Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
David Banner & 9th Wonder Jettison Star Status With New Album


From Audible Treats:

David Banner & 9th Wonder Jettison Star Status With New Album

Unlikely Duo Collaborates On New Release, Death of a Pop Star, This Summer

(May 6, 2010 - Los Angeles, CA) Grammy Award winners David Banner and 9th Wonder, two of hip-hop's heavyweights, are teaming up for the collaborative album Death of a Pop Star slated to be released this summer on Big Face Entertainment. Serving as the artists' first collaborative work together, Death Of A Pop Star offers fans of both David Banner and 9th Wonder a fresh and unique perspective on the music industry.

9th Wonder has a history of teaming with legendary emcees and crafting dream projects that have resulted in both critical and commercial success. With top-selling hit maker David Banner at his side, it's obvious that the respected producer's winning streak isn't slowing down. David Banner's most recent successes include writing, producing, and arranging (with guidance from Jimmy Smith and The G Team at Chalt Day) the new non-hip hop Gatorade theme song "Evolve," performed by Kermit Quinn. To some, pairing with Banner, who is also a celebrated producer in his own right, having produced smash hits like T.I.'s "Rubberband Man," might seem like an odd thing for 9th Wonder to do but this project was a wholly mutual vision between both artists.

The duo's driving creative force for the album stems from shared feelings about the state of the music industry and the de-valuing of music. Concerned that listener's today exist in a world where style wins over substance to the detriment of both the music industry, and the arts, the pair decided to take action. "We first were going to make it a free mixtape release, but then we realized it was bigger than that," explains Banner on their intentions. The duo set out to create a set that would help bring the focus back to music; not image.

While their project began in earnest with their eye on the state of hip-hop, a mutual respect for each other's artistry helped drive the partnership. "9th Wonder is probably one of the most soulful cats in our generation," says Banner, praising the North Carolina producer know for his work with Little Brother, Jay-Z, Beyonce, and more. "Death Of A Pop Star is needed for a balance in the music landscape right now, just like 2 Live Crew and A Tribe Called Quest were once needed at the same time."

9th Wonder adds, "David Banner and I both share the same views on topics such as manhood, being black in America in present day, and the state of black music in general. David and I hash out a lot of options before we actually do a song. Once we get past all the options, the end result is always clear." For fans looking toward the summer release, this David Banner and 9th Wonder collaboration may serve as only a beginning, rather than the pinnacle, for the Death Of A Pop Star concept. Visualized as an ongoing concept, the duo is keeping their options open. Satiating fans, Banner says, "Who knows what concept Death Of A Pop Star may be in the future, next year it might be Lil Wayne and Pete Rock. 9th Wonder and I would still oversee it, but we don't know what it's gonna be." He continues, "This concept is bigger than hip-hop music. It shows us that young people do have soul."

Check out "Evolve": http://media.audibletreats.com/Kermit_Quinn-Evolve-By_David_Banner.mp3 .

Check out the Gatorade Commerical: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWAjioAfDW0 .

Streams:

"Evolve": http://media.audibletreats.com/Kermit_Quinn-Evolve-By_David_Banner.mp3 .

Gatorade Commerical: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nWAjioAfDW0 .

David Banner: http://www.david-banner.com/news.aspx .
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Davidbanner .
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/THEREALBANNER .
MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/davidbanner .

9th Wonder: http://www.9thwonderpresents.com/ .

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/9th-Wonder/132857280547 .
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/9thwondermusic .

Free Music Friday: What's Goin' On, Erik?! Edition


My bad y'all! Sorry about the three weeks delay, I blame school! But I can't make excuses here, just hit y'all with the dope music here!

Guru :: Version 7.0: The Street Scriptures



[R.I.P. to the Gifted Unlimited Rhymes Universal. I got this from the official 7 Grand blog so you know that's it's official. This one is Guru's 2005 solo offering, two years after Gang Starr's last offering, "The Ownerz." This website gave this record 8.5 of 10.]

Link:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=4COOIEM0

Garcia :: Shattered Dreams



[Garcia is recommended for those longing for the deep underground style of music from Miami. Wait, Miami?! Yessir, even Vice City itself has a dirty side of it that it ended up beautiful at the end.]

Link:
http://crazyhoodproductions.bandcamp.com/album/shattered-dreams

Gold Shoes EP
My Photos | Gold Shoes

[In case you ain't know, Cincinatti's own Buggs tha Rocka runs a rock band too. Here's an EP displaying thier eclectic style as they blend a dope mixture of rock and rap that hasn't been seen these days.]

Link:
http://bit.ly/al5bCw

Pac Div :: Don't Mention It

Pac Div - Don't Mention It

[Pac Div is definitely one of the latest hip-hop groups to blaze out of California. If you haven't heard from them by now, then you're really missing hip-hop in a big way. You're welcome and don't mention it.]

Link:
http://usershare.net/9kx50zo730cq

Thadd Williams :: Blue Collar Code


[After hearing this mixtape, I was offered with a pleasent surprise. I ain't know what to expect, but I'm satisfied of this offering from the South Carolina emcee. Thadd Williams know what it mean having white collar dreams with the blue collar themes.]

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/?ezz2mimdyy4

That's it for the "What's Goin' On, Erik?! Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....
The Myth of The Golden Era


The other day I was having an in-depth discussion with a group of people regarding arts and entertainment and one prevailing conclusion that we all came to regarding “the good old days” of anything, whether entertainment related or not, is that reminiscing is almost always done through rose colored glasses. In other words, everything looks better in the rearview mirror. With this in mind I started thinking about the supposed Golden Era, or Golden Age, of hip-hop. The conclusion I came to is that regardless of what years one has falling under that distinction, The Golden Era, as we consider it now, is more of a myth than a reality.

Read the full story at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/05/myth-of-golden-era.html

Audio: Mr. Live, Sha Stimuli & More - "Seven Deadly Sins"


From Refined Hype:

Today all-around hip-hop Renaissance man Dub MD drops off the first leak from his upcoming "Requiem EP" project in the form of "Seven Deadly", a Judah produced cut brings together seven of the underground's best emcees, including - drum roll please - Laelo Hood, Sic Osyrus, Dominique Larue, Singapore Kane, Junclassic, Mr. Live and Sha Stimuli.

Download the track at Dub MD's Bandcamp page:
http://dubmd.bandcamp.com/

Listen to the track at Refined Hype:
http://www.refinedhype.com/hyped/entry/dub-md-seven-deadly-sins/

Kero One, MYK, Dok2 & Dumbfoundead Live in San Francisco


Plug Label presents:

 

KERO ONE, MYK, DOK2, DUMBFOUNDEAD live in San Francisco

 

Presales available now

https://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/111129

 

MAY 29, 2010 - All AGES, Doors 7PM

Witness a rare opportunity to see four internationally known Asian-American artists under one roof in San Francisco on May 29th at the Somarts Cultural Center. This all ages event will feature artists Kero One (a DIY artist who has toured the globe with his music and garnered props from the likes of Will.i.am), Myk (a rapper and singer who is known as the fourth member of Korean super group Epik High), Dok2 (one of the youngest members to join Korea’s Movement Crew and release an album on Map The Soul label), and Dumbfoundead (renowned battle rapper and internet phenomenon, reaching millions of views on youtube). Together, these artists will perform songs such as Map The Soul and Asian Kids. Don’t miss this event.

Audio: Epiphany - "Gone"


From Jeff Chen:

Here’s a new freestyle from Epiphany as he’s back in the studio spitting that heat. Keep showing your support and make sure you get that DJBooth.net sponsored Respect Pt. 2 (Womens) if you haven’t already.  Download link below:

Video: Hopsin - “MOTHERFU*KER”


From Chanel Green:

RAPPER HOPSIN DIRECTS, SHOOTS AND EDITS HIS OWN VIDEO FOR $400!!! HE’S A “MOTHERFU*KER”

The days of artists being signed and turning all of the budget worries and marketing work over to the record label have been over for some time. Ruthless Records’ Hopsin understands the current industry climate and is proactive about jumping in and doing his part to market his album, “Gazing At The Moonlight,” virally.

Hopsin recently acted as director, camera man, editor and artist on his most recent video for the edgy street single, “Motherfu*cker.” Shot entirely guerrilla style on his privately owned mini cam and edited on his home computer, Hopsin’s creativity shines in the finished piece which cost as much as most flossy lunch meetings at the major labels.

$400. No tax. No tip. Money well spent!


Behind The Scenes:

“Motherfu*cker.”

 

w
w
w
Become a fan on Facebook
Join me on Myspace
Follow me on Twitter
Buy on Itunes
Video: Donwill - "Love Junkie" Feat. The Park (Remix)


The Video:

Riding on the success of his recently released album, Don Cusack In High Fidelity, Donwill is excited to present a live in-studio video recording of his latest remix, "Love Junkie," featuring The Park and Wallpaper. Shot at Different Fur Studios in San Francisco, CA by YoursTru.ly, the video confirms the phenomenal vibe between everyone involved with the recording. With shoulders bouncing and hands moving everywhere, Donwill spits his rhymes as The Park step-claps to the beat for live effects. Different instruments are also highlighted as the synth player manipulates his sound while playing lines and the piano solo zooms in on the flawlessly energetic piano player's hands.

Watch "Love Junkie" Feat. The Park (Wallpaper. Live Remix) Here: http://vimeo.com/11446688

Donwill "Love Junkie" (Wallpaper LIVE Remix) from Yours Truly on Vimeo.



Don Cusack In High Fidelity on iTunes: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/don-cusack-in-high-fidelity/id362341315


Donwill is one-third of hip-hop group Tanya Morgan, formed in 2003, who recently released their third full-length album Brooklynati in 2009. With the high praise from Rolling Stone and Time Out New York that Brooklynati garnered,Donwill is now ready to release his own album, Don Cusack in High Fidelity. The maxi-single of "Laura's Song," complete with the album version, radio edit, instrumental and a couple of remixes is now available for purchase on iTunes. Don Cusack in High Fidelity is now available everywhere via Bay Area label Interdependent Media.
About Interdependent Media:
http://www.imculture.com

 

Streams:

"Love Junkie" (Live Video)
http://vimeo.com/11446688

MYX TV Feature
http://myx.tv/video/1000/donwill

"Love Junkie" (Wallpaper. Remix)
http://media.audibletreats.com/Donwill-Love_Junkie_Wallpaper_Rmx.mp3

"Pu**y Rules The World"
http://media.audibletreats.com/Donwill-P_Rules_The_World.mp3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BX8Hb3-t3aM

"Love Junkie" (Video snippet)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=egCI4haRfO8
http://www.vimeo.com/9832452

Last.fm Interview
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJBk_oLCtBg

Laura's Mixtape
http://donwill.bandcamp.com/album/lauras-tape-mixed-by-dj-kingmost
http://usershare.net/w2fh5sndfe44

"i See You" (Unmastered version)
http://media.audibletreats.com/Donwill-I_See_You-Unmastered.mp3

"Laura's Song"
http://media.audibletreats.com/Don_Will-Lauras_Song_Radio_Edit.mp3
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EMqXadY13ZQ

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
http://www.audibletreats.com/download/donwill
http://www.audibletreats.com/download/tanyamorgan

Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/tanyamorgan

Twitter:
http://twitter.com/donwill
http://twitter.com/ilyas1
http://twitter.com/vonpea
http://twitter.com/tanyamorgan

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/tanyamorgan

Label site:
http://www.imculture.com/

Jessie Maguire Interviews Big Boi


From Jessie Maguire:

Public Enemy's Chuck D Releases Statement & New Music


From 2spr.com:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
May 4, 2010

Public Enemy's Chuck D Releases Statement, With New Record "Tear Down This Wall", As Mistachuck

* * * * * * * * *
Chuck D Addresses The Growing Tangible And Intangible Wall Existing Between The Black And Brown People In North America

NEW YORK, May. 4 /2SPR/ - 1989 US President Ronald Reagan chastised the then Iron curtain of communist countries about the separatist existence of the Berlin Wall. There presently is a multi billion dollar wall funded by the United States with similar isolationist separatist policies ...the wall between the US and Mexico. Chuck D addresses the growing tangible and intangible wall existing between the black and brown people in North America.

In Mexico, new figures have been released showing more than 5,000 Mexican migrants have died trying to reach the United States since 1994. Mexico’s National Human Rights Commission says an average three migrants lost their lives every two days in the US-Mexico border region in 2007 and 2008.

And now by default its attached to being a themed commentary to the recent passed one sided racist immigration LAW in the State of Arizona... This statement from Chuck D and his wife Dr Gaye Theresa Johnson Professor Of Black Studies and Chicano Studies UC Santa Barbara.

'Jan Brewer's decision to sign the Arizona immigration bill into law is racist, deceitful, and reflects some of the most mean-spirited politics against immigrants that the country has ever seen. The power that this law gives to police, to detain people that they suspect to be undocumented, brings racial profiling to a new low. Brewer's actions and those of Joe Arpaio, Russell Pearce, the Arizona State Senate are despicable, inexcusable, and endorse the all-out hate campaign that Joe Arpaio, Russell Pearce, and others have perpetrated upon immigrants for years. The people of Arizona who voted for this bill, as well as those who crafted it, demonstrate no regard for the humanity or contributions of Latino people. And for all of those who have chosen not to speak up, shame on you for silently endorsing this legislated hate.

In 1991 I wrote a song criticizing Arizona officials (including John McCain and Fife Symington) for rejecting the federal holiday honoring Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. The same politics I wrote about in "By the Time I Get to Arizona" are alive and well in Arizona today, but this time the target is Brown people.

These actions must stop. I am issuing a call to action, urging my fellow musicians, artists, athletes, performers, and production companies to refuse to work in Arizona until officials not only overturn this bill, but recognize the human rights of immigrants. This should include the NBA playoffs, revisiting the actions of the NFL in 1993, when they moved the Superbowl to Pasadena in protest against Arizona's refusal to recognize Dr. King. We all need to speak up in defense of our brothers and sisters being victimized in Arizona, because things are only getting worse. What they’re doing to immigrants is appalling, but it will be even more damning if we remain silent.'

# # #

MISTACHUCK - TEAR DOWN THAT WALL
AUDIO: http://www.slamjamz.com/music/viewdlsingle/471

dlsingles_471_378_.jpg
Mistachuck
Tear Down That Wall - Out Now!
SLAMjamz Records
www.SLAMjamz.com

CREDITS:
Song writers : C Ridenhour ,B.Dixon,J.Moss Producers: Brent Dixon & Chris"Spanky" Moss for Divided Souls Ent.,LLC
Vocals Produced by Johnny Juice Rosado
Publishers: Brenda's Game Manifested Publishing, LLC(BMI); Bring The Noize inc(BMI), administered by Reach Global, Inc/ MPCinema(BMI),JACKSON WONDERFUL PUBLISHING(ASCAP)
Musicians: Brent Dixon & Chris Moss
Scratching: DJ Pain1
Mixed by DJ Johnny JUICE Rosado @ The Terrordome - Strong Island, NY
Recorded & PRE Mixed by: Brent Dixon & Chris Moss @ Divided Souls Studios(Baton Rouge,La./Douglasville,Ga.Mixed at Divided Souls Studios(Baton Rouge,La); Divided Souls Studios Southeast(Douglasville,Ga.);
Vocals Recorded @ The Terrordome - Strong Island, NY
Track produced by Divided Souls from Baton Rouge LA.upon a tip from the great MC ...Scarface.

LYRICS:
SOMEBODY'S SOULS BEEN EXPOSED
IN THIS HOUSE OF BLUES
THE REAL EMPEROR WITHOUT CLOTHES
HAS MUCH TO LOSE
ROAD WEARY TROUBADOUR / MAYBE I'M AN
AMBASSADOR
NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH SOME SPOOK
OR BASTARD BY THE DOOR

BEFORE I GOT PAID BY THE WORD NOW ITS DEFERRED
NEW DUST BOWL POET
YOU AIN'T HEARD IT
NOW YOU HEARD

SHOWED YALL I AIN'T TIRED
DAMN SURE AIN'T QUIET
PLENTY OF THINGS TO TEACH ABOUT
I'M REACHING TO THE CHOIR

DAMN MY MAN ONE AT A TIME
THIS BEATS FIRE
FACE TOLD ME BRENT
YOU BE BOMBIN THE PLACE
THE BOB TO THE BOB THE BOB IS BACK
WEAVIN BOBBIN AND SPILLIN
LIKE WOMACK, MARLEY AND DYLAN

DEEP SONGS FRONT PAGE OF YOUR LIFE
THIS IS YOU
INVASION OF YOUR MENTAL VACATION AND YOUR CREW

THIS AIN'T BRAND NEW JUST BECAUSE
YALL AIN'T NEVER KNEW

I SPIT POLITICS ON THAT WALL
WHERE THE PEOPLE GET SCREWED

HIP HOP SUPPORTIN NON STOP SWEATSHOPS
SO YOU CAN RETAIL
YOUR ASS OFF WITHOUT FAIL

THEN SOME OF YOU GET SETBACK
BLAME THIS IMMIGRATION EXPLOITATION
WITH YOUR THE LACK OF INFORMATION
BY YELLING WETBACKS

SOMEBODY ACTIN FOREVER 21
CANT HIDE
CANT CRY
CANT RUN
CANT BLAME IT ON THE CRACK

OR FIGHT BACK
WITHOUT A PASSPORT
MILLENNIUM GESTAPO
BORDER CONTROL
THE NEW CONTACT SPORT

YALL CALL EM IMMIGRANT AND TAKE EM TO COURT
BUT LOOK AT YOUR HOOD AND YOUR LACK OF SUPPORT

SOME OF THESE DJS HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY'RE PLAYIN
SOME OF THESE RHYMERS DON'T REALIZE WHAT THE HELL THEY'RE SAYIN
SO I LET EM CHASE THE CASH HONEY
WITHOUT A PLAN
FORGET JOHNNY WAS THE MAN IN BLACK
BUT I'M THE BLACK IN MAN

THIS IS MODERN DAY SLAVERY AND PART OF THE PLAN

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT SIR ,TEAR DOWN THAT WALL MAN!

UNDERSTAND THESE PRESSURES
IN THIS SO CALLED RECESSION

FOR THE BLACK BROWN WOMAN AND MAN

ITS DEPRESSION

ROSTER OF THE STRICKEN
BERNIE MADE OFF WITH THE MONEY
NOW THE HIDDEN HAND IS BITTEN
SO NOW IT AIN'T FUNNY

I BEG YA PARDON
WHO'S SAVIN YA
YOU CALLIN THEM LABORERS
WALK ON BY AND NEVER SAY HI
OR CONSIDER THEM NEIGHBORS

SOME GOT THE NERVE TO LIVE IN TEXAS
ARIZONA, CALI AND NOT KNOW
EVEN MISSIN THE CLUE IN,..
NEW MEXICO

DISS THE BROWN BROTHERS AND SISTERS ON WHAT THEY
WHAT THEY DONE DID
THIS SIDE OF THE EARTH

THEY BUILT PYRAMIDS

MY PASSION COMES
AND WHAT I KNOW AND WHO I AM I REFUSE TO LOSE OR TO BE

CONFUSED BY THIS NEW SCAM
SCARRED BY SARCASM
UNCLE SAMS RACIST ORGASM
WAS JUST A SPASM
SCARED OF ENTHUSIASM

OF THE BLACK AND BROWN PLANET
THE JEALOUS SAY DAMN IT

STUPID ASS WALL
CANT STOP US ALL

WITH DUE RESPECT
HEED THE CALL

TEAR DOWN THIS WALL

# # #


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive