Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Friday October 31, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Run the Jewels 2] Don't cry.

Run the Jewels Review

Latest News Headlines
Enemy Soil & Babygrande Announce New Jedi Mind Tricks' AOTP LP


From Enemy Soil & Babygrande Records:

For Immediate Release
February 3rd, 2010

Enemy Soil and Babygrande Records are proud to announce the upcoming release of the new Army of the Pharaohs album: Jedi Mind Tricks Presents "Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror" on March 30th, 2010. After 8 years of close partnership and hundreds of thousands of albums sold with Babygrande Records, Jedi Mind Tricks is proud to be releasing "Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror" on their own label, Enemy Soil, in a unique partnership with Babygrande.

The Unholy Terror is a return to form for true Jedi Mind Tricks and Army Of The Pharaohs fanatics. AOTP, the ever-evolving crew of Hip Hop’s heaviest hitters, is the culmination of a vision devised by Jedi Mind Tricks’ frontman Vinnie Paz. Initiated over twelve years ago, the group (following in the long-standing tradition of crews like Wu-Tang and The Juice Crew) has thrived for over a decade. Past members and contributors have included Bahamadia, Chief Kamachi, 7L, Virtuoso, Shuko, and Undefined, to name a few. With two full-length albums and a slew of singles under their collective belt, AOTP has established itself as the premier collective of diverse MCs showcasing viciously precise and dynamic skills. Lead by the inimitable Paz, AOTP is a reflection of the volatile MC’s staunch belief in the tradition of Hip hop’s most sacred tenets and aesthetics. Individually the styles of the Pharaohs compliment each other, ranging from strictly lyrical to bloodthirsty battle rhymes, all fused within a construct based on energy and sonic power.

"The Unholy Terror," delivers the same disemboweling brand of hard-core boom-bap and battle rhyming that this veteran crew is known for. Constant touring through Europe and the United States has primed the outfit for their third full-length release. As tradition dictates, the new face of the unit is comprised of a potent arsenal of formidable MCs and producers. It is a unique mixture of Philadelphia’s best home-grown talent and outside affiliations, with verses from the likes of like Vinnie Paz, Outerspace, Reef the Lost Cauze, Des Devious, Demoz, Doap Nixon, Jus Allah, King Magnetic and King Syze teaming up with Apathy, Celph Titled, Esoteric, Block McCloud and Journalist. The Pharaohs’ sound is guided by the deft hands of well-known and heavily respected beat-makers like Philly’s own DJ Kwestion, while Apathy and Celph also show their production chops on this album. Contributions also come from producers Vanderslice, Crown, Undefined, DC the Midi Alien, Grand Finale, Hypnotist, JBL the Titan and MTK.

With their continuing success, the last few years have seen new and debut solo efforts from various group members, but now, they throw their lots in together again, to give the fans what they have been craving. The Unholy Terror continues on in the same vein as AOTP’s earlier efforts: epic, grimy beats and raw rhymes. Having spent their entire existence as a self-contained unit, AOTP exhibits a tightness and a complexity that only comes with years of crafted experience. Once again the Army proves itself to be more than the sum of its parts. Seasoned by the road and their respective careers outside AOTP, the members return with focused intensity to what has become more than just a collection of rappers: it is now a tradition.

CHECK OUT THE FIRST TWO TRACKS OFF THE ALBUM NOW!

Contra Mantra Featuring Crypt The Warchild, Esoteric & Celph Titled



Godzilla Featuring Celph Titled, Jus Allah, Apathy, Planetary, King Magnetic & Vinnie Paz

CHECK OUT UPCOMING TOUR DATES:
3/24/10 – New Haven, CT – Toad’s Place
3/25/10 – Providence, RI – Jerky’s
3/26/10 – Northampton, MA – Pearl Street
3/27/10 – Buffalo, NY – Mohawk Place
3/28/10 – Cleveland, OH – Grog Shop
4/1/10 – Madison, WI – The Annex
4/2/10 – Chicago, IL – Subterranean
4/3/10 – St. Louis, MO – Firebird
4/8/10 – Louisville, KY – Uncle Pleasant’s
4/9/10 – Pittsburgh, PA – Diesel
4/10/10 – West Chester, PA – The Note
4/13/10 – Richmond, VA – Canal Club
4/14/10 – Greensboro, NC – Greene Street Club
4/15/10 – Atlanta, GA – Masquerade (Hell Room)
4/16/10 – Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
4/17/10 – Washington, DC – 9:30 Club

Jedi Mind Tricks Presents...
"Army Of The Pharaohs: The Unholy Terror"
Enemy Soil / Babygrande Records
Available in Stores And Online March 30th, 2010

* www.jmthiphop.com *
* www.armyofthepharaohs.com *
* www.enemysoil.com *
* www.babygrande.com *

Rolling Stone Cover Story: Lil Wayne Goes to Jail


Weezy Rolling Stone Cover From Rolling Stone:

“I don’t like to stop,” Wayne tells RS‘ Chris Norris. “I believe you stop when you die.” So in the weeks before he reports to Rikers Island, Wayne is keeping busy — recording tracks bound for Tha Carter IV (the album Cash Money staffers call “C4″ because it’ll be the bomb), shooting videos with his Young Money protégés, spending time with his growing family, and deliberately not asking anyone for advice about life on the inside. “This is Lil Wayne going to jail. Nobody I can talk to can tell me what that’s like,” he says. “I just say I’m looking forward to it.”

Read more of the article on the Rolling Stone website

Mello Music Signs Boog Brown & Apollo Brown, Forming New Duo UPS


From Audible Treats:

(February 3, 2010 - Brooklyn, NY) Newly signed Mello Music artist Boog Brown and producer Apollo Brown join forces to form UPS with their forthcoming album The Brown Study LP, due for release in the summer of 2010. In anticipation of their debut Boog Brown is releasing a mixtape entitled The Grind Season Vol. 1.

The Brown Study LP will be the debut release from UPS, comprising Atlanta-based emcee Boog Brown and hip-hop producer Apollo Brown. Recently signed to Mello Music Group, the two artists joined forces to create an album that Boog describes as "the most vulnerable" she has ever been musically. Due for release in the summer of 2010, The Brown Study LP will showcase the truth, confidence, style, and strong sense of hip-hop integrity that UPS represent.

In anticipation of the UPS album, Boog Brown entices fans with a taste of things to come on her latest mixtape The Grind Season Vol. 1. A collection of music from the Atlanta-based artist, this latest project features production from Illastrate, Lex Boogie, 14KT and appearances from staHHr, Fluxwonda of Binkis Recs, and Mojo Swagger. "Grind Season is a state of being," says Boog on the meaning behind the mixtape's title. "Every day you must grind for your vision. Mine is making honest music." Tracks on the mixtape, including "Grind Season," "Anymode," and "The Essence" serve as perfect examples of Boog's smooth flow and propensity for delivering strong rhymes over laid-back beats. It's all the reassurance you need that, as Boog herself says, "The Boys Club is non-existent to me."

Boog Brown - The Grind Season Vol. 1:
http://www.zshare.net/download/72097194475defa0/

Source: Audible Treats

Party Boyz "Flex" Video Debuts on 106 & Park TONIGHT at 6 PM


The Party Boyz "Flex" video debuts on 106 & Park TONIGHT at 6 PM, but you don't have to wait until then to watch it - we've got it right 'chea!

Video - 950 Plus & A.G. of D.I.T.C. - Bronx Bound


From J.O. at Tha Ave:

Video - 950 Plus & A.G. of D.I.T.C. - Bronx Bound

DaVinci - "Real N*ggaz Remix" Feat. Kaz Kyzah And ROD


From Audible Treats:

DaVinci - "Real N*ggaz Remix" Feat. Kaz Kyzah And ROD

As DaVinci Prepares Debut Album, The Fillmore Native Teams With Fellow Bay Area Artists For New Track

The Song:

As DaVinci continues to prepare for the March 9th release of his official debut album, The Day The Turf Stood Still, the rising Fillmore talent is dropping another pre-album song, "Real N*ggaz." Featuring a guest verse Kaz Kyzah, formerly one half of the duo The Team along with Clyde Carson, as well as production from up-and-coming Gary, Indiana beatsmith Kris Styles and singer ROD. The message of the song, drawing from the track's title, finds DaVinci and his fellow artists speaking on character issues. But rather than petty finger-pointing, in DaVinci's own style, he spends his verses in lyrical confrontation against, as he calls it, "The saturation of superficial, dishonest, and redundant content in the streets, media, and politics." DaVinci's lyrics contrast the beat's soul sample, as the song combines sped up vocal samples and DaVinci's raspy baritone as he raps, "Since Jigga ain't my bigger brother, and 9th Wonder ain't my Little Brother/ I don't sit and wonder how I'm fin to get on/ I just shit on, the phlegm on, any track I spit on." Indeed, and with forthcoming videos and singles from The Day The Turf Stood Still on the way, if DaVinci's warning doesn't quite resonate yet... it will.

DaVinci's The Day The Turf Stood Still will be available for free download March 9th via SWTBRDS Creative Collective.

"Real N*ggaz Remix" Feat. Kaz Kyzah and ROD: http://media.audibletreats.com/DaVinci-Real_Niggaz_Remix_Feat_Kaz_Kyzah.mp3 .

The Background:

The Fillmore District has bred more rappers per capita than any other district in San Francisco, and although the older generations recall its rich musical history rooted in Jazz, the Fillmore today is rife with drugs, turf wars, and mass gentrification. DaVinci, a young MC raised in the Fillmore, is a prime example of the duality of this area, who at the age of 13 was homeless, hungry, and hopeful for a way out. Explains DaVinci, "My music has everything to do with my environment: from robbing, killing, pimpin' to selling and abusing drugs," he explains about his heavy content. "It's a direct reflection of what my friends and family have been through and are still going through." While his story is similar to many other young rappers upbringings, DaVinci was surrounded by an incredible pool of Fillmore talent and by studying with the greats, he was able to sharpen his skills and aim higher than most, cultivating his story-telling abilities beyond mere drug-and-gun-talk. Growing up in the same 10-block radius as Bay Area rap legends San Quinn and JT the Bigga Figga, DaVinci was content in merely watching the next generation follow in their footsteps, until he received overwhelming praise from his peers from a mixtape appearance, which then prompted him to pursue rap professionally. In 2006, San Quinn welcomed him onto the "Pressure Makes Diamonds Tour" with rap veterans Xzibit and Tech N9ne. Since the tour, DaVinci has kept busy appearing on numerous mixtapes and compilations, as well as preparing his official debut album, The Day The Turf Stood Still. The Day The Turf Stood Still will be available March 9, 2010 via SWTBRDS Creative Collective.

"Real N*ggaz Remix" Feat. Kaz Kyzah and ROD: http://media.audibletreats.com/DaVinci-Real_Niggaz_Remix_Feat_Kaz_Kyzah.mp3 .

Video montage: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icopGNwzXGg .

"Trickle Down" Prod. By Blunt: http://media.audibletreats.com/DaVinci-Trickle_Down_Prod_By_Blunt.mp3 .

"It's On Me" Prod. By Blunt: http://media.audibletreats.com/DaVinci-Its_On_Me_Prod_By_Blunt.mp3 .

Bio, pictures, and streams available here: http://www.audibletreats.com/download/davinci/ .

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/donjohnDaVINCI and http://www.twitter.com/sweetbreadscc .

Stylah - Pass Out Remix (Video & Download)


From 7Thirty Online:

Stylah - Pass Out Remix

Please post this to your Blog or Website!
Stylah Going in over the Tinie Tempah 'Pass Out' Instrumental.
Taken from Stylah's forthcoming project 'This is England'.

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=px9U3vMNdl0 *



Download http://usershare.net/bji524be6fgz DIRTY
Download http://usershare.net/cbxcd4gqhqb8 CLEAN

7Thirty Entertainment
Management and Online Marketing Specialists
Myspace: www.myspace.com/7thirtyentertainment .

Chamillionaire Drops "Major Pain" & Announces Paul Wall Tour


From Nancy B:

Houston, TX - I'm pretty sure it was the Rolling Stones who said, "You can't always get what ya want," and in the music business that certainly proves to be true more often than not. However, in the wake of the many Venom album release date push-backs, Chamillionaire decided to at least give his fans what they need; well, almost, in the form of Major Pain, an 18 track mixtape, which drops today.

Wait! I hear you say. Didn't Chamillionaire say he wasn't dropping mixtapes any longer? At least in the real sense? He did (refer back to first paragraph) but labels and laws being what they are, well, I'm going to let him tell it...

"I felt it was time to take it back to the original grind that made these major companies pay attention in the first place. I don't think there is any reason why any artist with real knowledge of independent hustle, should sit and wait for any major system to work for them, BUT, because I am signed to a major recording label, there are still a lot of things that I would like to be able to do, that I'm not really allowed to do. Politics in this business often stand between a creative mind and the grind but I'm gonna try my best to feed my fans without getting into too much trouble."

Major Pain went up on www.Chamillionaire.com a few weeks ago for pre-order and has already sold several thousand copies.

TRACKLISTING:

01. Warn You
02. Price of Failure
03. Ima Rep Texas
04  Feels good
05. I'm Reloaded          
06. All Black
07. Pursuit of Cream
08. Forgive you
09. Leanin'
10. No complaints
11. I'm Focused
12. Houston up High
13. Sittin on Chrome
14. Everybody Hates Snitch
15. Traingle Formation
16. Koopa Don't Care
17. Salute Your General
18. Story to Tell

Next on the agenda is a planned tour with Paul Wall with whom Cham enjoyed early independent success, releasing acclaimed albums such as "Get Ya Mind Correct" for which they were nominated for a Source Award for Best Independent Album. The tour kicks off with a South By Southwest headliner show in Austin on March 17th (Chamillionaire/Paul Wall, Trae Tha Truth, Dorrough, Chalie Boy and more) and includes stops in Flagstaff, Las Vegas, Tucson, Phoenix, Anaheim, Ventura, Los Angeles, Tulsa, Houston, Dallas, San Antonio, Denver, Albuquerque, Billings and Boise with more confirmed dates to be announced.

"The lack of marketing and promo budgets in a weak economy isn't gonna keep me from touring to different cities and releasing music to fans that still demand it. Thats why I decided to start the Major Pain series and tour with Paul. It's what the fans want."

Well, I guess you can get what you want... sometimes. Stay tuned for tour updates and venue information.

Random Says "Turn it Up" for J Dilla


From Random a/k/a Mega Ran:

in 2006, after hearing of Dilla's death of Lupus, not even 2 weeks before I released my first album The Call, I was pretty devastated. I dedicated the release party to J Dilla, and I called in some favors to help create a tribute mixtape. The tape was well received... by everyone...except the estate of J Dilla, who immediately hated on and squashed our efforts before we could sell it and try to contribute to Dilla's mounting financial woes and hospital bills...even going as far as sending C&D letters to my label, the distributor and venue where we had the release party... I guess with so much going on at the time, it was hard to decipher who's right and exact, and who's trying to stick the knife in your back, to quote myself...lol

Needless to say the whole situation left some bad tastes in everyone's mouths.

So, I've since kept this project under wraps and haven't mentioned it... until now. 4 years after its conception, if you haven't already peeped it, please check out The Dilla Project, featuring myself, DN3, the whole RAHM Nation crew, Ohmega Watts, J-Live, Rashid Hadee and more.

Turn it Up. (c) Dilla.

Download THE DILLA PROJECT: http://www.sendspace.com/file/su5c4d .
 
Experience the genius that is Jay Dee for yourself... and check out the new J-Dilla.com

Peace.

NFL & Hip Hop Stars Fight for Every Yard at Madden Bowl XVI


From Bottom Feeder Music:

NFL & Hip Hop Stars Fight for Every Yard at Madden Bowl XVI Championship 

Hip hop artist Game battles Chad Ochocinco of the Cincinnati Bengals in Madden NFL 10 on Xbox 360 to kick off Super Bowl XLIV weekend in South Florida. NFL Pro Bowl players Chris Johnson,  Patrick Willis,  DeMarcus Ware and more to face off in Madden Bowl XVI – with a special musical performance by The Game
 
LIVE PERFORMANCE BY THE GAME
 
MUSIC BY DJ MADLINX

* WHO: Game (The R.E.D. Album), WR Chad Ochocinco (Cincinnati Bengals), WR Percy Harvin (Minnesota Vikings), LB Patrick Willis (San Francisco 49ers), DE Jared Allen (Minnesota Vikings), RB Chris Johnson (Tennessee Titans), TE Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons), RB Maurice Jones-Drew (Jacksonville Jaguars), LB DeMarcus Ware (Dallas Cowboys), WR Brandon Marshall (Denver Broncos), WR DeSean Jackson (Philadelphia Eagles), OT Michael Oher (Baltimore Ravens), WR Reggie Wayne (Indianapolis Colts), QB Mark Sanchez (New York Jets), WR Andre Johnson (Houston Texans), DE Justin Tuck (New York Giants), WR Miles Austin (Dallas Cowboys)

(Participants subject to change)

* WHAT: Kicking off Super Bowl XLIV weekend in South Florida, hip hop artist Game and Cincinnati Bengal’s Chad Ochocinco will battle in an Xbox 360 championship for supremacy in Madden NFL 10. Following the first ever gaming match-up between a hip hop artist and an NFL player, Xbox 360 and EA SPORTS will host the 16th annual Madden Bowl, the only official Madden tournament featuring NFL’s brightest stars. Chad Ochocinco, Chris Johnson, Maurice Jones-Drew, DeMarcus Ware and more will go head-to-head in Madden NFL 10 on Xbox 360 in an eight-player, single elimination tournament.

* By the end of the night, seven NFL greats will be eliminated and one player will be left standing. After the champion is crowned, Game will deliver a special musical performance from his upcoming new album, The R.E.D. Album, at the Madden Bowl XVI Party. 

* Who will walk away with the coveted EA SPORTS Madden Bowl Cup and earn supreme bragging rights?

* In addition, media are welcome to a first look at the highly anticipated EA SPORTS MMA video game and interview opportunities with top STRIKEFORCE fighters, including world’s #1 ranked heavyweight Fedor Emelianenko, Gegard Mousasi, Frank Shamrock, Cung Le and others. (Fighters subject to change)

WHERE:  Clevelander Hotel
1020 Ocean Drive Miami Beach, Florida 33139

WHEN: Thursday – February 4, 2010
Media check in: 6:00 pm at the 10th Street entrance


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of October 28th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN new items for you! Check out Black Milk's "If There's a Hell Below," Blu's "Good to Be Home," an editorial on Charles Barkley, Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #297, Liotta's "Rap Music Heaven Is An Emcee's Hell," Logic's "Under Pressure," Rapsody's "The Beauty and the Beast," The Regiment x Random's "A Gamer's Anthem," Run the Jewels' "Run the Jewels 2" (our featured review) amd Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for October 21, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Cornell's Adler Hip-Hop Archive. RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive