Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday August 22, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Preparanoia] ALL CAPS when you spell the man's name.

LMNO Review

Latest News Headlines
DJ Rob A - When They Reminisce Interview


From DJ Rob A:

DJ Rob A - When They Reminisce Interview

Sending this one out to a few of you that might want to read it. Hope you enjoy and pass it on. http://whentheyreminisce.com/?p=3830

peace
Rob A

--
www.ruggedsoul.com
Devo Spice Update - 2/27/2010


From Devo Spice:

Devo Spice Update - 2/27/2010

Greetings everyone!

Just a quick update for now as I have to go bathe my minions... I mean children.

For the past few years I have been working in secret with Shoebox of Worm Quartet, The Great Luke Ski, and Chris Mezzolesta of Power Salad on some sketch comedy.  This new super group of sketch comedy is called Cirque du So What and last month we finally got together and recorded an album.   Since it took us so long to put out the album we decided to title it Procrastinators Of The Apocalypse.

This album is now available for pre-order over at http://www.cirquedusowhat.net (or if you can't spell that go to http://www.baconnipples.com).  If you pre-order now you will also receive a free bonus CD with additional sketches, out takes, and some additional content.

Barring any unforeseen circumstances the album will be available for sale at MarsCon.  If you pre-order and will be at MarsCon you can pick up the CD from me and I'll refund you the shipping on your order when I get back.

The first few tracks from the CD have now been released for public consumption.  First, over at The FuMP you can now download our intro track God Hates Comedy Musicians.  http://www.thefump.com

Second, last night on The Awful Show I called in to talk about the project and they played our track A F***ing Room.  http://www.theawfulshow.com

And finally, members of The Spice Rack get another track in this month's episode of The Insider.  http://www.devospice.com/insider_play.php?id=8

Well I have a ton of stuff to do to get ready for MarsCon, so I'd better get to it.  Hopefully I'll see a few of you at the con next weekend!  I can't friggin' wait!

->Later.....Spice

Free Download: Elusive "District 2 District" Album Sampler


From Domination Recordings:

Free Download: Elusive "District 2 District" Album Sampler

Los Angeles, California based producer Elusive is no stranger to the underground hip hop scene. Making his debut production appearance on Eligh's (of the Living Legends) album in 1997. Elusive comes from the school of real music, being highly influenced from great producers like DJ Premier, Pete Rock, J Dilla as well as all kinds of music including jazz and soul music. A lot of his earlier releases featured California underground emcee's like Living Legends, Aceyalone, Myka 9, Jupiter & Peace from Freestyle Fellowship and Planet Asia. Now in 2010, Elusive teams up with Domination Recordings to release his latest production album titled "District 2 District" featuring Planet Asia, Royce Da 5'9, Main Flow, Casual, Gift of Gab, Prince Po, El Da Sensei, Omega Red, Ricky General, Whosane, Naptron, Neb Luv, Lady G, Trenseta and Bruce Hathcock.

Tracklisting:
1. Intro feat. Bruce Hathcock
2. District 2 District feat. Planet Asia and Ricky General
3. What Yall Chasing feat. Royce da 5'9, Naptron and Bruce Hathcock
4. Too Many feat. Casual
5. Whats Poppin feat. Whosane
6. To the Top feat. Main Flow and Omega Red
7. Danger feat. Trenseta
8. What It Do feat. Prince Po
9. Clapped Up feat. Naptron and C France
10. Green Berets feat. Planet Asia
11. Rhyme Games feat. Gift of Gab and Whosane
12. Gangsters feat. Killah Priest, Ras Kass and Ricky General
13. Paper Chasin feat. Neb Luv and Naptron
14. Last Bar feat. Planet Asia
15. My Swag feat. Lady G and Whosane
16. Bomb Hard feat. El da Sensei
17. On Lock feat. Main Flow and Whosane
18. Change the Game feat. Naptron and C France
19. Cold With It feat. Lady G and Trenseta

Free Download: "District 2 District" Album Sampler

Peace
KRU Records Free Song: "Spitsbergen 2" by 40th Dimension


From KRU Records:

Free Song: "Spitsbergen 2" by 40th Dimension

This week's free song is "Spitsbergen 2", a 40th Dimension "Crop Report" era B-Side that originally appeared on the "Zip It" 12" single and is featured on the forthcoming album "Karma Response Unit's B-Sides (2000-2010)", dropping in April.

40th Dimension "Spitsbergen 2"
http://www.zshare.net/audio/730691229bc5d8fa/
produced by Happ G. Lyrics by Scandal.

http://krurecords.com/newsletter.htm   <<< please feel free to spread the word and tell friends to sign up for FREE music!

www.krurecords.com

Trae Tha Truth in The Source, Black Men and Urban Ink


From Nancy B:

Trae Tha Truth in The Source, Black Men and Urban Ink

I wanted to share this feature from the March issue of The Source with you all in the spirit of maintaining Trae's current level of visibility. You can also see him in the current issues of both Black Men and Urban Ink and he continues to flood the streets with great music.

Below you can download his song, I Am Tha Streets ft. Rick Ross, Game and Lloyd; another taste from Trae's highly anticipated album, Tha Truth (ABN Entertainment/Fontana/Universal) set to drop this Summer. Rick Ross also featured this cut on his recent mixtape, The Timeless Audemars Piguet Collection.

Also below are several cuts from various DJ-hosted mixtapes that Trae continues to drop until his album releases. Next up will the release of the video for Trae's single, Inkredible ft. Lil Wayne and Rick Ross, which was shot in Miami during Wayne's pre-incarceration video shooting marathon.

DOWNLOAD LINKS:

"I Am Tha Streets" ft. Rick Ross, Game & Lloyd - http://www.sendspace.com/file/6zfbs2 .

"Fancy" ft. The Dream - http://www.sendspace.com/file/2wwivu .

"Kiss My A**" ft. Jadakiss - http://www.sendspace.com/file/eg94ha .

"Beat It" Bee ft. Trae, Dougie D & Michael Jackson - http://www.sendspace.com/file/7pb5p2 .

"I'm Beamin Reloaded" Lupe Fiasco ft. Trae - http://www.sendspace.com/file/cwz6tg .

"G Sh&*" Hurricane Chris ft. Trae - http://www.sendspace.com/file/y66vo6 .

Follow us on Twitter via @rappublicist and @TraeABN

K-Murdock - Panacea + Kickstarter.com = "12 Step Program"


From K-Murdock:

Panacea + Kickstarter.com = "12 Step Program"

So i been talkin' about "12 Step Program" for months... and finally, i got some good and definitive news about its release!  The album will drop on Raw Poetic's b-day, May 4th!  It'll be available through all the major digital music retailers AND for those who have been wondering about its' release on CD & Vinyl, thats where Kickstarter comes in...

After a lot of time contemplating our options for the funding and release of "12 Step Program", we decided to take the new-media approach with it and have the FANS assist in bringing this album to physical fruition!  So basically, its like pre-ordering the album, while also having a hand in its actual manufacturing!  We have done the indie and major label routes, and feel no one knows us better, other than ourselves, than YOU- our fans!  That said, i hope you all will help us raise the funds necessary to bring 12 Step to the masses as myself and Raw P have really created what we feel is our best work YET, and feel using this method is very progressive (though risky), just like our music! 

You can either choose to start trends or follow them, and we have always blazed our own trail!  Hopefully you all will join us in helping us keep the Panacea Phoenix burning... CLICK HERE (or the widget below) to read more info about this endeavor & support it!  Also, please feel free to contact me with any questions.



Any help is appreciated,
K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
K-Murdock - Winter (Video) Games 2k10!


From K-Murdock:

Anyone who listens to my music and/or has read the brief bio on the righthand-side of this blog, knows i LOVE video games!  Truth be told, i been gaming since i was 5... and that was 25 years ago!  I'm actually mad its taken this long for me to post more video game related stuff up on my blog as i know many of you all who follow it, are gamers too!  And if you ARE a gamer and been experiencing the "Snowpocalypse" that's ravaged the East Coast of the United States the last few weeks, then like me, you probably have had LOTS of time to play some games!  Off the top, there's been 2 i have been totally engulfed in since the new year commenced...

First off is the sequel to one of my favorite RPGS of all-time... "Mass Effect".  I admittedly slept-on ME for 2 years till i found it last year for $15 in a bargain bin at Walmart, and within 3 weeks, i had saved the galaxy from Saren!  The sequel which dropped late last month is even better and fixes a lot of issues i had with the original- like the lack of a cover system in battle and scaled down planet exploration.  I could go on and on about its dopeness, but take it from someone who has played any & EVERY RPG imaginable; From the good (Final Fantasy 7) to the bad (Saga Frontier) to the UGLY (Beyond the Beyond)...  ME2 = "MCS" (aka a "Must Cop Situation").  My only advice to those who aren't used to the tedium of most RPGS, is be prepared for TONS of dialogue!  Its not too big a worry though, as Bioware did a great job balancing the game out with a lot more action than its predecessor!

2nd and most recently, is Quantic Dream's "Heavy Rain" which dropped just this past Tuesday (2/23).  I can't say too much about the game as i dont wanna spoil anything, but i WILL say graphically i was blown away and the story itself is engrossing to the point i didnt get much music work done this week due to me incessantly playing through it!  Not to mention, theres even enough "twists" in this game to impress M. Night Shyamalan himself!  Again, another "MCS", and a sign that PS3 is ready to duke it out with Microsoft in 2010 for top console honors!  So far, its definitely a HOT start to whats been a COLD-ass winter!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Big Ken PSA on Waka Flocka & Method Man PLUS Original Videos


From Rap Star Promo:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
February 25th, 2010

Big Ken of 334 Mobb PSA on Waka Flocka & Method Man

* http://www.alturl.com/iftx ("QUIT HATIN THE SOUTH")

404.839.3043 for more info or www.twitter.com/bigkenmrmoney .


Bonus for all the RapReviews readers - the Waka Flocka Flame song that started this shit.



Method Man's interview in response to his song.

2010 Wake Up Show Anthem f/ B-Real, Crooked I, Ras Kass & More


From Dunn Deal PR:

King Tech presents the 2010 Wake Up Show Anthem f. RZA | Ras Kass | B-Real | Crooked I | Tajai | Tech N9ne and more!

Video: Donwill - Last.fm Presents Interview


From Audible Treats:

Video: Donwill - Last.fm Presents Interview

Don Cusack Star Sits Down For Interview, Speaks On New Album,
Tanya Morgan, The Power Of Social Networks, And More

The Video:



Continuing the push for his upcoming solo debut Don Cusack In High Fidelity, Donwill of Tanya Morgan recently sat down with popular internet radio site Last.fm to talk about his upcoming album, his group efforts with Tanya Morgan, the importance of properly utilizing social media networks as an artist, and more. Opening the interview, Donwill offers insight on the relationship that has developed between Von Pea, Ilyas, and himself over the years. Having been together since 2006, Donwill explains the camaraderie and support system the three have built, even with friendly competition, saying, "Now that we have this total creative autonomy and space, we want to make sure to be pretty sensitive of the fact that we need each other at this point." Back to his own music, Donwill wants people to understand the title, Don Cusack In High Fidelity, is more than just a title, it points to the theme ingrained throughout the entire album and the cult-classic film High Fidelity from which the album pulls inspiration. While some video content from the album in the future may stray slightly thematically in comparison to Don's already released video for "Laura's Song," he plans to keep the High Fidelity theme incorporated in all of the album's visual elements, as he prepares to release new videos in the near future. While Donwill covers his own career and upcoming projects throughout the interview, Donwill closes the interview offering advice for fellow artists as they engage fans and friends through social media. As an active member himself on social networks including Twitter and Facebook, closing the interview, Donwill speaks on the importance not only in being active on social networks, but how to best utilize social networks to reach and interact with friends and followers online.

Donwill's debut solo album Don Cusack In High Fidelity drops March 23, 2010, via Interdependent Media.

Last.fm Interview: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJBk_oLCtBg .

"Laura's Song" Max-single buy link: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/lauras-song-maxi-single/id3157597101 .

Be sure to check out Tanya Morgan live in a city near you soon, as they embark on the 12-date High Fidelity Tour with supporting act Kooley High:
2.25 - Washington, DC - Bohemian Caverns
2.26 - Raleigh, NC - The Pour House
2.27 - Williamsburg, VA - College of William & Mary
3.02 - Atlanta, GA - The Apache Cafe
3.03 - Asheville, NC - Emerald Lounge
3.04 - Pittsburgh, PA - Shadow Lounge
3.05 - Toronto, ON - The Drake Hotel
3.06 - Chicago, IL - Subterranean (w/ Blu & Exile)

The Background:

Donwill is one-third of hip-hop group Tanya Morgan, formed in 2003, who recently released their third full-length album Brooklynati in 2009. With the high praise from Rolling Stone and Time Out New York that Brooklynati garnered,Donwill is now ready to release his own album, Don Cusack in High Fidelity on March 23rd, 2010. The maxi-single of "Laura's Song," complete with the album version, radio edit, instrumental and a couple of remixes is now available for purchase on iTunes. The album will be released by Bay Area label Interdependent Media.

About Interdependent Media:

Founded in 2006 in the Bay Area by Evan Phillips, Interdependent Media has built unique strengths in the development, production, and marketing of recorded music via new methods of marketing and promotion. Armed with a comprehensive understanding of both traditional and emerging methods of marketing, iM has successfully created multi-faceted methods of raising awareness and interest in their projects. Industry veterans Ian "ID" Davis and Dominic Del Bene head operations at iM and are credited with discovering and/or developing artists such as 9th Wonder, Little Brother, Tanya Morgan, Blackalicious, Del the Funky Homosapien, the Hieroglyphics and more. In 2010, iM will be releasing multi-media projects from artists Donwill, TRUTHLiVE, Canibus, Von Pea, A-Plus, and more. For more information, please visit http://www.imculture.com .

Last.fm Interview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CJBk_oLCtBg .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 19th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Apathy's "Connecticut Casual," Adam Bernard's Billy Danze interview, DJ Halo's Subways & Sidewalks #23 featuring Nackt, an editorial on the Ferguson cops, FlamesYall's "RaglandTape," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #284, Le1f's "Hey," LMNO's "Preparanoia" (our featured review), Trey Songz' "Trigga" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 12, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Hilltop Hoods - "Walking Under Stars". RapReviews.com also recommends AMP SummerSlam Recap from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive