Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday August 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Blestenation Signs With Suburban Noize Records


For Immediate Release:
 
Blestenation Signs With Suburban Noize Records & Release Mixtape Featuring Jadakiss, Puscifer, and Ladytron
***
New York hip-hop trio Blestenation creates havoc in the major label world and gets kicked off of Warped Tour, overdose on drugs, get into fist fights inside Sony Music offices, and crash the Teen Choice Awards and get into an altercation with American Idol's Ryan Seacrest!!!
****
Blestenation Has Toured With Bone Thugs - N - Harmony, Scarface, Killah Priest, and The Warped Tour, While Working With Everyone From Travis Barker,
Method Man, Ladytron, and Tool’s Maynard James Keenan
 
Suburban Noize Records has inked a deal with New York hip-hop trio Blestenation. The group has been building a buzz throughout the hip-hop scene for the past few years touring alongside the likes of Bone Thugs - N - Harmony, Scarface, Killah Priest, and the Warped Tour, while working with everyone from Method Man and Ladytron, to rock icons like Tool’s Maynard James Keenan and Travis Barker.
 
"This is the only label that could handle a band like us and we are happy to be part of the family,” says Blestenation’s FAFU.
 
Blestenation was once described by Interscope’s Jimmy Iovine as, "The most promising group I have signed since Nine Inch Nails", but was deemed too explicit for the major label world after the group’s drug addiction and day-to-day insanity derailed their career. The group was previously signed to Geffen Records before their reckless behavior got them kicked off of Warped Tour, into fist fights inside the Sony Music offices, and got them kicked out of the Teen Choice Awards after getting into an altercation with American Idol's Ryan Seacrest.
 
Blestenation will release a digital EP, "Left For Dead", on December 8th, 2009 through iTunes and www.SubNoizeStore.com, before dropping their debut album, "Mbugout City", in stores January 26th, 2010. Blestenation is currently offering a free download of their MBC Digital mixtape featuring Jadakiss, Ladytron, Puscifer, and Travis Barker online at www.sendspace.com/file/qm0xfu
 
###
The (W)rap Up - Week Of November 10, 2009


Souls of Mischief :: Montezuma's Revenge
Hiero Imperium Records
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"You can't call it a comeback, because they really have been here for years - almost twenty in fact. That being said, there's quite a few people out there in the atmosphere who haven't stayed aware of what Souls of Mischief had to share. SOM certainly didn't break up after 2000's "Trilogy: Conflict, Climax, Resolution" but they weren't releasing albums as a group either."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11F_montezumas.html

Fluent Form :: The Furnace :: Crate Cartel/Obese Records
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"It's safe to say Fluent Form doesn't have that problem, for a variety of reasons. The easiest way for me to start is to describe who Fluent Form would appeal to - fans of Jedi Mind Tricks, R.A. the Rugged Man and Ill Bill. Unintentionally that may be implying there's an ethnic factor to his appeal, but it's more a factor of the fact Fluent forms lyrics that are unapologetically dark and gritty, and the beats reflect that persona aptly. Few albums can make you picture a city landscape where towering monoliths abut dark smelly alleyways the way "The Furnace" does, which is surprising given that's a reputation associated more with Chicago and New York than the major metropolitans of Australia."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_fluentfurnace.html

K-Rino :: Solitary Confinement :: Black Book International
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Conceptual music is often missing in the hip-hop scene. When an artist does decide to make a concept song or album, they often make such a big deal about it the music loses its luster. His concept songs are just one of many reasons K-Rino has remained a staple of the underground rap scene throughout his career. Each album is sure to contain at least one song that will have you hitting the replay button more than one time. "Solitary Confinement" is no different. Yet, even when you think you know what to expect from K-Rino, the man still hits you with surprises when you pop in the CD. His last album, "Blood Doctrine," was a fierce and focused foray into the political and social situation K-Rino faces every day."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_krinosolitary.html

Relic :: The Green Light :: Gamma Delta Productions
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon 

"If you have heard of Relic, you may have a few preconceived notions about his lyrical content. Rather than play to those stereotypes, I'd rather put that aside for a later paragraph and jump right into an album that aside from guest vocals was "written, produced, recorded and mixed" entirely by Relic. The amount of rappers who can pull off juggling all of these balls at one time can be counted on your hands and toes, and if you segregate that to SUCCESSFUL juggling you only need two hands - chop off one if you're extra critical."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_thegreenlight.html

Swollen Members :: Armed to the Teeth :: Suburban Noize Records
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace 

"I suppose it is apropos as such because the group Swollen Members is no joke. They've been on the scene for over a decade, their first studio album, "Balance" was released in 1999. From that point on, SM established themselves as one of Canada's premier hip-hop acts. With all of that exposure, you would think that I have heard more of their material, but just like the reviewer of their last effort, "Black Magic", my familiarity was minimal at best. I knew the name, but that was about all. Between the three years that have passed, the crew has persevered Mad Child's drug addiction, the collapse of their former label, and a handful of legal problems."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_armedtotheteeth.html

Tech N9ne :: King Of Darkness (K.O.D.) :: Strange Music
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon 

"Tech N9ne's latest album was shrouded with controversy and hype from the minute it was announced. The title was first announced as "K.O.D." with no information on what the letters stood for. It was rumored to be Tech N9ne's return to the darker sound which made him popular. If that were true, it would be a sharp departure from the image Tech N9ne has spent years building. After receiving backlash from his hometown fans, Tech N9ne made it a point to show that he was not the devil worshipping horrorcore rapper they stereotyped him to be."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_kingofdarkness.html

Tito V. :: The Beginning of the End :: Free Thought Records
as reviewed by Justin 'Tha Shiznute' Chandler

"A writer's pipe dream is to complete a book, send it to various publishers wrapped in butcher's paper, it being discovered, both critically and publicly, as the elusive great American novel. Rappers have the same dream, similar to the plot of the film "8 Mile." Enter Tito V., a teenage Hispanic emcee from Alpharetta, GA, who wrote and produced "The Beginning of the End" in its entirety. It is admirable for an aspiring artist to actually get a project released rather than just lazily let the dream slide by, but does this LP establish Tito as the next big thing?"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_titovend.html

Wale :: Attention: Deficit :: Allido Records
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

"The next big hope – or "saviour," as it seems to be spelt nowadays – to drop this year is Wale. Yes, something feels wrong – artists actually seem to be releasing music… All we need now is Dre and Saigon, and we'll know that the world is coming to an end. Wale has been simmering for nigh on three years now, having put out three mixtapes (one of which was pretty damn good), and the time has finally arrived for "Attention: Deficit" to makes a debut on the international stage. He clearly has some high profile friends, as the list of luminaries lending a hand is lengthy: Mark Ronson, Cool & Dre, the Neptunes, DJ Green Lantern, Dave Sitek, Bun B, Gucci Mane, Jazmine Sullivan, Chrisette Michele, Marsha Ambrosius, J.Cole, Lady Gaga… Can his identity survive that onslaught of talent and outside assistance?"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_attentiondeficit.html

XO :: Monumental :: Studio 43
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"XO is the stage name for DC rapper Jamaal Walton. I first heard XO on the Diamond District mixtape "In the Ruff." I was impressed with him on that project, so I downloaded "Monumental," which was released as a free download in June. I loved the Diamond District album, but I was thrown by the harder edge of "Monumental." "In the Ruff" had a classic East Coast sound, but "Monumental" is more present-day East Coast, complete with polished beats and ubiquitous references to getting high and getting laid. After half-listening to it once or twice, I decided I wasn't feeling it, and it got lost in my hard drive. A funny thing happened, though: Every once in a while, when my iPod was on shuffle, a banging track would come on that I didn't recognize. More often than not, it'd be XO. Finally, I decided that "Monumental" deserved another chance, and I came to like it."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_xomonumental.html

X-Plane - The Emcee New Yorkers Love To See On The Subway


A couple months ago X-Plane sent me a video for his song “Witout Spinach Popeye Get Black Eyes.” I dug both the concept of the song and X-Plane’s flow. A few weeks later he sent me another video and I noticed an interesting common thread - they were both shot in what looked to be an unfinished house. He had a couple more videos that were also done in the same location and as the clips started piling up, so did my interest in X-Plane’s work. This week I caught up with X-Plane to find out more about his music, his secret video shooting location, and why if you need a MetroCard he’s the emcee you want to see (could a collab with Miz Metro be in his future?).

Read the full story at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/11/artist-of-week-x-plane.html

J. NOIZE and 3rd Annual Feed The Teen Event


J Noize is going to be participating with Chicago charity KIDS OFF THE BLOCK this Thanksgiving feeding neglected teenagers in the city for the holiday event called Feed The Teen http://www.kobfeedateen.org/.  KIDS OFF THE BLOCK earlier this year was featured on a CNN Anderson Cooper 360 about the Chicago teen shootings and the organization has gained national coverage http://www.cnn.com/2009/CRIME/05/08/chicago.children.slain/index.html  

J Noize is also calibrating with producer Mile Franklin and other local Chicago artists for a completion CD called Stop The Violence due out in Winter 2010.  This CD is for local Chicago artists to help voice the message about the teen killings happening and helping to push a positive message to the young community.

Free Music Friday: Always Open Edition


Don't front, y'know we got'cha open. This ain't Black Moon though, it's the twenny-somethin edition of FMF, Free Music Friday! We got some hottest joints to keep your disk drive warm for the cold fall (Well, it's surprisngly warm where I'm at, in northwest PA). Check these out!

Billy Ray :: DJ Maseo Presents Hip Hop Aka Bill Ray


DJ Maseo Presents Hip Hop Aka Bill Ray

[Yes, it's presented by DJ Maseo, as in Maseo a/k/a Plug 3 from the legendary rap group De La Soul. Don't let thet be the ONLY reason you check out this dude name Bill Ray. Ain't no telling how Ray earned Maseo's co-sign, but when you hear this mixtape you'll easily hear why the co-sign was earned: hard-hitting rhymes and well-balanced flows that's keep any hip-hop head head bobbin' while checkin out his lyrical delivery. If you don't believe, check it out for yourself!]


Tracklisting:
1. Ovaspeaker Intro
2. Skit #1
3. Switch Up/skit #2
4. Goin' In
5. I'm Not Dem
6. What Do I Do?
7. You Can Get It/skit #3 Feat. Al-b Back And M-1 From Dead Prez
8. Das Billy
9. Dollar Circulate
10. Lean
11. Boom/skit #4
12. Uptown/skit #5
13. Puttin' Rush/skit #6
14. I Wish
15. Back For The Late Night/skit #7 1/2
16. Nothin' Feat. G-dep
17. U Pussy Feat. Bumpy Knuckles/skit #8
18. Billy's Ark/skit #9
19. Men Fist Soul/skit #10
20. Breathe In Breathe Out
21. Big Beat
22. Voices In My Head
23. Scooby Doo/skit #11
24. The Dream
25. Cut The Check/skit #!2(THE End)

Link:
http://tinyurl.com/HipHopAKABillRay


DJ K.O. :: Living Out A State of Mind Vol. 1



[Simply put, dude K.O.'s on the 1s' and 2s'. Maybe that's why he's appropriately named DJ K.O. Here's a free EP that he released recently as it features some of the most underrated emcees you'll hear for free. Check it!]

Tracklisting:
1. Living Out A State of Mind Pt. 1 (ft. Silent Knight)
2. D A M A G E (ft. East & Silent Knight)
3. Time With You (ft. East)
4. Ain't Friends (ft. East, MadKem & Silent Knight) 
5. Stone Cold Lover (ft. M. Josephine)
6. 80's Babies (ft. East & Silent Knight)  

Link:



Cause :: I Am Us


[Here's a free EP from a newcomer name Cause. If you want hip-hop that doesn't lack substance and requires your heart more than your bank account, this one is for you. Cause does this for us 'cause he is us.]

Tracklisting:
1. Save The Game
2. Birth Of A Rebel
3. In A Daze
4. Keep It Real (ft. Jon Hope)
5. On My Mind (ft. Mike Payne )
6. Chasing After Money
7. Just Another Day
8. Life Ain’t A Playground
9. I Am Us
10. In A Daze (Clean) 
 
Link:
http://tinyurl.com/yamcels


Green + Husky :: Restart

Restart Cover Art

[I'm going to be a lil' bold here and say that the duo of Green & Husky is the 2009 GangStarr. Well, I'm not going to say that it's because the deep and monotone-style vocals of Green reminds me of Guru and producer Husky brings the boom-bap that's as fat as DJ Premier. ...Well, I lied. That is the reason I call them the '09 GangStarr and note that I'm saying it in the good way! Step into their arena and check out one of the best boom-bap hip-hop you can get for free.]

Tracklisting:
1. Restart
2. The Upset
3. Growing Into The Sunlight
4. Rockin With The Best
5. Freezer Burn
6. Razzle Dazzle
7. Crashing Into Space
8. Come Through
9. Number 9
10. Sometimes Never
11.  Sculpter Of The Rhyme
12. How Charming
13. Golden
14. Wicked Wise
15. Canteen (feat. Junclassic)
16. Come On
17.  Red Black And Green
18. It's Been Great

Link:
http://tinyurl.com/GreenHusky

Roccett & DJ Drama :: Free Agent


[West Coast's own Roccett feels like Shaq did when we was free from the Suns...and Heat... and Lakers... and Magic. The point is that Roccett is taking the rocket ride to the top as he may sign to a major label deal this year, but it's unknown which one currently. For those who wants to be introduced to the West Coast breeze set to hit your airwaves, this DJ Drama-assisted mixtape is a good start.]

Tracklisting:
1. DJ Drama Free Agent Intro
2. City I Know (f/ Primo)
3. How We Roll (f/ Dae One)
4. I Do That (ft. Bobby V.)
5. Stacks
6. Monster Skit
7. Fucc Wit U Pt. 2
8. You Aint Heard
9. I Dont Think So (f/ Primo)
10. DJ Drama Speaks
11. My Real Niggaz
12. Me
13. All A Woman Needs
14. Stash In Da Hooptie
15. Bang That
16. DJ Drama Outro


Link:
http://tinyurl.com/TheFreeAgent

That's it for the "Always Open Edition" of "Free Music Fridays." Man, it was a good Friday, all of these are HEATZ! If you have any free music you would like to share with the world, please e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com. If you're an artist with your free mixtape/album shown on this page and you want to send me a link re-up, corrections, and/or questions, e-mail me at erik@rapreviews.com, as well. Thanks for reading and enjoy y'all! Two fangas, one love....


Video: O.C. & A.G. - "Keep It Going"


O.C. & A.G. “Keep It Going” Live Footage From New Album Oasis

 

oc&agpressshot_small

Release Date:

November 24th, 2009

 

For More Information:

Dennis@nature-sounds.net / 718-360-4866

 

Online contact:

The Orchard / Tonia Samman

Tonia.samman@theorchard.com

 

New York MCs and members of the D.I.T.C. crew, O.C. & A.G., already announced last week that their debut album Oasis is hitting stores on November 24th, and now they’re releasing live footage from the album’s release party at Brooklyn’s Southpaw last month.  The duo just posted a live performance of the new track “Keep It Going” on the Nature Sounds YouTube channel, which you can check at the link below.

 

Watch a live performance of “Keep It Going” from O.C. & A.G.’s Oasis [Nature Sounds]: 

 

Tracklist w/ producers:

01. Oasis – Produced by Statik Selektah

02. Keep It Going - Produced by E Blaze

03. Give It Back - Produced by  Lord Finesse

04. Alpha Males - Produced by Lord Finesse

05. Young With Style - Produced by Show and KC

06. Every Day Life - Produced by E Blaze

07. Think About It - Produced by E Blaze

08. Against The Wall - Produced by E Blaze

09. Put It In The Box - Produced by E Blaze

10. Boom Bap - Produced by Show

11. Reality Is - Produced by E Blaze

12. Contagious - Produced by E Blaze

13. Supreme Squad - Produced by Show

14. God's Gift - Produced by E Blaze

15. Get Away - Produced by Lord Finesse

16. 2 For The Money – Produced by Show

17. Pain – Produced by E Blaze

 

 

Blinding You With ScienZe


ScienZe is an emcee hailing from Brooklyn, NY, who was highly recommended to me by former Artist Of The Week Top $ Raz. When I started doing my research on ScienZe the first thing I came across was his video for “Her Favorite Song.” The ode to his significant other really struck me as something unique as we don’t usually hear a lot of emcees expressing the emotion of love except when in reference to emceeing, or, in the case of many mainstream rappers, material things. Wanting to know more about ScienZe, I caught up with him this week to discuss his music, as well as the finer points of his Commercial FREE Movement, and why he feels there’s such a lack of love in hip-hop.

Read the full interview at:  http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/11/artist-of-week-scienze.html

Gucci Mane Sentenced to A Year in Prison


Gucci Mane was sentenced to 12 months in prison on Thursday (November 12) for probation violation and taken away to prison in handcuffs, according to a rep from his label.

The sentence is a blow to Gucci's career. The ATL rapper has an album coming out — The State vs. Radrick Davis — on December 8 and is arguably at the height of his career; in terms of his sentence, he may be out of prison in six months. Last September, Gucci went to jail and served until March; he was sentenced to a year in prison for failing to fulfill his court-ordered 600 hours of community service, which had been mandated in 2005. Further information was not available at press time.

"It was a challenge for me," he told MTV News in March about going to jail in 2008. "I'm just happy my team kept my music going strong for me. And I'm happy I recorded so many records so people could hear me."

Upon his release Gucci went straight to the studio and recorded five songs. "Then I had a party later that night to get ready for, so that took up most of my day right there," he added, describing his first day as a free man.

This year, Gucci definitely was breaking through from the streets to the mainstream, guest appearing on tracks for the Black Eyed Peas, Mario, Omarion, Mariah Carey and even a 50 Cent song. Gucci's current single is called "Spotlight" and features Usher. This follows on the heels of "Wasted," featuring Plies.

Source: MTV News

Chamillionaire Premieres "Good Morning" Video


From Nancy Byron: 

Houston, TX - To celebrate the Rhythmic/Top 40 success of lead single, "Good Morning", from his upcoming third major album, Venom, Chamillionaire debuted the Don Tyler-directed video live, directly to his fans, via his website, Chamillionaire.com, after a brief introduction by him. A total of 52,968 unique viewers, between Facebook and uStream, joined Cham online for the debut, giving their feedback both on the video and at being able to address the rap superstar directly, via Twitter.


Chamillionaire’s signature balance of delivering quality music and supreme lyricism is showcased on “Good Morning.”  Borrowing its groove from Tom Petty’s “Free Falling,” this inspiring, feel-good cut is already a chart-topping iTunes single and a breakout radio hit.  “I thought it would go to radio, people would know it and they’d put it in rotation,” Cham reveals.  “They actually did.  It has a good vibe and when you put it on, it makes you feel a little more upbeat.  It makes you want to get out of bed and go get some money.”


Chamillionaire went with his gut while creating Venom, due in stores February 2, 2010 on Chamillitary/Universal Republic.  As expected, the album features his signature story raps, several sure-fire singles and a host of other songs that allow listeners to understand why Chamillionaire sees Venom as an acronym for Visually Entertaining Negatives Of Money.  

 

 

In addition to his duties as a highly-sought after MC, you can also find the ever evolving and tech-savvy Chamillionaire continuing to blaze trails; giving lectures at Stanford University on topics like, “Innovation in the Changing Music Industry”, or creating crafty collaborations in sessions with popular rock acts such as Weezer.

 


 

For the complete, updated story on Chamillionaire, download his full bio here - http://www.sendspace.com/file/j0zhve

The URL to watch the official "Good Morning" video is - http://www.youtube.com/user/chamillionairetv#p/a/u/0/rE9BuK-3PAc

 

For further information and media opportunities, kindly contact Nancy Byron, OGPR (832) 220.6071 or nancyb@ogpr.net.

Project 2050 Announces Music Design Lab (Bobbito)



FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

PROJECT 2050 LAUNCHES MUSIC DESIGN LAB
Curated by World Renowned Author and Mixologist Bobbito Garcia

(NEW YORK, November 11, 2009)
– New York City based Ideas and Solutions shop Project 2050 announces formation of 2050 MUSIC DESIGN. The announcement was made today to key industry leaders by Bobbito Garcia, Project 2050’s Chief Creative.
 
2050 Music Design will provide musical direction and curating
for brands, retail environments, hospitality, video game developers, television, movies and theatrical houses.  Songs are a powerful way to stake territory, articulate aspirations, and draw upon collective memories. Culling from his vast encyclopedic knowledge of music of all genres, from jazz, hip-hop, rock, and world, Bobbito Garcia and his team will create soundscapes that are both unexpected and inspirational. “Since our inception, Project 2050’s mission to help define and drive cultural movements continues to be a catalyst for creativity.  Music Design is a natural extension of that creativity”, states Phil Colon founder of Project 2050
 
“Music shapes and moves popular culture like no other medium,” says Bobbito Garcia a.k.a. DJ Kool Bob Love. Whether in the form of movie scores, memorable TV commercials, or rare grooves in a retail shop, the soundscape is in many ways an emotional driving force. I’m amped (pun intended) to lead 2050 Music Design and impact the world we live in by doing so!”
 
“Bobbito Garcia introduced me [via his Vibe Magazine “Sound check” column] to many songs I had never heard before! I love that young people like him search for music that touches the bottom of your soul.”—Quincy Jones

"Whatever Bobbito is into, I want to be a part of!  Bobbito Garcia is a force in music both internationally and domestically.  As a world renowned DJ with a wide following he understands how to move people emotionally.  I have worked with Phil Colon for many years and he is always been in front of everybody in culture.  When he says there's something you need to see or hear, then you have to follow his lead -- that's Phil, he is a culture vulture! — Herb Scannell, former Vice Chairman/MTV Networks

"Bobbito is an absolute mastermind in terms of using the power of music to help create movement in people. Music is very influential in helping to ignite consumer behavior, so when used effectively it can be a very persuasive and powerful tool. P2050 will do very well in the category!!" - Greg Cunningham, TARGET
 
“Bobbito Garcia is a legendary DJ who has not only mixed music, but also cultures.”— Soledad O’Brien, CNN

 
For more information:

Serena Kim
serena@p2050.com  
213-300-0390

Margarita Sullivan/GM
margarita@2050music.com
646-290-8700 ext 250

www.2050MUSIC.COM

Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive