Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Nneka to Join Nas & Damian "Jr. Gong" Marley On Tour


For Immediate Release                                                                        March 30, 2010

 

NNEKA JOINS DISTANT RELATIVES TOUR

Nigerian-born singer-songwriter to hit the road with Nas

and Damian Marley starting May 22nd

  


New York – Fresh off of the release of her first US album debut Concrete Jungle, Nneka has been announced as the support act for the historic Distant Relatives Tour with Nas and Damian “Jr. Gong” Marley hitting the road May 2010. The tour will stop in major cities across the country in support of their Distant Relatives album, which is a celebration of not only to the bond between the two artists, but the connection to their African ancestry, which inspired the album both musically and lyrically.

Born and raised in Nigeria, Nneka is deeply influenced by her roots. The political and social states of her home country are often prevalent in her music and live performances. It is this message of awareness, hope and love that made her a perfect fit for a collaboration with Nas and Damian Marley, both legendary artists and personal influences of Nneka’s. “With this tour,” Nneka explains, “we represent the fact that we are all connected to one another, all part of one entity and one source – which is love.”

The tour extends Nneka’s highly successful introduction to the United States, having been heralded by the likes of Spin, Rolling Stone, and Billboard, among others as the next “it” artist of 2010. Her stunning performance of “Heartbeat” on the Late Show with David Letterman left fans enthralled, and Perez Hilton has proclaimed her music to be “a gift to the world.” More recently, the critical acclaim piqued the interest of national retailer Whole Foods, who is now carrying her album as part of their “Artist Discovery” program.

And this is just the beginning. The Distant Relatives Tour is just the next chapter in Nneka’s ongoing crusade to spread the message of unconditional love to a family of fans across the globe. With lyrics like “come let us be truthful, surrender our pride / admit the stains on our, our chest our hands / we seek, we find” she reminds us that as a global community we are responsible, and further inspires us that we are all indeed, distant relatives.

Concrete Jungle is in stores now on Epic/Decon.

Nneka will be on the following dates of the Distant Relatives Tour:

May 22nd        Eugene, OR                    Cuthbert Amphitheater

May 23rd        Seattle, WA                     Showbox Sodo

May 25th        Oakland, CA                    Fox Theater

May 26th        Santa Barbara, CA           University of California, Santa Barbara

May 28th        Los Angeles, CA              The Wiltern

May 29th        Las Vegas, NV                 The Joint

May 30th        Valley Center, CA             Harrah's Rincon - Open Sky Theater           

May 31st        Los Angeles, CA               UCLA Jazz Reggae Festival           

June 2nd        Santa Fe, NM                    Paolo Soleri Amphitheatre           

June 8th        Houston, TX                       House of Blues           

June 9th         Austin, TX                         Stubb's Waller Creek Outdoor Amphitheater           

June 11th        Manchester, TN                Bonnaroo Music Festival           

June 12th        Atlanta, GA                      Tabernacle           

June 13th        Lake Buena Vista, FL        House of Blues - Lake Buena Vista, FL

Video: Noreaga - "The Streets Got A New Face"


From Crazy Hood:

Another DJ EFN Visual Mixtape Creation but this time in conjunction with Dre Films for N.O.R.E.'s latest freestyle "The Streets Got A New Face". N.O.R.E. is throwing down in this freestyle (off upcoming mixtape) in anticipation of CNN's War Report 2. The video features cameo's by Imam Thugg, and Crazy Hoods own Hazardis Soundz, Heckler, Tattoo, Boracka Boris and DJ EFN. Shout to 57thave and Ice Water Inc. Download "The Streets Have A New Face" mp3 now! 

Eternia & Moss to Release "At Last" on June 15th


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

March 31st, 2010 - Eternia & MoSS Announce Release Date “At Last”

ETERNIA & MOSS “AT LAST” WILL BE RELEASED JUNE 15th, 2010 ON FAT BEATS RECORDS

Produced Entirely By MoSS, “At Last” Features Guest Appearances from Joell Ortiz, Ras Kass, Termanology, Tona, Rage, Rah Digga, Jean Grae, Tiye Phoenix, Reef The Lost Cauze, Maestro Fresh Wes, and more

In 2007, Eternia began recording her sophomore album with MoSS (a fellow Canadian), two years later the LP is complete and the title of the album says it all: At Last! Going where instinct took them, Eternia and MoSS’ collaborative union manifested into a sonically consistent album inspired by classic, boom-bap rap records (I.E. Ghostface Killah, Gangstarr, EPMD, Wu-Tang, & Nas).

MoSS is one of Hip-Hop’s fastest rising producers (see his work with Raekwon, Obie Trice, Ghostface, Joell Ortiz, Joe Budden, AZ, Slum Village, Havoc, Kool G Rap, KRS-One, Buckshot etc) and the first producer signed to DJ Premier’s “Works Of Mart” production company—needless to say, the classic boom-bap aesthetic is a lane MoSS is more then comfortable in.

At Last is entirely produced by MoSS and features appearances by some of Hip-hop’s elite, including Joell Ortiz, Ras Kass, Termanology, Tona, Reef The Lost Cauze and luminary female emcees such as Rage, Rah Digga, Jean Grae & Tiye Phoenix. Eternia is at her finest over MoSS’ production, offering raw, confidant & vulnerable first-person perspectives over gritty and moving soundscapes. At Last promises to resonate in a musical arena where most rap albums fail to deliver beyond a ring-tone single.

While Eternia has spent the better part of two-years working on At Last, she has also been a whirlwind of promotion and productivity. In the summer of 2008, shortly after the release of “Where I’m At – The Setup”, Eternia launched her extremely popular T-shirt design, “My Favorite Rapper Wears A Skirt” to thrilled fashion-conscientious fans worldwide. In December of 2009, Eternia released “Get Caught Up”, presented by 2Dopeboyz & Kevin Nottingham.

Eternia has toured across Canada, the U.S., Australia, Mexico & Europe numerous times. Perhaps most noteworthy, she was invited to tour with Roxanne Shante, Bahamadia, Invincible and DJ Shortee across Europe on the historic “WE B-GIRLZ” tour in 2008, the first ever of its kind. Recently, Eternia has transformed herself from ‘that Canadian rapper’ to a household name on North American Hip Hop News & Blog sites, with her weekly video episodes “’AT Last’ - Road to Release Day” garnering well over 90,000 hits collectively and featuring Hip Hop legends DJ Premier, KRS-One, Pharoahe Monch, MC Lyte, Jeru the Damaja, 88-Keys, Jean Grae, Marco Polo, Smif N Wessun all co-signing the album.

You can catch Eternia & MoSS’ video diary “Road To Release” (all 15 episodes are available) on her dedicated Youtube page: Youtube.com/Eternia777

DOWNLOAD First Leak From "AT LAST" Now!

Download Links for Eternia & MoSS “Its Funny” f/Joell Ortiz:

Clean: http://usershare.net/ebcc8qo6uu4c
Dirty: http://usershare.net/gwsr7sovqrfm

Video: Raekwon - "Canal Street"


Raekwon "Canal Street" music video directed by LaMarck of LaMarck Films in association with Ice H2O Films.
(C) 2009 EMI / Ice H2O Records/ LaMarck Films
 

Video: Erykah Badu - Window Seat (NSFW)


Video: Erykah Badu - Window Seat (NSFW)

Kwame Interview & Freestyle With Beyond Belief


Philadelphia’s Power 99 Catches up with Rapper/Producer/CEO Kwame

Kwame is best known for his success producing Lloyd Banks' break-out single "On Fire," Will Smith's international smash "Switch," and for scoring scenes in films such as "Step Up," "Stomp the Yard," and “Fantastic Four.”  

In addition to producing and contributing to records selling over 30 million copies, Kwame is also the President and CEO of his own label, Make Noise.

Last week, Power 99’s Cosmic Kev caught up with Kwame in Philly for an on-air interview.   

The two discuss Kwame’s changeover from artist to producer, the “notorious” polka-dot diss, and his new artist, Beyond Belief.

Kwame also graces us with some brand new bars during a 10:00 minute back-and-forth freestyle with Beyond Belief.

Check out the VIDEO of the freestyle below:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ye0sgk0kgn4

 

Check out the AUDIO of the interview below:

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7TZ9KZiPCo

 

 

Get a copy of Beyond Belief’s Kwame-produced single “Bigger Checks” featuring Red CafeHERE

Hip-Hop Shop #68 - Dan-e-o, Little Brother, Louis Logic & More



This week on Hip-Hop Shop we're featuring new music from Dan-e-o, Little Brother, Louis Logic and more! If you like what you hear be sure to e-mail dj.flash@rapreviews.com with feedback or to get more information about sponsoring the show. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so give a copy to your friends and tell them to check us out every week at RapReviews.com! PS: Be sure to check out our good friends mrob & The Cancer at K4D too!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* Little Brother - Star
* Louis Logic f/ Black Mask - Broken Record
* Bekay - Realest That Run It (BLESTeNATION Remix)
* Fatnice of 84 - My Favorite Things
* DJ Concept & DJ Mickey Knox f/ Chaundon & Little Vic - Story to Tell
* Dan-e-o f/ Conwell - Last Minute

Little Brother Launches New Website + "Star"


From Audible Treats:

Little Brother Launches New Website + "Star"

LB Invites Fan Interaction With IAmLittleBrother.ning.com, Big Pooh Comments On "Star," Twitter Situation

The Website:

For all the fans of Little Brother, there's now something new to check on everyday besides personal Facebook accounts, MySpace pages, and Twitter handles. A website for Little Brother fans is now up and running, for everyone to post their own Little Brother tidbits, share their stories, and interact both with the group and fans of the group worldwide. "The site is a thank you. Come and be a part of the Little Brother experience by posting your stories, pictures, favorite songs, homemade videos put to Little Brother songs, and more. Interact with other fans of Little Brother from across the globe," says Big Pooh. A Little Brother shopping trip is also available as the site includes new, official LeftBack shirts, GetBack shirts, CDs, and all kinds of Little Brother items. It's a one-stop shop, or rather one-stop site, for all things Little Brother.

The Song:

News on Little Brother's iTunes Bonus song, "Star," has been much discussed over the weekend. Having heard from Phonte, here is Big Pooh's take on the situation.

From Big Pooh:

"We decided to give that song to people for two reasons. First, the people have been asking for another 9th/Little Brother song since this is the last Little Brother album. We had intended for that song to be an iTunes bonus track but certain circumstances led us to leak it, which leads to the second reason: We got word late Friday from our distribution company that iTunes took the song down following a call from 9th or someone in his camp. I feel that if he didn't want the song out then he could have easily contacted any one of us (Big Dho, Phonte, or myself) and explained his reasoning and the issue would have been dealt with accordingly. Instead we find out on some "oh yeah, I forgot to tell" type shit while trying to figure out other information. "Star" was recorded in 2005-2006 for use by 9th on his Wonder Years album that has yet to get a release date.

A lot of people have been asking and waiting for my response regarding the twitter outburst over the weekend. I posted a few statements via twitter myself, but, for the most part, I have chosen to remain silent. I have never believed in airing out business on the internet. I have tried to be as diplomatic as possible when answering questions about the situation in an effort to move on. Unfortunately, the same passion that people have had for Little Brother since we came on the scene in support of us is the same passion that fuels a lot of the extra back and forth between parties. You would have never witnessed what you did over the weekend if 9th actually spoke to us instead of speaking to you, the fans, via social network about the situation. Telling people, "You don't know the REAL story," and "It ain't on me, they wanted me out the group," and other comments of that nature does nothing but agitate the situation. It's only so much you can take before you finally explode and ask, "Why not talk to me instead of talking to those who have nothing to do with our problems?"

Phonte and myself have always been made to look like the mean, jealous, bitter, former group members in the situation when that is far from the case. 9th has taken the "high road" because at the end of the day, there isn't too much he can say if we really started throwing out the facts behind his departure from the group. We have issues that can and will only be worked out by us, if at all. Some of your outside input is appreciated but not necessary as we sort through this situation. At the end of the day it doesn't help, it only adds fuel, regrettably. As always, we appreciate you support and thank you for listening."

"Star": http://media.audibletreats.com/Little_Brother-Star_Prod_By_9th_Wonder.mp3 .

Little Brother Website: http://iamlittlebrother.ning.com/ .

For more information on Little Brother please contact Michelle or Dan at Audible Treats.

The Background:

Little Brother, the Durham, North Carolina group formed in part by Phonte and Rapper Big Pooh, released their debut album The Listening on ABB Records in 2003. They are now gearing up for the release of their fourth album, LeftBack, which will be the last of Little Brother’s illustrious career, available April 20th via Hall Of Justus. Continuing the tradition they set with the critically acclaimed third release GetBack, Big Pooh and Phonte have enlisted multiple producers for LeftBack, both from within and outside of the Justus League camp. The album features production from the likes of Khyrsis, Denaun Porter, J.Bizness and guest vocals from Torae, Truck North, Jozeemo, Chaundon, Median, and more.

Streams:

"Star": http://media.audibletreats.com/Little_Brother-Star_Prod_By_9th_Wonder.mp3 .

"Curtain Call": http://media.audibletreats.com/Little_Brother-Curtain_Call.mp3 .

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/little_brother .

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/phontigallo and http://www.twitter.com/RapperBigPooh .

Kottonmouth Kings Take a Trip in New ‘Mushrooms’ Video


From Kerosene Media:

Kottonmouth Kings Take a Trip in New ‘Mushrooms’ Video

The Kottonmouth Kings newest member, the Dirtball, is currently tripping on psychedelics in the group’s new video for the track “Mushrooms”, which can be seen online at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6sdmzzD_MTU. The song is part of the group’s new album, “Long Live The Kings”, which hits stores on April 20th, 2010 through Suburban Noize.
 


“Making music videos is one of the dopest parts of being in the rap business,” commented Dirtball.  “I have always wanted to do a green screen, psychedelic video to one of my songs, particularly a more technically patterned one like ‘Mushrooms’.  Obviously the name warrants the special attention, and I am stoked on the end result which is pure visual mania!  Expand your mind on this chunk of entertainment!”
 
Kottonmouth Kings are riding a creative high after announcing they have added Oregon based rapper the Dirtball to the group as a full-time member. Dirtball’s motor mouth can be heard all over the group’s new album, including tracks like “Stomp”, “Rampage” and “Party Monsters” featuring Tech N9ne. Kottonmouth Kings' "Long Live The Kings" is currently available for pre-order with a bonus CD and exclusive DVD online at www.SubNoizeStore.com .

Dan-e-o's "The Book of Daniel" Mixtape Out NOW


From Dan-e-o:

On February 15, 2000, I released my debut album "The Book of Daniel" on
One Rock Records - a label I co-founded with my crew, Monolith. As
announced on the 10 year anniversary of this album's release, I would be
commemorating this landmark occasion with the release of a brand new
mixtape.

"The Book of Daniel (10 Year Anniversary Mixtape)", has FINALLY been
released! For ONLY $5.99, you can now download a grand total of 19 tracks
mixed by Royal Touch HERE:
http://www.maplemusic.com/product.asp?dept%5Fid=2316&pf%5Fid=2315%2D118&lang=EN

It includes a never-before-released SICK 8 minute freestyle featuring
Black Cat and Arcee, which was recorded on "The Real Frequency" ten years
ago!

For those of you who may never have copped the original album, I am also
offering up my second-ever 2 in 1 album/mixtape including both the
original album and the brand new 10 Year Anniversary mixtape for only
$11.99 HERE:
http://www.maplemusic.com/product.asp?dept%5Fid=2316&pf%5Fid=2315%2D119&lang=EN

As of now, both projects are available as digital downloads only. However,
if you're old school like I am and want a CD copy of the original disc,
buy it here for only $9.99:
http://www.maplemusic.com/product.asp?dept%5Fid=2313&pf%5Fid=2315%2D21&lang=EN

Thanks to everyone who has supported me for the past decade. The best is
yet to come!

Dan-e-o

BUY "THE BOOK OF DANIEL (10 YEAR ANNIVERSARY MIXTAPE)":
http://www.maplemusic.com/product.asp?dept%5Fid=2316&pf%5Fid=2315%2D118&lang=EN

DOWNLOAD "DILLA PICKLES" FREE:
http://www.dan-e-o.com/DillaPickles.zip

WATCH "LAST MINUTE" - THE SHORT FILM:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4xMyYqarBw

CHECK OUT MY...
WEBSITE: http://www.dan-e-o.com
ONLINE STORE: http://www.maplemusic.com/dept.asp?dept_id=2313
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/daneo10
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-e-o/177676081413
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/daneo10
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: http://www.youtube.com/donfaraldo
IMEEM: http://www.imeem.com/dan-e-o
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/daneo
THA O SHOW: http://www.thaoshow.com


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive