Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday September 17, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dark Horse] Never coming in last.

Twista Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Wes Fif - "Beep"


Wes Fif
"Beep"
Music Video

The D.Rich produced track "Beep" is the first music video from Wes Fif's new mixtape “It Aint Hard To Tell.” The video was directed by Leon Bailey of Lasting Blueprint Multimedia.

MP3 Link: http://usershare.net/ks1pkmzijum2

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Bz8ul1Ek-c

Vimeo: http://vimeo.com/11795597

 

DJ Doo Wop & T.O.N.Y. - We Got Gunz (Solar Diss) + Statement


Doo WopFrom Dennis Paredes:

DJ Doo Wop & T.O.N.Y. - We Got Gunz (Solar Diss) + Statement

As Guru's once former publicist, I send this email with pleasure and a deeper sentiment that can only be explained by the grinding of my teeth every time I think of the entire situation. Doo Wop is accompanied by  T.O.N.Y. from Minneapolis on this very personal song, allowing Doo Wop to express another side of him that is rarely shown. I attest to the first few bars Doo Wop rhymes. 



"I don't claim to be the best judge of character, but fam I'm think I'm decent
When we first met, something told me you were a piece of shit
Frontin' with that PEACE shit... Peace that, Peace this 
Peace God, Peace Earth, Never Seen a 5%er....So evil and demonic 
But to top it son walked around like he did beats on the chronic"


I was actually rolling around with Dj Spinna in Miami for WMC during the first altercation I had with Solar over the phone. That was only days before Miles from Breakestra warned me that dude was no good, but my main focus was GURU. Even with hurt and anger in my heart, it'll remain to be the case. I thank Doo Wop for keeping it going. This is a situation that should never go slept on no matter how many new posts and features are out there. FUCK Solar!

Follow Doo Wop & T.O.N.Y. as we won't let this situation pass over until justice is served.
Donwill & Von Pea Prep New Project - The Sandwich Shop


From Audible Treats:

Donwill & Von Pea Prep New Project - The Sandwich Shop

Two-Thirds Of Tanya Morgan Pull From The Roots' Late Night Instrumentals For Free EP

(May 18, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Riding a wave of critical and commercial success for their group albums and solo projects, Donwill and Von Pea, two-thirds of acclaimed rap group Tanya Morgan, are proud to announce a new side project, The Sandwich Shop. Utilizing a host of original music by fan favorites, The Roots, the set will be released in the near future.

The Roots stint on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon, gave birth to a host of original mini-tunes called 'Sandwiches' performed during, and segueing to and from commercial breaks, often unheard by TV viewers. In late 2009 when The Roots' Questlove released 22 of these sandwiches as a free download, Tanya Morgan members Donwill and Von Pea snapped them up, selecting a handful of the tracks to create their own project, naming the EP The Sandwich Shop.

The tracks on the EP take The Roots' lush soul/funk infused arrangements and turn them into a Tanya Morgan journey with their trademark wit, and lyrical dexterity in tow. "The desire to hear what the beats would sound like with vocals on them, that was the number one focus," explains Von Pea, continuing, "My hopes for this project is for the Tanya Morgan fans to enjoy it, and for The Roots to get a kick out of it." For Donwill and Von Pea, crafting a project around music from Questlove and The Roots is hardly a stretch. First receiving a co-sign from the Questlove with the release of their 2006 debut, Moonlighting, Tanya Morgan and the drummer and Roots bandleader have crossed paths often, including on their 2009 sophomore album, Brooklynati, in which Questlove served as Mayor of the fictitious city of which the album revolved around.

Tanya Morgan has not only been one of the most lauded crews in the independent hip-hop scene, but also the most consistent. Donwill's recent solo set Don Cusack in High Fidelity, released in March of 2010, set off a wave of positive reviews and press adding to the stockpile of great responses for the group as a whole. By borrowing beats from the legendary Roots crew, a shotgun marriage of top-notch hip-hop, soul, and lyrical bravado is poised to set the rap world abuzz again with the name Tanya Morgan.

To download Donwill & Von Pea's The Sandwich Shop please visit: http://donwill.bandcamp.com/album/the-sandwich-shop .

Check out the Sandwiches Teaser here: http://vimeo.com/11636545 .

Also, Be Sure to Support Donwill's Debut Solo Effort, Don Cusack In High Fidelity: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/don-cusack-in-high-fidelity/id362341315 .

The Background:

Tanya Morgan is back with their third project, Brooklynati, following the success of Moonlighting and The Bridge. Since Von Pea, Ilyas, and Donwill formed Tanya Morgan in 2003, they have received high praise from media elites such as Spin, The Source, XXL Magazine and a resounding seal of approval from the blogosphere. Considered by many to be our generation's torchbearers for De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest, Tanya Morgan will once again put their skills on display with the unique hip-hop Americana sounds of their Brooklynati album this spring. Based on the fictitious city of Brooklynati, this release pushes the boundaries of a concept album by incorporating not only lyrical imagery but also cultivating a culture and mindset, which can be experienced through the City of Brooklynati Chamber of Commerce website: http://www.brooklynati.com/home.html. The sites, sounds, memories, and events of Brooklynati were unleashed via Bay-Area based record label Interdependent Media, the architects behind the funding and development of Brooklynati. Wanderlusts can feed their souls at http://www.Brooklynati.com/ .

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2009, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Finale, Canibus, K'naan, Truthlive, and Tanya Morgan. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com/ .

Streams:

"Sandwiches" Teaser Video: http://vimeo.com/11636545 .

"Bang N Boogie" Video: http://www.vimeo.com/10362594 .

"Ian's Song": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q25gVYgUxJI .

Brooklynati Sample Mix: http://www.mediafire.com/?jnwzgmlzyhh .

Devo Spice Update - 5/18/2010


From Devo Spice:

Devo Spice Update - 5/18/2010

Hey everyone,

In case you didn't notice there's a new track by Cirque du So What up at The FuMP.  One of the problems we ran into when putting together our album Procrastinators Of The Apocalypse was we had too much material that we really liked to fit on an album.  Several tracks were cut.  This was one of them.  It'll probably show up on our next album, whenever we get around to putting that out.  But you can head over to http://www.thefump.com and check it out now.

Speaking of The FuMP this is your last chance to download my latest track Flight Check featuring Insane Ian for free.  Once the new song goes up Friday Flight Check will be moved to the archives.

Speaking of flying and how much I hate it I'm going to be flying this weekend up to Winnipeg Canada for KeyCon, so if anyone on this list is from that part of the world definitely come out and check it out.  I'll be doing a show, along with Worm Quartet, The Great Luke Ski, and Power Salad.  And since all four of us will be there we'll also be doing a Cirque du So What performance of some kind.

Speaking of a performance of some kind, if you are available to come to either my Trenton NJ show on 6/4 or Nerdapalooza in Orlando FL on 7/17 definitely come out.  I'm going to be trying some new things that I'm really excited about.  If all my plans come together it's going to be awesome.

->Later.....Spice

http://www.devospice.com/ 

RADIx 2nd Leak OFF Upcoming LP Produced by Statik Selektah


From ProTalent:

RADIx 2nd Leak OFF Upcoming LP Produced by Statik Selektah

New Single, “Weight of the World” for Free Download

Ever since Quite Nyce and Seek formed RADIx in 2003, the dynamic emcee duo has been on a mission to breathe life back into hip-hop. For their second full-length LP, Say Yes, the two rappers have teamed up with multitalented producer Statik Selektah. Statik brings a heavy dose of boom-bap beats that perfectly suit the detailed and intelligent rhymes of Quite Nyce and Seek. The second single from Say Yes, titled “Weight of the World,” is now available for free download and posting.

For further press inquiries, RADIx can be contacted at general@radixhiphop.com or at business@radixhiphop.com. Further information about the duo, including an electronic press kit, can be found at radixhiphop.com.

RADIx - Weight of the World Download
RADIx - Weight of the World Streaming

KRU Records Brand New "Nothing No Nada" Video


From KRU Records:

KRU Records Brand New "Nothing No Nada" Video

Happ G - "Nothing No Nada (feat. Scandal, Jake Lefco, & Side Effect)" official music video;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ASH5OqbPPFk

7 Touches EP is available now on iTunes for just $3.99 for a limited time!

'Six Emcees. One Producer. 7 Touches'
http://iTunes.com/happg

FREE DOWNLOAD sampler of 7 Touches EP:
http://www.zshare.net/audio/7545564504678c48/

Red Cafe "The Eastside" (Off "No Witnesses" Due May 26th)


From Red Cafe and Big Dev:

Red Cafe "The Eastside" (Off "No Witnesses" Due May 26th)

HOTTESTINTHEHOOD.COM

OFF THE "NO WITNESSES" MIXTAPE DROPPING MAY 26th 2010

RED CAFE "THE EASTSIDE" (CLEAN/DIRTY)

DOWNLOAD BOTH HERE

Red Cafe "No Witnesses" Mixtape Trailer from HottestIntheHood on Vimeo.

N.B.S. f/ Royce Da 5'9" - War (Produced by Gasmiles)


From Major Music:

N.B.S. f/ Royce Da 5'9" - War (produced by Gasmiles)

With Royce's recent success with supergroup Slaughterhouse and all of the rumors surrounding their alleged upcoming deal with Eminem and Shady/Interscope Records, we thought it'd be a great time to send out a phenomenal collaboration many of you may not have heard.

This song was originally off of the Queensbridge to Crimebridge compilation put out by DJ Beast and Block617 Records which placed a number of up and coming artists from Cambridge, MA with artists from the Queensbridge Area (Collaborations included Nas, Tragedy Khadafi, Infamous Mobb, Mobb Deep, and Nature), because of a number of studio mishaps the lined up collaboration originally planned for N.B.S. couldn't be made in time for the release date and this classic feature with one of Detriots greatest emcee's was set in motion...

Produced by one of N.B.S. earliest producers, Gasmiles (Block617)

Download @ http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?ymo02mwjnzm

 

The (W)rap Up - Week Of May 11, 2010


Trina :: Amazin'
Slip-N-Slide Records/EMI
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"It should come as no surprise then that Trina is a little smug on her 2010 album "Amazin'," and arguably has a right to be. She's been compared to Lil' Kim her whole career, but has actually released more albums in a shorter amount of time. Khia tried to upstage them both as the most sexually explicit female in the game only to get kicked to the curb. Even now other women are trying to prove they are "Da Baddest Bitch" in hip-hop, but Trina coined the title a decade ago and has never relinquished it. In fact Trina has become something of a standard bearer for commercially active female rappers, as veterans like Latifah and more recent successes like Eve gave up the mic for acting careers."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05F_amazin.html

Blacastan :: Blac Sabbath :: Brick Records
as reviewed by Pete T.

"A few summers ago I was at a rap show at Toad's Place in New Haven. It was a sweltering summer night and the venue was packed from wall to wall such that my boy couldn't even tiptoe his way to the bathroom. Anticipation was high for the A-list headliners, but an hour or so after the opening act had been booed off the stage the crowd was even more restless, demanding entertainment long after the advertised stage time. After some sort of commotion toward the front of the crowd, a dark heavyset man appeared to wrestle the mic from the MC, hopped onto the stage, and broke into a gruff barrage of rugged a cappella rhymes."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_blacsabbath.html

Deathrow Tull :: Little Taste EP :: BrokeMC.com
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Twelve years ago underground rapper Dyalekt met RR staffer Adam B. Three years ago Dyalekt debuted his one-man hip-hop THEATER show called "Square Peg Syndrome." As fascinating as his concept was, the RR audience wasn't quite ready for what D had to offer yet (or vice versa) and B had already turned in three interviews that month SO his feature on Dyalekt became an Adam's World exclusive. Time has passed, Dyalekt's sound has advanced, and now he's got a partner by the name of brokeMC to help him bring his vision to the masses. Still what's an up-and-coming rapper who can't get a CD onto retail shelves at Best Buy and Target to do?"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_littletasteEP.html

Dela :: Changes of Atmosphere :: Drink Water Music
as reviewed by Pete T.

"What does it take for a French artist to win over hip hop's best and brightest? Well, I can't say for sure, but logic tells me that anyone from the land of croissants, berets, and escargot would have to be pretty darn good to earn cosigns from the street-conscious stateside rappers. In the past, artists who made the jump from French to American audiences did so by bypassing the street readiness of most mainstream hip hop and focusing on more mature, tasteful elements and jazz and soul orientations. In the ‘90s, MC Solaar gained a North American following after his appearances on Guru's "Jazzmatazz," and bilingual rapper Lucien turned heads with his appearances on albums by alternative-minded acts such as Jungle Brothers and the Beatnuts."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_changesofatmosphere.html

Joe Gibbs :: 12" Reggae Discomix Showcase Vol. 4 :: VP Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"I'm slightly mystified as to why VP Records would choose to start us off with "Volume 4" of the songs Joe Gibbs had a hand in as opposed to 1, 2 or 3. I'm also puzzled as to why VP simply doesn't issue a boxset with all of the Gibbs hits collected together at once, as opposed to doling them out on one "Discomix" at a time. Most puzzling of all is why one can search for Joe Gibbs on the VP website and get no hits back from their discography. While Gibbs may not have partnered with VP until late in his life, they clearly have unlimited access to his archive of hits and the ability to pay any royalties from their sale to his heirs. It seems to me that shining a better spotlight on the legacy of Joe Gibbs is in order. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_gibbsdiscomix4.html

IDE and Skavenger :: Addicted to the Vision :: Creative Juices Music
as reviewed by Susan 'susiQ' Kim

"IDE and Skavenger boast a massive twenty-three tracks in "Addicted to the Vision" as they provide a little something for everyone. However, the team seems to excel in funk beats as they successfully execute the incorporation of soul, jazz, and R&B throughout their tracks. The production on "Throw Your Hands Up" featuring Respect and Ambush brings you back to the funk era with an electric bass being strummed to a simple beat as tambourines faintly sound in the background. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_addictedtovision.html

Junk Science :: A Miraculous Kind of Machine :: Modern Shark
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"The Def Jux connection is pretty apparent in Baje One's rapping. He sounds like El-P's younger, happy-go-lucky brother. Their voices sound similar, and on Baje One's more intense moments, like "Running Shoes," he could be mistaking for El Producto himself. However, where El-P seems weighted down by the weight of the world, Baje One is more positive and upbeat. He even went out of his way to make sure there was no cursing on the album. Baje One's partner in crime is DJ Snafu, who handles all the production on the album. He describes his style as lo-fi, which is pretty dead on."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_miraculousmachine.html

Kidz in the Hall :: Land of Make Believe :: Duck Down Records
as reviewed by Louis 'Delicate Beats' Cloutier

"The group's most recent album "Land of Make Believe" was released on March 2010. When I saw the cover art, I knew instantly I had a unique product in my hands. All of the songs share a distinctive core sound due to Double-Os production. His company is called "Space.Aged.Gorilla.Funk" and this name describes his style perfectly. On Kidz in the Hall's latest, he creates a bundle of funky up tempo songs with spacy synths and quirky rhythms. While I have mostly praise for Double-O's distinctive approach and consistence, his production is what keeps this LP from being a home run."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_makebelieve.html

Sadat X :: Wild Cowboys II :: Fat Beats Records
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"Oh no he didn't. Tell me Sadat X didn't jump on the sequel bandwagon just to peddle his most recent recordings to his few faithfuls, rushed it out to a willing manufacturer who put out a horribly mastered product that in no way can compare to "Wild Cowboys." The first impression and subsequent listens suggest he did. For the promisingly titled opener "Return of the Bang Bang" he teams up with "Generation X" collaborator Will Tell (of Brooklyn Academy) for a dub-inspired caper that incorporates non-rap quotes in clever fashion. But despite the interesting set-up the track is simply unlistenable due to the bad sound quality. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_wildcowboys2.html

Sway :: The Delivery :: Dcypha Records/Konvict
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

"Thinking back on that now legendary Jay Electronica gig at the Jazz Cafe in London – a night that I was fortunate enough to have attended – there was a warm up act, Sway. And he looked, frankly, a bit miserable, huffy and, dare we say it, resentful. Why? Well, Jay Electronica, a man that hasn't even officially released a mixtape, let alone an album, had a bunch of British lads (for they were ALL lads, of course) rapping along with most of his songs, in the palm of his hands and completely enthralled. Sway looked close to having his "On the Waterfront" moment."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_swaydelivery.html

Twin Perils :: Word Supremacy :: Holographic Pagoda Recordings
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Albums about war, conflict and violence raise your adrenaline level. Nothing beats a good M.O.P. or Jedi Mind Tricks release in that regard. You feel the beats assault you, the lyrical ammunition spraying your ears, and it creates an uncontrollable headnodding response. The more passionate and angry the vocal delivery gets, the more you feel it. Sometimes the artist can even get away with a silly or nonsensical rhyme just off the emotional intensity and increased decibel level. The feeling leaves you wanting to go on a rampage like Reggie Noble in the "Time 4 Sum Aksion" video. Thankfully you don't have to because the music is a vicarious trip through the light fantastic - you get the surge of energy from the high octane beats and rhymes and translate that rush any way you like. It's a pure rap shot of cappuccino. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_05_wordsupremacy.html

Hip-Hop Shop #74 - Enter the 38th Chamber




Every Sunday at 9:30 PM EST we air a live new edition of Hip-Hop Shop on BlogTalkRadio like the one you're about to hear - Episode #74 - Enter the 38th Chamber. This show features new songs produced by El Michels Affair paying tribute to the Wu including Von Pea & Spec Boogie, A-Plus & Knobody and more! Thanks for listening and remember this show is PODSAFE so be sure to share it with a friend and tell them to check out the replay every Tuesday on RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Von Pea & Spec Boogie - Shimmy Shimmy Ya
* Checkmark & Termanology - Duffle Bag Bros.
* Diabolic - Frontlines
* A-Plus & Knobody - CREAM
* DJ Concept & Mickey Knox f/ Chaundon, Little Vic - Story to Tell
* O.C. & A.G. - Boom Bap
* Anutha f/ Equinox & Kam Moye - Seven
* Nuk Fam, NRO & Dugout - Protect Ya Neck


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have ELEVEN new items for you: Amp Live's "Headphone Concerto," an editorial on Adrian Peterson, Ensemble Mik Nawooj's "Hip-Hop Orchestra," Has-Lo and Castle's "Live Like You're Dead," the "Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Volume 3" compilation, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #291, Mirandom's "The Otherworld EP," Sonnyjim & Leaf Dog's "How to Tame Lions," Twista's "Dark Horse" (our featured review), Ugly Heroes' "Ugly Heroes EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 9, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Jay Burna - "Snakes". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive