Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday July 28, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[In Transit] Constantly moving forward!

Muneshine Review

Latest News Headlines
Lil Wayne Writes to His Fans From Prison


From WeezyThanxYou.com:

During my prison stint, I want my fans to know I love you. I want all of you to know that I appreciate all the mail I get, and this is my way of saying thank you. The F is for Family, Friends, and Fans.

Love. Live. Life. Proceed. Progress. That’s who I am and who I’ll always be. You see, we’re all living on borrowed time, so I’m not worried about this situation. Life happens quick. The more time you spend contemplating what you should have done…you lose valuable time planning what you can and will do. Trying to tear down the past prohibits you from building up your future. So for my time here, my physical will be confined to the yard. My love and my spirit, however, know no boundaries.
I’m in good spirits man, for real. My kids

race through my mind all day. They know they were created with love, so love is how their life will be defined. I just hope my love and adoration for them provides a temporary bandage on a wound I unknowingly inflicted on them.

Real soon, you can catch me blogging for ESPN again thank you espn for not letting my passion for sports perish. I work out a lot because it helps pass the time. I read the Bible everyday. Jail didn’t make me find God, He’s always been there. They can lock me up, but my spirit and my love can never be confined to prison walls.

But this isn’t all about me, you are the reason for this letter. It’s because of you Rebirth went gold when critics aborted it. It’s because of you Young Money is and will always be a movement. If the weight of the world is on your shoulders, I beg of you, place it on mine. That’s the least I could do for you, after all you have sacrificed for me. If I could, I’d write each one of you back. Because of this, my team and I have created a website where you can view my letters. Each week I’ll answer as many questions as I possibly can.

Mia Edwards (Southern California) – I wish you nothing but the best for you. Earning your Masters in Library and Information Science is beautiful. I’ll keep you in mind whenever I decide to do an autobiography on my life.

Kelly Holloman (Brooklyn) – I still remember your letter. You have a great spirit. Thank you for the words and being a real fan. I love you.

Nurris Terrero (New York) – Your letter was so thoughtful and sincere. The way you worded everything left me in awe. Please send suggestions on books I should read. I look forward to checking them out.

For real, this will be the best way we can communicate for the coming months. The same way yall miss me, I miss yall, only 100 times more. To those who hate. Hate is only a form love that hasn’t found a way to express itself logically. Keep sending the letters and I promise keep responding. Thank YOU, thank YOU, thank YOU. No matter what they do to erase me, my love for you will always be permanent. Remember that. Take care. God bless.

Give me the patience that I need
To keep my piece of mind,
And with life’s cares, I hope, Dear God,
Some happiness to find.
Give me the courage to face life`s trials
and not to from troubles run.
let me keep this thought in mind.
“Thy Will,” not “Mine,” be done.

- “Pray”

Source: http://weezythanxyou.com/2010/04/02/letter-01-gone-til-november/

Video: Nicki Minaj - "Massive Attack"


New Jedi Mind Tricks Album + Tour Dates


From Tonia Samman at The Orchard

Jedi Mind Tricks Presents Army of the Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror - Out Now!

AOTP_album.jpg

 

After a three-year break from the Army of the Pharaohs moniker, Jedi Mind Tricks MC Vinnie Paz has resurrected the group with a new cast and a new album available in stores today.  Army of the Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror features Vinnie Paz & Jus Allah (Jedi Mind Tricks), Planetary & Crypt The Warchild (Outerspace), Apathy, Reef The Lost Cauze, Esoteric, Doap Nixon, King Magnetic, Des Devious, Block McCloud, Celph Titled, Demoz, King Syze and more.

 

Jedi Mind Tricks are currently on a North American tour that kicked off in Connecticut last week.  The guys will be playing throughout the Midwest before heading back to the east coast in mid-April.

 

Buy Jedi Mind Tricks’ Army of the Pharaohs: Unholy Terror [Enemy Soil / Babygrande Records]:
iTunes, Amazon, emusic, Napster

 

Army of the Pharaohs Unholy Terror

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnXjnjGxp54 

 

Army of the Pharaohs - Contra Mantra

http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/JediMindTricks_ContraMantra.mp3

 

Army of the Pharaohs - Godzilla

http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/JediMindTricks_Godzilla.mp3

 

Jedi Mind Tricks Tour Dates:

03/30/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Newport, KY Southgate House

03/31/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Ann Arbor, MI Blind Pig

04/01/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Madison, WI The Annex

04/02/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Chicago, IL Subterranean

04/03/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in St. Louis, MO Firebird

04/06/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Omaha, NE The Waiting Room Lounge

04/07/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Columbia, MO Mojo’s

04/08/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Louisville, KY Uncle Pleasantss
04/09/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Pittsburgh, PA Diesel

04/10/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in West Chester, PA The Note

04/11/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Virginia Beach, VA The Jewish Mother

04/13/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Richmond, VA Canal Club

04/14/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Greensboro, NC Greene Street Club

04/15/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Atlanta, GA Masquerade – Hell Room

04/16/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Carrboro, NC Cat’s Cradle

04/17/10 Jedi Mind Tricks in Washington, D.C. 9:30 Club

 

For More Information:

http://www.armyofthepharaohs.com
RADIx to Perform Alongside Nas & Jr. Gong Marley at SunFest 5/2


Radix_biopc

RADIx (Quite Nyce and SEEK) have been selected to perform alongside Nas and Damian "Jr Gong" Marley at this years' SunFest in West Palm Beach, FL (May 2nd). RADIx announced earlier this year they will be releasing their 2nd Studio LP entitled "SAY YES"[TBA] produced entirely by Statik Selektah. RADIx will be doing more spot dates in preparation for their release with Statik Selektah.

RADIx Live May 2nd at Sunfest (West Palm Beach, Florida)
Promo Video

For More Information on RADIx
www.RADIxHiphop.com

Audio: Filip Filip f/ Collie Buddz - "Hurricane Ana"


For Immediate Release

Filip Filipi Enlists Collie Buddz For "Hurricane Ana", First Single From The Star Studded “Design & Origin of Stars” Project

*****
Rapper And Producer Filip Filipi’s Readies “Design & Origin of Stars” With Single "Hurricane Ana" Featuring Collie Buddz.

(Los Angeles, CA - 31 March 2010) -- The first single off rapper and producer Filip Filipi’s upcoming project “Design & Origin of Stars” is titled Hurricane Ana and features the highly acclaimed reggae and dancehall recording artist Collie Buddz.

The project is highly anticipated, with features from; Lil’ Wayne, Gucci Mane, Styles P, Ace Hood, Mickey Avalon, Collie Buddz, Shanell aka SNL, Passion Pit, Forever The Sickest Kids, Lemar, and Shane Sparks to name a few. Be sure to check out the official “Design & Origin of Stars” commercial (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g3X17J2Cd6o) and be on the lookout for the release in April/May.

Artist and producer Filip Filipi is expected to do great things, Serbian born and Canadian reared he has the raw talent and swag to get noticed on the music circuit.

Following an injury which sidelined his basketball career, Filip channelled his ambition through his other passion, music. He’s had Gucci Mane, Lil Wayne and T-pain on board with his projects and got the attention of labels such as So So Def and Rap-A-Lot but preferred to keep his integrity in his own style of music.

Having already worked with some huge names in the music industry, Filip’s newest album Design and Origin of Stars will feature big names including Collie Buddz, Ace Hood and Kardinal Offishal.

##

AUDIO: Filip Filip Hurricane Ana (feat. Collie Buddz)
http://usershare.net/gwyp7yec2vxg or http://www.sendspace.com/file/zj3ito

Video & MP3: TRUTHLiVE - EPK 2/4 + DJBooth.net Freestyle


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

"I definitely have a preference to things that rep the culture and the tradition of hip hop. But my whole breadth of music that I listen to in my life is a really wide variety." - TRUTHLiVE

The Video:

Working nonstop to promote his upcoming album, Patience, California's own emcee, DJ, and owner/founder of Interdependent Media, TRUTHLiVE stopped by Amoeba Records recently to discuss the motivation behind his music and more. He explains that DJ Shadow's seminal album Endtroducing is one of the inspirations behind TRUTHLiVE's music and feels hip-hop, in part, has evolved due to Shadow's work. With California being the stomping ground for so many influential artists, TRUTHLiVE says, "The thing about rap is it's super flexible. You can rap over anything. You can rap over any beat, any genre of music. Rap has no limits to it." With current music being a melting pot and genre labels irrelevant, the rapper embraces all styles and discusses the passion Muse's "Uprising" track stirs. "It's just good music, it doesn't matter what genre it is or what you're doing."

As TRUTHLiVE continues on the path toward his album release, he had the honor of recording the 157th installment of the DJBooth.net Exclusive Freestyle Series, "Coors Light and Ski Boats". The track features instrumentals from The Verve's "Bittersweet Symphony", Washed Out's "Feel It All Around", and Waajeed's "Anything". With three different beats behind him, TRUTHLiVE raps continuously over the tracks blended by DJ TonyTone, who also did cuts for "Tormented Genius" off TRUTHLiVE's The Unlearning EP.

TRUTHLiVE's forthcoming album, Patience, produced entirely by Jake One drops April 20, 2010 via Interdependent Media.

Watch EPK 2 here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SpqPc5LQg5Y

TRUTHLiVE - "Coors Light and Ski Boats (DJBooth Exclusive Freestyle): http://djbooth.cachefly.net/freestyles/downloads/DJBooth.net_Exclusive_Freestyles_-_TRUTHLiVE_-_Coors_Light_Ski_Boats.mp3

Just In Case You Missed It, Watch EPK 1 here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ualklyNOiU

Download The Unlearning EP: http://www.djbooth.net/index/mixtapes/entry/truthlive-the-unlearning-ep


The Background:

Evan "TRUTHLiVE" Phillips, owner and founder of Interdependent Media, has certainly made his mark in the music industry with his wide range of talents. As an emcee, DJ, entrepreneur, and artist, TRUTHLiVE has had his hands in everything from a very young age. After a traumatic adolescent period where his health was at risk, three heart surgeries proved the artist to be quite a fighter. He explains to his new listeners, "The name TRUTHLiVE doesn't mean that I'm proclaiming myself as the truth, end-all be-all; it's more of a reminder to myself on how to conduct my life and career." The MC best summates, "My music is my truth and my life." That meaningful music will arrive on April 20th in the form of Patience, TRUTHLiVE's debut release, courtesy of Bay Area label Interdependent Media.


About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2010, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Donwill, TRUTHLiVE, Canibus, Von Pea, A-Plus, and more. For more information, please visit  http://www.imculture.com

Album Cover Fail: Woodie - Demonz N My Sleep


I know we’ve all been taught not to judge a book by its cover, but how about just judging the cover? Today I’m going to start doing just that, only instead of books it will be with CDs. First up to bat is Woodie’s Demonz N My Sleep.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/04/album-cover-fail-woodie.html

2010 SXSW Audible Treats Wrap-Up + Native Instruments Giveaway


From Audible Treats:

(March 30, 2010 – Brooklyn, NY) With weather reminiscent of chilly New York rather than sunny Austin, for the Audible Treats team SXSW came to a close in strong fashion with the first inaugural Audible Treats SXSW showcase. Along with co-hosts Nightclubber Lang of Boom Bap Project and Psalm One and special appearances from the likes of Homeboy Sandman, Eternia, The Alchemist, Peter Rosenberg, and more, Audible Treats is pleased to announce the showcase was an overwhelming success.

Hosted Saturday night at The Independent, the showcase delivered a string of great hip-hop for the large, energy-filled crowd. "The Audible Treats bash was the only hip-hop showcase that I stayed at for more than two hours," says Chris Faraone of The Boston Phoenix and JumpTheTurnStyle.com. "From Finale to Bisco Smith to Buff1; plus One Be Lo's live band was one of the best surprises of the weekend." Adding to the applause of outstanding performances, Fred Pessaro of Brooklyn Vegan, one of the showcase's official media partners says, "Black Milk doesn't just settle for a backing track to set it off, he needs the bombast of thumper Daru Jones and AB tickling the ivories to do it LARGE."

Beginning the showcase was iLL-Literacy, followed by TRUTHLiVE backed by live band The Park, who also graced the stage later that evening for a set with Donwill and Von Pea, alongside special guest Ragen Fykes. After sets from Town Techno purveyors League510 and Brooklyn MC Bisco Smith, Crown Royale, comprised of Buff1 and DJ Rhettmatic, and Detroit MC Finale followed, hosting special guests of their own with Crown Royale bringing out Mayer Hawthorne and Finale bringing out Invincible. Up next, Diamond District performed a set of crowd pleasers from In The Ruff, with a special appearance from Trek Life, before a set from One Be Lo and DOUBLE LO 7, the Detroit MC's newly formed all female live band.

Closing out the night were a trio of performances. Co-headliner Black Milk hit the stage with his own live band, performing hits from TRONIC and Popular Demand. Between co-headline sets was house DJ Amp Live of Zion I, alongside special guests Mickey Factz and Trackademiks before the legendary Black Sheep closed out the evening with Dres playing his classics along with tracks from his forthcoming From The Black Pool Of Genius. "SXSW was a lovely thing," says Dres. "Though I had a six hour delay into Austin and had to take a cab direct from airport to stage, it was phenomenal. The true school crowd totally embraced it."

Audible Treats would also like to graciously thank all partners for assisting in making the showcase a success: Beyond Race Magazine, BrooklynVegan.com, CokeMachineGlow.com, The Smoking Section, Native Instruments, and Onitsuka Tiger.

Having teamed up with leading sound software and audio production company, Native Instruments, Audible Treats is excited to be able to award one lucky winner with a free MASCHINE Groove Production Studio. To enter, contestants must simply email their name and address to AudibleTreatsSXSW@gmail.com. One winner will be selected at random and announced Wednesday, April 14th, 2010. More info on the MASCHINE here: http://www.native-instruments.com/maschine.info,



Bisco - Railroads: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bs8H1O1f9Cs

Diamond District - Back To Basics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Uap9x0txkQ

Donwill - Championship Vinyl: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVSKHE2goE8

Donwill - Laura's Song: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTNPy73KkKw

TRUTHLiVE - Shoot Me Down: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoL6an2ww44

Finale - Motor Music: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rnDQvPdjrNU

Finale - Heat: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duoXgaSZuDQ

Streams:

http://www.audibletreats.com/download/sxsw
http://www.audibletreats.com/download

Nneka to Join Nas & Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley On Tour


For Immediate Release                                                                        March 30, 2010

 

NNEKA JOINS DISTANT RELATIVES TOUR

Nigerian-born singer-songwriter to hit the road with Nas

and Damian Marley starting May 22nd

  


New York – Fresh off of the release of her first US album debut Concrete Jungle, Nneka has been announced as the support act for the historic Distant Relatives Tour with Nas and Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley hitting the road May 2010. The tour will stop in major cities across the country in support of their Distant Relatives album, which is a celebration of not only to the bond between the two artists, but the connection to their African ancestry, which inspired the album both musically and lyrically.

Born and raised in Nigeria, Nneka is deeply influenced by her roots. The political and social states of her home country are often prevalent in her music and live performances. It is this message of awareness, hope and love that made her a perfect fit for a collaboration with Nas and Damian Marley, both legendary artists and personal influences of Nneka’s. “With this tour,” Nneka explains, “we represent the fact that we are all connected to one another, all part of one entity and one source – which is love.”

The tour extends Nneka’s highly successful introduction to the United States, having been heralded by the likes of Spin, Rolling Stone, and Billboard, among others as the next “it” artist of 2010. Her stunning performance of “Heartbeat” on the Late Show with David Letterman left fans enthralled, and Perez Hilton has proclaimed her music to be “a gift to the world.” More recently, the critical acclaim piqued the interest of national retailer Whole Foods, who is now carrying her album as part of their “Artist Discovery” program.

And this is just the beginning. The Distant Relatives Tour is just the next chapter in Nneka’s ongoing crusade to spread the message of unconditional love to a family of fans across the globe. With lyrics like “come let us be truthful, surrender our pride / admit the stains on our, our chest our hands / we seek, we find” she reminds us that as a global community we are responsible, and further inspires us that we are all indeed, distant relatives.

Concrete Jungle is in stores now on Epic/Decon.

Nneka will be on the following dates of the Distant Relatives Tour:

May 22nd        Eugene, OR                    Cuthbert Amphitheater

May 23rd        Seattle, WA                     Showbox Sodo

May 25th        Oakland, CA                    Fox Theater

May 26th        Santa Barbara, CA           University of California, Santa Barbara

May 28th        Los Angeles, CA              The Wiltern

May 29th        Las Vegas, NV                 The Joint

May 30th        Valley Center, CA             Harrah's Rincon - Open Sky Theater           

May 31st        Los Angeles, CA               UCLA Jazz Reggae Festival           

June 2nd        Santa Fe, NM                    Paolo Soleri Amphitheatre           

June 8th        Houston, TX                       House of Blues           

June 9th         Austin, TX                         Stubb's Waller Creek Outdoor Amphitheater           

June 11th        Manchester, TN                Bonnaroo Music Festival           

June 12th        Atlanta, GA                      Tabernacle           

June 13th        Lake Buena Vista, FL        House of Blues - Lake Buena Vista, FL

Video: Noreaga - "The Streets Got A New Face"


From Crazy Hood:

Another DJ EFN Visual Mixtape Creation but this time in conjunction with Dre Films for N.O.R.E.'s latest freestyle "The Streets Got A New Face". N.O.R.E. is throwing down in this freestyle (off upcoming mixtape) in anticipation of CNN's War Report 2. The video features cameo's by Imam Thugg, and Crazy Hoods own Hazardis Soundz, Heckler, Tattoo, Boracka Boris and DJ EFN. Shout to 57thave and Ice Water Inc. Download "The Streets Have A New Face" mp3 now! 


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Adam Bernard's Princess Superstar interview, Dan-e-o's "Inevitable," a new editorial on mixtapes, Frankenstein's "The Science of Sound," Gangsta Boo & La Chat's "Witch," Husalah x Blanco's "Tortoise and the Hare," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #280 and UFC Founder Art Davie interview, Muneshine's "In Transit" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Kool Keith & Rah Digga - "Non Stop". RapReviews.com also recommends Raw Reaction from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive