Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 22, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Dark Horse] Never coming in last.

Twista Review

Latest News Headlines
Blestenation Release 'Seed Of Memory' Video


From Kerosene Media:

Blestenation Release 'Seed Of Memory' Video

New York hip-hop trio Blestenation has released their video for the track "Seed Of Memory" online at www.youtube.com/watch?v=PySY6kfhwCg . Blestenation is currently gearing up for the release of their debut album, "MBugout City", on February 23rd, 2010 through Suburban Noize Records.
 
"Clay Patrick McBride directed this video and shot it on some old Super 8 cameras that he likes to use. He jacked the idea from that old Bob Dylan video but we put our own twist on it," commented FAF. "I remember when I did the shot where I was holding up the burning sign, Werdplay was flipping out because he thought my beard was gonna catch on fire and you know if that happened I would have lost some of my wizard skills. Luckily that catastrophe was averted."
 
"It was freezing that day," added Werdplay. "We knew what needed to be done though, and I feel like the fact that we were freezing gave the video an element of truth that wouldn't have been there had we done anything else."
 
Blestenation was once described by Interscope’s Jimmy Iovine as, "The most promising group I have signed since Nine Inch Nails", but was deemed too explicit for the major label world after the group’s drug addiction and day-to-day insanity derailed their career. The group was previously signed to Geffen Records before their reckless behavior got them kicked off of Warped Tour, into fist fights inside the Sony Music offices, and kicked out of the Teen Choice Awards after an altercation with American Idol's Ryan Seacrest.
 
 
* www.MySpace.com/Blestenation *

Money First Bum Rushes the Net w/ "Blog Goon"


From Block Starz Music:

MONEY FIRST BUM RUSHES THE NET WITH "BLOG GOON"

Trenton, NJ outfit MONEY FIRST will make its Block Starz Music mixtape debut on February 10 with "The Blog Goon Mixtape". The monster lead single, "Rap Juggernauts" featuring Uncle Murda and produced by group member ILL Kayn, has been circulating the underground and major Hip-Hop websites for weeks and promises to continue the rap quartet's all out assault on the music industry.

"We titled this project 'The Blog Goon Mixtape' because the way we bullied ourselves into the game to make people notice us without any major co-signs was pretty goonish," laughs frontman Boom Blake. "It all just came together. People started calling us the goons on the blogs. It stuck [and] we ran with it."

MONEY FIRST, which includes members Tranzatick and JP, were winners of "Best Rap Group " at the 2009 Underground Music Awards and have graced stages with notable emcees like Styles P, Cassidy, J.R. Writer, Freeway, and DMC of Run DMC. The crew has appeared on "The Round Table Show " with Lenny S, Maya the B, and Big Lite, the Rutgers Radio show MNMixture (88.7 FM) and NYC's Next Up Radio (91.9 FM).

In mid-March, MONEY FIRST will shoot the video for "All-Star Dough", which is featured on the  celebrated  "East Coast Block Starz" compilation, now available at Amazon, iTunes, and Rhapsody.

Download the first single from "The Blog Goon Mixtape", "Rap Juggernauts" featuring Uncle Murda, now and look for exclusive free download of the mixtape at www.blockstarzmusic.com on February 10.

For more info and music from MONEY FIRST, visit www.myspace.com/bestrapgroup .

Money First - All Star Dough www.limelinx.com/files/2474d49e77425daf05bc26c5f942a227 .

Money First - Rap Juggernauts (feat. Uncle Murda) www.limelinx.com/files/71def39bbeaf3bb8a146d0254af73741 .

ABOUT BLOCK STARZ MUSIC

We are a link to the marketplace for new independent talent and an oasis for bands that don't fit the status quo. We're entrepreneurs with a passion for making deals and championing our artists. We don't conform to the way things have always been done. We choose to find our own way. We're Block Starz Music and we got next.

For information on promoting a new artist release, submitting material, or career opportunities with Block Starz Music (BSM), please visit our website or contact info@blockstarzmusic.com.

* www.blockstarzmusic.com *
* www.twitter.com/blockstarz *
* www.youtube.com/blockstarzmusic *

Rob Murat Releases "Souls" For Haiti


From Heather Baxter:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

New York, NY FEBRUARY 3rd, 2010 – In light of the recent devastation caused by earthquakes in Haiti, New York born singer, songwriter, producer and son to Haitian parents, Rob Murat, has dedicated his Lennon Award winning song, “Souls,” to awareness building efforts in Haiti. “Souls” is a powerful piece that evokes perseverance in the face of poverty and catastrophe. It serves as an emotional tribute to the many families, including his, affected by the tragedy. “We must ensure that attention does not fade as the need for assistance persists.” Rob says, “It is imperative that we remain engaged.”

Along with the song, Rob has personally created a visual montage of stirring photos from the ground in Haiti which is available via his official website and on Youtube.

Rob Murat is currently in the studio working on his next recording release. He has most recently been noted for the success of his debut album, So Much to Say, available now on iTunes. The video to the album’s lead single, Dilemma Remix 1.0 ft. Kidz in the Hall, has been featured on VH1, BET, and MTV stations. It is also currently available OnDemand in over 30 million homes via Music Choice.




SOULS – A Song for Haiti (Youtube) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IDN5dh72Wco



Written & Produced by Rob Murat


--

Rob Murat (official website) http://www.robmurat.com






--

Heather Baxter

Media & Promotions

Quench Entertainment Group Inc.


Drake f/ Surburban District - Overdose On Life (Unreleased Verse)


From Mic Fiend Promo:

Drake f/ Surburban District - Overdose On Life (Unreleased Verse)

Overdose on life with different Drake verse, and awesome vocals from your favorite Suburban District members.

Download Drake - OverDose Featuring Suburban District (Unreleased Verse)
* http://usershare.net/wxmhtw35uyw6 *

* http://www.suburbandistrict.com/ *
* http://www.twitter.com/districtva *

Eternia & KRS-One: MC's Act Like They Don't Know (Video)


Eternia & KRS-One: MC's Act Like They Don't Know (Video)

Enemy Soil & Babygrande Announce New Jedi Mind Tricks' AOTP LP


From Enemy Soil & Babygrande Records:

For Immediate Release
February 3rd, 2010

Enemy Soil and Babygrande Records are proud to announce the upcoming release of the new Army of the Pharaohs album: Jedi Mind Tricks Presents "Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror" on March 30th, 2010. After 8 years of close partnership and hundreds of thousands of albums sold with Babygrande Records, Jedi Mind Tricks is proud to be releasing "Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror" on their own label, Enemy Soil, in a unique partnership with Babygrande.

The Unholy Terror is a return to form for true Jedi Mind Tricks and Army Of The Pharaohs fanatics. AOTP, the ever-evolving crew of Hip Hop’s heaviest hitters, is the culmination of a vision devised by Jedi Mind Tricks’ frontman Vinnie Paz. Initiated over twelve years ago, the group (following in the long-standing tradition of crews like Wu-Tang and The Juice Crew) has thrived for over a decade. Past members and contributors have included Bahamadia, Chief Kamachi, 7L, Virtuoso, Shuko, and Undefined, to name a few. With two full-length albums and a slew of singles under their collective belt, AOTP has established itself as the premier collective of diverse MCs showcasing viciously precise and dynamic skills. Lead by the inimitable Paz, AOTP is a reflection of the volatile MC’s staunch belief in the tradition of Hip hop’s most sacred tenets and aesthetics. Individually the styles of the Pharaohs compliment each other, ranging from strictly lyrical to bloodthirsty battle rhymes, all fused within a construct based on energy and sonic power.

"The Unholy Terror," delivers the same disemboweling brand of hard-core boom-bap and battle rhyming that this veteran crew is known for. Constant touring through Europe and the United States has primed the outfit for their third full-length release. As tradition dictates, the new face of the unit is comprised of a potent arsenal of formidable MCs and producers. It is a unique mixture of Philadelphia’s best home-grown talent and outside affiliations, with verses from the likes of like Vinnie Paz, Outerspace, Reef the Lost Cauze, Des Devious, Demoz, Doap Nixon, Jus Allah, King Magnetic and King Syze teaming up with Apathy, Celph Titled, Esoteric, Block McCloud and Journalist. The Pharaohs’ sound is guided by the deft hands of well-known and heavily respected beat-makers like Philly’s own DJ Kwestion, while Apathy and Celph also show their production chops on this album. Contributions also come from producers Vanderslice, Crown, Undefined, DC the Midi Alien, Grand Finale, Hypnotist, JBL the Titan and MTK.

With their continuing success, the last few years have seen new and debut solo efforts from various group members, but now, they throw their lots in together again, to give the fans what they have been craving. The Unholy Terror continues on in the same vein as AOTP’s earlier efforts: epic, grimy beats and raw rhymes. Having spent their entire existence as a self-contained unit, AOTP exhibits a tightness and a complexity that only comes with years of crafted experience. Once again the Army proves itself to be more than the sum of its parts. Seasoned by the road and their respective careers outside AOTP, the members return with focused intensity to what has become more than just a collection of rappers: it is now a tradition.

CHECK OUT THE FIRST TWO TRACKS OFF THE ALBUM NOW!

Contra Mantra Featuring Crypt The Warchild, Esoteric & Celph Titled



Godzilla Featuring Celph Titled, Jus Allah, Apathy, Planetary, King Magnetic & Vinnie Paz

CHECK OUT UPCOMING TOUR DATES:
3/24/10 – New Haven, CT – Toad’s Place
3/25/10 – Providence, RI – Jerky’s
3/26/10 – Northampton, MA – Pearl Street
3/27/10 – Buffalo, NY – Mohawk Place
3/28/10 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
4/1/10 – Madison, WI – The Annex
4/2/10 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean
4/3/10 – St. Louis, MO – Firebird
4/8/10 – Louisville, KY – Uncle Pleasant’s
4/9/10 – Pittsburgh, PA – Diesel
4/10/10 – West Chester, PA – The Note
4/13/10 – Richmond, VA – Canal Club
4/14/10 – Greensboro, NC – Greene Street Club
4/15/10 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade (Hell Room)
4/16/10 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
4/17/10 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club

Jedi Mind Tricks Presents...
"Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror"
Enemy Soil / Babygrande Records
Available in Stores And Online March 30th, 2010

* www.jmthiphop.com *
* www.armyofthepharaohs.com *
* www.enemysoil.com *
* www.babygrande.com *

Rolling Stone Cover Story: Lil Wayne Goes to Jail


Weezy Rolling Stone Cover From Rolling Stone:

“I don’t like to stop,” Wayne tells RS‘ Chris Norris. “I believe you stop when you die.” So in the weeks before he reports to Rikers Island, Wayne is keeping busy — recording tracks bound for Tha Carter IV (the album Cash Money staffers call “C4″ because it’ll be the bomb), shooting videos with his Young Money protégés, spending time with his growing family, and deliberately not asking anyone for advice about life on the inside. “This is Lil Wayne going to jail. Nobody I can talk to can tell me what that’s like,” he says. “I just say I’m looking forward to it.”

Read more of the article on the Rolling Stone website

Mello Music Signs Boog Brown & Apollo Brown, Forming New Duo UPS


From Audible Treats:

(February 3, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Newly signed Mello Music artist Boog Brown and producer Apollo Brown join forces to form UPS with their forthcoming album The Brown Study LP, due for release in the summer of 2010. In anticipation of their debut Boog Brown is releasing a mixtape entitled The Grind Season Vol. 1.

The Brown Study LP will be the debut release from UPS, comprising Atlanta-based emcee Boog Brown and hip-hop producer Apollo Brown. Recently signed to Mello Music Group, the two artists joined forces to create an album that Boog describes as "the most vulnerable" she has ever been musically. Due for release in the summer of 2010, The Brown Study LP will showcase the truth, confidence, style, and strong sense of hip-hop integrity that UPS represent.

In anticipation of the UPS album, Boog Brown entices fans with a taste of things to come on her latest mixtape The Grind Season Vol. 1. A collection of music from the Atlanta-based artist, this latest project features production from Illastrate, Lex Boogie, 14KT and appearances from staHHr, Fluxwonda of Binkis Recs, and Mojo Swagger. "Grind Season is a state of being," says Boog on the meaning behind the mixtape's title. "Every day you must grind for your vision. Mine is making honest music." Tracks on the mixtape, including "Grind Season," "Anymode," and "The Essence" serve as perfect examples of Boog's smooth flow and propensity for delivering strong rhymes over laid-back beats. It's all the reassurance you need that, as Boog herself says, "The Boys Club is non-existent to me."

Boog Brown - The Grind Season Vol. 1:
http://www.zshare.net/download/72097194475defa0/

Source: Audible Treats

Party Boyz "Flex" Video Debuts on 106 & Park TONIGHT at 6 PM


The Party Boyz "Flex" video debuts on 106 & Park TONIGHT at 6 PM, but you don't have to wait until then to watch it - we've got it right 'chea!

Video - 950 Plus & A.G. of D.I.T.C. - Bronx Bound


From J.O. at Tha Ave:

Video - 950 Plus & A.G. of D.I.T.C. - Bronx Bound


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of September 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TWELVE new items for you: Amp Live's "Headphone Concerto," an editorial on Adrian Peterson, Ensemble Mik Nawooj's "Hip-Hop Orchestra," Has-Lo and Castle's "Live Like You're Dead," the "Illect Recordings: Mind the Rap Volume 3" compilation, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #291 and R.I.P. Praverb a/k/a P the Wyse, Mirandom's "The Otherworld EP," Sonnyjim & Leaf Dog's "How to Tame Lions," Twista's "Dark Horse" (our featured review), Ugly Heroes' "Ugly Heroes EP" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for September 9, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Jay Burna - "Snakes". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive