Please visit this ad sponsor to help support the website!

Tuesday July 29, 2014
RapReviews.com
Feature of the Week

[Nobody's Smiling] Hope for Chicago.

Common Review

Latest News Headlines
Themselves Return After Six Year Hiatus


From Leeor Brown at Terrorbird:

Themselves return after a six year hiatus with new mixtape, album, festival stops and more

FREE mixtape dropping soon feat. Slug, Aesop Rock, Busdriver, WHY?, Buck 65, D Styles, and more - appearing at Coachella, SXSW and Noise Pop

Themselves:

Themselves, the Bay area duo of DoseOne and Jel (both also key members of the group Subtle), have returned from a six year hiatus with a flurry of activities and releases planned for 2009.   It's no mistake that this resurrection comes hot on the heels of the Anticon label's tenth anniversary - Themselves have long been one of the label's flagship groups.

First up for Themselves is a trio of festival appearances, starting with Noise Pop in San Francisco next week, then SXSW in March, and Coachella in April.  In early March, theFREEhoudini mixtape will drop in various places around the internets, featuring a dizzying array of guests, including Slug, Aesop Rock, Busdriver, WHY?, Buck 65, Passage, DJ Baku, Alias, Pedestrian, Sole, Serengeti, D Styles and The Lionesque. As DoseOne put it, "TheFREEhoudini is an inspired Themselves rendition of the classic mixtape medium, housing a medley of original music, it features every rapper we have ever shared a cause with in the past decade.  It is also a gift, for these curious times in the consumption of music."

In August 2009 Themselves will drop its third official full-length album, CrownsDown which Dose refers to as such - "CrownsDown is our statue - to rap as it reered us - and the arch and arrow, of what it is to be us,
in a decade of music made and the temperature of these two thousands."

It's also worth pointing out that theFREEhoudini mixtape and CrownsDown will be the 19th and 20th releases of DoseOne's career, respectively.

THEMSELVES Live:

02/28 San Francisco, CA The Apple Store -
(Terrorbird / XLR8R Noise Pop Day Party)
03/18 - 03/21 Austin, TX SXSW
04/19 Indio, CA CoachellaThemselves

theFREEhoudini
(Anticon)
Dropping March, 2009
DDD tour

Featuring:
Aesop Rock
WHY?
Busdriver
DJ Baku
Buck 65
Alias
D Styles
Sole
Serengeti
Pedestrian
Slug
Passage
The Lionesque

THEMSELVES LINKS:
MySpace - http://www.myspace.com/themselves .
Press Materials - http://www.anticon.com/pr/themselves.htm .

Hip-Hop Shop #21 - DJ Babu, MF Doom, Saigon & More


The Hip-Hop Shop is the precursor to Kayfabe 4 Dummies every Sunday night, a 30 minute show of hip-hop tracks and talk. On this week's episode we've got new songs from DJ Babu featuring MF Doom and Sean Price, Saigon, Young Money Trav and more! Tune in every Sunday at 9:30 PM EST, 8:30 Central via blogtalkradio.com/angrymarks and if you miss the live show be sure to look for the replay here on RapReviews or via our sponsor thecancerandmrob.com. The shows are 100% podsafe so distribute to your friends and tell them to visit RapReviews.com. Enjoy!

Download Here (right click to save)

Torae & Marco Polo Sign to Duck Down to Release 'Double Barrel'


The www.duckdown.com team sent us this press release.

Torae & Marco Polo Join The Roster

Continuing to add to its growing roster of artists, Duck Down Records welcomes Torae & Marco Polo to the Duck Down Family. The MC/Producer team is prepping a new album entitled "Double Barrel," which will be entirely produced by Marco Polo and is set to be released this Spring.

Marco Polo has proven to be a dynamic producer in Hip Hop working with Kardinal Offishall, Rakim, Kool G Rap, Masta Ace, Boot Camp Clik, Heltah Skeltah, Buckshot, Sadat X, and Large Professor. In the Spring of 2007, Marco Polo released his critically acclaimed album, "Port Authority". Now, less than two years later, he has teamed up with Torae to present "Double Barrel."

Marco Polo states he "was getting tired of Rappers not rapping anymore. Double Barrel sounds like some exciting shit you turn up LOUD and get amped to. Good fighting music, training music, driving music, killing music."

Torae, a Coney Island native, is one of the hardest working MCs in the game today. His last mixtape, "Daily Conversation" (released in 2008) featured production from DJ Premier, 9th Wonder, Black Milk, Khrysis and of course Marco Polo, and received high accolades from the Hip Hop Community.

In speaking on his "Double Barrel album, Torae says that "Marco and I wanted to collaborate on a project, so we decided to record everything together in the studio and give each other feedback and constructive criticism to make the best possible LP. We felt there was definitely a lane open and a void for certain fans; fans like us that missed authentic boom bap, gritty, NYC rap. So that's what we set out to make."

Torae goes on to describe the album as "definitely not like anything that's come out of NY in the last few years. It's more inspired by the music that we liked to listen to coming up. Black Moon, Gangstarr, ONYX, Smif N Wessun, M.O.P., and artists like that. The beats hit hard and are really gritty. My delivery is more aggressive and in your face. It's a colder more abrasive album than what's out there right now. It's just what the heads are complaining isn't available."

On the decision to sign with Duck Down, Torae continues, "it's the perfect move because of the history of the label. They've put out a lot of the artists that inspired us to create music in the first place. They know how to reach our core fanbase and cater to the people that love the music and the culture we represent. It was a no brainer to drop "Double Barrel" on Duck Down."

Dru Ha, Co-Owner of Duck Down Records is "excited to secure the deal, as we tried to make a deal for Marco's Port Authority release but missed out. Marco has been consistently  contributing quality production to many of Duck Downs recent releases so our core fans are familiar with his level of work. We are looking forward to a fully produced album from Marco showcasing Torae."

* http://www.myspace.com/doublebarrel08 *

Obese Records Presents 2009 Carjack Tour


For Immediate Release: February 20th, 2009
OBESE RECORDS PRESENTS THE 2009 CARJACK TOUR


Featuring: The Coalition Crew, Pegz, Spit Syndicate, Bias B, Dialectrix, Skryptcha, Reason

Lock your doors and roll up your windows, Obese Records proudly presents the 2009 Carjack Tour featuring The Coalition Crew, Pegz, Spit Syndicate, Bias B, Dialectrix and many more. The three city trek kicks off April 9th in Brisbane with a massive show celebrating the release of The Coalition Crew’s brand new 2-disc album Known Unknowns (featuring live 6-piece band) and the debut EP from Sydney’s Skryptcha.

Featuring on all dates will be The Coalition Crew and Pegz with highlight performances in each city from Spit Syndicate, Dialectrix, Bias B, Reason, Skryptcha, Rainman, and Prime & Purpose. The tour’s Melbourne date is scheduled for Friday, April 17th at the Corner Hotel while the Adelaide stop happens April 25th at Live On Light Square.

The tour brings together some of the most noted names on the Obese family roster with the label’s new breed of artists, celebrating Australian hip hop’s illustrious present and promising future. Tune in and turn up; just make sure you take the bus.

 

OBESE RECORDS PRESENTS:

The 2009 Carjack Tour

 

Tour details and tickets:

April 9th, 2009 – Brisbane, QLD @ The Arena Complex

The Coalition Crew (live 6-piece band), Pegz, Bias B, Spit Syndicate, Skryptcha, Rainman (host)

Tickets available through Oztix, Rocking Horse Records (07 3229 5360), Butter Beats (07 3257 3257)

 

April 17th, 2009 – Melbourne, VIC @ The Corner Hotel

The Coalition Crew (live 6-piece band), Pegz, Bias B, Reason, Skryptcha

Tickets available through Corner Hotel Box Office (cornerhotel.com.au), Obese Records (03 9529 7918)

 

April 25th, 2009 – Adelaide, SA @ Live on Light Square

The Coalition Crew (live 6-piece band), Pegz, Spit Syndicate, Dialectrix, Prime & Purpose

Tickets available through Venue Tix, Da Klinic (08 8212 0028), Clinic 116 (08 8232 0006)
Sha Money XL's Third Annual One Stop Shop


Press release courtesy of Melanie J. Cornish.

Third Annual One Stop Shop
Third time the charm
Phoenix, Arizona February 19th 2009


The third time must be a charm because Sha Money XL is back with his Third Annual One Stop Shop Producer Conference giving up and coming producers another opportunity to be heard May 9th - 10th in Phoenix, Arizona at The Hyatt Hotel.

Over the past two years this event has attracted over 700 attendees and continues to be the most respected producer showcase of the Hip-Hop calendar. 2009 sees Sha Money XL continue to raise the bar with the One Stop Shop.  It boasts informative panels, the two-day ground breaking beat battle and the presence of the greatest producers within the industry as well as the opportunity to experiment with new technology trends in the One Stop Shop break out sessions.

It's producer panels have heralded names such as DJ Premier, Swizz Beats, No ID, DJ Toomp, Mr. Porter, Don Cannon and this year expect to see Polow Da Don, Pete Rock, Just Blaze, Jim Jonsin, Drumma Boy, Ron Browz and DJ Khalil and more take the stage. "This year I took requests from my site to see just who the public wanted present at the 2009 One Stop Shop" explained MMG CEO Sha Money XL. "The most feedback received from the people, is that they want more chances to play there music, they want one on one attention, and we plan to do that this year, it's going to be more interactive, more surprise battles, and spotlights."

A new addition to the extensive list of panels that the One Stop Shop includes is the Power Play Panel featuring Chris Lighty, Bryan Leach and Disturbing Tha Peace's Chaka Zulu. This year also sees the introduction of the Visual Image Panel that tackles the issues and concepts of art in production. Attendees will benefit from the presence and knowledge of famed video directors Rik Cordero, Chris Robinson, Lil X and more.

Sponsors of the One Stop Shop this year include Cakewalk, ASCAP, Native Instruments, Open Lab, Thisis50.com, Propellaheads.

For more information and to register for the 2009 One Stop Shop Producer Conference please visit www.moneymanagementxl.com .

To view video footage from last years One Stop Shop please follow the link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WkD0oAGwxVg .

ABOUT SHA MONEY XL AND MONEY MANAGEMENT GROUP
Money Management Group was founded in 2002 with the inception of 50 Cent and is operated by Michael Clervoix and his team of effective music industry professionals. Our premiere management company has helped formulate and execute careers of a wide roster of Producers and Artists such as 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks, Tony Yayo, Young Buck, Hi-Tek, and Jake One.

Yo Gotti New Project With DJ Drama March 26th


From Nancy B:

OGPR is proud to annouce the recent inclusion of Yo Gotti to our client roster.

Hailing from North Memphis' Ridgecrest Housing Projects, Yo Gotti made a name for himself across the South with his gritty street tales detailing his experiences growing up in a household of hustlers and the inevitable life that led him to; first as an independent young upstart whose mixtape sales brought the labels to his door, and later, with the sales of his two TVT albums, Life and Back to Da Basics.

Although Gotti's 'reality rap' style has won him the hearts of the streets, his background as a hustler-turned -label CEO (Inevitable Entertainment), combined with his experiences during his years in the music game and the talent God blessed him with, give Gotti's music the ability to reach everyone. Those experiences have also blessed him with an indomitable spirit and it has been this dogged resoluteness to succeed, that has kept Yo Gotti at the top of his game.

TVT's recent bankruptcy brought Yo Gotti to The Orchard, if only temporarily. His upcoming compilation, CM2, drops March 26th (Inevitable Entertainment/The Orchard) and is Gotti's third pairing with the infamous DJ Drama; their first and second go-rounds, I Told You So and Definition of a G (with Gucci Mane) were both tremendously successful.  CM2 features the hit single, Sold Out, which is currently on smash at Rhythmic and Urban stations across the South and Midwest. The accompanying video is set to debut in the coming weeks.

Below is a link to download the single Sold Out. Stay tuned for more project updates and be on the lookout for Yo Gotti's promo tour, coming to a city near you.

DOWNLOAD LINKS:

Sold Out Clean - http://www.sendspace.com/file/zvrcag .

Sold Out Explicit - http://www.sendspace.com/file/fe94yp .

Wordsmith to Release 'Bridging the Gap' with Chubb Rock


WORDSMITH TO RELEASE
"BRIDGING THE GAP" U.S. ALBUM WITH CHUBB ROCK &
"A BALTIMORE MARTINI" U.K. ALBUM WITH INC THE POET IN 2009


(New York, NY/Baltimore, MD, February 18th, 2009) Welcome everyone to the New Year of Hope, 2009! These next 12 months may just prove to be the beginning of a better life here on Earth and especially in America. In this land where dreams come true with hard work and dedication, we at Nu Revolution Entertainment have wasted no time with our push of Indie Grind Sensation Wordsmith.

For Wordsmith fans across the United States we promise to provide you with great things in '09. On 12/23/09 a digital distribution contract for Chubb Rock & Wordsmith's "Bridging the Gap" Hip-Hop album was signed with Go Digital Entertainment while on ­­­­­­­­­2/9/09 a similar deal was made with Unruly/Koch Records for physical distribution.

Chubb had this to say about the deal: "The Bridging the Gap album has to be one of the most creative projects I have ever had the honor of being involved in. I think I represented the Golden Era very well and though Wordsmith represents the new school, he has such a great knowledge and approach to his lyrics as well as his spirit on the whole album. This album is a keeper, just like Paid in Full, 3 Ft. High and Rising, you need The Bridging The Gap album..."

In response Wordsmith had this to say about Chubb: "As we all know Chubb Rock is a Hip-Hop icon, so for him to ask an unsigned artist like myself to make this Bridging the Gap album I was shocked at the time.  Chubb could have chosen a hot signed artist or just drop a brand new solo album first, but he wanted to make his return to the game through the collab project we did instead. For two artists who never stepped into an actual studio together during the writing and recording phase of the album, we both believe it could be a Hip-Hop classic."

For fans of Wordsmith across the Atlantic we have another collaboration album for you. Baltimore artist, Wordsmith, and Dutch artist I.N.C. The Poet, signed a digital distribution deal on 9/19/08 with Dented Records in the United Kingdom to release their album "A Baltimore Martini" and Word is currently working on a 3 year P&D Deal with the major UK distributor Pickwick group for the album/other projects as well.  This unique concept album is Hip-Hop in its truest form and with it we hope to cement our artist Wordsmith as an international superstar.

Word had some words to say on the overseas project and I.N.C.: "Growing up with a father that was in the armed forces for over 25 years, I have lived in numerous countries and experienced a wide range of cultures…it was natural for me to want an album deal overseas. The great thing about working with INC was he is very conceptual and it gave me an chance to put together a whole project that tells a story and incorporates life experiences people can relate to."

I.N.C. had this to say about working with Word: "Word and I were on a similar train of thought and I decided to ask him if he was up for doing an album together… that's when we came up with the Baltimore Martini idea. For me personally this was a major step forward within my musical career as it would help me get my music out to the countries I felt would most appreciate my music, the US and the UK. So I am grateful that I have the opportunity to work with Word and the extremely talented group of people within the Nu Revolution Camp."

Look for both of these albums to hit stores and the internet in the second quarter of 2009! And stay up to date with all things Wordsmith & Nu Revolution as we work towards the release of his solo album "Vintage Material." Thank you and have a prosperous New Year!

--
REVOLT RADIO
Amalgam Digital Download: http://www.amalgamdigital.com/podcast.aspx .
Podomatic Streaming Feed: http://wordsmith.podomatic.com/ .
Free Public Enemy MP3 From AstoundStereo 4D


GENAUDIO CHANGES THE WAY THE WORLD WILL LISTEN TO AUDIO WITH LAUNCH OF THE ASTOUNDSTEREO EXPANDER AT CES 2009

Company offers 10 Million free music downloads from emerging and platinum artists including Public Enemy processed with new AstoundStereo technology

GenAudio Inc., developer of AstoundSound™ 4D sound localization cue technology and finalist in the CES i-Stage competition, opened the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2009 by officially launching a consumer version of its AstoundStereo™ technology, the AstoundStereo Expander computer software, and announced the giveaway of 10 million free music downloads of various songs processed and re-mixed using GenAudio’s revolutionary professional audio software.  AstoundStereo can be experienced through as little as two audio channels, such as any headphones, home theater speakers or laptop speakers.

            The AstoundStereo Expander software processes audio files on the user’s desktop or laptop computer in real-time.  This enables the listener to hear their music, movies and video games in a new way, being completely immersed in the sound with elevation, intensive depth perception and widening of the stereo image, creating a four dimensional audio experience. Professional recording artists, record labels, video game development houses and major motion picture film studios have already embraced the technology.

Consumers who wish to experience digital audio in AstoundStereo, including movies, music and games, can now download a free 30-day trial of the new AstoundStereo Expander software for Mac or PC by logging onto www.astoundstereo.com . Consumers can then purchase the Expander for an introductory offer of $24.95.

            To demonstrate the capabilities of AstoundStereo technology, GenAudio has partnered with cutting edge artists Public Enemy and Kan’Nal as well as leading music download provider Hip Digital to give away 10 million free music downloads processed with AstoundStereo to provide a four-dimensional sound experience. These tracks and more are available from GenAudio at www.AstoundStereo.com/freetrack through March 5, 2009.

 “When people hear these songs, they will have a new appreciation for the way audio will be heard across the entire entertainment industry spectrum.” said Jerry Mahabub, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of GenAudio. “We are confident once people hear any of the free music tracks processed with AstoundStereo, they will want to apply this technology to their existing stereo audio content on their Mac or PC.  This will lead everyone to want AstoundStereo integrated into all of their audio devices, such as portable music players, DVD players, car stereos and many more.”

GenAudio and Universal Pictures recently partnered for the release of Hellboy II: The Golden Army for DVD and Blu-Ray™ Hi-Def, re-mastered for home theater.  The AstoundStereo technology was integrated into the 5.1 and 7.1 programming for both DVD and Blu-Ray Hi-Def releases enhancing the existing surround sound mixes. Reviews of the Hellboy II: The Golden Army DVD have described the film’s audio mix as masterful and deserving of the highest audio ratings. Most recently, GenAudio partnered with Lionsgate to bring the enhanced audio experience provided by AstoundStereo to the surround sound mix of the DVD and Blu-Ray Hi-Def versions of Bangkok Dangerous, released on January 6, 2009.  Both of these titles were re-mastered for home theater at MiCasa Multimedia.

About GenAudio

GenAudio, Inc. is headquartered in Englewood, CO.  GenAudio’s mission is to provide a true 4D sound solution for the entire entertainment industry — AstoundStereo, the next dimension in audio. AstoundStereo is a 4D software based sound solution that integrates seamlessly with consumer electronics and software applications, as well as provides professional audio production solutions through a minimum of two speakers or headphones. AstoundStereo is the most accurate and intense 4D sound localization cue technology available today.  The technology works with most consumers existing equipment and no special hardware or decoding devices are needed.

For more information visit: www.genaudioinc.com .
Havoc 'On a Mission' Featuring Prodigy


Courtesy of Koch Records.

HavocHavoc

"On A Mission" featuring Prodigy


Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/qtime/kochent/havoc/onamission.mov .

Streaming URL: http://kochent.edgeboss.net/wmedia/kochent/havoc/onamission.wvx .

Video for "Heart Of The Grind" off of the new album Hidden Files to be released on February 24th!

Directed by Clifton Bell & Firstborn.

* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2PGxosZ6tFE *

Big B Debuts New Song "Criminals" Online


Press release from James at Kerosene Media.

For Immediate Release:
Big B Debuts New Song 'Criminals' Online

***
Skratch N Sniff Radio Offers Fans Chance To Win A Trip for Two To Las Vegas To Party With Big B, Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo

Las Vegas heavyweight Big B has posted the new track “Criminals” online at www.myspace.com/HooliganBigB from his upcoming new album “American Underdog”, which is slated for release March 24th through Suburban Noize.

With his forth studio effort, "American Underdog", Big B has taken his sound ventured out on a musical expedition into uncharted territory. Working with the production team of J&A Productions (Dumbluck, OPM), Big B has elevated his sound to the next level by using his tested formula but also embracing the eclectic contemporary alt-rock of artists like Everlast and Citizen Cope. The album has already started to pick-up radio support with the lead single “Sinner” featuring Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo picking up early spins at KIWR in Omaha, KCXX in Riverside, WJRR in Orlando; WCCC and X107.5 XTreme Radio in Las Vegas amongst others.

"American Underdog" is the follow-up to “More To Hate”, which debuted at #17 on the Billboard Heatseekers chart and produced the surprise hit single “White Trash Life”. The song would go on to become one of the most requested tracks on Sirius Satellite Radio's FACTION and give Big B some of the biggest success of his career.

Big B has partnered with Skratch N Sniff Radio to offer fans a chance to win a trip for two to Las Vegas to attend an advance listening party of “American Underdog” alongside Hart & Huntington’s Carey Hart and Unwritten Law’s Scott Russo. For details please visit www.snsmix.com .

Big B will joining Kottonmouth Kings and La Coka Nostra on the Bring Tha Noize Tour alongside Blaze Ya’ Dead Homie and Potluck.

BIG B ON BRING THA NOIZE TOUR 2009:

Feb 25 Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater
Feb 26 Chico, CA @ Senator Theatre
Feb 27 Portland, OR @ Roseland
Feb 28 Seattle, WA @ Showbox
Mar 01 Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory
Mar 03 Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Mar 04 Billings, MT @ Shrine Auditorium
Mar 05 Rapid City, SD @ Rushmore Hall
Mar 06 Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Mar 07 St. Paul, MN @ Myth
Mar 08 Fargo, ND @ Playmakers
Mar 09 Sioux Falls, SD @ Ramkota Exhibit Hall
Mar 11 Chicago, IL @ House of Blues
Mar 12 Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Club
Mar 13 Detroit, MI @ Clutch Cargos
Mar 14 Cincinnati, OH @ Bogarts
Mar 15 Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall
Mar 17 Mokena, IL @ Pearl Room
Mar 18 Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues
Mar 19 Cheswick, PA @ Gravity Nightclub
Mar 20 Worcester, MA @ The Palladium
Mar 21 Baltimore, MD @ Rams Head
Mar 22 Philadelphia, PA @ Theater of Living Arts
Mar 23 New York, NY @ BB Kings
Mar 26 Fort Lauderdale, FL @ Revolution
Mar 27 Saint Petersburg, FL @ Jannus Landing
Mar 28 Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade
Mar 29 Sauget, IL @ Pops
Mar 31 Tulsa, OK @ Cains Ballroom
Apr 01 Kansas City, MO @ Beaumont Club
Apr 02 Wichita, KS @ Cotillion Ballroom
Apr 03 Denver, CO @ Fillmore Auditorium
Apr 04 Magna, UT @ The Great Salt Air

###

* www.FeedBigB.com *
* www.SuburbanNoizeRecords.com *


Pages: << Prev Next >>

Welcome to RapReviews.com for the week of July 29th, 2014!! Please like us on Facebook and shop Amazon through RapReviews so we can bring you new material every week. This week we have TEN NEW ITEMS for your enjoyment: Common's "Nobody's Smiling" (our featured review), an editorial on Iggy Azalea and cultural appropriation, Illa Ghee's "Social Graffiti," Christopher Michael Jensen's "CM Cool J," Steve 'Flash' Juon's The Hip-Hop Shop #281, Kid Sean's "Bona Fide," Lizzo's "Lizzobangers," Mighty Misc's "The Secret Lives of Hobbits," Skipp Whitman's "Whitman Can't Jump" and Emanuel Wallace's The (W)rap Up for July 22, 2014.

Be sure to check the RapReviews newsfeed for the latest news and updates. Subscribe to the newsfeed via your browser for daily updates like Video: Diabolic - "Alien Manuscript". RapReviews.com also recommends The SmackDown RunDown from the AngryMarks Podcast Network. We appreciate your support and welcome any feedback you have. Thanks for visiting RapReviews.com!!


© RapReviews.com, a Flash Web Design Exclusive