Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday October 30, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: JNaturaL f/ Ariano, LD - "I Am Where the Music Is"


Video: JNaturaL f/ Ariano, LD - "I Am Where the Music Is"

PR: Trae Tha Truth Delivers Message of Hope


From Nancy B:

Trae Tha Truth Delivers Message of Hope

Houston, TX - Violence and crime is an ever-growing problem amongst our nation's young people and finding ways to reach them where they live an even bigger challenge. Last Friday, the young congregation of Houston's God's Way Missionary Baptist Church hosted an event that was designed to do just that; Hopefest. Pastor Tyrone P. Spriggs invited local organization, Aspire to Win, along with Houston rapper, Trae Tha Truth, to hold a panel for the young people of his church and their families in an attempt to inspire those present to stay in school and away from the pitfalls of peer pressure and the streets.

Founded by Rosey Ruiz MSW, LCDC (above with Pastor Tyrone P. Spriggs and panelists), Aspire to Win is a program for men re-entering society having served 10 or more consecutive years in prison; most for violent crimes. Each of the 4 Aspire to Win clients on Friday's panel had served between 20 and 33 consecutive years, making them the perfect spokespeople for the evening's message. Each shared their own life experiences, imparting a powerful message to the attending kids and they spoke to a full house.

The second part of the night's program saw Trae deliver his own message to the kids. His story was one of loss, having an older brother serving 3 consecutive life sentences and what it was like to grow up without him. Trae gave a compelling speech to the kids about staying in school, getting an education and keeping away from drugs and all present were moved by his warmth and generosity. Trae remained until the last child had left, answering questions and signing autographs.

"The Hopefest was a night filled with hope and inspiration." Says Aspire to Win Founder and CEO, Rosey Ruiz. "I believe it was a blessing to all who came. Pastor Tyrone P. Spriggs is to be commended for thinking outside-the-box in his endeavor to reach the young people of his congregation and partnering with Aspire to Win on this very important effort."

Slaine's "A World With No Skies" Set for Oct. 26th Release


From Kerosene Media:

Slaine's "A World With No Skies" Set for Oct. 26th Release

La Coka Nostra’s Slaine Set To Release Solo Album "A World With No Skies" October 26th, 2010 Featuring Guest Appearances By Everlast, B-Real, Vinnie Paz and ILL BILL

“The Town” Starring Ben Affleck and Slaine Set To Hit Theaters Across The Country Sept 17th, 2010
 
Boston rapper Slaine, of the rap super group, La Coka Nostra, has announced an October 26th release date for his upcoming debut solo album, "A World With No Skies". The album will surface on Suburban Noize Records and is slated to feature guest appearances by Everlast, Cypress Hill’s B-Real, Vinnie Paz of Jedi Mind Tricks, and ILL BILL. Slaine is currently streaming material online at www.myspace.com/slainehiphop .
 
"Even though I started my career as a solo artist by hustling my ‘The White Man is the Devil’ mixtapes, I think people are more familiar with me from Special Teamz and La Coka Nostra,” commented Slaine. “With this album I set out to create a soundscape that brings you into my world as an individual which is a fucked up place to be. It is hard, dark and aggressive from the beats to the lyrics, and a deeply personal trip through my life and the things that made me who I am today. A ‘World With No Skies’ is a look into my psyche and a vision of my dreams, nightmares, and realities."
 
Slaine will appear alongside Ben Affleck and Jeremy Renner (The Hurt Locker) as bank robbers in the upcoming movie "The Town" featuring Jon Hamm (Mad Men). The film is scheduled to hit theaters across the country on September 17th, 2010, and the trailer can be seen online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QQ7wcayQQLQ .
 
###

* www.MySpace.com/LaCokaNostra *

MP3: Lupe Fiasco - "Go to Sleep"


From Lupe Muzik:

MP3: Lupe Fiasco - "Go to Sleep"

* http://www.mediafire.com/?z82fs8ngga7jh9w *

Back-Up Link: http://www.sendspace.com/file/g52v9s .

Video: St. Joe Louis - "30,000ft"


Video: St. Joe Louis - "30,000ft"

Mixtape: Erk Tha Jerk - Hood Nerd 2


From Audible Treats:

Mixtape: Erk Tha Jerk - Hood Nerd 2

On Erk Tha Jerk's Hood Nerd 2: Memoirs Of The Invisible Man, Erk ends his first song, "One In A Million Freestyle" with, "The mixtape free, no charge it's on me/ These throw away moves, you can keep the music." He's being modest. While the mixtape may be free, Erk's flow really shines. His vocals have range; his command of each song allows him to rhythmically switch up his rhymes, making each song unique. On the concept of the mixtape, Erk explains, "Memoirs Of The Invisible Man is my way of saying I'm here even when you can't see me; a shot at the people who pretend I'm not in the room until it's too late."

Hood Nerd 2 is a generous offering for a mixtape. Beyond having twenty-one tracks, the overall composition is very eclectic. "Givin It" is a banger with hard, fun production; the track could easily be on an LP. Then, there are freestyle tracks like "One In A Million Freestyle," with raw production that are pure demonstrations of Erk's ability as an emcee. "When I'm in 'hood nerd' mode I tend to just let go," notes Erk on the creation process. "I say what I want when I want and make sure to create anti-radio music--it's just hip-hop with twenty-four bar verses where I can be as lyrical as I want."

Look out for Erk Tha Jerk's Nerds Eye View coming soon.

Download Hood Nerd 2: Memoirs Of The Invisible Man here: http://limelinx.com/files/260fdd79d68a0c5c7f2fab5d99d842da .

Video: Concrete Boyz Talk Yung Joc & Mop Top Rock


From DJ Smallz:

Video: Concrete Boyz Talk Yung Joc & Mop Top Rock

Concrete Boyz Talk Yung Joc & Mop Top Rock from DJ Smallz.

Video: G.I. f/ Beanie Sigel, Jadakiss - "Overcame it All"


From Zack Einhorn:

Video: G.I. f/ Beanie Sigel, Jadakiss - "Overcame it All"

Video: Gucci Mane - "Trap Talk"


From RSP #1 Blast:

Video: Gucci Mane - "Trap Talk"

PR: Big B Added to Sunset Strip Music Festival


From Kerosene Media:

Big B Added to Sunset Strip Music Festival

Sunset Strip Music Festival With Smashing Pumpkins, Slash, Common and Travie McCoy On August 28th
 
Big B is the latest addition to the Sunset Strip Music Festival on August 28th, 2010 in Hollywood, CA. Big B will share the stage at this year’s festival alongside Smashing Pumpkins, Slash, Common, P.O.D, and Travie McCoy. For more information on Sunset Strip Music Festival please visit http://www.sunsetstripmusicfestival.com .
 
BIG B has become known for his raw and honest style, blending together elements of hip-hop, alternative rock, country and even a laid-back reggae vibe. ‘Good Times & Bad Advice’ sees the Las Vegas rebel build upon the success of his smash previous effort ‘American Underdog’ and touts some of the industry’s biggest names as featured artists – Everlast, Cisco Adler (Shwayze, Whitestarr), Glasses Malone, Pepper and another epic pairing with Scott Russo. Big B’s new video for the song “Before I Leave This Place” featuring Everlast can be viewed online at http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=106025035 .
 
Big B will embark on a month long tour with Kottonmouth Kings, Blaze, and Australian hip-hop outfit Bliss N’ Eso starting on August 29th in Houston, TX. Big B's new album, "Good Times & Bad Advice", lands in stores on September 14th, 2010 through Suburban Noize.
 
BIG B TOUR DATES:
Aug 24 - Tucson, AZ - Rialto Theater
Aug 25 - Albuquerque, NM - Sunshine Theater
Aug 28 - Hollywood, CA - Sunset Strip Music Festival
Aug 29 - Houston, TX - Warehouse Live
Aug 31 - Tulsa, OK - Cain's Ballroom
Sep 01 - Wichita, KS - The Cotillion Ballroom
Sep 02 - Des Moines, IA - All Play
Sep 03 - Sauget, IL - Pop's
Sep 04 - Thornville, OH - Legend Valley
Sep 05 - Louisville, KY - Headliners Music Hall
Sep 07 - Fort Lauderdale, FL - The Culture Room
Sep 08 - St. Petersburg, FL - The State Theatre
Sep 09 - Atlanta, GA - The Masquerade
Sep 10 - Charlotte, NC - The Fillmore Charlotte
Sep 11 - Baltimore, MD - Rams Head Live
Sep 12 - Worcester, MA - The Palladium
Sep 13 - Philadelphia, PA - Theatre of the Living Arts
Sep 15 - New York, NY - B.B. King Blues Club & Grill
Sep 16 - Pittsburgh, PA - Club Zoo
Sep 17 - Pontiac, MI - Clutch Cargos
Sep 18 - Chicago, IL - House Of Blues
Sep 19 - Cleveland, OH - Peabody's
Sep 20 - Cincinnati, OH - Bogart's
Sep 21 - Milwaukee, WI - The Eagles Club
Sep 22 - Minneapolis, MN - Cabooze
Sep 23 - Fargo, ND - The Venue at Playmaker's
Sep 24 - Sioux Falls, SD - Nutty's North Oudoors
Sep 25 - Kansas City, MO - Beaumont Club
 
###
 
* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive