Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Sunday September 14, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[The King of Everything Else] Holding down Hollywood and hip-hop.

Slaine Review

Latest News Headlines
NEOSONIC Blog - NEOSONICPROD.COM (2.0)


From K-Murdock:

NEOSONIC Blog - NEOSONICPROD.COM (2.0)

Awhile back i announced the arrival of a new 1-stop shop website for all things "Neosonic", however, i wasnt satisfied with that design outcome and thus hired a professional, shouts to Aaron Mazade, to help craft what i always wanted... and needed!  So now, i proudly present to you all... the re-imaged OFFICIAL Neosonic Productions website...
This site comes on the heels of me finally getting my business right by incorporating my production company which will also serve as a label imprint for all my & Panacea's releases. 12 Step Program and my soon-to-be released collaboration with Random, Forever Famicom, will act as the kick-off albums for the label's launch. Aside from finding out about my latest releases, the site also offers prospective artists & labels ,who like my sound, a way to do business with me via the "Services" page.

Make sure you guys check it out, bookmark it & leave some feedback!  I will still be updating my blog as it allows me a platform to talk about more than just my music, but from here on out, i home you all make Neosonic Productions your new landing spot for me, K-Murdock. It's a new (neo) sound (sonic) yall...

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC Blog
Face Time with NY's The MC Faceman


 

Sometimes it takes doing something a little different to get noticed. The MC Faceman knows this, which is why at the last Bondfire he jumped on stage with a megaphone for his time on the mic. I’d known The MC Faceman for a little while, and knew he was a talented emcee, but in a sea of artists, it was the megaphone that made me remember him most out of all the amazing acts I saw that night. Earlier this month The MC Faceman released the free downloadable EP 2010: The Year of The Worker Bee, and this week I caught up with him to find out more about his music, how the internet helped give him his name, and why he’s much more interested in meeting contractors and lawyers than famous people.

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2010/05/artist-of-week-mc-faceman.html

Free Music Friday: Whatchu Talkin 'Bout Willis?! Edition


Rest in peace goes out to Gary Coleman. I don't have any Diff'rent Strokes mixtapes here (unless they're coming soon, which they are surely), but I feel I should give Coleman the nod that he will be missed in this special edition of Free Music Friday.

DJ Drama & DJ Sense Presents Sean McGee :: My Life, My Story



[Staight from Ohio is a dude name Sean McGee who took notes of adding soul to his music that these two DJs', DJ Sense and DJ Drama, took notice of the talent. Check this out and you'll see why!]

Link:
http://www.mediafire.com/file/yrvi4yijnon/Dj

Joel Venom :: Rugg!d



[Introdoucing to y'all is Joel Venom. He's currently working with Shadyville's producer Evo so this mixtape serves as the proper introduction to Venom.]

Link:
http://usershare.net/zqwqcjfnmtoq


T.I. :: Fuck a Mixtape

TI - Fuck A Mixtape

[No explanation is even neccesary for this one. All I know is one thing and that's he's back! And wait, since this is called "Fuck a Mixtape," is this a free album? Hmm...]

Link:
http://usershare.net/z180r7gzskbl

Wes Fif :: It Ain't Hard to Tell



[We at RapReviews.com got love for all types of music, especially the ones from the South. So anyone who feel like the South ain't gettin' no shine here can check out this Wes Fif mixtape that has the same title as Nas' classic Illmatic track.]

Link:
www.wesfif.com


That's it for the "Whatchu Talkin 'Bout, Willis?!" Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

Skyzoo & !llmind Prep New Album "Live From The Tape Deck"


From Duck Down Music:


Illmind.Skyzoo

Still riding the wave of praise from his critically acclaimed debut album The Salvation on Jamla/Duck Down Music, Skyzoo has joined forces with highly regarded producer/beat smith !llmind (G-Unit, Boot Camp Click, Redman, Little Brother) for what will be an exciting producer/MC album. 

Dropping on Duck Down Music in the Fall, the full length LP, Live from the Tape Deck, will see the Brooklyn-based duo of Skyzoo and !llmind doing what they do best -- dropping hard-hitting beats over 'rewind factor' rhymes. "It's not rocket science," says Skyzoo. "There won't be any deep undertones or personal records like The Salvation; just dope beats and rhymes that's better than everything else out." And with a history of dope collabo joints in the bag and a chemistry that can't be replicated, these two creative forces plan to present raw hip hop with a unique, cohesive sound only they can produce.

"Back in the day, it was always like that," stresses Skyzoo. "When you look at Eric B and Rakim, EPMD, NWA, A Tribe Called Quest and groups like that -- you had one producer with one sound and one theme. That's what we plan to bring with this project."  But don't get it twisted; Live from the Tape Deck isn't a throw back to that 90's sound. Skyzoo explains, "The reason it's called Live from the Tape Deck is because when labels made cassette tapes, it just so happens that was when records were dope. Once the option of buying a cassette in a store was gone, that's when things changed and music got whack."

!llmind elaborates, "You know it's not going to be some typical shit -- it's going to be honest. Not throwback. Not boom bap. It's going to be some 2010 shit with one of the best MC's in the game."


Audio: Kottonmouth Kings feat Tech N9ne - "Party Monsters"


Kottonmouth Kings Offer Free Mp3 Download Of ‘Party Monsters’ Featuring Tech N9ne Online


 
For Immediate Release:
 
Kottonmouth Kings Offer Free Mp3 Download Of ‘Party Monsters’ Featuring Tech N9ne Online
 
Kottonmouth Kings have partnered with AOL Radio to offer fans a free Mp3 download of the song “Party Monsters” featuring Tech N9ne online at www.aolradioblog.com/2010/05/24/kottonmouth-kings-party-monsters-free-mp3-download/. The song appears on Kottonmouth Kings’ new studio album, “Long Live The Kings”, which debuted at #26 on the Billboard Top 200.
 
"The Kottonmouth Kings and Tech N9ne have been allies for years," commented Daddy X. "Suburban Noize and Strange Music are part of the trilateral underground commission, so when Tech N9ne gets on a track with the Kottonmouth Kings, it sends shockwaves through the underground."
 
Kottonmouth Kings new ‘Clockwork Orange’ themed video for “Stomp” online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cY-Fwb4Ntyc.
 
KOTTONMOUTH KINGS TOUR DATES:
May 27 - Council Bluffs, IA - Westfair Amphitheater
May 28 - Sauget, IL - Pops Outdoors
May 29 - Bonner Springs, KS - Capitol Federal Park at Sandstone
May 31 - Morrison, CO - Red Rocks Amphitheater
Jun 01 - Magna, UT - The Great Salt Air - Outdoors
Jun 03 - Spokane, WA - Knitting Factory Concert House
Jun 04 - Portland, OR - Expo Center - Hall C
Jun 05 - San Francisco, CA - The Warfield Theatre
Jun 06 - Anaheim, CA - The Grove of Anaheim
Video: Block Exchange - "These Questions"


From Javier Sanabria:

"What does it take to win?" asks Block Exchange rhyme-spitters Duss Smittoooo and RH Bless on this banger called "These Questions." Here are the visuals and answers.
 
Video: Block Exchange (Duss Smittoooo & RH Bless) "These Questions"
 
 
Embed:

 

Lost Verses From QM's "Happy Hour"


From Routine Fly:






May 26, 2010

Like we said last week, QM’s debut album, Happy Hour, will be released on June 18th.  This week we have some exclusive verses from the Happy Hour recording sessions.  These verse’s are from songs that didn’t make the album, however couldn’t stay under wraps forever!  A quick little dose of QM to get your appetite ready for the feast on June 18th.  The Happy Hour will be hitting the airwaves sooner than you think.

Divshare:
http://www.divshare.com/download/11489940-af7

Direct Download:
http://www.divshare.com/direct/11489940-af7.mp3

Video: Moe Green - "Ride"


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

(May 26, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Burgeoning MC Moe Green, hailing from Vallejo, California, looks to be a beacon of hope for a town in search of a hero. One of California's fast rising talents, Moe Green is preparing the release of his debut album, Rocky Maivia, this summer on Interdependent Media.

The current economic crisis caught more than just individuals in the financial crossfire. Entire American towns went bankrupt, the largest of which is Vallejo, California, home to a once thriving and profitable music scene where artists like E-40, Mac Dre, and Celly Cell carved out a niche. Aware of the times, and the history of his hometown, Moe Green's music eschews the gangster trappings of the city's hip-hop pioneers. Green chooses, instead, a more earnest approach to his music, earning the emcee comparisons with today's rising stars credited with offering an alternative to a genre that has long relied on, often fabricated, street credibility for success. "It's a documentation of your everyday dreamer trying to make his dreams reality," says Green about his debut and his musical direction.

Recently being announced as a part of KMEL's 2010 Bay Area Freshmen 10 class, the 22-year old rapper has been garnering both local and national attention. The nod of approval was generated with the help of interest in a handful of leaked material, including the chillingly narrative "Hometown" and the debut leak from Rocky Maivia "Non-Title Match." Leading into the summer, as Green prepares the release of Rocky Maivia, fans can look forward to of a slew of singles, videos, and media content from the project, including the newly released video for "Ride," directed by Chris Kiker, and shot in Moe Green's hometown of Vallejo.

To eagle-eyed professional wrestling fans, the title for Green's debut single and the album itself will ring bells. An avid wrestling fan himself, Moe Green named his album after superstar wrestler/actor The Rock - Rocky Maivia served as The Rock's moniker when he first debuted in the ring. Green sees his debut album as the Rocky Maivia phase in his own career. "It's a metaphor for the newcomer with great potential entering the professional leagues," says Green.

Be on the lookout for Moe Green's first foray into the ring with Rocky Maivia this summer.

Check out the video for "Ride," from Moe Green's forthcoming album, Rocky Maivia: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc9-XW0ah1A


About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2010, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Donwill, TRUTHLiVE, Canibus, Von Pea, Moe Green, A-Plus, and more. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com

Streams:

"Ride" Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uc9-XW0ah1A

"Going For The Kill" Video:
http://vimeo.com/9775745

"Non Title Match" Video:
http://www.youtube.com/dripdigital#p/u/4/AG9QqQBiuPc

Twitter:
http://twitter.com/moethedreamer

MySpace:
http://www.myspace.com/moethedreamer

Label site::
http://www.imculture.com/
New Updates From Diamond Music Group


From Matt At Coalmine Records:
***

Cimer Amor - "Another Classic" (feat. Burke, Torae, Side Effect & DJ Waxwork)

"Another Classic" featuring Burke, Torae, Side Effect & DJ Waxwork is the lead single from the forthcoming producer compilation Taking Nowhere, Somewhere from the Philly based beat-smith, Cimer Amor. "Another Classic" is currently charting through college radio stations across the country and was among the top five hip-hop records added to last week's charts. Cimer, who represents one half of the CAEN Project has been the boardsman behind several underground, indie smash singles over the years. Cimer boasts an impressive discography that includes placements among a who’s who list of underground hip-hop icons such as Sabac Red (of Non Phixion), King Syze & Doap Nixon (of AOTP), Louis Logic, Side Effect & more. "Another Classic" is just a sneak preview to what will be featured on Taking Nowhere, Somewhere, a producer compilation that will be sure to earn its ranks among the stand out producer albums of 2010, stay tuned! In the meantime, feel free to stream "Another Classic" below. Feel free to support this single by purchasing it from iTunes by either clicking here or on the cover below.

STREAM "ANOTHER CLASSIC" HERE:

Another Classic (feat. Burke, Torae, Side Effect & DJ Waxwork) by CoalmineRecords

***

CIMER AMOR - "ANOTHER CLASSIC" Feat. BURKE, TORAE, SIDE EFFECT & DJ WAXWORK
CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE ON iTUNES

FOLLOW CIMER AMOR ON TWITTER!!

CLICK HERE TO FOLLOW @CIMERAMOR

***

Jermiside & Danny Diggs - Middle Classic (LP)

Amidst an industry where many rappers claim they're either from the hood or already ballin' when they're usually neither, it's refreshing to hear an artist like the Atlanta-based, Cincinnati-raised rapper Jermiside represent where he's really at in life. On Middle Classic, Jermiside joins forces with the soulful production talents of the Vancouver-based, Irish-bred producer Danny Diggs to deliver a project worthy of the word 'classic' in the title.

"I can whole heartedly say after 5 or 6 front to back listens, this is one of my favorite projects to date. The mix of Jermiside's sharp bars combined with Danny's chops and snares is just sublime. Make sure you got space on your ipod for this one." - Donwill (of Tanya Morgan)

In promotion for the release of Middle Classic the good people at HiPNOTT Records are pleased to present you with the video premier for "Afraid", featuring Maverick Sabre. This stunning video was written, directed, and edited by Illyas (of Tanya Morgan). The song itself is an excellent example of the type of feel good hip hop Middle Classic represents as a whole.

***

Click here to purchase "Middle Classic" through Amazon

Jermiside & Danny Diggs - Middle Classic (LP)

Release Date: 5.25.10

Middle Classic is now available through all major digital retailers, please show some support for this tremendous album by purchasing through Amazon!! Click here or on the album cover (left) to download. In case you missed it the first time around, you may also download the album's debut single "Didn't I Tell You" feat. Von Pea (of Tonya Morgan) by clicking here. Feel free to stream it first below...thanks for your support!!

***

FOLLOW JERMISIDE ON TWITTER!!

CLICK HERE TO FOLLOW @JERMISIDE

***
Crooked I Set To Release "Hood Star" On June 15th


From Sasha Stoltz Publicity:

WIDEawake Death Row
Releases

Crooked I "Hood Star"
 

 
 WIDEawake- Death Row Entertainment LLC announces Hip Hop artist Crooked I' s first solo release.  Crooked I "Hood Star" set to hit shelves June 15  features 15 unreleased tracks with guest appearances by, Juvenile, Too Short, Sisqo, Danny Boy, Eastwood, Kurupt and Ray J, just to name a few.  When first signed to Death Row, Crooked I appeared on a number of compilations such as "Too Gansta For Radio,"  "Dysfunktional Family,"  "Tha Dogg Pound's 2002,' and Tupac's " Nu Mixx Klazzics."    The Hip Hop artist also took time out to work on sound tracks for the movies, "Ride" and "Caught Up" collaborating with such artists as Snoop Doggy Dogg, Tha Eastsidaz and The Luniz.   In 2005, Crooked I created an Internet buzz for himself with "Boom Boom Clap," with the video receiving almost 500,000 hits on youtube.   In 2007 he took a different approach to the game with the creation of his Hip Hop weekly internet series, that got him voted the MC with "the best shot of taking over the game" and landed him on the cover of XXL magazine in the fall of 2007.  In 2009, Crooked I, along with MC's Joell Ortiz, Joe Budden and Royce Da 5'9" created the group Slaughterhouse and went out on a successful nationwide Rock the Bells tour last summer.   Crooked I's popularity has sustained over the years, with over 2.5 million Myspace views and 21,000 followers on Twitter an over 5,000 friends on Facebook, Crooked I has proved he is here to stay.

  The force behind Crooked I "Hood Star" and a mentor of Crooked I, is music producer, Big Hutch aka Cold 187um from the multi-platinum group Above The Law.   Big Hutch was a producer at Death Row Records in the late 90s, overseeing projects such as 2Pac's album " Until The End Of Time."    The multi talented producer works with independent artists helping them find their place in today's Hip Hop community.   Big Hutch will be available to discuss the music and the process behind Crooked I's "Hood Star"

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 9th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have ELEVEN new items for you: Animal PAK + DJ Evil Dee's "Animal Planet," Big Freedia's "Just Be Free," Centri's "Headless Nobody," a new Ray Rice editorial, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #289, Muenster's "Warped Tape," Phonix & Purpose's "Those Who Don't Hear," SigNif's "Friction," a Slaine interview, Slaine's "The King of Everything Else" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 2, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Quilly - "Real One". RapReviews.com also recommends Over the Top Radio w/ Evan Bourne from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive