Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Wednesday August 27, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
50 Cent's MySpace Music Concert to Stream Tonight


From Tito Belis:

50 CENT'S MYSPACE MUSIC CONCERT TO STREAM TONIGHT, TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 24

Be sure to check out the the performance from last night's MySpace Music "THE RELEASE" show featuring 50 Cent via his official MySpace profile tonight at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST. The event was held last night at New York City's Highline Ballroom and was a celebration for MySpace Music's 50th installment of "THE RELEASE" as well as the release of 50 Cent's new album titled "Before I Self Destruct."

Stream 50 Cent's MySpace Music "THE RELEASE" show tonight (11/24) at 6 p.m. PST/9 p.m. EST:  http://www.myspace.com/50 .

Photos from the event: http://tinyurl.com/yg3ph7n .

"THE RELEASE" is a live concert event where MySpace users are provided a chance to see the biggest urban music artists for free simply by responding to a series of blogs and bulletins posted from the program's official profile at http://www.myspace.com/hiphop. Past events have included record release performances by Jay-Z, Eminem, Nas, Ice  Cube, T.I. (with Kanye West & Rihanna), Ghostface Killah, David Banner, The-Dream, T-Pain, Raphael Saadiq and 40 other top-tier artists. For additional info on MySpace Music's "THE RELEASE," please visit: http://www.myspace.com/hiphop .

Trae Tha Truth Tackles Hunger 4 Thanksgiving


From Nancy B:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

HOUSTON TEXANS DEFENSIVE TACKLE AMOBI OKOYE IS JOINED BY COUNCILMEMBER PETER BROWN AND RAPPER TRAE THA TRUTH TO BRING HOPE THIS HOLIDAY SEASON


Houston……on Wednesday, November 25th, The Youngest Player to be drafted into the NFL will show just how big his heart is as he is joined by, City of Houston Council Member Peter Brown and Rapper, Trae Tha Truth to provide Holiday meals and turkeys to children of poverty.

Councilmember Peter Brown will lead a volunteer team on an area-wide distribution of holiday turkeys and meats beginning at 11:00 a.m. at the Sam’s Club (Kirby Drive at Reliant Stadium) location.

Additionally at 2:30 p.m., a group of underprivileged children enjoy a pre-Thanksgiving feast at the Springhill Suites (Reliant Park) during the 3rd Annual Tackle Hunger Feast & Fun event.   Not only will the children and families enjoy a scrumptious meal, sponsored by WalMart/Sams Club Corporation, but they will also have the opportunity to play board games and hear encouraging words from Amobi, Trae, and Council Member Brown.

For more information, call Amobi Okoye Foundation Offices at 281-398-4203.

# # # # #

The mission of the Amobi Okoye Foundation is to Provide Hope to Kids & Communities by fostering programs and services that encourage achievement, promote community stability, and help kids and young adults reach their full potential. For more foundation information, contact Executive Director: Susan Johnson, (281) 398-4203.

Wed., November 25th        Turkey Holiday Meat Give-away

11 a.m.                                     Sam’s Club (Kirby Drive at Reliant Stadium location) Parking Lot

Wed., November 25th                  Tackle Hunger Pre-Thanksgiving Feast & Fun (Invitation Only)

2:30 p.m.                        Springhill Suites – Reliant Stadium

Slum Village's T3 Digs Through Beat Submissions


From Chris at Koch Records:

Slum Village's T3 digs through beat submissions with Producer Young RJ for the forthcoming Villa Manifesto Digital EP out 12.15.09 on Barak Records

For more info visit www.barakrecords.com and www.slumvillage.com .

Trinity Releases Video for Roc Raida Tribute


From Audible Treats:

Video: Trinity Releases Video For Their Debut Single "Roc Raida Tribute"      11.24.2009
AG, Sadat X & DJ Jab Pay Homage To Roc Raida With New Video


The Video:

Following the release of their first single as a group, "Roc Raida Tribute," Fat Beats super group Trinity has released a new video with exclusive footage of the late great DJ Roc Raida along with studio clips of the trifecta in the studio recording their infectious tribute to one of hip-hop's most highly regarded DJ's.

The buzz has been swelling since the announcement of the group consisting of emcees AG, Sadat X, and Fat Beats owner DJ Jab on the boards. Their recent debut single has been hitting numerous blogs and websites all across the Internet so it's only fitting for the group to release a video to accompany the song. The video is sure to stir feelings of nostalgia as it starts off with clips from the '95 Technics World DJ Championship where Raida proudly proclaims, "We bringin' it back to the USA!"

What follows is in-studio footage of the group recording their tribute alongside clips of Roc Raida at work on the ones and twos. Raida makes it look too easy as he showcases his undeniable talent. Raida effortlessly scratches between two records, even backwards, not even breaking a sweat in the process. He even goes as far as manipulating the fader with his nose to much fanfare in the video. The video no doubt proves that hip-hop lost a great talent in Roc Raida, but with groups like Trinity showing love and support, his memory will not be forgotten.

Be on the lookout for more info on Trinity and their upcoming album being released in 2010 via Fat Beats Records.

"Roc Raida Tribute" video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4p5mT7WJ1w .

"Roc Raida Tribute": http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 .

Roc Raida conversation video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA .

The Background:

The group Trinity is comprised of emcees AG (Showbiz & AG), Sadat X (Brand Nubian) and DJ Jab (Fat Beats Records Owner). All three individuals have left their own imprint in the hip-hop world and by joining forces, Trinity is gearing up to bring forth the sounds of old and bring back the boom-bap hip-hop that is missing in today's musical landscape. AG is the emcee for the critically acclaimed underground group, Showbiz & AG hailing from the Bronx, NY. Sadat X is part of the famed alternative hip-hop group Brand Nubian and is well known for his politically charged lyrics and poignant delivery. DJ Jab aka Joseph Abajian is the owner of Fat Beats Records and is responsible for developing yesterday's and today's most well respected underground hip-hop artists. Together, Trinity is set to take the industry by storm and leave their mark in the game.

Streams:

"Roc Raida Tribute"
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Trinity-Roc_Raida_Tribute.mp3 *
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4p5mT7WJ1w *

Roc Raida Conversation Video
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DU2ViMUoBcA *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/trinity *

Delicious Vinyl Releases DJ iPhone App


From Audible Treats:

Delicious Vinyl Releases DJ iPhone App      11.24.2009
First iPhone Game With A Live DJ Experience Features Touch Screen Scratching


(November 24, 2009 – Brooklyn, NY) Ever wanted to step into the DJ booth and get the party started right? Then "Bust a Move," do the "Wild Thing" and pour the "Funky Cold Medina," as Delicious Vinyl DJ puts you in control of the dance floor. Delicious Vinyl and Ten23 Software are proud to announce Delicious Vinyl DJ, a new music rhythm game exclusively available for the iPhone and iTouch this Fall (downloadable from the iTunes App Store).

Delicious Vinyl DJ puts anyone with an iPhone inside the DJ booth and behind the decks cutting and scratching across the greatest golden era hip-hop tracks ever! Don’t just play along with the song, bust a move out of the living room and work that cut! Get the party started anywhere! Match multi-colored notes as they flow down the screen; trigger scratches on two turntables with a thumb twist or tap a button on the mixer in time with the music to score points. Just like a real DJ, increased accuracy determines how fresh and tight the mix will sound and gets you more points! Delicious Vinyl DJ delivers the party to wherever you are – no peripherals or add-ons necessary!

Custom Scratches By DJ M. Walk: Walk is a renowned turntablist and legendary DJ from Los Angeles. At 16 he became a Mixmaster on KDAY, L.A.'s first strictly hip-hop radio station. He laid down scratches on Tone Loc's single "Wild Thing" and became a go-to musician at the original Delicious Vinyl recording studio. M. Walk then traveled the world as tour DJ for Tone Loc, MC Hammer, and The Pharcyde. Combining the golden era hip-hop experience with cutting edge turntable techniques, M. Walk has now created a new palette of scratches especially for Delicious Vinyl DJ.

Features:
• Scratch and trigger samples using two touch turntables and a mixer
• First iPhone DJ game with actual scratching movements
• Be a DJ - don't just drop the track, add to it and make it yours! For more than just tapping!
• Listen for the groove, if you don't spin or sample correctly, the scratches and samples won’t sound fresh!
• DVDJ features hit songs from Delicious Vinyl – three Platinum selling #1 singles, block rocking remixes, and classic hip-hop hits!
• Each track features 3 levels of difficulty per song
• Custom scratches made for each track by DJ M-WALK
• New songs and downloadable content coming soon!

Track List:
Young MC - "Bust A Move"
Tone Loc - "Funky Cold Medina"
Tone Loc - "Wild Thing (Peaches RMX)"
The Pharcyde - "Passin' Me By"
Masta Ace - "Born To Roll"
Mr. Vegas (feat. Pitbull & Lil'Jon - "Pull Up (Club Mix)"
Masta Ace - "Slaughtahouse (Eminem RMX)"

About Delicious Vinyl:

Founded in the summer of 1987 by DJs Matt Dike and Michael Ross, Delicious Vinyl is an independent music label based in Los Angeles. By championing street music that defined a generation, the Delicious Vinyl catalog is widely recognized for its groundbreaking crossover hits that ushered in the golden era of hip-hop. Multi-platinum singles "Wild Thing", "Funky Cold Medina" and "Bust A Move" crashed into the Billboard charts and launched Tone-Loc and Young MC to instant acclaim and household name recognition. Following down the road less traveled, Delicious Vinyl expanded throughout the 90s working with artists like The Brand New Heavies, The Pharcyde, Born Jamericans, Masta Ace, The Whoridas, Fatlip, and Mr. Vegas. In 2008, Delicious Vinyl celebrated it 20th Anniversary with the RMXXOLOGY project by re-imagining the catalog for a new millennium dance floor. With the launch of Delicious Vinyl DJ, the label is harnessing the power of its brand by expanding the catalog into gaming, technology and new media. Already an established wardrobe requirement for over two decades, the classic red and white Delicious Vinyl tee has been a must-have for high fashion celebrities, club kids and street skaters alike. Delicious Vinyl is proud to bring the same streetwise savvy and independent stance that has shaped a generation to iPhone users and is continuing to seek creative partnerships to rock the party worldwide.


About Ten23 Software:

Ten23 Software Inc. is a software development and publishing company specializing in web and mobile development. With a focus on design, Ten23 has created award-winning software in enterprise, social networking and games. Ten23 was the recipient of a Most Innovative Product award for Clutch Mobile, their GPS tracking system. Their location-based social network, SpotJots, won the NAVTEQ LBS Challenge and is available on the AT&T network. PhotoKast, Ten23's media sharing app, is one of the best reviewed social networking apps available on the iPhone, serving over 1.5 million photo views a week. More information at www.ten23software.com .

Streams:

Delicious Vinyl DJ Official Site
* http://www.deliciousvinyldj.com *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/deliciousvinyl/ *

Delicious Vinyl MySpace page:
* http://www.myspace.com/deliciousvinylrecords *

Label site:
* http://www.deliciousvinyl.com/ *

Juvenile - We Be Getting Money (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: Juvenile f/ Dorrough, Kangol Slim, Shawty Lo
Title: We Be Getting Money
Label: Koch Records

At first I was worried this was a Shawty Lo song, because for the first 28 seconds the beat sounded like something he'd rap on and I could hear him going YEAHHH. Thankfully this self-produced Juvenile song changes up before he raps the first verse and takes on a more New Orleans flavor with funky horns and a heavy bottom. "Go 'head and hate you gon' run into what I carry homey/I'm at the plate with the bat, I'm doin it Barry homey." No doubt you are Juve, so why you needed to share this song with Lo is a mystery. His lack of substance is all the more stunning when following the much deeper voiced and much more lyrically stacked Juvenile on the track. Dorrough's "I'm stuntin like a pimp, with a bitch that please/From the hood so I'll take a bitch to Mickey D's" nearly steals the show though, and that's alright, because it means two thirds of the verses work. Good song overall.

8Ball & MJG - Ten Toes Down (Single)


Review by Steve 'Flash' Juon

Artist: 8Ball & MJG
Title: Ten Toes Down
Label: Grand Hustle Records

Long time Memphis rap veterans 8Ball & MJG haven't gone anywhere - they just took a little much deserved time off after We Are the South (Greatest Hits) to contemplate what comes next. It appears they've already decided, and the next album is tentatively titled "Under the South." The Drumma Boy produced "Ten Toes Down" is the first single to leak from the album, and it's unapologetically gangsta. MJG: "See the harder I go, the harder it gets/So gutter, so grimy, like when I fit all the shit/So stanky, so funky, like back when Parliament did it/And when they play it haters get they wigs parted and splitted." Then again that shouldn't be a surprise - it's not like this duo has ever been soft. DB's beat hits all the right notes, having the heavy bottom and slightly horror movie soundtrack often featured on Three 6 Mafia tracks, and that's definitely a compliment.

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #28!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "Just in time for Thanksgiving, here's something to be thankful for - a brand new episode of The Adam B Experience. This month's podcast features some names you've heard before, like Homeboy Sandman and PreZZure, and a couple that are new to The Adam B Experience, like Nyle and Ryan O'Neill. So enjoy this full hour of fantastic underground hip-hop that's been put together for your listening pleasure. I know it's gonna be the soundtrack to my holiday! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE so tell your friends to download ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Hip-Hop Shop #57 - Beerfest Prelude


Hip-Hop Shop 57 is the Beerfest Prelude that aired before K4D this week, with music from O.C. & A.G., V!rtu and Ric Atari among others! If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so distribute the show and tell your friends to check us out every week at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* God-Des & She - Radio Up
* O.C. & A.G. - Think About It
* V!rtu - The Shoe-In
* Ric Atari f/ Grease - R.P.S.
* Brown Bag AllStars - The Workhorse
* Dan-e-o - Crushin' (Insomniac Clean Mix)

The (W)rap Up - Week of November 17, 2009


Danny! :: Where Is Danny?
Definitive Jux
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Good question. Daniel Swain b/k/a Danny! has been releasing the best albums you should be kicked in the ass for not owning since 2004, featuring self-produced South Carolina soul with lyrics that are as interesting as they are introspective. It's arguable that Swain is either what Kanye West would be without the ego and the drinking problem, or that Swain is Kanye West with much better raps. For the uninitiated this may seem like absurdly high praise, but long-time RR readers will know we've been covering Mr. Swain since he first released "Charm" and that we've been consistently impressed by his efforts ever since."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11F_whereisdanny.html

50 Cent :: Before I Self Destruct :: G-Unit/Shady/Interscope
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace 

"Everyone knows that Curtis Jackson handles the business side of things. He does shows like "Power Lunch" on CNBC, he co-authors books with authors like Robert Greene, he makes investments with unknown companies that in turn, pay off big, However 50 Cent is the gun toting, crime committing ignorant bastard that will start a beef with anyone and in some cases, destroys careers. 50 is also the one responsible for 2003's "Get Rich Or Die Trying", the breakout album that was the perfect combination of beats, hardcore rhymes and the often-overlooked element of success...timing."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_beforeiselfdestruct.html

Amp Live :: Gary Is a Robot Remixes EP :: Child's Play/Terrorbird Media
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon 

"At times like these I honestly don't know WTF to make of some of the music I'm sent. I'm an open minded guy, but it didn't even occur to me I was going to need to address that subject when I first read the one-sheet for this EP. Amp certainly had the hip-hop credentials I would need for me to like his shit - he's done beats for Akon and Zion I among others. Perhaps it's the "others" I should have paid more attention to, but even then I wouldn't have been TOO thrown off if Amp Live's "Gary Is a Robot" EP had sounded like MGMT or Radiohead - artists I'm at least familiar with even if I'm not huge fans of their work."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_garyrobotEP.html

Canibus & Keith Murray :: The Undergods EP :: Sound Records & Entertainment
as reviewed by Sever

"For every hot album Canibus detonates upon his fanbase there are one or two total duds. I don't think Canibus has spit a single lyric since his 2005 release "Hip-Hop for $ale" that inspired, or energized me (although "Dreamzzzzz" off of "For Whom the Beat Tolls" is a sick track). I saw him perform live at Toad's Place in New Haven earlier this year, and although he tore it down I couldn't shake the realization that a man I idolized six years ago is only a shadow of his former self these days. He seemed mortal for the first time. Even though we're probably the same height he seemed small, ashy and docile. I looked at him not through the eyes of a huge fan, but as a fellow rap artist unsure as to whether or not I should humbly pay my respects or walk up to him with my game face on, stare into his eyes and start spitting my sickest bars at him and demand his respect."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_undergodsEP.html

Crown City Rockers :: The Day After Forever :: Gold Dust Media
as reviewed by Eric Sirota

"Crown City Rockers did not send RapReviews their recent album, "The Day After Forever." They instead sent "The Day After Forever (album sampler)." I am not sure why one would send a music reviewer an album sampler. Music sites write for potential listeners, and people do not listen to album samplers, they listen to albums. I liked what I heard on the sampler well enough, but I only heard a 5 song, 16 minute tease, not a full record. For all I know, the rest of "The Day After Forever" is garbage. Or transcendent. Still there is some use in reading this review as 5 track reviews posing as an album review. So no more griping. Let's dig in to the 5 tracks Crown City Rockers really want you to hear"

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_thedayafterforever.html

D. Focis :: The Be Strong LP :: Facemusic
as reviewed by John-Michael Bond

"Producer/rapper D. Focis's new album, "The Be Strong LP," is available for free from the artist's blog (dfocis.blogspot.com). It serves two purposes: to firmly establish D. Focis as both a rapper and a producer, and to offer a message of hope to anyone struggling to keep their head up in these hard times.D. Focis has a lot in common with Kanye West; both are producers-turned-rappers; both have focused their rhymes on their personal struggles and hopes; and both are deeply religious but outspokenly flawed. "I'm a Christian, but not a pastor," he raps, and throughout the album he is up front about his infidelities and his wayward past."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_thebestrong.html

Rihanna :: Rated R :: Def Jam
as reviewed by Jesal 'Jay Soul' Padania

"Ladies and gentlemen, to those among you who are easily frightened, we suggest you turn away now. To those of you that think they can take it, we say ‘Welcome to the Mad House!'" That's what the intro says, and believe you me, it is true. Here it is, "Rated R" – Rihanna's own "mini-movie." After what must have seemed an eternity wrapped up in a mere nine months, Rihanna finally gets to return to her primary focus of actually releasing an album (fourth in five years, since you ask) – and here we have one more in line with hip hop than R&B or Pop, hence its unusual appearance on this site. Take one somewhat cinematic introduction, lashings of edgy production that sounds banging in your car, lyrics that occasionally approach rap-style levels of complexity and, above all, utilising the public/private clay of her own life."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_rihannaratedr.html

Sean Price :: Kimbo Price :: Fat Beats/Duck Down Music
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon 

"It won't be long before Sean Price has more alter egos than Kool Keith. Most of the hip-hop world was introduced to him as Ruck, one half of the Heltah Skeltah duo, but in the years that followed we've come to know him by multiple aliases. We've got two more names to add to the list today - Mic Tyson and Kimbo Price. The funny thing is that the latter is actually intended to be an introduction to the former, which can only be gleaned by reading the small print on the cover of this new mix CD. Of the two Kimbo Price is the more interesting concept."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_kimboprice.html

Wyclef Jean :: From the Hut, To the Projects, To the Mansion :: R.E.D. Distribution
as reviewed by John-Michael Bond 

"Wyclef Jean has "fuck you" money. During his time with The Fugees he sold over 22 million records, enough records for every man, woman, and child in New York State to have a copy and still have three million left over. His first solo record "The Carnival" sold 5 million copies worldwide, and even got suburban soccer moms dancing with its hit single "Gone Till November." While his later records have never matched those insane sales figures, they never really needed to. Wyclef had his paper, and along with it the power to do whatever he wanted, be it charity work, production for other stars (both hip hop and pop), or the patience to bid his time waiting for Lauren Hill to stop taking crazy pills and make a new Fugees record."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_fromthehut.html



Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive