Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday April 18, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[PTSD] PTSD.

Pharoahe Monch Review

Latest News Headlines
Jacki-O Speaks on Alleged Violent Club Incident


From Souleo:

I hope that this note finds you well.  Mediatakeout.com posted a
report that Jacki-O was involved in a violent club incident that left her
running out of the club with her wig snatched off and stocking cap exposed.
However, according to Jacki-O the truth is quite different.  Please visit:
www.souleouniverse.com to listen to her side of the story as she reveals why
the police were called, whether or not her team was in fact carrying
concealed weapons, and more.

Mediatakeout.com report:
http://www.mediatakeout.com/3326/girlfight_miami_rapper_jackie_o_gets_into_a_fight

Jacki-O's response:

 


Get Your Own Free Hypster.com Playlist.
Big B Continues to Provide the Soundtrack to Your Summer


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release

Big B Continues To Provide The Soundtrack To Your Summer
On Tour With (HED)PE & REHAB

***

Las Vegas heavyweight Big B will continue to provide the soundtrack for your summer as he embarks on a West Coast tour with rap-rock pioneers (Hed)pe in June and then a month long tour with Atlanta based hip-hop/rock hybrids REHAB starring June 23rd through the middle of July.

Big B's new album "American Underdog" has quickly become the feel good hit of the summer with his new single “Sinners” featuring Scott Russo blowing up across the country. Big B’s eclectic mixture of alt-rock, hip-hop and rock grooves has earned him comparisons to Everlast and the laid back vibrations of Sublime. The Las Vegas heavyweight has touring non-stop since the album's release, appearing on sold-out tours with Kottonmouth Kings, La Coka Nostra, Pennywise and Pepper, while opening for Weezer, Kings of Leon and Jimmy Eat World at this year's KROQ Weenie Roast.

Big B's video for the track "Sinners” featuring Unwritten Law frontman Scott Russo and freestyle motocross champ Carey Hart is available online at http://www.youtube.com/user/feedbigb .

BIG B WITH HEDPE:
Jun 09 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Murray Theater    
Jun 10 -Boise, ID @ The Knitting Factory Concert House
Jun 11 - Seattle, Washington @ El Corazon    
Jun 12 - Spokane, WA @ The Knitting Factory    
 Jun 13 - Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre    
Jun 15 - Portland, OR @ Modesto, CA
Jun 17 - Orangevale, CA @ The Boardwalk    
Jun 19 – West Hollywood, CA @ Key Club
Jun 20 - San Bernardino, CA @ National Orange Show

BIG B WITH REHAB:
Jun 23 - Odessa, TX @ Dos Amigos    
Jun 24 - San Antonio, TX @ Scout Bar    
Jun 25 - Beaumont, TX @ Scout Bar    
Jun 26 - Tyler, TX @ Click's    
Jun 27 - Shreveport, LA @ Riverside Warehouse    
Jun 29 - Baton Rouge, LA @ Varsity Theatre    
Jun 30 - Houma, LA @ The City Club of Houma    
Jul 01 - D'Iberville, MS @ Guitars And Cadillacs    
Jul 03 - Mobile, AL @ Soul Kitchen    
Jul 04 - Holiday, FL @ Slim And Chubbies    
Jul 05 - West Palm Beach, FL @ Respectable Street    
Jul 07 - Sebastian, FL @ Captain Hiram's    
Jul 07 - Daytona Beach, FL @ The Coliseum    
Jul 10 - Pensacola, FL @ Capt'n Fun Downtown    
Jul 11 - Pensacola, FL @ Capt'n Fun Downtown

###

* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

MP3: Del - "Straight From The Big Bad West Coast"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Del the Funky Homosapien - "Straight From The Big Bad West Coast"      06.08.2009
The Funkman Bolsters His Stimulus Package With A Best Coast Funk History Lesson


The Song:

While Del the Funky Homosapien's new album - the entirely free, 13-track Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) - tackles a stack of current events and problems, one track in particular serves as the classic "back-in-the-day" shout out. That track is "Straight from the Big Bad West Coast," the perfect blend of Del's unique rhymes and quintessential comedic style, "I just peeped some ni##as think they can sh!t on a beat / By the most popular producer "Al Circa" / When you unearth that worthless waste / Take that Auto-Tune off, leave the gimmicks at home / You ain't foolin' nobody dumb ni##a, it's on!"

Del optimistically refers to "Straight from the Big Bad West Coast" as his favorite track on the album: "It’s got that west coast vibe. I came from that angle, but I also hit people up with some history, how we on the west coast started these trends. It came from us. People used to think Cali was about white boys, surfers, palm trees, beaches but they didn’t know there were straight killers out here, bomb chronic, and more. It was almost like we shouldn’t be rapping in the first place." Del, however, has been rapping from day one, and this track and the rest of The Funk Man only further assert him as a hip-hop veteran.

Download Funk Man: The Stimulus Package Here: http://delthefunkyhomosapien.bandcamp.com/ .

Remaining Tour Dates:
6/9/2009 Fat Cat Music House tba Modesto, CA
6/10/2009 The Babylon Club tba Fresno, CA
6/11/2009 Fishlips tba Bakersfield, CA
6/12/2009 House of Blues 9:00 PM West Hollywood, CA

The Background:

Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) marks Del the Funky Homosapien's 14th project of a hip-hop career that spans almost two decades. Starting at the tender age of 17 as protégé to his cousin, Ice Cube, Del quickly rose to the top of the underground hip hop scene with his albums, I Wish My Brother George Was Here (1991) and No Need for Alarm (1993), both released through Elektra Records. Soon after parting ways with the label, Del helped found the Hieroglyphics family, comprised of notable emcees Pep Love, the Souls of Mischief, Casual, and Domino. In 1998 the critically acclaimed album 3rd Eye Vision was the first to be released under the Hieroglyphics Imperium label and since then Del has had consistent success with his solo and joint efforts, including Deltron 3030 (2000), Gorillaz (2001), Full Circle (2003), and Eleventh Hour (2008) to name a few. Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) features more of Del's signature style, as this high-energy album is comprised of raw lyrics, driving rhythms, and Del's undeniable funkiness. Released via Funnyman Entertainment on April 7th, Funk Man (The Stimulus Package) is available for free via http://delthefunkyhomosapien.bandcamp.com/ .

Streams:

"Straight From The Big Bad West Coast"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del-Straight_From_the_Big_Bad_West_Coast.mp3 *

"Get It Right Now"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Del-Get_It_Right_Now.mp3 *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n52_xavMyfQ *

Del's Stimulus Address
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7nCTRrgmd1s *

FREE Album Download:
* http://delthefunkyhomosapien.bandcamp.com/ *

Chamillionaire Addresses Rumors of His Retirement


Press release from Nancy B:

CHAMILLIONAIRE ADDRESSES THE "RETIREMENT" RUMORS

WITH THIS STATEMENT


Several days ago, I did a live broadcast from my site, Chamillionaire.com, to let fans know where I am right now and what my intentions are musically for the future. Instead of clearing things up, the broadcast unintentionally spawned rumors of my retirement from music. Since then, I have been bombarded with emails and phone calls regarding my so-called retirement and the reasons behind me not dropping the promised "Venom" album.

It was definitely not my intention to mislead anyone into thinking that I plan to completely retire from music. I love making music and will continue to do so. What I am retiring is the "Mixtape Messiah" part of my career. This means no more jacking beats and no more underground mixtapes. I have been making and putting them out for over a decade and I feel like it is time to step to another level. The upcoming installment of the "Mixtape Messiah" series, "Mixtape Messiah 7", will be the final one. Moving forward, a large majority of the music I release will be on original beats.

Additionally, even though I don't plan on releasing any of the original material that I had wanted to call "Venom", I will definitely be releasing a third Chamillionaire album with Universal. I am confident that my true fans will have plenty of fresh, new music to be as excited about as I am and I look forward to supplying their demand for new music.

I hope that my fans will understand that over time, you grow as a person and this means you will evolve as an artist. The experiences that you encounter throughout your life all contribute to those changes and that is bound to affect the music an artist feels like making at any given time. I love that my fans feel so deeply about the work I have done in the mixtape scene or the "Get Ya Mind Correct" era of my career, but at this time I want to focus 100% of my studio time on perfecting the commercial music I will release in the future.

Thanks for understanding.

Chamillionaire

Nicolay & Kay - "As the Wheel Turns" (Doc Reznor Remix)


From K-Murdock:

For anyone who has ever heard me name my "favorite producers", one person that always consistently surfaces is Nicolay. I met Nic a few years ago when i interviewed him on my show, Subsoniq, and since then we have managed to maintain regular contact and a mutual respect for one another that goes beyond the beats. Needless to say, I consider Nicolay and his very cool wife/manager Aimee to be good friends, who also happen to know, all too well, the highs and lows of choosing music as one's full-time profession. But, being that i am undoubtedly a fan at heart, i still geeked over the opportunity to remix one of Nicolay's works, especially since the song i chose was one i loved so much in its original form!


The "TIME:LINE" album was released last year by Nicolay & (Houston emcee) Kay. The track "As the Wheel Turns" was hands down my favorite song on the album, so i was honored that both Nic & Kay were excited about my "spin" on it (no pun intended). As for the title, i always give my remixes names based on the vibe i had when i was creating the beat, so the "Doc Reznor" reference alludes to the industrial, heavy- synth Nine-Inch-Nails-mood i was in while making the track, which u can hear best exemplified on the remix's chorus.

Oh yeah, shouts go to Raw Poetic, for helping me "Panacea-nize" it (lol) with his guest verse, and also to Ms. Emilie Bogrand for the dope re-singing of Kay's original hook! You can download the remix as well as the whole extended edition of Nicolay & Kay's "TIME:LINE" (complete with 36 total tracks) over at iTunes and Amazon.

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

 

DJ JS-1 to Release New Album on June 23rd


From Audible Treats:

DJ JS-1 To Release New Album No Sell Out On June 23 Via Fat Beats Records 

Queens, New York DJ/Producer's New Album To Feature Performances From Nearly 40 Artists

(June 4, 2009 - Brooklyn, NY) Queens, New York native DJ JS-1 will release his latest solo project No Sell Out on June 23rd via Fat Beats Records. The album, recorded as an addendum to his previous solo effort Ground Original, comprises 21 tracks and features nearly 40 artists.

JS-1 has been a recognized name in the DJ circuit since the late 80's and has since made his mark in the hip-hop industry with numerous production credits, single releases, mixtapes, and television appearances. Throughout his career, JS-1 has gathered an extensive and impressive network of industry names. With his new album No Sell Out, a career's worth of hard work is on full display, with JS-1 obtaining features from a who's-who of hip-hop royalty, past, present, and future. For the past three years, JS-1 has been hard at work putting together No Sell Out, and that hard work will finally pay off on June 23rd, when the album is released to the masses via Fat Beats Records.

No Sell Out, a title referencing JS-1's desire to create records according to personal taste despite current mainstream direction, is most notable for its extensive list of guest artists, including KRS-ONE, Large Pro, Pharoahe Monch, Canibus, Sean Price, Blaq Poet, Killah Priest, Ill Bill, Kool Keith & Ced Gee (Ultramagnetic Mc's), Aesop Rock, Vast Aire, Chino XL, Sadat X, AG, OC, Craig G, CL Smooth, Edo G, Prince Po, Akrobatik, J-Live, Vinnie Paz of Jedi Mind Tricks, Rakaa of Dilated Peoples, Krondon, C Rayz Walz, Vast Aire, Nutrageous, Copywrite, PMD, Rahzel, EMC (Masta Ace, Strick, Wordsworth, Punchline), Termanology, Torae, Pumpkinhead, Jak D, Big Noyd, Q-Unique, Brother Ali, Slaine, Virtuoso, Pack FM, Supastition. Block McCloud, Trez, Rugged Intellect, and DJ Premier. Having so many talented and respected artists on one album is amazing. Coordinating all these artists at once can prove quite difficult, and was, in fact, one of JS-1's greatest challenges. JS-1 says, "Doing an album like this with over 40 emcees on it, is not easy," says JS-1. "Between myself being on tour, the featured artists being on tour, emailing files, meeting people at studios, trying to coordinate what beats to use, making everyone happy, agreeing on the concepts, and then fitting in the hooks, it is not something that gets done quickly. A lot of this album was pieced together over the past 3 years."

Over his illustrious career, JS-1 has worked with a large number of artists, including Common, Will Smith & Jazzy Jeff, Immortal Technique, KRS-One, Big Daddy Kane, Dilated Peoples, Kool G Rap, Masta Ace, Pharoahe Monch, Planet Asia, Ill Bill, Royce Da 5'9, Akrobatik, Sadat X, Brand Nubian, Kool Keith, Canibus, and Vinnie Paz of Jedi Mind Tricks. In addition to his production work, JS has shared the stage with a wide variety of artists, such as 50 Cent, RUN DMC, Maroon 5, Wu-Tang Clan, The Roots, Busta Rhymes, Talib Kweli, Redman & Method Man, Wyclef, OAR, Dashboard Confessional, Snoop Dogg, All American Rejects, Mike Patton, and many more. For the past three years, since the release of his previous album, JS-1 has stayed busy touring, producing, making high-profile TV appearances, and completing his new album. The result is an album that displays JS-1's excellent production and DJ abilities, and will serve to make DJ JS-1 a household name for all within the hip-hop community. No Sell Out is available June 23rd on Fat Beats Records.

Listen to the first single, "Like This" featuring Large Professor - http://media.audibletreats.com/DJ_JS-1-Like_This_feat_Large_Pro.mp3 .

For JS-1's bio and other goodies, please visit: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/djjs1 .

Streams:

"Like This" featuring Large Professor
* http://media.audibletreats.com/DJ_JS-1-Like_This_feat_Large_Pro.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/djjs1 *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/djjs1groundoriginal *

Fat Beats:
* http://www.FatBeats.com *

MP3: Tanya Morgan - "Bang & Boogie"


From Audible Treats:

MP3: Tanya Morgan - "Bang & Boogie"      06.04.2009
"Know it wasn't worth it, it was the last and the first, y'all..."


The Song:

"Bang & Boogie," new from Tanya Morgan's sophomore album, Brooklynati, finds the trio of Von Pea, Donwill, and Ilyas sharing tales of their past trysts in clothing store dressing rooms, bedrooms, and school hallways and stairwells - for a second, you might even think this was just another song about the sexual exploits of rappers. You might, that is, until you realize that each tale ends with unintended consequences. What starts out as a good, harmless fun ends with running from security guards, dealing with girls gone crazy, and school suspensions.

With a beat that sounds like the 2009 version of Prince Paul-era De La Soul, the boom bap drums, horns and organs play as the perfect background for the twisting tales. A few listens later, you might even start second-guessing your next move when it comes to the opposite sex - or at least remember to watch out for those pesky security guards and hall monitors.

Check out what Tanya Morgan's Von Pea has to say about the song: "I was just rambling along to the beat one day and started saying Bang N Boogie to it, like a hook. I didn't record it that day but I came back later and played with that idea. I decided to write about the days of when I was a teenager and I'd hear stories (usually lies) from my friends about things like this happening."

Don't forget to swing over to the Brooklynati DMV and register for your very own Brooklynati Drivers License! Make sure to hold onto the license. Tany Morgan's MySpace friends who add their Brooklynati license as their profile picture will be added to Tanya Morgan's top friend list. The license also entitles you to some goodies down the road! http://brooklynati.com/dmv/dmv.htm .

Listen to the first single, "So Damn Down" - http://media.audibletreats.com/Tanya_Morgan-So_Damn_Down-DJ_Mix.mp3 .

Get your virtual tour of Brooklynati here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=413Io1IQ2OA .

The Background:

Tanya Morgan is back with their third project, Brooklynati, following the success of Moonlighting and The Bridge. Since Von Pea, Ilyas, and Don Will formed Tanya Morgan in 2003, they have received high praise from media elites such as Spin, The Source, XXL Magazine and a resounding seal of approval from the blogosphere. Considered by many to be our generation's torchbearers for De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest, Tanya Morgan will once again put their skills on display with the unique hip-hop Americana sounds of their Brooklynati album this spring. Based on the fictitious city of Brooklynati, this release pushes the boundaries of a concept album by incorporating not only lyrical imagery but also cultivating a culture and mindset, which can be experienced through the City of Brooklynati Chamber of Commerce website: http://www.brooklynati.com/home.html. The sites, sounds, memories, and events of Brooklynati were unleashed via Bay-Area based record label Interdependent Media, the architects behind the funding and development of Brooklynati. Wanderlusts can feed their souls at http://www.Brooklynati.com .

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Streams:

"Bang & Boogie"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Tanya_Morgan-Bang_N_Boogie.mp3 *

Tour of Brooklynati Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=amKJiakiOMM *

What Is Brooklynati? Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPAvAa0cfI8 *

Fat Beats In Store Video
* http://vimeo.com/4623362 *

Warren G - Mr. DJ (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Warren G
Title: Mr. DJ
Label: TTL/Koch Records

The promotional copy of this single I received is sadly incomplete as the song cuts off at 2:22, but in that two minutes and change I heard enough to know that this self-produced rapper is as dapper as ever. "I'm spillin Henn' while the record spin/And they go crazy when I use my pen/The smallest jail to the biggest pen/They love a nigga like I love to win/And I love baby with the pretty skin/And baby love the way I get it in." I do too Warren. His beat is a pure disco soul throwback, feel good G-Funk vibe, with the original 213 representative throwing divas on the hook who scream "Hey Mister Dee-JAYYYYY!" At times Warren has struggled to find the spotlight with the long shadow cast by his stepbrother Dr. Dre, but even without Nate Dogg this could be his biggest hit since "Regulate."

J Dilla f/ Bun B, Termanology - Make it Fast (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: J Dilla f/ Bun B, Termanology
Title: Make it Fast
Label: Nature Sounds

Apparently a last minute scratch from J Dilla's posthumous "Jay Stay Paid" CD, the original version of "Make it Fast" links together hip-hop scenes from Detroit, Lawrence and Port Arthur - an interesting if lopsided triangle of rap sound. Dilla's beat rings like a muted cowbell, but is far doper than that paltry description can do justice. The sample in the chorus sounds like a language that's not really english, and could just as easily be interpreted as "Make a Fuss," but who cares. Bun B's lyrics hold the track down. "Your flow is not 'dro homey, you that weak cabbage/And where I'm fin' to send yo' ass you won't need baggage." Guitars punctuate the beat, a bassline moans in the backdrop, and Termanology plays second fiddle verbally when normally he stars on tracks he's on. It's a shame for Bun B that this version of "Make it Fast" was dropped but it was an odd marriage of styles to begin with that was probably better off getting divorced.

Ron Artest - Bury Me (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Ron Artest
Title: Bury Me
Label: Tru Warier Records

We last heard from Ron Artest off the court on his self-released album "My World" in 2006. Since then he has bounced around the NBA, going from the Pacers to the Kings, most recently winding up with the Houston Rockets. It might have served Artest well to link up with Chamillionaire now that he's in H-Town as his flow doesn't seem to have changed much in the last three years - in fact he brags about it. "I never changed, still hood, all real/catch me at the Ritz with the Foreman Grill." He's fond of calling himself R-Test, as if hyphenating his first and last name together makes him a better lyricist. It doesn't. "Like a cheetah on the dash or a heater on your ass/Ron on the run, now Ron came back." Keep running Ronnie - up and down the court. As NBA players go you're upper tier, but as Queensbridge MC's go you're in the bottom third at best.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of April 15th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have the following new items for you: Chuck Inglish's "Convertibles," Grieves' "Winter and the Wolves," Jeep Ward's Subways & Sidewalks #21, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #266, and an update on this week's delay, Nas' "Illmatic XX," Pharoahe Monch's "PTSD: Post Traumatic Stress Disorder" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for April 8, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser to for daily updates. RapReviews.com also recommends the The Undisputed Wrestling Show from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive