Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday July 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[In Transit] Constantly moving forward!

Muneshine Review

Latest News Headlines
Battery Records Signs Rapper D.C. Don Juan


From Audible Treats:

Battery Records Signs Rapper D.C. Don Juan / Video Premiere      12.21.2009
Freshly Signed D.C. Rap Star Releases Video For Hit Single, "Lookie Looky"


(Brooklyn, NY- December 21, 2009) Battery Records has signed Washington, DC based rapper, D.C. Don Juan. The label is set to launch his first single, "Lookie Looky," and is now proud to release the official video for the song.

Neil Levine, GM and Senior Vice President of Battery Records, states, "D.C. Don Juan is a rare and distinct talent who appeals to a broad audience. His first single 'Lookie Looky' has an incredibly innovative video with an extremely strong hook. We are eager to develop his considerable potential and to make him a full-fledged star."

D.C. Don Juan states, "I've worked hard to get this point and I've proven myself. I plan to raise the bar. The possibilities are endless with Nu Entertainment and Battery behind me."

The 23 year-old Bronx-born rapper Maurice Campbell moved with his family to Washington, DC. when he was 12. A prolific artist who has recorded over 4,000 songs during the course of his eight-year career, he channels the harshness of urban street life into hip-hop developing his persona as D.C. Don Juan.

His vantage point was broadened with time spent in different regions of the country. In 2004, he moved to Denver where he was squarely on the Denver Nuggets team radar, playing in the Allen Iverson celebrity game and recording in Dermarr Johnson's studio. He moved onto Atlanta in 2006 to collaborate with Polow Da Don and Boo, and it was there that he caught the eye of Nu Entertainment CEO Reggie "Big Reg" Turner, who promptly signed him, leading to his recent signing with Battery Records.

Battery Records is an imprint under Sony Music Entertainment's RCA/JIVE Label Group umbrella formed in July 2008 to develop and nurture young urban hip hop talent, in an age where such development is more crucial and necessary than ever. Under the leadership of industry veteran Neil Levine, Battery's mission is to uncover and cultivate organic young talent, thereby creating an indispensable niche in the marketplace.

"Lookie Looky" Official video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIb7Qz-rGTU .
Audio stream: http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=YI3DwQpKAtvwx0evShnKDL9x97GZwsjH&amp .

Streams:

"Lookie Looky":
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eIb7Qz-rGTU *
* http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=YI3DwQpKAtvwx0evShnKDL9x97GZwsjH&amp *

Twitter:
* http://twitter.com/IamDonJuan *

MySpace:
* http://www.myspace.com/mostjuanted *

Facebook:
* http://www.facebook.com/pages/Don-Juan-Weezie/54418263614 *

Label Site:
* http://www.batteryrecords.net *

Coolzey Shares His Honey


Hailing from the small town of Dallas Center, Iowa, Coolzey’s life story is an interesting one. How else would you describe a life that has involved a headlock on MC Paul Barman, a tour with Vanilla Ice, and a friendship with Sadat X? Over the past few years Coolzey’s work has been showing up on my desk pretty regularly. This is due, in large part, to his love of the EP format. It’s a love that stems from a dream that he’ll one day be able to release all of his work on vinyl. This week I caught up with Coolzey to find out more about his wild ride, what went into the making of his upcoming EP, The Honey, and where you can find him with Fred "The Hammer" Williamson.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/12/artist-of-week-coolzey.html

Same Bold Scene - The Year in CT Hip-Hop


The hip-hop scene here in Connecticut made some impressive strides in 2009 — the kind of strides that can help provide a strong foundation to grow from as long as they’re utilized correctly and built upon throughout 2010.

Read the full story at FairfieldWeekly.com.

Free Music Friday: 12/18 Edition




Dub MD & Illmind Presents Blaps, Rhymes & Life Vol. 4


illmind-x-dub-md-present-blaps-rhymes-life-vol-4-front-cover

[If you love hip-hop, you'll download this. If you love soul, you'll download this. If you love both, YOU'LL DOWNLOAD THIS. Enough said, it's Illmind on productions, of course.]

Tracklisting:
Disc 1: Blaps, Rhymes & Life
1. Thoth - Get Your Game Right (Produced By Illmind)
2. Clap Cognac - I'm Gonna Do It (Produced By Illmind)
3. Fortilive (!llmind, Mushmouf & Slo-Mo) - Gimme (Produced By Illmind)
4. Mistah F.A.B. - Follow Me (Produced By Illmind)
5. Brooklyn Academy - Hide (feat. Fresh Jones & Keith Murray) (Produced By Illmind)
6. Seer - Ill Mind (Produced By Illmind)
7. KNGDM - Gazillion (Produced By Illmind)
8. KRS-One & Buckshot - Survival Skills (feat. DJ Revolution) (Produced By Illmind)
9. Contra - Fall Back (Produced By Illmind)
10. Skyzoo - Say What You Say (feat. Rapper Big Pooh & Naledge) (Produced By Illmind)
11. Verbal Kent - Examples (feat. Lance Ambu) (Produced By Illmind)
12. Truck North - Hot! (Produced By Illmind)
13. BURNTmd - Let's Get ILL (feat. Reef The Lost Cauze, Copywrite, Phil Da Agony & Reks) (Produced By Illmind)
14. Naps N Dreds - Call It Quits (feat. Thirstin Howl III) (Produced By Illmind)
15. Roscoe Umali - Blow Your Mind (Produced By Illmind)
 
Disc 2: Blaps, Soul & Life
1. D-Black - No Ordinary Love (Produced By Illmind)
2. Gliffics - Call Me Crazy (feat. Chanj) (Produced By Illmind)
3. Strange Fruit Project - Get Live (feat. Erykah Badu) (Produced By Illmind)
4. Jared Evan - They Don't Know (Produced By Illmind)
5. Eric Roberson - Remember When (Produced By Illmind)
6. Daria Jones - Stay (Produced By Illmind)
7. Rae - So Sexy (Produced By Illmind)
8. Grynch - The Right Way (Produced By Illmind)
9. 3D - If I Want To (Produced By Illmind)
10. Naeem Oba - Julia (feat. BrikAbrak) (Produced By Illmind)
11. Hydroponikz - The Blues (feat. Jay Legaspi) (Produced By Illmind)
12. Sleek - We Rock The Mic (Produced By Illmind)
13. Last Days Fam - What You Doin It For (Produced By Illmind)
14. Naturel - We Don't Play (Produced By Illmind)
15. Black Irish - Kick Rocks (Produced By Illmind)



Eternia :: Get Caught Up (Mixtape)


Eternia_GetCaughtUp_COVER

[Guess what? My favorite rapper wears a skirt and her name is Eternia. This Canadian femcee been in this game for a good minute and her skills prove that she ain't going NOWHERE but on top! Check this mixtape if you've been complaining about the lack of female emcees lately.]

Tracklisting:
1. Re-Introducing
2. Dynomite
3. Foul CHild
4. Stuck Up
5. Spring Fever
6. Real Frequency
7. God's Story
8. Perfection (feat. Promise and Grimace Love)
9. Day in the Life (f/ Tona and Maestro Fresh Wes)
10. Victorious (feat. G. Knight)
11. Destiny
12. On and On
13. Bakance
14. Everything
15. Herstory
16. Let Go (Outro)



J.Period & Nneka :: The Madness (Onye-Ala)


nneka-the-madness


[Straight from the Motherland is this sista named Nneka. J.Period linked up with her to create this free mixtape to help support her upcoming major label Epic debut. THis is definitely worth a listen.]

Tracklisting:
1. Can You Hear? (Intro)
2. Let the Madness Begin (J.Period Exclusive)
3. Wake Up World (Interlude)
4. Wake Up Africa (J.Period Remix)
5. The Uncomfortable Truth
6. Untainted Love feat. Damian Marley (Interlude)
7. Spread Love (Brooklyn to Zion) (J.Period Remix)
8. Human Rights (Interlude)
9. Changes (J.Period Remix) feat. M-1 & General Steele
10. Conscious Lyrics (Interlude)
11. Gypsy/Infamous (J.Period Exclusive)
12. Hip Hop Comes From Africa (Interlude)
13. Walking (J.Period Remix) feat. Jay Electronica
14. In Transit (Interlude)
15. Show Love (J.Period Remix) f. Rakaa (Dilated Peoples) & Aceyalone
16. For the Good of Humanity (Interlude)
17. God of Mercy (J.Period Remix) f. Zumbi (Zion I)
18. Suffri (Nigerian in Berlin Remix) feat. Fela Kuti
19. Perseverance is Character (Interlude)
20. Strength/Kangpe (J.Period Dubplate) f. Big Boi (Outkast)
21. Heartbeat (J.Period Remix) feat. Talib Kweli
22. In the Heart of Man (J.Period Exclusive)
23. Symptoms of My Madness (Outtro)


[Bonus Mix: J.Period Dubplates]
24. Mind vs. Heart (J.Period Dubplate) f. 2Pac
25. Changes 2 (J.Period Dubplate) feat. Lauryn Hill & John Forte
26. Walking 2 (J.Period Dubplate) feat. Nas



M.anifest :: The Birds and the Beats

Album Cover TBATB

[Here's another word from the Motherland, Ghana rapper M.anifest has this free album for all to download and if you think that real hip-hop music won't translate well from Africa to here, then this mixtape'll prove you dead wrong.]

Tracklisting:
1. Born Free
2. How I Used to Be
3. Golly Gosh
4. Get Away (Shafiq Husayn Re-fix)
5. 2nd Coming PSA
6. Hubris
7. Still Hungry
8. Walk Away
9. My Lady Oh
10. I Love it PSA
11. Just Like a Lion
12. Ghana, 52
13. The Birds and the Beats
14. Pardon Me
15. Slow Your Roll
16. D'Angelo Said (Africa Re-fix)



Natural Ingredients :: The Excess EP



[Vermont is one of the last place you'll think of when it comes to hip-hop. But these four tracks is all you need to hear some of the fastest and crazy lyrics to come out of Vermont that's as fresh as their water bottles. Hear this one!] 

Tracklisting:

1. Vilify
2. Crosswind
3. Where Wolf
4. Write Away

Link:



That's it for the "12/18" edition of "Free Music Fridays." Check these out and let ya man know if they was fyah! If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....

Random a/k/a Mega Ran Excited About Mega Man 10


From Random:

After I heard that Capcom is making a new Mega Man 10 game (link) I've been getting emails and twitter messages asking me if I'm going to be in the game in any way, music or likeness. Ad of now, the answer is no, but I think we can all help to change that...

SIGN THE PETITION HERE TO GET MEGA RAN in MEGA MAN 10!!!!!!

I dont wanna make a promise, but man, if we can pull THIS off....man... all i can say is that good things will happen :)

it'll only take a sec, and none of your info is shown to anyone... thanks so much.

also, this weekend is the latest you can order a Random CD and get holiday delivery. do it! 

PEACE!

Warren G to Be Honored by Long Beach Boys & Girls Club


From 2SPR:

Long Beach Native Warren G To Be Honored By The Boys & Girls Clubs Of Long Beach
Boys & Girls Club honors Warren G with Long Beach Image Award


Long Beach, California (December 16, 2009) - On December 18th, Warren (“Warren G”) Griffin III, west coast rapper, hip-hop producer and Long Beach native will be honored with the Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach Image Award for his commitment to the youth and community of Long Beach.

The event, which will be held at the John C. Wallace/Petrolane Club, is set to include an awards presentation at 4:30 p.m. followed by a toy give-away to local youth at 5:00 p.m.

Also in attendance will be Percy Daggs, Jr. (actor) and Samie Parker (NFL Wide Receiver) who will be honored with Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach Alumni awards as well as Jeremy Williams (professional boxer) and Daniel Crockett (actor) who will be presented with Community Leadership awards.

“There is so much greatness that comes out of Long Beach,” said Branch Director, Keith Lilly. “It’s a good feeling knowing that no matter how successful our honorees have become in life, they still continue to give back to their hometown. There’s something very humbling about that. Especially at this time of the year.”

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach have provided after school programs to the Long Beach community for 70 years. Eleven Club sites are operating in the most economically challenged areas of the City. The mission of Boys & Girls Clubs of Long Beach is to provide a positive, safe, and nurturing environment where youth from ages 6 to 18 are encouraged to become responsible members of the community. Membership is $15 a year and is available to youth from ages 6 to 18. Call  562-599-3377  562-599-3377 for additional information. The address of the John C. Wallace/Petrolane Boys & Girls Club is 1920 Lemon Street. For more information please contact: www.twitter.com/wron_mf_g .

Warren G
"The G Files" - Out Now
* www.warrengeezy.com *
* www.myspace.com/warreng *

Swollen Members Tour Bus Destroyed by a Train


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release
 
Swollen Members Tour Bus Destroyed By Train In Colorado Springs

 
Only days after completing a tour across Canada, Swollen Members’ tour bus was destroyed in Colorado Springs, CO on Monday night after it was hit by an oncoming train. The accident happened just after midnight when the group’s bus got stuck on a railway crossing. Minutes later the railway barrier went down signaling a train was coming, and the three remaining members of the Swollen Members crew had seconds to get out of harm’s way. Fortunately no one was harmed during the crash.
 
“Everyone is lucky to be alive,” commented tour manager BJ Smith. “Everything happened so fast we didn’t have time to do anything but get off the bus. From the time the bus got stuck, to the second the train impacted it, was under three minutes. As soon as we heard the railway barrier go down we could hear a train was coming, so we literally had 45 seconds to get off the bus and get as far out of the way as possible. If anyone else would have been on the bus with us they would have been dead because there wouldn’t have been enough time to wake them up and get off the bus.”
 
Having just completed two months of touring, Madchild, Prevail, Trey Nyce, and Rob The Viking had all flown home just days prior to the incident, while tour manager BJ Smith and the remaining crew members were driving back to California. Video footage of the wreckage can be viewed online at www.kktv.com/home/headlines/79290927.html .
 
"This morning I got news that our tour bus, 'The Black Pearl', got hit by a train in Colorado Springs. Luckily everyone was able to get off just in time, because the bus was totally destroyed," commented Prevail. "The spot where the train impacted was where we would have been sleeping if we had we been on the bus. It's scary to think how fragile life can be when something like this happens."

Swollen Members were touring in support of their new studio album, "Armed to the Teeth", which debuted at #146 on the Billboard Top 200 and #5 on the Heatseekers charts.
 
###
 
* www.MySpace.com/SwollenMembers *

Spike Lee & Charles Barkley Publicly Defend Tiger Woods


According to our friends at www.udubnews.com, both filmmaker Spike Lee and NBA legend Charles Barkley are speaking out in defense of embattled golfer Tiger Woods. Barkley is specifically quoted in a udub article as saying Woods has changed his number and is avoiding his celebrity friends.

"I think when you have these fires in your life, as I call them, you need to talk to somebody else who is famous who [has] been through things in their life. I don’t think you can talk about it to your family and friends, because your family and friends, they’re not famous."

Interesting (if a bit myopic) perspective from Sir Charles. I'm actually not sure how Spike Lee plays into the story as they didn't have any quotes from him, they only mentioned him as "defending Tiger" with no other affirmation, but there you go.

Kottonmouth Kings Release New Tiger Woods Parody Song


From Kerosene Media:

For Immediate Release
 
Kottonmouth Kings Rally To Support Tiger Woods
With New Parody Song


Kottonmouth Kings have released a new parody song and video about the recent exploits of Tiger Woods online at www.youtube.com/watch?v=FN0DNwtTDCs . The song was recorded while the Kottonmouth Kings were in the studio working on their new album, “Long Live The Kings”, which is slated for release on April 20th, 2010 on Suburban Noize Records.
 


"Transgressions, confessions, sex, sex, and more sex! Scandal after scandal, that's all anyone can talk about is this Tiger Woods incident," says Kottonmouth Kings’ Daddy X. "We had some downtime in the studio so we figured we would record the first Tiger Woods tribute song, because his party stock rises like a 9-iron on Viagra. Tiger is definitely welcome to party with the Kottonmouth Kings any time."
 
###
 
* www.KottonmouthKings.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *

Chalie Boy Teams With Puma & KeepItTrill For "I Look Good" Contest


From Audible Treats:

Battery Records' Hit Maker Chalie Boy Teams With Puma And KeepItTrill.com For Official "I Look Good" Contest      12.16.2009

Rapper Behind Smash Single "I Look Good" Gives Fans A Chance To Win Exclusive Puma Gear And Personalized Prizes


(December 16, 2009 – Brooklyn, NY) Celebrating the overwhelming success of his smash single, "I Look Good," Battery/Jive Records' Chalie Boy is proud to announce the launch of the official I Look Good Contest. With the help of partners Puma Clothing, Battery Records, and leading Southern rap-focused hip-hop site, KeepItTrill.com, Chalie Boy will give fans the opportunity to win exclusive gear from Puma, in addition to personalized prizes from Chalie Boy himself , which are explained below.

The contest is now open for entries and will close on February 15th after Chalie Boy judges each entry and picks a winner personally. Fans can enter the contest by following these easy steps: Record a short video of yourself showing off how you look good; Upload the video to YouTube.com; Enter the URL for your video on the official contest site, http://www.batteryrecords.net/ChalieBoyContest. Chalie will select four runners up, who will each receive free outfits from Puma and one grand-prize winner, who will not only win a free Puma outfit but they will see their winning video submission posted on Chalie's MySpace page, and receive a personalized video message from Chalie, along with an official "I Look Good" t-shirt, and more.

Once signed to local Texas label, Dirty 3rd Records, Chalie Boy was quickly scooped up by Battery Records shortly after recording his feel-good single "I Look Good." The "I Look Good" video has since been added to regular rotation on MTV2, MTV Jams, and Music Choice, and was recently crowned winner of the MTVu Freshman 5 competition, which resulted in getting regular rotation on the channel. The single, which continues to perform well at radio, garnering over 13 million impressions to date, is still climbing on the Billboard charts. It's now available on iTunes, as well as on all major digital providers.

Chalie Boy invites fans to enter the "I Look Good" Contest video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YYQeyDAO4X8 .

Grand Prize Winner Will Receive:
Puma® outfit & shoes
An official "I Look Good" t-shirt
Video message congratulations from Chalie Boy on his MySpace page
Contestant's winning video posted on Chalie Boy's MySpace page

Four Runners Up Will Receive:
One outfit and pair of shoes

How to enter:

Record the video of how you look good
Upload the video to your YouTube account (Register for an account if you don't already have one).
Once uploaded, grab the video URL to the right of the video and copy & paste in the YouTube video link in the appropriate field at http://www.batteryrecords.net/ChalieBoyContest .
Fill in the rest of your information at the site.
Press ENTER NOW!

Chalie Boy also recently released the official remix for his hit single, the "I Look Good Remix" Feat. Slim Thug, Juvenile, and Bun B. http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=xjdM5FonVAcoBhXwm_dswiwPJRbmih3V& .

The Background:

Raised in Calvert, Texas, Chalie Boy’s musical tastes were shaped by various influences. Exposed at an early age to blues artists like Bobby Bland, B.B. King, and Johnny Taylor, he also gravitated toward the sounds of Run-DMC, Sugar Hill Gang, Grandmaster Flash and fellow Texas legends, UGK. Signed to local label Dirty 3rd Records, Chalie Boy recorded the feel good song “I Look Good” in March and the video recently wrapped shooting in Houston, TX. The single is now available on iTunes, as well as on all major digital providers.

Streams:

I Look Good Contest: http://www.batteryrecords.net/ChalieBoyContest .

"I Look Good Remix" Feat. Slim Thug, Juvenile, and Bun B: http://release.theplatform.com/content.select?pid=xjdM5FonVAcoBhXwm_dswiwPJRbmih3V& .

Chalie Boy's interview with KBXX 97.9's The Box Morning Show: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qERpENIA-UU .

Chalie Boy's interview with KKDA K104's Skip Cheatham Morning Show: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ki8C3Y50-2U .

"I Look Good": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhqljgODc0o .


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Adam Bernard's Princess Superstar interview, Dan-e-o's "Inevitable," a new editorial on mixtapes, Frankenstein's "The Science of Sound," Gangsta Boo & La Chat's "Witch," Husalah x Blanco's "Tortoise and the Hare," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #280 and UFC Founder Art Davie interview, Muneshine's "In Transit" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Kool Keith & Rah Digga - "Non Stop". RapReviews.com also recommends Raw Reaction from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive