped countless mixtapes, put forth the smack heard around the world, launched a cartoon series (Tha Adventures of Trae Tha Truth), Co-Grand Marshaled the MLK Day Youth Parade with Mayoral hopeful, Peter Brown, won a Humanitarian Award and been honored with his own day, "Trae Day" (July 22nd) by official proclamation of the City of Houston; more than many artists achieve in their entire career.

In fact, Houston Press just voted Trae's solo debut, Restless, the 14th best Houston album of all time - http://blogs.houstonpress.com/rocks/2009/10/the_h-town_countdown_no_14_tra.php .

As a warm-up to his album,Tha Truth, Trae is readying to drop The Incredible Truth, which Trae leaked at his Baker-hosted (VH1's "Real Chance of Love") event last night at Legends in Houston. The 21-track mixtape packs a great line-up of features........

Here are 2 musical offerings from The Incredible Truth:

Universal Language - http://www.sendspace.com/file/arfvmn .

I Could Use Somebody - http://www.sendspace.com/file/jy8oag .

Features on Tha Truth are expected to be Lil Wayne, Bun B, Plies, Young Buck, Jadakiss, Rawse, Ludacris, Shawty Lo, Game and S.L.A.B. to name a few. Stand by for the first single, Something Real ft. Plies, Slim Thug, Brian Angel (Day 26) and Jodeci.

Weezy Pleads Guilty, Expected To Serve One Year


NEW YORKLil Wayne pleaded guilty to felony gun possession in a Manhattan courtroom on Thursday (October 22) stemming from a July 2007 arrest following his first headlining concert in New York. The rapper will be sentenced to one year in prison as a part of his plea deal and must also give up his passport. Wayne quietly told the judge yes when asked if he understood the terms of the plea he was making.

Asked what type of gun he possessed, Wayne said, "A .40-caliber semi-automatic."

Wayne had black jeans, a gray coat, white T-shirt and blue Chucks. He was accompanied by the CEOs of his label, Cash Money Records, Bryan "Baby" Williams and Ronald "Slim" Williams.

The hearing began at 10:05 a.m. ET and was over in 20 minutes.

About 20 minutes after the hearing ended, Lil Wayne exited the building, covering his head with the hood of his sweatshirt. Photographers and reporters followed as court officials escorted him to his vehicle. In response to many reporters' questions, all Wayne said was, "What's up?"

Wayne will be sentenced in February 2010 and is expected to serve eight to 10 months, assuming good behavior. He must also appear in court in December for a parole update.

The incident took place in July 2007, when police pulled over Wayne's tour bus at around 11:30 p.m. on the night of his show at the New York's Beacon Theatre. They arrested the rapper for criminal possession of a weapon and another man on the bus for criminal possession of marijuana. Even before his show that night, Wayne made repeated comments from the stage about being hassled by police and threatened not to perform in New York again.

Source: MTV News

Lil Wayne Expected to Plead Guilty


Lil Wayne is rumored to join the list of rappers that will be calling jail home.

The days of when Hip-Hop artists got off for committing crimes simply by dropping a few bills, is clearly long gone. Rapper T.I., who is currently serving his time in prison, was sentenced earlier this year to 1 year and a day behind bars for possession of illegal weapons. Most recently, rapper Lil Boosie was sentenced to two years in prison for possession of marijuana and a gun. Now, Lil Wayne is set to serve time.

According to AllHipHop.com, Lil Wayne is scheduled to plead guilty for his alleged involvement with a .40 caliber gun found on his bus in 2007 while in New York. Earlier today, it was announced that authorities were going to check the gun in question for DNA linking Lil Wayne to the weapon. It seems that there was a small amount of the rappers DNA on the gun, a fact that the prosecution in the case is set to use to help build their case against Lil Wayne.

Lil Wayne will reportedly plead guilty for possession in exchange for an 8-month bid in jail.  Lil Wayne faces 15 years behind bars for each count of criminal weapons possession and criminal possession of a loaded weapon. According to a source, Lil Wayne will make the announcement tomorrow and will begin serving his sentence in February 2010.

Source: Examiner , AllHipHop.com

Diamond District - New Single & MySpace Preview


From Audible Treats:

Diamond District Prep For Release Of Debut With New Single and MySpace Preview      10.21.2009
"Hologram" Single Drops, Along With Vinyl Release of In The Ruff


For those chomping at the bit to get their hands on the official release of Diamond District's debut album, In The Ruff, Christmas may have just come a week early. While the album's official release date remains October 27th, District triumvirate Oddisee, X.O., and YU have come bearing gifts this week.

First, the single "Hologram" is dropping this week. One of the brand new songs on In the Ruff, "Hologram" has a raw, tough sound. Producer/Rapper Oddisee says "we wanted something a bit grimier... the official release is coming out in the fall, towards winter, so we wanted something to fit the attitude of the season that the album is going to be coming out in." With a woozy beat, vintage soul sample chorus, and matter of fact lyrics, the track is perfect for headphones on a cold sidewalk.

Perhaps the only better way to listen to In The Ruff is on your turntable. Diamond District's sound is pitch perfect for vinyl, with the warmth and hiss of a record only accentuating their relatively old school sound. Oddisee agrees- "we were mainly trying to concentrate on storytelling raps and the aesthetic of the '90s. It's a style we all appreciate and it's something we were aiming for on In The Ruff." The official release of In The Ruff is available now on vinyl. Diamond District's In The Ruff will be available on CD and digital download on October 27 via Mello Music Group.

If that wasn't enough, or you don't have a turntable (shame on you!), fans can get a preview of their full album on October 20th & 21st at www.music.myspace.com .

"Hologram" - http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Hologram.mp3 .
MySpace - http://www.myspace.com/diamonddistrictdmv .

"Who I Be" single: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=327515629&s=143441 .

"I Mean Business" single: http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewAlbum?id=327517072&s=143441 .

The Background:

The group Diamond District is comprised of emcee/producer Oddisee, and emcees X.O. and YU. Greatly influenced by their surroundings and love for 90's east coast hip-hop, Diamond District is on a mission to bring back the sounds of old with a new twist and represent for the DMV. X.O. who was born & raised in the North West quarter of D.C. defines what it is to be a black male raised in the district. With lyrics that depict street life and harsh surroundings, X.O. has a way of philosophizing that raw, gutter reality of DC life that is rarely looked at or spoken about when we discuss our nation's capitol. Oddisee defines the experience of growing up in black middle class Maryland. Bordering the poverty that his and many other families fled to escape, they found out over time that the troubles of the inner city came along with them. Oddisee’s soulful, haunting samples over bass-heavy beat breaks create the perfect instrumentals for Diamond District to match the street savvy, politically conscious lyrics that capture the dynamic of being from the DMV. Y.U., having been raised in the district, Maryland & Virginia, brings that extra variety to the group and shows that D.C. culture has a huge influence beyond its 10 mile radius. Being that YU has lived in all areas of the DMV, his lyrics and stories compliment the rest of the group and define what it means to be from the DMV. In The Ruff, which will be released October 27th via Mello Music Group, will be the group's debut album and is poised to become the official soundtrack for the DMV region.


About Mello Music Group:

Like Lao Tzu in hip-hop, Mello Music Group provides music for the soul, from the heart of American culture, opening the realm of the intelligent hip-hop experience through melodic evocations, beats that corroborate the truth, and voices that roar above the rising void and impose order on the terrible & triumphant moments of everyday life. This is the compelling sound of Mello Music Group. Industry newcomer Michael Tolle founded MMG in 2007 and is acting Director of Operations. MMG will be releasing projects from Oddisee, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Kenn Starr, Finale, Trek Life, Dudley Perkins, Sareem Poems, and YU in 2010. http://www.myspace.com/mellomusicgroup .

Streams:

"Hologram"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Diamond_District-Hologram.mp3 *

Diamond Exchange Mixtape:
* http://www.zshare.net/download/6698815408afb719 *

Swollen Members Leak Bollywood Chick Featuring Tech N9ne


From James at Kerosene Media:

Swollen Members Leak Bollywood Chick Featuring Tech N9ne
 
For Immediate Release
 
Swollen Members Leak “Bollywood Chick”
Featuring Tech N9ne

***
 
When it came time to record their new studio album, “Armed To The Teeth”, Swollen Members pulled out all the stops and recorded tracks with Tech N9ne, Everlast and Slaine from La Coka Nostra, Glasses Malone, and Talib Kweli. Fans can download “Bollywood Chick”, the group’s collaboration with Tech N9ne, at http://www.zshare.net/download/672503291390c81d/ .
 
"The energy on 'Bollywood Chick' is amazing and it's a club banger about to be smashing the airwaves. Tech N9ne blessed us with a sick verse, and he is an artist we have always had a lot of respect for," commented Prevail from Swollen Members. "Make sure to keep checking our MySpace for the video, which we produced in LA with DJ Skee and his crew. The combination of song and video take 'Bollywood Chick' to the next level."
 
Swollen Members’ sixth studio album, "Armed To The Teeth", lands in stores October 27th, 2009, through Suburban Noize and Battle Axe Records.

SWOLLEN MEMBERS TOUR DATES:
Oct 21 - San Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
Oct 22 - Hollywood, CA @ Key Club
Oct 23 - San Bernardino, CA @ San Manuel Amphitheater
Oct 24 - Tempe, AZ @ The Clubhouse
Oct 25 - Las Vegas, NV @ Wasted Space
Oct 27 - Flagstaff, AZ @ Orpheum Theatre
Oct 30 - Colorado Springs, CO @ Black Sheep
Oct 31 - Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre
Nov 02 - Ft. Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre
Nov 03 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Nov 04 - Salt Lake City @ Urban Lounge
Nov 05 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Nov 06 - Bend, OR @ Domino Room
Nov 07 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theater
Nov 08 - Seattle, WA @ Neumo's
Nov 09 – Nanaimo, BC@ Queens -
Nov 10 – Victoria, BC @ Elements
Nov 11 – Whistler, BC@ Moe Joe’s
Nov 12 – Vancouver, BC@ The Red Room on Richards
Nov 13 – Kamloops, BC@ Chrome City Night Club
Nov 14 – Lethbridge, ALTA@ Blarney Stone
Nov 17 – Calgary, ALTA@ Back Alley
Nov 18 – Edmonton, ALTA@ U of Alberta
Nov 19 - Sylvan Lake, ALTA @ Chef Francisco
Nov 21 – Winnipeg, MB@ Pyramid
Nov 23 – Fort Frances, ONT@ Townshend Theatre
Nov 24 – Thunder Bay, ONT@ The Roxy
Nov 25 – Sault Ste Marie, ONT@ Canadian Nightclub
Nov 26 – Cobalt, ONT@ Cobalt Classic Theatre
Nov 28 – Ottawa, ONT @ Ritual Nightclub
Dec 02 – Toronto. ONT @ Lee’s Palace
Dec 03 – Waterloo, ONT @ Starlight
Dec 04 – St Catherines, ONT@ Mikado
 
###
 
* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *

Live Streaming Press Conference - Bone Thugs Reunited 4 PM PST


From Ayal at Warner Bros. Records:

Reminder: The Bone Thugs N' Harmony press conference will be taking place today here in Los Angeles, Weds October 21st at 4pm PST. For those not able to attend in-person, please feel free to join us by logging on to Ustream.tv at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/bone-thugs-reunion-press-conference .

For those that are planning to attend in-person in LA tomorrow, please make sure to send me an rsvp if you have not done so already. For those that have rsvp'd, I will be sending an email with location address shortly. We will have a press bridge/box for anyone needing to plug in for sound. Also, immediately following the press conference there will be a listening session for the groups new album, Uni5: The World's Enemy. Food and drinks will be served.

R.I.P. to Saigon's Mom


We just learned from Chris at E1 Entertainment that Saigon's mom has passed away. Our condolences to Saigon and his family and friends. Chris asked us to post this song in tribute to her from Saigon.

Audible Treats - King Most CMJ Mix / Wyatt Cenac & Che Grand


MP3: King Most - CMJ Mix / Wyatt Cenac & Che Grand Announced As Showcase Hosts      10.20.2009
More Exciting Updates From the Audible Treats CMJ Showcase '09


As if a loaded lineup (Souls of Mischief, Tanya Morgan, Finale, Oddisee, Trinity, Kam Moye and many more) and high quality freebies (see below) weren't enough, Wyatt Cenac and Che Grand have been tapped to host the Audible Treats CMJ Showcase '09. Cenac is a standup comedian, actor and Emmy-winning writer who is best known for his position as a correspondent on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart. Che Grand is a New York-based rapper who recently released the album Everything's Good Ugly.

Bay Area DJ King Most has created a special edition Megamix for the Showcase, giving listeners a taste of each of the featured artists in order to whet their appetites for Thursday night and beyond. The excellent Megamix and its track list are below.

DJ King Most - Audible Treats CMJ Megamix: http://media.audibletreats.com/King_Most-Audible_Treats_CMJ_09_Preview_Mix.mp3 .

Tracklist:
Tanya Morgan: "We've Just Arrived"
Illa J: "Are You Listening?"
Finale: "Motor City Music"
Diamond District: "Who I Be"
Show & AG: "Next Level" (Premier's Nyte Tyme Mix)
Sadat X: "Lump Lump"
Souls of Mishief: "LaLaLa"
Jern Eye: "Get Down"

The Showcase has a truckload of amazing sponsors, including a special collaboration with Onitsuka Tiger + tokidoki, who will be providing the first fifty attendees with a variety of great freebies. Lifestyle partners such as District 81 Clothing, Karmaloop, Aerial7 Headphones, Acrylick Clothing, Delicious Vinyl, Interdependent Media, and MYX Music Label will be providing free goodies as well.

As an official CMJ-sponsored showcase, up to 50 CMJ badge-holders will be permitted free into the show. Tickets, which can be bought at Fat Beats Records (406 Ave of the Americas in NYC) or at www.SPSounds.com, cost $5 in advance and $10 the day of the show.

The Details:

Thursday 10/22/09
Audible Treats CMJ 09 Showcase
Souls Of Mischief, Tanya Morgan, Finale, Oddisee, Kam Moye, Trinity ( AG, Sadat X, and DJ Jab), Jern Eye, and TRUTHLiVE. Showcase DJ: Keelay of Keelay & Zaire
Southpaw 125 5th Ave, Brooklyn, NY‎ http://www.spsounds.com />8:00 pm
18 and up
Tix: $5 advance / $10 day of. Tickets available at:
http://www.ticketweb.com/t3/sale/SaleEventDetail?dispatch=loadSelectionData&eventId=2781664 />and at Fat Beats Records, 406 Ave of the Americas in NYC.

If you're interested in attending this event, please contact Michelle. In-person interviews are available during CMJ with all of the artists on the bill.

About Audible Treats: Audible Treats is a Brooklyn-based entertainment marketing and publicity firm specializing in print and online media coverage. Working closely with the best record labels and lifestyle companies since 2004, Audible Treats creates customized, effective marketing and publicity campaigns for countless clients, ranging the spectrum from Grammy-winners to self-funded artists including T-Pain, Too $hort, K'Jon, Anthony Hamilton, Black Milk, The Pharcyde, and many more. By combining out-of-the-box creative strategies with industry know-how, Audible Treats plays a vital role in assisting clients to meet their goals.

About Our Lifestyle Sponsors:

Acrylick is an LA-based clothing design boutique that stands strong in always having meaning and purpose along with good aesthetics.
http://www.acrylick.net .

Aerial7 headphones were founded on the idea that sound can be combined with awesome, eye catching design. Their devotion to art, streetwear, action sports and DJ culture inspire their cutting edge style. http://www.aerial7.com .

Delicious Vinyl celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2008 and has been instrumental in the careers of Tone Loc, Young MC, The Brand New Heavies, The Pharcyde, Born Jamaicans, Masta Ace, & The Whoridas among others. http://www.deliciousvinyl.com .

District 81 was founded in Detroit in 2003 by Ty Hagood and has quickly transformed into a full scale boutique men's streetwear clothing line. http://www.district81clothing.com .

Karmaloop.com is an independently owned, online retailer that specializes in reaching the international underground fashion and lifestyle scene. http://www.karmaloop.com .

Onitsuka Tiger has joined forces with tokidoki, a Japanese-inspired lifestyle brand created by Simone Legno on an exclusive footwear collaboration that fuses Japanese culture and art. Onitsuka Tiger is celebrating 60 years of Japanese heritage and contemporary design. With humble beginnings, tokidoki has expanded to vinyl toys, skateboards, jewelry, watches, knitwear, accessories & footwear.http://www.tokidoki.it | http://www.asicsamerica.com/onitsukatiger .

Streams:

DJ King Most - Audible Treats CMJ Megamix: http://media.audibletreats.com/King_Most-Audible_Treats_CMJ_09_Preview_Mix.mp3 .

* http://www.audibletreats.com/download *

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Since last week's update ran late consider this a compendium of two weeks worth of material in one shot: Adam Bernard's The Adam B Experience #75, Blanco, The Jacka & Messy Marv's "One Hunnid," Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," the "Hi Grade Ganja Anthems Volume 4" compilation, Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's HHS #266 and Steve 'Flash' Juon: The Hip-Hop Shop #267 plus a Boondocks Season 4 editorial, MF Grimm's "Good Morning Vietnam EP," Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD," Shabaam Sahdeeq's "Keepers of the Lost Art" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive