Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday July 23, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[In Transit] Constantly moving forward!

Muneshine Review

Latest News Headlines
Necro's "DIE!" Scheduled For May 18th Release


(April 28, 2010) Brooklyn-bred rapper Necro, who has cultivated an immense cult following in his career is back with another chapter in his self-styled brand of blood soaked hardcore hip-hop. The sixth studio release of his career, DIE!, scheduled for a May 18th release through his own Psycho+Logical-Records, will be the artist and label owner's first album released through the new distribution deal with Universal/Fontana.

DIE! is the emcee's vision of hip-hop back from the dead. "Like Nas said, hip-hop is dead," says Necro explaining the underlying theme behind the album's artwork and title. "Well if it died, then I am what it would be if it came back to life." With initial buzz brewing around the project thanks to the highly controversial video for the album's first single, "The Human Traffic King (White Slavery Pt. 2)," the album also includes forthcoming singles "The Kink Panther" and "Sorcerer of Death's Construction," with videos already in production.

Completely self-produced, Necro, who also recently lent his production efforts to Raekwon's highly acclaimed Only Built For Cuban Linx II, entered the studio armed only with his engineer and a vision: Creating an album that could compete with his classic Death Rap. "Death Rap raised the bar, and I think I succeeded in competing with it," the emcee maintains. Flaunting his ability to craft vivid images that range from the insane to the psychotic with equal parts sex and violence, the results are striking.

To the uninitiated, it may appear Necro's brand of hip-hop caters to a small niche audience. Releasing his product on his own Psycho+Logical-Records, the indie label has shipped over a million and a half units worldwide. No small feat in a time when most indies prefer digital only releases and struggle to find ways to sell physical records, Necro's newly minted distribution deal with Universal/Fontana looks to make this release Necro's biggest to date.

Check out the latest leak off Necro's Die!, "Set It": http://media.audibletreats.com/Necro-Set_It.mp3

The Background:

Necro creates the most extreme brand of hardcore hip-hop available. It's violent, explicit, insane and at times, pornographic. The music is mental (psychological) but also insane (psycho) and intelligent (logical), hence Psycho+Logical-Records. Launching his label in Nov. 1999 with five albums - I Need Drugs, Gory Days, The Pre-Fix For Death, The Sexorcist and Death Rap - it is rap at its most brutal. With DIE!, that is exactly what fans will get and more. Slated for release May 18th via Psycho+Logical-Records / RBC / Fontana, Necro's 6th solo album is the ultimate in his self-made genre of hardcore hip-hop.

Streams:

"Set It":
http://media.audibletreats.com/Necro-Set_It.mp3

"asBESTos":
http://media.audibletreats.com/Necro-asBESTos.mp3

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
http://www.audibletreats.com/download/necro

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/NECRO-OFFICIAL-PAGE/304661553517

Twitter:
http://twitter.com/necro_is_God

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/necro

YouTube:
http://www.youtube.com/user/necrovideo

Official Street Team:
http://www.necroarmy.com/

Official Site:
http://necrohiphop.com/

 

Audio: Eternia & MoSS - "It's Funny (Remix)" feat. Ras Kass


Eternia & MoSS "IT'S FUNNY" REMIX ft. RAS KASS - Behind the Scenes (VIDEO)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nl9yRmdnA3o

CLICK HERE to watch BEHIND THE SCENES Footage of "IT'S FUNNY"

Finally the record label & release dates have been announced, but that doesn't mean the cameras stop rolling! Get a behind-the-scenes glimpse of Eternia tracking her final verses for "AT LAST" at Fat Beats HQ, premiering the "IT'S FUNNY" Remix on HALFTIME RADIO, and building w/ RAS KASS about a lil' controversy in his verse, and why he calls Eternia ... "Annie"?

Eternia & MoSS will release their highly anticipated album "AT LAST"June 15th, 2010 & the "AT LAST" Vinyl EP drops May 18th, 2010 on FAT BEATS RECORDS worldwide!

Download Eternia & MoSS "IT'S FUNNY" Remix ft. RAS KASS:

Clean: http://usershare.net/3as47s8n94l3
Dirty: http://usershare.net/i5qenj17v2g9

Eternia & MoSS "AT LAST" Vinyl EP drops MAY 2010 thru FAT BEATS RECORDS!

"AT LAST" Full-Length drops June 2010 thru Fat Beats Records

Karma Response Unit Newsletter


From Karma Response Unit Records

Hey everyone,
It's busy times here over at Karma Response Unit Records! We did not send out an email last week and probably won't send one next week so this weeks email is jam packed with goodies and info!

- Check out the brand new double music video for Side Effect's "Beards" & "Gone Like The 80s (feat. Jake Lefco)", taken from Side Effect's forthcoming album "Cabin Fever". Please rate, comment, & tell a friend if you like!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez6ecHIRpn0

- The first 100 pre-orders for Side Effect's "Cabin Fever" album for just $6.99 from our online store, include your choice of one of 4 free albums! The orders are flying in already so don't wait and miss your chance to be in the first 100 orders! For more details and to order visit our store home page;
http://krurecords.com/catalog/

- My Happ G "7 Touches" EP had a good first week of sales on iTunes, so thanks to all of you who ordered the 7 song EP for the special limited edition price of $3.99! The album is featured again this week in the iTunes store's Hip Hop/Rap front 'new & noteworthy' section! Please write a review and rate it if you haven't already and please tell a friend if you like what you hear. And the music video for "Nothing No Nada" will be dropping within the next week or two. You can find the EP here;
http://itunes.com/happg

- For those of you in the NYC area you can check out our boy Jake Lefco performing tomorrow night with the Bohemian Rap CD crew! Jake just let us know the following info;

"We've got a tremendous line-up for this one! Performances by...Jake Lefco & DJ King Cut...Ryan-O'Neil & 100dbs...IllSpokinn & Acee...Kats & Domer w/DJ SmutVillain...Followed by a live performance of Bohemian Rap CD, featuring all 5 of the above-mentioned emcees! Don't Miss It!!!

Thursday April 29th @ Bowery Poetry Club
10:00 pm. $10
Bowery Poetry Club is located at 308 Bowery, between Bleecker and Houston Streets."

- And finally since we may not be sending out our free weekly MP3 next week as I'll be out of the country, we wanted to hit you with a slew of FIVE FREE joints this week to check out!

Side Effect "Serious"
This is the first track on Side's "Cabin Fever" album
http://www.zshare.net/audio/75485158357058a5/

Reef the Lost Cauze, Jake Lefco, Side Effect, Kenneth Masters, & Iron Solomon "Audio Ambush (remix)"
An unreleased joint from our vaults
http://www.zshare.net/audio/75485341a9800461/

R-Son the Voice of Reason f/ Scandal of 40th Dimension "6.2.2."
As the title suggests this is an older joint R-Son and Scand put together
http://www.zshare.net/audio/75485293438e1d0d/

Mos Def "Mathematics (Happ G remix)"
From my upcoming free DL release "44 Remixes" being released in 4 parts of 11 songs each. Some of you might recognize this beat.
http://www.zshare.net/audio/75485393d64a8160/

Greg Nice "Set It Off"
Also from "44 Remixes"
http://www.zshare.net/audio/754853944e6e04a7/

Enjoy! Peace,

Justin "Happ G"

Audio: yU - "On The Corner" OG Remix Feat. EyeQ


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

The Song:

Fresh on the heels of his solo debut release, Before Taxes, yU of critically acclaimed Diamond District is back with his latest remix, "On The Corner," featuring EyeQ. Produced by DJ Lord Jazz from Lords Of The Underground, yU's funk infused remix features a boom bap saxophone creeping up on a straight drumbeat, all while maintaining his classic hip-hop vibe. Complimenting the rhythmic beats, yU explains, "EyeQ and I both liked the sample, 'Standing on the corner,' so we decided to build the track's concept around that." He continues, "We painted the picture of all the things you'd see." Their theme is ever-present in the hook, "On the corner you see hustlers be balling / Customers be falling / And the police patrolling the ave / So take this as a warning / Cuz the block be scalding hot when they be out there making cash / The corners." EyeQ attacks each verse with his hard-hitting rhymes, followed by yU's southern drawl to bring the two together for the catchy chorus. Rinse and repeat. The perfect track to play on repeat in your car, yU and EyeQ narrate a drive down the streets of the DMV. The duo throws a curveball as "On The Corner" comes to a close with an a cappella chorus and sirens blaring - Better stay off those corners, the police are out on the prowl.

Be on the lookout for the release of the Before Taxes instrumentals and Before Taxes on vinyl next week.

Listen to yU's "On The Corner" OG Remix featuring EyeQ here: http://media.audibletreats.com/yU-On_The_Corner-OG_Mix.mp3

On a recent trip to New York, yU sat down with Ignantwitted.com. Check out the interview here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xa2zWR_puJI

http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/before-taxes/id363912874

The Background:

Stemming off the success of Diamond District's In The Ruff, emcee yU has branched out with his solo album, Before Taxes. Embodying the musical influences surrounding him, yU brings listeners tastes of the district, Maryland, and Virginia with his own classic brand of hip-hop. Showcasing his depth of talent and skill, yU expands on Diamond District's love of boom-bap and the golden era with this forthcoming release. Before Taxes is available digitally via Mello Music Group.

South London's Stylah Wins Mr. Hudson's MC Competition


From Ian at 7Thirty Entertainment

South London artist Stylah wins Mr Hudson MC Competition


Mercury recording artist Mr Hudson this afternoon announced on his twitter page that London rap artist Stylah has won the competition to feature on the UK edition of his new single Anyone But Him. The song, which features Kanye West on the original album version, is due for release in May with Stylah guest featuring. Stylah will also be joining Mr Hudson on stage to perform the track on his current UK tour.

Whilst currently independent, Stylah has recently been in talks with major labels for his solo material after a long campaign building his name and fanbase through mix CDs, internet virals and live shows. The announcement by Mr Hudson today of this high profile guest appearance will presumably do these negotiations no harm and the future looks bright for this young rapper.

Footage of Stylah and Mr Hudson recording the record, recent viral clips and 'The Warning' Mixtape can all be obtained from Stylah's official website www.stylah.tv.


Scarface Offers Free Megamix Download on Amazon


From Tonia Samman:

Scarface Offers Free Megamix Download on Amazon

Scarface 

Today, legendary southern rapper Scarface released a free Megamix single which highlights several songs from his upcoming mixtape, Dopeman Music, exclusively on Amazon.com.  Dopeman Music is slated for official release digitally on May 4th (physically May 11th) from Scarface’s own Facemob Music, coming to us via Houston-based label Deep Distribution.

The Megamix single includes three and a half minutes of music especially created for fans to get a sneak preview of Scarface’s highly anticipated street album, Dopeman Music, following his 2 year hiatus from the music business.

Although Scarface had announced that he was retiring from the rap game forever  with his last album Emeritus, his fans are ecstatic that the South’s most admired rapper has decided to come out of retirement, realizing that music is in his blood and it always will be.  In an interview with MTV, he stated that he was a musician and pioneer and that he felt the need to move onto another stage with the way he delivers his music to the public.  That’s part of the reason why Scarface decided to release Dopeman Music on his own label imprint Facemob Music. Get a taste of the new project with the free Megamix download below.

Get the FREE Dopeman Music Megamix (Single) on Amazon: Dopeman Music Megamix (Single).

An exclusive single from Dopeman Music was also released on Verizon this week.  Verizon subscribers can now purchase the single “Lyrical Assault” exclusively at the Vcast store.  For non-Verizon customers, you’ll just have to wait until next week, when Dopeman Music hits all other digital stores!

Scarface has been busy with a series of interviews lately as well.  Check him out on Street Disciplez Radio, posted by SOHH.com, where he makes the big, yet fitting, statement, “I am hip-hop dude, I was a part of hip-hop when it had no f*cking boundaries.”  Hip Hop DX did a great interview that was so long, they posted a preview last week, with the rest of the goods scheduled to go up any day now.  Yo! Raps posted an excellent convo with the rapper today.  And make sure to pick up the June issue of XXL Magazine, which will include what’s sure to be another killer interview feature with Scarface. 

Pre-order Scarface’s Dopeman Music [Facemob Music] on Amazon: Dopeman Music.

Paul Wall the People's Champ Releases Free iTune App


From Nancy B:

Paul Wall the People's Champ Releases Free iTune App

Burbank, CA - As the countdown to the June 29th drop of Paul Wall's 4th major album release, "Heart of a Champion" begins, the Houston rapper plans to stay in touch with fans via iTunes with the release of his new App, "PaulWall360" this past Friday. The free App, which is available in 8 languages and requires iPhone OS 3.0 or later, will enable fans to stay up-to-date on Paul's tour schedule, hear limited edition remixes, browse through photos and videos and have access to other exclusive materials they wouldn't otherwise see.

"This App is all about me, The Peoples Champ." the affable emcee says. "You'll hear all my latest music and get all the news on my upcoming albums."

Paul Wall, is all set to drop his 4th major label album, Heart of a Champion, on June 29th through SwishaHouse/Asylum Records. Almost half of the tracks featured on the album are produced by long-time friend and Expensive Taste band-mate, Travis Barker. The album will also feature several songs from Expensive Taste, the group which includes Skinhead Rob (Transplants) in addition to Paul and Travis.

Houston-based production duo, Beanz N Kornbread, are credited with the majority of the tracks not produced by Travis, including lead single “I’m on Patron”, a lyrical documentary of a feeling that most of us have experienced - and greatly regretted the next day - that of simply having too much fun of the liquid variety. “I'm On Patron” is the perfect accompaniment to that 'blame it on the alcohol' kind of night and sure to be a party staple.

Feature duties for “Heart of a Champion” include a diverse list of cast members including Jim Jones, Yelawolf and Raekwon but do not ignore Paul’s Houston roots; Bun B, Chamillionaire, Slim Thug, Devin the Dude and Lil’ Keke each get their turn at the mic. Another Houston feature is Johnny Dang aka TV Johnny with whom Paul Wall shares a grills and jewelry business which caters to A-list celebrities and average Joes alike.

Always an advocate for the Texas music scene, Paul Wall was recently tapped as President of The Recording Academy’s Texas Chapter. In this role, he hopes to educate and enlist the help of Texas musicians from every genre, to ensure that the state is well represented in the Grammy’s voting body. The natural politician in Paul Wall makes him the perfect candidate for this role. He embodies his moniker, “The Peoples Champ.”

With two #1 album debuts, a Platinum plaque and a Grammy nomination under his belt, not to mention having some of the hottest celebs in the nation rocking his signature diamond-encrusted grills at one point or another, Paul Wall is the embodiment of the Hip Hop success story. His journey began humbly enough as a promoter for hometown indie label, SwishaHouse, and culminated with him being largely instrumental in the growth of the Houston rap movement and its rise into the national arena.

There have been a total of 7 albums since then and the journey continues with no sign of slowing down. 10 years in and Paul Wall remains in the game and in the hearts of the people. Without question, he truly has ‘The Heart of a Champion.’

JYoung The General Moves From Education to Entertainment


From WK3:

JYoung The General Moves From Education to Entertainment

LANSING/DETROIT—Two months after releasing a free project with G-Unit producer Nick Speed to chronicle black history, JYoung The General is showcasing other weapons in his repertoire. The Michigan lyricist’s new EP, Jahshua 1:6, combines the lyricism of Black History Year: Installment One with radio and club-ready tunes, personal reflection, and thought-provoking concepts.

“I’m proud of Black History Year, because it gives me a chance to educate with my music. But I don’t want listeners to pigeonhole me as a ‘conscious’ artist,” JYoung explains. “I’ve got a lot more to offer musically, and Jahshua 1:6 should give my fans and colleagues a better idea of that.”

JYoung began his career by supplying legendary Harlem, NY rap crew The Diplomats as an affiliate of The Dramasetters production group. After the group disbanded, he would transfer his focus to the microphone and the business side. Subsequent years would see him perform dozens of shows in Lansing, Mich. and venues around the Midwest, and co-host the monthly Lansing rap show Mic Club before jumpstarting his BLAT! Pack crew’s own monthly show, RE: Definition. Since the Nick Speed-produced Black History Year: Installment One was released online March 8 2010, it has garnered coverage on the likes of 2DopeBoyz, The Smoking Section and other sites, along with getting JYoung a consistent stream of shows around the state. All of this time, he was crafting Jahshua 1:6—a collection of six songs, titled after a Bible verse that serves as a metaphor for JYoung’s goal to help hip-hop fulfill its destiny and restore its historical pride. 

Street single “Black Nationalists,” which has netted over 4,500 plays on top web site HipHopDX, sees him and fellow BLAT! Pack member P2DaHI (formerly known as .P.H.I.L.T.H.Y.) showcasing the awareness and chemistry they did on BHY. But the booming StewRAT-produced “She Likes Me” shows another side of JYoung as he slick talks a woman at the club. “Feel Dat Way” chronicles his Detroit upbringing with his family, and conceptual standout “Streetrunner” features verses that personify a rat, a shoe, and crime—three things that do exactly what the song’s title implies.

The project is available for stream and free/name-your-own-price download on JYoung’s Bandcamp Page (http://jyoungthegeneral.bandcamp.com), as well as iTunes, Amazon, and other digital media outlets. Also, follow JYoung on Twitter (http://twitter.com/JYoungS2TS). Look below for upcoming JYoung The General performances:

April 27—Detroit, Mich.—Jahshua 1:6 Release Party w/P2DaHI (a.k.a. P.H.I.L.T.H.Y.) and Yellokake//5 Elements Gallery (2125 Michigan Ave., Detroit, MI)//$5 Donation
April 29—Lansing, Mich.—Jahshua 1:6 Release Party w/Ro Spit, P2DaHI (a.k.a. P.H.I.L.T.H.Y.), Phresh Heir, Othello, Yellokake, Mizz Diva, The Amature and Phresh Heir//The Loft (414 E. Michigan Ave., Lansing, MI)//$7 for 21+, $9 for 18+
May 5—Lansing, Mich.//RE: Definition w/OneBeLo, Sacramento Knoxx, Clear Soul Forces, Jaydun, Lyriclee, Omega The Majestik//Mac’s Bar (2700 Michigan Ave., Lansing, MI)//$5 for 21+, $7 for 18+
May 7—Kalamazoo, Mich.//Tactics aka YUNG Tact, MNSTRESS, Red Pill and Combatt Corduroy//The Strutt Café and Bar (773 West Michigan, Kalamazoo, MI 49007)//$5 for men 21+, women 21+ free, $10 18+)
May 13—Redford, Mich.//DetroitRap.com Mic Club “All BLAT! Everything” w/The BLAT! Pack (JYoung The General, P2DaHI (a.k.a. P.H.I.L.T.H.Y.), Red Pill, CapitalSS, The Amature, Yellokake, FowL)//The Bullfrog Bar & Grill (15414 Telegraph Rd, Redford, MI)//$5 for 21+
May 21-22—Grand Rapids, Mich.—Grand Rapids Hip-Hop Weekend (Details To be Announced)
May 22—Lansing, Mich.—LansingHipHop.com Release Party (Details To Be Announced)
Billy Drease Williams Presents Good Morning Amy


Billy Drease Williams presents Good Morning Amy

www.GoodMorningAMY.com

After many years of failed successes and successful failures, today and at this very moment, I start anew, by sharing my latest project, Good Morning AMY. I've concluded that what I have to offer is only for the chosen few, a finely focused, yet vastly diverse group of people of which I consider you to be a part of. What I ask of you is very simple, which is to be an active agent in spreading the Good Morning AMY concept, and in the process discovering your own AMY. 

"Everyone has an Amy! Amy is the personification of one's goals, desires and ambitions. Amy is what motivates a person every morning to reach their personal best. She is our deepest wish within which we find our own burning passion." GOOD MORNING AMY is a healing soundtrack to self-motivation, daily gratitude, positive thinking and goal attainment.  - taken from Good Morning Amy manifesto

So, please take a moment to engage the GOOD MORNING AMY EXPERIENCE and spread the concept at the cost of no more than clicking [forward + send] and starting HERE : www.GoodMorningAMY.com
 
Thank You,
Billy Drease
Devo Spice Update - 4/27/2010


Devo Spice Update - 4/27/2010

Hey everyone,

I have a new song out!  Last year Insane Ian and I separately had horrible flying experiences, so we decided to get together and take out our frustrations in song form.  You can listen to and download the song for free over at The FuMP starting today.  Here's a direct link: http://tinyurl.com/2utff9s

In other news my previously new song Disclaimer is now available on the This Week In Science compilation fund raiser CD.  (It's track 1!)  In order to get a copy of the CD you have to make a donation to the radio station.  You can do so by going here: http://su.pr/6mVBMl

Finally, I will be at PenguiCon this weekend in Troy, MI along with The Great Luke Ski, Worm Quartet, Power Salad (Hey! That's the whole Cirque du So What crew!), Tom Smith, Insane Ian, Toyboat, Carrie Dahlby, Soggy Potato Chips, Max De Groot, Dual Core, Positive Attitude, and probably someone else I'm missing.  My concert is Friday night at 9:00, followed by Worm Quartet at 10:00.  Should be an awesome weekend.

->Later.....Spice


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Adam Bernard's Princess Superstar interview, Dan-e-o's "Inevitable," a new editorial on mixtapes, Frankenstein's "The Science of Sound," Gangsta Boo & La Chat's "Witch," Husalah x Blanco's "Tortoise and the Hare," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #280 and UFC Founder Art Davie interview, Muneshine's "In Transit" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Kool Keith & Rah Digga - "Non Stop". RapReviews.com also recommends Raw Reaction from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive