Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Paperwork] No trouble this time, man.

T.I. Review

Latest News Headlines
Bonnaroo Announces 2010 Musical Lineup


From Ken Weinstein:

Bonnaroo Announces 2010 Musical Lineup

BONNAROO MUSIC AND ARTS FESTIVAL ANNOUNCES 2010 LINEUP

FEATURING DAVE MATTHEWS BAND, KINGS OF LEON, STEVIE WONDER, JAY-Z, WEEZER, FLAMING LIPS PERFORMING DARK SIDE OF THE MOON, THE DEAD WEATHER, PHOENIX, JOHN FOGERTY, JIMMY CLIFF, TENACIOUS D, ZAC BROWN BAND, AVETT BROTHERS, NORAH JONES, LCD SOUNDSYSTEM, TORI AMOS, THE NATIONAL, SHE & HIM, THE BLACK KEYS, STEVE MARTIN, JEFF BECK, MICHAEL FRANTI, DAN DEACON, AGAINST ME!, LES CLAYPOOL, THIEVERY CORP AND MORE
 
TICKETS ON SALE NOW EXCLUSIVELY AT BONNAROO.COM!

February 9, 2009, New York, NY -- Superfly Productions and A.C. Entertainment are excited to announce the initial lineup for the 2010 Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival. The ninth annual four-day camping and music festival will be held on June 10 - 13 on the same beautiful 700-acre farm in Manchester, Tennessee, 60 miles south of Nashville. A full list of confirmed acts follows, and more will be announced in the coming weeks. The final Bonnaroo 2010 lineup will total over 125 bands and over 20 comedians performing on 13 stages over four days.Tickets are on sale now exclusively at bonnaroo.com!
 
Perhaps bringing you the most diverse and ambitious lineup to date, the 2010 event draws world-class acts from a staggering range of musical worlds. This year the festival features the Dave Matthews Band, Kings of Leon, Stevie Wonder, Jay-Z, Weezer, Flaming Lips performing Dark Side Of The Moon, The Dead Weather, Phoenix, John Fogerty, Jimmy Cliff, Tenacious D, Zac Brown Band, Avett Brothers, Norah Jones, LCD Soundsystem, Tori Amos, The National, Jeff Beck, Michael Franti, Against Me!, Medeski, Martin & Wood, Baaba Maal, The Melvins, Thievery Corporation to name but a small portion of the deep lineup. Wonder's Bonnaroo performance marks a rare festival appearance for the legend, whose illustrious songbook continues to be as influential and significant today as ever. Bonnaroo veterans Kings of Leon are the first band in the history of the festival to start on a tent stage and work their way up to the coveted headlining slot. They were first booked to play a tent stage early in the day in 2004. They have gone on to perform at Bonnaroo several times, each appearance bigger than the last. This will be one of the very few appearances the band will make in 2010.
 
The largest and most revered music and camping event in the country, Bonnaroo has elevated the American rock festival to an unprecedented level. As the only round-the-clock major U.S. music festival, Bonnaroo packs an unparalleled amount of entertainment options into its four days. The event has offered its attendees the amenities and community spirit of a small city, with 24 hours of activities including a comedy theater, cinema festival, jazz club, silent disco, arcade, Internet cafés, restaurants, yoga classes and hundreds of high quality craft vendors. Since its inception, Bonnaroo swiftly earned its status as the country's premier music and arts event. The Wall Street Journal called Bonnaroo "one of rock's best festivals," continuing to hail that the 2009 lineup "fairly bursts with some of the most gifted acts in rock and pop." Entertainment Weekly called it "the best of all sonic worlds," while the New York Times said, "Bonnaroo's very loose mandate - and a wise one for any festival - is to choose performers who deliver in a live performance, with current hits and studio expertise as lower priorities. One of the pleasures of the festival is that it defies narrowcasting: It's not an Americana festival, an indie-rock festival, a gathering of 2008-9 hitmakers or anything but what its producers and, presumably, ticket-buyers are happy to hear." Rolling Stone called Bonnaroo "one of the 50 moments to change the history of rock and roll."
 
Once again, Bonnaroo has created a couple of unique ticketing options for its fans. The festival is offering a special payment plan in whichtickets will be available for five (5) payments of $50.00 plus applicable fees. In addition, fans will have the option to purchase a Bonnaroo Green Ticket that will help to support the development and implementation of sustainable improvements at the festival for years to come. Festival organizers are constantly looking for ways to be aggressive with mitigating the event's environmental impact and raising awareness about green issues.
 
As part of Fuse's three-year deal with Bonnaroo, the network will be back as the exclusive television partner of the festival. Fuse will be reporting live from Bonnaroo throughout the weekend and will air a special, featuring interviews with the hottest bands and performances from this year's star-studded lineup. www.fuse.tv .
 
Official festival website is www.bonnaroo.com .
 
2010 Bonnaroo Music and Arts Festival Confirmed Artists:
 
Dave Matthews Band
Kings of Leon
Stevie Wonder
Jay-Z
Tenacious D
Weezer
The Flaming Lips with Stardeath and White Dwarfs perform "Dark Side of the Moon"
The Dead Weather
Damian Marley & Nas
Phoenix
Norah Jones
Michael Franti & Spearhead
John Fogerty
Regina Spektor
Jimmy Cliff
LCD Soundsystem
The Avett Brothers
Thievery Corporation
Rise Against
Tori Amos
The National
Zac Brown Band
Les Claypool
John Prine
The Black Keys
Steve Martin & the Steep Canyon Rangers
Jeff Beck
Dropkick Murphys
She & Him
Against Me!
The Disco Biscuits
Daryl Hall & Chromeo
Jamey Johnson
Clutch
Bassnectar
Kid Cudi
Baaba Maal
Kris Kristofferson
Medeski Martin & Wood
The xx
GWAR
Dan Deacon Ensemble
Tinariwen
Wale
Deadmau5
The Melvins
Gaslight Anthem
Miike Snow
Nitty Gritty Dirt Band
Dr. Dog
They Might Be Giants
Punch Brothers
Isis
Blitzen Trapper
Blues Traveler
Miranda Lambert
Calexico
OK Go
Trombone Shorty & Orleans Avenue
Martin Sexton
Lotus
Baroness
Dave Rawlings Machine
Mayer Hawthorne and the County
Japandroids
Jay Electronica
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros
Ingrid Michaelson
The Dodos
Manchester Orchestra
The Temper Trap
Cross Canadian Ragweed
Big Sam's Funky Nation
Carolina Chocolate Drops
Tokyo Police Club
The Entrance Band
Local Natives
Brandi Carlile
Mumford & Sons
Rebelution
Diane Birch
Monte Montgomery
Julia Nunes
The Postelles
Lucero
Here We Go Magic
Hot Rize
Neon Indian
B.O.B
Needtobreathe
 
About Bonnaroo:

Bonnaroo was conceived in 2002 and continues to make a strong impact on the American music industry. It has served as a launching pad for such popular artists as Norah Jones, Jack Johnson, Robert Randolph, My Morning Jacket, Ray Lamontagne, Matisyahu, and many others. A creative and cultural mega-success, Bonnaroo has also featured a staggeringly diverse range of world-class acts such as Bob Dylan, Bruce Srpingsteen and the E Street Band, Metallica, Neil Young, Radiohead, Willie Nelson, The Police, Pearl Jam, Tom Petty, Tool, Wilco, Nine Inch Nails, Merle Haggard, The Dave Matthews Band, James Brown, The White Stripes, The Dead, Regina Spektor, Bon Iver, Snoop Dogg, David Byrne, Widespread Panic, Death Cab For Cutie, Al Green, Elvis Costello, Amadou and Mariam, Beck, Against Me!, The Black Crowes, Alison Krauss, Bright Eyes, Bonnie Raitt, Steve Earle, Jurassic 5, Modest Mouse, The Mars Volta, Common, Burning Spear, the Flaming Lips, among so many others.
 
The festival is also starting to make quite an impact on the comedy industry as well, as it has featured some of today's best comedians working today. From
 
Chris Rock, Jimmy Fallon, Lewis Black, Aziz Ansari, John Oliver, Flight of the Concords, David Cross and Fred Armisen to Jim Norton, Patton Oswalt, Triumph the Insult Comic Dog, Zach Galifianakis, Janeane Garofalo and Brian Posehn, Bonnaroo is considered to be an essential play in any comedian's touring plans.
 
More acts will be announced in the coming weeks.

Video: Jern Eye - "Cali" Feat. Spank Pops And J. Billion


From Audible Treats:

Video: Jern Eye - "Cali" Feat. Spank Pops And J. Billion

Chosen Few - "Elevation" Featuring Opio (Souls of Mischief)


From Audible Treats:

Chosen Few - "Elevation" Featuring Opio (Souls of Mischief)

K-Murdock + Raheem DeVaughn = "Ms. High Heels"


From K-Murdock:

K-Murdock + Raheem DeVaughn = "Ms. High Heels"

This track was originally recorded years back for a side project i was doing with Raheem, but we never finished it and so i chose to use it for "Piano-rama" instead.  However, with all the drama that comes with dealing with major-label artist- even if they are close friends, i decided to release this song for FREE as promo and its been spreading like wildfire the last couple weeks!  I would of posted it up earlier, but between mixing other soon-to-be released side projects and digging my way out of the "snow-pocalypse" that's hitting the East Coast (of the US), i been crazy busy!  If you dig Raheem's amazing vocals, then be on the lookout for his latest album, "The Love & War Masterpiece", dropping March 2nd!

Ms. High Heels  by  Neosonix

BTW- speaking of "Piano-rama", check out these great reviews of my album on the homie Kevin Nottingham's site & at The Find Magazine.  Also, please feel free to let me know what you personally think too by dropping me a comment... feedback is always appreciated!

K

--
Posted By K-Murdock to NEOSONIC PRODUCTIONS

 

Grammy Award Winning Chamillionaire Rounds All-Star Lineup


From Nancy B:

Grammy Award Winning Chamillionaire Rounds Out All-Star Lineup

Houston, TX – This Thursday, the city of Dallas will begin welcoming the throngs of sports fans and celebrities rushing to partake of the many NBA All Star celebrations going on throughout the weekend. Amongst them will be Grammy-winning, Houston artist Chamillionaire, who has put together a Texas All Star line-up of his own; namely Paul Wall, Slim Thug and Dorrough, for a music video shoot to Chamillionaire’s brand new song, Main Event. The plan is to shoot each of the guys guerilla-style, as they walk red carpets and mix and mingle at the many A-list events they plan on attending; a style of shooting that award-winning video director, Dr. Teeth, is very comfortable with. The final video will also feature a grand finale performance scene featuring all of the artists to be shot at an undisclosed location.

“I thought I’d take this opportunity to remind the rest of the world that Texas is still doing it big when it comes to music.” Chamillionaire says of his ambitious endeavor. “Every artist on the song with me has independent hustle and strength in the streets. It’s an All Star song so what better place to shoot the video than All Star Weekend, right here in our own backyard.”

DOWNLOAD LINK:

Chamillionaire “Main Event ft. Paul Wall, Slim Thug & Dorrough” Dirty - http://audio.fanbuild.com/fanbuild/chamillionaire/main-event-dirty.zip .

Chamillionaire “Main Event ft. Paul Wall, Slim Thug & Dorrough” Clean - http://audio.fanbuild.com/fanbuild/chamillionaire/main-event-clean.zip .

Kottonmouth Kings Release Clockwork Orange Theme Video


From Kerosene Media:
 
Kottonmouth Kings Release Clockwork Orange Theme Video
 
The Kottonmouth Kings have released their ‘Clockwork Orange’ themed video for “Stomp/Rampage” online at http://vids.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=vids.individual&videoid=102836294 . The tracks are taken from the California based group’s new album, “Long Live The Kings”, which hits stores on April 20th, 2010 through Suburban Noize.
 
"One of my favorite movies was 'Clockwork Orange', so we decided to put our own spin on it for our first video off our new album," says Daddy X. "We had a crew of top stuntmen come down for the gang fight scene and we had a great time recreating this cult classic. 'Stomp' and 'Rampage' were our first videos with Dirtball as a new king and the music speaks for itself."
 
“What a great experience it was to work with so many amazing people on these videos,” added Dirtball.  “The chemistry amongst the group, the filming crew, and the stunt team was incredible!  The fans will want to watch them over and over again, simply for the fact that they are dope songs and that they carry a killer theme throughout.  We stompin' on them bugs and goin’ on a rampage!  Watch out!”
 
The planets have aligned perfectly for the release of the Kottonmouth Kings’ new studio album, “Long Live The Kings”, which coincides with the counterculture pot-smoking holiday observed each April 20th.

T-Pain DJ'ing at Play in Miami, Florida


T-Pain DJ'ing at Play in Miami, Florida

The Understudies' "Collective Compliments 3.5" Mixtape


 From The Understudies:

"aboveGround Magazine - The Understudies crew is like a fine-tuned machine, having put out a barrage of 8 albums in just under 2 years of existence. Don't let their youth fool you, these guys have taken the West Coast by force, touring with the Bay Area greats: Hiero, Legends, Shapeshifters and more. Collective Compliments 3.5 Mixtape is your chance to act like you've been bumping The Understudies since day 1. Enjoy."

Click here to download aboveGround Magazine x The Understudies - CC3.5 (Mixtape)

www.understudiescrew.com

Sole Leaves Anticon


"Today, with a heavy heart I end 11+ years of working with anticon. In the early days of the label, anticon was a pet project of mine, a life-long dream. We fulfilled the dream of a collectively run record label and put out many great records and stood as an image of defiance against the music industry. Those memories, I will always have and be proud of. Sadly, those times are gone, and I need to live in the present as I prepare for the future."

Read the full statement at http://www.soleone.org/main/?p=227 .

The (W)rap Up - Week of February 2, 2010


Dillon + Paten Locke :: Studies In Hunger
Domination Records
Author: Steve 'Flash' Juon

"Last time around, Atlanta resident Dillon served up a "Southern Scramble" mixtape to feed those hungry for rap with underground grit and a little bit more heat. He was on the right track but with limited distribution not many people got to savor the flavor, but as luck would have it his skills in the kitchen got him noticed by people in higher places. Enter Domination Records - perennially hungry for dope hip-hop and looking to showcase the best chefs in the underground. Dillon didn't necessarily need a partner to help him cook, but I don't think it hurts him to find a likeminded heat seeker looking to blow up the spot with food that's hot. Enter Paten Locke. What do you get when all of these forces collide? A new cookbook called "Studies In Hunger"

http://www.rapreviews.com/feature.html

AC :: 9/11 In Retrospect - AC's Memoirs :: Rare Unlimited
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"AC's "New Soul Remix" came my way due to the recommendation of a good friend, and his reinterpretation of the Yael Naim song made famous by an Apple commercial struck me as witty and hip. AC even parodied various Apple promo materials in a Steven Tapia video based on the song. When I got back to my advice giving friend he recommended another AC download for me to check out: "9/11 In Retrospect - AC's Memoirs." Even though I went ahead and grabbed the zip file right away (why not the shit was free) I had a hard time with actually unzipping it to listen. To me it swung the pendulum too far in the other direction - I had just gravitated towards AC as a lighthearted, humorous rapper and here he was rapping about one of the most somber and shocking events of my lifetime. Even though after eight years I thought I was over it, the truth is, I'll never be over it. I stood right in front of the Twin Towers back in 1999, looking up in awe at the brash and bold statement they made not only for New York City but capitalism worldwide. Never did I imagine they'd pancake into a smoldering pile two years later with thousands of innocent people buried underneath. It will haunt me my entire life.  "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_02_911retrospect.html

Chosen Few :: New World Symphony :: Hiero Imperium Records
as reviewed by Patrick Taylor 

"Chosen Few is a group made up of rapper Cold Showda, rapper/saxophonist Charles "Chop" Cooper, and beatmaker Unjust. All three are originally from Ohio, but came to the Bay Area separately to work and make music. After going at it solo for a while, they decided to join forces as Chosen Few. "New World Symphony" is their first album. Chosen Few are on the Hieroglyphics label, home to Souls of Mischief, Del, Casual, Prince Ali, and Opio. They are the conscious end of Bay Area hip hop, in contrast to the street rap coming out of neighboring labels like Thizz. Chosen Few continue the Hieroglyphics tradition with their jazzy beats and uplifting lyrics. They bring to mind Brooklynatti rappers Tanya Morgan, who also look to early 90s hip hop for inspiration. The beats are all provided by Unjust, but he mixes it up and the album never feels monotonous or samey. He knows how to keep it funky: he does Bay funk on "Heartbeat," space funk on "King Kong," and laid-back funk on ""Can't Stand Still." Chop contributes his sax skills to create some stellar jazz rap on "Few Are Chosen," "The People," and the instrumental "The People Reprise." Unjust also experiments with different sounds, doing some uptempo dance rap on "Knock Knock," incorporating rock elements on "Elevation," and building hook around an acoustic guitar on "Ride."

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_02_newworldsymphony.html

Komp'l :: Tunnel Vision :: Gemstars
as reviewed by Susan 'susiQ' Kim

"A sense of style and a sense of passion lives through a solid rapper. NY's Divine "Komp'l Thomas has lived and breathed hip hop ever since he was young. Komp'l was fortunate enough to catch a break in a private show at the ever-so-popular Apollo Theater and caught the attention of Melle Mel and Afrika Bambaataa. With the support of friends and family, Komp'l only grew in his career through the years while taking into consideration his love for individuality and fashion. With this in mind, Komp'l has been featured in a Japanese Magazine for his fashion sense and fresh new look. Komp'l debuts with a fourteen track mixtape and features production from Gemstars producers Marv, Bobby, and Majestic. After long hours, countless re-recording of tracks, and cooperation from the whole team, "Tunnel Vision" attempts to defy the rules of hip hop and make an impression on the music industry. With his skills and production, Komp'l ensures his music "has the power to bump in the club as well as appeal to true hip hop fans because of the wordplay.""

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_02_komptunnelvision.html

RJD2 Mix (iPhone App Review)
Posted by Steve Juon at Tuesday, February 2nd, 2010 at 12:00AM :: Email this articlePrint this article  ::

"It should come as no surprise that more and more artists and record labels are embracing the iPhone and iPod Touch as a new means of marketing themselves to today's generation of heads who are either covertly or overtly electronic geeks. In December we took a look at the Delicious Vinyl DJ application, and now to kick off February 2010 we're taking a look at the RJD2 Mix application to see whether or not it's something you'll want to throw down $2.99 for! RJD2 Mix is a bit obtuse at the start, as you're offered the screen pictured at the right with no explanation what you should do next. Fortunately it's a loading screen so if you simply do nothing a menu pops up with one big blue button in the middle that says Start To Mix, and well below it you are offered three other non-game options: RJD2 on Twitter, RJD2 on iTunes and More Touch Mix - the latter being a whole series of iPhone app made by Future Audio Workshop similar to this one. In the press release accompanying this game FAW says that "RJD2's iPhone remix app finally (gives) fans and tinkerers alike the chance to experience a bit of what it sounded like in RJ's studio as he worked on upcoming LP The Colossus." That's a bit daunting given RJ has to have tens of thousands of dollars of equipment in his studio - how could a $2.99 touch screen app possibly even come close to reproducing that?"

http://www.rapreviews.com/news/View.php?ArticleID=1847

Strong Arm Steady :: In Search of Stoney Jackson :: Stones Throw Records
as reviewed by Matt Jost

"Stones Throw makes it happen. A Strong Arm Steady album. Some would say another Strong Arm Steady album, but apparently the group regarded "Deep Hearted" more as a compilation than a proper album. Their long-intended debut "Arms & Hammers" still awaiting a release, "In Search of Stoney Jackson" it is, then. The initial idea behind Strong Arm Steady was to create a movement of MC's who wouldn't conform to industry stereotypes. Regardless of whether that notion was called for or not, or its implementation successful or not, the set-up of SAS remains the same. The core members seem to have been reduced to Phil Da Agony and Krondon, but other Strong Armers were readily available, among them Mitchy Slick, even tough he was expected to be a more active member. Think of them as a loose collective that reps the West Coast without any prefix to their brand of rap. "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_02_stoneyjackson.html

Why? :: One Dark Eskimo Remixes :: anticon
as reviewed by Steve 'Flash' Juon

"I find myself in the odd position of reviewing an EP of remixes from an album called "Eskimo Snow" that I've not even heard. Perhaps that's for the better though as the artist in question ends up being a question with no good answer. WHY? There's no doubt Jonathan 'Yoni' Wolf is a creative and artistic individual, but his art really doesn't have any hip-hop appeal. He's not rhyming, he's not even singing rhymes a la T-Pain or Kanye West, he's just singing - singing weird folksy pop tunes that probably appeal to people who like Live, Blur or Incubus. If that's your cup of tea, fine. I'm not hating on your choices, I'm just stating (perhaps somewhat emphatically) it's not USUALLYAlopecia" was my ears. If you want to know how Why? got a second chance under the circumstances, I can honestly say I took this EP on for review for two reasons - the short length promised not to offend me (too much) and all of these tracks were specially remade by noted producer Amp Live. Now this too is slightly problematic because I was not a fan of Amp's "Gary Is a Robot" release, but his work for other artists like Zion I had been to my liking in the past." mine. Why? was marketed to me as an album from the anticon label's core, and that core was at one time hip-hop's bleeding edge. The only thing that bled when I listened to "

http://www.rapreviews.com/archive/2010_02_darkeskimoremixes.html


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 21st, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out the 5 rappers to follow on Tumblr article, Akrobatik's "Built to Last," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #296, MarQ Spekt and Blockhead's "JustPlayWitIt," Saigon's "G.S.N.T.3. - The Troubled Times of Brian Carenard," Smoke DZA & 183rd's "Ringside EP," T.I.'s "Paperwork" (our featured review), Vince Staples' "Hell Can Wait," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 14, 2014 and Ray West & O.C.'s "Ray's Cafe." Please note the Vince Staples review is the debut of new staffer Clara Wang. Big up Clara!!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: A-Hi - "Oh My". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive