Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Thursday July 24, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[In Transit] Constantly moving forward!

Muneshine Review

Latest News Headlines
Queens MC Spectacula Pitches Curveball


From Melanie J:

Queens MC Spectacula Pitches Curveball

First taste of new Mixtape


Hailing from Queens Village, New York, young rhyme thrower Spectacula shakes the foundation of what fans are accustomed to hearing, and heaves them the curveball they've been desperately waiting for with his instant playback song, Uh Oh. While a large percentage of artists are scared of leaving their comfort zone, Spec shows his versatility by being able to rock over an infectious track that would leave others baffled in the booth.    

Having opted to take the mixtape path to secure his name on the Hip-Hop wall of fame, Spectacula has constantly delivered solid project after project and his impending release is no different. And this effort is no different in content, just a little different in its creation which Spectacula explains here " The whole creative and recording process was like nothing I've done before; for Classical Muzik & Unexclusively Exclusive I wrote the bulk of the lyrics and picked the beats out before the recording process even began but every track for There's Always an Alternative was written in no more than a hour before recording and the whole project was completed in 3 days."

Uh Oh is the first track from Spectacula's up and coming mixtape There's Always an Alternative which sees him deliver a myriad of verses over some of the most respected and recognized tracks from artists deemed 'alternative.' Borrowing the musical scenery from artists such as The Verve, Santigold and the Ting Tings, Spectacula displays an undeniable ability to succumb to any melodic environment he finds himself in.

There's Always an Alternative will be available for download on April 14th

TO DOWNLOAD UH OH PLEASE CLICK BELOW
* http://www.sendspace.com/file/lak7xi *

* http://www.mediafire.com/?tdniujzv5m5 *

Baron Von Alias Presents Timepiece


From Melanie J:

Baron Von Alias Presents Timepiece

Lead off single P.H.O.N.E.Y ft Frank n Dank


UK MC Baron Von Alias steps into an over saturated profession, and stands out to the point where it would make even the Queen of England proud. Introducing himself with the instant crowd-pleaser P.H.O.N.E.Y featuring J Dilla associates Frank N Dank, this newcomer is sure to put a much-needed twist on the humdrum world of Hip-Hop.

P.H.O.N.E.Y is the lead off track from the Myspace Featured Artist's impending release Timepiece that will be available from Monday April 27th through BurnBlockBeats. The thirteen track opus which boasts collaborations from Detroit's very own Guilty Simpson and Slum Village star T3 as well as Melanie Rutherford and Butta Verses is a solid introduction to one of the United Kingdom's most promising lyricists.

"The features on Timepiece really enthusiastic about being part of it, which was great as they were all the artists I looked up to and respected for there own music, so to work with them and make our own tracks was a great feeling," explains the Baron on the chosen ones he sought out to accompany him on this lyrical offering. "Baron is something new, exactly what the game needs. I look forward to more work in the future!" - Guilty Simpson

Embedded with the sounds of Khrysis, OH NO, Dom P, Steesh and Arhat, Timepiece is an insight into the intricate workings of the mind of a Time Lord who has found himself catapulted from the early 1800's to the present day.

Baron Von Alias is insistent that his renditions of every day life are what will set him apart from the stereotypical British MC. "I don't talk about violence, drugs or drink as that's not what I'm about, I talk about real life situations that we all go through, and make reference to the tales from my journeys through time I have experienced, the way I only know how."

Displaying an understanding of both the current musical climate and just what his fan base expect from him, Baron Von Alias is confident that Timepiece is an album to make a difference as well as encourage his existence as one of the major players in UK Hip-Hop.

Tracklisting
1.      Timepiece
2.      Here and Now feat Guilty Simpson
3.      Choices
4.      P.H.O.N.E.Y feat Frank n Dank
5.      Kids of Apocalypse
6.      The Sun Might Shine Tomorrow
7.      The Revelation of a Stressed Out World
8.      Retrosentative feat Butta Verses
9.      Don't Cry for Me
10.    Goodbye feat T3 and Melanie Rutherford
11.    The Baron
12.    Ghosts
13.    Memoirs of the Baron

Amaru Entertainment Files Countersuit Over Tupac Biopic


From Versa Manos:

AMARU ENTERTAINMENT
FILES COUNTERSUIT AGAINST
MORGAN CREEK PRODUCTIONS
OVER RIGHTS TO TUPAC BIOPIC


Tupac's Estate Seeks Millions in Damages for Interference with Economic Benefit and Deceit

Amaru logo LOS ANGELES, CA - Lawyers for Amaru Entertainment filed a cross-complaint against Morgan Creek Productions and James Robinson, Don Hardison and LT Hutton, individuals involved in Morgan Creek's executive affairs. The cross-complaint was filed in the Los Angeles Superior Court on Monday, March 16, 2009.    .
 
Morgan Creek filed suit against Amaru Entertainment last month, alleging that the company had "backed out of negotiations" and was currently "refusing to honor and perform a contract of a production of the film based on the life of Tupac Shakur."  In actuality, there was never a legally binding document; nothing was ever signed and key deal terms were never agreed upon.  Morgan Creek threatened other production companies and movie studios, alleging that it "owned" the rights to the Tupac picture when it didn't, effectively killing any other deal Amaru could have made for the picture. Amaru Entertainment now seeks damages for Morgan Creek's lawsuit and their interference in the company's business.
 
Skip Miller of Miller Barondess, LLP in Los Angeles, attorney for Amaru Entertainment, says: "The Morgan Creek lawsuit is heavy-handed interference with the Tupac movie.  It has no merit whatsoever.  Our cross-complaint is going to result in Morgan Creek having to pay millions in compensatory and punitive damages for harming our business."

Grand Puba Signs With Babygrande Records


From Babygrande Records:

BRAND NUBIAN VETERAN GRAND PUBA
SIGNS WITH BABYGRANDE RECORDS
FOR "RETROACTIVE"


For Immediate Release

Hip-Hop legend and founding member of the seminal group Brand Nubian,
Grand Puba announces his signing with indie powerhouse Babygrande
Records for the release of his fourth solo album, "Retroactive"
on June 23, 2008.

Grand Puba has been a crucial participant in the hip-hop movement since
its early days. Originally a member of the group Masters of Ceremony, he
became the lead emcee of the New Rochelle-based Brand Nubian in 1989.
Although their upbeat music and positive lyrics tied them strongly to the
Native Tongues movement (De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest etc.) Brand
Nubian's politics and religion were always at the forefront of their music,
paving the way for groups like Dead Prez, RZA & GZA (of Wu-Tang), Black
Star, Brother Ali & countless others.

As a solo artist, Grand Puba has been extremely successful as well. Many
consider both his release of "Reel 2 Reel," ('92) and "2000" ('95) to be
classics. In 1998, he reunited with Brand Nubian for "Foundation" and in
2004 for "Fire In The Hole" on Babygrande. With the forthcoming
"Retroactive" release, Grand Puba once again returns to his trademark
style--brilliant lyrics, socio-political themes and a smooth laid-back delivery.
Grand Puba's flow is as refined as ever, his beat selection top-notch, and
the finished project promises to fill a much needed void in hip-hop, at a time
when positive, progressive and upbeat messages are sorely needed in the
world. "Grand Puba is the father to so many styles in hip-hop. Its good to
have him back--the game needs him. We have a great relationship with
Brand Nubian and we had so much success with Lord Jamar's solo release
in 2006 that it only makes sense to keep it in the family," says Chuck Wilson
Babygrande's CEO.

Grand Puba
"Retroactive"
In Stores June 23rd, 2009
Babygrande Records

Themseves Drop theFREEhoudini Mixtape for Free Download


For Immediate Release:
    
THEMSELVES drop theFREEhoudini mixtape for FREE download today, playing SXSW, plus updated tour dates

FoF vol 1 press

DOWNLOAD - theFREEhoudini mixtape - http://www.anticon.com/thefreehoudini/ .

PRE-ORDER - deluxe CD edition of theFREEhoudini mixtape - https://store.anticon.com/item.php?code=abr0095 .

Themselves
theFREEhoudini
(Anticon)
Dropping March, 2009
Featuring:
Aesop Rock
WHY?
Busdriver
DJ Baku
Buck 65
Alias
D Styles
Sole
Serengeti
Pedestrian
Slug
Passage
The Lionesque


Themselves

Anticon is proud to present the newest addition to the Themselves catalog, a 39-minute-long free album of sorts, theFREEhoudini. Featuring guest appearances from Buck 65, Aesop Rock, Busdriver, Lionesque, Slug of Atmosphere, D-Styles, DJ Baku, Pedestrian, Sole, Serengeti, and Yoni Wolf and Odd Nosdam as cLOUDDEAD (not to mention the whole entire mixtape being mixed down by Nosdam as well), theFREEhoudini serves as Doseone and Jel's return, posse record that never was, and contribution to the mixtape medium circuit so tied to hip hop's history.

To provide another incentive for signing up and downloading, Themselves will be giving away a one-of-a-kind piece of art created by Doseone, which serves as the original drawing from an inside panel of the limited deluxe CD version of theFREEhoudini's artwork - view it here.

This download will be hosted for free for 90 days. For more information regarding the limited and numbered deluxe CD version (which contains an additional 16 minutes of audio and guest appearances from Passage, Alias, and Fog's DJ Andrew), click here. It is now up for pre-order. theFREEhoudini deluxe version will also find it's way to digital retailers soon for a similar bargain/EP price.

***

Themselves, the Bay area duo of Doseone and Jel (both also key members of the group Subtle), have returned from a six year hiatus with a flurry of activities and releases planned for 2009.   It's no mistake that this resurrection comes hot on the heels of the Anticon label's tenth anniversary - Themselves have long been one of the label's flagship groups.

First up for Themselves is a tour, including stops this week at SXSW and Coachella in April. In August 2009 Themselves will drop its third official full-length album, CrownsDown which Dose refers to as such - "CrownsDown is our statue - to rap as it reered us - and the arch and arrow, of what it is to be us, in a decade of music made and the temperature of these two thousands." It's also worth pointing out that theFREEhoudini mixtape and CrownsDown will be the 19th and 20th releases of Doseone's career, respectively.


THEMSELVES TOUR

03/18 @ 3:35pm - Red 7 - Force Field PR & Terrorbird SXSW Blowout!
03/18 @ 1am - Mohawk / Anticon & Ghostly
03/19 @ 4:15pm - Beauty Bar / Bay Bridged Bay Area Takeover
03/19 @ 6pm - Smokin Music (DJ sets in between bands)
03/20 @ 3:45pm - Sidebar / Park The Van & Partisan & Knitting Factory
03/25 St. Louis, MO Firebird
03/26 Chicago, IL Empty Bottle
03/27 Pontiac, MI Pike Room
03/28 Toronto, ON Sneaky Dee's
03/29 Montreal, QC Club Lambi
04/01 Boston, MA Great Scott
04/02 Princeton, NJ Terrace F Club H
04/03 Brooklyn, NY Union Pool
04/04 New York, NY Studio at Webster Hall
04/06 Philadelphia, PA The Barbary
04/07 Washington, DC DC9
04/08 Blacksburg, VA The Lantern
04/09 Atlanta, GA 529
04/10 Birmingham, AL BottleTree
04/11 Baton Rouge, LA Spanish Moon
04/14 Austin, TX Mohawk
04/16 Phoenix, AZ Rhythm Room
04/19 Indio, CA Coachella

th

THEMSELVES LINKS: MySpace - http://www.myspace.com/themselves, Press Materials - http://www.anticon.com/pr/themselves.htm .
Where Will We Go Now?


With Virgin announcing the closing of all of its Megastores across the country, the FYE in Fairfield packing up its things and calling it a day, and Tower, Sam Goody and Nobody Beats the Wiz nothing more than distant memories, true old-school music consumers have a quandary on their hands — where the heck are we going to go now?

Read the full story at:  http://www.fairfieldweekly.com/article.cfm?aid=12131

Hip-Hop Shop #24 - DRUNK FITTY!


Every week Hip-Hop Shop is the precursor to K4D on Sunday nights! This week we're establishing a recurring segment we like to call DRUNK FITTY where you ask the questions and we get advice over the phone from a liquored up Fitty Sent. (Any similarities to the real 50 Cent are purely coincidental and/or parodic in nature). We've also got new songs from Ali Vegas, Saint, Kero One and more! Tune in every Sunday at 9:30 PM EST, 8:30 Central via blogtalkradio.com/angrymarks and if you miss the live show be sure to look for the replay here on RapReviews or via our sponsor thecancerandmrob.com. The shows are 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com. Enjoy!

Download Here (right click to save)

The Adam B Experience (ABX) Podcast #14!


The Adam B Experience

Adam B: "Nine new songs AND a story involving Adam B and Kim Kardashian? This is one episode that is not to be missed! Hit me up with feedback at AdamB@RapReviews.com." The Adam B Experience is 100% PODSAFE and TOTALLY FREE for listeners at RapReviews.com - no worries about downloading or sharing this show. Tell your friends to check out the freshness of ABX right here at RapReviews.com!

Download Here (right click to save)

Top $ Raz - Hip-Hop's New Heir to the Throne


Growing up in Far Rockaway, Queens, Top $ Raz knew how to rap before he even attended his first day of school. “My brother used to blast Hip-Hop music all day long,” he remembers, “and if I didn’t learn the words to Biggie I would be exiled out the room.” A pretty rough sentence for a kid who was only six at the time, but it was that influence that not only led him to Hip-Hop, but to some very specific types of Hip-Hop. Top $ Raz explains, “my brother made sure I valued and understood the essence of the music and never let me get into the cookie cutter stuff.” While in second grade, when he was just learning how to write, Top $ Raz penned his first rhyme and he hasn’t looked back since. This week I caught up with him to find out more about the depth and diversity of his work, where he gets his incredible stage presence, and the inspiration behind his video for “King.”

Read the full interview at: http://adambernard.blogspot.com/2009/03/artist-of-week-top-raz.html

Bronze Nazareth Given WWE-Style Release From Babygrande


From Babygrande Records:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
March 13th, 2009

BABYGRANDE DROPS WU-TANG AFFILIATES BRONZE NAZARETH, ALMIGHTY & THE WISEMEN

After many years of working with Wu-Tang affiliates Bronze Nazareth, The Wisemen and most recently Almighty, Babygrande has chosen not to exercise its contractual options with these respective artists for future albums.  "All of those artists made great records but unfortunately sales were below expectations and none of their projects were profitable. I wish them the best of luck in their future endeavors," says Chuck Wilson, Babygrande's CEO.


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 22nd, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Adam Bernard's Princess Superstar interview, Dan-e-o's "Inevitable," a new editorial on mixtapes, Frankenstein's "The Science of Sound," Gangsta Boo & La Chat's "Witch," Husalah x Blanco's "Tortoise and the Hare," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #280 and UFC Founder Art Davie interview, Muneshine's "In Transit" (our featured review) and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 15, 2014!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Audio: Kool Keith & Rah Digga - "Non Stop". RapReviews.com also recommends Raw Reaction from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive