Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday August 28, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Video: Big Boi f/ Too Short & George Clinton - "Fo Yo Sorrows"


The official video for Big Boi's "Fo Yo Sorrows" from his upcoming Sir Lucious Leftfoot the Son of Chico Dusty album.

Directed by Zach Wolfe.

Wu-Tang Management Is Looking for the Next 9 Generals


 WU-TANG MANAGEMENT

IS LOOKING FOR THE

NEXT 9 GENERALS

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPL0nUbX1hA

STAND UP – MAN UP – CLAN UP

FOR MORE INFO GO TO:

www.wucompetition.com

 

 

Dan-e-o & Shalli @ "Rock The House" March 20th!


From Dan-e-o:

On Saturday, March 20th, 2010, Planet Rock Records recording artists
Dan-e-o & Shalli join an amazing line-up of performers for the 2nd annual
"Rock The House" Charity Show at Oshawa, Ontario's Durham College
(Athletic Campus Centre).

Showtime goes from 1-9pm with Shalli (http://www.ShalliSings.com)
scheduled to hit the stage at 7:20pm and Dan-e-o (http://www.Dan-e-o.com)
slated for 7:45pm.

Other live performers include Choclair, The Poor Little Fools, Viva Mars,
Eleven Past One, Jerusalem Groves, Mic Boogie, Amanda Morra, Tre, Recovery
Child and MSG.

Admission is only $10. See the attached flyer for more details.

For more info call: 905.718.2233 or visit http://www.habitatdurham.com


Dan-e-o
Download "Dilla Pickles" FREE right HERE:
http://www.dan-e-o.com/DillaPickles.zip

"Last Minute" - The Short Film:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4xMyYqarBw
"Last Minute" - The Trailer:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yu2g34DJ-JE
"Break It Down":
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NlQWyTxt_90

AND DON'T FORGET TO CHECK ME OUT HERE...
WEBSITE: http://www.dan-e-o.com
MYSPACE: http://www.myspace.com/daneo10
FACEBOOK: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dan-e-o/177676081413
TWITTER: http://www.twitter.com/daneo10
YOUTUBE CHANNEL: http://www.youtube.com/donfaraldo
IMEEM: http://www.imeem.com/dan-e-o
REVERBNATION: http://www.reverbnation.com/daneo
THA O SHOW: http://www.thaoshow.com
ONLINE STORE: http://www.maplemusic.com/dept.asp?dept_id=2316

Free ScholarMan EP Download - "Hiroshima Fusion"


From Soganic Music

When you get a moment, download the new ScholarMan EP Hiroshima Fusion. ScholarMan recently found himself checking out the 1979 work of the soulful band Hiroshima and decided to create an EP that fuses their jazzy and soulful sound with his brand of hip-hop, thus the reason for the title.

This is his first free project of 2010 that features the talents of K-Mynez, Kahli Abdu, Teisha Marie and Verronica Styles. The download link follows, please share this with your friends, family, audience, readers, listeners etc.

Download link

Thanks for the continued support!

Soganic Music
www.soganicmusic.com

Other news:

"Free Spirit of a Troubled Soul" by ScholarMan now available!

New Lagbara beat tape coming soon!
Kidz In The Hall's "Land Of Make Believe" Now Available


From Duck Down:

New York, NY- March 9- Hip Hop alternative duo Kidz In The Hall (K.I.T.H) new album, Land Of Make Believe, out today, March 9th in all physical & digital retail outlets! Additionally iTunes is featuring "Jukebox" as the free single of the week and BET's 106th & Park is premiering "Jukebox" today at 7PM EST. K.I.T.H are currently on a 20 city tour called the Crowd Control Tour alongside 88-Keys, Izza Kizza and Donnis.

ESPN SportsCenter will be continuing to feature Kidz In The Hall 's latest single "Take Over The World" ft. Colin Munroe and co-produced by Just Blaze. Land of Make Believe also features MC Lyte, Marsha Ambrosius, Amanda Diva, Chip Tha Ripper, Donnis, Tim William and Russoul.

Melding Hip-hop, R&B and Pop/Rock, the album is "Extraordinary music for ordinary people" comments Double- O, DJ of K.I.T.H. A sonic department from previous albums, The Land Of Make Believe dares to push the boundary between who you are, who you think you are and the constant struggle getting to where you want to be. This album allowed K.I.T.H to reflect and analyze both strengths and weaknesses redefining their goals and aspirations. Naledge, MC of K.I.T.H comments, "the moment we have worked for has come to a crossroad.  We've never taken time to look ourselves in the mirror and analyze what this industry has made us. As a lyricist, I used this album to serve as a soundtrack to my aspirations and to my downfalls, but also as a chance to evaluate who I am as a man compared to whom I envisioned myself to be."

Click Here To Purchase

For more dates see below:

Tuesday - 3/9/10 - Cleveland, OH - Peabody's
Wednesday - 3/10/10 - Grand Rapids, MI - Intersection Live
Thursday - 3/11/10 - Pontiac MI - Cro Foot/Pike Room
Monday - 3/15/10 - Enid, OK - The Underground
Thursday -3/18/10 - Austin- TX - SXSW
Friday - 3/19/10 - Austin - TX - SXSW
Sat - 3/20/10 - Austin - TX - SXSW
Wednesday - 3/24/10 - Denver, CO - Cervantes
Thursday - 3/25/10 - Murray, UT - Murray Theater
Saturday - 3/27/10 - Los Angeles, CA - Key Club
Thursday - 4/1/10 - Seattle, WA - Studio 7
Friday - 4/2/10 - Portland. OR - Berbati's Pan

Founded on the grounds of Ivy league school University of Pennsylvania, 2008 was a big year for hip-hop alternative duo Kidz In The Hall.  After the release of their critically acclaimed album, The In Crowd, it propelled them into MTV's TRL & BET'S 106 & Park limelight with key tracks like "Drivin Down The Block," and "Love Hangover" featuring Estelle. Later success landed them a global Reebok campaign around the brand's Classics campaign remixing & shooting a video for Special Ed's "I Got It Made" which featured in over 500 footwear locations nationwide. From there fans saw them on every stage with Gym Class Heroes, MURS, N.E.R.D., The Clipse and heard them on numerous video games including EA Sports Madden 09, NBA LIVE 2010, Rockstar Game's Midnight Club LA and Activision's Pimp My Ride 2.

Audible Treats Announces Inaugural SXSW Showcase Lineup


From Audible Treats:

Audible Treats Announces Inaugural SXSW Showcase Lineup

Co-Headliners Black Milk and Black Sheep Are Joined by Diamond District, One Be Lo, Donwill, Finale, Crown Royale, Bisco Smith, and More for March 20 Showcase

(March 9, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Premier lifestyle and entertainment marketing firm, Audible Treats, is pleased to announce their first Official SXSW 2010 Showcase. The showcase, which will take place at The Independent on Saturday, March 20th, will feature a unique mix of legendary, established, and rising hip-hop acts, including co-headliners Black Milk and Black Sheep, along with Donwill and Von Pea of Tanya Morgan, One Be Lo, Diamond District, Finale, Crown Royale, Bisco Smith, League510, iLL-Literacy, and TRUTHLiVE. Amp Live of Zion I will serve as the official DJ for the evening.

Following the overwhelming success of Audible Treats' 2009 CMJ showcase, an event featuring a number of outstanding performances including Souls Of Mischief's lone east coast appearance for the year, this first official SXSW showcase continues to build on Audible Treats foundation as a leader in digital marketing and online and print publicity, while displaying the immense talents of the artists represented by the company. "We re looking forward to bursting onto the SX scene with a stellar line-up for our first official showcase," says Audible Treats President and Co-Founder, Michelle McDevitt. Co-Founder and Director of Marketing, Gavin Rhodes, adds, "We've worked hard with our media and lifestyle partners to produce an impressive show filled with amazing giveaways and prizes. Fans are going to be in for a real treat."

Audible Treats has partnered with elite lifestyle and music tech companies to give away free goodies throughout the evening. Joining forces once again with Asics/Onitsuka Tiger. Audible Treats will distribute special freebies and they will also be awarding one lucky attendee with a free Maschine midi controller courtesy of a special collaboration with leading music software and instrument company, Native Instruments. Joining in the festivities as official media partners for the showcase are Beyond Race Magazine, BrooklynVegan.com, CokeMachineGlow.com, and The Smoking Section. As an official SXSW-sponsored showcase all badge and wristband holders will be allowed in for free, while a limited number of tickets will be available for purchase at the door.

Audible Treats is a Brooklyn-based entertainment marketing and publicity firm specializing in print and online media coverage. Working closely with the best record labels and lifestyle companies since 2004, Audible Treats creates customized, effective marketing and publicity campaigns for countless clients, ranging the spectrum from legacy artists to Grammy-winners to rising stars including T-Pain, Too $hort, Anthony Hamilton, Black Milk, The Pharcyde, J*DaVeY and many more. By combining out-of-the-box creative strategies with industry know-how, Audible Treats plays a vital role in assisting clients to meet their goals.

To keep up with all things Audible Treats leading up to and throughout SXSW, please visit http://www.audibletreats.com/download/sxsw .

The Details:

When: Saturday, March 20, 2010, 7:30PM - 2:00AM
What: Audible Treats SXSW 2010 Showcase featuring Black Milk, Black Sheep, Donwill and Von Pea of Tanya Morgan, One Be Lo, Diamond District, Finale, Crown Royale, Bisco Smith, League510, iLL-Literacy, TRUTHLiVE
Showcase DJ: Amp Live
Where: The Independent @ 501 Brushy Street Austin, Texas 78702

Block Exchange "Missing You" Notorious B.I.G. Tribute


From Clout Media:

In commemoration of the Notorious B.I.G.'s untimely death on March 9, 1997, RH Bless and Duss Smittoooo of Block Exchange Ent. bring you "Missing You," a video tribute to the Notorious B.I.G.

Bless rhymes about the first time he met Biggie during a Howard University homecoming, while Smitty talks about Biggie's significance to Hip Hop.

Artist: Block Exchange(R.H.Bless & Duss Smittoooo)
Song: Missing You(Notorious B.I.G. Tribute

Courtesy of B.L.O.C.K.Report DVD
(C)2010 Block Exchange Entertainment/Films

Director/Producer/Editor: R.H.Bless
www.Twitter.com/rhbless
www.facebook.com/rhbless
www.myspace.com/rhbless
www.vimeo.com/blockexchange 

K-Murdock/Neosonic Productions Launches New Website


From K-Murdock:

Its been years in the making, but i finally got a 1-stop shop for all that is "Neosonic"!  My new site, which i set-up thru Flavors.me, is essentially a HUB for all the individual sites I'm on... YouTube, Flickr, Linkedin, etc. The really dope thing is that you don't even have to leave the site to access most of the content as its displayed right on the page!  I even have my blog post set to stream on it, so make sure to bookmark the site as it'll be THE best place to connect to me & my music... you may even learn something about me you never knew too... so check IT out!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS
Swollen Members Greatest Hits Vlog & European Tour


From Kerosene Media:

Swollen Members Release Greatest Hits Video Blog Series & Announce European Tour

Swollen Members have posted the first episode of their VLOG series for "Greatest Hits: Ten Years of Turmoil" online at www.youtube.com/watch?v=eTCZCIySO70 . In VLOG #1 Prevail talks about the significance of the track "Lady Venom", from the "Balance" album, and how fans still react to it a decade later.
 
After six studio albums, Swollen Members will release their first-ever, career-spanning collection, "Greatest Hits: Ten Years of Turmoil", on March 16th, 2010 through Suburban Noize and Battle Axe Records. For this compilation, Swollen Members have reached back deep into the vaults and assembled a collection of 18 classic tracks that have been previously out of print to the Battle Axe army. The album is currently available for pre-order at www.SubNoizeStore.com, along with a limited edition t-shirt.
 
Swollen Members recently completely a US tour with Cool Nutz, and will kick off their upcoming European run on March 11th in Prague, CZH.
 
"I'm very excited to come and perform for all our fans in Europe," commented Madchild. "Due to the trials and tribulations we've been through over the last few years I was not able to make the last tour with Swollen. Now I'm back and feeling stronger than ever and ready tear shit up for our fans, while soaking up the rich culture Europe has to offer. Get ready for the warrior movement!"
 
CATCH SWOLLEN MEMBERS ON TOUR:

3/11 – Prague, CZH @ Lucerna Music Bar
3/12 - St Gallen, Switzerland  @ Kugl
3/13 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Dynamo
3/14 – Weinheim, Germany @ Café Central
3/16 - Berlin, Germany @ Cassiopeia
3/17 - Leipzig, Germany @ Conne Island
3/18 – Athens, Greece @ TBA
3/19 – Thessalonki, Greece @ TBA
3/20 - Munster Germany @ Skaters Palace
3/23 – Helsinki, Finland @ Kuudes Linja
3/24 – Oslo, Norwary @ Livingroom
3/25 - Stockholm, Swe @ Lilla Hotellbaren
3/26 - Gothenburg, Swe @ Pusterviksbaren
3/28 – Kulturfabrik Switzerland @ Kofmel
3/31 - Paris, France @ Glazart
4/01 - London, UK @ Cargo
4/02 – Amsterdam @ Melkweg
 
###
 
* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

J.Period & Ralph McDaniels Present March 9: Video Remix Collection


J.Period & “Uncle” Ralph McDaniels Present... The March 9: Video Remix Collection

March 9, 2010, J.Period & “Uncle” Ralph McDaniels (Video Music Box, The Bridge) bring Biggie back to life with the March 9: Video Remix Collection—a collection of exclusive B.I.G remixes set to classic videos, in honor of the 13th Anniversary of B.I.G.’s untimely passing.  

Blasting off today, J.Period & “Uncle” Ralph are pleased to present the first installment in this series, “Flava in Ya Ear (March 9 Video Remix),”a club-shattering blend of old and new that begs the question: what would hip hop be like if B.I.G. were still alive!?  Tune intowww.jperiod.com/march9 to view more... coming soon!

View “Flava” on Vimeo: http://www.vimeo.com/10018701
Download File: http:www.jperiod.com/upload/march9/m9vid-flava-web.zip

And for hip hop heads in Brooklyn, look out as J.Period & Ralph McDaniels’ March 9: Video Remix Collection premieres TONIGHT at Mr. Cee & Diddy’s B.I.G. Tribute at The Vault, BK!  Not in BK?  Tune into BET’s “The Deal” for a special B.I.G. Tribute this month, including the broadcast premiere of J.Period & Ralph McDaniels’ March 9: Video Remix Collection!!

 


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive