Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday September 01, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[There Is Only Now] Returning from Montezuma with revenge on their minds!

Souls of Mischief Review

Latest News Headlines
Juvenile Speaks About the New Generation of Hip-Hop


From Chris at Koch Records:

Juvenile Speaks About the New Generation of Hip-Hop

XXL.com gives OHHLA.com the props!


Who got the props? Who got the props? Original Hip Hop Lyrics Archive by the hip-hop magazine XXL itself. In a list of the top 100 hip-hop websites, OHHLA.com made it to one of them (not in specific order, but a good co-sign nonetheless).

"ohhla.com
Thanks to dweebs who transcribed zillions of rap verses, the Official
Hip-Hop Lyric Archive is by far the best resource for trying to figure out
what the dickens Ghostface is talking about."
 

Here's the website if you want to see it for yourself
http://www.xxlmag.com/online/?p=63050.

Lupe Fiasco's "Enemy of the State" Re-Up!


For those of you who tried to cop the Lupe mixtape to no avail on last week's Free Music Friday, here's a re-up of "Enemy of the State: The Love Story." My dude ArtbyShake at 2DopeBoyz.com created this alternative cover for the mixtape. This is for who prefer this cover over the black typewriter-like cover.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/zzfskp
Neosonic Productions - A Tribute to a Tribe (Called Quest)


From K-Murdock:

The homie Kevin Nottingham hosted a contest a few months back that encouraged fans to submit remixes, covers, etc of their fav TCQ joints for possible inclusion on a future released tribute mixtape... naturally, you know i had to get involved...


As a fun challenge, i chose "Butter" off "The Low End Theory", which many know as Phife's solo-styled joint in which he kills the beat while recanting the infamous story of "the one called Flo".  I coulda picked from any number of songs from Tribe's 5 albums, BUT i ran with "Butter" mainly because i had interviewed Phife just weeks before on Subsoniq...


So, here it is, my salute to the ones who got me into making music in the first place...

Butter (K-Murdock's Fresh for 2k9 Remix)  by  Neosonix

FYI- this song is available exclusively as a bonus track off the CD version of my latest instro album, "Breaks, Rhythms & Loops"- BUY IT HERE!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

 

Dres of Black Sheep - "Doin' It Wrong" / EP Release Today


From Audible Treats:

Dres of Black Sheep - "Doin' It Wrong" / EP Release Today      12.01.2009
Dres Celebrates EP Release With Second Single Off Of From The Black Pool of Genius: The Prelude


The Song:

Dres of Black Sheep does it once again with the release of his second single "Doin' It Wrong" from his EP From The Black Pool Of Genius: The Prelude, which is officially available today. The latest track is another demonstration of Dres' exceptional flow and lyrical finesse as he declares "I'm a one man Beatles, I be the Rolling Stone." When asked about the inspiration behind the song Dres explained, "The present state of mainstream hip-hop is the inspiration. It seems to me that the music has lost its concern for the world and people, and overtly speaks almost exclusively of the baubles of life and state of mind." Combining thought-provoking lyrics, a masterfully soul-inspired beat courtesy of the upcoming Urban Soul Music Group, and catchy hook, listeners are given a preview of the growth and maturity to expect from the highly anticipated EP From The Black Pool of Genius: The Prelude, as well as throughout Dres' forthcoming full-length release, described as a "deep, vast pool of soul... not always understood, but forever seen and loved." From The Black Pool of Genius: The Prelude is available now, and the full-length album is scheduled for a March 2010 release.

* http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/from-black-pool-genius-the-prelude/id342549103 *

"Doin' It Wrong": http://media.audibletreats.com/Dres_of_Black_Sheep-Doin_It_Wrong.mp3 .

The Background:

It all began with a thundering baseline and an unmistakably classic phrase - "this or that." One of the most widely recognized songs in rap music history, the 1991 classic "The Choice is Yours" was hailed by VH1 in 2008 as one of the best rap songs of all time. The highly respected Queens emcee Dres, along with DJing partner-in-crime William "Mista Lawnge" McLean took the music industry by storm in the early 1990's as part of the groundbreaking collective Native Tongues. Penning such Billboard standouts as "Flavor of the Month" and "Strobelight Honey" for the duo's platinum-selling debut album A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing in 1992, Dres would continue to crank out the hits on the group's second release, Non Fiction. After a brief reunion with Mister Lawnge in 2000, Dres again set his sights on recording. He released the innovative online-only album 8WM/Novakane in 2007. Now he's back in the studio, writing the next chapter of his storied career. Dres' highly anticipated new project, From the Black Pool of Genius, out Spring 2010, promises to pair thought-provoking lyrics with astounding beats constructed by a corps of new and established beatmakers. They include Bean One, Showbiz, Tough Junkie, P. Locke, Urban Soul Music Group, and Willie Evans. He's also got an impressive line-up of guest stars, including De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest, Rhymefest, AZ, and Tough Junkie, among others. Leading up to the release of his next full-length, Black Sheep have released a precursor EP, From The Black Pool Of Genius: The Prelude, available now.

Streams:

"Doin' It Wrong":
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Dres_of_Black_Sheep-Doin_It_Wrong.mp3 *

"Forever Luvlee":
* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fm-ttJ55_mo *
* http://media.audibletreats.com/Black_Sheep-Forever_LuvLee.mp3 *

Bio, pictures, and streams available here:
* http://www.audibletreats.com/download/black_sheep *

Twitter:
* http://twitter.com/DresBlacksheep *

Souls of Mischief "Proper Aim" Music Video


Released today along with Montezuma's Revenge, so if you like what you hear when you watch the video be sure to go pick up the album!

Pimp C's Wife Organizes Hip-Hop Health Fair


In an effort to keep the memory of UGK rapper Pimp C alive, the late rapper's wife Chinara Butler has organized the first-annual Chad "Pimp C" Butler Hip Hop & Health Fair. The event -- which will take place in Port Arthur, Texas -- will raise awareness of HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases to youth who lack the resources to get tested and provide information about drug abuse and prevention.

Pimp C -- real name Chad Butler -- was found dead in a Los Angeles hotel room on Dec. 4, 2007. The health fair will take on Dec. 4, on the second anniversary of the rapper's passing.

UGK's Bun B, Too Short and Jacki O are scheduled to attend the fair in memoriam of Pimp C.

Source: BoomBox.com

Travis McCoy Releases "One At A Time" Charity Single


From MTV Staying Alive Foundation:

One At A Time
Louise Ashley

Travis McCoy

Earlier this year Travis McCoy, front man of Gym Class Heroes and Staying Alive Foundation Ambassador embarked on an epic, life-changing adventure. This adventure saw him travel to South Africa, Philippines and India, to meet with young people who run remarkable grass-roots HIV and AIDS awareness projects.
 
When Travis returned from his travels, the adventure was far from over… He had just a few weeks to write and record a brand new track inspired by his experiences.

Travis embraced the challenge; the track titled One At A Time is now ready and available to download via iTunes in the US and BandCamp globally. All proceeds from sales will benefit the Foundation, enabling us to fund many more vital HIV projects around the world.

Travis and the Foundation are now asking for your help. Travis has committed to raising $100k for the Foundation, but he can't do it without you....

Here's How You Can Help

There are a whole bunch of ways for your to get involved. Take a read here - if you can commit to just one - that'd be awesome. All it takes is one person, One At A Time.

Buy the track: You can buy One At A Time for just 99c on iTunes in the US and from BandCamp globally. Listen to a preview here. Every cent from sales will go towards Travis' $100k target and enable The Staying Alive Foundation to fund new and exisiting HIV prevention projects.

Donate: Any amount you can spare, no matter how small, will help Travis reach his $100K goal. Every single cent will go directly to the Foundation. Becuase MTV covers our costs, it allows us to make sure all of your money is spent on projects. Make a donation now.

Tweet and Facebook about it: Let others know about the campaign by changing your status and linking to our homepage. Tweet about it with the #oneatatime hashtag. See what others are saying right now.

Watch the Show: On December 1st you can watch it right here on this website or on TV.

If you're in the Middle East, Asia, or Australasia click here for transmisson times.

If you're in the US, Latin America or the Caribbean click here.

If you're in Europe click here.

And if you're in Africa click here.

Add a banner to your site or blog: Show your support and add one of these great One At A Time banners.

Thanks for your support!

Source: MTV Staying Alive Foundation

The (W)rap Up - Week of November 24, 2009


Rakim :: The Seventh Seal
Ra Records/SMC Recordings
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"In days of old a new Eric B. & Rakim album would be cause for euphoric celebration. In days not so old a Rakim solo album would be eagerly anticipated as the return of a rap legend. In days of recent new Rakim gets a "eh" reaction from jaded hip-hop heads who think he's past his prime and no reaction at all from rap fans too young to have HEARD his prime. That's a damn shame given the lead single "Walk These Streets" paired the R with Maino, a modern day rapper who is surprisingly well prepared to be a successor to Ra as a storyteller."

http://www.rapreviews.com/feature.html

Almost September :: The Almost September EP :: One Records/Neo/Sony
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"Almost September is J-Lee, MC Lyte and Whitey. Wait, did I just say MC Lyte? I meant - no, I really meant MC Lyte. Unlike other hip-hop heroes from times past the Brooklyn legend popped up every now and then, but Almost September is her most professional return since "Bad As I Wanna B" back in '96. The Almost September project is the result of a chance meeting during the recording of Macy Gray's '07 album "Big." The three hit it off immediately, which led to the spontaneous creation of their first song "Beautiful." As a production/writing team (sometimes credited as Whiteleaf Productions), J-Lee (Jared Lee Gosselin) and Whitey (Phillip White) have brought you songs such as Cheri Dennis' "Alright", Chingy's "Kick Drum", India.Arie's "Wings of Forgiveness," or Floetry's "I'll Die." While their extended list of clients is even more impressive, Almost September make it clear that this collaboration isn't limited to one strategized song designed in a boardroom."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_almostsept.html

DMgee! dungMeistergeneRal :: Old Man Street Corner :: Charma Recordz
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"I regret to say DMG is one of the most definitive cases of ANTI-charisma I've ever heard. To get a general idea of why he utterly fails imagine someone who sounds the least bit vaguely similar to LL Cool J doing his whispered flow from "Phenomenon" - then imagine he does it for a WHOLE ALBUM. DMG seems genetically incapable of raising his voice, putting any emphasis on a single bar he speaks, and often starts a bar only to get quieter as he's spitting it. The hallway closet DMG seems to have recorded this album in didn't improve matters. The vocals bounce around, double up and overlap in ways that were undoubtedly intended to be artistic - they're just annoying though."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_oldmanstreetcorner.html

iLL-Literacy :: iB4the1.1 :: digit.ILL.funk
as reviewed by Emanuel Wallace

"A couple of weeks ago, I thought I had received an extremely oversized packet of tropical punch flavored Kool-Aid. Even more weird was the fact that I had actually purchased the traditional sized packet earlier in the day. However, to my surprise (and slight disappointment), it was the first release from Oakland trio, iLL-Literacy. The group consists of Dahlak, Drizzletron and N.I.C., and seems to draw influences from any and everything, ranging from afrobeat to X-Men. The self-proclaimed Ritalin babies have decided to release their album in three separate chapters, for the benefit of any others like themselves who lack the ability to sit still long enough to listen to an entire release at one time."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_ib411.html

D.O. :: Stay Driven :: Northstarr Entertainment
as reviewed by Susan 'susiQ' Kim

"Toronto emcee D.O. (Defy the Odds) has been a definite trendsetter while setting a Guinness World Record for the longest freestyle rap of 8 hours and 45 minutes in 2003, as others followed his lead and was finally beat by emcee Supernatural in 2006 with 9 hours of freestyling. Nonetheless, his feat created media frenzy and aided in D.O.'s exposure as his ventured out traveling throughout Canada and parts of the United States. In addition to his mix tapes sold while performing abroad, D.O. debuted his full length album, "The Northstarr," in 2007 and with it came various Canadian awards and nominations. Alongside his solo endeavors, D.O. is also an integral part to the duo of Art of Fresh together with Slakah the Beatchild."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_DOstaydriven.html

Madecipha :: Word Is Bond :: Long Range Distribution
as reviewed by Louis Cloutier

"It's fair to assume that most of you don't know who Madecipha is. He is an obscure artist trying to make it in an obscure genre. I'm not alluding to Hip-Hop here, but rather one of its red-headed stepchildren: horrorcore rap. With "Word Is Bond", Madecipha follows in the footsteps of artists like Gravediggaz, Esham and the roster of Psychopathic Records. While I can hardly be considered an expert in this genre, it is with enthusiasm and open-mindedness that I will proceed to review this young musician's debut LP. What immediately caught my attention when I received this album was the Pen & Pixel-style graphics used to make the cover. For those who don't know what I'm referring to, Pen & Pixel is the design team behind the legendary artwork of such camps as Cash Money, No Limit and 8ball & MJG. Gold frame, fake glittering effects, cash...all that's missing from this album cover is the white tigers and luxury cars."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_madwordisbond.html

O.C. & A.G. :: Oasis :: D.I.T.C/Nature Sounds
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"First off, this isn't a review of the entire album of "Oasis," but rather a four-track press advance for the album, which should come out on November 24th. I say "should" because it's original October 27th release date already came and went with no album. Secondly, I'm not familiar with A.G. or O.C., I've never listened to Showbiz and A.G.,  and I don't own anything by the Digging in the Crates Crew (D.I.T.C.). Not because I have anything against them, understand, but we've just never crossed paths. Finally, I'm not a huge fan of the hardcore East Coast style of rap that O.C. and A.G. specialize in. I respect it, but It's not my thing."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_ocagoasis.html

Oh No :: Dr. No's Ethiopium :: Stones Throw Records
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor

"Oh No's beat record "Dr. No's Oxperiment" was one of my favorite records of 2007, and I loved hearing his beats turn up on Mos Def's last album, and I was excited when I heard that his next project was a beat record based on Ethiopian music. So excited that I almost ordered the special version complete with a pound of Ethiopian coffee from Intelligentsia coffee. See, while I enjoyed the Mediterranean psych music that Oh No sampled on "Oxperiment," I love Ethiopian funk and jazz. It's funky, grooving, but totally unique. It's form and instruments are much different than Western music, so it's recognizable yet exotic. It's the perfect source for hip hop beats, and it's high time a producer mine some Egyptian crates."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_drnosethiopium.html

Phatchance :: Inkstains :: {self-released}
as reviewed by Eric Sirota

"Put some shrimp on the barbie, Mate, because it's time to dig into "Inkstains," the new release from prominent Australian MC/producer Chance Waters, aka Phatchance. The LP is his second solo release, though he has been featured alongside a bunch of famous Australian rappers that you haven't heard of and I hadn't heard of until I read the "Chance Waters" Wikipedia entry. Indeed, I'm not too familiar with the rap from Down Under, but if Chance is representative, then Australia-hop seems to takes its cues from the U.S. This is neither surprising nor problematic. Hip-hop is an American art form, and while it is great that South Africa put its own spin on rap with Kwaito, and England did its own thing with Grime, it would border on bigotry to expect every rapper from another country to bring something totally new to the table simply because they are foreign."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_phatinkstains.html

Slug & MURS :: Felt 3: A Tribute to Rosie Perez :: Rhymesayers Entertainment
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"2009 has been the year for new rap supercombos to take the industry by storm, from regional teams like KRS-One & Buckshot to nationwide collaborations like Slaughterhouse. All of these groups have awakened a slumbering hip-hop fanbase, but when one examines the recent history of 21st century rap Felt pre-dated the trend and may have set the example for all to come. Few people would have imagined the dope results to emerge when Minnesota and California collided, but two successful albums later MURS has vowed that his Northern compatriot Slug is the rapper he likes working with the most. It ain't hard to tell when you listen to their previous collaborations - Slug & MURS bounce raps off each other like an underground Run-D.M.C. They alternate bars and verses, finish each other's punchlines, and construct complex songs like one body with two heads - different personalities that still work together towards a common goal."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_felt3rosie.html

Willy Northpole :: Tha Connect :: Disturbing Tha Peace
as reviewed by Justin 'Tha Shiznute' Chandler

"This one came in completely off the radar. Whether it was because of a lack of interest in the artist, bad marketing, or the death of music legend Michael Jackson, that detracted from Willy Northpole's debut "Tha Connect" from getting its proper dues, the lack of sales is glaring. One has to wonder what kind of impact Willy would have if he ended up on G-Unit, which seemed oh so likely only a few years back. Don't count him out yet though, in part because of the high quality of this freshman foray into the rap game."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2009_11_northpoleconnect.html

Hip-Hop Shop #58


Welcome back for another new edition of Hip-Hop Shop! On Episode 58 we feature new music from DJ Dbefekt, Homeboy Sandman, Obie Trice and more! If you would like to sponsor Hip-Hop Shop please send an e-mail to dj.flash@rapreviews.com for more information. Hip-Hop Shop features podsafe music, so distribute the show and tell your friends to check us out every week at RapReviews.com! Special thanks to Odin Smith Labs for providing background music for our show.

Download Here (right click to save)

Tracks featured this week:

* DJ Dbefekt f/ Reks, Termanology - Raised on Classics
* Souls of Mischief - Proper Aim
* Homeboy Sandman - Angels With Dirty Faces
* Obie Trice - I Am
* Trinity - Roc Raida Tribute
* Top $ Raz - Spilled Milk
* DMC - I Am a King


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of August 26th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. Our apologies for being a day late but we still have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: a 20 Years Ago - The Hot Summer Jams of 1994 flashback, Dilated Peoples' "Directors of Photography," two new editorials on Better Call Saul ("S'all Good, Man!") and Suge Knight's cycle of violence, two new podcasts from Steve 'Flash' Juon - The Hip-Hop Shop #285 and The Hip-Hop Shop #286 - Saba's "ComfortZone," Souls of Mischief & Adrian Younge's "There Is Only Now" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Shyne Coldchain Vol. 2" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for August 19, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Sonz of New York - "Flexing". RapReviews.com also recommends Undisputed Wrestling w/ Gangrel from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive