Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Monday December 22, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[The Pinkprint] Did we dog her buns?

Wu-Tang Clan review

Latest News Headlines
Kero One's New Song "Asian Kids" f/ Tablo, Dumbfoundead


From PlugMusic:

Kero One's New Song "Asian Kids" f/ Tablo, Dumbfoundead

From his upcoming third album, Kero One is back with his first single, entitled "Asian Kids." Known for his laid back grooves and jazzy hip hop sounds, Kero One throws a curveball here, experimenting with a dark, syncopated beat, cinematic synths, and a sped up rap flow. "Asian Kids" features Tablo (front man of the Korean group Epik High), MYK, and Dumbfoundead, bringing together various rap styles to address the often controversial issues of Asians in America.

Kero One states, "I rarely hear anyone address these sort of issues in the media, much less in music recordings, so I thought I would gather all my favorite Asian artists and have them drop their two cents."

Kero One's third full length album entitled Kinetic World releases June 2010.

Tablo, Dumbfoundead, Myk introduce the song Asian Kids: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x4Y1EcbfFH4 .

Free EP: Oddisee - Odd Spring


From Michelle at Audible Treats:

Free EP: Oddisee - Odd Spring

Oddisee Releases His Fourth & Final Installment of "Odd Seasons" And Goes On Tour With Diamond District

As Oddisee of celebrated group Diamond District busies himself with a west coast tour, he is also getting ready to release the fourth and final installment of his season-themed series, Odd Spring via Mello Music Group. His first season-themed EP, Odd Summer, dropped in May 2009 starting Oddisee's way into his "Odd Seasons" series creating a large fan base for the producer/emcee. As he went through the seasons and the year, the unique concept of the series became more apparent to anyone listening. Coming to an end, Oddisee delivers another captivating theme to spring with buoyant beats and fitting lyrics. Download Odd Spring and the other seasons at Oddisee's bandcamp page. Now that Oddisee has offered all four seasons for free download to fans and supporters, the producer/emcee will be packaging all four seasons into an exclusive vinyl box set. The vinyl box set will be available for sale via Mello Music Group in the coming months. Catch Oddisee on tour with Diamond District this month. While a number of the dates have come and gone, fans out West still have the chance to catch Oddisse along with his group Diamond District over the coming days.

Download Odd Spring: http://oddisee.bandcamp.com/ .

Show Dates:

May 1 - Los Angeles, California - Oddisee @ Boom Box
May 2 - Riverside, California - Oddisee @
May 6 - Portland, Oregon - Diamond District & DJ Quartermaine @
May 9 - Seattle, Washington - Diamond District in-studio performance at 90.3FM KEXP 8:00 PM
May 9 - Seattle, Washington Diamond District @ Chop Suey
May 10 - Seattle, Washington - DJ Quartermaine @ Jetset
May 12 - Los Angeles - Diamond District, Trek Life & DJ Quartermaine guest appearance @ Low End Theory (Airliner)
May 13 - Pomona, California: Diamond District, Trek Life & DJ Quartermaine @ Cal Poly
May 14 - Los Angeles, California Diamond District & DJ Quartermaine @ Self Help Graphics & Art Center
May 15 - Los Angeles, California Diamond District & DJ Quartermaine @ Fats Beats (In Store)
May 27 - Toronto, OT - Oddisee @ Rivoli (Beat Lounge)

Traveling Man: http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/traveling-man/id348105642 .
Traveling Man vinyl: http://www.undergroundhiphop.com/store/detail.asp?=Oddisee-Traveling-Man-Mello-Music-Group&UPC=MEL007LP .
Traveling Man limited edition slimline: http://www.undergroundhiphop.com/store/detail.asp?=Oddisee-Traveling-Man-SLIMLINE-CASE-SPECIAL-UGHH.COM-PRE-RELEASE-Mello-Music-Group&UPC=MEL007CD .

Background:

Since producing and performing the hit track "Musik Lounge" for DJ Jazzy Jeff's Magnificent LP, Amir "Oddisee" Mohamed has pushed his involvement in the music industry into fifth gear. Taking advantage of working at A Touch of Jazz studios, Oddisee has incorporated the neo soul vibe of Philly into his eclectic and well-decorated resume. Coming from a diverse background, the half Sudanese, half African-American was blessed with musical talent from both sides of his family. Oddisee was influenced by the accomplished singers, guitarists, and poets on his Sudanese side, and on his American side, by the gospel singers, blue grass guitar players, and older cousins who gave him his first taste of hip-hop. Ironically, though, it was his Sudanese father that gave Oddisee the vinyl that fueled his passion for producing hip-hop music.

Since turning his focus towards hip-hop, Oddisee has worked with the likes of Gary Shider of Parliament and Funkadelic, DJ Jazzy Jeff, Talib Kweli, J-Live, Little Brother, Freeway, Flying Lotus, and many other respected recording artists. Now signed with Mello Music Group, Oddisee continues to be one of the hardest working producer/emcees in hip-hop, preparing to release an instrumental project, a solo project, a second Diamond District album, full album production for Finale, Trek LIfe, and Stik Figa, and is executive producing a handful of other projects. With his incredibly distinctive and mesmerizing style, Oddisee covers just about every sect of hip-hop music, creating a sound that is appealing to all music lovers. Born in Washington D.C. and raised in Maryland, Oddisee and his "Low Budget" crew, including such hip hop artists and producers as Kev Brown, Kenn Starr, and his group Diamond District (XO and yU) have already managed to leave their mark on the hip-hop community and the D.C. metropolitan area.

About Mello Music Group:

Like Lao Tzu in hip-hop, Mello Music Group provides music for the soul, from the heart of American culture, opening the realm of the intelligent hip-hop experience through melodic evocations, beats that corroborate the truth, and voices that roar above the rising void and impose order on the terrible & triumphant moments of everyday life. This is the compelling sound of Mello Music Group. Industry newcomer Michael Tolle founded MMG in 2007 and is acting Director of Operations. MMG will be releasing projects from Oddisee, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Kenn Starr, Finale, Trek Life, Dudley Perkins, Sareem Poems, and YU in 2010. http://www.myspace.com/mellomusicgroup .

Streams:

Odd Spring Mixtape download: http://oddisee.bandcamp.com/ .

The Stand Interview: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mY6QnuyoWM .

Video: Pitbull - "Freestyle 1997"


From Chris at Koch/E1 Entertainment:

Pitbull - "Freestyle 1997"

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=36rJAiAvsVs *

Hieroglyphics Crew to Release "The Valley Of Kings" Fine Art Piece


From James Dunn:

Hieroglyphics Crew To Release "The Valley Of Kings" Fine Art Piece

The Valley Of Kings web trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHsp9iQkl6U .
Behind the making of The Valley Of Kings: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psWt-dNKFYk&feature=related .
 
Hieroglyphics, the Oakland-based crew whose ubiquitous three-eyed logo and slew of Golden Era classics have a permanent place in every hip-hop fan’s heart, has teamed up with art collective WAIL (When Art Imitates Life) to create The Valley Of Kings, a series of 200 fine art portraits conceptualized by and featuring all Hiero members which will be made available to the public on May 28, 2010. Details on the piece will be released in the coming week, but it is said to use ancient Egyptian iconography as its stylistic base and features the entire nine-man crew. Valley will also be one of the first art pieces in history to utilize Chromadepth visual technology, and each piece in the series will come packaged with a pair of 3D glasses to allow owners to experience its full range. Each piece will also be signed by various members. “The piece is dope,” Souls Of Mischief’s Tajai says. “I love art. I love music. Music is art. And when they come together in a situation like this where they create something that’s considered high art, immortalizing a group like Hiero in that manner, it’s a good thing for music, and a good thing for history.”

For almost twenty years, Hieroglyphics has been one of hip-hop’s most beloved entities. The one-two punch of Del Tha Funkee Homosapien’s 1992 debut album I Wish My Brother George Was Here (Elektra) and Souls Of Mischief’s ’93 Til Infinity (Jive) introduced listeners to a new kind of West Coast rapper. In an era where gangsta rap was standard issue, Del, Casual, Opio, Tajai, A-Plus, Phesto, Domino and Pep Love offered music from ordinary people with extraordinary skills. Casual’s debut Fear Itself (Jive) and Del’s sophomore album No Need For Alarm, both released in 1994, were Hiero’s last major-label albums save for Souls of Mischief’s 1995 offering No Man’s Land before the crew made the decision to go fully independent, releasing their own albums and coordinating their own tours. 15 years later, that three-eyed logo is a global brand, and Hieroglyphics is one of the undisputed forefathers of the sound, the hustle, and the ideology of underground hip-hop. Their most recent release was last year’s Montezuma’s Revenge.

Valley Of Kings is the next release from When Art Imitates Life (WAIL), the brainchild of Sway of MTV, Tech of the World Famous Wake Up Show, and Los Angeles creativity house Scene Four. Previous releases from WAIL include collaboration pieces with RZA of the Wu-Tang Clan as well as Shavo of System Of A Down. Interested parties are encouraged to visit www.whenartimitateslife.com to sign up for exclusive information on The Valley Of Kings as it develops, as well as a chance to preview and reserve a piece in the highly limited collection before May 28.

Video: Kosha Dillz - "DooDoo"


From Matt Diamond:

Kosha Dillz - "DooDoo"

Kosha Dillz is pleased to present the 2nd video off his highly acclaimed album Beverly Dillz. On "DooDoo" (prod. by Belief), Kosha reunites with director Robbie Barclay, who also directed the album's first single, "Cellular Phone".  Check out the cameo's from Flex Mathews & Homeboy Sandman!

Video: Audible Doctor (BBAS) Thought of You f/ Kurious


From J57:

Audible Doctor (Brown Bag AllStars) – Thought of You f/ Kurious

This is a video snippet of The Audible Doctor featuring Kurious "Thought Of You" which will be on The Audible Doctor's new project coming soon!  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAquEL3UbqU

Thanks!

J57

--
Fat Beats NY • J57 of the Brown Bag AllStars

Gucci Mane Released From Jail


Gucci held a press conference outside the jail where he read a prepared statement. He was released from Fulton County Jail at around 12:15am.

First and foremost I would like to thank my legal counsel Dwight Thomas and Michael Holmes for their excellent representation, as well as my label Asylum and Warner Brothers Records for sticking with me through my situation and helping me through my time behind bars. Most importantly, I want to thank all of my fans for their support while I have been away. Your letters and your words of encouragement helped me make it through. None of my success would be possible without you.

I have made some mistakes in my life that have hurt a lot of people who care about me. I have worked very hard to get past them, but those mistakes have brought me to where I am today, and they will not be repeated. These past six months have been a difficult time but fortunately I have learned a great deal from my experience. I was able to do a great deal of soul searching; I am coming out with a new attitude towards life.

Unfortunately, my incarceration also came at a pivotal point in my career, just as my first major label album was dropping. I was forced to miss what should have been one of the proudest moments of my life. This is something that I will make sure never happens again. My time in jail was trying, but I grew from it and am now a stronger and better person. I want to continue on a positive track and truly focus on being a role model to my fans and my community. I am looking towards the future with a newfound respect and appreciation for the law and a strong dedication to my music and my career.

With that in mind, I have already begun to make positive strides towards the future. I have launched a new label, 1017 Brick Squad Records in affiliation with Asylum/Warner Bros Records, and I am working with a new team.

I am looking forward to getting back to business and to start making hits. I am extremely excited about my new album, The Appeal, which will be dropping at the end of the summer. Over the course of 2010, 1017 Brick Squad records will also be releasing albums from my artist Wacka Flocka Flame as well as my group Brick Squad, which features Wacka, OJ Da Juiceman and myself. In July, I will be heading out on a nationwide tour, hitting venues across the country and continuing the movement.

Source: MissInfo.tv

Pitbull Adds "Mr. Worldwide" Flavor to 2010 Hip Hop Honors


From Julio Trejo:

Pitbull Adds His "Mr. Worldwide" Flavor to VH1's 2010 Hip Hop Honors!

MONDAY, JUNE 7 AT 9PM ET/PT

Actor/Comedian Craig Robinson ("The Office") Will Host

Taped from NYC's Hammerstein Ballroom And Featuring Honorees Jermaine Dupri, J Prince of Rap-A-Lot Records, Luther "Luke" Campbell,

The 2 Live Crew, Master P and Organized Noize

Performances by Bun B, Lil Jon, Paul Wall, Pitbull, T-Pain and Trina

HipHop.VH1.com Launches Today

NEW YORK, NY, May 10, 2010 - Back for its 7th year, the "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors" will celebrate the achievements of hip hop with a little southern twist.  This year, the showwill celebrate the music, the influence and the artists from The South. Previously announced, Jermaine Dupri, J Prince of Rap-A-Lot Records, Luther "Luke" Campbell and The 2 Live Crew, Master P, and Organized Noize will be honored through performances in collaboration with some of today's hottest talent.  With performances by Bun B, Lil' Jon, Paul Wall, Pitbull, T-Pain and Trina, to name a few, generations of hip hop will bridge the gap for one exceptional night to set it off with the original style and flavor that sparked and inspired the evolution of this now global music phenomenon.  Additional talent will be announced soon. "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South" will tape from NYC's Hammerstein Ballroom and air on VH1 on Monday, June 7 at 9:00 PM ET/PT.

Making his debut as the host of "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors" is comedian/actor Craig Robinson, host of NBC's upcoming season of "Last Comic Standing" and star of "The Office" as well as the hit movies "Hot Tub Time Machine," "Pineapple Express," and  "Zack and Miri Make a Porno."  Craig joins the ranks of previous hosts of VH1's annual celebration which includes 3-time host Tracy Morgan, Vivica A. Fox and co-host MC Lyte who hosted the inaugural VH1 Hip Hop Honors show.

Previous celebrations have honored hip hop luminaries who broke new ground and propelled the genre into the true cultural phenomenon that it has become.  Last year's production celebrated the 25th anniversary of Def Jam records, the label that created the stars that pushed hip hop culture forward, including LL Cool J, Public Enemy, Jay-Z, Kanye West, Slick Rick, Rick Ross and Rihanna.  Rick Rubin, Russell Simmons, Lyor Cohen, Julie Greenwald, Bill Stephany, Kevin Liles and LA Reid were honored as the architects of the legendary label.

"2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South" is the first time that the show has honored a particular geographic region for its hip hop celebration.  The Southern style of music and its artists, have been significant on the NYC-born genre and helped to expand its appeal worldwide.

"In order to continue our efforts to honor the best in hip hop, it is so important that we recognize the South and the tremendous impact that it has had on hip hop music.  The southern experience is one that is unique to America and while filled with its own testimony of trials and triumphs, hip hop has served as a universal medium where the journey is shared.  Some of the most popular current hip hop artists are from The South. Our honorees opened the door for the southern story to be told, and it is one that continues to resonate with all people all over the world." said Lee Rolontz, Executive Vice President, Original Music Production and Development, VH1.

VH1 has launched its site dedicated to "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South" at HipHop.VH1.com with artist profiles, exclusive online programming, show information and more. The site also houses the Hip Hop Rally Machine, a tool that allows users to hype their favorite Dirty South artists and weigh in on who they want to see at the event by socially broadcasting their picks through Twitter and Facebook. A map of the US depicts real-time user activity from around the country by graphically displaying user messages. Performances and other video elements from the event will also be available at HipHop.VH1.com and on VH1 Mobile leading up to and following the on-air premiere of the show.

VH1.com's HipHop.VH1.com, Complex.com and MissInfo.tv have created an exclusive online content partnership for "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South". The three sites will feature the event leading up to, during and following the June 7 telecast in their own distinct way with artist interviews, show news and editorial features focused on this year's honorees and performers. Select content created by each site will be shared among the three sites and will be offered through a main content feed on HipHop.VH1.com. Additionally, Miss Info, Hot 97 radio personality and journalist will be the official "2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South" backstage host for online video interviews from the event. She will also be the video host for the event's live viewing party on HipHop.VH1.com, Complex.com and MissInfo.tv during the premiere of the show.

"2010 VH1 Hip Hop Honors: The Dirty South" is executive produced by Lee Rolontz for VH1 and Jac Benson for blacjac Entertainment. Louis J. Horvitz will direct.  Nelson George, Fab 5 Freddie and Keshia Williams are co-executive producers.

*All times ET/PT

VH1 connects viewers to the music, artists and pop culture that matter to them most with TV series, specials, live events, exclusive online content and public affairs initiatives. VH1 is available in 95 million households in the U.S. VH1 also has an array of digital channels and services including VH1Classic, VH1 Soul, VH1 Mobile and extensive video on VH1.com. Connect with VH1 at VH1.com.

Scarface's "Dopeman Music" in Stores Now


From Tonia Samman:

Scarface's "Dopeman Music" in Stores Now

Scarface’s Dopeman Music hit digital stores last week with a bang. The album, Scarface’s 12th full-length release, features 14 new tracks from the godfather of the South.

A couple of weeks ago Scarface released a free album preview on Amazon MP3. Now he’s released a second preview, just one week after the album became available digitally and nearly a month before its physical release date on June 1st.

See below to download the second official album preview and hear Dopeman Music.

Buy Scarface’s Dopeman Music at iTunes, Amazon or emusic.

Listen to Scarface's "Dopeman Music- Magamix v2" - http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/Scarface%20-%20Dopem%20-MegaMix%20v2.mp3 .

Listen to Scarface’s “Dopeman music- Megamix v1” - http://dailyrindblog.com/audio/Scarface-Dopemanmusic-Megamix.mp3 .

Watch Dopeman Music EPK - http://www.mtv.com/videos/news/497169/scarface-preps-his-first-mixtape.jhtml#id=1634306 .

Plies Finalizes Tracklisting for "Goon Affiliated"


From Anne Watkins:

Plies Finalizes Tracklisting for "Goon Affiliated"

Keeping his fans and supporters as first priority, rapper Plies has been fighting to lower the overall price of his upcoming album to give back to his fans and make this much anticipated album available at the cheapest price possible. In order to make that happen, Plies has announced that he is pushing the release date of his fourth album Goon Affiliated to June 8th, 2010.

I’m excited to share the official and finalized track list with you as well as a free download for his latest singles Kitty Kitty and LEGGO. Also, get personal with Plies and his big brother in their first webisode “Growing Up Goon Affiliated”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ln4n6aE-zaE .



PLIES “Goon Affiliated” Track List

1. Go Live
2. Rob Myself
3. Awesome (Feat. Fella)
4. Bruh Bruh
5. Get My Ni**as Out
6. Flaw
7. Becky
8. Kitty Kitty: http://bit.ly/June8thKittyKitty .
9. Whatever I Say
10. Goonette
11. Good D*ck
12. Model
13. Look Like (Feat. Fabolous & Jeezy)
14. All I Know
15. She Got It Made
16. LEGGO: http://bit.ly/June8LEG-GO .
17. Chirpin (Feat. Fella)
18. Bricks On Me
19. Medicine (Feat. Keri Hilson)
20. Letter


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of December 16th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have SIXTEEN new items for you for WOMEN's WEEK! Check out Jhene Aiko's "Sail Out EP," Azealia Banks' "Broke With Expensive Taste," two editorials on The Top 20 Female Rap Artist Videos from part one to part two, the "Fly Girls! B-Boys Beware!" compilation, Ghostface Killah's "36 Seasons," Iggy Azalea's "Reclassified," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #304, Steve 'Flash' Juon's Welcome to Women's Week on RapReviews, Nefertiti's "L.I.F.E. (Living In Fear of Extinction)," Nicki Minaj's "The Pinkprint" (our featured review), Nitty Scott, MC's "Boombox Diaries Vol. 1," PRhyme's "PRhyme," Queen Pen's "My Melody," Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for December 9, 2014 and Clara Wang's "Verses and a Beat" editorial!

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: KINETIC - "Whole Life". RapReviews.com also recommends the Jordan Garber's World from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive