Sunday November 29, 2015
Feature of the Week

[How Much Is Water?] Drink up!

J-Live Review

Latest News Headlines
PR: Chris Clay Says FML with Crooked I and Kid Vishis

From Tygereye Entertainment:

Chris Clay Says FML with Crooked I and Kid Vishis

San Diego, CA -- On the heels of his successful run with The Christening mixtape in December 2010, Midwest lyricist Chris Clay is now preparing to release a new EP on iTunes. The project is aptly titled For My Listeners (FML), a dedication to the legion of Hip Hop fans who have been appreciating the young rapper's innate gifts. FML is slated for release on April 26, 2011 via California-based label M.I.M Entertainment.
Chris Clay, a native of St. Paul, Minnesota, is proud to bring such a well-rounded sound to his music on FML. Guest appearances from Slaughterhouse's California rap vet Crooked I and acclaimed Detroit spitter Kid Vishis add intense lyrical posture to Clay's trademark fiery verses. R&B singer Emanny, known for his work with Joe Budden and Jadakiss, also brings his silky vocals to "Sex Appeal."
Producers on the project include J.Cardim (Talib Kweli, Royce da 5'9, Maino), J-Skillz da Bandman (50 Tyson, J-Kwon) and Emazin of Minnesota's Trakhouse International (Freeway, Twista, Lil Flip).
"Each producer is very special to me for a number of reasons," Chris explains. "J-Skillz was one of the main producer I started building my sound with, he made the track for my 2010 anthem "M.I.M. (Money is Motive)." In my opinion, Emazin's team is the best production squad out of Minnesota. Working with J.Cardim has been special for me because I feel like it's another good step toward the mainstream. I feel like the chemistry with each of these producers is great, and as an artist I know it's only making me better."
Since moving to San Diego to work with M.I.M. Entertainment CEO Pat DiBello, Chris Clay has been opening doors for himself across the country. He teamed with G-Unit/Shadyville personality DJ Whoo Kid for the globally appealing mixtape The Christening, and followed with a unique hometown sound on Sotafied: Looped, Locked & Loaded with Minnesota's DJ Reeg.
Additionally, Chris has been releasing freestyles for his "100 Bars" series, and has received accolades from some of Hip Hop's most discerning music critics for his lyrical abilities. 
"The responses from the work I've done in the past six months has been incredible," says Chris. "It means so much to me to actually see that I'm gaining some recognition from respected tastemakers, and it motivates me to step my game up everytime I create and perform. This is what I'm most passionate about, and to see my dreams coming true is what drives me to become the artist I want to be." 
The six tracks on FML are all important to Clay for different reasons, although "The Oath" stands out to him as a more introspective touch on the EP. "This song is a much more intimate look into my life and whats going on with me, and at the same time it is a promise to my listeners to always give you 'me' and tell the truth, and nothing but the truth. I love it!

"I want the fans to know this EP is exactly what it is: 'For My Listeners', Chris continues. "I used the FTW (For The Wholeworld) EP in December 2010 as an introduction, and this one is a lot more personal. It's geared toward specifically telling people who I am, where I stand on certain things, my feelings and some of my qualities all mashed together in that special 'Chris Clay way' for my audience. So if I got your attention on the last one, and you are now a listener, this one is for you!"

For more information on Chris Clay, go to and .

Follow Chris Clay on Twitter .
Bonus Download: "First Impressions (100 Bars Pt. 3)" .
FML Tracklist
01. The Oath - prod by J.Cardim
02. Dreamin - prod by Emazin
03. Party Song - prod by J.Cardim
04. Sex Appeal ft. Emanny - prod by Emazin
05. Rewind That ft Crooked I - prod by J-Skillz
06. Ugly ft Kid Vishis – prod by J-Skillz

MP3: Bizz the Prince f/ DJ Kay Slay - "Best In My Age Group"

From M3W:

MP3: Bizz the Prince f/ DJ Kay Slay - "Best In My Age Group"

* *

Dev Out To Prove She's More Than Just "Fly Like A G6."

When your first appearance on a song makes it an anthem you set the bar pretty high for yourself. This is exactly what Dev did when she first came on the scene singing the hook on Far East Movement’s “Like A G6.” She followed it up with the club songs “Bass Down Low” and “Booty Bounce,” but when I caught up with her she let me know that she’s not a fan of “party girl” label. During our interview Dev also revealed she’s in no hurry to complete an album just to have product to push. She does, however, have some future plans with her sisters, and she also discussed her Twitter interaction with DJ Pauly D of Jersey Shore fame, and the strangest thing anyone has ever handed to her at a club.

Read the full interview at:

PR: Gorilla Zoe's "King Kong" Releases June 14th, 2010

From Gio at E1 Music:

Gorilla Zoe's "King Kong" Releases June 14th, 2010


(New York, NY) --- Hip Hop star Gorilla Zoe announces the new release date for his long-awaited and aptly-titled third solo album, King Kong.  The album will be released on June 14, 2011 and teams Zoe up again with Russell “Block” Spencer, the mastermind behind hip hop powerhouse Block Entertainment.

“Twisted,” the anthemic first single on King Kong features Lil Jon and has already skyrocketed to #9 on the iTunes Rap Singles Chart, selling over 33,000 units. The single is also #5 most added at urban radio this week.

What’s more, Zoe will be a major force involved with the newly-formed Urban Wrestling Federation, which will hold its first major TV event in late spring.  Both eOne and Russell “Block” Spencer will be involved with marketing and promoting the UWF by providing A-level talent to be a key part of the UWF. Gorilla Zoe’s music can already be heard in the national advertising campaign, and he will be one of  the first featured performers.

By combining his true-life stories about growing up in Atlanta with an avant-garde sensibility for beats and lyrics, Gorilla Zoe has quickly become a defining force in southern hip hop.  One of the most prolific rappers today, Gorilla Zoe released a mixtape every day for the month of February 2010.

After Zoe hooked up with hip hop impresario Block, it led to his collaboration with Yung Joc on the hit single “Coffee Shop.” Zoe then replaced Young Jeezy in supergroup Boyz N Da Hood before releasing two wildly successful solo albums, Welcome to the Zoo, and Don’t Feed The Animals.  The albums peaked at # 20 and #8, respectively, on the Billboard Top 200.

To listen to “Twisted,” click here: .

For more information, go to or .

In Search of Female Emcees

Finding women at hip-hop shows is like trying to find salads in Fat Joe’s diet. Sure, they’re there, but they’re few and far between. Female emcees can be even more scarce. Othello, who co-hosts the long-running monthly open mic, Enter the Cypher, in Danbury, says that only about 10 percent of the emcees that pick up the mic during one of his shows are female. “Hip-hop has always been more of a man’s game,” he says, “but it seems even less diverse now than ever.”

It’s a disturbing trend in an already male-dominated craft.

Read the full story at:

Video: Asher Roth - "Gotta Get Up"

From Max G:

Video: Asher Roth - "Gotta Get Up"

Video: Wispers - Live at Paradise Rock Club 2

From IAW:

Video: Wispers - Live at Paradise Rock Club 2

Wispers recently opened up for Class Of 2011 XXL Freshman members Yelawolf and Cyhi The Prynce while they visited the famed Paradise Rock Club in Boston.

During his performance Wispers decided to unleash on the audience a brand new, never before heard track called "Sh*t On Ya'll".  The Mp3 will be available soon and features St. Da Squad's Ea$y Money (formally known as Ed Rock).

PR: Moke & Tone - Shot Heard Round The World (Artwork x Tracklist)

From Coalmine Records:

Moke & Tone - Shot Heard Round The World (Artwork x Tracklist)

Peep the artwork x tracklist for Moke & Tone's debut LP, Shot Heard Round The World which drops next Tues (4.12) courtesy of Mystika Music.

01.   F*ck Y’all (feat. DJ Theory) 
02.   Sh*t is a Trip 
03.   Shining (feat. DJ Theory) 
04.   Respect (feat. 1ne Man Sound, Black Buddha, Crooked I, Mr. Metaphor & DJ Theory) 
05.   False Flags (feat. Tools) 
06.   Emergency Broadcast 
07.   Destiny 
08.   Pitch Black 
09.   The Dark And The Light (feat. Catalyst) 
10.   This Thing of Ours (feat. Vorheez) 
11.   My Life (feat. Toussaint The Liberator) 
12.   Shining (Tone’s Dubstep Remix)

PR: Big Sid & Killer Mike - "See You Later" (Full Video)

From Nancy B:

PR: Big Sid & Killer Mike - "See You Later" (Full Video)





Video: Big Block & T-Pain Bet One Million On Chevy

From Chris at E1 Music:

Video: Big Block & T-Pain Bet One Million On Chevy

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to for the week of November 24th, 2015!! Please shop Amazon through RapReviews and like us on Facebook so we can bring you new material every week. We're back in effect for UK Month this week with Ten NEW ITEMS for your perusal: the Twenty Important Rap Videos From 2012 in two separate installments, Emcee Killa & Grim Reaperz' "Zapatista," Ghostpoet's "Shedding Skin," Illinformed's "The Mould Tape," J-Live's "How Much Is Water?," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #352, Onyx' "Against All Authorities," Erick Sermon's "E.S.P. (Erick Sermon's Perception)" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for November 17, 2015!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for the latest news and articles. Also this writing service can help you with academic review assignment. also recommends Emerson Witner's Survivor Series Review from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting!!

©, a Flash Web Design Exclusive